User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 242 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 25 out of 242

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 1, 2013
    6
    Even with its unique storyline, it is still rather bland. However, the movie manages to pull off great performances by Annette and Julianne. The script for the most part is humorous and sentimental.
  2. Dec 8, 2012
    6
    I liked the film. The performances are great (Annette Bening especially) and the pacing was good, but I think this film is very overrated. This was not the cutting-edge family drama I was expecting. Bening completely deserved her Oscar nomination, but that should have been the film's only nomination.
  3. Nov 7, 2012
    8
    Instead of taking the route that leads to a 'happy family' type of ending, The Kids are All Right instead serves as an example of how families can be torn apart when trust dissipates.
  4. Jul 26, 2012
    10
    Honestly, this is one of the best movies ever. It combines perfectly witty dialogue with pitch perfect acting and a hint of drama on top. "The Kids Are All Right" tells the story of a lesbian couple who have grown far apart. Nick, Annette Bening, is a constantly working mom who has to juggle a torn marriage, work, and two kids, each semi-rebelious. Jules, Juliane Moore, is struggling with her business and trying to figure out if she still loves Nick. When their two kids, Laser (Josh Hutcherson) and Joni (Mia Wasikowska) contact their biological father, it stresses Nick and Joni's marriage and tests their loyalty. The movie overall has very strong performances, especially by Juliane Moore and Annette Bening, and a
    very strong story. The movie may be unusual, but the heartwarming story will leave you speechless by the end.
    Expand
  5. JMH
    May 7, 2012
    9
    The Kids Are All Right is manna from heaven for viewers seeking comedy-with-substance resting on great writing handed to gifted actors. The film offers a world of complicated personalities, personal relationships, and life changes of universal resonance. These elements are adroitly made rich through scenes that make no fuss about getting straight to the heart of the matter, painting deep, convincing back stories that fill out the core characters. These core characters are a couple, Jules (Julianne Moore) and Nic (Annette Bening), and the biological father of their children Paul (Mark Ruffalo), who enters the picture when their daughter Joni (Mia Wasikowska) contacts him at the behest of her younger brother Laser (Josh Hutcherson). Nic appears businesslike and levelheaded, and Jules free-spirited and needy. Paul is an emotionally immature bachelor who runs an organic restaurant. Joni is soon heading to college. Laser is an aimless, well-meaning, young teen. All rest at the edge of difficult life changes -- reaching out for amorphous, unknown "nexts" -- accelerated and amplified when Paul enters the picture, and the family. With Paul's arrival, change happens quickly and significantly -- the characters confront and deal with great upheaval both within themselves and in the context of the family unit. Although it sounds serious, this is also a spot-on funny film that brilliantly elides between, and marries, comedy and tragedy. All of the lead actors are stellar, particularly Moore and Bening. As the film has set in my mind, I find it's Bening's performance that stands out most. Both Moore and Bening play the tiniest of moments with extreme intelligence and wit. The audience receives less overt insight into Bening's character, but those glimpses, coming in quick succession and plainly constituting the fulcrum of the story, are rendered flawlessly. Still, it's both actresses' range, timing, and subtlety make this a great rather than good film. Expand
  6. Mar 27, 2012
    4
    The Kid's are alright wasn't really alright. Another predictable film with parts here and there that were good and sort of funny. Why was it up for best picture? That question boggles my mind.
  7. Mar 11, 2012
    3
    This movie had so much potential, yet they chose to make it look like happiness is all about sex. The poor man is treated like a piece of meat and made responsible for it. It could have been so much better...
  8. Jan 27, 2012
    7
    If the central purpose was to discuss the implications and difficulties of same-sex marriage, the film falls short of its premise. If its central purpose was to entertain with some clever jokes and great acting, then 'The Kids Are All Right' does a good damn job.
  9. Nov 3, 2011
    10
    This film is a emotional and heartfelt rendition of your "average" American family. Filled with real, believable performances and an excellently written script. 4/4 stars.
  10. Oct 4, 2011
    9
    this is a beautiful and amazing... is a simple history of the modern's familys that this days... benning is just stunning his acting is painful and beautiful... one of the best movies that i even see these days
  11. Sep 26, 2011
    8
    Above all the things "The Kids are all right" depicts, its optimistic till the end; a movie that understands and respects happiness and the value of family.
  12. j30
    Sep 22, 2011
    9
    Probably the best cast ensemble of 2010. A funny and emotionally driven movie that wouldn't be possible without this cast of great actors and actresses.
  13. Sep 15, 2011
    9
    Some may see the lead actors Annette Bening and Julianne Moore playing a lesbian couple as the main draw of this film. But the Kids Are Alright isn't really about sexuality, not really. It's about family. It has something to say about every family, any family, even if the film's family is far from typical. Bening and Moore are predictably solid in their performances, but the true highlights are Mia Wasikowska and Mark Ruffalo. Wasikowska once again proves herself to be a formidable young actor - she is effortlessly natural, but also able to handle the more emotional scenes with ease. Ruffalo has the unenviable task of not only sharing the screen with such talent, but of playing the character who threatens to tear this unusual, but reasonably stable family apart. While he is the cause of most of the disequilibrium in the film, he is so likeable as an actor that it is hard to not be on his character's side. The Kids Are All Right is well written, extremely funny and thoughtful. The story involves you from the start, and you are instantly invested in the characters. It's something really quite special. Expand
  14. Aug 13, 2011
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Kids Are All Right should be a good film, and has some tender, honest moments. Unfortunately, the film is undone by its own premise. We have a typical, dysfunctional family with problems the general public can relate to... except the family has two moms! How progressive! Except it isn't, and that's sort of the point. What really screws the film up is Mark Ruffalo's character Paul. He isn't a bad or uninteresting character, but the effects he has on the plot is baffling, aggravating and it completely undoes the main purpose of the film. I will say spoiler alert, but since it is in the trailer it really isn't, but Julianne Moore's character (Jules) has an affair with Paul. Again, this isn't inherently a bad plot point, but it is handled very poorly. When a gay person has sex with someone of the opposite sex, it is confusing and brings up all these questions of sexuality... but the movie doesn't address them, it barely even scratches the surfaces. It was annoying to see this strong lesbian woman have an affair with a man for no apparent reason. Paul serves absolutely no purpose in this movie. He just detracts from the central family. The film would have been better off focusing more on the "dysfunctional family" than introducing this character. This combination of Paul and the affair he has with Jules causes the film to fall flat on its intriguing performances. All the actors do give solid performances, including the kids. Too bad the actors are wasted here. Expand
  15. Jul 30, 2011
    9
    One of the spectacular gifts that an actor gives is that of genuine, heartfelt emotion. Annette Bening gives the best performance of the year and convinces me on so many levels that she is not acting, but instead acting out. Julianne Moore does what she does best - always the bridesmaid, never the bride, with a preformance that enhances those great performances around her. I began watching this movie with a "minority" appeal expectation and, by the end, realized that it had mass appeal, with anybody who had a heart being capable of that heart beating loudly. Expand
  16. Jul 6, 2011
    8
    a well made comedy about kids who decide to reunite with their biological self-centered father who is terribly seeking for something that will make himself happy (in this case - a family) and is portrayed by Mark Ruffalo. a relationship that in the end causes a lot of troubles to the whole family.
    Julianne Moore who is playing Jules is doing a wonderful performance as a woman who seeks for
    love and affection and especially from her neurotic wife - Nic who is played by one of the finest actresses - Annette Bening. Expand
  17. May 29, 2011
    8
    The movie has a great soundtrack and good performances. There is a movie that doesn't appeal for the social conscience and which treats lesbians and gays as humans and no as people that are looked with other eyes. It's a original and truthful movie. And it doesn't want to treat of the theme of "Homosexualism" and yes of familiar relationship and the ripeness of people there. It doesn't has extraordinary performances. All are only okay! Forming one of the best cast of the year. A great movie, with that appeal that I hoped listen, blah blah blah of "we must accept gays" but I didn't see like that. Expand
  18. May 20, 2011
    9
    great movie. i loved it. it was funny and had great acting sequences. Bening and Moore give great performances of the movie. Mark Ruffalo was good too. the movie was great. it was a good drama. one of my favorites of last year.
  19. May 7, 2011
    6
    The Kids Are All Right has a fairly simple plot. A lesbian couple have 2 children. The two children meet there sperm donor. Easy, right? Yup, it is. The Kids Are All Right is one of the finest dramedies that I have ever seen. The acting form the cast is spectacular, riveting, and memorable. The way the film makes one character seem like the bad guy or good guy in the film, suddenly changing them to good guys or bad guys, is fascinating. The supporing actors in this films were the very best. Nothing can beat the laughs they brought ot the film or the drama they did as well. The sublte humor was amazing, for it is what I liked the most in the film. The obvious humor was also hillarious, but not as good as the subtle. They also made very crude sexual jokes most of the time, which I personally enjoyed the least. But on the comedy side of the film, it deserves excellent marks. Next, on the drama side, this film is just full of it. Tense, exciting, relationships, all that a drama needs. At one point, a lesbian couple is cheating on her wife, and when you notice its kinda strange that a lesbian is cheating on her wife with a MAN, you might think its comedy. But not at all. It's very true drama if it happened in real life, because it doesnt happen very often. The fast paced drama, although there wasn't much, was good. When the characters are in arguments, you notice the tension in the room, and you cant help but root for one character oover another. Lisa Cholodenko knows how to add drama factor, to the lauch factor. I aslo have to give alot of credit to the amazing acting. Annete Benning, Julianne Moore, Mia Wasikowski, Josh Hutcherson, and Mark Ruffalo all starred in this film. And they made the film a star. The ensemble cast are all perfect with each other. The casting director, who ever he/she might be, should be given an Oscar. They all seemed to love each other like family in real life, just the same way they did in the film. You could literally feel passion coming out of the screen from each individual, as if you were part of the family, too. The acting nominations for Annete Benning and Mark Ruffalo were truly deserved. In the beggining, you thought Benning's character was going to be the villian in the story, and you also thoguth that Mark's character would be the good guy. But as the story continued on, you realized everything was not as it seemed. I personally thought Mark Ruffalo was the best actor out of all of them. He brougth so much joy and despair to every one of the characters, and you think about how he did it, but you really cant figure it out. I had mixed feelings about his character in the end, unlike any of the other characters. As you watch the film, you really have sympathy toward his character more than anyone else, and that's what made him stand out the most. So, the acting was great. But then comes the negatives. Lets narrow it down to four. (1) The crude sexual jokes. I shouldnt have expected less from a rated R film, but if you make a dramedy and most of the laughs come from sex jokes, then I would call it more of a perv dilm than anything else (but gladly most of the laughs weren't perverted).(2) The score. It was so boring and dull and was repeated so many times. Only a few times did the score fit a scene. I hope to never listen to it again. (3) Not a film to see again. Maybe one day if their were 50 films at Blockbuster, and this one was the best, then I would watch it again, otherwise the film was memorable, but I wouln't really watch it again any time soon. (4) Last but not least, the slow moving pace. At times (as I've said previouslly), the fim was fast, but sometimes it REALLY lagged. You'd see there expressions and be so bored that you might turn off the film, but then a sudden burst of comedy or dram saves you, and your back in. And that's really all the negatives in the film. Other than that, the film was excellent. The film also had a recurring message. No matter how hard you try, you can never lose family, and they will never lose you. Check back at my page for a new review every week. Thanks and enjoy the film. Expand
  20. Apr 30, 2011
    9
    The Kids Are All Right is very well acted, funny, and entertaining independent production, and beyond all else it just fells real. The problems this family has are real problems families have all across this country and planet, and the fact that this happens to be a gay couple in question doesn't change that. There is nothing trumped up here, but that doesn't mean what happens isn't very interesting to say the least. Benning gets the most attention for her acting in this film, and deserves the praise, but unfortunately Moore does not get near the same recognition for a role I think is nearly as impressive. Ruffalo, as a sperm donor creating relationships and havok in the lesbian household, is also terrific. Very well done, easily one of the 10 best films of 2010 and deserving of its BP nomination. Expand
  21. Apr 10, 2011
    6
    The Kids Are All Right tries hard to be a genuine, quality, art-house type film and almost makes it. It ticks boxes in all categories but the storyline, which makes a point to seem as oddly normal as possible. For the majority, it just seems like one long ride that doesn't really lead anywhere. Character development is great but when there is only four or five characters to develop, it can't really be called an achievement. Ruffalo, as ever, mumbles. The children impress but don't dazzle. The highlight is Bening singing Joni Mitchell at the dinner table, the emotion spilling out from all that is happening around her. Her acting alone lifts the film from good to impressive Expand
  22. Apr 7, 2011
    7
    Very enjoyable movie. The only downside is one of the characters , whilst funny and a joy to watch, ends up ruining the respect of the audience which in turn drags the film to a more sober level. It turns the movie into a more serious event devoid of the humorous aspects of the first half.
  23. Mar 25, 2011
    7
    The Kids Are All Right has an very interesting premise, some well written humor, and some great acting going for it. Perhaps most notably is the portrayal of the dynamics involved in a family featuring two moms. The two moms are the highlight of the movie as they act like a real believable couple. Unfortunately the film does have some issues that hold it back from being a great movie. Most notably would be that much of the sexual content feel unnecessary and/or is too drawn out. The only other real issue I found with was the move was, without giving anything away, that the ending was rather abrupt and many things were left feeling unresolved. Despite these faults it's a good movie, just not the great movie it could have been. Expand
  24. Mar 15, 2011
    8
    I found this movie good, but a bit overrated for all the hype it's recieved. I am a fan of everyone in it, it was well acted, it flowed great and was easy to watch. I guess I just didn't think it was soooo good, the kind of good that you want other people to see it and you want to own it to watch again and again. Some of it wasn't believable and I felt some things that were introduced never had follow up by the end. Maybe these things were not supposed to be left all cleaned up, but regardless, I will say it's still worth watching but maybe not something one needs to buy for repeated viewings. Expand
  25. Feb 26, 2011
    8
    This movie definitely deserves to be in the oscar conversation. With Ruffalo's nomination I was expecting a bit more, but Annette Bening surely lived up to her expectations. I thought the movie really captured some of the modern problems conventional families face by showing us a ridiculously unconventional one. It felt as though you could really relate to the family at the movie while not being able to relate to them at all. I'd recommend watching this film. Expand
  26. Feb 21, 2011
    0
    I hated this movie so much, it was terrible. It is an extremely overrated movie that doesn't deserve jack **** A lot of people think its good because it is so called, "controversial," when reality its not, its just a bad movie. Another thing is, it doesn't deserve to be called a comedy, it was at no way, shape, or form funny at the least bit. It should should just be a drama because it dramatically sucks. Expand
  27. Feb 19, 2011
    8
    It is nice to finally see an older lesbian couple with two teenage children making it into the mainstream movies. There is great acting in a real life story, claiming that keeping a family together can be at times very hard, but it is worth working on it. A very recommended social study in the form of entertainment cinema.
  28. Feb 19, 2011
    6
    The first thing I have to point out about this film is how incredible the acting is. Bening in particular stands out, and should be a lock for an Oscar nomination. While the acting in this film is great, and most of the film is enjoyable, I was seriously bothered by the film's ending. The film's ending does not seem believable with the rest of the film, and makes everything that we have seen seem irrelevant. I wasn't expecting a Hollywood ending, but I feel that Mark Ruffalo's character should have been dealt with in a much different manner. Regardless, the acting alone is reason enough to view this film. Expand
  29. Feb 2, 2011
    6
    Overall this was a good film. I know that some people are uncomfortable watching a film dominated by a homosexual theme, but for the sake of the Oscars I tried to be as noon biased as I could. Bottom line this wasn't a great movie but it wasn't a bad one either.

    Acting: Good
    Storyline: Good
    Characters: Good
  30. Jan 29, 2011
    2
    Calling this movie a film is a disgrace to all films out there. This movie was unrealistic, predictable and extremely lacking in editing. The cinematography in this movie was absolutely offel and the dialogue was pathetic and unrealistic. Through the movie the characters were acting unrealistically and unaturally and some of the most important scenes of this movie were said with no enthusiasm by them. This movie was not only an unrealistic portrayal of a lesbian family but simply an unrealistic portrayal of any family. The movie gave you the total inability to relate with any of the characters except with some odd scenes. Most of the soundtrack was pretty terrible as well. The preview is very misleading and makes the movie appear to actually be good. Since choosing this movie my dad will no longer let me pick what movie we go see together for at least three weeks. This movie is a total waste of money and time. Expand
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: Anna Smith
    Oct 25, 2010
    80
    A witty, warm exploration of family life that's conventional and unconventional in equal measure.
  2. I spent The Kids are All Right wondering whether director Lisa Cholodenko was affectionate toward her self-absorbed characters or gently mocking them. In the end, I thought she was both and liked the film more.
  3. 75
    Some people might blindly and inaccurately accuse this movie of attacking family values, but it has exactly the opposite effect. Touching and funny in their upheaval, the people in The Kids Are All Right open the door to a brand new examination of family values that leaves you charged and cheering.