User Score
2.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 703 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 17, 2010
    7
    From its simple, but horrendous dialog to its overly exposited story the Last Airbender delivers a fairly different approach in its effects department, considering what we've seen in the past for fantasy films. Though, teen to adult fans will be disappointed when viewing this film, but young fans will enjoy, because they can easily relate to the dialog. It's the most faithful film I'veFrom its simple, but horrendous dialog to its overly exposited story the Last Airbender delivers a fairly different approach in its effects department, considering what we've seen in the past for fantasy films. Though, teen to adult fans will be disappointed when viewing this film, but young fans will enjoy, because they can easily relate to the dialog. It's the most faithful film I've seen in years that has taken something from an animated show to a film and have it recognizable. This is a kids epic movie, an 100% kids epic movie. Expand
  2. Aug 15, 2010
    8
    I watched this twice, the first was a stinker, bad acting, wooden dialogue, incoherent story and worst still I fell asleep but only because the whole film track seemed completely out of sync. The second time I watched it was like night and day, coherent, more facial detail, great and sometimes very beautiful visuals. What happened? don't know, all I know is the movie turned out to beI watched this twice, the first was a stinker, bad acting, wooden dialogue, incoherent story and worst still I fell asleep but only because the whole film track seemed completely out of sync. The second time I watched it was like night and day, coherent, more facial detail, great and sometimes very beautiful visuals. What happened? don't know, all I know is the movie turned out to be rather good, some weakness in the casting but the lead was excellent. I read reviews at IMDB as well as here and what do I find? the first 30 pages, yes that's THIRTY is dedicated solely to one star reviews, that's 1/10. Don't know about you but doesn't that seem just a bit strange and curious. I hope M.Knight Shayamalan continues to make movies and the sequel because he is still one of the few to bring innovation to the Fantasy/Horror/Scifi genre. Expand
  3. AndrewV
    Jul 1, 2010
    7
    Certainly a flawed and amateurish film, but also certainly much better than the critics are giving it credit for. I wouldn't read too far into the reviews, they're not all wrong mind you, there ARE issues, but decide for yourself. I think most, especially after reading the unjustly harsh reviews, will be surprised. (On a side note, it is much, much better than Shyamalan's Certainly a flawed and amateurish film, but also certainly much better than the critics are giving it credit for. I wouldn't read too far into the reviews, they're not all wrong mind you, there ARE issues, but decide for yourself. I think most, especially after reading the unjustly harsh reviews, will be surprised. (On a side note, it is much, much better than Shyamalan's last works.) Expand
  4. AlexanderE.
    Jul 2, 2010
    8
    I enjoyed this movie despite what everyone else is saying about the film, it might not be the best movie to ever hit the screen but i will take this movie any day of the week over sparkling vampires!!!
  5. Dillon
    Jul 2, 2010
    8
    As a devoted follower of the series, I must ask, "Why is everyone hating M. Night for this?" Granted, the film had B-Movie dialogue and sometimes shaky acting. But all-in-all I found it to be a faithful adaptation of the series. A welcome change to me were correct pronunciations of characters' names. The film was a bit rushed and had lackluster 3-D effects, but I would gladly see it As a devoted follower of the series, I must ask, "Why is everyone hating M. Night for this?" Granted, the film had B-Movie dialogue and sometimes shaky acting. But all-in-all I found it to be a faithful adaptation of the series. A welcome change to me were correct pronunciations of characters' names. The film was a bit rushed and had lackluster 3-D effects, but I would gladly see it again. I only hope enough people share my opinion that we get a sequel. Expand
  6. JoshuaJ
    Jul 2, 2010
    7
    The opening titles for this film is well presented, but the live action attempt at making the introduction of the show seem to be out of placed, and cheesy, considering how since the whole martial art theme in films are overdone, and for new comers of this story, they might feel that this is going to be what they've been seeing for a long time. The first ten minutes to fifteen The opening titles for this film is well presented, but the live action attempt at making the introduction of the show seem to be out of placed, and cheesy, considering how since the whole martial art theme in films are overdone, and for new comers of this story, they might feel that this is going to be what they've been seeing for a long time. The first ten minutes to fifteen minutes of the film literally mimics the first scenes in the first episode of the Avatar: The Last Airbender, and though I can say hardcore fans are satisfied, but for the new audience they might feel that the first fifteen minutes were very rushed in terms with pacing, and cheesy when it came to dialogue, and utterly complex in story. Though, after this, some narrative came and reminded the audience on what's going on, and what they should focus on. M. Night is obviously trying to get a point across, since the basic story elements can be complexed, and though this story came from a tv show, there can be a full episode with nothing but flashbacks explaining everything. M. Night did well not confusing the new comers, but the transitions with the film when it came to the set change/location change on Aang's journey, this could be worked out much better. The acting within this film is not that bad as what many critics make out to be, and numerous of hardcore fans who have nothing better to do than live in a fantasy world, where films should perfectly depict an Anime-influenced show unto real life. It wasn't Academy Award winning good either, but the actors played out these simple personalities well, and since this is the first season adaption, and if you've been really watching the show, then you'll know these characters really aren't fascinating from the gecko, to where an actor can really bring out that Oscar winning performance. For young actors who played the trio, it's better than watching most young actors who often appear on the Disney Channel. Consider this a good thing. For the villains in this story, the Fire Nation, which consists of the Fire Lord, General, Prince Zuko, and his Uncle, they are B-List actors here who have a good track record, and they provide wonderful performances, and the way M. Night darken this story a little bit on the serious side, these actors pulled it the hell off. You don't know how much I was into it when I watching them on screen, and for the Avatar's actor, Noah Ringer, there is something about this boy that makes me like him, it's his presence that really pulls this film through. The effects within this film is top-notch, and it's different compared to other special effects I've seen in other films this year and last. It's about time that there was more fantasy combat in these fantasy films, besides the creatures. Damn. Really though, there's nothing to say about the effects, but I will say this to get this out, the 3-D version is a bad attempt to get more money. Watch the regular version of this film, and you won't be disappointed if you would be a centralist for once in your life, and look past those neg. reviews. This is my review of the Last Airbender, and it's great to share my opinion, and hopefully we'll get a sequel, because I want M. Night to have another crack at this, this film is worth seeing on the big screen. Expand
  7. JamareeM
    Jul 3, 2010
    8
    ALRIGHT, yes the movie wasn't perfect, there were some things they needed to work on, yes, but let's think about this...he had TWO hours, and ONLY two hours to place all of Book One into. NOW, a cartoon to movie/ comic to movie isn't supposed to PERFECTLY replicate the thing it is picked off from, it is SUPPOSED to be used to make an exciting experience to people new to the ALRIGHT, yes the movie wasn't perfect, there were some things they needed to work on, yes, but let's think about this...he had TWO hours, and ONLY two hours to place all of Book One into. NOW, a cartoon to movie/ comic to movie isn't supposed to PERFECTLY replicate the thing it is picked off from, it is SUPPOSED to be used to make an exciting experience to people new to the series to get people to read/watch the thing the movie was made from, and Avatar did a good job, with the limited time they have, and if you are one of those people who think, "Oh, the voices weren't perfect, or the people weren't perfect." I want to to tell me ONE live action movie where the people look the EXACT same as the people they portray as WELL as sound the same. So in conclusion, they did a good job with the time and resources they had. Expand
  8. AaronD
    Jul 4, 2010
    7
    Decent. Had some stilted acting towards the beginning, but overall good (especially in 3D).
  9. JamesB
    Jul 5, 2010
    7
    According to many reviewers, both the cartoon and the movie used racial categories for their characters, but they differed from the cartoon to the movie. How does that make the movie racist, but not the tv show? That's like saying that a movie where a woman defeats a man is sexist, but one where a man defeats a woman is not. It's completely illogical. In my opinion, this movie According to many reviewers, both the cartoon and the movie used racial categories for their characters, but they differed from the cartoon to the movie. How does that make the movie racist, but not the tv show? That's like saying that a movie where a woman defeats a man is sexist, but one where a man defeats a woman is not. It's completely illogical. In my opinion, this movie did a fine job of showing that none of the races (as defined by element, not by skin tone) were inherently evil, good, heroic, or corrupt. The movie showed many inoffensive, interesting, or even heroic characters within the fire nation, and at least one corrupt character from another nation (the monk who betrays Aang--sorry for the spoiler.) Compare this with the utter racist filth that characterized the film 300, or with the pretentious, implicitly racist assumptions of the film Avatar, and one has to wonder why this charming, but not particularly bloody or hate-filled, film has won the worst condemnation from our culture. Perhaps just for not being adequately ironic or spiteful? Expand
  10. MatthewL
    Jul 5, 2010
    8
    I was impressed in this movie. The dialogue might be dull at times, but the story was compelling and easy to know. I really like the special effects, the 3-D use, the battles, the music. I jsut like the film, even the acting was good. Come on fans, you will like it. Don't let the negative reviews get on you, it is a enjoyable film. See it in 3-D.
  11. Aug 8, 2011
    8
    Overall a fairly solid summer blockbuster although I am a foul for Shyamalan's movies. Some of the dialogue may through people off but not the whole entire movie is poorly written and the acting is fairly well acted especially the part by mr slumdog millionaire. Entertaining fun and the themes and style you would expect from a shyamalan movie
  12. brandonw
    Jul 3, 2010
    8
    I'm giving the last airbender a B- the fight sceens where exciting to watch but the diologe throught the movie was really horrible and character developet was not as good but they did enogh to make a ok movie.
  13. KenF
    Jul 6, 2010
    8
    How is it possible that no one has caught on yet? M. Night Shyamalan is a JOKE FILMMAKER! He's a latter day Andy Kauffman. I was shocked that no one seemed to catch on after The Happening. A man slapped a lion in the face! How can people have attempted to take this film seriously? It was obviously a comedy. This film is exactly the same. You can't tell me that it wasn't a How is it possible that no one has caught on yet? M. Night Shyamalan is a JOKE FILMMAKER! He's a latter day Andy Kauffman. I was shocked that no one seemed to catch on after The Happening. A man slapped a lion in the face! How can people have attempted to take this film seriously? It was obviously a comedy. This film is exactly the same. You can't tell me that it wasn't a joke for him to cast Aasif Mondvi as the heavy, or that the entire cast woodenly reciting terrible and mostly pointless dialog would have passed muster for any major studio film that wasn't intended to be taken with tongue firmly in cheek. Seriously, this movie was a comedy, and the joke was on everyone who tried to take it seriously. One of the more enjoyable movies I've seen this year. Expand
  14. Aug 29, 2010
    8
    The show is much better...but still the movie wasn't that far behind. Of course things were left out and some others were changed, but the story was still there and it was pretty accurate. Aang and Sokka could have been at least more fun and less serious, but I still enjoyed the movie. And hey in cartoons it's easy to do whatever you want, but in movies not so easy...
  15. Nov 17, 2010
    7
    I took my son, who is a big fan of the cartoon, to see it and was not expecting to like it at all. I was pleasantly surprised. True, in the cartoon the Aang character is more of a free-spirit, but I found it somewhat exciting and well executed, and the special effects were quite good. While not academy award quality, it was family friendly entertainment.
  16. JohnM
    Jul 1, 2010
    8
    Though it wasn't perfect, it did a good number of things right in my eyes and since they took time before filming the next, possibly M night will take the criticisms and make the second one longer and attempt to feel less rushed, maybe closer to the show.
  17. AndrewB
    Jul 4, 2010
    7
    With a running time of under 2 hours, the film covers the events of the entire first season... the plot felt really rushed as they tried to relay as much information to the audience as possible, and the kid playing Aang really needs to work on his acting skills to compliment his kung fu... but the film had some great filming, some excellent special effects, and some truly awesome fight With a running time of under 2 hours, the film covers the events of the entire first season... the plot felt really rushed as they tried to relay as much information to the audience as possible, and the kid playing Aang really needs to work on his acting skills to compliment his kung fu... but the film had some great filming, some excellent special effects, and some truly awesome fight scenes. The movie is not completely broken, but everything happens way to fast to really allow for a smooth flow of events. I'm really hoping they break the sequels up into two 2 hour films to allow for more development with the characters and events. I still enjoyed it and think it is worth seeing, but the plot really is way too crammed for a 1 hour and 40 minute film to cover. Expand
  18. GeoffreyP
    Jul 1, 2010
    8
    Jesus people the movie isn't that bad... I enjoyed it - hopefully a sequel is still in works.
  19. RobertW.
    Jul 3, 2010
    9
    Very well done for fans of the cartoon, and even people who did not watch the cartoon liked it.
  20. DavidR
    Jul 5, 2010
    7
    Really enjoyed it. Keep in mind the first start trek movie. They have to explain a lot, because the magic is the original parts of the story. So yes, fans of the tv show are bored with stories they already know, but what about the people new to the story? Keep in mind all the reviews are from fans of the shows. Of course the movie is going to deviate from the show. I had a wonderful time Really enjoyed it. Keep in mind the first start trek movie. They have to explain a lot, because the magic is the original parts of the story. So yes, fans of the tv show are bored with stories they already know, but what about the people new to the story? Keep in mind all the reviews are from fans of the shows. Of course the movie is going to deviate from the show. I had a wonderful time and enjoyed the movie a lot. My one critisism is that Sokka was not funny enough. They went for goodlooking instead. Expand
  21. LouiseR
    Jul 5, 2010
    7
    If you liked the Avatar series on Nickelodeon, this is worth seeing. It's a little slow in spots and obviously it's difficult to condense a year of the series into one movie, but I liked it a lot and look forward to Book 2.
  22. jpl
    Jul 5, 2010
    8
    ok. I watched the series from start to finish and will eventually have the dvd set. I really dont get the reviews saying its the worst movie of all time. I mean its a nicktoon series. **if you expected lord of the rings then you deserve to be dissapointed** I did think it was too short and certain things were left out. Pronounciation of certain names were a non issue to me. I think people ok. I watched the series from start to finish and will eventually have the dvd set. I really dont get the reviews saying its the worst movie of all time. I mean its a nicktoon series. **if you expected lord of the rings then you deserve to be dissapointed** I did think it was too short and certain things were left out. Pronounciation of certain names were a non issue to me. I think people are reading much more into this movie than they should have. Its a childrens cartoon series made into live action movie and M.N.S did a pretty decent job. Yes the acting was a little off but have any of you seen the cartoon? No oscard for the cartoon or movie for sure. Its still a GREAT family movie that me and my niece and nephew enjoyed. **yes it seemed rushed **yes the pronounciation was off (((who cares)) **yes stuff was left out.. ((cant have a 12 hour movie folks)) **yes it was a GREAT MOVIE. Expand
  23. JoeH
    Jul 1, 2010
    10
    Love the cartoon, loved the movie....bring on chapters 3 & 4!!
  24. mikeg
    Jul 2, 2010
    9
    Did anyone agt all watch the seires???? jizz look the film followed a more serious note of the avatar series everyone was cast well except uncle. the film hit the major parts of the first season spot on and was beautifully rendered special effects. it sets up great for the rest of the seires. which would be another three films book two earth and then a two part book three due to the Did anyone agt all watch the seires???? jizz look the film followed a more serious note of the avatar series everyone was cast well except uncle. the film hit the major parts of the first season spot on and was beautifully rendered special effects. it sets up great for the rest of the seires. which would be another three films book two earth and then a two part book three due to the excessive amount of story to be told. Expand
  25. B.P.
    Jul 4, 2010
    8
    Wasn't that bad i thought it was great but they did leave a lot out and acting wasn't that terrible. For all you down raters please go outside and do something else besides bashing movies, stop trying make it seem like it was the worst movie in the world i have seen worse, you people just have no imagination.
  26. AnielA
    Jul 1, 2010
    9
    Lovely like the show, the cgi was the best ive seen since Avatar.
  27. davidy
    Jul 1, 2010
    10
    This movie is for someone interested in an amazing story! Not just action as it may seem in the trailers.I would say its a drama/action movie. If u want a moving film with a STORY behind it, not just cool action and great acting . I will admit it could have been made allot better, but hey critics chill out it was still amazing . I highly recommend this movie (for reasons listed above).
  28. BrianD.
    Jul 1, 2010
    10
    This movie just blew my fucking mind. My body wasn't ready for the heart pounding excitement.
  29. DanN
    Jul 4, 2010
    9
    Thoroughly enjoyed this movie. I felt the acting was fine, the characters developed, the story believable, some of the visuals quite stunning, and the exposatory dialogue easy to forgive. The casting didn't bother me. I felt each actor was attractive and believable in his or her role. I wasn't keeping score of which characters were cast with actors of which ethnicities. (Why Thoroughly enjoyed this movie. I felt the acting was fine, the characters developed, the story believable, some of the visuals quite stunning, and the exposatory dialogue easy to forgive. The casting didn't bother me. I felt each actor was attractive and believable in his or her role. I wasn't keeping score of which characters were cast with actors of which ethnicities. (Why would anyone do that?) I simply felt that it was a talented and appropriate cast. Having not yet seen the animated series, I had no trouble following the story, nor did I feel the script left out anything important. I felt the film had a strong climax that appropriately underscored its theme of "water." This was one of the most enjoyable movies I've seen in years, and I am eagerly anticipating the sequels. The audiences of both of the sold-out shows I attended seemed to enjoy the film as well. There was some applause at the end, and most of the crowd seemed to be talking in positive tones about the film as they left the theater. Thus, the reviews are pretty surprising. Expand
  30. StefanieD
    Jul 1, 2010
    9
    Great movie! The only bad thing I can say was maybe they should have made the movie a bit longer. Nice set up, followed the series quite faithfully. Nice changes. Didn't feel like I was getting preached at! Nice family or date night fun.
  31. FrankiP
    Jul 2, 2010
    10
    Never watched the cartoon & thought the movie was very entertaining. Wish it was a PG-13 movie so it could have better fights & deaths but this movie does with PG what Star Wars did & entertains its audience. All I see are a bunch of cartoon whiners on here complaining. Hope this movie makes enough to bring at least 2 more movies.
  32. MikeY.
    Jul 3, 2010
    9
    My son wanted to see this movie and both of us enjoyed the movie. I was worried after reading the reviews but I don't agree that this is a bad movie.
  33. EvanN
    Jul 2, 2010
    10
    I dont know what people expect...... You cant fit an entire television series into a feature length movie and if you tried people would complain about how long it was. Sometimes you just have to speed it up a bit. M, I think you did a great job. It was entertaining, didn't take itself to seriously and had pretty good special effects. James you have once again renewed my faith in the I dont know what people expect...... You cant fit an entire television series into a feature length movie and if you tried people would complain about how long it was. Sometimes you just have to speed it up a bit. M, I think you did a great job. It was entertaining, didn't take itself to seriously and had pretty good special effects. James you have once again renewed my faith in the move score. This movie is definitely not potential for an academy award but its entertaining and an all around solid flick. Sometimes its just the reviews that ruin the movie. Expand
  34. BobM
    Jul 5, 2010
    10
    I don't think this movie deserves a 10, by any means, but I'm tired of seeing it bashed. I've seen terrible adaptations, and this isn't one. It could have been better, but it deserves a higher score than it's getting. Way higher. What it all boils down to is, it has become a meme, for internet fans and pro critics alike, to hate M. Night Syamalan, no matter what I don't think this movie deserves a 10, by any means, but I'm tired of seeing it bashed. I've seen terrible adaptations, and this isn't one. It could have been better, but it deserves a higher score than it's getting. Way higher. What it all boils down to is, it has become a meme, for internet fans and pro critics alike, to hate M. Night Syamalan, no matter what he does. Fact is, he's a good director. I would have liked for him to do a better job on The Last Air Bender, but, I think he did a decent job, and I'd like to see him have the opportunity to DO a better job on it's sequels. Expand
  35. Aug 15, 2010
    7
    ok so it might not be as good as some of his films.although there are many plot holes and it started a bit slow it did have its good moments. the story line is much different from the original animated series, but with limited screen time it would be hard to fit in all of the details and in many ways the story line was much more believable.
  36. DeannaE
    Jul 1, 2010
    10
    This is in my top 5 favorite movies. I absolutely loved it. I'm sorry that no one else seems to.
  37. CollinM.
    Jul 2, 2010
    10
    The movie was varry cool because it has the first episode and then at the end he fights the fire lord I say it is vary intreating so I would give it an 8.
  38. SteveW.
    Jul 3, 2010
    10
    If you are a fan of the cartoon you will LOVE IT. If you don't know the cartoon, watch a couple episodes before going. Good action, start of a good story.
  39. Sep 27, 2010
    10
    This is a fantastic movie. It really touched me. But then ... I did not see the cartoon. I had no problems following the course of events, as feared by other critics on this page. I would have loved to see a longer lasting film though - so I could enjoy more. I think the critics suffer from the déjà-vu-syndrome. They compare it with the experience they had beforeThis is a fantastic movie. It really touched me. But then ... I did not see the cartoon. I had no problems following the course of events, as feared by other critics on this page. I would have loved to see a longer lasting film though - so I could enjoy more. I think the critics suffer from the déjà-vu-syndrome. They compare it with the experience they had before (with the cartoon) and can be nothing less but disappointed. Apparently the characters are different from the cartoon. So what? M. Night has obviously written his own story on it, which only adds surplus in stead of breakdown. Again: this is a fantastic movie. Can't wait for the sequels. Expand
  40. Franz
    Jul 2, 2010
    10
    Pitch perfect and brilliantly acted, The Last Airbender is a stunning achievement, helmed with a purity and honesty that captures not just the illegal abortion story at its core but the constant, unremarked negotiations necessary for survival in the final days of the Soviet bloc.
  41. Aug 13, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Yes I liked it and I'd like too see the second book but it could have been better.... ... Expand
  42. May 28, 2011
    10
    Terrible, terrible movie. The combined emptiness and stupidity of the protagonists is unfathomable, and though the effects are VISUALLY impressive at times, the fidelity of the audio is non-existent, thus "airbending" becomes fizzly breeze-bending, and fighting scenes become unintentionally funny. Stay away from this movie, read the books instead
  43. Aug 21, 2010
    10
    as a fan of the series i can say that i enjoyed it and even if i didnt i still wouldnt say it was the worst movie ever because there are way worse movies out there
  44. takousa
    Jul 1, 2010
    10
    Don't believe those critics. As a big fan of the animated series, I enjoyed the film a log. I would love to the sequels.
  45. Aug 15, 2010
    9
    After seeing this movie this weekend I was astounded to come onto Metacritic and see the horrible ratings for it. You should all be ashamed of yourselves! M. Night is the most visionary director in Hollywood. I was never a fan of the first film but for M. Night to get a sequel of Avatar out so fast (within a year) astounded me! This movie reminded me nothing of the garbage of the firstAfter seeing this movie this weekend I was astounded to come onto Metacritic and see the horrible ratings for it. You should all be ashamed of yourselves! M. Night is the most visionary director in Hollywood. I was never a fan of the first film but for M. Night to get a sequel of Avatar out so fast (within a year) astounded me! This movie reminded me nothing of the garbage of the first film directed by James Cameron. The script took the Na'Vii out of the picture completely and replaced them with a beautiful bald child who controls the wind. I wouldn't have changed a thing about this movie other than that I was a little confused how this was connected to the first film. See it anyways, it is fantastic! Expand
  46. Nov 3, 2010
    9
    a movie with many holes partlly because M. Night did really care about it he just wanted to make money. the special affects really saved this movie big time. and the acting and dialoge really improved in the 2nd half of the movie.
  47. Dec 6, 2010
    8
    I have never seen the cartoon so I knew nothing about this story before I watched the movie, however, I had read several of the reviews here on metacritic prior to seeing this film (yes, I watched it anyway!). I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised, I fully expected to dis-like this movie and consider it a waste of time but it was much better than most of these reviews would makeI have never seen the cartoon so I knew nothing about this story before I watched the movie, however, I had read several of the reviews here on metacritic prior to seeing this film (yes, I watched it anyway!). I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised, I fully expected to dis-like this movie and consider it a waste of time but it was much better than most of these reviews would make you believe. Perhaps if I was a fan of the series I would have found more fault with it but I thought that the visuals were awesome at times, I liked the story, it was kind of like Lord of the rings of the "elements world", albeit not nearly as good! I do wish that the movie had been about another half hour in length because it did feel a bit rushed at times as if the story was moving very fast and giving you just the basics. I did not have a big problem with the acting, not Oscar caliber but not bad either. I was partially motivated to see this movie because I have a 3D television, so I bought the 3D blu-ray, It had some of the best 3D visuals that I have seen yet, they really tried to take advantage of the technology and did a great job. If you just want be swept into a mystic fantasy world with a good story and some fantastic visuals I don't think that you would be disappointed. If you are a die-hard fan of the series then I have no idea! I'm looking forward to the next one to see how the story progress's. Expand
  48. Jun 23, 2013
    10
    I enjoyed the movie greatly. The atmosphere was great. The setting and environment were beautiful. The girls are sweet. Airbender him is likeable. The kungfu moves were smooth and sleek. And of course, the great movie will not be what it is if not for the awesome special effects of air, water, fire and earth. Too bad the movie is so short. It should be twice as long! Anyway, I'm lookingI enjoyed the movie greatly. The atmosphere was great. The setting and environment were beautiful. The girls are sweet. Airbender him is likeable. The kungfu moves were smooth and sleek. And of course, the great movie will not be what it is if not for the awesome special effects of air, water, fire and earth. Too bad the movie is so short. It should be twice as long! Anyway, I'm looking forward to the sequel. Expand
  49. Mar 6, 2011
    8
    I really enjoyed this movie, while it doesn't have the same emotional power that the anime had, and some cheesy moments, it's still a great movie, the characters are extremely well interpreted, I'm also glad they didn't use the Aang and Katara relationship, and I hope they don't, looking forward to the next movie.
  50. Feb 24, 2011
    10
    Very awkward dialogue and pretty terrible acting, it was good that they atleast kept the story true to the actual cartoon. Aside from the compacted story it was quite lacking in all areas.
  51. Jan 18, 2011
    9
    I watched the entire show, also this movie, so I'll try to give my best to make a reasonable comparison, if it's possible. By first, I don't think is a non-sense movie, is not fair to compare a movie intended to get attetion not only for children but for adults too. Of course the expected in this case is to find what we found: a more ''serious and... why not? dark movie''. So, al least forI watched the entire show, also this movie, so I'll try to give my best to make a reasonable comparison, if it's possible. By first, I don't think is a non-sense movie, is not fair to compare a movie intended to get attetion not only for children but for adults too. Of course the expected in this case is to find what we found: a more ''serious and... why not? dark movie''. So, al least for me, is not an excuse to say it's worthless to be seen because it doesn't keep the humor of the TV show. In second place, we cannot say that the characters are not ''well-performed'' because is just a movie which tries to get the best of a full season! Come on! It is really unfair to say it's bad because of this! I've seen enough for a first movie... we have to let Night S. at least explore the characters deeper along the trilogy, not to ''make a wall''... In 3rd place... I don't know you guys but the martial arts scenes, when they're practising... the movements are really amazing!! They give a really nice sensation of peace all around... And... well, what else i can say? To be objective... Night is neither Clint Eastwood nor Steven Spielberg... but he has a really good career... with he's own personality... movies like Signs, Village and Sixth Sense are all movies of suspense... non-conventional and in a way of thinking... odd... but he's gaining personality, he lives his watermark in every each of them... if i say ''he is bad'' because of this... whoever could say ''Tim Burton is a bad director because of he's darky madness'' but... c'mon! Tim Burton has gone way too far of the expected madness, is brillant! And Night is good for me too, neither the best nor the worst. And TL Airbender is a nice movie, well adapted for it's lengh and with nice Sound Score (James Newton Howard) and efects. What was not really good was the 3D effect, since it was not though for it... but released 3D anyway. Expand
  52. Sep 3, 2011
    8
    Negative reviews of this film follow a common message: this movie was bad because it was bad. Sometimes critics cite the bad [child] acting, the confusing story (my 4 year old niece understood it all just fine...), bad visual effects (that did not look like water being bended- I know these things!) or how it was not exactly like the cartoon in every single aspect, but overall this film isNegative reviews of this film follow a common message: this movie was bad because it was bad. Sometimes critics cite the bad [child] acting, the confusing story (my 4 year old niece understood it all just fine...), bad visual effects (that did not look like water being bended- I know these things!) or how it was not exactly like the cartoon in every single aspect, but overall this film is considered bad because it is a bad film. That is powerful and air tight logic. So feel free to join the masses and condemn this film is you hate things like clear cut good and bad, characters with motivation, sacrifice, redemption, character growth, loss, duty, and a whole host of other classic story telling motifs otherwise nonexistent in modern cinema. Expand
  53. Feb 14, 2011
    10
    Didn't read the book or watched the cartoons, but the movie is awesome. I'm sure that this rating isn't correct there are way, way, worse movies out there. Stop hating the M.Night movies, they're all good.
  54. Apr 21, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers. It's an excellent movie and history... Very similar to the original Tv-series... And the Visual Fx, Wooow!!! Excellent choice, with action and entertainment to share with the family... Collapse
  55. May 20, 2011
    8
    Having seen several of the avatar cartoons with my nine year old son, we watched this movie with very low expectations due to the terrible ratings. I honestly do not understand why this movie got shredded by most people. Sure, it isn't exactly Oscars material but I thought it was reasonably entertaining, particularly if you have seen the cartoons (may not all make sense if you haven't).Having seen several of the avatar cartoons with my nine year old son, we watched this movie with very low expectations due to the terrible ratings. I honestly do not understand why this movie got shredded by most people. Sure, it isn't exactly Oscars material but I thought it was reasonably entertaining, particularly if you have seen the cartoons (may not all make sense if you haven't). Great special effects and an average storyline surely deserves more than most of the critics and user ratings? In summary - if you enjoyed the cartoons, this movie is worth considering. Expand
  56. Aug 21, 2011
    9
    i love this movie and i dont know why cause this movie sucks in almost ever way possibly from the acting to the story telling. and for me i was lucky i have had seen the cartoon show so i did know what was going on because the movie had a hard time telling it. To me there is only one person to blame M.Night this guy directed, producted, and wrote the movie. His story was just a messi love this movie and i dont know why cause this movie sucks in almost ever way possibly from the acting to the story telling. and for me i was lucky i have had seen the cartoon show so i did know what was going on because the movie had a hard time telling it. To me there is only one person to blame M.Night this guy directed, producted, and wrote the movie. His story was just a mess there was no flow at all to the pace the story jumped place to place without really telling us why. the diologe was horrible as it only was used to tell what was going on and it didnt even do a good job of that. the acting was bad but to me its m.nights fault there to as script was just so poorly written. but know im getting to the part where i liked the film the music score is the best i have heard in a movie simply untouchable. the special affects just kick ass and the costoms and the beauty of the avtar world is breath taking and the fight scenes are ok. the slow montion kinda sucks though and if you look at it there really isnot that many fights anyway. and still even with that said i still have no idea why i like this movie haha but it just works for me and maybe it will for you so it cant hurt to see it or can it?.haha Expand
  57. May 31, 2013
    10
    damn girl are you ready to swag out with ANNNNNGGGGG (Aang) and super soaka (sokka) oh and lets not forget our boy uncle EARo (Iro) the names alone automatically get a ten outta ten and the top notch acting oh boy this is why all cartoon series need a a live action movie because this is so hip hoping dawgs screw the cartoon that was terrible and this is the greatest piece of art ever
  58. Jun 10, 2012
    8
    As I've never watched the series, I had no point of reference and no expectations of this film, which is likely beneficial in this case. As it turns out, the so called "critics" are wrong, as they usually are. While it's not the best film ever made, it's captivating, the effects are awe inspiring, the score is wonderful. The only suggestion I could give would be to extend the length fromAs I've never watched the series, I had no point of reference and no expectations of this film, which is likely beneficial in this case. As it turns out, the so called "critics" are wrong, as they usually are. While it's not the best film ever made, it's captivating, the effects are awe inspiring, the score is wonderful. The only suggestion I could give would be to extend the length from 90 minutes to 2 or 2.5 hours (given the series' history and following noone would complain). This would allow for more natural and in depth character development and backstory. I hope Paramount hasn't pulled the plug on the film series as I'd love to see what's next. I rate the film B- or 3.5 out of 5 stars! Expand
  59. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    The cartoon was the best cartoon EVER, and I'm not exaggerating. I saw the movie about a year ago and it got on my Top 15 favourite movie list. I understand everyone has an opinion of their own, but I think anyone giving this a 0 by comparing it to the cartoon is completely overreacting. Whatever Shayamalan did was NOT a big deal. The soundtrack, bending effects, and scenery were soThe cartoon was the best cartoon EVER, and I'm not exaggerating. I saw the movie about a year ago and it got on my Top 15 favourite movie list. I understand everyone has an opinion of their own, but I think anyone giving this a 0 by comparing it to the cartoon is completely overreacting. Whatever Shayamalan did was NOT a big deal. The soundtrack, bending effects, and scenery were so beautiful and felt like the cartoon if it was in real life. Sokka didn't need a different name, nor did Aang, but Noah Ringer looks like an "Ahng" to me. So hate me, I loved watching "The Last Airbender." Expand
  60. May 24, 2014
    10
    The movie is great. I really liked the whole sequence, the story is very well told. The script and the acting of the actors are excellent and let the desire to have a following.
  61. Apr 11, 2015
    9
    Shamalyan's new vision for Avatar is fantastic. I was blown away with the re-imagining of the series. The acting...my god it was just stellar. I had to leave halfway through simply because the emotion of the film overwhelmed me. Only problem was the special effects, looked kind of dull.
  62. Aug 3, 2011
    8
    I didn't know anything about Avatar before I saw this film so I had to take it at face value. I was pretty impressed by the whole thing. The story was easy to follow and the acting was good. Nothing ground breaking but this is a child's movie. With that in mind, I was expecting to see just what I saw. The Last Airbender does a good job telling what needs to be said to keep the sory going.I didn't know anything about Avatar before I saw this film so I had to take it at face value. I was pretty impressed by the whole thing. The story was easy to follow and the acting was good. Nothing ground breaking but this is a child's movie. With that in mind, I was expecting to see just what I saw. The Last Airbender does a good job telling what needs to be said to keep the sory going. It doesn't focus on the small details that fill out a series. The serious tone keeps the audience from being jerked back and forth from silliness to realism making the focus more clear. Also the film makes me care about the characters and not just wanting to see who does a cool trick. Some elements felt a little rushed but not so much that I was confused. The dialogue does well by not telling everything in the first five minutes leaving me with things to look forward to. There was room for improvement but I was overall satisfied. Expand
  63. Jun 17, 2011
    7
    Abacaxis espinafrados com a Framboesa de Ouro não têm achados de tocante beleza como o sacrifício de uma jovem que transfere sua vida a uma entidade espiritual pelo bem de um povo. Ã
  64. Jul 31, 2014
    8
    Well, I enjoyed it! I also don't get why people were so harsh on this film. I found it captivating with entertaining special effects and was more than happy to watch start to finish.

    I have no idea why people slam it so much, but hey I thought it was good :)
Metascore
20

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 33
  2. Negative: 23 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    20
    This is all enormously disappointing, of course, since the best we could hope for from a live-action "Avatar" adaptation is the mind-blowing equivalent of our first encounters with wire-fu, rather than this cartoony nonsense.
  2. The movie is "Star Wars" with martial arts, plus a touch of "The Last Emperor." Technically, it's not badly done; I enjoyed the physical clash of elements, the water balls rising like sculpture in the air.
  3. Reviewed by: Scott Bowles
    63
    He hasn't mastered the craft yet, but M. Night Shyamalan may be on to something with this action-movie thing.