The Ladykillers

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 88 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 88
  2. Negative: 22 out of 88

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. LarryS.
    Mar 27, 2004
    2
    Ahhhhhhhhhhh ...... A piece of trash. Hanks performance is an embarrassment. Not even a video rental on a slow night. Don't waste your money. If you want to see Ladykillers rent the original with Alec Guinness, it's brillant!
  2. MikeL.
    Jul 14, 2004
    1
    Horrible..simply bad! it had some little funny parts, thats why i gave it a 1. but i wouldnt waste my money seeing.
  3. Rico
    Sep 8, 2004
    3
    I used to be of the school that even a bad Cohen Bros. movie is better than most other movies. This is becoming less true with each release.
  4. LeeF.
    Apr 4, 2004
    3
    Very odd and disjointed. it had some laffs, but i agree with roger ebert that a) the janitor's "potty-mouth" was out of synch with the rest of the movie and b) that the 'bob jones' sub-plot was wrong in that bob jones u is known for its racial discrimination. also, altho i love tom hanks, his professorial speech was hard to follow at times. it got a '3' mainly for Very odd and disjointed. it had some laffs, but i agree with roger ebert that a) the janitor's "potty-mouth" was out of synch with the rest of the movie and b) that the 'bob jones' sub-plot was wrong in that bob jones u is known for its racial discrimination. also, altho i love tom hanks, his professorial speech was hard to follow at times. it got a '3' mainly for the few laffs it provided in the last act. i was actaully ready to walk out after about 20 min (I was starting to nod off). my fiance and myself talked with a few folks after the movie and they seemed to share the same opinion (some for different reasons). nobody seemed to really like it. it also seemed to be an older crowd (target audience?). Expand
  5. JudithS.
    Apr 6, 2004
    3
    This is the most racist movie I have seen in years. Why is it that no critic mentioned this or was offended by it. Did everyone think it was funny?
  6. BillR.
    Apr 7, 2004
    2
    Just terrible - after the letdowns that were O Brother Where Art Thou? (muggingly average at best), The Man Who Wasn't There (meh) and Intolerable Cruelty (absolutely mediocre); The Ladykillers (their worst comedy since The Hudsucker Proxy), finally erases my hopes of the Coen ever making a half-decent picture (i.e. Lebowski) in the near future to a sliver. Feels about as disdainful Just terrible - after the letdowns that were O Brother Where Art Thou? (muggingly average at best), The Man Who Wasn't There (meh) and Intolerable Cruelty (absolutely mediocre); The Ladykillers (their worst comedy since The Hudsucker Proxy), finally erases my hopes of the Coen ever making a half-decent picture (i.e. Lebowski) in the near future to a sliver. Feels about as disdainful for genuine (re: non-arch) wit and charm as your average Hollywood rom-com, or an Adam Sandler movie. Most tolerable actor on display is Irma P. Hall (not saying much). As for Col. Sanders....er, Hanks, he turns in one of the lousiest caricaturish performances I've seen in a while, and in a *Coen* movie to boot (now that's saying a lot). Avoid. Expand
  7. JamesM.
    May 31, 2004
    2
    What a lame film. The plot seemed so disjointed at the beginning that I thought the DVD was corrupted and had switched to a different film! The characters are weak, the inclusion of the foul mouthed cleaner seemed totally out of place and added nothing. With parts of the film seemed set in the 30s and other parts in present day made it a confusing mix. Became slightly amusing at the end. What a lame film. The plot seemed so disjointed at the beginning that I thought the DVD was corrupted and had switched to a different film! The characters are weak, the inclusion of the foul mouthed cleaner seemed totally out of place and added nothing. With parts of the film seemed set in the 30s and other parts in present day made it a confusing mix. Became slightly amusing at the end. One of the worst films I have seen. Collapse
  8. MWalker
    Sep 18, 2004
    0
    One of the most boring movies I've ever seen.
  9. NateG.
    Mar 25, 2004
    1
    One word could describe it best, but I'll use two..."REALLY BAD." Even if I wasn't familiar with the original 1955 version I would be utterly disappointed and even more disappointed if I wasn't a Coen Bros. fan, but the thing is...I AM a fan of the Alec Guiness film and I do like the Coen Bros, which made my experience all the more excruciating. Tom Hanks did such an One word could describe it best, but I'll use two..."REALLY BAD." Even if I wasn't familiar with the original 1955 version I would be utterly disappointed and even more disappointed if I wasn't a Coen Bros. fan, but the thing is...I AM a fan of the Alec Guiness film and I do like the Coen Bros, which made my experience all the more excruciating. Tom Hanks did such an amazing role with Road to Perdition and just when I though he was back on top he goes and does a Spielberg film and then ruins a classic! This is just unforgivable! What bothered me the most was that the script went all out to be R-rated, which never works well for a screwball or a dark comedy that is relying on style and brains. Instead we are left with a movie that has the F and N word being shouted out in the most inappropriate and undermining ways. After Intolerable Cruelty and this mess I am wondering if the Coen Bros. have gone completely mad. Expand
  10. Phil
    Apr 11, 2004
    3
    The movie isn't very good... there are some funny gags... tom hanks acts wonderfully... but overall-- real bad. racist, though? everyone in the film is a stereotype-- not just marlon wayans and irma hall. is a film that offers any negative portrayal of someone in a minority group Racist? i mean, the movie is crap-- the first coen brothers film yet that could aplty be called "crap." The movie isn't very good... there are some funny gags... tom hanks acts wonderfully... but overall-- real bad. racist, though? everyone in the film is a stereotype-- not just marlon wayans and irma hall. is a film that offers any negative portrayal of someone in a minority group Racist? i mean, the movie is crap-- the first coen brothers film yet that could aplty be called "crap." i'm just saying. Expand
  11. MikeD.
    Apr 29, 2004
    3
    Sloppy, silly, and pointless. If the movie could attain the opposite of any of those attributes, it might still be good. It doesn't, and isn't.
  12. BL.B.
    Apr 8, 2004
    2
    I agree with one of the other reviewers: I was overwhelmed by how racist this movie was - is this possible? is what I was thinking - and am shoked that this element of the movie isn't receiving more attention. While one might say that the stereotypes are leveled with an even hand, one need only observe the SPECIFIC CHARACTER of these stereotypes to find that they are particularly I agree with one of the other reviewers: I was overwhelmed by how racist this movie was - is this possible? is what I was thinking - and am shoked that this element of the movie isn't receiving more attention. While one might say that the stereotypes are leveled with an even hand, one need only observe the SPECIFIC CHARACTER of these stereotypes to find that they are particularly insulting when it comes to blacks. While the "professor" might be ridiculed for some critical and fatal blindness despite his intelligence, there is no black character in this movie who has a clue about anything, least of all issues relating to their own identities as African-Americans. Marlon Wayans's character, in addition to being universally rude, irresponsible, and incompetent, is apparently entirely ignorant of the civil rights movement and moreover could care less (this is how all 20 something black men who listen to hip hop and wear long hair and work as janitors are, right? - remember stereotypes are based on a perception of an element of reality). The mark (Marva Munson) is so oblivious that she's going to give all the money she gets at the end to Bob Jones University, not to mention being just unbelievably and, nevertheless, unhumously incapable of discerning anything about what is happening - and she's ridiculously bad at math of course (only a penny...). Tom Hanks at least has read some books and can orchestrate a plan, the vietnamese guy can tunnel (I don't find this stereotype particularly funny either) and the guy from Scranton can blow things up. What competence at anything does any black character have in this movie? The mark wins out in the end some might say, but she is a bumbling fool to the end, giving her money to Bob Jones, and so is duped throughout, as is even the black Sheriff. Church going black folk don't even know the word smote, or anything else much about the old testament: their preacher tells them - smote means slapped upside the head. Is that funny? The rest of the humor in the movie is just bad - the irritable bowl jokes and the dog suffocating to death and on and on. I was honestly second guessing whether this was actually a Coen brothers movie, but when the music kicked in, you knew it was. Also, the visuals were just amazing, the best part is the caricaturing because it was aesthetically pleasing: the larger than life gospel choir in a church seating maybe 100 for example. I want to give the Coen brothers credit, but I can't find any way their stereotyping came across to me as anything more than thinly veiled racism. See this movie to see what you think about it. Expand
  13. D.Q.Slotkins
    Mar 3, 2005
    2
    For years when friends asked me for recommendations, the Coen Bros. were the first names from my lips. Now, I'm seriously worried. Really worried. "Intolerable Cruelty" was strike one. The Ladykillers is #2. Yes, they're still inventive and know their genres inside-out, but these last two have been a sad waste of talent.
  14. PaulB.
    Mar 27, 2004
    3
    This movie was unsatisfying. The first half was boring and disconnected. The last half had a better pace, but felt like disjointed vignettes. The gospel music was energetic, but not relevant to the movie. The only times I laughed were when I found myself thinking how sorry Tom Hanks must be that he got involved in this disappointing move.
  15. MarcK.
    Apr 14, 2004
    3
    As another critic noted about a different Coen brothers film, most of their movies seem to be based on an "inside joke" from one brother to the other, and if we as the audience "get" it, great. If not, then too bad. Well, I didn't "get" this movie at all. The only good thing I can say about it is that it wasn't as bad as "O Brother, Where Art Thou." Hanks' character is As another critic noted about a different Coen brothers film, most of their movies seem to be based on an "inside joke" from one brother to the other, and if we as the audience "get" it, great. If not, then too bad. Well, I didn't "get" this movie at all. The only good thing I can say about it is that it wasn't as bad as "O Brother, Where Art Thou." Hanks' character is amusing for the first 15 minutes or so, then becomes grating and annoying. And I guess Marlon Wayans dropping the F-bomb every time he opened his mouth was supposed to be hilarious, but instead was insulting to the audience. I'm not sure if this film is racist, but I do know that it's bad. Expand
  16. SScott
    Sep 13, 2004
    1
    Too much profanity. I gave up watching it because of the cussing. My husband liked it and thought it was funny in places. I was disappointed because I do like Tom Hanks and expected more.
  17. DavidD.
    Mar 27, 2005
    0
    Slow. Looong stretches waiting for a laugh. Saw no reason for repeated use of the n word. Expected an entertaining movie because of Tom Hanks, but definitely Hank's worst I've seen.
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 40
  2. Negative: 5 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Richard Schickel
    80
    The Coen brothers merrily subvert that standard caper trope.
  2. Where the best Coen brothers comedy is a matter of finely tuned tone, diction, attitude and visual rhythms, everything in The Ladykillers feels out of kilter. With Tom Hanks delivering -- arguably -- one of the most perplexing performances of his career.
  3. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    50
    The souffle falls a little flat in The Ladykillers, a Coen brothers black comedy in which the humor seems arch and narrative momentum doesn't kick in until the final third.