Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 28 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Sheriff’s deputy Lou Ford (Casey Affleck), a quiet charmer of his idyllic West Texas town, has a simple life and a pretty girl (Kate Hudson) to come home to. But when the job brings him face to face with a gorgeous prostitute (Jessica Alba) on the edge of town, Ford's fragile world cracks - unbridling his own dark urges. [IFC Films] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 33
  2. Negative: 4 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Jul 27, 2014
    88
    The Killer Inside Me is tough, disturbing stuff: We're tagging along with a sociopath as he explains himself, reveals himself, works things out inside his head.
  2. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Jul 27, 2014
    75
    Like black coffee that's flung in our face, The Killer Inside Me silences the question of whether it's good or bad. But for darn sure, it's strong.
  3. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Jul 27, 2014
    70
    Winterbottom's adaptation of the novel is spellbinding cinema, with all the atmosphere, technical excellence and expert pacing the British director is known for.
  4. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Jul 27, 2014
    60
    Affleck is playing someone split down the middle, but we're stuck seeing only one side of him.
  5. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Jul 27, 2014
    50
    A film that should but doesn't get under your skin and give you the creeps.
  6. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    Jul 27, 2014
    50
    Michael Winterbottom’s nasty and uneven adaptation of Jim Thompson’s surpassingly mean little crime novel.
  7. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Jul 27, 2014
    20
    Little more than torture porn tricked out in art-house finery. That is the bigger crime here.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 10
  2. Negative: 3 out of 10
  1. Mar 27, 2011
    10
    If you enjoy watching likeable characters beaten to death, then this is your movie. Why nice actors like these folks would agree to make this movie speaks to the craft itself, where some people will take any role for money. I hated this movie! Expand
  2. Oct 19, 2010
    9
    I highly recommend this film to anyone who isn't upset by depictions of some of the uglier things that happen in real life, or who aren't so far detached from themselves that they can't actually feel the killer that we bury deep inside ourselves, or are so dishonest that they can't admit that it is there. If you can't identify with Casey Affleck in this film you are either a liar, a coward, or you suffer from psychosis.
    The killer in me is the killer in you.
    The execution of the ending (though not the events) left a little to be desired, and the special effects in the final scene were low quality.
    Expand
  3. Jan 20, 2011
    8
    Great Film. dark and Mysterious yet light and unknowingly distorted.

    Casey Affleck is brilliant in this and is showing signs of being a truly
    great actor. Expand
  4. Sep 22, 2010
    6
    The storyline is stellar, even if it doesn't send the viewers a powerful message; and only powerful beatings. Casey Affleck does a great job playing a demented villain, and I'd like to see him play more devious roles. Collapse
  5. Aug 29, 2010
    5
    When a film deals with such themes as violence against women then the makers best be sure they are making it in a way that at least speaks a message against such a theme. And when they are explored to the extent that they are in a film such as The Killer Inside Me then there better be a seriously big message being sent because it is incredibly confronting to watch. All I can say for this film is at least they didnâ Expand
  6. Aug 28, 2010
    3
    By the treatment from the film, i thought it will be good one.... But it was disappointing.... Its an OK film in the sense that you can sit around most of the time during the movie (at times it gets dull and boring) cz there are on suspense which suppose to be psycho thriller movie! The film doesn't take into so much consideration about the reason why the protagonist is like that except for some flashback shots.... Totally disappointing.... Acting was superb.... I should have given it atleast only for the acting but the story telling is so bad that i want to give it 0.... Jessica alba and kate hudson has done a decent job.... Casey affleck was noteworthy.... P.s. You can follow the story only if you have read the novel before hand.... Otherwise it is hard to understand whats going on, why is it happening.... Etc. Expand
  7. Nov 3, 2011
    3
    Sadly "The Killer Inside Me", despite its few impressive tensions the movie creates, is your average sadistical porn horror.

See all 10 User Reviews