User Score
2.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 699 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RobertW.
    Jul 3, 2010
    9
    Very well done for fans of the cartoon, and even people who did not watch the cartoon liked it.
  2. JoeH
    Jul 1, 2010
    10
    Love the cartoon, loved the movie....bring on chapters 3 & 4!!
  3. mikeg
    Jul 2, 2010
    9
    Did anyone agt all watch the seires???? jizz look the film followed a more serious note of the avatar series everyone was cast well except uncle. the film hit the major parts of the first season spot on and was beautifully rendered special effects. it sets up great for the rest of the seires. which would be another three films book two earth and then a two part book three due to the Did anyone agt all watch the seires???? jizz look the film followed a more serious note of the avatar series everyone was cast well except uncle. the film hit the major parts of the first season spot on and was beautifully rendered special effects. it sets up great for the rest of the seires. which would be another three films book two earth and then a two part book three due to the excessive amount of story to be told. Expand
  4. AnielA
    Jul 1, 2010
    9
    Lovely like the show, the cgi was the best ive seen since Avatar.
  5. davidy
    Jul 1, 2010
    10
    This movie is for someone interested in an amazing story! Not just action as it may seem in the trailers.I would say its a drama/action movie. If u want a moving film with a STORY behind it, not just cool action and great acting . I will admit it could have been made allot better, but hey critics chill out it was still amazing . I highly recommend this movie (for reasons listed above).
  6. BrianD.
    Jul 1, 2010
    10
    This movie just blew my fucking mind. My body wasn't ready for the heart pounding excitement.
  7. DanN
    Jul 4, 2010
    9
    Thoroughly enjoyed this movie. I felt the acting was fine, the characters developed, the story believable, some of the visuals quite stunning, and the exposatory dialogue easy to forgive. The casting didn't bother me. I felt each actor was attractive and believable in his or her role. I wasn't keeping score of which characters were cast with actors of which ethnicities. (Why Thoroughly enjoyed this movie. I felt the acting was fine, the characters developed, the story believable, some of the visuals quite stunning, and the exposatory dialogue easy to forgive. The casting didn't bother me. I felt each actor was attractive and believable in his or her role. I wasn't keeping score of which characters were cast with actors of which ethnicities. (Why would anyone do that?) I simply felt that it was a talented and appropriate cast. Having not yet seen the animated series, I had no trouble following the story, nor did I feel the script left out anything important. I felt the film had a strong climax that appropriately underscored its theme of "water." This was one of the most enjoyable movies I've seen in years, and I am eagerly anticipating the sequels. The audiences of both of the sold-out shows I attended seemed to enjoy the film as well. There was some applause at the end, and most of the crowd seemed to be talking in positive tones about the film as they left the theater. Thus, the reviews are pretty surprising. Collapse
  8. StefanieD
    Jul 1, 2010
    9
    Great movie! The only bad thing I can say was maybe they should have made the movie a bit longer. Nice set up, followed the series quite faithfully. Nice changes. Didn't feel like I was getting preached at! Nice family or date night fun.
  9. FrankiP
    Jul 2, 2010
    10
    Never watched the cartoon & thought the movie was very entertaining. Wish it was a PG-13 movie so it could have better fights & deaths but this movie does with PG what Star Wars did & entertains its audience. All I see are a bunch of cartoon whiners on here complaining. Hope this movie makes enough to bring at least 2 more movies.
  10. MikeY.
    Jul 3, 2010
    9
    My son wanted to see this movie and both of us enjoyed the movie. I was worried after reading the reviews but I don't agree that this is a bad movie.
  11. EvanN
    Jul 2, 2010
    10
    I dont know what people expect...... You cant fit an entire television series into a feature length movie and if you tried people would complain about how long it was. Sometimes you just have to speed it up a bit. M, I think you did a great job. It was entertaining, didn't take itself to seriously and had pretty good special effects. James you have once again renewed my faith in the I dont know what people expect...... You cant fit an entire television series into a feature length movie and if you tried people would complain about how long it was. Sometimes you just have to speed it up a bit. M, I think you did a great job. It was entertaining, didn't take itself to seriously and had pretty good special effects. James you have once again renewed my faith in the move score. This movie is definitely not potential for an academy award but its entertaining and an all around solid flick. Sometimes its just the reviews that ruin the movie. Expand
  12. BobM
    Jul 5, 2010
    10
    I don't think this movie deserves a 10, by any means, but I'm tired of seeing it bashed. I've seen terrible adaptations, and this isn't one. It could have been better, but it deserves a higher score than it's getting. Way higher. What it all boils down to is, it has become a meme, for internet fans and pro critics alike, to hate M. Night Syamalan, no matter what I don't think this movie deserves a 10, by any means, but I'm tired of seeing it bashed. I've seen terrible adaptations, and this isn't one. It could have been better, but it deserves a higher score than it's getting. Way higher. What it all boils down to is, it has become a meme, for internet fans and pro critics alike, to hate M. Night Syamalan, no matter what he does. Fact is, he's a good director. I would have liked for him to do a better job on The Last Air Bender, but, I think he did a decent job, and I'd like to see him have the opportunity to DO a better job on it's sequels. Expand
  13. DeannaE
    Jul 1, 2010
    10
    This is in my top 5 favorite movies. I absolutely loved it. I'm sorry that no one else seems to.
  14. CollinM.
    Jul 2, 2010
    10
    The movie was varry cool because it has the first episode and then at the end he fights the fire lord I say it is vary intreating so I would give it an 8.
  15. SteveW.
    Jul 3, 2010
    10
    If you are a fan of the cartoon you will LOVE IT. If you don't know the cartoon, watch a couple episodes before going. Good action, start of a good story.
  16. Sep 27, 2010
    10
    This is a fantastic movie. It really touched me. But then ... I did not see the cartoon. I had no problems following the course of events, as feared by other critics on this page. I would have loved to see a longer lasting film though - so I could enjoy more. I think the critics suffer from the déjà-vu-syndrome. They compare it with the experience they had beforeThis is a fantastic movie. It really touched me. But then ... I did not see the cartoon. I had no problems following the course of events, as feared by other critics on this page. I would have loved to see a longer lasting film though - so I could enjoy more. I think the critics suffer from the déjà-vu-syndrome. They compare it with the experience they had before (with the cartoon) and can be nothing less but disappointed. Apparently the characters are different from the cartoon. So what? M. Night has obviously written his own story on it, which only adds surplus in stead of breakdown. Again: this is a fantastic movie. Can't wait for the sequels. Expand
  17. Franz
    Jul 2, 2010
    10
    Pitch perfect and brilliantly acted, The Last Airbender is a stunning achievement, helmed with a purity and honesty that captures not just the illegal abortion story at its core but the constant, unremarked negotiations necessary for survival in the final days of the Soviet bloc.
  18. Aug 13, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Yes I liked it and I'd like too see the second book but it could have been better.... ... Expand
  19. May 28, 2011
    10
    Terrible, terrible movie. The combined emptiness and stupidity of the protagonists is unfathomable, and though the effects are VISUALLY impressive at times, the fidelity of the audio is non-existent, thus "airbending" becomes fizzly breeze-bending, and fighting scenes become unintentionally funny. Stay away from this movie, read the books instead
  20. Aug 21, 2010
    10
    as a fan of the series i can say that i enjoyed it and even if i didnt i still wouldnt say it was the worst movie ever because there are way worse movies out there
  21. takousa
    Jul 1, 2010
    10
    Don't believe those critics. As a big fan of the animated series, I enjoyed the film a log. I would love to the sequels.
  22. Aug 15, 2010
    9
    After seeing this movie this weekend I was astounded to come onto Metacritic and see the horrible ratings for it. You should all be ashamed of yourselves! M. Night is the most visionary director in Hollywood. I was never a fan of the first film but for M. Night to get a sequel of Avatar out so fast (within a year) astounded me! This movie reminded me nothing of the garbage of the firstAfter seeing this movie this weekend I was astounded to come onto Metacritic and see the horrible ratings for it. You should all be ashamed of yourselves! M. Night is the most visionary director in Hollywood. I was never a fan of the first film but for M. Night to get a sequel of Avatar out so fast (within a year) astounded me! This movie reminded me nothing of the garbage of the first film directed by James Cameron. The script took the Na'Vii out of the picture completely and replaced them with a beautiful bald child who controls the wind. I wouldn't have changed a thing about this movie other than that I was a little confused how this was connected to the first film. See it anyways, it is fantastic! Expand
  23. Nov 3, 2010
    9
    a movie with many holes partlly because M. Night did really care about it he just wanted to make money. the special affects really saved this movie big time. and the acting and dialoge really improved in the 2nd half of the movie.
  24. Jun 23, 2013
    10
    I enjoyed the movie greatly. The atmosphere was great. The setting and environment were beautiful. The girls are sweet. Airbender him is likeable. The kungfu moves were smooth and sleek. And of course, the great movie will not be what it is if not for the awesome special effects of air, water, fire and earth. Too bad the movie is so short. It should be twice as long! Anyway, I'm lookingI enjoyed the movie greatly. The atmosphere was great. The setting and environment were beautiful. The girls are sweet. Airbender him is likeable. The kungfu moves were smooth and sleek. And of course, the great movie will not be what it is if not for the awesome special effects of air, water, fire and earth. Too bad the movie is so short. It should be twice as long! Anyway, I'm looking forward to the sequel. Expand
  25. Feb 24, 2011
    10
    Very awkward dialogue and pretty terrible acting, it was good that they atleast kept the story true to the actual cartoon. Aside from the compacted story it was quite lacking in all areas.
  26. Jan 18, 2011
    9
    I watched the entire show, also this movie, so I'll try to give my best to make a reasonable comparison, if it's possible. By first, I don't think is a non-sense movie, is not fair to compare a movie intended to get attetion not only for children but for adults too. Of course the expected in this case is to find what we found: a more ''serious and... why not? dark movie''. So, al least forI watched the entire show, also this movie, so I'll try to give my best to make a reasonable comparison, if it's possible. By first, I don't think is a non-sense movie, is not fair to compare a movie intended to get attetion not only for children but for adults too. Of course the expected in this case is to find what we found: a more ''serious and... why not? dark movie''. So, al least for me, is not an excuse to say it's worthless to be seen because it doesn't keep the humor of the TV show. In second place, we cannot say that the characters are not ''well-performed'' because is just a movie which tries to get the best of a full season! Come on! It is really unfair to say it's bad because of this! I've seen enough for a first movie... we have to let Night S. at least explore the characters deeper along the trilogy, not to ''make a wall''... In 3rd place... I don't know you guys but the martial arts scenes, when they're practising... the movements are really amazing!! They give a really nice sensation of peace all around... And... well, what else i can say? To be objective... Night is neither Clint Eastwood nor Steven Spielberg... but he has a really good career... with he's own personality... movies like Signs, Village and Sixth Sense are all movies of suspense... non-conventional and in a way of thinking... odd... but he's gaining personality, he lives his watermark in every each of them... if i say ''he is bad'' because of this... whoever could say ''Tim Burton is a bad director because of he's darky madness'' but... c'mon! Tim Burton has gone way too far of the expected madness, is brillant! And Night is good for me too, neither the best nor the worst. And TL Airbender is a nice movie, well adapted for it's lengh and with nice Sound Score (James Newton Howard) and efects. What was not really good was the 3D effect, since it was not though for it... but released 3D anyway. Expand
  27. Feb 14, 2011
    10
    Didn't read the book or watched the cartoons, but the movie is awesome. I'm sure that this rating isn't correct there are way, way, worse movies out there. Stop hating the M.Night movies, they're all good.
  28. Apr 21, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's an excellent movie and history... Very similar to the original Tv-series... And the Visual Fx, Wooow!!! Excellent choice, with action and entertainment to share with the family... Expand
  29. Aug 21, 2011
    9
    i love this movie and i dont know why cause this movie sucks in almost ever way possibly from the acting to the story telling. and for me i was lucky i have had seen the cartoon show so i did know what was going on because the movie had a hard time telling it. To me there is only one person to blame M.Night this guy directed, producted, and wrote the movie. His story was just a messi love this movie and i dont know why cause this movie sucks in almost ever way possibly from the acting to the story telling. and for me i was lucky i have had seen the cartoon show so i did know what was going on because the movie had a hard time telling it. To me there is only one person to blame M.Night this guy directed, producted, and wrote the movie. His story was just a mess there was no flow at all to the pace the story jumped place to place without really telling us why. the diologe was horrible as it only was used to tell what was going on and it didnt even do a good job of that. the acting was bad but to me its m.nights fault there to as script was just so poorly written. but know im getting to the part where i liked the film the music score is the best i have heard in a movie simply untouchable. the special affects just kick ass and the costoms and the beauty of the avtar world is breath taking and the fight scenes are ok. the slow montion kinda sucks though and if you look at it there really isnot that many fights anyway. and still even with that said i still have no idea why i like this movie haha but it just works for me and maybe it will for you so it cant hurt to see it or can it?.haha Expand
  30. May 31, 2013
    10
    damn girl are you ready to swag out with ANNNNNGGGGG (Aang) and super soaka (sokka) oh and lets not forget our boy uncle EARo (Iro) the names alone automatically get a ten outta ten and the top notch acting oh boy this is why all cartoon series need a a live action movie because this is so hip hoping dawgs screw the cartoon that was terrible and this is the greatest piece of art ever
  31. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    The cartoon was the best cartoon EVER, and I'm not exaggerating. I saw the movie about a year ago and it got on my Top 15 favourite movie list. I understand everyone has an opinion of their own, but I think anyone giving this a 0 by comparing it to the cartoon is completely overreacting. Whatever Shayamalan did was NOT a big deal. The soundtrack, bending effects, and scenery were soThe cartoon was the best cartoon EVER, and I'm not exaggerating. I saw the movie about a year ago and it got on my Top 15 favourite movie list. I understand everyone has an opinion of their own, but I think anyone giving this a 0 by comparing it to the cartoon is completely overreacting. Whatever Shayamalan did was NOT a big deal. The soundtrack, bending effects, and scenery were so beautiful and felt like the cartoon if it was in real life. Sokka didn't need a different name, nor did Aang, but Noah Ringer looks like an "Ahng" to me. So hate me, I loved watching "The Last Airbender." Expand
  32. May 24, 2014
    10
    The movie is great. I really liked the whole sequence, the story is very well told. The script and the acting of the actors are excellent and let the desire to have a following.
  33. Apr 11, 2015
    9
    Shamalyan's new vision for Avatar is fantastic. I was blown away with the re-imagining of the series. The acting...my god it was just stellar. I had to leave halfway through simply because the emotion of the film overwhelmed me. Only problem was the special effects, looked kind of dull.
Metascore
20

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 33
  2. Negative: 23 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    20
    This is all enormously disappointing, of course, since the best we could hope for from a live-action "Avatar" adaptation is the mind-blowing equivalent of our first encounters with wire-fu, rather than this cartoony nonsense.
  2. The movie is "Star Wars" with martial arts, plus a touch of "The Last Emperor." Technically, it's not badly done; I enjoyed the physical clash of elements, the water balls rising like sculpture in the air.
  3. Reviewed by: Scott Bowles
    63
    He hasn't mastered the craft yet, but M. Night Shyamalan may be on to something with this action-movie thing.