Roadside Attractions | Release Date: April 16, 2010
6.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 38 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
23
Mixed:
12
Negative:
3
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
DirigiblePulpNov 20, 2016
I'm not really sure how I ended up watching this film late last night. It has an interesting premise and has probably caused me to look at my relationships and by extension the world, differently. However, as a story it's generic with littleI'm not really sure how I ended up watching this film late last night. It has an interesting premise and has probably caused me to look at my relationships and by extension the world, differently. However, as a story it's generic with little on its mind. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
smiyamotApr 29, 2016
Well, the good looking neighbors with the expensive toys, how do they do it? This movie provides one possible answer to that question. And since we're trying to keep up with the Kardashians, there might be more truth to this movie than we imagine.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Erik_ImsenFeb 4, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Joneses, or how to come up with a great idea and be unable to do anything with it. Why? Lazy writing. What started out to be a great satire, dark and cynical, turns out to be a soft romantic comedy in between Duchovny and Moore, with all the other characters being solely here as extras (what was the point of the son's coming out again?!?!??! And the daughter's love story with a married guy?!?!?). And once again, Hollywood couldn't help but make a cheesy happy ending with the two ending together, and the movie ends on a let's-not-piss-our-audience-off-this-is-entertainment-goddam-it note, that clearly states that over consumption and credit card debt should in no way be blamed on irresponsible consumers behavior (let's not insult our audience please) but only on those mean and evil marketing guys who mess up with our brains and make us wanna get always more stuff. The film almost feels as if Derrick Borte started writing it with pure intentions and then some advertising executive stormed into his office and made him write the second and third act of the script with a gun to his head. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
dev92Aug 24, 2012
This was a surprisingly enjoyable film. I had never heard of the film before I saw it on TV but the premise intrigued me so I took a chance. Mulder acted extremely well, Amber Heard probably gave her best performance and as per usual GaryThis was a surprisingly enjoyable film. I had never heard of the film before I saw it on TV but the premise intrigued me so I took a chance. Mulder acted extremely well, Amber Heard probably gave her best performance and as per usual Gary Cole was phenomenal. The storyline was fantastic and had it been paced ever so slightly quicker I think I would have given this a 9. I felt it waned ever so slightly in the middle. Still, more than worth a view and I would definitely recommend it! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
MorriBeyJun 6, 2011
David Duchovny is excellent in this movie. Its a good movie but I cant help feeling that the studios saw a movie that was too dark ( which it scratched towards the latter part of the movie ) and polished it off. The result has changed whatDavid Duchovny is excellent in this movie. Its a good movie but I cant help feeling that the studios saw a movie that was too dark ( which it scratched towards the latter part of the movie ) and polished it off. The result has changed what could have been a dark movie into an enjoyable Sunday afternoon movie. The ending kills off any notion of it being alternative. I liked it, just felt that there was something else there which was unfortunately sidelined. Collapse
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
LeoTs3181983Apr 16, 2011
If you liked Last Chance Harvey,you'll love The Joneses. It has that same dramdy touch that Last Chance Harvey does. It's one of Demi Moore's best movies. Don't miss it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
CherylOct 13, 2010
Unexpectedly good. Somewhat predictable, but interesting. Definitely a thought provoking look at our need to 'keep up with the joneses'. I agree with 'Darren Y' 'somewhat one-dimensional characters', but overall more than worth my $1.00 at Redbox.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
DiezmartinezAug 22, 2010
La premisa de la opera prima del exdirector de comerciales Derrick Borte es interesante -una familia falsa se muda a unos suburbios pudientes de Estados Unidos para provocar la envidia consumista de los vecinos- pero suLa premisa de la opera prima del exdirector de comerciales Derrick Borte es interesante -una familia falsa se muda a unos suburbios pudientes de Estados Unidos para provocar la envidia consumista de los vecinos- pero su realización es timorata e inconsecuente. Lástima por el reparto, encabezado por Demi Moore y David Duchovny. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
DarrenYApr 18, 2010
So on the one hand, it had somewhat one-dimensional characters, and there's a point in the movie where I felt that the plot became predictable. But on the other hand, I thought that the satire in this movie was so sharp and biting that So on the one hand, it had somewhat one-dimensional characters, and there's a point in the movie where I felt that the plot became predictable. But on the other hand, I thought that the satire in this movie was so sharp and biting that I'll be remembering the message of this movie for a long time. I really enjoyed the meta-commentary inherent in the concept of the movie. And I can see that Hollywood would be afraid of further characterization (I would have enjoyed perhaps another hour of exploring the different facets of the main characters) at the risk of turning away mainstream viewers more interested in a popcorn flick than a deep movie. Summary: If you enjoyed the Truman Show, and Thank You For Smoking, I bet you'll enjoy this (admittedly flawed) parable of modern consumerism. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ChadSApr 18, 2010
As the ongoing scandals at Goldman/Sachs and AIG continue to unravel with more shocking revelations about the unmitigated greed of those unconscionable go-getters, the last thing that the moviegoing public needs is a satire about capitalism As the ongoing scandals at Goldman/Sachs and AIG continue to unravel with more shocking revelations about the unmitigated greed of those unconscionable go-getters, the last thing that the moviegoing public needs is a satire about capitalism without bite. And even worse, a satire that stops being satirical. Imagine a "Network"(the great Sidney Lumet film about the dumbing down of journalism), in which Howard Beale(Peter Finch) isn't gunned down because Diana Christensen(Faye Dunaway) suddenly had a change of heart? It's because the screenplay by Paddy Chayefsky followed through with its convictions that the 1976 film is considered to be a classic, instead of a near-miss. Like any great satirical movie, "Network", and even Peter Weir's "The Truman Show", went a little over-the-top to make its topical point resonate with the moviegoer. What "The Joneses" lack is a killer instinct. It's perfectly acceptable for Steve(David Duchovny) and Kate(Demi Moore) to have the obligatory vulnerable moment or two, but as push comes to shove, at the end of the day, their quest for the almighty dollar is supposed to win out. Due to our current economic landscape, where corporations take out life insurance policies on its workforce, in the aftermath of a neighborhood tragedy, "The Joneses" fails to acknowledge that death is a industry. The marketers should be unveiling their line of high-end coffins, but instead of going for the kill, the satire goes flaccid with Steve's mawkish "mea culpa". While Christof(Ed Harris) of "The Truman Show" deals with his disobedient reality TV star accordingly, KC(Lauren Hutton) disappoints the moviegoer by being feminine and nurturing when she should be at her most angriest. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful