Paramount Pictures | Release Date: July 1, 2010
2.5
USER SCORE
Generally unfavorable reviews based on 767 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
133
Mixed:
72
Negative:
562
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
billrullerAug 17, 2012
Out of all the M. Night Shyamalan films I've seen, this has got to be the worst one that is in need to retire. I do like his 3 movies, The Sixth Sense, Unbreakable, and Signs. But his ideas started to get bland, boring, and silly after thoseOut of all the M. Night Shyamalan films I've seen, this has got to be the worst one that is in need to retire. I do like his 3 movies, The Sixth Sense, Unbreakable, and Signs. But his ideas started to get bland, boring, and silly after those 3. But this one just killed it completely, he needs to retire. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
AlnORTIZJul 21, 2012
The Last Airbender is all eye candy and has no heart like the Nickelodeon cartoon it is based upon. The only thing really going for is the somewhat decent visual effects used for the action and bending effects. Other than that, the story isThe Last Airbender is all eye candy and has no heart like the Nickelodeon cartoon it is based upon. The only thing really going for is the somewhat decent visual effects used for the action and bending effects. Other than that, the story is dull, the dialogue is uninspiring, and the acting is utterly atrocious. If the visual effects were not decent, this film could have been a lot worse. This is by far the worst film M. Night Shyamalan has ever made. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
0
inuyashaloverJul 11, 2012
this movie was so bad i was excited at first when they first announced it then i saw it i was horrified they said uvatar instead of avatar and (if you watch LOK they made a joke about that) they pronounced characters names wrong zuko didn'tthis movie was so bad i was excited at first when they first announced it then i saw it i was horrified they said uvatar instead of avatar and (if you watch LOK they made a joke about that) they pronounced characters names wrong zuko didn't even look like zuko was sapost to look like i think the guy who voice sokka could have been a better one because in this movie sokka was to serious there was so many wrong things with this movie it's not even funny i don't think they even watched the series before they made the movie ooh and they forgot the kioshi warriors suki was sokkas main love interest Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
FUUUUU_gamesJun 23, 2012
Just remember that the cartoon is still fantastic. That's what worries me about this film, that it will detract from the cartoon which to me is the only thing wholly good in this world. (barely joking)
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SunfulOneJun 10, 2012
As I've never watched the series, I had no point of reference and no expectations of this film, which is likely beneficial in this case. As it turns out, the so called "critics" are wrong, as they usually are. While it's not the best filmAs I've never watched the series, I had no point of reference and no expectations of this film, which is likely beneficial in this case. As it turns out, the so called "critics" are wrong, as they usually are. While it's not the best film ever made, it's captivating, the effects are awe inspiring, the score is wonderful. The only suggestion I could give would be to extend the length from 90 minutes to 2 or 2.5 hours (given the series' history and following noone would complain). This would allow for more natural and in depth character development and backstory. I hope Paramount hasn't pulled the plug on the film series as I'd love to see what's next. I rate the film B- or 3.5 out of 5 stars! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
KataangForever1Jun 9, 2012
Many of the characters names were pronounced wrong. The movie was very serious, when the cartoon was lighthearted. They changed the plot, it was chopped into stupid and very unintelligible pieces, the effects were horrible, the charactersMany of the characters names were pronounced wrong. The movie was very serious, when the cartoon was lighthearted. They changed the plot, it was chopped into stupid and very unintelligible pieces, the effects were horrible, the characters looked nothing like the originals. The spirit world looked cheesy, appa and momo looked like scraggly puppets attached to the ceiling with "invisible ropes". If you liked Avatar; The Last Airbender, I highly recomend that you don't watch this. Your high hopes will be crushed. Immediately. Don't watch it and hopefully, they will let someone else make the second (but that probably won't be good either).

Ah well.

-kataangforever1
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
aaronpaul121May 26, 2012
One of the worst movies I've ever watched. The acting is weird and terribly bad. The story makes no sense at all. The script was just ridiculously terrible and corny. The characters' personality in the movie are not even close with those inOne of the worst movies I've ever watched. The acting is weird and terribly bad. The story makes no sense at all. The script was just ridiculously terrible and corny. The characters' personality in the movie are not even close with those in the TV series. Although the film has great special effects, it was completely overshadowed by these awful features of the movie.......... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
choopyApr 13, 2012
i loved the avatar series, but this was THE WORST MOVIE EVER. ya know, you'd think the creators of the series would know how to spell the charterers names, i mean aangs name is pronounced ayng, not ong, sokka is pronounced socka, not soaka,i loved the avatar series, but this was THE WORST MOVIE EVER. ya know, you'd think the creators of the series would know how to spell the charterers names, i mean aangs name is pronounced ayng, not ong, sokka is pronounced socka, not soaka, and i could continue, but id rather not rage Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
Jedi_JettsonApr 7, 2012
M. Night Shyamlan directs an EPIC FAILURE of a TV show. His best was The Sixth Sense, but his film-making skills took a downfall and so far, The Last Airbender is probably his worst. First, the story was too short and skipped to muchM. Night Shyamlan directs an EPIC FAILURE of a TV show. His best was The Sixth Sense, but his film-making skills took a downfall and so far, The Last Airbender is probably his worst. First, the story was too short and skipped to much exposition from the show, there wasn't enough of a conflict, a lack of climatic events, and the conclusion is choppy. Second, EVERY SINGLE actor was miscast and not very firm with their roles, the script suffered from being appalling and mispronounced the characters names, and the art direction lacks enough element-bending. Many movies were adaptated from television shows, but this one suffered from retardation in almost every part of the movie and I am not the one who's racist but especially when Arabs, Indians, and Persians were catastrophically and wrongly depicted as Firebenders. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
AwesomeReviewerMar 26, 2012
â
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
Tom1997ableMar 19, 2012
I have watched this movie ONE 'S and never again!!! as a big fan of the avatar series i just wanted to see what this movie is like despite what the critics and everyone else said this movie is HORRIBLE. Uninteresting, bad dialogue, if youI have watched this movie ONE 'S and never again!!! as a big fan of the avatar series i just wanted to see what this movie is like despite what the critics and everyone else said this movie is HORRIBLE. Uninteresting, bad dialogue, if you haven't seen the series big parts of the plot are missing. WERE THE F**k are the Kyoshi warriors. This movie is terrible. the only thing that's okay are the effects but that is not enough by a long shot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
DaBlackNightMar 10, 2012
Uhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh i dont know what to say.................................. really i dont honestly know
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
sirky004Feb 2, 2012
This movie just sucked hard at best, but it still a highest grossing film. I hate the transition of story of this movie. The characters aren't characters at all. They're like clever bot speaking to other clever bots. You can't sense theThis movie just sucked hard at best, but it still a highest grossing film. I hate the transition of story of this movie. The characters aren't characters at all. They're like clever bot speaking to other clever bots. You can't sense the feeling of each character ( except the boy who played aang which is his first time in this business). I hope the sequel to this film is better than this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
jasherDec 29, 2011
If this had been some unknown director's debut film, released with little to no fanfare, it would have just been a bad movie. But because of the director's pedigree (albeit diminished from his first couple of films, but still!), because ofIf this had been some unknown director's debut film, released with little to no fanfare, it would have just been a bad movie. But because of the director's pedigree (albeit diminished from his first couple of films, but still!), because of the relative popularity of the source material, because of the marketing campaign that drove this film and because of the relatively large sum of money invested into its making, "The Last Airbender" is jaw-droppingly bad. I almost recommend you to watch it, if nothing else so you can truly understand what an awful major motion picture truly is and have a low-point to forever compare all other bad films to. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
AtomicRebirthDec 19, 2011
I tried to like this movie, I really did. But I just couldn't get around it. I even abandoned all bias from being a big fan of the show it spawned from, but that did little to make this movie any more enjoyable. Focusing on this movie as aI tried to like this movie, I really did. But I just couldn't get around it. I even abandoned all bias from being a big fan of the show it spawned from, but that did little to make this movie any more enjoyable. Focusing on this movie as a standalone entity, the writing was horrible(it sounded like a second grader wrote most of it), the acting(save for Zuko) was bad, and the camerawork was awkward(long, flowing, uninterrupted shots don't lend themselves well to an intense fight scene Shyamalan). The plot struggled to find itself(some parts felt dragged on way too long, others seemed to zip by) and important characters seemed to pop into existence out of nowhere and not be explained until later. All in all, it was just really, really bad. I would not recommend this movie to anyone, especially a fan of the series. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
heyitsmegrif4Dec 17, 2011
This film is easily one of the worst films in the decade and should never had been made by someone who works with suspense movies! I give this awful film a 2% of a good movie due to its okay visual effects.
8 of 14 users found this helpful86
All this user's reviews
2
davenbettridgeDec 14, 2011
The Last Airbender is an awful movie that everyone should avoid. M. Night Shyamalan let his audience down. The privileged of making a movie comes the responsibility of making a good one - a responsibility to which Shyamalan has fail andThe Last Airbender is an awful movie that everyone should avoid. M. Night Shyamalan let his audience down. The privileged of making a movie comes the responsibility of making a good one - a responsibility to which Shyamalan has fail and should not be allowed to get away with. Such a shame. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
asylumspadezNov 26, 2011
One of the worst films you will ever see. Terrible acting, A poor script that made absolutely no sense, and it tried to cram an entire season filled with countless details into a poor 2 hour film. This is absolute trash.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
DBZ19Nov 23, 2011
This film is UTTER RUBBISH, from the acting to the cgi it self. How can a director start with a film like sixth sense to this carp, it does beggars belief. Firstly the characters/actors were TERRIBLE. in the tv show the first two episodes youThis film is UTTER RUBBISH, from the acting to the cgi it self. How can a director start with a film like sixth sense to this carp, it does beggars belief. Firstly the characters/actors were TERRIBLE. in the tv show the first two episodes you felt the connection and bond between the three protagonist, but in the first 20 mins of this film you just DIDN'T feel anything. There should be an INSTANT bond between katara and ang but there wasn't. Secondly say the blasted names correctly darn its infuriating watching them say it wrong.
thirdly, and may i add the most IMPORTANT is the story/bending. it was a completely and UTTER joke. Mr night shyamalan if you bothered to watch the show you'd realise ang picked up water bending very very very easily, contrary to what the director believed. All of the bending parts in the film was cringe-worthy and thats why i'm not going in to that. The scariest thing is he's going to inflict more of his rubbish if (i'm sorry to say this) Nickelodeon don't fire him. I don't believe the actors are at fault for this diabolical and atrocious movie, that lies down to the director entirely. What's even more astonishing is the source material is amazing yet he released this joke of a film. I'm sorry i may be extremely harsh but he should NEVER EVER be allowed behind a camera or script AGAIN. PERIOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

N.B i didn't have time to proof-read sorry
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
VanFanel1980mxNov 17, 2011
I was a follower of the original show, this movie was just a failure, I can believe Shyamalan is a fan of the show, and who's brilliant idea was to whitewash the cast? sorry, but I can believe a non-caucasian director like Shyamalan showsI was a follower of the original show, this movie was just a failure, I can believe Shyamalan is a fan of the show, and who's brilliant idea was to whitewash the cast? sorry, but I can believe a non-caucasian director like Shyamalan shows that kind of "racism". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
ZilcellNov 7, 2011
I tried to like it, but it is a big letdown compared to the Nickelodeon animated series it is based on. The story was hard to follow and there a lot of changes from the show. It would have been better if they had better actors as well. TheI tried to like it, but it is a big letdown compared to the Nickelodeon animated series it is based on. The story was hard to follow and there a lot of changes from the show. It would have been better if they had better actors as well. The character didn't act at all like they did in the show. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
marnee96Nov 6, 2011
The visual effects and the overall design of the movie are impressive. But it can't fully make up for The Last Airbender's bland acting, horridly written script, absence of character development and short running time. Now, I'm a fan of theThe visual effects and the overall design of the movie are impressive. But it can't fully make up for The Last Airbender's bland acting, horridly written script, absence of character development and short running time. Now, I'm a fan of the animated series of which this movie is based off of, and I must say this was a pretty pathetic excuse for an adaptation. The story that the movie is based on is highly original, spiritual, philosophical, humorous and emotional. But all of that has been taken away and substituted for crap. This film did not live up to it's potential what so ever. 1/ 4 stars. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
gacterceroNov 1, 2011
I liked the anime a lot is very good.
compared the movie with the series, the characters are completely different. Aang's personality is not the same. Sokka in the series is very funny. Sokka in the film is so serious that he was not paying
I liked the anime a lot is very good.
compared the movie with the series, the characters are completely different. Aang's personality is not the same. Sokka in the series is very funny. Sokka in the film is so serious that he was not paying attention. very good special effects in the movie.
should not allow Mr. M. Night Shyamalan direct a film.
completely ruined what could be a great movie. was lost what could be a great trilogy.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
rameshemOct 26, 2011
This movie is an insult to Brian Di Martino's masterpiece.... The acting is an insult to young actors everywhere.... The casting is an insult to all Asians....... M. Night Shyamalan is an insult to moviedom.....
and I am ashamed that he had
This movie is an insult to Brian Di Martino's masterpiece.... The acting is an insult to young actors everywhere.... The casting is an insult to all Asians....... M. Night Shyamalan is an insult to moviedom.....
and I am ashamed that he had Indian origins..
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
rafael14Oct 23, 2011
It's awful.It's awfulI.t's awful.It's awful.It's awful.It's awful.It's awful .It's awful.It's awful.It's awful.It's awful.It's awful. Is the worst movie i ever see
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Falling_HammerOct 18, 2011
Even though I liked the visuals the acting was just horrible and the dialogs, Oh my dear God.
Since the acting is a really important thing in a movie it really irritates you if you can't enjoy a movie because of it. Furthermore, when the
Even though I liked the visuals the acting was just horrible and the dialogs, Oh my dear God.
Since the acting is a really important thing in a movie it really irritates you if you can't enjoy a movie because of it. Furthermore, when the acting doesn't kill you, the stupid dialog will. To sum up, a good movie with some "bugs" and if you are a more visual type that doesn't care about the dialog, acting than you will enjoy this movie and if not than I watching this movie would be a sin
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
2
grandpajoe6191Oct 16, 2011
"The Last Airbender", a movie based on the famous TV series for kids, is just simply terrible. The story doesn't make any sense and is chopped into crude pieces. The acting and special effects are terribly illustrated like coloring black ink"The Last Airbender", a movie based on the famous TV series for kids, is just simply terrible. The story doesn't make any sense and is chopped into crude pieces. The acting and special effects are terribly illustrated like coloring black ink over a well-done portrait of someone. Man, all I can conclude is RAZZIE BUZZ!! Expand
28 of 33 users found this helpful285
All this user's reviews
0
TLONightmareOct 9, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. As a fan of the series, I would say it deserves nothing more than ZERO. Shyamalan is a great director, but he should at least had taken a look at the entire first season before starting this movie. Iroh don't have his ironical tranquility, Socka and Aang are serious all the time, awful dialogues, Zuko is totally different. Katara started the rebellion with the Earthbenders at that prison(and Aang and Socka weren't taken arrested)... I could continue, but it would take too much. In summary, the movie has nothing to do with the cartoon, and have a lot of mistakes. It is hollow, just a lot of special effects, nothing more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
RodrigoBGCSep 27, 2011
The story of the Dalai Lama don't need to have fantasy to be good, this movie is simply bored and stupid, like a cartoon it works very good, but in a movie is just boring and pointless
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
jos95Sep 17, 2011
M. Night Shyamalan. That's the one name you need to hear instantly to avoid this movie. It is the WORST MOVIE EVER!!!!! I have never seen another movie in my whole life that has failed so badly on every level! He has taken my favorite showM. Night Shyamalan. That's the one name you need to hear instantly to avoid this movie. It is the WORST MOVIE EVER!!!!! I have never seen another movie in my whole life that has failed so badly on every level! He has taken my favorite show and turned it into the most boring pile of crap ever produced!!! Everything fails!!! They skipped too much from the show, the acting wasn't good, the whole look of the movie was just cheap and tacky and the script had no sense of life to it whatsoever. If I was not a fan of the show I would have forgot this movie instantly as soon as I walked out of the cinema door. I have forever decided to boycott M. Night Shyamalan after seeing this poorly done piece of tripe. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
FolstarSep 3, 2011
Negative reviews of this film follow a common message: this movie was bad because it was bad. Sometimes critics cite the bad [child] acting, the confusing story (my 4 year old niece understood it all just fine...), bad visual effects (thatNegative reviews of this film follow a common message: this movie was bad because it was bad. Sometimes critics cite the bad [child] acting, the confusing story (my 4 year old niece understood it all just fine...), bad visual effects (that did not look like water being bended- I know these things!) or how it was not exactly like the cartoon in every single aspect, but overall this film is considered bad because it is a bad film. That is powerful and air tight logic. So feel free to join the masses and condemn this film is you hate things like clear cut good and bad, characters with motivation, sacrifice, redemption, character growth, loss, duty, and a whole host of other classic story telling motifs otherwise nonexistent in modern cinema. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
J-ShapAug 25, 2011
How can you begin to describe the many ways in which this film sucks? Never in history of movies has their been a fall as meteoric as M. Night Shyamalan, a director who began the decade being called the new **** and ends it by making The LastHow can you begin to describe the many ways in which this film sucks? Never in history of movies has their been a fall as meteoric as M. Night Shyamalan, a director who began the decade being called the new **** and ends it by making The Last Airbender, a movie that is a failure on every level you can think of. The acting is wooden, the casting is offensive (why are all the good guys white, and all the bad guys Asian, when it was clearly the other way around in the show), the effects are horrible, the plot makes no sense, the whimsy or excitement of a fantasy world is completely absent, and above all things, it is mind-numbingly dull. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
moviesRawsomeAug 21, 2011
i love this movie and i dont know why cause this movie sucks in almost ever way possibly from the acting to the story telling. and for me i was lucky i have had seen the cartoon show so i did know what was going on because the movie had ai love this movie and i dont know why cause this movie sucks in almost ever way possibly from the acting to the story telling. and for me i was lucky i have had seen the cartoon show so i did know what was going on because the movie had a hard time telling it. To me there is only one person to blame M.Night this guy directed, producted, and wrote the movie. His story was just a mess there was no flow at all to the pace the story jumped place to place without really telling us why. the diologe was horrible as it only was used to tell what was going on and it didnt even do a good job of that. the acting was bad but to me its m.nights fault there to as script was just so poorly written. but know im getting to the part where i liked the film the music score is the best i have heard in a movie simply untouchable. the special affects just kick ass and the costoms and the beauty of the avtar world is breath taking and the fight scenes are ok. the slow montion kinda sucks though and if you look at it there really isnot that many fights anyway. and still even with that said i still have no idea why i like this movie haha but it just works for me and maybe it will for you so it cant hurt to see it or can it?.haha Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
5
WillAug 11, 2011
"The Last Airbender" is not terrible. The story is well put-together and flows well, considering it was all condensed from a whole season from a TV show. The visuals - save for the shameful post-production 3D that makes Clash of the Titans"The Last Airbender" is not terrible. The story is well put-together and flows well, considering it was all condensed from a whole season from a TV show. The visuals - save for the shameful post-production 3D that makes Clash of the Titans look like Avatar - are also very solid. Peltz's performance is bland, but aside from her, there weren't any huge problems. The screenplay, though, is a mess. Full of cliches and often incomprehensible, the whole plot falls apart by the end. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
8
cabritaAug 8, 2011
Overall a fairly solid summer blockbuster although I am a foul for Shyamalan's movies. Some of the dialogue may through people off but not the whole entire movie is poorly written and the acting is fairly well acted especially the part by mrOverall a fairly solid summer blockbuster although I am a foul for Shyamalan's movies. Some of the dialogue may through people off but not the whole entire movie is poorly written and the acting is fairly well acted especially the part by mr slumdog millionaire. Entertaining fun and the themes and style you would expect from a shyamalan movie Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
Libra85Aug 3, 2011
I didn't know anything about Avatar before I saw this film so I had to take it at face value. I was pretty impressed by the whole thing. The story was easy to follow and the acting was good. Nothing ground breaking but this is a child'sI didn't know anything about Avatar before I saw this film so I had to take it at face value. I was pretty impressed by the whole thing. The story was easy to follow and the acting was good. Nothing ground breaking but this is a child's movie. With that in mind, I was expecting to see just what I saw. The Last Airbender does a good job telling what needs to be said to keep the sory going. It doesn't focus on the small details that fill out a series. The serious tone keeps the audience from being jerked back and forth from silliness to realism making the focus more clear. Also the film makes me care about the characters and not just wanting to see who does a cool trick. Some elements felt a little rushed but not so much that I was confused. The dialogue does well by not telling everything in the first five minutes leaving me with things to look forward to. There was room for improvement but I was overall satisfied. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
smijatovJul 27, 2011
Sometimes one goes into a film with some preconceived notions about it due to critics' reactions, and with "The Last Airbender" those notions get re-affirmed after watching the film. This is, surely, the worst film I've seen in the last year.Sometimes one goes into a film with some preconceived notions about it due to critics' reactions, and with "The Last Airbender" those notions get re-affirmed after watching the film. This is, surely, the worst film I've seen in the last year. It is impressively bad on so many levels! The screenplay was simply atrocious, with horrible dialogue and plot. Stunningly badly written. Another stunningly bad thing was the acting. Honestly, this had some of the worst acting I've seen on a major motion picture ever. It is TV-action-flick level of badness, which says a lot. The visual effects and art direction might be the highlight of the film, but even those are not that spectacular. At times, the film would remind me of the awkward cinematography of "The Golden Compass" and this feeling that the film is just too theatrical and "set up," instead of feeling more realistic, like other highly visual effect heavy films have managed, such as The Lord of the Rings, Harry Potter, or Avatar. I could go on and on about how bad the film is. It is a pity that it ended up being so bad, since it was obvious Shyamalan was planning a sequel (or maybe a trilogy - those are popular nowadays, it seems). Something tells me that that (luckily for the audiences) won't be happening any time soon. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
AlecinoJul 26, 2011
Okay, how do I put this........THIS IS ONE OF THE WORST MOVIES EVER!!!! Don't watch this. This is a disgrace to the TV show. The special effects are great, but the dialouge is laughable and the acting is wooden. Do NOT watch this. I hope NoahOkay, how do I put this........THIS IS ONE OF THE WORST MOVIES EVER!!!! Don't watch this. This is a disgrace to the TV show. The special effects are great, but the dialouge is laughable and the acting is wooden. Do NOT watch this. I hope Noah Ringer is better in Cowboys vs Aliens than he was in this. People often ask, "What went wrong" about this movie. A better question is: What DIDN'T go wrong? Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
2
RoscoeYJun 27, 2011
Usually I can find some kind of redeeming element from a bad movie and enjoy the flick. I just could not do that with Ava... whoops sorry the Last Airbender. This movie is honestly laughable. Even the fight scenes are terrible, at least withUsually I can find some kind of redeeming element from a bad movie and enjoy the flick. I just could not do that with Ava... whoops sorry the Last Airbender. This movie is honestly laughable. Even the fight scenes are terrible, at least with Transformers Revenge of the Fallen the fight scenes were entertaining to watch. I honestly don't think that I've seen pacing this bad in a movie ever. Also the name pronunciations were fine in the TV show, there was absolutely no reason for them to change. I mean changing the way a name sounds is not the end of the world but thats only the surface for the problems with this movie. My number one problem with the film is the acting, absolutely terrible across the board. My second problem is how bad the story is, you can not follow this film for a second. The only reason this movie is getting two stars is because of the films musical score (one point) and the Special effects (another point). I guess what I'm trying to say is this movie is terrible because... it sucks. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Gustavo_HRJun 17, 2011
Abacaxis espinafrados com a Framboesa de Ouro não têm achados de tocante beleza como o sacrifício de uma jovem que transfere sua vida a uma entidade espiritual pelo bem de um povo. Ã
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
MovieLonely94Jun 11, 2011
Based on the animated television show from Nickelodeon, this live-action adaptation tells the story about four nations with the elements of Air, Water, Earth, and Fire who fought against each in a great war. A few years later, a successfulBased on the animated television show from Nickelodeon, this live-action adaptation tells the story about four nations with the elements of Air, Water, Earth, and Fire who fought against each in a great war. A few years later, a successful avatar and an airbender named Aang, who has been sealed frozen for thousands of years, has been released by two people from the water tribe named Katara and Sokka as they try to protect him by any means necessary by joining him on a quest to the northern water kingdom to master waterbending while being chased by Prince Zuko, the exiled son of the fire lord Ozai, Commander Zhao, and the fire nation's military leader.

Let's just say I watched the TV show and was excited to see this movie in theaters, but instead saw it online and boy was I disappointed. We'll get to the bad parts in a moment. For now, I'm going to say the good things about this movie.

The actors did okay at their performances, the CGI effects were great, the music score had great emotion to it, the costume design was neat, and the action scenes were very cool. That's it for my praise.

Now for the bad things. The storyline had a lot of flaws and was overlong, rushed, and predictable, the dialogue in the characters were let down, the storytelling was inconsistent, the characters were underdeveloped (butchered names included) and the script was bland.

The Last Airbender isn't horrible, but it doesn't even hold a candle to the TV show. It's just a weak and very mediocre adaptation. I've been expected by a lot of people that I'm supposed to give this a 5/10, so yes, friends. A 5/10 is just the right rating for this movie. Is everyone happy now?

5/10
Expand
4 of 10 users found this helpful46
All this user's reviews
10
beaRaipMay 28, 2011
Terrible, terrible movie. The combined emptiness and stupidity of the protagonists is unfathomable, and though the effects are VISUALLY impressive at times, the fidelity of the audio is non-existent, thus "airbending" becomes fizzlyTerrible, terrible movie. The combined emptiness and stupidity of the protagonists is unfathomable, and though the effects are VISUALLY impressive at times, the fidelity of the audio is non-existent, thus "airbending" becomes fizzly breeze-bending, and fighting scenes become unintentionally funny. Stay away from this movie, read the books instead Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
1
itz_giologicalMay 23, 2011
Gio: I'm gonna see it. Carl: No! Just buy a Madonna album or something. Ugly ugly film. Even racist! Gio: But what about my RT review? Carl: Oh man, you don't need to waste your time reviewing that crap!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SradMay 20, 2011
Having seen several of the avatar cartoons with my nine year old son, we watched this movie with very low expectations due to the terrible ratings. I honestly do not understand why this movie got shredded by most people. Sure, it isn'tHaving seen several of the avatar cartoons with my nine year old son, we watched this movie with very low expectations due to the terrible ratings. I honestly do not understand why this movie got shredded by most people. Sure, it isn't exactly Oscars material but I thought it was reasonably entertaining, particularly if you have seen the cartoons (may not all make sense if you haven't). Great special effects and an average storyline surely deserves more than most of the critics and user ratings? In summary - if you enjoyed the cartoons, this movie is worth considering. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
0
Setman428May 16, 2011
Now that this film has a total of 5 razzies, all of the people who gave it a good review should be ashamed of themselves. It wasn't total garbage, but garbage nonetheless. It made certain fans cry and/or throw a fit. HOW CAN YOU CALLNow that this film has a total of 5 razzies, all of the people who gave it a good review should be ashamed of themselves. It wasn't total garbage, but garbage nonetheless. It made certain fans cry and/or throw a fit. HOW CAN YOU CALL YOURSELF A FAN IF YOU THOUGHT IT WAS GREAT? Shyamalan certainly didn't make it for us. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
reidan1Apr 21, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's an excellent movie and history... Very similar to the original Tv-series... And the Visual Fx, Wooow!!! Excellent choice, with action and entertainment to share with the family... Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
0
L0stR3negadeApr 7, 2011
A disgrace to the Avatar animated series. Much was expected by fans but most of the main events in the first chapter of the chapter where cut out and not many main characters where presented. A bad movie ending with a bad cliff hanger and aA disgrace to the Avatar animated series. Much was expected by fans but most of the main events in the first chapter of the chapter where cut out and not many main characters where presented. A bad movie ending with a bad cliff hanger and a sequal that might not even see the light of day. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
DannyD225Mar 19, 2011
You're better off watching the animated series. There aren't enough characters to describe what is wrong with this movie, but bad acting, bad script and bad special effects just about sums it up. Since The Sixth Sense and Unbreakable it hasYou're better off watching the animated series. There aren't enough characters to describe what is wrong with this movie, but bad acting, bad script and bad special effects just about sums it up. Since The Sixth Sense and Unbreakable it has been going from bad to worse for M. Night Shyamalan. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
KendylKlownfishMar 15, 2011
With an incomprehensible plot, laughable dialog, poor actors, and flat action sequences, The Last Airbender is a mockery of the original cult TV series and one of the worst blockbusters of 2010.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
2
ZephMar 13, 2011
I was staring blankly at the screen within a minute and a half. (Thats about when the movie starts). The characters from the start seemed lifeless and not nearly as emotional as the cartoon characters. This carried on all throughout theI was staring blankly at the screen within a minute and a half. (Thats about when the movie starts). The characters from the start seemed lifeless and not nearly as emotional as the cartoon characters. This carried on all throughout the entire movie, and by god, it was boring. This movie is an insult to the Avatar: The Last Airbender series. Flashy effects do not make a story, and this is a true example of that. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
TheQuietGamerMar 6, 2011
I really enjoyed this movie, while it doesn't have the same emotional power that the anime had, and some cheesy moments, it's still a great movie, the characters are extremely well interpreted, I'm also glad they didn't use the Aang andI really enjoyed this movie, while it doesn't have the same emotional power that the anime had, and some cheesy moments, it's still a great movie, the characters are extremely well interpreted, I'm also glad they didn't use the Aang and Katara relationship, and I hope they don't, looking forward to the next movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
TetsuoFeb 28, 2011
TNot only considered the worst adaptation of a cartoon series, b ut also the worst martial arts film ever. Not only is it a butchering for fans but also non-fans will find not only everything wrong but also a poo man's recap of the firstTNot only considered the worst adaptation of a cartoon series, b ut also the worst martial arts film ever. Not only is it a butchering for fans but also non-fans will find not only everything wrong but also a poo man's recap of the first season. The dialogue is dumb, the acting is unwhelming, the 3D is a joke. Not to mention that its getting a sequel of a planned trilogy. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
Mikester7Feb 24, 2011
Very awkward dialogue and pretty terrible acting, it was good that they atleast kept the story true to the actual cartoon. Aside from the compacted story it was quite lacking in all areas.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
chrisnachFeb 14, 2011
Didn't read the book or watched the cartoons, but the movie is awesome. I'm sure that this rating isn't correct there are way, way, worse movies out there. Stop hating the M.Night movies, they're all good.
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
0
MoviebuffreviewJan 26, 2011
The Last Airbender, thanks to its horrendous screenplay and dialogue, horrible special effects, 3D that is just as bad as Clash of the Titans, bad acting, and horrible fan service, it is one of the worst movies of the year! It is also theThe Last Airbender, thanks to its horrendous screenplay and dialogue, horrible special effects, 3D that is just as bad as Clash of the Titans, bad acting, and horrible fan service, it is one of the worst movies of the year! It is also the worst movie of the decade so far. Even if you are a fan of the Nick show, skip this movie and you will not regret it! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
5
IggyJan 22, 2011
M. Night Shylaman does it again! That is not a good thing. If I were not a fan of the original series, this would be a 2 or a 3. He absoulutley ruined a potentially great movie. The acting was not awful, but the dialouge sure was!! Honestly IM. Night Shylaman does it again! That is not a good thing. If I were not a fan of the original series, this would be a 2 or a 3. He absoulutley ruined a potentially great movie. The acting was not awful, but the dialouge sure was!! Honestly I didn't know why people made a big deal in the casting when they should be concerned in who is directing and writing this THING!!! It doesn't make sense and it was rushed. And I don't understand why they made the film dark and humourless, yet still wanted to stay within a PG rating? That's like making Terminator happy and G rated or Despicable Me dark and R rated!!! There are a few pros though. For starters the special effects are beautifully done and Dev Patel and Noah Ringer showed they can carry the role into a future film ( if there is one). The story also has alot of potential if they just lighten it up and take their time in developing their characters. It also wouldn't hurt to fix up the dialouge. If by some miracle they do make a sequel, they should dump ShylaBAD for ruining a potentially great first in a planned trilogy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MalasawasJan 18, 2011
I watched the entire show, also this movie, so I'll try to give my best to make a reasonable comparison, if it's possible. By first, I don't think is a non-sense movie, is not fair to compare a movie intended to get attetion not only forI watched the entire show, also this movie, so I'll try to give my best to make a reasonable comparison, if it's possible. By first, I don't think is a non-sense movie, is not fair to compare a movie intended to get attetion not only for children but for adults too. Of course the expected in this case is to find what we found: a more ''serious and... why not? dark movie''. So, al least for me, is not an excuse to say it's worthless to be seen because it doesn't keep the humor of the TV show. In second place, we cannot say that the characters are not ''well-performed'' because is just a movie which tries to get the best of a full season! Come on! It is really unfair to say it's bad because of this! I've seen enough for a first movie... we have to let Night S. at least explore the characters deeper along the trilogy, not to ''make a wall''... In 3rd place... I don't know you guys but the martial arts scenes, when they're practising... the movements are really amazing!! They give a really nice sensation of peace all around... And... well, what else i can say? To be objective... Night is neither Clint Eastwood nor Steven Spielberg... but he has a really good career... with he's own personality... movies like Signs, Village and Sixth Sense are all movies of suspense... non-conventional and in a way of thinking... odd... but he's gaining personality, he lives his watermark in every each of them... if i say ''he is bad'' because of this... whoever could say ''Tim Burton is a bad director because of he's darky madness'' but... c'mon! Tim Burton has gone way too far of the expected madness, is brillant! And Night is good for me too, neither the best nor the worst. And TL Airbender is a nice movie, well adapted for it's lengh and with nice Sound Score (James Newton Howard) and efects. What was not really good was the 3D effect, since it was not though for it... but released 3D anyway. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
1
wishmasterJan 2, 2011
omfg ... this was the worst I saw in 2010, was a total loss of my money at the movies, I'ma fan of the anime which was extracted the script of the movie and I take the disappointment of my life when I saw this **** totally disgusting
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
GixDec 22, 2010
Awful,just awful. everything from acting,story, cgi, all of it was just awful. the names are wrong,the bios's for the main cast is wrong. In short this movie has nothing to do with the show at all, its like m. Night really hated the show andAwful,just awful. everything from acting,story, cgi, all of it was just awful. the names are wrong,the bios's for the main cast is wrong. In short this movie has nothing to do with the show at all, its like m. Night really hated the show and set out to destroy it and he did a good job of trashing everything that is Avatar. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
PYRiAHDec 13, 2010
Has M. Night Shyamalan done it again? No, no he hasn't. Or actually if I look at it from a different point of view, maybe I can say that he has done it again. Based off of his last few movies, which were huge disappointments, The LastHas M. Night Shyamalan done it again? No, no he hasn't. Or actually if I look at it from a different point of view, maybe I can say that he has done it again. Based off of his last few movies, which were huge disappointments, The Last Airbender certainly followed suit. With a spectacular trailer and a well-written cartoon series to back it up, it was sad to see that the great storyteller, Shyamalan, did a horrible job at telling the story of The Last Airbender.

Read full review at FlicksWorthWatching.com
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
0
QuakerAssassinDec 11, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. After watching this movie i can now say that M. night shama-whatever should quit making movies. it is truly that awful. I'm a huge fan of the avatar series, and before watching it i knew it would be bad, but what i didn't think it would be this bad. for one thing they misrepresented the intentions of the fire nation when they started the war. the Kioshi warriors were completely absent from the movie. none of the character really felt like they should, they included the blue spirit (a character established in the third book), and the fire benders couldn't make fire from their chi like they could in the cartoon. instead they had to bend an existing flame. for the normal viewer who wouldn't care abut these or notice, the movie still has horrible pacing and dialog, the original series had wonderful and very natural dialog but the movies dialog is awkward and poorly paced. the acting was also awe full because half the time the actors seemed uninterested and the rest of the time they were just standing awkwardly. especially the fire bender soldiers, they would just stand around awkwardly attacking the air until it was their turn to get there butt kicked by one of the protagonists. so if your a fan don't expect any sort of fan fair, or general accuracy. if you have never watched the show then you may sightly enjoy the movie however even if it was disconnected from the Avatar franchise, its still not a good movie. in all if you think you might be interested in the Avatar series go rent the DVD's. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
0
GambonerDec 6, 2010
awful. he changes it from the original awesome series to this shamalayandingdong piece of #$@. stays tru to the series very few times. i hope he will not disgrace the awesome series by nmaking another piece of crap movie.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
moviefanDec 6, 2010
I have never seen the cartoon so I knew nothing about this story before I watched the movie, however, I had read several of the reviews here on metacritic prior to seeing this film (yes, I watched it anyway!). I have to say that I wasI have never seen the cartoon so I knew nothing about this story before I watched the movie, however, I had read several of the reviews here on metacritic prior to seeing this film (yes, I watched it anyway!). I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised, I fully expected to dis-like this movie and consider it a waste of time but it was much better than most of these reviews would make you believe. Perhaps if I was a fan of the series I would have found more fault with it but I thought that the visuals were awesome at times, I liked the story, it was kind of like Lord of the rings of the "elements world", albeit not nearly as good! I do wish that the movie had been about another half hour in length because it did feel a bit rushed at times as if the story was moving very fast and giving you just the basics. I did not have a big problem with the acting, not Oscar caliber but not bad either. I was partially motivated to see this movie because I have a 3D television, so I bought the 3D blu-ray, It had some of the best 3D visuals that I have seen yet, they really tried to take advantage of the technology and did a great job. If you just want be swept into a mystic fantasy world with a good story and some fantastic visuals I don't think that you would be disappointed. If you are a die-hard fan of the series then I have no idea! I'm looking forward to the next one to see how the story progress's. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
Smills91Dec 4, 2010
Wow, poor acting, worse dialogue just an overall terrible film. The movie had a TON of potential, yet it lacked just about anything to make it worthy outside of it's concept. Whoever casted and wrote the dialogue in the film should be shot.Wow, poor acting, worse dialogue just an overall terrible film. The movie had a TON of potential, yet it lacked just about anything to make it worthy outside of it's concept. Whoever casted and wrote the dialogue in the film should be shot. They made Hayden Christianson(Anakin Skywalker) look smooth in speech. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
3
ArkonBladeDec 3, 2010
ive never seen the cartoon show and didnt even know about it till a year ago and still havent and after seeing this film i doubt i will ever want to. the tv show im sure is better but this film left such a bad taste for this series. well theive never seen the cartoon show and didnt even know about it till a year ago and still havent and after seeing this film i doubt i will ever want to. the tv show im sure is better but this film left such a bad taste for this series. well the worst thing about this film is the acting it feels like a middle school play and i feel like thats almost giving this film praise saying that. the worst of it is from the 3 kids whos acting is so bad in this you can bet they will never do films again and if they are lucky may appear on some crappy sci fi channel film or on life time . the plot is poorly told the charicters are about as intresting as waching grass grow . the only good thing this film has is lush back grounds and visaul effects . the fighting is laughable with every one dancing around like abunch of retards trying to hump a door knob. M night shamallamadingdong one again proves he's a **** director and some how got lucky with the 6th sense and unbreakable.. probubly because he had good actors to carry his sorry ass. evade this film like its got herpese. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
OscarPicks2010Nov 29, 2010
While I respect M. Shyamalan's talents, I've got to say this is the worst film of 2010 (I bet nothing will top it). It will win the Razzie Awards, but its box office is so huge that they are going to make a sequel! No need for a big review.While I respect M. Shyamalan's talents, I've got to say this is the worst film of 2010 (I bet nothing will top it). It will win the Razzie Awards, but its box office is so huge that they are going to make a sequel! No need for a big review. While the effects are quite good, I hated the acting and everything else about it. This is just like a Disney TV show with good effects. It is nowhere good enough to be in the big screen, yet people still come to check it out. The Last Airbender is by the far worst film of the decade and M. Shyamalan is the worst director of the decade for creating this film. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
0
critquefanNov 26, 2010
Wow M. Night really messed up on this one. I saw no parts similar to the series in the movie. Oh and that wall of water was like the worlds biggest psych out! Hope they don't do book two.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
2
RumblebeeloveNov 22, 2010
It is really depressing that something like this could have come out of such enjoyable source material. There is good intent, but that is about it. Save yourself some time and watch that.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
1
Stephchan1901Nov 22, 2010
I guess you cant expect anything less from M Night Shayamalan, whos movies continue to get even worse as his carreer moves along. I dont think that he should quit the movie biz, i just think he should stop writting and directing movies peroid!
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
0
JonnyTheGreatNov 19, 2010
Do they hire people to give this movie a score of above 0? I thought Dragonball Evolution was brutal, but its actually not that bad compared to this POS.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
1
dex4tuneNov 19, 2010
Such an amazing series that has been denigrated into such an overblown poorly directly heap of rubbish. I just hope that the creators of the original Avatar series (Michael Dante DiMartino and Bryan Konietzko) never watch this as it wouldSuch an amazing series that has been denigrated into such an overblown poorly directly heap of rubbish. I just hope that the creators of the original Avatar series (Michael Dante DiMartino and Bryan Konietzko) never watch this as it would make me cry seeing something that was so great be destroyed by frankly, a pretty crappy film maker. Watch at your own peril as it will make you want to scream, not with delight and joy, but pure pain and frustration! Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
1
Mary7Nov 19, 2010
I like watching the series on Nickelodeon but this movie was just so boring and I know it wasn't to long but it felt like it. I hope that if they make a sequel is better than the first one.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
2
AxlthehunterNov 18, 2010
Wrong score on first review oops
If you are unfamiliar with the movies source material, the Animate series of a similar name this movie will have little to offer you ; If you are familliar or even a fan however, it will have plenty to offer,
Wrong score on first review oops
If you are unfamiliar with the movies source material, the Animate series of a similar name this movie will have little to offer you ; If you are familliar or even a fan however, it will have plenty to offer, unfortunately all of it's offerings are bad. First off, I do want to give an honorable acknowledgement to the special effects in the move as well as trying to stay somewhat close to the story, one can understand that sacrifices have to be made to take a full season of a series into a one sitting movie timeframe. What kills the movie however is the acting, Bad diologue bad choreography, just about every name is mispronounced which to an extent is understandable perhaps if the source is either in a foreign language or a book but not if the source is in the movies originating language and has already established such things. Also the story is very shallow and some scenes such as a segment where the main character and their friend are practicing water bending stances (based off of tai chi) you can tell that they are supposed to be in sync with each other but are fare from it. All in all, at best this movie could be accepted as a very well done fan movie done by a third party with some of the best special effects programs available to the public, but when one considers that this is published and backed by major production companies, all of this films shortcomings are unacceptable. I find it to be hard to believe that this movie can leave a positive impression on any viewer, fan or not
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
CharctineNov 17, 2010
I took my son, who is a big fan of the cartoon, to see it and was not expecting to like it at all. I was pleasantly surprised. True, in the cartoon the Aang character is more of a free-spirit, but I found it somewhat exciting and wellI took my son, who is a big fan of the cartoon, to see it and was not expecting to like it at all. I was pleasantly surprised. True, in the cartoon the Aang character is more of a free-spirit, but I found it somewhat exciting and well executed, and the special effects were quite good. While not academy award quality, it was family friendly entertainment. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
1
dijavantewowNov 16, 2010
Couldn't even sit through it. Just plain terrible. It's disappointing to me especially because the cartoon was so good. Way to ruin it. I didn't think something so bad could be made from this.
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
3
gerrygNov 6, 2010
This movie could have been good, but it leaves out waaayyy too much of the story, so there was no way to develop the characters as well as the plot jumps around, plus the acting is only so-so. If they had another hour or two, they could haveThis movie could have been good, but it leaves out waaayyy too much of the story, so there was no way to develop the characters as well as the plot jumps around, plus the acting is only so-so. If they had another hour or two, they could have patched something together that made sense, and if you haven't seen the series, you'll have no clue what's going on. The kid they chose for Ang wasn't bad, though, and the special effects were pretty decent. If you've watched the cartoon series and you're a fan, you're better off skipping this. I take that back - it's probably a good idea for everyone to skip this! Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
moviefreak12Nov 3, 2010
a movie with many holes partlly because M. Night did really care about it he just wanted to make money. the special affects really saved this movie big time. and the acting and dialoge really improved in the 2nd half of the movie.
1 of 8 users found this helpful17
All this user's reviews
2
ghopper168Oct 18, 2010
The only reason this movie gets a 2 is because of the speical effects. It doesn't show the good and evil in Zuko, it has poor acting, to many movements before any bending is done (you could get smacked in the face before ang can use any airThe only reason this movie gets a 2 is because of the speical effects. It doesn't show the good and evil in Zuko, it has poor acting, to many movements before any bending is done (you could get smacked in the face before ang can use any air attacks) and how can Indians be portrayed as the bad guys ? Indians are not evil enough, nor strong. Bad casting, bad scripting and bad acting with good speical effect doesn't make for a good movie Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
0
DarkCriticOct 12, 2010
This movie is so horrible that it considered a bad movie! The Last Airbender is hateful movie that the Avatar fans will discover that this pile of diarhea will be hated this movie and it;s nothing based on the hit series on Nickelodeon,it'sThis movie is so horrible that it considered a bad movie! The Last Airbender is hateful movie that the Avatar fans will discover that this pile of diarhea will be hated this movie and it;s nothing based on the hit series on Nickelodeon,it's almost as bad as Dragonball Evolution! I'M NOT KIDDING! The cast was so bad,they even have a laughable dialogue and they sorted suck when they speak like Jake Loyd in Star Wars,Episode I. The characters are again NOT so suppose to be white,it's suppose to be asain!The story is horrendous and the visual effects looks good,but where's the movie lead to you for any bad dialogue what they said. The fight scenes are ripping off in any movies like The Matrix,Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon,and many more martial arts films that they put on and I'm so shame that M. Night Shyamalan did this movie so bad that it's even more bad like The Happening! What go wrong about this movie,even children will discover that they like,but please I guess this movie wouldn't get any good like this. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
2
AaronMOct 11, 2010
Great visuals. Decent Story. Horrible dialogue! I would say take the risk just to see the visuals and be submerged in this world but I can't just because the dialogue (and maybe the acting?) is just that bad. There's no justification for theGreat visuals. Decent Story. Horrible dialogue! I would say take the risk just to see the visuals and be submerged in this world but I can't just because the dialogue (and maybe the acting?) is just that bad. There's no justification for the horrible dialogue given how clever, witty, and funny the animated series is. So disappointed. Expand
9 of 12 users found this helpful93
All this user's reviews
1
Forrestgump1Oct 9, 2010
"Last Airbender was such a rushed messed , it goes to quickly tho the action scenes were pretty neat , it could not save , these terrible performances , Awful script , and Laughable Dialogue ,One of the worst films released this year" .. F
12 of 16 users found this helpful124
All this user's reviews
0
nachatanaOct 3, 2010
I believe Shyamalan should stop doing films, the acting was something more than bad and the dialogs is not meant for peoples brain, I'm starting believe the sixth sense is not he's film
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
0
JesperSHOct 2, 2010
I feel sad when I read that M. Night actually has children and they watched the series together. He has just managed to destroy the series with a single blow.
11 of 15 users found this helpful114
All this user's reviews
10
validaSep 27, 2010
This is a fantastic movie. It really touched me. But then ... I did not see the cartoon. I had no problems following the course of events, as feared by other critics on this page. I would have loved to see a longer lasting film though - so IThis is a fantastic movie. It really touched me. But then ... I did not see the cartoon. I had no problems following the course of events, as feared by other critics on this page. I would have loved to see a longer lasting film though - so I could enjoy more. I think the critics suffer from the déjà-vu-syndrome. They compare it with the experience they had before (with the cartoon) and can be nothing less but disappointed. Apparently the characters are different from the cartoon. So what? M. Night has obviously written his own story on it, which only adds surplus in stead of breakdown. Again: this is a fantastic movie. Can't wait for the sequels. Expand
3 of 11 users found this helpful38
All this user's reviews
4
HyperwolfSep 27, 2010
I took my ten year old daughter to see this. She does Karate and she likes fantasy, explosions and swords. She gives it an 8. For her I think the fact that the acting and screenplay is really cringeworthy in many places eludes her. On theI took my ten year old daughter to see this. She does Karate and she likes fantasy, explosions and swords. She gives it an 8. For her I think the fact that the acting and screenplay is really cringeworthy in many places eludes her. On the other hand I have to admit to being really bored and just kind of embarassed for the actors. I'm sure many of them have a lot more potential. Some of the special effects and action sequences are really very good, and I can see that Shyamalan had a lot of potential with the intellectual property, but I really think he just couldn't pull it together. Honestly it's like watching a train wreck in 3D animation, but slowed down to 1/60th time. You just want it to be over. If there is an obvious 'reason' for such a flop I think I saw it in the end credits "Written, Directed, and Produced by M. Night Shyamalan". His ego has him wearing one (or two) too many hats. This is a movie that you could wait to see on DVD if you have kids that like the cartoon or the idea, or not at all if you don't. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
echonnSep 17, 2010
Poor M. Night, his carrear as one of the best directors of our time is falling like a shooted duck. The Last Aribender is bad. Bad as the hopes of that duck. The acting is outrageous bad, the story is depressing awful written, the 3D isPoor M. Night, his carrear as one of the best directors of our time is falling like a shooted duck. The Last Aribender is bad. Bad as the hopes of that duck. The acting is outrageous bad, the story is depressing awful written, the 3D is inexistent and the plot is nothing more then ridiculous. The visuals are alright thou, but tiring and inexpressive. So, save your money or if you really want to give a try, go see it in 2D, doesn't make any difference. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
muzzikloverSep 11, 2010
I'm an idiot. Getting fooled in because I am such a fan of the cartoon. This is one of the worst films I have ever seen in my life. Alienating, boring, effortless and lifeless which by any means never do any justice to the cartoon show. TheI'm an idiot. Getting fooled in because I am such a fan of the cartoon. This is one of the worst films I have ever seen in my life. Alienating, boring, effortless and lifeless which by any means never do any justice to the cartoon show. The acting and dialogue is horrendous, the editing is awkward, the characters are boring, being badly written, the script is pathetic and the plot is completely rushed. Avoid it. It sucks. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
0
phildogSep 10, 2010
Right after Enemy Mine, this is second worst movie I've ever seen. Hell, this is the second worst thing I've ever seen. Film students should study this film just so they can learn what not to do. That isn't an exaggeration. I hope people inRight after Enemy Mine, this is second worst movie I've ever seen. Hell, this is the second worst thing I've ever seen. Film students should study this film just so they can learn what not to do. That isn't an exaggeration. I hope people in VFS and TFS study this and that way at least this movie does some good.

I can only hope that this will be the last The Last Airbender movie we ever see from M. Night.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
1
bostonwatcher1Sep 6, 2010
I went to see this movie with my friends and it was completely different than any of our expectations. The character's dialog was really wierd and the only good part of the movie were the effects. The story was very boring and was not worth the $12
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
2
NightianAug 31, 2010
Good intentions, BAD results. As everybody knows, every movie based on a video-game (Street Fighter, Mortal Kombat, KOF, etc) or animated series (Dragon Ball: Evolution, The Last Airbender, etc) is a total waste of money. Personally, I'dGood intentions, BAD results. As everybody knows, every movie based on a video-game (Street Fighter, Mortal Kombat, KOF, etc) or animated series (Dragon Ball: Evolution, The Last Airbender, etc) is a total waste of money. Personally, I'd prefer the crappy animated 3D versions than the Live-action movies.

The collapse of the M. Night Shyamalan project called "The Last Airbender" was previewed since the movie trailers. And be honest, if you'll make a movie based in an awarded cartoon like Avatar: The Legend of Aang, the very first thing to do (as an advice) is to respect the originality of the series, books or video games that you're planning to make. Mr. Shyamalan is a good director but he needs co-work with the nickelodeon producers or a bunch of fans of this animated series.

Greetings.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
2
MetalMan95Aug 30, 2010
Shyamalan tries to gain an audience with a movie that is off of an already successful story. But this doesnt do the show justice at all. As a huge, and I mean huge, fan of the series, this was a big let down. But I'll use the pros and consShyamalan tries to gain an audience with a movie that is off of an already successful story. But this doesnt do the show justice at all. As a huge, and I mean huge, fan of the series, this was a big let down. But I'll use the pros and cons method to express my feelings. Pros: Action, Effects. Cons: Laughable Dialogue, Bad Acting (for the most part, Dev Patel did great), Name Changes, Takes itself way too seriously (they're kids, why aren't they having fun? no comedic relief?), Jasper ruined my favorite character of the series. and what gets me angry is that people will think the series is bad. It is not. so overrall, this movie is bad. and it's hard that it's from the guy who directed and wrote The Sixth Sense. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
gegenskiAug 29, 2010
The show is much better...but still the movie wasn't that far behind. Of course things were left out and some others were changed, but the story was still there and it was pretty accurate. Aang and Sokka could have been at least more fun andThe show is much better...but still the movie wasn't that far behind. Of course things were left out and some others were changed, but the story was still there and it was pretty accurate. Aang and Sokka could have been at least more fun and less serious, but I still enjoyed the movie. And hey in cartoons it's easy to do whatever you want, but in movies not so easy... Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
0
ryancarroll88Aug 26, 2010
"The Last Airbender" places an almost unprecedented burden on fanboys and casual moviegoers alike to ignore its terrible acting and dialogue, its simultaneously forced and incomprehensible plot, its horrendous editing and camerawork, and its"The Last Airbender" places an almost unprecedented burden on fanboys and casual moviegoers alike to ignore its terrible acting and dialogue, its simultaneously forced and incomprehensible plot, its horrendous editing and camerawork, and its dull and uninteresting characters in order to enjoy this would-be epic. Good luck, and may this be the last movie that M. Night Shyamalan ever makes. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
clockworkboy1Aug 21, 2010
as a fan of the series i can say that i enjoyed it and even if i didnt i still wouldnt say it was the worst movie ever because there are way worse movies out there
11 of 58 users found this helpful1147
All this user's reviews
7
Joshua_JamaarAug 17, 2010
From its simple, but horrendous dialog to its overly exposited story the Last Airbender delivers a fairly different approach in its effects department, considering what we've seen in the past for fantasy films. Though, teen to adult fans willFrom its simple, but horrendous dialog to its overly exposited story the Last Airbender delivers a fairly different approach in its effects department, considering what we've seen in the past for fantasy films. Though, teen to adult fans will be disappointed when viewing this film, but young fans will enjoy, because they can easily relate to the dialog. It's the most faithful film I've seen in years that has taken something from an animated show to a film and have it recognizable. This is a kids epic movie, an 100% kids epic movie. Expand
5 of 11 users found this helpful56
All this user's reviews
0
TheInnernetteAug 16, 2010
It seems like this film might end up as the next Battlefield Earth. Battlefield Earth, which was released at the beginning of the last decade, went on to be the worst film of that decade. The Last Airbender, which was released at theIt seems like this film might end up as the next Battlefield Earth. Battlefield Earth, which was released at the beginning of the last decade, went on to be the worst film of that decade. The Last Airbender, which was released at the beginning of this decade, WILL be the worst film of the decade. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
9
thebrickknightAug 15, 2010
After seeing this movie this weekend I was astounded to come onto Metacritic and see the horrible ratings for it. You should all be ashamed of yourselves! M. Night is the most visionary director in Hollywood. I was never a fan of the firstAfter seeing this movie this weekend I was astounded to come onto Metacritic and see the horrible ratings for it. You should all be ashamed of yourselves! M. Night is the most visionary director in Hollywood. I was never a fan of the first film but for M. Night to get a sequel of Avatar out so fast (within a year) astounded me! This movie reminded me nothing of the garbage of the first film directed by James Cameron. The script took the Na'Vii out of the picture completely and replaced them with a beautiful bald child who controls the wind. I wouldn't have changed a thing about this movie other than that I was a little confused how this was connected to the first film. See it anyways, it is fantastic! Expand
2 of 9 users found this helpful27
All this user's reviews
7
Helena1313Aug 15, 2010
ok so it might not be as good as some of his films.although there are many plot holes and it started a bit slow it did have its good moments. the story line is much different from the original animated series, but with limited screen time itok so it might not be as good as some of his films.although there are many plot holes and it started a bit slow it did have its good moments. the story line is much different from the original animated series, but with limited screen time it would be hard to fit in all of the details and in many ways the story line was much more believable. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
8
MikhailAug 15, 2010
I watched this twice, the first was a stinker, bad acting, wooden dialogue, incoherent story and worst still I fell asleep but only because the whole film track seemed completely out of sync. The second time I watched it was like night andI watched this twice, the first was a stinker, bad acting, wooden dialogue, incoherent story and worst still I fell asleep but only because the whole film track seemed completely out of sync. The second time I watched it was like night and day, coherent, more facial detail, great and sometimes very beautiful visuals. What happened? don't know, all I know is the movie turned out to be rather good, some weakness in the casting but the lead was excellent. I read reviews at IMDB as well as here and what do I find? the first 30 pages, yes that's THIRTY is dedicated solely to one star reviews, that's 1/10. Don't know about you but doesn't that seem just a bit strange and curious. I hope M.Knight Shayamalan continues to make movies and the sequel because he is still one of the few to bring innovation to the Fantasy/Horror/Scifi genre. Expand
5 of 11 users found this helpful56
All this user's reviews
3
itseverywhereAug 14, 2010
I'm being more than a little generous. The movie is the logical extreme of what movies like Avatar have wrought. Excellent aesthetics, absolutely atrocious acting. The movie is a butchering of the cartoon, with horrible, awkward dialogue, aI'm being more than a little generous. The movie is the logical extreme of what movies like Avatar have wrought. Excellent aesthetics, absolutely atrocious acting. The movie is a butchering of the cartoon, with horrible, awkward dialogue, a plot consisting mostly of exposition, and flat characters with very little to like.
The sad thing is that the cartoon is one of the best written and intelligent children's shows in recent memory, yet it gets adapted into a horrific film. If you like the cartoon, watch it for a laugh. If you never watched the cartoon, keep this movie off your list.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews