Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    Oct 28, 2010
    90
    You are not Doug Block, of course. Except to the extent - measured by the depth of your absorption in this remarkable film - that you are.
  2. Reviewed by: John P. McCarthy
    Oct 29, 2010
    80
    The absorbingly bittersweet result ranks as one of the best non-fiction films of the year.
  3. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Oct 29, 2010
    80
    His final scenes with Lucy and with his own dad are both surprising and shattering, and I was left humbled by the film's honesty.
  4. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Oct 29, 2010
    80
    The small moments loom large in this moving, bittersweet and often funny documentary.
  5. Reviewed by: Sheri Linden
    Nov 12, 2010
    70
    Block wears his neuroses so guilelessly on his sleeve and organizes his material with such skill, that what might have been insufferable navel-gazing attains poignancy.
  6. Reviewed by: Eric Hynes
    Oct 26, 2010
    70
    Seemingly modest but stealthily ambitious, Block's feature-length home movies have a way of spiraling outward just as he's drilling inward, of becoming profoundly universal when most nakedly personal. And despite their candor, the Blocks are less exhibitionistic than welcoming. They make for very dear company.
  7. Reviewed by: Aaron Hillis
    Oct 26, 2010
    60
    The second in a proposed self-reflective doc trilogy, director Doug Block's embarrassingly honest follow-up to "51 Birch Street" (2005) is a neurotic, occasionally poignant rumination on his teenage daughter doing just what the title says.
  8. Reviewed by: Frank Scheck
    Oct 30, 2010
    50
    How much of this you'll find enlightening and how much simply creepy will depend on your tolerance for cinematic navel-gazing.
  9. Reviewed by: John Anderson
    Oct 24, 2010
    50
    Obsession, compulsion and fear are all part of The Kids Grow Up, which is occasionally a less-than-pleasant reminder of the goofy way we can act even while we think we're being sane.
  10. Reviewed by: Tasha Robinson
    Oct 28, 2010
    42
    By experiencing Block's films, we aren't merely witnessing his neurosis, we're abetting and validating it.
  11. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Oct 29, 2010
    40
    Block intended this movie as a loving portrait of his relationship with his daughter. Instead, it's a reflection, and not always a kind one, of the man behind the camera.
  12. Reviewed by: V.A. Musetto
    Oct 29, 2010
    25
    Maybe being able to look back in time is comforting for Block and company, but what makes him think complete strangers give a damn about his not-especially-interesting family? I certainly don't.

There are no user reviews yet.