The Kids Are All Right

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 281 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 281

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Sep 26, 2011
    8
    Above all the things "The Kids are all right" depicts, its optimistic till the end; a movie that understands and respects happiness and the value of family.
  2. Jan 13, 2011
    9
    One of the ever-growing "real life" type of films, that features interesting cinematography. The screenplay is rather clever and the situations and dialogues, especially, are at times so hilarious, while at other times are heart wrenching. Bening and Moore give astonishing performances, closely followed by Ruffalo, who was rather surprising, I might add. I had not expected such a goodOne of the ever-growing "real life" type of films, that features interesting cinematography. The screenplay is rather clever and the situations and dialogues, especially, are at times so hilarious, while at other times are heart wrenching. Bening and Moore give astonishing performances, closely followed by Ruffalo, who was rather surprising, I might add. I had not expected such a good performance from him.

    I would argue against the allegations that people have been putting forward, that this film trivialises gay marriage or gay relationships in general. It does not. If it did, Moore's and Bening's characters would not have overcome their problems and the story would not have had a happy ending. It is a rather insightful film, and yes, these things can happen to people in real life. It is not like this film claimed to be the ultimate truth about gay relationships. It is not like every "straight" film has pretensions on its importance in portraying how ALL straight people behave. One should not have double standards in this case - IT IS A GREAT FILM. Full stop. Enjoy it - definitely worth of Oscar glory for its excellent performances, as well a rather witty and interesting screenplay! A must-see.
    Expand
  3. Sep 13, 2010
    9
    Annette Bening's performance alone made this movie for me, though there were many things to find delightful about it. She can say so much with her face -- thankfully she has left it alone to have such depth of expression. I left the theater feeling good after this one.
  4. Aug 13, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It creates awkward situations for the audience. I like that because it strangely makes you feel like you're more involved in the film. It's funny, sad, and exasperating at times. The message it gives is nice too. I do believe that marriage is a lifelong commitment, and in a world where divorce is so prevalent it's definitely refreshing to see a film where the family stays together regardless of what lust can do. Expand
  5. Apr 30, 2011
    9
    The Kids Are All Right is very well acted, funny, and entertaining independent production, and beyond all else it just fells real. The problems this family has are real problems families have all across this country and planet, and the fact that this happens to be a gay couple in question doesn't change that. There is nothing trumped up here, but that doesn't mean what happens isn't veryThe Kids Are All Right is very well acted, funny, and entertaining independent production, and beyond all else it just fells real. The problems this family has are real problems families have all across this country and planet, and the fact that this happens to be a gay couple in question doesn't change that. There is nothing trumped up here, but that doesn't mean what happens isn't very interesting to say the least. Benning gets the most attention for her acting in this film, and deserves the praise, but unfortunately Moore does not get near the same recognition for a role I think is nearly as impressive. Ruffalo, as a sperm donor creating relationships and havok in the lesbian household, is also terrific. Very well done, easily one of the 10 best films of 2010 and deserving of its BP nomination. Expand
  6. Aug 28, 2010
    10
    The Kids Are All Right" is an exceptional film judged by any angle. Superb acting, original plot line, realistically imperfect characters, and a foray into meaningful topics. The movie delves into the complexity of long term relationships, the inexorable rise of youthful independence, and the uncertain glue that holds families together. Highly recommend it.
  7. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    This has to be one of the most fun films in a long time. The movies plot is ever so simple; where two kids meet their sperm donor. Things seem to be okay at first, but it just seems that donating sperm probably wasn't the right choice. He develops a deep relationship amongst the family and tension soon runs high. The way that the movie is told is so plain, where dialogue and the variety ofThis has to be one of the most fun films in a long time. The movies plot is ever so simple; where two kids meet their sperm donor. Things seem to be okay at first, but it just seems that donating sperm probably wasn't the right choice. He develops a deep relationship amongst the family and tension soon runs high. The way that the movie is told is so plain, where dialogue and the variety of characters takes over and turns the movie into a lighthearted and touching story that is a rarity in hollywood. The movie is sexy, funny, and just pure entertainment with a good story. You'll be able to sit down and really know the characters one by one without becoming so tense on what happens next. Just sit down, relax, and enjoy the show. Expand
  8. Oct 12, 2010
    10
    This film is a perfect portrait of the modern American family and a true acting showcase for Bening, Moore, and Ruffalo. Each of them brings complexity to the characters and are perfect for their respective roles. Cholodenko's script is very much Oscar-worthy, and the film deserves all of the praise being heaped upon it.
  9. Sep 4, 2010
    10
    I couldn't stand this movie. I'd rather rent Made In America starring Ted Danson and Whoopi Goldberg once again instead. I highly recommend that you don't see this movie.
  10. Dec 30, 2010
    8
    I really liked this film, but a couple of things that happen seem unrealistic to me which keeps me from elevating the film to a 9 or 10. First is the relationship between Julianne Moore and Mark Ruffalo - I don't think that would happen in real life. Second, and most importantly, is the way the family treats the Mark Ruffalo character at the end. The acting, however, is great allI really liked this film, but a couple of things that happen seem unrealistic to me which keeps me from elevating the film to a 9 or 10. First is the relationship between Julianne Moore and Mark Ruffalo - I don't think that would happen in real life. Second, and most importantly, is the way the family treats the Mark Ruffalo character at the end. The acting, however, is great all around, especially by Annette Bening. She should lock up an Oscar nomination for sure. Expand
  11. Jan 6, 2011
    7
    An atypically arranged American household amidst delicate and often awkward moments, "The Kids Are All Right" captures the melodramatic tension that accompanies kids living in a far from normal reality. Here, they must juggle mixed emotions towards a male figure they never had the chance of experiencing; until now. With their long lost patriarch returned, this greatly open family must dealAn atypically arranged American household amidst delicate and often awkward moments, "The Kids Are All Right" captures the melodramatic tension that accompanies kids living in a far from normal reality. Here, they must juggle mixed emotions towards a male figure they never had the chance of experiencing; until now. With their long lost patriarch returned, this greatly open family must deal with the potentially damaging effects of letting in a familiar stranger. Expand
  12. Aug 26, 2010
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie was phenomenal don't get me wrong, until it reached it's climax. At it's core the story directs most of its animosity towards the most innocent of characters. What angered me the most is that Paul (played by Mark Ruffalo) was shown as the antagonist when all he was was innocent. The plot directs most of its animosity towards the vulnerable characters while leaving the other dumbfounded at Julianne Moore. She of all people is portrayed as the protagonist of the picture and by the end is forgiven for her actions; the audience must accept this. I on the other hand did not want to accept this simply because her selfishness allowed her to screw up to her degree. It was her elusiveness that allowed her to get out of her horrid situation by simply blaming a man who wanted nothing more but to be involved; also he was incredibly innocent and had never experienced purpose. However, the first 1 and 20 minutes of this film are a pure joy filmed with drama and comedy, as for the ending you will feel unsatisfied and will not have a sense of closure which every audience member deserves. 7/10. Expand
  13. Aug 12, 2010
    7
    You know, I wanted to LOVE this film, because of political reasons mainly, but more because I completely respect the actors involved (Moore, Benning and Ruffalo). I walked away really liking the subtleties of the plot development and characterizations, but in the end I wanted more resolution to be carved out of the third act. Not that the film doesn't come to a nice rest after theYou know, I wanted to LOVE this film, because of political reasons mainly, but more because I completely respect the actors involved (Moore, Benning and Ruffalo). I walked away really liking the subtleties of the plot development and characterizations, but in the end I wanted more resolution to be carved out of the third act. Not that the film doesn't come to a nice rest after the convincing drama ensued by the conflict at hand (won't disclose hence I spoil anything). My main concern was whether I'd been given enough time to understand Benning's character, or had been given enough scenes with her to truly appreciate her. This critique might fall beyond a review, and for that I apologize. I'd recommend it, if for no other reason then it is built to cause discussion about family, marriage and the complexities of these institutions. Expand
  14. Aug 24, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. THis film really explores some trials of life previously explored in other films such as cheating and a family falling apart, this movie does it with lesbians. The family primarily is normal so as not to be shown biased to the gay community which i thought was great, the ending was the only door left for improvement, as although it ended lightly and probably made most people smile, it left no resolution to Ruffalo's character, somewhat leaving him in the dust. But essentially, that is the most plausible outcome to this light and fun story. Expand
  15. Aug 22, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The seating arrangement at dinner time gives the moviegoer a pretty good indication as to why Laser(Josh Hutchinson) feels the urgent need to make contact with his sperm donor. The fifteen-year-old boy doesn't have the same status that he'd enjoy in a patriarchal family environment. Outnumbered by women, three-to-one, the fifteen-year-old boy is seated at the farthest point from Nic(Annette Bening), the dad dressed in mom's clothing who occupies the chair, traditionally reserved for the "man of the house", at the head of the table. Because he was sired by Jules(Julianne Moore), the weaker mom, Laser, hierarchically speaking, independent of chronological age, can't begin to compete with his sister Joni(Mia Wasnikowska), who, in this alternative family, is the stronger sex and originated from the stronger womb, the breadwinner's womb. Judging by their names, it would seem that the moms favor girls, since the college-bound Joni was named after singer-songwriter Joni Mitchell, while the boy got affixed with a gimmicky appellation which suggests that the moms were hard-pressed to name one man they revered enough to bestow their child with his reflected glory. The matter of Laser being all right without a father, to me, lies at the heart of this film. Before dinner is served at Paul's house, Nic comes across a crate filled with the sperm donor's albums, which includes Mitchell's seminal album "Blue". It's a telling moment, because the moviegoer can glean how the women, and perhaps, the filmmaker, perceive men. Vinyl, a format thought to be warmer than the compact disc, becomes the embodiment of women, while the CD, by default, comes to represent men, since it requires a LASER. Women are analogue, and men are digital, but Laser, after years of being raised by two women, is vinyl, too. By the end of the film, sitting in the backseat as Jules drives, Laser realizes that he likes being analogue, being analogue is all right. Expand
  16. Jan 28, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Why is everyone trashing the ending of this film and how it treats Paul? I find the end wonderfully subtle: after talking to Paul, Joni changes her mind and takes the gardening hat he gave her to college with her. That tells us--those of us who are paying attention, anyway--that the door is open to what he asked for: to see her again someday. SO much better than the hugs-all-round-and-redemption-for-everyone sledgehammer that usually ends films about family conflict. I mean, think about it: when an affair rocks a marriage but doesn't break it up, how often is the outside lover forgiven and re-embraced by the family? Is "never" a safe estimation? All in all, TKAAR is a wonderfully subtle film about people struggling to understand one another and themselves. It's also that rare film that shows people with genuinely good intentions, though often confused about what goodness is and how to achieve it. The acting is staggeringly good, especially from the two Oscar nominees. Julianne Moore is, as usual, first rate, but hers is an easier role (and we've seen versions of this character from her before) than the other two. Bening plays a less likable character, and she plays her fearlessly, not softening her edges yet offering glimpses of her underlying vulnerability. And Ruffalo, as Paul, was equally complicated: a careless, overgrown boy bedazzled by instant fatherhood--and rather good at it, until he mistakes Jules's sexual acting out for a short cut to the family he suddenly wants. Good stuff, fresh, believable and deeply affecting. Expand
  17. Sep 6, 2010
    10
    Fantastic storytelling, acting and characterization. Loved the ending as each of the characters ended up in a place they needed to be, but in a completely realistic way. This is one of the best movies of the last ten years.
  18. Dec 19, 2010
    8
    Rich, natural performances by three amazing leading actors, Annette Benning, Julianne Moore and Mark Ruffalo. I had not seen any of them in a similar role before, which enhanced their ability to pull off these roles even more. The very human traits of these characters are flawlessly translated to screen, supported by an extremely strong story and perfect direction.
  19. Mar 25, 2011
    7
    The Kids Are All Right has an very interesting premise, some well written humor, and some great acting going for it. Perhaps most notably is the portrayal of the dynamics involved in a family featuring two moms. The two moms are the highlight of the movie as they act like a real believable couple. Unfortunately the film does have some issues that hold it back from being a great movie. MostThe Kids Are All Right has an very interesting premise, some well written humor, and some great acting going for it. Perhaps most notably is the portrayal of the dynamics involved in a family featuring two moms. The two moms are the highlight of the movie as they act like a real believable couple. Unfortunately the film does have some issues that hold it back from being a great movie. Most notably would be that much of the sexual content feel unnecessary and/or is too drawn out. The only other real issue I found with was the move was, without giving anything away, that the ending was rather abrupt and many things were left feeling unresolved. Despite these faults it's a good movie, just not the great movie it could have been. Collapse
  20. Dec 3, 2010
    7
    A different approach in the institution of marriage and parenthood, on a story based on two married women whose children decide to meet the "sperm-donor" father and how this uncovers shades of their relationships they had never actually confronted before. The whole cast is magnificent whilst the script intelligently uses humour which saves the film of being over-dramatised.
  21. Nov 14, 2010
    8
    Benning, Moore, and Ruffalo lead an all star cast about a disfunctional family that deal with issues such as sexual orientation, sperm donners, childhood curiousity and becoming an adult. "The kids are Alright" knows how to tackle those issues, and does it superbly in a well-paced manner.
  22. Nov 11, 2010
    9
    The extremely original, "The Kids Are All Right" certainly can make its own standing in cinema and that mainly is because it thrives off the performances by a top notch cast that is sure to score Oscar nominations.
  23. Oct 30, 2010
    8
    The beauty of this film is that it speaks to everybody irrespective of their family set up. It's about love, jealousy and ultimately forgiveness. Bening and Moore are superb in it and very believable as a lesbian couple I thought. I think this is one of those films you will either love or hate.
  24. Dec 19, 2010
    9
    haha this movie is a mixture of emotions makes you sad and makes you laugh, the script is amazing with phrases where to go, but the perfect fusion of Annette Bening and Julian Moore 2 amazing performances that deserve their awards.
  25. Jan 8, 2011
    9
    This was a surprisingly great film about family--- though lighthearted in a lot of ways, I'm was surprised by how touching it really was. All the performances were spot on, including the kids and I especially loved Annette Benning's performance. The film isn't swinging for the fences, yet sits with you afterward and I have to say it is one of the better movies of 2010. Definitely give it aThis was a surprisingly great film about family--- though lighthearted in a lot of ways, I'm was surprised by how touching it really was. All the performances were spot on, including the kids and I especially loved Annette Benning's performance. The film isn't swinging for the fences, yet sits with you afterward and I have to say it is one of the better movies of 2010. Definitely give it a shot on DVD. Expand
  26. Dec 22, 2010
    9
    A poignant ,bittersweet, and remarkably funny take on paternity, family, and infidelity that features a stellar cast that fully realizes the complex emotions that accompany real families with real troubles.
  27. Jan 9, 2011
    10
    Fantastic, original and funny movie. Moore and Bening is a couple where connection between them is extraordinary. Ruffalo plays a father that I have never seen in another movie. All them and the children are a lovely family to forget problems. Lisa Cholodenko wrote a wonderful script and the direction is a comedy that describes current and modern family
  28. Jan 7, 2011
    9
    Simply put: a genuine movie that is a perfect portrayal of modern society.

    Mark Ruffalo gives yet another great performance; The Kids Are All Right is a brilliantly written script.
  29. Feb 19, 2011
    8
    It is nice to finally see an older lesbian couple with two teenage children making it into the mainstream movies. There is great acting in a real life story, claiming that keeping a family together can be at times very hard, but it is worth working on it. A very recommended social study in the form of entertainment cinema.
  30. Jul 30, 2011
    9
    One of the spectacular gifts that an actor gives is that of genuine, heartfelt emotion. Annette Bening gives the best performance of the year and convinces me on so many levels that she is not acting, but instead acting out. Julianne Moore does what she does best - always the bridesmaid, never the bride, with a preformance that enhances those great performances around her. I beganOne of the spectacular gifts that an actor gives is that of genuine, heartfelt emotion. Annette Bening gives the best performance of the year and convinces me on so many levels that she is not acting, but instead acting out. Julianne Moore does what she does best - always the bridesmaid, never the bride, with a preformance that enhances those great performances around her. I began watching this movie with a "minority" appeal expectation and, by the end, realized that it had mass appeal, with anybody who had a heart being capable of that heart beating loudly. Expand
  31. May 29, 2011
    8
    The movie has a great soundtrack and good performances. There is a movie that doesn't appeal for the social conscience and which treats lesbians and gays as humans and no as people that are looked with other eyes. It's a original and truthful movie. And it doesn't want to treat of the theme of "Homosexualism" and yes of familiar relationship and the ripeness of people there. It doesn't hasThe movie has a great soundtrack and good performances. There is a movie that doesn't appeal for the social conscience and which treats lesbians and gays as humans and no as people that are looked with other eyes. It's a original and truthful movie. And it doesn't want to treat of the theme of "Homosexualism" and yes of familiar relationship and the ripeness of people there. It doesn't has extraordinary performances. All are only okay! Forming one of the best cast of the year. A great movie, with that appeal that I hoped listen, blah blah blah of "we must accept gays" but I didn't see like that. Expand
  32. Feb 26, 2011
    8
    This movie definitely deserves to be in the oscar conversation. With Ruffalo's nomination I was expecting a bit more, but Annette Bening surely lived up to her expectations. I thought the movie really captured some of the modern problems conventional families face by showing us a ridiculously unconventional one. It felt as though you could really relate to the family at the movie whileThis movie definitely deserves to be in the oscar conversation. With Ruffalo's nomination I was expecting a bit more, but Annette Bening surely lived up to her expectations. I thought the movie really captured some of the modern problems conventional families face by showing us a ridiculously unconventional one. It felt as though you could really relate to the family at the movie while not being able to relate to them at all. I'd recommend watching this film. Expand
  33. Apr 7, 2011
    7
    Very enjoyable movie. The only downside is one of the characters , whilst funny and a joy to watch, ends up ruining the respect of the audience which in turn drags the film to a more sober level. It turns the movie into a more serious event devoid of the humorous aspects of the first half.
  34. Mar 15, 2011
    8
    I found this movie good, but a bit overrated for all the hype it's recieved. I am a fan of everyone in it, it was well acted, it flowed great and was easy to watch. I guess I just didn't think it was soooo good, the kind of good that you want other people to see it and you want to own it to watch again and again. Some of it wasn't believable and I felt some things that were introducedI found this movie good, but a bit overrated for all the hype it's recieved. I am a fan of everyone in it, it was well acted, it flowed great and was easy to watch. I guess I just didn't think it was soooo good, the kind of good that you want other people to see it and you want to own it to watch again and again. Some of it wasn't believable and I felt some things that were introduced never had follow up by the end. Maybe these things were not supposed to be left all cleaned up, but regardless, I will say it's still worth watching but maybe not something one needs to buy for repeated viewings. Expand
  35. May 20, 2011
    9
    great movie. i loved it. it was funny and had great acting sequences. Bening and Moore give great performances of the movie. Mark Ruffalo was good too. the movie was great. it was a good drama. one of my favorites of last year.
  36. Sep 15, 2011
    9
    Some may see the lead actors Annette Bening and Julianne Moore playing a lesbian couple as the main draw of this film. But the Kids Are Alright isn't really about sexuality, not really. It's about family. It has something to say about every family, any family, even if the film's family is far from typical. Bening and Moore are predictably solid in their performances, but the trueSome may see the lead actors Annette Bening and Julianne Moore playing a lesbian couple as the main draw of this film. But the Kids Are Alright isn't really about sexuality, not really. It's about family. It has something to say about every family, any family, even if the film's family is far from typical. Bening and Moore are predictably solid in their performances, but the true highlights are Mia Wasikowska and Mark Ruffalo. Wasikowska once again proves herself to be a formidable young actor - she is effortlessly natural, but also able to handle the more emotional scenes with ease. Ruffalo has the unenviable task of not only sharing the screen with such talent, but of playing the character who threatens to tear this unusual, but reasonably stable family apart. While he is the cause of most of the disequilibrium in the film, he is so likeable as an actor that it is hard to not be on his character's side. The Kids Are All Right is well written, extremely funny and thoughtful. The story involves you from the start, and you are instantly invested in the characters. It's something really quite special. Expand
  37. Jul 6, 2011
    8
    a well made comedy about kids who decide to reunite with their biological self-centered father who is terribly seeking for something that will make himself happy (in this case - a family) and is portrayed by Mark Ruffalo. a relationship that in the end causes a lot of troubles to the whole family.
    Julianne Moore who is playing Jules is doing a wonderful performance as a woman who seeks for
    a well made comedy about kids who decide to reunite with their biological self-centered father who is terribly seeking for something that will make himself happy (in this case - a family) and is portrayed by Mark Ruffalo. a relationship that in the end causes a lot of troubles to the whole family.
    Julianne Moore who is playing Jules is doing a wonderful performance as a woman who seeks for love and affection and especially from her neurotic wife - Nic who is played by one of the finest actresses - Annette Bening.
    Expand
  38. j30
    Sep 22, 2011
    9
    Probably the best cast ensemble of 2010. A funny and emotionally driven movie that wouldn't be possible without this cast of great actors and actresses.
  39. Jan 27, 2012
    7
    If the central purpose was to discuss the implications and difficulties of same-sex marriage, the film falls short of its premise. If its central purpose was to entertain with some clever jokes and great acting, then 'The Kids Are All Right' does a good damn job.
  40. Oct 4, 2011
    9
    this is a beautiful and amazing... is a simple history of the modern's familys that this days... benning is just stunning his acting is painful and beautiful... one of the best movies that i even see these days
  41. Nov 3, 2011
    10
    This film is a emotional and heartfelt rendition of your "average" American family. Filled with real, believable performances and an excellently written script. 4/4 stars.
  42. Jul 26, 2012
    10
    Honestly, this is one of the best movies ever. It combines perfectly witty dialogue with pitch perfect acting and a hint of drama on top. "The Kids Are All Right" tells the story of a lesbian couple who have grown far apart. Nick, Annette Bening, is a constantly working mom who has to juggle a torn marriage, work, and two kids, each semi-rebelious. Jules, Juliane Moore, is struggling withHonestly, this is one of the best movies ever. It combines perfectly witty dialogue with pitch perfect acting and a hint of drama on top. "The Kids Are All Right" tells the story of a lesbian couple who have grown far apart. Nick, Annette Bening, is a constantly working mom who has to juggle a torn marriage, work, and two kids, each semi-rebelious. Jules, Juliane Moore, is struggling with her business and trying to figure out if she still loves Nick. When their two kids, Laser (Josh Hutcherson) and Joni (Mia Wasikowska) contact their biological father, it stresses Nick and Joni's marriage and tests their loyalty. The movie overall has very strong performances, especially by Juliane Moore and Annette Bening, and a
    very strong story. The movie may be unusual, but the heartwarming story will leave you speechless by the end.
    Expand
  43. Aug 24, 2014
    9
    Full of originality. There is plenty of wit, cleverness and comedy to go around. All while dissecting a contemporary issue amidst a modern love story.
  44. JMH
    May 7, 2012
    9
    The Kids Are All Right is manna from heaven for viewers seeking comedy-with-substance resting on great writing handed to gifted actors. The film offers a world of complicated personalities, personal relationships, and life changes of universal resonance. These elements are adroitly made rich through scenes that make no fuss about getting straight to the heart of the matter, painting deep,The Kids Are All Right is manna from heaven for viewers seeking comedy-with-substance resting on great writing handed to gifted actors. The film offers a world of complicated personalities, personal relationships, and life changes of universal resonance. These elements are adroitly made rich through scenes that make no fuss about getting straight to the heart of the matter, painting deep, convincing back stories that fill out the core characters. These core characters are a couple, Jules (Julianne Moore) and Nic (Annette Bening), and the biological father of their children Paul (Mark Ruffalo), who enters the picture when their daughter Joni (Mia Wasikowska) contacts him at the behest of her younger brother Laser (Josh Hutcherson). Nic appears businesslike and levelheaded, and Jules free-spirited and needy. Paul is an emotionally immature bachelor who runs an organic restaurant. Joni is soon heading to college. Laser is an aimless, well-meaning, young teen. All rest at the edge of difficult life changes -- reaching out for amorphous, unknown "nexts" -- accelerated and amplified when Paul enters the picture, and the family. With Paul's arrival, change happens quickly and significantly -- the characters confront and deal with great upheaval both within themselves and in the context of the family unit. Although it sounds serious, this is also a spot-on funny film that brilliantly elides between, and marries, comedy and tragedy. All of the lead actors are stellar, particularly Moore and Bening. As the film has set in my mind, I find it's Bening's performance that stands out most. Both Moore and Bening play the tiniest of moments with extreme intelligence and wit. The audience receives less overt insight into Bening's character, but those glimpses, coming in quick succession and plainly constituting the fulcrum of the story, are rendered flawlessly. Still, it's both actresses' range, timing, and subtlety make this a great rather than good film. Expand
  45. Jul 29, 2014
    10
    This is a wonderful, little film. Entertaining, charming, realistic, relatable...all of the above. The acting, and script came together to really illuminate the dynamics of the modern family. It would appear that some people didn't receive the ending well, but I think the ending is very fitting for the story. Not all gifts come with a bow and that's what the ending is to me. In fact, IThis is a wonderful, little film. Entertaining, charming, realistic, relatable...all of the above. The acting, and script came together to really illuminate the dynamics of the modern family. It would appear that some people didn't receive the ending well, but I think the ending is very fitting for the story. Not all gifts come with a bow and that's what the ending is to me. In fact, I don't think it needs a bow. The contents alone is what makes this movie stand out. I highly recommend it. Expand
  46. Mar 2, 2016
    8
    The Kids Are All Right is my favorite type of movie; it's human. A film about the human condition, love, passion, sexuality, and family, The Kids Are All Right is a remarkably human film that can be both funny and moving seamlessly. The writing and direction from Lisa Cholodenko is authentic and subtle, respectively. This all-star cast is fantastic, led by Julianne Moore, Mark Ruffalo, andThe Kids Are All Right is my favorite type of movie; it's human. A film about the human condition, love, passion, sexuality, and family, The Kids Are All Right is a remarkably human film that can be both funny and moving seamlessly. The writing and direction from Lisa Cholodenko is authentic and subtle, respectively. This all-star cast is fantastic, led by Julianne Moore, Mark Ruffalo, and Mia Wasikowska. All of the characters here feel authentic and the actors all really capture the essence of the characters and what they represent on the larger scale. On the whole, this is what makes the film so great; it feels like a slice of life type film. It is just a segment of the characters' lives and how things turn out, we do not know but it does not truly matter. What does matter is how they handled this major situation in their lives. For this portrayal of life, this film is a winner. Expand
  47. Nov 7, 2012
    8
    Instead of taking the route that leads to a 'happy family' type of ending, The Kids are All Right instead serves as an example of how families can be torn apart when trust dissipates.
  48. Sep 21, 2014
    10
    The Kids Are All Right isn't just a film that blended family comedy and LGBT movies, it's hysterically funny, witty, and emotional. The screenplay and story are bolstered by amazing, believable performances, and the messages and themes about family values really seem to mean something.
  49. Jun 9, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Kids are All Right. They really are. I think I connected with Joni a lot on a few topics because I'm practically the same age as she is right now. It takes place in her last summer at home, which I'm fast approaching. With only 6 more days of school until graduation I totally relate to the whole moving away aspect. The whole tone of the movie was set in the opening scenes, with Laser asking Joni to call their sperm donor. I thought this conversation was very awkward and out of place but I also think that was a feeling that was meant to be there as really the whole feeling of the movie was intentionally awkward and uncomfortable.

    Laser and Joni's mothers are Nic and Jules. We almost see a role or personality reversal as the plot continues throughout. Nic starts as the overbearing parent that that's in charge of Jules's suffering and of the children's, but our feelings completely swap when Jules acts on her emotion and has an affair with Paul, the sperm donor. I almost saw a parallel between Laser's friend Clay and Jules and how they were seen as screw-ups or bad influences by others. In their own ways they both really did screw up.

    This movie was billed as a comedy which I totally saw in an Alexander Payne everything-is-so horrible-that-it's-funny kind of way. I think my favorite quotes overall were provided by Laser: "Why do you guys watch so much gay man porn?" and *gasps* "Did you guys think I was gay?" He seems to help along the narrative of the story for the audience.

    When Paul enters this family's life, he seems pretty alone. He's been **** this one girl, but they're not really together and he soon leaves her as soon as he gets together with Jules. We do get a sense of the accidental nature of Paul and Jules's relationship. I felt embarrassed for her when she kissed him the first time and then embarrassed again when he tries desperately to make what they had into a real thing because he is truly so alone.

    As soon as Nic started to open herself up to Paul is when their lives pretty much go to hell. They bond over Joni's name and the singer that started it all, but soon after the walls come crashing down as Jules seems uncomfortable and the truth about the cheating comes out. There was quite some foreshadowing in the scene where someone says they're so glad this sperm donor deal worked out because they've heard of so many horror stories, but really this is as much of a horror story as any. It starts off like a fairy-tale, their relationship pretty much perfect–too perfect–and then it takes a complete 180° turn. Paul really does ruin them just as they suspected he would.

    When the truth comes out to the children, both Nic and Jules try to put a band-aid on the wound but end up really feeling bad and again resorting to the overbearing parenting style to compensate. They're really and truly screwed up as a whole, but Joni is leaving for college. At the end of the day they're still a family. I could completely feel what Joni was feeling as she ran out to make sure her family didn't leave her without saying goodbye. I think one of the most intriguing aspects of this movie is the fact that there are so many roles for people to relate to depending on who they are. There are the moms–and so many aspects to them. Each role is deeply complex and has relatable yet comedic/dramatic parts that make it just fitting for the big screen. Even if their lives are **** and **** up, they're all they have. Their family is it. They love each other the most even though they hurt each other the most.
    Expand
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: Anna Smith
    Oct 25, 2010
    80
    A witty, warm exploration of family life that's conventional and unconventional in equal measure.
  2. I spent The Kids are All Right wondering whether director Lisa Cholodenko was affectionate toward her self-absorbed characters or gently mocking them. In the end, I thought she was both and liked the film more.
  3. 75
    Some people might blindly and inaccurately accuse this movie of attacking family values, but it has exactly the opposite effect. Touching and funny in their upheaval, the people in The Kids Are All Right open the door to a brand new examination of family values that leaves you charged and cheering.