User Score
2.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 607 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 26, 2011
    0
    This movie is an insult to Brian Di Martino's masterpiece.... The acting is an insult to young actors everywhere.... The casting is an insult to all Asians....... M. Night Shyamalan is an insult to moviedom.....
    and I am ashamed that he had Indian origins..
  2. Nov 1, 2011
    3
    I liked the anime a lot is very good.
    compared the movie with the series, the characters are completely different. Aang's personality is not the same. Sokka in the series is very funny. Sokka in the film is so serious that he was not paying attention. very good special effects in the movie.
    should not allow Mr. M. Night Shyamalan direct a film.
    completely ruined what could be a great
    movie. was lost what could be a great trilogy. Expand
  3. Nov 6, 2011
    1
    The visual effects and the overall design of the movie are impressive. But it can't fully make up for The Last Airbender's bland acting, horridly written script, absence of character development and short running time. Now, I'm a fan of the animated series of which this movie is based off of, and I must say this was a pretty pathetic excuse for an adaptation. The story that the movie is based on is highly original, spiritual, philosophical, humorous and emotional. But all of that has been taken away and substituted for crap. This film did not live up to it's potential what so ever. 1/ 4 stars. Expand
  4. Nov 7, 2011
    3
    I tried to like it, but it is a big letdown compared to the Nickelodeon animated series it is based on. The story was hard to follow and there a lot of changes from the show. It would have been better if they had better actors as well. The character didn't act at all like they did in the show.
  5. Nov 17, 2011
    0
    I was a follower of the original show, this movie was just a failure, I can believe Shyamalan is a fan of the show, and who's brilliant idea was to whitewash the cast? sorry, but I can believe a non-caucasian director like Shyamalan shows that kind of "racism".
  6. Jan 27, 2013
    2
    I am a huge fan of the animated series. I absolutely hated this movie. There is really no similarity between this movie and the series. First, in the series, Aang is a happy-go-lucky kid. In the movie, there is no joy to be found anywhere. Second, bending doesn't require five minutes of dancing before a single move can be made. In the series, a flick of the wrist throws a rock. In the movie, the characters have to go through rigorous dance moves just to levitate some water. Third, the series cannot actually be made into a movie because the movie can't encompass all of the little details the series had to offer. All in all, nothing in this movie lives up to the series. Expand
  7. Nov 23, 2011
    0
    This film is UTTER RUBBISH, from the acting to the cgi it self. How can a director start with a film like sixth sense to this carp, it does beggars belief. Firstly the characters/actors were TERRIBLE. in the tv show the first two episodes you felt the connection and bond between the three protagonist, but in the first 20 mins of this film you just DIDN'T feel anything. There should be an INSTANT bond between katara and ang but there wasn't. Secondly say the blasted names correctly darn its infuriating watching them say it wrong.
    thirdly, and may i add the most IMPORTANT is the story/bending. it was a completely and UTTER joke. Mr night shyamalan if you bothered to watch the show you'd realise ang picked up water bending very very very easily, contrary to what the director believed. All of the bending parts in the film was cringe-worthy and thats why i'm not going in to that. The scariest thing is he's going to inflict more of his rubbish if (i'm sorry to say this) Nickelodeon don't fire him. I don't believe the actors are at fault for this diabolical and atrocious movie, that lies down to the director entirely. What's even more astonishing is the source material is amazing yet he released this joke of a film. I'm sorry i may be extremely harsh but he should NEVER EVER be allowed behind a camera or script AGAIN. PERIOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    N.B i didn't have time to proof-read sorry
    Expand
  8. Apr 7, 2012
    1
    M. Night Shyamlan directs an EPIC FAILURE of a TV show. His best was The Sixth Sense, but his film-making skills took a downfall and so far, The Last Airbender is probably his worst. First, the story was too short and skipped to much exposition from the show, there wasn't enough of a conflict, a lack of climatic events, and the conclusion is choppy. Second, EVERY SINGLE actor was miscast and not very firm with their roles, the script suffered from being appalling and mispronounced the characters names, and the art direction lacks enough element-bending. Many movies were adaptated from television shows, but this one suffered from retardation in almost every part of the movie and I am not the one who's racist but especially when Arabs, Indians, and Persians were catastrophically and wrongly depicted as Firebenders. Expand
  9. Feb 2, 2012
    1
    This movie just sucked hard at best, but it still a highest grossing film. I hate the transition of story of this movie. The characters aren't characters at all. They're like clever bot speaking to other clever bots. You can't sense the feeling of each character ( except the boy who played aang which is his first time in this business). I hope the sequel to this film is better than this one.
  10. May 31, 2013
    10
    damn girl are you ready to swag out with ANNNNNGGGGG (Aang) and super soaka (sokka) oh and lets not forget our boy uncle EARo (Iro) the names alone automatically get a ten outta ten and the top notch acting oh boy this is why all cartoon series need a a live action movie because this is so hip hoping dawgs screw the cartoon that was terrible and this is the greatest piece of art ever
  11. Apr 13, 2012
    0
    i loved the avatar series, but this was THE WORST MOVIE EVER. ya know, you'd think the creators of the series would know how to spell the charterers names, i mean aangs name is pronounced ayng, not ong, sokka is pronounced socka, not soaka, and i could continue, but id rather not rage
  12. Jun 23, 2012
    0
    Just remember that the cartoon is still fantastic. That's what worries me about this film, that it will detract from the cartoon which to me is the only thing wholly good in this world. (barely joking)
  13. Mar 19, 2012
    1
    I have watched this movie ONE 'S and never again!!! as a big fan of the avatar series i just wanted to see what this movie is like despite what the critics and everyone else said this movie is HORRIBLE. Uninteresting, bad dialogue, if you haven't seen the series big parts of the plot are missing. WERE THE F**k are the Kyoshi warriors. This movie is terrible. the only thing that's okay are the effects but that is not enough by a long shot. Expand
  14. Sep 9, 2013
    0
    This movie is awful. Mispronunciation of the names, horrible effects, and the acting is just horrendous This movie sets a new standard for bad movies, especially when it's based off a kids show!
  15. Nov 13, 2013
    0
    What kind of awful crap was this? "The Last Airbender" is surely one of the dullest ever made in the history of filmmaking. I would recommend you to buy a pack of chips rather than pay for this boring and ridiculous junk. Also, if you have seen this in 3-D, this is probably the worst use of 3-D ever.
  16. Jun 10, 2012
    8
    As I've never watched the series, I had no point of reference and no expectations of this film, which is likely beneficial in this case. As it turns out, the so called "critics" are wrong, as they usually are. While it's not the best film ever made, it's captivating, the effects are awe inspiring, the score is wonderful. The only suggestion I could give would be to extend the length from 90 minutes to 2 or 2.5 hours (given the series' history and following noone would complain). This would allow for more natural and in depth character development and backstory. I hope Paramount hasn't pulled the plug on the film series as I'd love to see what's next. I rate the film B- or 3.5 out of 5 stars! Expand
  17. Jun 9, 2012
    3
    Many of the characters names were pronounced wrong. The movie was very serious, when the cartoon was lighthearted. They changed the plot, it was chopped into stupid and very unintelligible pieces, the effects were horrible, the characters looked nothing like the originals. The spirit world looked cheesy, appa and momo looked like scraggly puppets attached to the ceiling with "invisible ropes". If you liked Avatar; The Last Airbender, I highly recomend that you don't watch this. Your high hopes will be crushed. Immediately. Don't watch it and hopefully, they will let someone else make the second (but that probably won't be good either).

    Ah well.

    -kataangforever1
    Expand
  18. Dec 23, 2012
    0
    An absolute filmic disgrace - wooden acting, M. ShamlalamalamaDingDong's horrible directing, and absolutely no faithfulness to the brilliant source material, The Last Airbender is one of the worst films of all-time. I'll be honest - I thought I was watching a cheap soap opera.
  19. Jul 11, 2012
    0
    this movie was so bad i was excited at first when they first announced it then i saw it i was horrified they said uvatar instead of avatar and (if you watch LOK they made a joke about that) they pronounced characters names wrong zuko didn't even look like zuko was sapost to look like i think the guy who voice sokka could have been a better one because in this movie sokka was to serious there was so many wrong things with this movie it's not even funny i don't think they even watched the series before they made the movie ooh and they forgot the kioshi warriors suki was sokkas main love interest Expand
  20. Dec 14, 2012
    1
    I was a huge fan of the original cartoon, in fact it's my favorite TV show. I just don't see how anyone who was a fan of the series could rate this movie any higher than a 1, and how anyone who enjoys movies could rate it higher than a 2. The Last Airbender is the worst movie I have ever seen, and I am making that claim as a disappointed fan and a movie lover. Every aspect of the film that could have gone wrong went horribly wrong. From the atrocious dialogue, to the mediocre story, to the wooden characters, to the awkward cast, to the sloppy special effects, it all worked together to create one massive piece of s%#t. However, the worst part of it all by far was that M. Night Shamalan challenged the ways of the Emmy winning, critically aclaimed show and failed in every single itty-bitty little way I can think of. Now, people who have never seen the incredible TV show may never see it and any chance of it evolving into a live-action movie, which had so much potential to be good, has been extinguished. As a fan, it is a saddening thought. Expand
  21. Aug 25, 2012
    5
    Perhaps giving this movie a 5 would be high praise considering how many people HATE this movie, but I can understand why they would hate it. I never watched the cartoon, but my guess from all of the hate is that the film adaptation isn't faithful at all to its source material. I tried watching the film as just a stand alone film, but it didn't even succeed with that. With the wooden acting and bland storytelling, it's hard to care about what happens at all in the 103 minutes of this movie. It has some decent special effects and some ok action sequences, but that's all. Expand
  22. Aug 30, 2012
    5
    This movie is a big delusion! The dialogies and the script are terrible and the acting isn't much better. It's also too much serious, while the cartooon has many hilarious moments. If give it a 5 and not a 3 or a 2, it's just for the special effects and the fight scenes, which are some of the most visually beautiful I've ever seen.
  23. Jan 6, 2014
    1
    Um dos filmes trágicos do cinema
  24. Jan 12, 2014
    0
    Just awful. Not only does M. Night Shamalamadingdong completely butcher everything good about the tv show like the epic large scale fight scenes involving powerful benders battling it out with great direction and technique (Now just floating bits of rock shot at people that could easily have been thrown more effectively), the developed characters (there is no emotion in this film, everything we hear anyone say is monotone back story, due to fact they tried to fit 500 minutes of plot from the first season of Avatar into a 90 minute movie) and the beautiful world you want to explore with these characters on their adventure (the setting just feels uninspired as **** no effort went into replicating the amazing detail of the show's world), he also shows how awful he is at directing fight scenes (they are seriously boring and drawn out), casts some of the worst child actors ever to grace the big screen (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wbi7xUd5TPc *sigh*) and fails to record some sound and light his scenes properly! This is a disgrace to the tv show and films in general, whoever gave this production the thumbs up was probably the same person who approved Dragon Ball Evolution. Avoid this at all costs. Expand
  25. Jun 23, 2013
    0
    Anyone who gave this movie above a 2 obviously has never seen the show, has really bad taste in movies, or is retarded. This is possibly the worst movie I have ever seen. The effects are awful, so are the actors, dialogue, fight scenes, etc.
  26. Nov 19, 2012
    0
    How do you take a great TV series with the strong fanbase that it had and simply spit in our faces with crap movie man. The acting was horrid, the casting was just as bad, the CGI was cool yes but the rushed movie with the limited respect to the series was embarrassing. Why would anyone give M. Night the rights to produce this movie? His resume is that of pure mediocrity. Why not James Cameron, Riddley Scott, Michael Bay even. I hope they re-do this movie the right way. Expand
  27. Jan 5, 2014
    3
    Wow was this movie a disappointment! The whole movie felt rushed! I think that was the biggest problem with the Last Airbender. This should be made into a series so they can get into the story better, but instead everything is thrown into one movie. If this movie is the first time you`re learning about these characters you will not care for them.I use to watch the show and that was so much better on every level. The Trailer sure got me excited, but man did it fail.I guess if you have no expectations it is an alright movie, but for the rest of us it fails hard! Expand
  28. Dec 8, 2012
    1
    Not good, in fact it's one of the worst movies I've seen in years. I hated it! The acting was horrible, basically every actor sucked. The script was poorly written and cheesy. The story jumped around a lot and made very little sense at times, which is strange because I was familiar with the story because I watched a little of the show. The fighting sequences were stupid. Some of the CGI was okay, but not good. I'm now a firm believer that M. Night Shyamalan will never have a comeback as this film is nothing but pure garbage. He can't handle directing a film even with good material being handed down to him. A complete shame and one of the absolute worst films of 2010. A dreadful, excruciating film to watch. Expand
  29. Mar 9, 2013
    0
    Nobody knows who Shyamalan is any more......
  30. Jan 11, 2013
    3
    It really is the last airbender. Just because of horrible dialogue, boring fights and no humuor it is terrible. Paramount need work to make it better instead of it worse.
  31. Jan 28, 2014
    5
    I genuinely think that this movie is not as absolutely unbearable and completely full of **** as most people make it out to be. But it is undeniably bad. Nominating Dev Patel for a Golden Razzie was very harsh but overall the acting is atrocious. Mainly due to the title character Aang played by Noah Ringer. How the hell did he even get through the audition process with a face which looks constantly surprised and in pain at the same time. Pretty much everyone else with the exception of Dev Patel (who is alright) is bad, but not to the point of self harm like Noah Ringer. Reading other reviews most people claim that the cheesy dialogue is the worst thing about the whole movie, I have to admit I agree with them all. Sure it isn't Tommy Wiseau's The Room, but damn this is written by the same guy who directed The Sixth Sense. What the **** happened? Out of every second of The Last Airbender which I watched the only above average and enjoyable aspect of it was Zuko's storyline (Dev Patel). Maybe if I could be bothered to watch the anime TV series it might be better, I hate to admit it but I actually thought his banishment was pretty cool. However the last scene (which is only in there for the minute chance of a sequel) they totally ruin it and attempt to bring in even more family conflict to create drama. Every attempt at drama in the movie fails though, I did not care one bit about the bull**** love story between Sokka and Yue (who's penis haircut was the best part of the movie). Overall M.Night Shyamalan really should have made the movie much less crap for it to be enjoyable. I have never summarised a movie so bluntly before. Expand
  32. May 4, 2013
    0
    Welcome, to M. Night's escuss to take a dump on the TV show. With horrible acting, confusing story, a darker tone to the movie, bad speical effects even compared to a stundent film, and combined with the rushed production, makes for a horrible outcome.
  33. Apr 22, 2013
    0
    I had trouble giving this movie a one out of ten. That's how bad it is!
  34. Oct 22, 2013
    5
    Not as bad as I heard it was, maybe because I haven't seen the show. Leaving that aside, the movie is just painfully mediocre, the potential is there and the CGI was great, its just not used well enough.
  35. Feb 13, 2013
    1
    This has got to be one of the worst movies I watched. And it's so frustrating because I loved the cartoon series! D:

    Bad acting, incredibly bad script, bad casting... the only thing good might be the visual effects. But not even that and the fanbase was able to save this from being a huge waste of time.
  36. Oct 14, 2013
    6
    I personally watched the Avatar: the Last Airbender show very occassionally, and while i liked it-it was cool, I did not watch it enough to consider myself among the biggest of fans. From this perspective, I can say I kinda enjoyed this movie.
    I thought the acting was not the best, but it wasn't Twilight bad (though Twilight, imo, was a bad series as the books as well). The CGI wasn't the
    worst, but I personally like CGI unless it is like the CGI in sitcoms on TV (like when a character dreams he has super powers and it has terribe CGI showing. them). The story is understandable in the sense that the Percy Jackson movies were- you understand it if you've read the book,or in this case watched the TV show, but it is still quite different. and the action, while not making sense sometimes (like when the earth benders float a rock rather than doing something cool) it was good enough
    I personally liked this movie. But I understand the ppl who hate it. This movie is just a generic movie, and the TV show was amazing- not to mention the lack of major parts of the show due to it being just 2 hours- and another thing, a generic movie like this does not have to exceed the 1 hour 30 min mark. I give this movie an F for the biggest fans of the series, a D-E if you were a fan but not an intense fan- like watching- the- series- fifty- times- in- a- row- intense, a C for those who uderstood the series and was just looking forward to watching a generic movie to pass the time

    *Also, I got this movie on Redbox, so I only paid 1$, so i thik it was at least worth that
    Expand
  37. Mar 18, 2013
    0
    I almost gave this film a one for the special effects but no even though they were the only thing good in the movie. First M. Night Shamalamadingdong has no idea what the phrase "Good movie" means, I bet he's never been to a theater and seen a person walk out of his movie and say anything positive. This was a disgrace to "Avatar: The Last Airbender". Second, for the character Ang or how M. Night F***ed it up Ung. He hired a complete unknown for the soul reason he looked like Ang. I could understand taking auditions from people online but just because they look like them. It would've been better to hire me a BLACK GUY, and It would still be better because I know ever episode. Third. He basically took the TV show script "Katara: We have to do something. Ang: I agree" and basically did this "Ang: We have to do something. Katara: I agree" he blatintly switched characters lines to other characters. He filmed a scene and didnt even show it. The fact that this movie has a 2.9 out of 10 still amazes me. M. Night you can't make movies. Literally everyone in the theater went "Uhhhhhhhhhhhh" when his name appeared on screen. The Sixth Sense, what he wore the same clothes throughout the movie, The Happening was alright but dumb. Devil surprisingly was good, so I looked it up he produced it, not wrote or directed it that's why it was good. M. Night please stop directing and writing, and I swear to God if you come out with "The Last Aairbender 2" I will probably burn down the theater, watch the news. 16 year old kid attempted arisen to save the eyes of movie goers. I'd probably get and award. Oops, M. Night encase you didn't know what that means it's something you get for doing something GOOD. Expand
  38. Jul 15, 2013
    2
    El ultimo maestro del aire es una mezcla de cine malo y un gran error de este buen director así como hay muy buenas peliculas de este sobresale esta pero de lo mala.
  39. Oct 6, 2013
    4
    Well it was better than the Dragonball movie that came out a while back which was also based on a famous anime hahaha but still it wasn't by much. I mean the movie started ok but I wish the story was more worked out and what's with the end, is there a sequel to it?
  40. May 23, 2013
    3
    I don't watch the series this movie was based on, so this isn't a fan rage review. Just the usual negative review. Just about everything I look for in a film is absent from this major motion crapper. A boring/ uninteresting/ stupid story, horrible acting, and just a feeling of: why should I care syndrome. There's nothing good in this, nothing; perhaps "okay" special effects, but overall nothing. I can't say much about this because it's been a while since I've seen it; several years in fact, and I don't plan on ever seeing this again unless it's a dare. Expand
  41. May 28, 2013
    1
    I watch a lot of anime, but Avatar: The Last Airbender was one of my favorites, and I was looking forward to the movie, it looked great, but it turns out that In was wrong, it disappointing to no end. The reason 99.99999% of the world (including me) hates the movie is because everything was wrong, the characters aren't the ones I had come to love in the anime, they were completely different! I HATED this movie! Not only was the story bad, but the actors were just as terrible. They looked as if they didn't want to be there, and I can see why! M. Night Shylaman was lucky that I don't remember him for this because of the movie Devil, which I enjoyed, but this piece of crap, I hated it. If you like the anime, don't watch this film, If you like the show, don't watch it, if you like good movies, don't watch it, and if you just like movies, don't watch it. Its seriously THAT bad. But I'm giving it a 1 out of 10 because its not Skyline which is my least favorite movie of all time. Expand
  42. Jun 1, 2013
    5
    Now granted, the film has its good qualities. I thought, as an audience member, it was reasonable. But as a student filmmaker, I must say, M. Night Shalyaman has done better work.
  43. Jun 7, 2013
    0
    If I had to compare it to the animated series I would have to say that it's a disaster. If i had to judge it separately i would say the same. Someone who has never seen the show ,is forced into an incomprehensible plot bound to be unappreciated, as the film's success was more special-effects oriented. Even though they have the same story, Avatar manages to captivate viewers and make them have a plethora of feelings such as sympathy, suspense and excitement, while The Last Airbender presents the story as dead, cold and superficial. When Avatar The Last Airbender ended, the fans were devastated and nostalgic. When The Last Airbender ended, everyone was devastated as well but for a different reason and hoping the 2 expected sequels will not be released. That is because the director of this film, or whoever is responsible for the its making, made a terrible mistake. Animes or anime-like shows are absolutely not meant to have live-action adaptations made. It's one of the few things the movie industry is not capable of doing, successfully. Expand
  44. Jun 12, 2013
    2
    This is the most terrible movie i have ever seen. This movie was so bad that i fell asleep. The fighting was so fake and the characters act so corny.
  45. Nov 4, 2013
    0
    This is the Worst Movie of 2012 and 2011 nobody should ever see this movie the acting is horrible and the story is the dumbest story ever heard in a long time since 2006 NO BODY SHOULD SEE THIS MOVIE.
  46. Jul 4, 2013
    2
    While "Avatar: The Last Airbender" remains one of my favorite shows of all time it was just heartbreaking to watch "The Last Airbender" movie. Characters portrayed in the shows were performed so differently in the movie, and although this does not affect my score, it did affect my thoughts on the film. The film was rushed, little to no humor, and felt dark in tone in general, which did not benefit the film. The acting was horrible, and it left little to no impressions on the characters in the film. While the television show brought a bright and smiling personality, even with a sinister villain, the movie turned darker to appeal to an older audience, which doesn't work at all. Visuals are great however, and it was the only thing in the film that made me interested during the rushed action scenes. I guess, more time in the film was needed to make this any better. Expand
  47. Jul 5, 2013
    1
    I love anime, and when this movie came out, I was very excited to see it, but the movie is just wasted potential. I can relate to those who hate the movie, why? Because everything was wrong, there are more contrasts than comparisons between the anime and the actual cinematic release. The characters weren't the same, the lore wasn't the same, everything was wrong. M. Night has taken one of the best story lines and ruined it, thanks for crushing such a great franchise you bastard. Not only was everything wrong, but the movie wasn't good, it was actually terrible, the acting was atrocious, the execution was just a mess, the script was abysmal. This movie just infuriates me. Even if you haven't seen the anime or any anime, you will relate to us anime fanatics by hating this movie. Expand
  48. Jul 15, 2013
    0
    Thank God he was the last one, let's just hope there's no prequel in the works. Hopefully Midnight Shazam will have enough common(sixth)sense to actually think about what might make an interesting film after his appalling run of garbage. I seriously doubt it to be honest and I can see people of the future being awarded the Midnight Shazam award for utter rubbish at The Golden Raspberries.
  49. Jul 25, 2013
    1
    The Last Airbender was a complete and utter travesty. With a solid fan-base nothing could go wrong, right? Wrong. Shyamalan was handed pure gold with this film, but his lack of experience in action directing resulted in a film soiled by terrible adaptation, acting, directing, and shoddy special effects. If they do decide to go on with the trilogy with M. Night at the helms, it could be good night for The Last Airbender legacy. Expand
  50. Nov 6, 2013
    3
    Oh no, i hope there isn't a sequel. Too cheesy CGI, and boring dialog. Don't watch this movie, unless you get to watch it for free. The only thing good was the story, but that can't save it.
  51. Oct 25, 2013
    5
    This movie gets a lot of bad rap because: 1) It wasn't as good as the series, not even close. 2) They pronounce the names wrong (even if Shyamalan thought he had good reasoning) 3) They screwed up uncle iroh 4) They screwed up the way people are supposed to firebend. But despite this the movie still managed to entertain me and if you are a fan of the series, seeing live action bending fights really made the movie worth watching. Expand
  52. Aug 21, 2013
    0
    Absolute sht. This was definitely the worst movie I have ever watched. Poorly executed and terrible acting, just everything was wrong with this movie.
  53. Sep 24, 2013
    1
    No... Just no.. If you are a fan of the TV series "The Last Airbender" then this movie should have severely pissed you off. It left out a ton of storyline, characters, and 75% of the journey the characters took! It even ended on a severe cliff hanger which should have even pissed even non-fans off! And to make matters worse, there is NOT going to be another movie! Apparently, the director intended on covering the whole story, just in sections, but ended up not having the funds to do so! If you're going to cover a interesting series like The Last Airbender, then actually FINISH IT! Expand
  54. Nov 26, 2013
    1
    I honestly don't think an actual movie can get as bad as this one. It has terrible acting, a terrible script, cheesy effects, and missing out on some of the most important parts of the show. They even changed most of the names and the way the people bend their elements. Although this isn't the worst one I've seen, it sure is close to it.
  55. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    The cartoon was the best cartoon EVER, and I'm not exaggerating. I saw the movie about a year ago and it got on my Top 15 favourite movie list. I understand everyone has an opinion of their own, but I think anyone giving this a 0 by comparing it to the cartoon is completely overreacting. Whatever Shayamalan did was NOT a big deal. The soundtrack, bending effects, and scenery were so beautiful and felt like the cartoon if it was in real life. Sokka didn't need a different name, nor did Aang, but Noah Ringer looks like an "Ahng" to me. So hate me, I loved watching "The Last Airbender." Expand
  56. Apr 20, 2014
    0
    A disgrace. The show this movie was based on was pure entertainment tinged with a gripping coming-of-age story, characters you wanted to be real, and some of the best animated combat ever. This is an empty vessel of plot, explanation, and exposition, with special effects that rarely pop and inexperienced child actors that make you feel as if you're watching an elementary school play. It's a terrible movie and an insulting adaption of one of the best TV shows out there. M. Night is a butcher. Expand
  57. Jan 9, 2014
    1
    Aside from the visuals, everything about this movie is terrible and is a big middle finger to us moviegoers and fans from the show. Do not see this movies at all.
  58. Feb 6, 2014
    0
    A disgrace to a show that clearly knew how to be awesome, and a disgrace to cinema all together. The last airbender is without a doubt the worst movie I've ever seen.
  59. Apr 21, 2014
    4
    I don't think it is as bad as everyone says it is but still nothing good at all. I thought the beginning of the movie was ok introducing everything that part was entertaining enough. And then I thought it started going down hill from there with a couple memorable scenes until the end of the movie. Still not a good movie but not one of the worst either.
Metascore
20

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 33
  2. Negative: 23 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    20
    This is all enormously disappointing, of course, since the best we could hope for from a live-action "Avatar" adaptation is the mind-blowing equivalent of our first encounters with wire-fu, rather than this cartoony nonsense.
  2. The movie is "Star Wars" with martial arts, plus a touch of "The Last Emperor." Technically, it's not badly done; I enjoyed the physical clash of elements, the water balls rising like sculpture in the air.
  3. Reviewed by: Scott Bowles
    63
    He hasn't mastered the craft yet, but M. Night Shyamalan may be on to something with this action-movie thing.