Weinstein Company, The | Release Date: November 26, 2010
8.4
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 720 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
654
Mixed:
52
Negative:
14
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
asylumspadezNov 26, 2011
Easily one of the greatest films you will ever see. Sadly though people are shallow and dont see the bigger picture that the film represents. The acting was wonderful and the entire film was simply a master piece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
USGNov 21, 2011
This is a fascinating story told in a unique perspective with a distinct, admirable style of cinematography that is memorable. It's surprising to see what can be accomplished with such a budget.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Bu99Mar 7, 2011
A moving and funny film is hard to get but Tom Hooper and David Seidler did a great job. The Oscar was well given and I think everyone should see this movie it's a story of bravery and friendship. I got to say that Helena Bonham Carter wasA moving and funny film is hard to get but Tom Hooper and David Seidler did a great job. The Oscar was well given and I think everyone should see this movie it's a story of bravery and friendship. I got to say that Helena Bonham Carter was really different on this movie we are used to see her in crazy roles like Red Queen in "Alice in Wonderland" or Bellatrix Lestrange in "Harry Potter". Colin Firth deserved the oscar it's a hard role to play and he was great! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
slik286Mar 3, 2011
Riveting performance by Colin Firth. It's a shame people can't name more of his movies:
http://www.quizmatics.com/quiz_templates/film_quest/2/
If you haven't seen this yet - do yourself a favor and watch it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ReviewAvenueApr 30, 2011
Isn't it weird how this movie was rated R yet Battle: Los Angeles wasn't?
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SUPERFLYMar 21, 2011
This was a thoroughly enjoyable movie. I saw this a while ago (before the BAFTAs and Oscars) but decided to come back now to write a review. I didn't know much about this movie before seeing it, so I went in with no expectations. I'm glad toThis was a thoroughly enjoyable movie. I saw this a while ago (before the BAFTAs and Oscars) but decided to come back now to write a review. I didn't know much about this movie before seeing it, so I went in with no expectations. I'm glad to say that I didn't come away disappointed. I've never been a fan of Colin Firth, but I have to give credit where it's due, he is excellent in this. Geoffrey Rush is amazing as well. I couldn't see this film working with any one else in those roles. The story is interesting, the script is well written, and the acting is spot on. What more could you want. It was nice to see a film that hasn't made me feel like I've wasted my time and money. Recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SetsunaSeieiApr 3, 2011
Extremely well done, sensible and historically accurate, The King's Speech is probably the best movie I have seen in 2010. Acting was superb, something you sadly can't say of the majority of movies shown in today's cinemas, and by the end IExtremely well done, sensible and historically accurate, The King's Speech is probably the best movie I have seen in 2010. Acting was superb, something you sadly can't say of the majority of movies shown in today's cinemas, and by the end I felt really enriched. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
yarrApr 20, 2011
I think the right word for the movie is moving. As I watched I really felt as though Firth really was struggling, and to watch the transformation from beginning to end is just an experience you really won't want to miss. Some may argue thatI think the right word for the movie is moving. As I watched I really felt as though Firth really was struggling, and to watch the transformation from beginning to end is just an experience you really won't want to miss. Some may argue that the subject matter is dry, and I would argue the opposite. You have characters who develop throughout the movie and you are really shown how the development of those characters plays out. A must see! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
jessetaylor25Apr 9, 2011
An impeccably well crafted film that tells the remarkable true story about the relationship between King George VI and his speech therapist. Due to constant embarrassment from his stammer, George VI seeks professional help and finds LionelAn impeccably well crafted film that tells the remarkable true story about the relationship between King George VI and his speech therapist. Due to constant embarrassment from his stammer, George VI seeks professional help and finds Lionel Logue, a self-declared speech therapist. Logue works hard to rid George of his impediment, albeit in an unorthodox manner, and they form a teacher-monarch relationship that serves as the heart of the film.
Not exactly groundbreaking work, but certainly inspired, "The King's Speech" is a lavish English drama that showcases a brilliant performance from the always charming Colin Firth. His attention to detail, especially in the scenes with Geoffrey Rush, is really what makes this biopic much more heartfelt and believable than some others I have seen lately. A terrific supporting cast, highlighted by performances from Rush and Helena Bonham Carter, along with the cinematography and that beautiful score from Desplat make this one of the most accomplished films of the year. Definitely worthy of its praise, "The King's Speech" is a charming film that details a wonderful sliver of English history.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BINFORDApr 13, 2011
This one was as good as advertised.
NOT an action movie by a long shot.
This movie gives this Royal a sense of human frailty to the viewer. Firth and Rush do a phenomenal job! Great script, great acting what this movie needed was a few more
This one was as good as advertised.
NOT an action movie by a long shot.
This movie gives this Royal a sense of human frailty to the viewer.
Firth and Rush do a phenomenal job!
Great script, great acting what this movie needed was a few more sunny days, but that is England's weather for you.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Khunter4382May 31, 2011
The transformation of Firth's character in the final act is amazing to watch! We go from an incredibly terrified Royal to a very proud man. Rush gives another excellent performance, perhaps better than Firth?
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
log0fan1Jul 12, 2011
The King's Speech is a wonderful film about a man finding his voice when the world needed to hear it most, but that's only the plot as it may be described at a more superficial level. Deeper themes on friendship, confidence, self-worth, love,The King's Speech is a wonderful film about a man finding his voice when the world needed to hear it most, but that's only the plot as it may be described at a more superficial level. Deeper themes on friendship, confidence, self-worth, love, respect, and hard work are all highlighted in this touching and powerful instant classic that's sure to speak to every viewer who has ever suffered through any physical, mental, or emotional shortcomings and fought to overcome. Supported by a witty, meaningful, and self-assured script; strong direction; great sets and costuming; seamless performances; and impeccable intangibles; The King's Speech is a complete film, a modern masterpiece with old fashioned sensibilities and a timeless message that's sure to live on for decades to come. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Polonaise77Jul 3, 2011
This was a very good movie. Thought it focuses more on character developement over plot, that's understandable because it's based off a true story. I'm glad it won best picture.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TheSportSpinJun 17, 2011
Fantastic, this is movie making at it's best. The acting is impeccable, from the leads to all the supporting. Colin Firth gives the quintessential George IV. Rush and Carter are tremendous Of course these fine performances would be wastedFantastic, this is movie making at it's best. The acting is impeccable, from the leads to all the supporting. Colin Firth gives the quintessential George IV. Rush and Carter are tremendous Of course these fine performances would be wasted without David Seidler's screenplay and Tom Hooper's light hand directing such fine stars. He allows them to fully immerse themselves in their characters and brings the audience in with their performances. Brilliant. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
HasrionaJul 20, 2011
The incredible acting of Firth and Rush compel us through this interesting and touching historical drama. From the simplistic beauty of the sets to the enchanting score, this is monumental cinema and a true example at how the British FilmThe incredible acting of Firth and Rush compel us through this interesting and touching historical drama. From the simplistic beauty of the sets to the enchanting score, this is monumental cinema and a true example at how the British Film Industry is far from death - it is, in fact, at its pinnacle. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
spielbrick90Aug 11, 2011
This film is just amazing, a great performance from Colin Firth which was definitely worthy of his Oscar. Also an outstanding performance from Geoffrey Rush, the supporting rolls are also done exceptionally well to, like the rolls portrayedThis film is just amazing, a great performance from Colin Firth which was definitely worthy of his Oscar. Also an outstanding performance from Geoffrey Rush, the supporting rolls are also done exceptionally well to, like the rolls portrayed by Helena Bonham Carter, Guy Pearce, and Michael Gambon. This film is one of the best I've ever seen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Potter17Dec 10, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Displaying a gorgeous cinematography, mesmerizing performances and an engaging story, "The King's Speech" is certainly a crowd pleaser. But will all that appeal compensate the predictable and simple plot? I think so. Even tough there's no challenge situation that can impress us, Colin Firth is perfect at making us care about the King's situation. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
zizzoTAug 20, 2011
This movie was absolutely fantastic. Heartwarming, with an unforgettable academy award winning performance from colin firth, and a very funny and charming geoffry rush, along with the also charming helena bonahm carter, The King's SpeechThis movie was absolutely fantastic. Heartwarming, with an unforgettable academy award winning performance from colin firth, and a very funny and charming geoffry rush, along with the also charming helena bonahm carter, The King's Speech succeeds with a great script from david seidler, three brilliant performances, and beautiful direction from tom hooper. The 2nd best film of 2010 besides david fincher's "The Social Network" the only reason this movie gets a 9 is because I think it's trying to much to be a oscar movie, unlike the social network. But still very satisfying. But it did not deserve best picture and diretcor. Those should have gone to The Social Network. But still very heartwarming and enjoyable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
avatar16Sep 15, 2011
Le Discours d'un roi, voilà le film inattendu de cette année! Avec un concept original (bien que réel) et des têtes connues, ce long-métrage aurait seulementLe Discours d'un roi, voilà le film inattendu de cette année! Avec un concept original (bien que réel) et des têtes connues, ce long-métrage aurait seulement suscité la curiosité de plusieurs personnes. Mais c'était sans compter sur le charme du film. Un charme qui provient notamment de l'excellente prestation de chaque acteur (Colin Firth, Geoffrey Rush, Helena Bonham Carter, Guy Pearce, Derek Jacobi...), de la bande originale d'Alexandre Desplat, des dialogues et de la reconstitution de l'époque (décors, costumes, accessoires...). Mais surtout, le film doit son charisme à son ambiance, qui en restant d'une sobriété incroyable parvient tout du long à dégager une extraordinaire puissance, rendant cette histoire et ces personnages merveilleusement attachants. Le Discours d'un Roi, le film à ne pas manquer, sous aucun prétexte! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TheMudDoctorAug 27, 2011
This past yearâ
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
CCostaSep 9, 2011
The acting was superb. It's a very moving story and you realize it just in time for the end. I simply loved it, actually there's not much more to say.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
sinadoomApr 7, 2013
I'm not seeing what all the hype is about. Sure, there are some funny moments and superb acting but the whole story, events, excitement etc. are all lacking. The King's Speech does what it sets out to do very well, but that's not saying muchI'm not seeing what all the hype is about. Sure, there are some funny moments and superb acting but the whole story, events, excitement etc. are all lacking. The King's Speech does what it sets out to do very well, but that's not saying much given how it doesn't try to do anything at all. There's no actual tangible content which makes this film worth watching. Only those who get emotional over absolutely everything can enjoy this film in my opinion. No action, no excitement, no laughter. Just plain boring. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
marnee96Nov 3, 2011
Another great addition to the category of period dramas. Masterfully acted by Colin Firth and with an impressive supporting cast, The King's Speech is Oscar gold. 4/4 stars.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
eTurkeyJan 26, 2012
To be burdened with holding supreme power, status, and authority of a monarch must not be an easy task. Throw a speech impediment into the mix and the result would surely be near impossible. That's what George VI, otherwise known as "theTo be burdened with holding supreme power, status, and authority of a monarch must not be an easy task. Throw a speech impediment into the mix and the result would surely be near impossible. That's what George VI, otherwise known as "the Reluctant Kingâ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
savannahrummelJan 16, 2012
There is a reason why Colin Firth won Best Actor and there is a reason why this movie won Best Picture. Brilliant. Absolutely brilliant. One of the greatest films made in a long time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
tallmanwritingNov 26, 2012
Brilliant, exciting and perfectly cast, The King's Speech is one of my favorite movies ever. Top 5 easily. For a movie with very little action, per se, it moves quickly. The characters are memorable and fantastic in this story of the BritishBrilliant, exciting and perfectly cast, The King's Speech is one of my favorite movies ever. Top 5 easily. For a movie with very little action, per se, it moves quickly. The characters are memorable and fantastic in this story of the British move toward a second world war. Best Colin Firth ever. Best Geoffrey Rush ever. Just beautiful. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
spadenxDec 1, 2011
Its easily one of the greatest films of all time. The acting is simply amazing and Colin Firth is an amazing lead for this film. I highly recommend it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
chugheadJan 8, 2012
Geoffrey Rush is charming! Full of wit, humor and humility. Decent enough to take a real period piece film seriously without being to Hollywood blockbuster. Firth makes character likable. Both are adoring. Long live
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
josecastroJan 6, 2012
Encantador retrato de la vida de un rey y la forma de superar sus problemas personales y reales quedas satisfecho momentos hilarantes y grandes actuaciones de las mejores películas del año
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
imthenoobNov 22, 2012
Untouchable acting imo that makes the movie worth watching for that point alone. I think the story is great and really touching as well. Some people simply do not get it I guess. A must see imo.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
beingryanjudeAug 25, 2014
No matter what you are handed in life, nobody says that it will be easy. The King's Speech certainly personifies that notion. In one of the finest historical portrayals of a past Royal Family, the film is absorbing and profound. Colin FirthNo matter what you are handed in life, nobody says that it will be easy. The King's Speech certainly personifies that notion. In one of the finest historical portrayals of a past Royal Family, the film is absorbing and profound. Colin Firth gives a performance for the ages! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Trev29Mar 26, 2012
No matter how masterful the acting was, this movie just didn't wow me. The movie took time and care to make sure every aspect of the film was excellent, however, the script, just put me to sleep. The ending was riveting the first time I sawNo matter how masterful the acting was, this movie just didn't wow me. The movie took time and care to make sure every aspect of the film was excellent, however, the script, just put me to sleep. The ending was riveting the first time I saw it, but hardly moved me at all the second time around. I don't dislike this film, but giving it best picture was such a discernment. BOOOOO. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
pumbazJun 1, 2012
Refreshingly good movie about a topic that the public knows little about. Although the story doesn't have much historical truth to it as much of the tale is completely made up - still it is good enought to believe that two people could workRefreshingly good movie about a topic that the public knows little about. Although the story doesn't have much historical truth to it as much of the tale is completely made up - still it is good enought to believe that two people could work so hard together through such an ordeal. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
kirkteegardinJul 5, 2012
If you are wondering why this movie won best picture along with other three other Oscars then you have not yet seen it. The movie is about King George VI becoming king and his problems with his speech. He is second in line to become theIf you are wondering why this movie won best picture along with other three other Oscars then you have not yet seen it. The movie is about King George VI becoming king and his problems with his speech. He is second in line to become the King of England, his brother is above him. At the beginning of the movie he begins by stammering on a speech. You clearly get to see the problems he has when he speaks. His speech problem is not stage fright because it even happens when he tells his daughter's stories. His wife (Bellatrix from the movie series of Harry Potter) tries to find a solution for her husband. One attempt is holding marbles in his mouth and trying to speak (a doctor suggests this). After this falls George goes to a different doctor where the story of friendship begins. His new speech therapist has many exercises for George to perform. It gives you goosebumps the first time you are watching it and the king realize that the doctor was right about the music (watch it and you will know what I mean). Later in the movie George's brother decided to give up the throne of England so he can marry a divorce United States woman that still has husbands living (this is against the Church of England). George then becomes the kind of England and is fear of having to talk publicly becomes reality. Before when he was duke he does not have to speak on such of a global scale. Know that he has become king he will know have to give many more speeches. The Kings Speech gets its name from speech George address to the public. Thanks to his practice with his new founded friend the speech therapist, he succeeds in giving the speech without stammering (except for once; so that the audience knows it was really him giving the speech). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SpangleApr 10, 2014
Quite a good film indeed. Colin Firth kicks ass and takes names as King George VI and it is truly no wonder that he won Best Actor. Throughout the film, I could not help but marvel at Firth's amazing performance and he really caries this oneQuite a good film indeed. Colin Firth kicks ass and takes names as King George VI and it is truly no wonder that he won Best Actor. Throughout the film, I could not help but marvel at Firth's amazing performance and he really caries this one on his shoulders. Beyond him, the film is a very nice period drama with pitch perfect art and costume direction that really define the era that is covered here. Geoffrey Rush also did a very good job here, though I cannot help but think he almost got overshadowed by Firth's powerhouse performance in the lead role. The film also does a good job making us feel sympathy for the King as he struggles with this debilitating speech impediment that prevents him from being able to speak to his nation as he should.

In terms of negatives, this one has a couple which prevent me from giving it a higher score. First off, it is incredibly slow. The final 15-20 minutes are gold and exactly what we are waiting for, but, while everything before certainly has its moments, it certainly drags a fair bit. I was never bored, but it was troublesome to say the least. Also, this one does not strike me as a film with a lot of replay value. I watched it and now what? If this one is on television or what not, I do not really envision myself stopping and having to watch it again. Regardless, it is quite a good film and it is not hard to see why it did so well at the Oscars.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
jfrotylpe532Jan 5, 2013
This wonderful film is about the true story of how the Duke of York was stammerer and got help from an Australian speech therapist who believed that doctor techniques were stupid. Geoffrey Rush and Colin Firth both have strong performancesThis wonderful film is about the true story of how the Duke of York was stammerer and got help from an Australian speech therapist who believed that doctor techniques were stupid. Geoffrey Rush and Colin Firth both have strong performances not to mention a good performance by Helena Bonham Carter. It is amazing how he was before the speech therapist and how well he did with the speech therapist. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
Pristinely written and acted, "The King's Speech" is an uplifting, culturally significant drama with a wholesome message grounded in its center.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SwatiFeb 28, 2013
One watches movies to be entertained. Apart from a few heart wrenching scenes in which the lead is stuck in a stutter and embarrasses himself, the movie was a drag and got really boring, except for an occasional funny line here and there. TheOne watches movies to be entertained. Apart from a few heart wrenching scenes in which the lead is stuck in a stutter and embarrasses himself, the movie was a drag and got really boring, except for an occasional funny line here and there. The editing is the real culprit here. The audience has been attuned to fast paced dramas and anything slowing the narrative has no place in modern film and literature. If a movie is this long, it should offer more than just some scenes about a person practicing his lines for a speech, which would have been understood with just a few scenes, for we're not stupid. Back story and character development for the main character was lacking. If they were hellbent to stick to just showing the king stutter over and over, and offer no explanations and character depth, the length could have been cut a lot. True Grit, The Social Network and Inception were better movies, and every one of them deserved Best Picture more than this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Erik_ImsenFeb 9, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A fine film. The acting is good, so is the directing, the camera, the cinematography, the music, the costume design, set design, editing... all of it is good. The story was a great story. Why a 6 then? In a paradoxical way, just because of the above. It is good but not great. And worst of all: everything is predictable. No surprises ever come. 1) A disabled tormented man who shouldn't have to be King is actually going to be King. 2) He suffers from a stutter no one can help him cure. 3) Until he meets with an unorthodox yet far superior to any specialist in the Kingdom therapist that helps him. 4) Astonishing progress from day one. 5) We see them work. 6) They have an argument and stop seeing each other. 7) They make peace and work again. 8) Big day comes and everything works out great. The movie is just that linear and predictable. So I didn't dislike it. But I didn't like it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
spollardMar 7, 2014
This movie is near perfection. Winner of four Oscars rightfully so, you will not be disappointed after watching this. An incredible true story of a man trying to get over his stammer and fear of public speaking which many people can easilyThis movie is near perfection. Winner of four Oscars rightfully so, you will not be disappointed after watching this. An incredible true story of a man trying to get over his stammer and fear of public speaking which many people can easily relate to. The cinematography is absolutely amazing and really makes you feel nervous for him while watching the film. In terms of acting, everyone in the movie is brilliant especially Firth in the leading role. Overall this is one of the best movies I have ever seen and is the highest rating I have ever given on Metacritic. 91.3 out of 100. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Joshthomas2014Apr 14, 2013
The King's Speech was a very inspirational movie in showing one of the best examples in history of someone overcoming their speech impediment for the gain of an entire nation.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JonLabudakisMay 12, 2013
I cant understand the point that the movie is boring and there is no action.
The speech at the end was for preparing a whole nation for the second world war.So its pretty serious stuff.
And i hate this guys who give Fast and the Furios a
I cant understand the point that the movie is boring and there is no action.
The speech at the end was for preparing a whole nation for the second world war.So its pretty serious stuff.
And i hate this guys who give Fast and the Furios a score of 10 and this film a 0 ranking!
Its pretty annoying me.
To the movie:Colin Firth was not overplayed.He made a very got job.And Geoffrey Rush played also well.
Because ist a historic movie i was worried that its to hauling.But my fear was not correct and i really enjoyed the film at every part.There were no lengths and the performances get me hooked.
So i give it a 9 from 10.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
nippu33May 15, 2013
The King's Speech is a film with visual magnificently well done a great photo and a great soundtrack and a strong direction, but will also praise for the cast to give a show of interpretation, including Colin Firth gave that show.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
LansdenrsJun 20, 2013
Boring,dull,lifeless picture about a guy who shudders. Pretty good ending but the rest of the movie was a drag. Firth does his best with the acting. But I can't get over the fact that this is universal acclaim. A man who studders and can't doBoring,dull,lifeless picture about a guy who shudders. Pretty good ending but the rest of the movie was a drag. Firth does his best with the acting. But I can't get over the fact that this is universal acclaim. A man who studders and can't do a speech. I don't get it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
marcmyworksDec 20, 2016
This film is what I can only describe as close to perfect as one will get. If Colin Firth hadn't won the Oscar for Best Actor then I was willing to stop watching the Academy Awards.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
hanneguacamoleJun 9, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The King's Speech is a glimpse into the life of royalty, of the father of our very own Queen Elizabeth II. For those (like me) who don't know much about history, the opening shots were complex in that we don't know if Albert is a king yet or not and we don't know why he's having so much trouble speaking, but it is all soon realized. Albert's first speech is painful to listen to. It shows the beginning of the real struggles that will be later portrayed and the deep emotional context. Albert tries a variety of traditional medicines to rectify his stammer, but to us they look foreign and unorthodox. Lionel's practices are much more modern yet they are seen as so foreign only less than a century ago at this time.

The real class divide is shown between Lionel and Albert. The soon-to-be king has trouble recognizing that the stammer is somewhat mental and that to help his problem, he can't treat his doctor as if he's unimportant. Even Albert realizes that his problem can be cured, or at least helped, once he hears himself on that record that Lionel recorded.

Familial issues are a huge source of conflict and power shifts throughout the movie. "We're not a family, we're a firm," describes the context fairly well. King George V dies and so David takes over until he decides he must marry a divorced woman which leaves the unprepared and unwilling Albert to fill that role as King George VI. Albert seems to detest being in this position, mostly due to this speech impediment that he has so much trouble getting over.

Elizabeth–Albert's wife seems to be in this position were she must take care of her husband. She is of course married to a king, but this is a role women seem to take much too often in movies. Not that this isn't a valid way to live, but I did a little research and of all the movies I've watched over the past year, only 15 (compared to 57) had female leads. There was an even bleaker prospect for female directors with 77 male directors to 7 female. Kind of inspired me to make my own way in the industry, but who knows.

The movie concludes with the beginning of World War II and interactions with Hitler, where Lionel is constantly by the king's side. Of course this stammer is always a part of his life, but he manages to make it through successfully and become a successful wartime leader and king. And his daughter is still serving their country today
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ahn77Aug 23, 2015
Although it's a good, clear and smooth movie that entertain you about 2 hours, but there are some holes in it. Of course is one of the best movies of the decade, but it doesn't mean that it's a masterpiece
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
smiyamotNov 28, 2015
It's always going be a good movie when someone with a physical handicap overcomes it to triumph in the end. Not too many kings let that kind of information go public, however. So we get to see the Royal Family and how they screw up theIt's always going be a good movie when someone with a physical handicap overcomes it to triumph in the end. Not too many kings let that kind of information go public, however. So we get to see the Royal Family and how they screw up the second son, hey, they are just as dysfunctional as us regular folks. Lucky for him the Queen mum (Elizabeth's mother) is a take charge kind of gal and drags him to a speech therapist. I'd seen the Queen mum on TV on Buckingham Palace's balcony; wow, who knew what she went through in her younger days! 3 cheers for her! The ensuing relationship that builds between the King and the therapist is the crux of the movie. I don't have a lot of DVDs but this one is a keeper. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
alejandro970Jan 18, 2017
Screenplay based on a true story, about how domain the art of speech in public. Adecuate dose of british humor and notorious performances by Firth and Rush. The final sequence of the speech is smashing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews