User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 28
  2. Negative: 7 out of 28

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 3, 2011
    3
    Sadly "The Killer Inside Me", despite its few impressive tensions the movie creates, is your average sadistical porn horror.
  2. Sep 22, 2010
    6
    The storyline is stellar, even if it doesn't send the viewers a powerful message; and only powerful beatings. Casey Affleck does a great job playing a demented villain, and I'd like to see him play more devious roles.
  3. Aug 29, 2010
    5
    When a film deals with such themes as violence against women then the makers best be sure they are making it in a way that at least speaks a message against such a theme. And when they are explored to the extent that they are in a film such as The Killer Inside Me then there better be a seriously big message being sent because it is incredibly confronting to watch. All I can say for this film is at least they didnâ Expand
  4. Aug 28, 2010
    3
    By the treatment from the film, i thought it will be good one.... But it was disappointing.... Its an OK film in the sense that you can sit around most of the time during the movie (at times it gets dull and boring) cz there are on suspense which suppose to be psycho thriller movie! The film doesn't take into so much consideration about the reason why the protagonist is like that except for some flashback shots.... Totally disappointing.... Acting was superb.... I should have given it atleast only for the acting but the story telling is so bad that i want to give it 0.... Jessica alba and kate hudson has done a decent job.... Casey affleck was noteworthy.... P.s. You can follow the story only if you have read the novel before hand.... Otherwise it is hard to understand whats going on, why is it happening.... Etc. Expand
  5. Mar 27, 2011
    10
    If you enjoy watching likeable characters beaten to death, then this is your movie. Why nice actors like these folks would agree to make this movie speaks to the craft itself, where some people will take any role for money. I hated this movie!
  6. Oct 2, 2010
    3
    The Killer Inside Me was offbeat, odd, vulgar, with a pinch of good acting. The storyline was stellar, and the acting was beyond my expectations, but the movie is only good for the first twenty minutes. After Jessica Alba "died" I knew I was in for a slump.
  7. Oct 19, 2010
    9
    I highly recommend this film to anyone who isn't upset by depictions of some of the uglier things that happen in real life, or who aren't so far detached from themselves that they can't actually feel the killer that we bury deep inside ourselves, or are so dishonest that they can't admit that it is there. If you can't identify with Casey Affleck in this film you are either a liar, a coward, or you suffer from psychosis.
    The killer in me is the killer in you.
    The execution of the ending (though not the events) left a little to be desired, and the special effects in the final scene were low quality.
    Expand
  8. Jan 1, 2011
    8
    A film that does not try to give the viewer a sermon about what is right and what is wrong. Strangely, you feel a certain sympathy for the protagonist although he gives you no reason to like him, at all. I found myself intrigued and captivated by the acting and the whole atmosphere that was created with a calm subtlety that has to be praised.
  9. Jan 12, 2011
    8
    As Smashing Pumpkins sings... "The killer in you is the killer in me."

    This adaptation of Jim Thompson's 1952 novel is a brutal tale of a small-town Texas sheriff's deputy who secretly doubles as a serial killer with a penchant for beating women. Lou Ford, played by Casey Affleck, is a sociopath and we slowly watch as his sexual and violent nature takes control. Affleck delivers a
    masterful, mesmerizing performance here. He is sufficiently chilling and devious, nailing the role perfectly, and yet finds a way to somehow evoke a small amount of pity for his character. His performance is not the only one of note, though. Jessica Alba and Kate Hudson, in particular, offer stellar performances in their supporting roles. Alba's Southern accent surprised me in its authenticity and Hudson's naive fiance is perfectly executed. The entire cast is at the top of its game.

    I would be remiss not to specifically mention just how violent The Killer Inside Me is. This is not the kind of gratuitous violence and sex you see scene after scene in an action film. This is dark, gritty, raw and disturbing. Violence against women, especially when sexuality is thrown in, can be a very touchy subject for some. However, the film never exploits this for shock and awe. Lou Ford just simply is who he is, as explained through flashbacks into his childhood. All of that being said, some scenes are quite graphic and could be difficult for viewers to stomach. Personally, I enjoyed the reality of the director's vision. It was a stylish and beautifully shot film, and these few scenes of an extremely violent nature were necessary.

    The Killer Inside Me shows us just how normal someone with violent tendencies can be. Do we really know that co-worker or friend as well as we think we do? Perhaps most of us are actually capable of such terrible acts. We are human after all. And if nothing else this film should serve as a chilling reminder of that.
    Expand
  10. Jan 20, 2011
    8
    Great Film. dark and Mysterious yet light and unknowingly distorted.

    Casey Affleck is brilliant in this and is showing signs of being a truly great actor.
  11. Jun 13, 2013
    5
    Masochistic, and anachronistic; beautiful, summery cinematography and light-hearted period (1950s) tunes juxtaposes with disturbing scenes of violence against women. Weird, but watchable.
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 33
  2. Negative: 4 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Pam Grady
    Jul 27, 2014
    40
    Thompson's brutality and misogyny are on full display, but it is too slick, there is little suspense or energy, and the whole affair has a curiously embalmed quality.
  2. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Jul 27, 2014
    50
    A streamlined script might have helped. Curran and Winterbottom lose themselves in the soupy business of union shenanigans, an internal investigation and Lou's intervention in a troubled boy's life, but the added complications -- and the talk, talk, talk they require -- take away from the disquieting core of Thompson's story.
  3. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Jul 27, 2014
    70
    Winterbottom's adaptation of the novel is spellbinding cinema, with all the atmosphere, technical excellence and expert pacing the British director is known for.