CBS Films | Release Date: May 31, 2013
7.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 90 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
74
Mixed:
13
Negative:
3
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
KivaSep 20, 2013
The kings of summer is a really funny and sad at the same time movie. It talks about friendship and love. The characters were really good and the plot was quite original. Three kids that escaped from their homes so as to be independent andThe kings of summer is a really funny and sad at the same time movie. It talks about friendship and love. The characters were really good and the plot was quite original. Three kids that escaped from their homes so as to be independent and actually do whatever they want in their little cabin in the woods. Smart! I can´t say that I didn´t like someone´s performance because in general the film was well acted. An entertaining funny moving film Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
LeZeeJun 2, 2014
An independent movie and a coming-of-age comedy-drama. The story of the three boys who left behind their respective lives for their freedom to choose what they want like an adult. They move to the woods and build a cabin. This resolution byAn independent movie and a coming-of-age comedy-drama. The story of the three boys who left behind their respective lives for their freedom to choose what they want like an adult. They move to the woods and build a cabin. This resolution by teenagers leaves a greater panic in their parents. Everything in the world has an end and how long it lasts is the remains that concludes with a sharp strike that changes their rest of the life.

The story commences with a powerful tribal musical rhythm that makes us to have goosebump. Then takes us to the earlier story to reveal the meaning of their's behaviour. These kids performed awesomely especially the character Biaggio was impressive. Biaggio was the highlight, without him would have been a less interested in the story narration. The less preference given to the characters going to have a strong hold in the end of the story. So you no need to be wise to support any individual characters.

The first half of the movie was excellent and then the later parts, it really breaks my heart. The romance was the responsible for that, I could not handle it well due to I was rooting for my favourite character in the story. I think that was a downfall, otherwise I would have said it's an awesome movie than to say a good movie. Overall, one of the year's best movies and must not miss.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
TVJerryJul 7, 2013
Two teenage friends (Nick Robinson & Gabriel Basso) have typical parent issues, so they decide to build a house and live in the woods. Somewhere alone the way, a quirky sidekick (Moises Arias in a breakout comic turn) joins the adventure.Two teenage friends (Nick Robinson & Gabriel Basso) have typical parent issues, so they decide to build a house and live in the woods. Somewhere alone the way, a quirky sidekick (Moises Arias in a breakout comic turn) joins the adventure. Even though it's launched in reality, it's also set in the illusory world cinematic invention. The genuinely funny moments overshadow the trite plot. The humor sometimes has the deadpan charm of Wes Anderson without the forced quirkiness. Accept this for a lighthearted romp in adolescent escape and you'll find yourself laffing. (Stay thru the credits for one last moment with Biaggio.) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
adhamhanyDec 5, 2013
A mesmerizing film about family, friends, and eventually, growing up. The cast performances are solid, displaying a portrait of very rich characters. The script is great and the humor is natural. I loved every minute of this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
duncan1964Jan 23, 2015
Three friends decide to spend their summer holiday running away from home and building a house in the forest A charming coming of age story boasting star making turns from its three young leads and great supporting characters. A film thatThree friends decide to spend their summer holiday running away from home and building a house in the forest A charming coming of age story boasting star making turns from its three young leads and great supporting characters. A film that slipped under the radar of a lot of moviegoers but should be caught on DVD as soon as possible Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Tss5078Nov 25, 2014
Everyone thinks their parents are crazy, but in the case of Joe, Patrick, & Biaggio, their parents really are nuts. Looking to escape the insanity of their every day lives, the boys decide one summer to build a cabin in the woods, where theyEveryone thinks their parents are crazy, but in the case of Joe, Patrick, & Biaggio, their parents really are nuts. Looking to escape the insanity of their every day lives, the boys decide one summer to build a cabin in the woods, where they can live off the land like men. Nick Robinson stars as Joe, and gives a performance that is out of this world. In a film that stars three kids in the woods, it would be very easy for things to turn stupid very quickly, but as the leader of the pack, Joe not only keeps the group together, but keeps the story together. No matter what this young man does over the course of his career, he will have a hard time duplicating what was easily a career defining performance. Robinson is paired with Disney star Moises Arias, who until now I thought was just this weird little guy they used to guest in their shows. Arias plays Biaggio, easily one of the funniest characters I've seen in a very long time, some of the things that come out of his mouth are just fall on the floor funny. As the kids enjoy their time in the woods, their parents really start to show their crazy, as they go on a hunt for the lost boys. The characters were all unique in their own way, but Joe's father, played by Nick Offerman, was far and away the best, leading the parents the same way, his son lead the boys. From gigantic wontons to turtles on kites, The Kings of Summer is an extremely enjoyable film and the rare instance of a film that I wish was longer. I truly loved every second of this smart coming of age comedy, for it's uniqueness and young exciting cast. Blending dramatic and comedic elements, The Kings of Summer is that perfect mix that takes you from laughter to tears and back again. For that, this film is an easy choice for one of our must see movies! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
csw12Dec 12, 2013
Nothing gels, the characters don't come together and the entire movie is built on a thin premise that can't last more than 10 minutes. The so called comedy is lazy and comes across as forced, especially from the father. The Kings of SummerNothing gels, the characters don't come together and the entire movie is built on a thin premise that can't last more than 10 minutes. The so called comedy is lazy and comes across as forced, especially from the father. The Kings of Summer accompanied by weird and pointless music, is a terrible film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Trev29Dec 9, 2013
A nice premise that begins to unwind pretty quickly though. The characters are not particularly likable, and the movie is too weird to be considered a drama, but not funny enough to be a comedy. There was clearly a tone problem. However, itA nice premise that begins to unwind pretty quickly though. The characters are not particularly likable, and the movie is too weird to be considered a drama, but not funny enough to be a comedy. There was clearly a tone problem. However, it still managed to be creative and have a decent ending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SpangleMay 25, 2015
As a sucker for coming of age films, I most certainly enjoyed The Kings of Summer. It was quite funny throughout and really hit all the "teenage angst" markers that it should hit. The problems in the film were relatable and really handledAs a sucker for coming of age films, I most certainly enjoyed The Kings of Summer. It was quite funny throughout and really hit all the "teenage angst" markers that it should hit. The problems in the film were relatable and really handled well. The writing is pretty good, not great, but it works well throughout and the direction here is pretty good and the story winds up being told well. The acting is really good. I loved Nick Offerman here, he really played the role of the father really well and brought a certain aura to the role that worked really well. In addition, the characters throughout were really well-developed and their stories made sense. They felt like real human beings everyone knows, rather than just cardboard cutouts of teenagers. However, my main problem here deals with some highly improbable things happening in the plot. I do not want to spoil at all, so I won't say it outright, but for coming of age films, they need to be grounded a bit in reality and not overly outlandish. In this case, this one seems highly unlikely at times, which is odd since the characters and problems are so real and well done. Yet, the plot itself just throws it off a bit at times and really needed to be more realistic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Eon2323Jun 30, 2013
The humor and superb writing of this film matches the beautiful cinematography captured in this coming-of-age story of three teenagers living off of Mother Nature's spoils for the summer.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
sanyrubMar 2, 2015
It´s one of those light and harmless films about teenagers growing up. It´s beautiful and watchable. However, it promised way more that what it ended offering. The film starts losing steam halfway through, probably because the premise is notIt´s one of those light and harmless films about teenagers growing up. It´s beautiful and watchable. However, it promised way more that what it ended offering. The film starts losing steam halfway through, probably because the premise is not that strong. One of the three characters (one of the boys) seemed to have much more potential but it did not go anywhere too interesting either. Still, a nice watch if you are not asking for much or if you are a fan of this type of stories. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BrianMcCriticSep 28, 2013
This is a really funny film because you can relate to these kids and their desire to get away from their parents. The film is well made with a very realistic feel from its actors. A
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
triplebogeyNov 30, 2013
Well written and acted, the movie had my attention throughout. The Kings of Summer is lighthearted and funny, while at the same time it registers strong empathy for young love and heartbreak. It is worth the watch and way better then so manyWell written and acted, the movie had my attention throughout. The Kings of Summer is lighthearted and funny, while at the same time it registers strong empathy for young love and heartbreak. It is worth the watch and way better then so many of the same old same old predictable Hollywood movies coming out these days. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
bumpgirlJun 7, 2013
I found this movie to be well written, well acted and very funny. Extremely entertaining for teenagers and grownups alike. Definitely worth seeing. It's crazy that it has an R rating due to some language and underage drinking (OMG peopleI found this movie to be well written, well acted and very funny. Extremely entertaining for teenagers and grownups alike. Definitely worth seeing. It's crazy that it has an R rating due to some language and underage drinking (OMG people use words like 'sh_t' and 14-year-olds drink beer at parties!). Overall, I thought that while some of the characters (the cops and parents) were overdrawn in a zaney way, the circumstances and feelings were totally relatable. And anyway this is from the viewpoint of 14-year-old kids who often view their parents as absurd. To my mind, it lent itself well to the type of humor. Overall, this is a solidly good summer movie and well worth the price of the ticket. Grab some popcorn and sit back and enjoy yourself! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
FranzHcriticJul 24, 2014
A movie of life, family, friendship, and independence, all things teenagers cherish, but take for granted. A juxtaposition of deadpan comedy and pragmatic cynicism, the sum of our daily lives as humans. The humor is not forced, the story isA movie of life, family, friendship, and independence, all things teenagers cherish, but take for granted. A juxtaposition of deadpan comedy and pragmatic cynicism, the sum of our daily lives as humans. The humor is not forced, the story is captivating, dialogue is natural and so is the acting. Something teenagers should see and understand. It's a small gem of indie filmmaking. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
Epilef94Oct 7, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. No vi comedia, solo 3 chicos repitiendo la historia de reencontrarse y darse cuenta de que irse de la casa esta mal, debería estar en otra categoría. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TheBadTouchOct 8, 2013
At first glance, skeptically, I thought great another coming of age movie but this movie is more than its moving parts. It speaks to something very still in this world.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
InterpaulOct 23, 2013
This independent gem is deserving of a much wider release. It is funny, nostalgic and poignant in all the right places and features four young actors/actress destined for great things. Already i hear that Nick Robinson is rumored to be up forThis independent gem is deserving of a much wider release. It is funny, nostalgic and poignant in all the right places and features four young actors/actress destined for great things. Already i hear that Nick Robinson is rumored to be up for a role in Jurassic World no doubt on the strength of this performance. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
himeegDec 19, 2013
I am a sucker for films like this. KoS echoes many of my favorite kid and teenage films (The Goonies, Super 8, Adventureland). The overall positive tone of this film is tempered by the black humor and real sadness felt by everyone in theI am a sucker for films like this. KoS echoes many of my favorite kid and teenage films (The Goonies, Super 8, Adventureland). The overall positive tone of this film is tempered by the black humor and real sadness felt by everyone in the film. Good film! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
oDjentoMay 17, 2015
Quick and brief. I'm quite surprised not more people have heard of this gem, unbelievably hilarious almost all they way through with brilliantly played characters that were - for me - extremely relatable. The film is solid and ridiculousQuick and brief. I'm quite surprised not more people have heard of this gem, unbelievably hilarious almost all they way through with brilliantly played characters that were - for me - extremely relatable. The film is solid and ridiculous almost all the way through and is pretty up beat and light hearted even with the upset parents. However, the last section got a little too bittersweet and lost it seemed and the characters resolutions with each other seemed pretty forced. Still doesn't take away from that side splitting laugh through out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
heathermMay 16, 2015
I absolutely loved this movie. There were several times where I nearly stopped to pause it because I was laughing so hard. The awkwardness of all the interactions with the parents are just so perfect, and it brings back all kinds ofI absolutely loved this movie. There were several times where I nearly stopped to pause it because I was laughing so hard. The awkwardness of all the interactions with the parents are just so perfect, and it brings back all kinds of memories. I also found it easy to sympathize with both the parents and the teenagers, which makes for a more interesting viewing experience because you can see the enormous divide between them. Nick Offerman's character in particular was intriguing--he had the typical Nick Offerman crankiness, but it seemed toned down to the point that it was believable, and in his moments of doubt he became a fully humanized character.

The let's-run-away-to-the-woods premise is charming, and I was surprised by how believably it was played out; their house in the woods was certainly impressive, and it strains disbelief a little that they got so many materials, but I liked that it was a ramshackle place to live. The interludes of the boys drumming on a pipe, as well as the quick shots of nature scenes, served to pause the film in interesting ways by giving you a moment to think and reflect on their life together.

The boys were well-developed characters, and even the "weird kid" was fleshed out enough that he felt like a real person rather than a schtick. The use of the blonde girl as a plot device rather than a person was a bit frustrating, as it felt like a bit of a cheap way to advance the plot without making her a real character; I'm sad to say this movie fails the Bechdel test pretty hard, as none of the female characters talk to each other. Still, the flaw almost seems forgiveable in a movie that's the coming-of-age story of three boys.

All in all, this was a delightful movie--hilarious, relatable, and with moments of tension and heartbreak sprinkled throughout. I'll certainly give this movie a second watching sometime, and I expect my movie partner and I will be quoting lines from it to one another and bursting into laughter for some time to come.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Tomahawk_JoeFeb 11, 2016
This is one of my favorite films. Maybe it's because I'm the same age as the protagonists, or maybe, it's the "Stand By Me" independence that oozes from every frame, but I love this movie. I watch it yearly and fall in love with it a bit moreThis is one of my favorite films. Maybe it's because I'm the same age as the protagonists, or maybe, it's the "Stand By Me" independence that oozes from every frame, but I love this movie. I watch it yearly and fall in love with it a bit more every time. Truly an underrated classic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews