The Last Airbender

User Score
2.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 756 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jun 1, 2016
    1
    The Last Airbender directed by the now-infamous M. Night Shyamalan is considered by many fans of the original show to be one of the worst if not the worst adaptation of all time. The film performed poorly at the box office and was had plenty of negative reviews upon its release. Those who have greatly enjoyed the original source material quite often show their distaste for the adaptationThe Last Airbender directed by the now-infamous M. Night Shyamalan is considered by many fans of the original show to be one of the worst if not the worst adaptation of all time. The film performed poorly at the box office and was had plenty of negative reviews upon its release. Those who have greatly enjoyed the original source material quite often show their distaste for the adaptation of their favorite show. The film has poor editing, cinematography, and horrid acting but the main problem with the film reflects a deeper issue. The film oversimplifies plot points from the show and it fails to go into depth with the show’s influences in Eastern philosophies and it even has some implicit message in racism due to the casting and the portrayal of those who are people of color. There are even some changes from the source material that added to the overall detriment of the film.
    As mentioned before, some of the character portrayals in this film are a clear downgrade from their original counterparts in an attempt to appeal to a wider audience. The character Sokka was the comedy relief in the original show. He was used as a way to get some comedic antics to take a break from the action set pieces and heavier moments in the narrative. On top of that he was also the team strategist as he is the one who usually creates the plans that makes the team become triumphant in certain moments of the show. He goes through a character arc when he overcomes his sexism and some of the jokes that revolve around him parody the notion of the tough guy. In the beginning of the show he starts to believe that physical strength is everything but later realizes that strength is not the only thing that defines a man and he starts to have a growing respect for femininity. In the film though, the character noticeably lacks his trademark humor and is mostly stoic throughout most of the story. He does have a sarcastic comment every now and then but he remains serious throughout the majority of the film. He is even angry throughout most of the film which is in clear contrast to his original counterpart. This seems to be an attempt to appeal to the demographic who are attracted to the “bad boy” archetype. This promotes masculinity as he is never challenged for his ideas on real manhood in the film and supports the ideals that the original character was a parody of. Aang has also changed from his original version as he is changed to appeal to a wider western audience. In the original show he was influenced by the Tibetan Buddhist Monks as he teaches himself balance and he has tattoos of arrows all over his body as representation of enlightenment. Throughout the storyline he was conflicted about his role as the avatar. He spends his time not being sure if he could handle the responsibility until the end of the show when he reaches true enlightenment as he finds balance in his personal life and in his role as the Avatar. In the Film version though, Aang is noticeably white and his tattoos are shaped like a cross instead of an arrow and he never questions his position as the Avatar. This makes Aang an allegory for the life of Jesus Christ. It disregarded the character’s eastern influence in order to be the chosen one to save people from their sins. This does appeal more to an American audience since the dominant religion in America is Christianity but this not only undermines the point of Aang’s character but it also disregards the main philosophies that the show promotes through the Buddhist influences. The Fire Lord who is the main villain of the film is out in the open and lacks the menace he had in the show. Most of the menace was lost as he is shown in full view while the show had his face hidden until the final season. By removing the menace it makes the villain less of a threat and less engaging in an attempt to appeal to younger children. The one character who had the biggest disservice was Kitaria. Her character arc in the original show involved her overcoming the sexism of her culture. She was nurturing but she also had a quick temper. She valued her friends but she was also ambitious and wanted to be a great warrior. Her film counterpart on the other hand seems to be defined by her gender and nothing else. She is nurturing but she never evolves from the role that society has given to her. She doesn’t join in the battle and is even incompetent in battle. Kitaria in this film makes mistakes that her original version would never do such as charging into battle without a plan. The character in the film is hardly recognizable from the show as she merely accepts the role of only being a healer instead of being a capable fighter and even a feminist icon for younger children.
    Aside from the changes in the character portrayals the depiction of other races in this film has a xenophobic essence to it which sends some questionable- implied messages. All of the member of the fire nation are Indian or middle eastern which heavily contrasts the show’s Japanese influence for them. The Fire Nation in the show was inspired by Japanese imperialism during World War II and they were motivated by desperation and through political prowess much like Nazi Germany. The film’s version though dismisses the political intrigue outside of the portrayal of the banished Prince Zuko in favor of making them purely irredeemable. According to the film’s narrative the Fire Nation wanted to conquer the world to fight against the spirit world. This gives the message that the noticeably darker skinned soldiers are heretic barbarians who could not be bargained with. There is barely any depth to the fire nation as they are nothing more than mindless barbarians as opposed to the show when the viewer starts to learn more about how their totalitarian society worked. It is strange considering that the director himself is Indian but it seems to be a casting decision by the studio. The only sensible member of the fire nation army is General Iroh who is Caucasian. The earth benders are depicted as incompetent as they cannot fathom the idea of bending the earth to their will in a prison when they are surrounded by Earth. The prison in the original show was on a metal ship in the middle of the ocean which was a deliberate choice since no earth bending was possible and they only raised up when they had the motivation by Kitaria. In this film though they had given up immediately until they are inspired by a white hero to give them the motivation they need. Unlike the fire nation the Earth Kingdom keep their Asian influence (mostly Chinese) but they are still less competent than the white heroes. The Water Tribe are based off of the Sioux and other Eskimo tribes but the two supporting characters are cast as white heroes. This gives the implication that Americans would rather have a white protagonist instead of one that is part of an ethnic minority even if the original influence was based off of a culture outside of white America. One of the biggest ways the representation of other races is problematic in this postmodern film was the introduction of a monk who was a creation purely for the film. This Monk in question betrays Aang in order to get more gold. This does complete the Christ like narrative that would be more accessible for an American audience but it betrays the Buddhist philopshy that the show was going for. The Monk’s reasoning for betraying Aang was that he was in a life of poverty but the main Buddhist philosophes is to get rid of your desires of the material world.
    The biggest problem with this adaptation in regards to United States cinema is the overreliance on exposition. The majority of the dialogue is nothing more than to give background information without any regards for world building or character development. The film has a heavy reliance on the “tell don’t show” mantra even though one of the basic rules of storytelling is to take the exact opposite approach. The once scene that ultimately illustrates this was when the main character Aang discovered his destiny of being the Avatar. The animated serial went into great lengths to show the turmoil he went through. He was the designated chosen one but he was only a child and thus he couldn’t handle the pressure of being the hero of both worlds. His main character arc was accepting his responsibility of the avatar while also finding the right balance in his personal life. The film on the other hand has Aang stand in one room and merely tell the audience his backstory instead of giving the audience a chance to fully experience the character’s turmoil. Another example was when the audience learns why the banished Prince Zuko is trying to capture Aang. The show used a storm as a symbolic gesture about Zuko and Aangs relationship as both of their back stories are told simultaneously. In his cinematic version, Shyamalan made the choice to have Zuko’s backstory told by a child who just happened to be in the same room as the disguised prince. The film doesn’t seem to trust the audience enough to analyze the subtle character interactions and their relationships like in the show. Instead they are simply told what the characters are feeling and their inner emotions without any room for the audience to come to those conclusions themselves.
    The Last Airbender is a perfect example of the worst case scenario for an adaption of a beloved storyline in order to appeal to a wider audience. Fortunately the attempt backfired on the studio as audiences realized that the quality of a film is not always based on the amount of special effects or attractive white actors one can put in a film. Modern audiences are starting to catch onto the trends of postmodern Hollywood and are demanding better films to occupy their time. The rise in popularity of online reviews makes it easier to spread the word about the quality and the artistic merit of a film. Peoples’ voices are being heard by Hollywood that modern audiences demand better writing and more effort in smart storytelling instead of only being reliant on the traditional block buster formula.
    Expand
  2. May 17, 2016
    1
    La experiencia de "The Last Airbender" me permitió descubrir que un director experimentado y presupuestos millonarios no garantizan que una adaptación sea bien lograda si no se esta bien involucrado con el material original.
    La película se ve bien, pero en el momento que los personajes hablan todo cae en picada, el problema es que se trató de introducir todo el material necesario para
    La experiencia de "The Last Airbender" me permitió descubrir que un director experimentado y presupuestos millonarios no garantizan que una adaptación sea bien lograda si no se esta bien involucrado con el material original.
    La película se ve bien, pero en el momento que los personajes hablan todo cae en picada, el problema es que se trató de introducir todo el material necesario para entender ¿Qué es el Avatar?¿Qué hace el Avatar?¿Quiénes son sus enemigos?... y toda esa información se empaqueta en diálogos que no permiten que uno se involucren con los personajes.
    Otra falla descomunal es la acción, no hay una buena muestro del control de los elementos, todo se minimiza para que no sea dificil generar la imagen por computadora, los maestros tierras lanzan pequeñas rocas, los maestros agua chorros y los maestros fuego pequeñas flamas. Apenas hay enfrentamientos, y ninguno memorable a pesar de que tratan de tener en pantalla grupos grandes de gente para éstos.
    En general, "The Last Airbender" es una mala adaptación que no hace honor a la serie, tiene uno que otro buen efecto pero el elenco no actúa, los diálogos son forzados y el humor se redujo a 0. No lo vean, no vale la pena.
    Expand
  3. Apr 14, 2016
    8
    Kids could enjoy this movie. I have watched it and it was just fine, not very exciting.

    Watch it here http://www.watchfree.to/watch-55c41-The-Last-Airbender-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
  4. Mar 20, 2016
    2
    Never seen the original tv show, but I know how bad this movie is. Its got nothing to achieve except the movie that got a oscar for being the worst tv to movie adaptation of all time.
  5. Mar 6, 2016
    1
    Writer and director, M. Night Shyamalan tries to prove that he's more than just eerie, atmospheric thrillers with twist endings, and tries to direct a fantasy spectacle based on the popular Nickelodeon TV series titled "Avatar: The Last Airbender". Of course, the film itself had to be re-titled 'The Last Airbender' to avoid confusion with the 2009 Science fiction spectacle by JamesWriter and director, M. Night Shyamalan tries to prove that he's more than just eerie, atmospheric thrillers with twist endings, and tries to direct a fantasy spectacle based on the popular Nickelodeon TV series titled "Avatar: The Last Airbender". Of course, the film itself had to be re-titled 'The Last Airbender' to avoid confusion with the 2009 Science fiction spectacle by James Cameron.

    The "film" (the quotation marks are intentional) starts off where we meet a young girl named Katara (Nicola Peltz), who has the ability to control and manipulate water. We also meet her brother named Sokka (a very bland Jackson Rathbone) who has been left to look after his younger sister since their parents are not around anymore.

    The two characters that we have been introduced to, but know nothing about, come across a big ice sculpture that seems to have a little boy trapped inside of it. This little boy turns out to be the legendary airbender named Aang (Noah Ringer), or as they like to call him... "Ung". They take him back to their civilization and try to learn all about him, he tells them as many stories as he can remember about his training and how he might just be the last of his people to do the many things he is able to do.

    The main antagonist of this "film" is Prince Zuko (Dev Patel of 'Slumdog Millionaire') who is a part of the Fire Nation and is often guided by his uncle Iroh (Shaun Toub), who he sees as his sort of mentor.

    The "film" is 103 minutes long, in other words, it is one of the shorter feature films out there in recent years. Most films tend to be told at a minimum run time of 120 minutes (depending on the genre). Despite how short this film is...I was sneaking looks at my watch almost every 10 minutes that this film was plodding on, and I can tell that the adults watching this with their children did this too, I'm also very certain that children were bored by this film as well, as you can tell with their fidgety behavior, they clearly have had enough.

    The action is dull, the story plods along, the characters are bland and nobody should care for them because the screenplay (by M. Night Shyamalan) doesn't allow you to care for these characters. It also doesn't help that the acting, mainly from Nicola Peltz and Jackson Rathbone are awkward and stiff, the way they deliver their lines is really bad, even for child acting standards. Such as the scene, when Rathbone, as Sokka just looks at Aang with a forced surprised and confused look and asks "So...are you the Avatar, Aang?".

    The dialogue is also almost poor to the quality of the "Star Wars" prequels, if you thought Hayden Christensen's explanation as to why he dislikes sand was bad enough, just wait until you see what Shyamalan has here. It makes 'Star Wars: Attack of the Clones' (2002) look like 'Star Wars: The Empire Strikes Back' (1980).

    Another thing that this "film" does terribly is the fact that it glosses over so many things that the TV show explains and devotes full time to focus on. I understand that Shyamalan is trying to cram a whole series' worth of stories into a single 103 minute film, but less is more. Try and just fit a couple of episodes...

    By the way, the ending is a tease for a sequel that we know is never going to happen.
    Expand
  6. Jan 21, 2016
    0
    What Last Airbender movie?
    (If you're asking why I don't know there was a Last Airbender movie, it's because I know there WASN'T a Last Airbender movie, if you catch my drift...)
    WHAT LAST AIRBENDER MOVIE???
  7. Dec 28, 2015
    2
    Sometimes, there are moments where movies are watchable... and then there are those that are decent as ever... and then there are those that makes you wonder why were you even in the theaters seeing it. This is one of them.
  8. Nov 28, 2015
    0
    This movie is so bad, that it's... bad. There is literally nothing I can enjoy about this movie. It had horrible special effects and cringe-worthy acting. It's a real letdown after the fantastic show.
  9. Nov 5, 2015
    2
    This movie is just terrible, its terrible as an adaption to the great cartoon, and is overall just a terrible terrible terrible movie! This movie should only be watched when you want to terribly punish someone!
  10. Oct 26, 2015
    2
    After "Lady In The Water" and "The Happening" Shyamalan wasted his efforts trying to make a crowd-pleasing film. The Last Airbender has cheesy dialogue the kind of dialogue you hear in a Shakespeare play but only more moronic and corny, even though the child actors are trying but they don't give any emotion into their characters. The four nations: Air, Water, Ear and Fire were peacefulAfter "Lady In The Water" and "The Happening" Shyamalan wasted his efforts trying to make a crowd-pleasing film. The Last Airbender has cheesy dialogue the kind of dialogue you hear in a Shakespeare play but only more moronic and corny, even though the child actors are trying but they don't give any emotion into their characters. The four nations: Air, Water, Ear and Fire were peaceful until the fire nation declared war. The avatar name Aang (Noah Ringer) discovers he is the "chosen one" and discovers he can control the four elements. So he joins forces with Katara (Nicola Peltz) and her brother Sokka. Dev Patel (Slumdog Millionaire) and Aasif Mandvi are trying to give good performances and forget the awful script. After trying to make a crowd-pleasing movie Shyamalan failed and now he gives fans of the cartoon series a wasted zero potential product. Even though the effects are astonishing and the locations are spot on and sometimes writer-director M. Night Shyamalan can make some of the sequences suspenseful. The finale was more entertaining than the rest of the film I wish it was more like that and it does deserve a few points. I can see why the fans of the cartoon hate this film, Shyamalan ignores the material and just makes up his own story. And the twisted ending was bonkers leaving you mad. Grade D+ Expand
  11. Sep 27, 2015
    4
    It didn't have to be this way. It could have been great. It could have been a successful trilogy. But it wasn't. They had a great cartoon with great cinematic potential and they blew it. How could they mess it up?
    Well- firstly, the acting was horrendous. I liked Dev Patel's performance but the others, not so much. Their voices were just so... Robotic. And the names? Remember Aang, Sokka
    It didn't have to be this way. It could have been great. It could have been a successful trilogy. But it wasn't. They had a great cartoon with great cinematic potential and they blew it. How could they mess it up?
    Well- firstly, the acting was horrendous. I liked Dev Patel's performance but the others, not so much. Their voices were just so... Robotic. And the names? Remember Aang, Sokka and Uncle Iroh? Well now meet Oong, Soaka and Uncle Earoh. No joke. That's how they pronounced their names. They butchered it. And no matter how much money this made, they know they can't make a sequel. Because now that everyone's seen this, a follow-up would bomb hard. Fans of the cartoon, just stick to the original.
    Expand
  12. Sep 22, 2015
    9
    This is a fantastic film. I think this is M. Night Shyamalan's best film to date. I thought that The Sixth Sense was boring and Sings was overly ridiculous. I honestly can say I preferred this to the anime it was based on and that that show was bad. This is a beautiful looking film with every shot looking gorgeous. I think the green screen effects are amazing and I never noticed when itThis is a fantastic film. I think this is M. Night Shyamalan's best film to date. I thought that The Sixth Sense was boring and Sings was overly ridiculous. I honestly can say I preferred this to the anime it was based on and that that show was bad. This is a beautiful looking film with every shot looking gorgeous. I think the green screen effects are amazing and I never noticed when it was being used. I really thought the lead actor's performance was top notch and I an surprised he has not been in much since. That being said, this film is not prefect. I didn't like how M. Night did not appear in the film and I would have liked it if HE was Aang. He would have had the acting chops to pull of such a role. On a first watch, this film may not seem like much. But under the surface this is a physiological thriller with incredible action, great performances and phenomenal special effects. I give this 9 out of 10 and challenge you if you didn't like this film to re watch it again through a different point of view and go in with an open mind if you haven't seen it before. Expand
  13. Sep 22, 2015
    0
    Probably the worst film in Shyamalan's roster. The casting is all wrong, the acting is stiff, the script and actors' delivery of said script is awful, the special effects are half-baked, and the film as a whole does not stay true to the source material. Worth a watch if you're a budding filmmaker as an example of how NOT to make a film.
  14. Aug 26, 2015
    0
    I dont know if there is an propper way to discribe the level of awful this movie brought me taking all the fun from the cartoon and transforming it in to an legit chemical weapon;The Box Office Poison
  15. Jul 8, 2015
    0
    Nooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo! Why! Does! This! Exist!?!
  16. Jul 5, 2015
    5
    This movie was based on the show, and it didn't do the show complete justice, but it's decent in its own way. I did like this movie for the visuals and the martial arts. Maybe they did alter some characters, but over all I found the film not as bad, but only for the visuals and a few scenes. I gave this a six because I felt like there was too much narration and the film did get boring aThis movie was based on the show, and it didn't do the show complete justice, but it's decent in its own way. I did like this movie for the visuals and the martial arts. Maybe they did alter some characters, but over all I found the film not as bad, but only for the visuals and a few scenes. I gave this a six because I felt like there was too much narration and the film did get boring a times. I can't say this is movie ever. I did not hate it, I just thought it was gonna be better. They changed characters way too much and really sucked all the fun out of the whole movie. The show is my favorite of all time, but the movie wasn't super great and I wouldn't recommend it. In 3D, it's horrid, but it has eye candy and alright martial artists(I am a martial artist myself). It can be entertaining at times, but at the end, it becomes lame. Expand
  17. Jun 10, 2015
    0
    wish I can give this thing a _100% percent for much I hate this as the worst film ever made, an actual cinematic holocaust 2 hour epic of horribleness.

    As a young man I loved the Avatar franchise it was the best series on Nickelodeon along with spongebob tremendous storytelling, a wacky adventurous world much like Star Wars, and funny lovable characters it began and ended perfectly and
    wish I can give this thing a _100% percent for much I hate this as the worst film ever made, an actual cinematic holocaust 2 hour epic of horribleness.

    As a young man I loved the Avatar franchise it was the best series on Nickelodeon along with spongebob tremendous storytelling, a wacky adventurous world much like Star Wars, and funny lovable characters it began and ended perfectly and we all believed it was enough.

    but then for some reason Hollywood's most charismatic director thought it was not enough that he has to remake a big portion of the series and make into a two hour epic thinking his version of the story would be appreciated by the fans as much as the cartoon series, well as a fan It was pure rubbish I didn't dislike it I hated it.

    everything was wrong, they made all the characters and story too dark and ridiculous and some characters annoying and unlikable! and also I consider this white supremacist propaganda because all the protagonists who were all of eurasian ethnicity in the series were all portrayed by white kids while all the villains remain ethnically diverse, talk about an anti-race color film.

    I don't know what happened to Shyamalan who was great making movies like The Sixth Sense,Unbreakable, Signs and the Village, until choking up lame films like the Happening, then decide to make his resume even douchier by making this atrocity which is equivalent to all video game movies made by Uwe Boll.

    Hands down the worst movie ever made, I rather watch Tommy Wiseau in The Room over and over again
    Expand
  18. May 22, 2015
    2
    This movie is like the character's description of the play in season 3 of the show, it's awful but "the effects were decent" (as in mediocre, in this case). I watched this show when it was on TV when I was a tween, so it's like I grew up with it. This movie insults the entertaining family adventure that I watched. I would have had no clue what was going on if I hadn't watched the show.This movie is like the character's description of the play in season 3 of the show, it's awful but "the effects were decent" (as in mediocre, in this case). I watched this show when it was on TV when I was a tween, so it's like I grew up with it. This movie insults the entertaining family adventure that I watched. I would have had no clue what was going on if I hadn't watched the show. It's so incoherent and all-around poorly written. the acting and everything is blatantly bad. Don't waste your time on this movie! It's not the epitome of bad (there are a few decent parts, I guess... maybe), but it's pretty [expletive] close! Expand
  19. May 3, 2015
    0
    Weak casting, horrible CGI, swaps around nations. Horrible. And even worse, it could have been the next Star Wars. It makes Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull look good!
  20. Apr 29, 2015
    0
    This movie had me excited on so many levels. I'm a die hard Avatar fan and had such high hopes for this movie. The TV show pretty much gift wrapped itself and was just waiting to be made into a good movie, Then I saw the movie. I was so disappointed. Terrible acting, horrible action sequences, boring dialogue. I could go on and on about how many things this movie got wrong. I hadn't beenThis movie had me excited on so many levels. I'm a die hard Avatar fan and had such high hopes for this movie. The TV show pretty much gift wrapped itself and was just waiting to be made into a good movie, Then I saw the movie. I was so disappointed. Terrible acting, horrible action sequences, boring dialogue. I could go on and on about how many things this movie got wrong. I hadn't been this disappointed since I saw the Phantom Menace after first seeing the original Star Wars movies. This movie had so much potential, but M. Night went and ruined the whole thing. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone, not even my worst enemy. I would prefer to watch one of the Justin Bieber movies then see this one again. Expand
  21. Apr 11, 2015
    9
    Shamalyan's new vision for Avatar is fantastic. I was blown away with the re-imagining of the series. The acting...my god it was just stellar. I had to leave halfway through simply because the emotion of the film overwhelmed me. Only problem was the special effects, looked kind of dull.
  22. Mar 31, 2015
    3
    I only hate a few movies, and this is one of them. The Last Airbender took my favorite show from when I was a kid, and might as well have taken a huge dump on it. When you consider the show's near perfection, and the fact that the movie is the polar opposite, as almost nothing goes right it's amazing. From the terribly written and wooden dialogue, to complete lack of fun that made the showI only hate a few movies, and this is one of them. The Last Airbender took my favorite show from when I was a kid, and might as well have taken a huge dump on it. When you consider the show's near perfection, and the fact that the movie is the polar opposite, as almost nothing goes right it's amazing. From the terribly written and wooden dialogue, to complete lack of fun that made the show so enjoyable, and the 90 minute run time to cover 13 half hour episodes. Needless to say I hate this movie to the core. Expand
  23. Mar 28, 2015
    0
    I am now in a hospital cot typing this with only three fingers; my left index, my right middle, and my left pinky. I'm not going to go into detail with what happened, but you can assume that it's because of THIS. MOVI. This movie has N0 sense of humor like the shoe did. I mean look at Sokka (or should I say "SOAK-UH", FOR WHIMPERING OUT LOUD! IS HE A ROBOT?!! Huh? IS HE? SOMEBODY ANSWERI am now in a hospital cot typing this with only three fingers; my left index, my right middle, and my left pinky. I'm not going to go into detail with what happened, but you can assume that it's because of THIS. MOVI. This movie has N0 sense of humor like the shoe did. I mean look at Sokka (or should I say "SOAK-UH", FOR WHIMPERING OUT LOUD! IS HE A ROBOT?!! Huh? IS HE? SOMEBODY ANSWER ME! Seriously...you cast a guy from the Twilight movies in Avatar. That shoulda been the first clue that this movie was gonna suck! But no, we all had hope. Misguided hope! And Aang! Oh, i'm sorry i mean "ONG" is emotionless! He acts more like a World War II veteran than a goofy twelve year old, how he's SUPPOSED to be! And how could they get the names wrong IT'S RIGHT THERE IN THE SHOW! in the show Zuko had a scar on his eye, NOT SUNBURN THAT (BY THE WAY!!!) IS BARELY EVEN VISIBLE! And the bending was weak. I mean, on the show, the benders were straight savages! Now it takes like seven guys to bend a tiny lil' pebble! I NEED HARDCORE BENDING MASTERS, NOT THESE DOTARDS! The acting is..........well... there is no acting, NEXT! *Sighs* You had one job Manoj, one job. Expand
  24. Jan 17, 2015
    0
    Alright, time to cut loose. Swearing and insults ahead, so... ye be warned. This is the biggest sack of sh*t I've ever had the misfortune of seeing. The effects would have hardly been passable in 2005, the characters are generic white kids who can't act to save their lives, there is no development whatsoever, the action scenes are atrociously dull and sometimes downright stupid, theAlright, time to cut loose. Swearing and insults ahead, so... ye be warned. This is the biggest sack of sh*t I've ever had the misfortune of seeing. The effects would have hardly been passable in 2005, the characters are generic white kids who can't act to save their lives, there is no development whatsoever, the action scenes are atrociously dull and sometimes downright stupid, the dialog is truly awful (Seriously, two of the three main characters' names are horribly mispronounced), the pacing is completely off and the plot incoherent on almost every level, and fans of the series, including myself, will feel insulted after watching this crapfest. This is, in my honest opinion, the worst film ever made. Expand
  25. Dec 22, 2014
    0
    From a studio dumb enough to give the directing Job to M. Night Shyamalan come a disappointing,Stupid and insulting adaptation of the Last Airbender. It's another worst cartoon adaptation that barely made all fans want to do suicide and wants to kill M.Night Shyamalan.This Movie is just plain Bad and needs to be erase in our minds forever!
  26. Dec 18, 2014
    0
    I hate this movie. it's atrociously acted with terrible dialogue that concentrates on exposition rather than character, awful effects that for some reason have to be done in one take and a complete disregard to what made the source material. this film really should have ended M. Night Shyamalan's career and rightfully so how dare he do this to one the greatest animated series of all timeI hate this movie. it's atrociously acted with terrible dialogue that concentrates on exposition rather than character, awful effects that for some reason have to be done in one take and a complete disregard to what made the source material. this film really should have ended M. Night Shyamalan's career and rightfully so how dare he do this to one the greatest animated series of all time that so many still analyse and cherish to this day Expand
  27. Dec 5, 2014
    1
    Avatar the last airbender is probably the worst m.night movie there is. It is based on the kids tv show, but honestly it wasn't as good. I'm not the biggest fan of the tv show but the movie is absolutely rubbish. It is not worth watching as the plot doesn't really make sense, and it's a full length film therefore you end up sitting there for around 2 hours watching something whichAvatar the last airbender is probably the worst m.night movie there is. It is based on the kids tv show, but honestly it wasn't as good. I'm not the biggest fan of the tv show but the movie is absolutely rubbish. It is not worth watching as the plot doesn't really make sense, and it's a full length film therefore you end up sitting there for around 2 hours watching something which shouldn't have been made. Expand
  28. Oct 17, 2014
    0
    Air, Water, Earth, Fire. Four nations tied by destiny when the Fire Nation launches a brutal war against the others. A century has passed with no hope in sight to change the path of this destruction. Caught between combat and courage, Aang discovers he is the lone Avatar with the power to manipulate all four elements. Aang teams with Katara, a Waterbender, and her brother, Sokka, toAir, Water, Earth, Fire. Four nations tied by destiny when the Fire Nation launches a brutal war against the others. A century has passed with no hope in sight to change the path of this destruction. Caught between combat and courage, Aang discovers he is the lone Avatar with the power to manipulate all four elements. Aang teams with Katara, a Waterbender, and her brother, Sokka, to restore balance to their war-torn world. Expand
  29. Oct 16, 2014
    0
    The Last Airbender is one of the worst films ever and definitively the worst film directed by M.Night Shyamalan, as a massive fan of the show i was extremely disappointed in this film, converting the first season that lasts 470mins into 103mins is atrocious, there's a lot of key elements and i mean a lot of key elements missing, the casting and acting are probably the worst part about theThe Last Airbender is one of the worst films ever and definitively the worst film directed by M.Night Shyamalan, as a massive fan of the show i was extremely disappointed in this film, converting the first season that lasts 470mins into 103mins is atrocious, there's a lot of key elements and i mean a lot of key elements missing, the casting and acting are probably the worst part about the film and isn't even backed up by the special effects which are horrible, specially when 160 million (inflated) dollars went into this film and it still didn't deliver anything to enjoy, this movie is a disappointment to fans and film making. i'll definitively give this a 0. Expand
  30. Oct 3, 2014
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Rarely have I seen a movie receive such hate. Don't believe the haters, their feedback is WAY out of proportion (caveat - I've never seen the TV show). The movie isn't hard to follow. The production design is in general very good. That flying animal thing was ridiculous looking but the Fire Nation ships and armor looked grim and menacing. The effects are up to par and the action is good (caveat again - I didn't see this in 3D and some things looked like they could have been obnoxious in 3D). This is by no means a perfect movie. Some of the dialog and acting is wooden or borderline terrible and some of the emotional set-ups are dumb. "I'll miss you more than you'll ever know", why because you held hands for 5 minutes!?! The race casting is conspicuous, interesting from a minority director. The good guys are white and all the bad guys are middle eastern. I mean come-on, that lily white Gran-Gran wouldn't last a day in an arctic environment. But ultimately I enjoyed the film and (similar to The Golden Compass) I'm disappointed I can't see the rest of the story. Expand
  31. Oct 3, 2014
    0
    Abysmal. It's as if the director had never seen the original series. He takes the liberty to change core concepts about the world and bending in general, not to mention that almost every character's name is pronounced wrong. Absolute trash. Go watch the show instead. And if you've already seen it, watch it again if you have to, just don't watch this garbage.
  32. Sep 27, 2014
    0
    Oh my god this is terrible. Easily one of the worst movies i have ever seen and probably ever made. The movie is paced like crap, the visual effects are very mediocre and the green screen is horrendously noticeable. The story is also very bad and has a lot of things that don't make sense (Earthbending prison being pretty much a camp and they could bend and escape at any moment but theyOh my god this is terrible. Easily one of the worst movies i have ever seen and probably ever made. The movie is paced like crap, the visual effects are very mediocre and the green screen is horrendously noticeable. The story is also very bad and has a lot of things that don't make sense (Earthbending prison being pretty much a camp and they could bend and escape at any moment but they don't for some reason)

    And the characters......my god what have they done to you guys. All the characters are extremely lifeless (except for two, somewhat) and are absolutely boring and unfunny. They have none of the charisma, humor or development that they had in the show and you could give two craps less about them. Oh yeah and the mispronunciations are terrible too and it's also wrong when it comes too the cultural aspect (if you watch the show, you know what i'm talking about)

    The ONLY positives of this movie are Iroh and Zuko. Those two are the only characters in the entire movie to ACTUALLY have some kind of emotional background (Zuko) or at the very least give a crap about someone (Iroh). Zuko also has the best acting and the best action scenes as The Blue Spirit because it looks practical and actually looks like fighting instead of dancing.

    This movie is just horrible. Save yourself the time and save yourself the heartbreak if you're a fan of the show, and avoid this movie at all costs. It's one of the worst movies ever.
    Expand
  33. Sep 19, 2014
    0
    Well this movie really sucked. I remember being really excited when I went to see this movie, and it felt really disappointed :( Still, I can't understand how could they f*ck that up. The action scenes were flat and boring, and I felt kinda mad when I saw that earthbenders scene, where levitating a simple rock required six dudes. There are practically no bending scenes and CGI was reallyWell this movie really sucked. I remember being really excited when I went to see this movie, and it felt really disappointed :( Still, I can't understand how could they f*ck that up. The action scenes were flat and boring, and I felt kinda mad when I saw that earthbenders scene, where levitating a simple rock required six dudes. There are practically no bending scenes and CGI was really terrible. Also I don't get why the actors aren't even the same skin color as in the cartoon. Even that unknown child actors were really bad, it was obvious they had no idea who they were in the movie. I seriously hope Shalamayan doesn't make another Avatar (Legend of Aang or even Legend of Korra) movie NEVER. Expand
  34. Sep 10, 2014
    1
    Maybe the biggest rape of source material in movie history. The charm, heart and soul of the original is lost. The well written characters are gone. Only the names of the characters are well transferred. The story is compressed and soulless. It takes a lot of effort to destroy such good sourch material.
  35. Aug 24, 2014
    6
    Oh this feeling of disappointment and frustration I get every time I see a movie that had such potential, but which wasted it.

    The Last Airbender... based on an anime, this is the first part, I think. The story does end in a way that promises a sequel. I don't think that's an excuse to leave the story so... unfulfilling. The scenes kept jumping without coherency a few times, but it's
    Oh this feeling of disappointment and frustration I get every time I see a movie that had such potential, but which wasted it.

    The Last Airbender... based on an anime, this is the first part, I think. The story does end in a way that promises a sequel. I don't think that's an excuse to leave the story so... unfulfilling.

    The scenes kept jumping without coherency a few times, but it's a good thing that didn't happen all that much. More annoying was that we had plenty of Katara's inner dialogue, which in some cases was the only way to tie some events together and introduce new people. Then again, that dialogue didn't fit into the story since it kept jumping in only when they would have been forced used more time to explore/explain something, and sometimes they even explained something she had already gone over. Talk about inconsistence.

    All in all, the writing was rather poor. Such a fascinating world, history and cultures should be explored and not just thrown to the screen so that they can move on. All in all every scene suffered from an air of hurried storytelling. New characters appeared before you even got to know the old ones, and the acting really suffered from that as well; no one had the chance to actually perform, making it into a wooden farce. You couldn't possibly feel anything for anyone when they just stepped in without proper introduction.

    I was hoping this movie would be better than some of my friends said it was. I cannot help but feel disappointed. The special effect were just about as good as can be expected, but nothing to be amazed about.

    If they make a sequel, I hope they up their game a little!
    Expand
  36. Jul 31, 2014
    8
    Well, I enjoyed it! I also don't get why people were so harsh on this film. I found it captivating with entertaining special effects and was more than happy to watch start to finish.

    I have no idea why people slam it so much, but hey I thought it was good :)
  37. Jul 21, 2014
    0
    Literally the worst movie I have ever seen. I absolutely love the series and to see it chewed up and **** out makes me sick. The list goes on and on. Horrible Acting. Horrible Casting. Horrible Writing. Horrible Effects. The whole thing was just one big crap fest. I expected better from M. Night Shayamalan. The movie was littered with so many inaccuracies that I didn't even want to finishLiterally the worst movie I have ever seen. I absolutely love the series and to see it chewed up and **** out makes me sick. The list goes on and on. Horrible Acting. Horrible Casting. Horrible Writing. Horrible Effects. The whole thing was just one big crap fest. I expected better from M. Night Shayamalan. The movie was littered with so many inaccuracies that I didn't even want to finish it. I stopped watching after 20 minutes. It was the biggest waste of money ever. I am truly disappointed and I swear that If there is a sequel I will lose all faith in humanity. And for all of those who loved the movie with out ever seeing the show I have two things to say to you.
    1. Watch the damn show.
    2. If you still like the movie please just stop breathing because when you breathe air is wasted. And air shouldn't be wasted on a low life like you.
    Expand
  38. Jul 1, 2014
    0
    Awful, just awful. It is so bad you'll want to never watch an M. Night Shymalan movie ever again. The only thing redeemable about this disaster is that it never made enough money in order to make a sequel.

    All in all, you're way better off watching the show, which is absolutely outstanding despite my low level of familiarity with it.
  39. Jun 24, 2014
    0
    This is my least favorite movie. I'm not saying its the worst movie ever made, its just the movie I hate the most. I loved the TV show and M. Night RUINED it. I just want to stop talking about this because it hurts to even think about it.
  40. Jun 24, 2014
    0
    With "The Last Airbender", M.Night Shyamalan sends a clear message to all fans of his former thrilling, dense direction (The Sixth Sense, Unbreakable) all over the world: "Stop watching my movie"
  41. Jun 14, 2014
    0
    I don't know what the hell is up with Shyamalan recently. I think The Last Airbender is a career killer for sure and to that I'd say good luck making more crappy movies. Adding insult to injury, I hated this movie and After Earth as well. I found The Last Airbender guilty for laughable bad acting (including Dev Petel's awful performance), lame CGI effects, tasteless plot segments, noI don't know what the hell is up with Shyamalan recently. I think The Last Airbender is a career killer for sure and to that I'd say good luck making more crappy movies. Adding insult to injury, I hated this movie and After Earth as well. I found The Last Airbender guilty for laughable bad acting (including Dev Petel's awful performance), lame CGI effects, tasteless plot segments, no character development, and a blatant excuse of storytelling that none of the fans from the TV series "Avatar: The Last Airbender" couldn't find the film actually makes sense. It's true that the series have ended for 4 seasons, but I hope Nickelodeon should stick to family-oriented movies and promised they should not and will not make a "Legend of Korra" movie. There's no way in hell I'm going to see another rotten attempt by Moron Night Shyamalan ever again. Bar none, The Last Airbender is one of the worst movies that your mom just warned you about. Expand
  42. Jun 7, 2014
    3
    Take the beloved Avatar series and take away all of it's humor to become a horrible adaptation.

    This is one of the worst adaptations of all time, while the entire story happens in front of you, you will never be invested into what is going on, you will never care for the main characters to get out of their predicaments, you will never look forward to see what is going to happen next,
    Take the beloved Avatar series and take away all of it's humor to become a horrible adaptation.

    This is one of the worst adaptations of all time, while the entire story happens in front of you, you will never be invested into what is going on, you will never care for the main characters to get out of their predicaments, you will never look forward to see what is going to happen next, you will simply be looking at the screen trying to figure out what is going on and wandering "what's", "why's" and "how's" to the point of absolute boredom because is not even funny... and you wanna know why? because there is NO humanity in this movie; all the characters talk like robots, the passing is warped, the writing is moronic and there is no directing... like there was nobody telling the actors what they had to do, they where pretty much just reading out the lines on the script...

    The animated series is full of adventure, personality, color and fun that this movie never shows anywhere, there is no love and passion for this movie at all... is just a bad movie, plain and simple...
    Expand
  43. May 25, 2014
    1
    Not so sure how M. Night Shyamalan dropped the ball on this one but i guess his last couple movies before were not that great either so i couldn't expect anything else. I seen the the trailer for this when i was at the movie theater not sure what movie i was seeing. Anyways it wasn't that bad of a trailer i was kinda hyped for it. Then it came out and was just slammed by critics and fansNot so sure how M. Night Shyamalan dropped the ball on this one but i guess his last couple movies before were not that great either so i couldn't expect anything else. I seen the the trailer for this when i was at the movie theater not sure what movie i was seeing. Anyways it wasn't that bad of a trailer i was kinda hyped for it. Then it came out and was just slammed by critics and fans so i just never got around to watching it.

    Just about a week ago i finished watching the television series fully for the first time and wow this film is nothing like the show. while this movie is only based off of (book one: water) They had changed so much it left me wondering how they thought they could do better then the already existing source material. With changing the pronunciation of some characters names to even changing the where some of the story is based at.

    The acting just makes it even worse with emotionless expressions and horrible dialog that doesn't get better throughout it's just painful to watch. The pace of the film was just terrible to say the lest felt like the story was being rushed and it was just making me mad. I was 50 minutes into the film and it felt like i knew nothing about any of the characters the connection between all of the characters was nothing like it was in the show.

    Overrall this film was JUST HORRIBLE i give it a 0.1 i don't plan to watch this movie ever again in fact im sticking it in my box of old movies to give away because this is just unforgivable M. Knight will never come back from ruining this masterful television show
    Expand
  44. May 24, 2014
    10
    The movie is great. I really liked the whole sequence, the story is very well told. The script and the acting of the actors are excellent and let the desire to have a following.
  45. May 15, 2014
    1
    This movie may be appealing for lower state of mind but for all others it is boring and an insult to the real Avatar: The Last Airbender and it's fans. Everything about this movie is terrible. Avoid at all costs.
  46. May 12, 2014
    1
    This is honestly the worst movie you will ever watch in your entire life most likely.

    The movie features horrendous acting, bad plot, cheesy special effects... The list goes on and on. I did watch the show, and found it to be one of the best family/kid shows out there. It was entertaining, funny... it was well done. So when I finally saw The Last Airbender, I thought I was going to
    This is honestly the worst movie you will ever watch in your entire life most likely.

    The movie features horrendous acting, bad plot, cheesy special effects... The list goes on and on.

    I did watch the show, and found it to be one of the best family/kid shows out there. It was entertaining, funny... it was well done. So when I finally saw The Last Airbender, I thought I was going to love it. I heard it was bad, but I figured I would give it the benefit of the doubt.

    ....
    I don't even know how to describe it. It's like watching a train wreck that happened 50 years ago. It doesnt get worse and worse, it's so bad from the start, that even though it does get "worse and worse" you don't even notice it because your so bored. Even the action in the movie is terrible. The "bending" is crap, everything about it is crap.

    The only reason I gave it 1 instead of 0 is because it's entertaining to make fun of, and it's special effects aren't 0 worthy.

    Honestly, I suggest watching it if you have nothing better to do. Then you can make fun of it, which I guess is fun.
    Expand
  47. Apr 21, 2014
    4
    I don't think it is as bad as everyone says it is but still nothing good at all. I thought the beginning of the movie was ok introducing everything that part was entertaining enough. And then I thought it started going down hill from there with a couple memorable scenes until the end of the movie. Still not a good movie but not one of the worst either.
  48. Apr 20, 2014
    0
    A disgrace. The show this movie was based on was pure entertainment tinged with a gripping coming-of-age story, characters you wanted to be real, and some of the best animated combat ever. This is an empty vessel of plot, explanation, and exposition, with special effects that rarely pop and inexperienced child actors that make you feel as if you're watching an elementary school play. It'sA disgrace. The show this movie was based on was pure entertainment tinged with a gripping coming-of-age story, characters you wanted to be real, and some of the best animated combat ever. This is an empty vessel of plot, explanation, and exposition, with special effects that rarely pop and inexperienced child actors that make you feel as if you're watching an elementary school play. It's a terrible movie and an insulting adaption of one of the best TV shows out there. M. Night is a butcher. Expand
  49. Feb 6, 2014
    0
    A disgrace to a show that clearly knew how to be awesome, and a disgrace to cinema all together. The last airbender is without a doubt the worst movie I've ever seen.
  50. Jan 28, 2014
    5
    I genuinely think that this movie is not as absolutely unbearable and completely full of **** as most people make it out to be. But it is undeniably bad. Nominating Dev Patel for a Golden Razzie was very harsh but overall the acting is atrocious. Mainly due to the title character Aang played by Noah Ringer. How the hell did he even get through the audition process with a face which looksI genuinely think that this movie is not as absolutely unbearable and completely full of **** as most people make it out to be. But it is undeniably bad. Nominating Dev Patel for a Golden Razzie was very harsh but overall the acting is atrocious. Mainly due to the title character Aang played by Noah Ringer. How the hell did he even get through the audition process with a face which looks constantly surprised and in pain at the same time. Pretty much everyone else with the exception of Dev Patel (who is alright) is bad, but not to the point of self harm like Noah Ringer. Reading other reviews most people claim that the cheesy dialogue is the worst thing about the whole movie, I have to admit I agree with them all. Sure it isn't Tommy Wiseau's The Room, but damn this is written by the same guy who directed The Sixth Sense. What the **** happened? Out of every second of The Last Airbender which I watched the only above average and enjoyable aspect of it was Zuko's storyline (Dev Patel). Maybe if I could be bothered to watch the anime TV series it might be better, I hate to admit it but I actually thought his banishment was pretty cool. However the last scene (which is only in there for the minute chance of a sequel) they totally ruin it and attempt to bring in even more family conflict to create drama. Every attempt at drama in the movie fails though, I did not care one bit about the bull**** love story between Sokka and Yue (who's penis haircut was the best part of the movie). Overall M.Night Shyamalan really should have made the movie much less crap for it to be enjoyable. I have never summarised a movie so bluntly before. Expand
  51. Jan 12, 2014
    0
    Just awful. Not only does M. Night Shamalamadingdong completely butcher everything good about the tv show like the epic large scale fight scenes involving powerful benders battling it out with great direction and technique (Now just floating bits of rock shot at people that could easily have been thrown more effectively), the developed characters (there is no emotion in this film,Just awful. Not only does M. Night Shamalamadingdong completely butcher everything good about the tv show like the epic large scale fight scenes involving powerful benders battling it out with great direction and technique (Now just floating bits of rock shot at people that could easily have been thrown more effectively), the developed characters (there is no emotion in this film, everything we hear anyone say is monotone back story, due to fact they tried to fit 500 minutes of plot from the first season of Avatar into a 90 minute movie) and the beautiful world you want to explore with these characters on their adventure (the setting just feels uninspired as **** no effort went into replicating the amazing detail of the show's world), he also shows how awful he is at directing fight scenes (they are seriously boring and drawn out), casts some of the worst child actors ever to grace the big screen (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wbi7xUd5TPc *sigh*) and fails to record some sound and light his scenes properly! This is a disgrace to the tv show and films in general, whoever gave this production the thumbs up was probably the same person who approved Dragon Ball Evolution. Avoid this at all costs. Expand
  52. Jan 6, 2014
    1
    Um dos filmes trágicos do cinema
  53. Jan 5, 2014
    3
    Wow was this movie a disappointment! The whole movie felt rushed! I think that was the biggest problem with the Last Airbender. This should be made into a series so they can get into the story better, but instead everything is thrown into one movie. If this movie is the first time you`re learning about these characters you will not care for them.I use to watch the show and that was so muchWow was this movie a disappointment! The whole movie felt rushed! I think that was the biggest problem with the Last Airbender. This should be made into a series so they can get into the story better, but instead everything is thrown into one movie. If this movie is the first time you`re learning about these characters you will not care for them.I use to watch the show and that was so much better on every level. The Trailer sure got me excited, but man did it fail.I guess if you have no expectations it is an alright movie, but for the rest of us it fails hard! Expand
  54. Jan 2, 2014
    1
    Avatar: The Last Airbender is a great TV show one of the best cartoons I have ever seen. This movie is terrible. Fans of the show will hate the film. The movie rushes through the plot only featuring the beginning and finale of the show and one or two moments in between. The acting is terrible with a lot of bad actors and underdeveloped characters that are nothing like those from the show.Avatar: The Last Airbender is a great TV show one of the best cartoons I have ever seen. This movie is terrible. Fans of the show will hate the film. The movie rushes through the plot only featuring the beginning and finale of the show and one or two moments in between. The acting is terrible with a lot of bad actors and underdeveloped characters that are nothing like those from the show. Additionally, various character names are mispronounced, which is insulting to the fans of the show. The effects and action are decent at times but for the most part it looks stupid. Even if you don’t watch the show you will dislike this movie. There is no substance in terms of story or characters. If you haven’t seen the show this movie will confuse you because you will not understand what you just watched and why this show is popular. If you haven’t seen the movie yet avoid it at all costs. This is an awful movie with almost nothing good about. The show offers nothing in terms of characters and story, which will piss off die hard fans and confuse non-viewers. This movie is garbage and I am grateful that the other two season were not given movies. Expand
  55. Dec 27, 2013
    0
    An absolutely terrible movie, The Last Airbender takes the first season of a decent kids show and makes it into a mess of horrible acting and confusing plot that makes the movie completely unlikeable by newbies and more than disappointing for fans of the series, having watched it with the former and been the latter. However, the saddest part of this film might be that it takes itself soAn absolutely terrible movie, The Last Airbender takes the first season of a decent kids show and makes it into a mess of horrible acting and confusing plot that makes the movie completely unlikeable by newbies and more than disappointing for fans of the series, having watched it with the former and been the latter. However, the saddest part of this film might be that it takes itself so seriously. In the end, it deserves ever Razzie it got. Expand
  56. Dec 25, 2013
    0
    None of the movie made any sense and lack everything that made the tv series special. It even pronounced the names wrong (Ang was pronounced "Ung" and Saka was pronounced "Soaka"). In a nutshell, I want it to be eradicated from the face of the earth!
  57. Nov 26, 2013
    1
    I honestly don't think an actual movie can get as bad as this one. It has terrible acting, a terrible script, cheesy effects, and missing out on some of the most important parts of the show. They even changed most of the names and the way the people bend their elements. Although this isn't the worst one I've seen, it sure is close to it.
  58. Nov 14, 2013
    1
    I saw the midnight showing with a group or hardcore friends and fellow fans. The audience was actually laughing throughout that movie at just how bad it was. The only thing that this film has going for it, is the special effects. Thats it. Its bad. Stay away.
  59. Nov 13, 2013
    0
    What kind of awful crap was this? "The Last Airbender" is surely one of the dullest ever made in the history of filmmaking. I would recommend you to buy a pack of chips rather than pay for this boring and ridiculous junk. Also, if you have seen this in 3-D, this is probably the worst use of 3-D ever.
  60. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    The cartoon was the best cartoon EVER, and I'm not exaggerating. I saw the movie about a year ago and it got on my Top 15 favourite movie list. I understand everyone has an opinion of their own, but I think anyone giving this a 0 by comparing it to the cartoon is completely overreacting. Whatever Shayamalan did was NOT a big deal. The soundtrack, bending effects, and scenery were soThe cartoon was the best cartoon EVER, and I'm not exaggerating. I saw the movie about a year ago and it got on my Top 15 favourite movie list. I understand everyone has an opinion of their own, but I think anyone giving this a 0 by comparing it to the cartoon is completely overreacting. Whatever Shayamalan did was NOT a big deal. The soundtrack, bending effects, and scenery were so beautiful and felt like the cartoon if it was in real life. Sokka didn't need a different name, nor did Aang, but Noah Ringer looks like an "Ahng" to me. So hate me, I loved watching "The Last Airbender." Expand
  61. Nov 6, 2013
    3
    Oh no, i hope there isn't a sequel. Too cheesy CGI, and boring dialog. Don't watch this movie, unless you get to watch it for free. The only thing good was the story, but that can't save it.
  62. Nov 4, 2013
    0
    This is the Worst Movie of 2012 and 2011 nobody should ever see this movie the acting is horrible and the story is the dumbest story ever heard in a long time since 2006 NO BODY SHOULD SEE THIS MOVIE.
  63. Oct 25, 2013
    5
    This movie gets a lot of bad rap because:
    1) It wasn't as good as the series, not even close.
    2) They pronounce the names wrong (even if Shyamalan thought he had good reasoning) 3) They screwed up uncle iroh 4) They screwed up the way people are supposed to firebend. But despite this the movie still managed to entertain me and if you are a fan of the series, seeing live action bending
    This movie gets a lot of bad rap because:
    1) It wasn't as good as the series, not even close.
    2) They pronounce the names wrong (even if Shyamalan thought he had good reasoning)
    3) They screwed up uncle iroh
    4) They screwed up the way people are supposed to firebend.
    But despite this the movie still managed to entertain me and if you are a fan of the series, seeing live action bending fights really made the movie worth watching.
    Expand
  64. Oct 22, 2013
    5
    Not as bad as I heard it was, maybe because I haven't seen the show. Leaving that aside, the movie is just painfully mediocre, the potential is there and the CGI was great, its just not used well enough.
  65. Oct 14, 2013
    6
    I personally watched the Avatar: the Last Airbender show very occassionally, and while i liked it-it was cool, I did not watch it enough to consider myself among the biggest of fans. From this perspective, I can say I kinda enjoyed this movie.
    I thought the acting was not the best, but it wasn't Twilight bad (though Twilight, imo, was a bad series as the books as well). The CGI wasn't the
    I personally watched the Avatar: the Last Airbender show very occassionally, and while i liked it-it was cool, I did not watch it enough to consider myself among the biggest of fans. From this perspective, I can say I kinda enjoyed this movie.
    I thought the acting was not the best, but it wasn't Twilight bad (though Twilight, imo, was a bad series as the books as well). The CGI wasn't the worst, but I personally like CGI unless it is like the CGI in sitcoms on TV (like when a character dreams he has super powers and it has terribe CGI showing. them). The story is understandable in the sense that the Percy Jackson movies were- you understand it if you've read the book,or in this case watched the TV show, but it is still quite different. and the action, while not making sense sometimes (like when the earth benders float a rock rather than doing something cool) it was good enough
    I personally liked this movie. But I understand the ppl who hate it. This movie is just a generic movie, and the TV show was amazing- not to mention the lack of major parts of the show due to it being just 2 hours- and another thing, a generic movie like this does not have to exceed the 1 hour 30 min mark. I give this movie an F for the biggest fans of the series, a D-E if you were a fan but not an intense fan- like watching- the- series- fifty- times- in- a- row- intense, a C for those who uderstood the series and was just looking forward to watching a generic movie to pass the time

    *Also, I got this movie on Redbox, so I only paid 1$, so i thik it was at least worth that
    Expand
  66. Oct 8, 2013
    0
    This is what you get for cramming an entire season's worth of story into a film that isn't even 2 hours long. The plot is terrible, The acting is pathetic, and the special effects are very weak. Easily one of the top 10 worst films of all time.
  67. Oct 6, 2013
    4
    Well it was better than the Dragonball movie that came out a while back which was also based on a famous anime hahaha but still it wasn't by much. I mean the movie started ok but I wish the story was more worked out and what's with the end, is there a sequel to it?
  68. Sep 24, 2013
    1
    No... Just no.. If you are a fan of the TV series "The Last Airbender" then this movie should have severely pissed you off. It left out a ton of storyline, characters, and 75% of the journey the characters took! It even ended on a severe cliff hanger which should have even pissed even non-fans off! And to make matters worse, there is NOT going to be another movie! Apparently, the directorNo... Just no.. If you are a fan of the TV series "The Last Airbender" then this movie should have severely pissed you off. It left out a ton of storyline, characters, and 75% of the journey the characters took! It even ended on a severe cliff hanger which should have even pissed even non-fans off! And to make matters worse, there is NOT going to be another movie! Apparently, the director intended on covering the whole story, just in sections, but ended up not having the funds to do so! If you're going to cover a interesting series like The Last Airbender, then actually FINISH IT! Expand
  69. Sep 9, 2013
    0
    This movie is awful. Mispronunciation of the names, horrible effects, and the acting is just horrendous This movie sets a new standard for bad movies, especially when it's based off a kids show!
  70. Aug 21, 2013
    0
    Absolute sht. This was definitely the worst movie I have ever watched. Poorly executed and terrible acting, just everything was wrong with this movie.
  71. Jul 25, 2013
    1
    The Last Airbender was a complete and utter travesty. With a solid fan-base nothing could go wrong, right? Wrong. Shyamalan was handed pure gold with this film, but his lack of experience in action directing resulted in a film soiled by terrible adaptation, acting, directing, and shoddy special effects. If they do decide to go on with the trilogy with M. Night at the helms, it could beThe Last Airbender was a complete and utter travesty. With a solid fan-base nothing could go wrong, right? Wrong. Shyamalan was handed pure gold with this film, but his lack of experience in action directing resulted in a film soiled by terrible adaptation, acting, directing, and shoddy special effects. If they do decide to go on with the trilogy with M. Night at the helms, it could be good night for The Last Airbender legacy. Expand
  72. Jul 15, 2013
    2
    El ultimo maestro del aire es una mezcla de cine malo y un gran error de este buen director así como hay muy buenas peliculas de este sobresale esta pero de lo mala.
  73. Jul 15, 2013
    0
    Thank God he was the last one, let's just hope there's no prequel in the works. Hopefully Midnight Shazam will have enough common(sixth)sense to actually think about what might make an interesting film after his appalling run of garbage. I seriously doubt it to be honest and I can see people of the future being awarded the Midnight Shazam award for utter rubbish at The Golden Raspberries.
  74. Jul 5, 2013
    1
    I love anime, and when this movie came out, I was very excited to see it, but the movie is just wasted potential. I can relate to those who hate the movie, why? Because everything was wrong, there are more contrasts than comparisons between the anime and the actual cinematic release. The characters weren't the same, the lore wasn't the same, everything was wrong. M. Night has taken one ofI love anime, and when this movie came out, I was very excited to see it, but the movie is just wasted potential. I can relate to those who hate the movie, why? Because everything was wrong, there are more contrasts than comparisons between the anime and the actual cinematic release. The characters weren't the same, the lore wasn't the same, everything was wrong. M. Night has taken one of the best story lines and ruined it, thanks for crushing such a great franchise you bastard. Not only was everything wrong, but the movie wasn't good, it was actually terrible, the acting was atrocious, the execution was just a mess, the script was abysmal. This movie just infuriates me. Even if you haven't seen the anime or any anime, you will relate to us anime fanatics by hating this movie. Expand
  75. Jul 4, 2013
    2
    While "Avatar: The Last Airbender" remains one of my favorite shows of all time it was just heartbreaking to watch "The Last Airbender" movie. Characters portrayed in the shows were performed so differently in the movie, and although this does not affect my score, it did affect my thoughts on the film. The film was rushed, little to no humor, and felt dark in tone in general, which did notWhile "Avatar: The Last Airbender" remains one of my favorite shows of all time it was just heartbreaking to watch "The Last Airbender" movie. Characters portrayed in the shows were performed so differently in the movie, and although this does not affect my score, it did affect my thoughts on the film. The film was rushed, little to no humor, and felt dark in tone in general, which did not benefit the film. The acting was horrible, and it left little to no impressions on the characters in the film. While the television show brought a bright and smiling personality, even with a sinister villain, the movie turned darker to appeal to an older audience, which doesn't work at all. Visuals are great however, and it was the only thing in the film that made me interested during the rushed action scenes. I guess, more time in the film was needed to make this any better. Expand
  76. Jun 23, 2013
    0
    Anyone who gave this movie above a 2 obviously has never seen the show, has really bad taste in movies, or is retarded. This is possibly the worst movie I have ever seen. The effects are awful, so are the actors, dialogue, fight scenes, etc.
  77. Jun 23, 2013
    10
    I enjoyed the movie greatly. The atmosphere was great. The setting and environment were beautiful. The girls are sweet. Airbender him is likeable. The kungfu moves were smooth and sleek. And of course, the great movie will not be what it is if not for the awesome special effects of air, water, fire and earth. Too bad the movie is so short. It should be twice as long! Anyway, I'm lookingI enjoyed the movie greatly. The atmosphere was great. The setting and environment were beautiful. The girls are sweet. Airbender him is likeable. The kungfu moves were smooth and sleek. And of course, the great movie will not be what it is if not for the awesome special effects of air, water, fire and earth. Too bad the movie is so short. It should be twice as long! Anyway, I'm looking forward to the sequel. Expand
  78. Jun 12, 2013
    2
    This is the most terrible movie i have ever seen. This movie was so bad that i fell asleep. The fighting was so fake and the characters act so corny.
  79. Jun 7, 2013
    0
    If I had to compare it to the animated series I would have to say that it's a disaster. If i had to judge it separately i would say the same. Someone who has never seen the show ,is forced into an incomprehensible plot bound to be unappreciated, as the film's success was more special-effects oriented. Even though they have the same story, Avatar manages to captivate viewers and make themIf I had to compare it to the animated series I would have to say that it's a disaster. If i had to judge it separately i would say the same. Someone who has never seen the show ,is forced into an incomprehensible plot bound to be unappreciated, as the film's success was more special-effects oriented. Even though they have the same story, Avatar manages to captivate viewers and make them have a plethora of feelings such as sympathy, suspense and excitement, while The Last Airbender presents the story as dead, cold and superficial. When Avatar The Last Airbender ended, the fans were devastated and nostalgic. When The Last Airbender ended, everyone was devastated as well but for a different reason and hoping the 2 expected sequels will not be released. That is because the director of this film, or whoever is responsible for the its making, made a terrible mistake. Animes or anime-like shows are absolutely not meant to have live-action adaptations made. It's one of the few things the movie industry is not capable of doing, successfully. Expand
  80. Jun 1, 2013
    5
    Now granted, the film has its good qualities. I thought, as an audience member, it was reasonable. But as a student filmmaker, I must say, M. Night Shalyaman has done better work.
  81. May 31, 2013
    10
    damn girl are you ready to swag out with ANNNNNGGGGG (Aang) and super soaka (sokka) oh and lets not forget our boy uncle EARo (Iro) the names alone automatically get a ten outta ten and the top notch acting oh boy this is why all cartoon series need a a live action movie because this is so hip hoping dawgs screw the cartoon that was terrible and this is the greatest piece of art ever
  82. May 31, 2013
    1
    M. Night probably never watched the animated show 'cause this film is just a complete disaster! First of all, they pronounced almost every character's name wrong, the story is up, the characters themselves aren't even correct, and the special water, earth, wind, and fire effects (which are very cool) don't seem right! I never minded M. Night's films, but this was just completelyM. Night probably never watched the animated show 'cause this film is just a complete disaster! First of all, they pronounced almost every character's name wrong, the story is up, the characters themselves aren't even correct, and the special water, earth, wind, and fire effects (which are very cool) don't seem right! I never minded M. Night's films, but this was just completely unacceptable! I had enough of his movies, you know what... F**K YOU NIGHT!!! Expand
  83. May 28, 2013
    1
    I watch a lot of anime, but Avatar: The Last Airbender was one of my favorites, and I was looking forward to the movie, it looked great, but it turns out that In was wrong, it disappointing to no end. The reason 99.99999% of the world (including me) hates the movie is because everything was wrong, the characters aren't the ones I had come to love in the anime, they were completelyI watch a lot of anime, but Avatar: The Last Airbender was one of my favorites, and I was looking forward to the movie, it looked great, but it turns out that In was wrong, it disappointing to no end. The reason 99.99999% of the world (including me) hates the movie is because everything was wrong, the characters aren't the ones I had come to love in the anime, they were completely different! I HATED this movie! Not only was the story bad, but the actors were just as terrible. They looked as if they didn't want to be there, and I can see why! M. Night Shylaman was lucky that I don't remember him for this because of the movie Devil, which I enjoyed, but this piece of crap, I hated it. If you like the anime, don't watch this film, If you like the show, don't watch it, if you like good movies, don't watch it, and if you just like movies, don't watch it. Its seriously THAT bad. But I'm giving it a 1 out of 10 because its not Skyline which is my least favorite movie of all time. Expand
  84. May 23, 2013
    3
    I don't watch the series this movie was based on, so this isn't a fan rage review. Just the usual negative review. Just about everything I look for in a film is absent from this major motion crapper. A boring/ uninteresting/ stupid story, horrible acting, and just a feeling of: why should I care syndrome. There's nothing good in this, nothing; perhaps "okay" special effects, but overallI don't watch the series this movie was based on, so this isn't a fan rage review. Just the usual negative review. Just about everything I look for in a film is absent from this major motion crapper. A boring/ uninteresting/ stupid story, horrible acting, and just a feeling of: why should I care syndrome. There's nothing good in this, nothing; perhaps "okay" special effects, but overall nothing. I can't say much about this because it's been a while since I've seen it; several years in fact, and I don't plan on ever seeing this again unless it's a dare. Expand
  85. May 4, 2013
    0
    Welcome, to M. Night's escuss to take a dump on the TV show. With horrible acting, confusing story, a darker tone to the movie, bad speical effects even compared to a stundent film, and combined with the rushed production, makes for a horrible outcome.
  86. Apr 22, 2013
    0
    I had trouble giving this movie a one out of ten. That's how bad it is!
  87. Mar 18, 2013
    0
    I almost gave this film a one for the special effects but no even though they were the only thing good in the movie. First M. Night Shamalamadingdong has no idea what the phrase "Good movie" means, I bet he's never been to a theater and seen a person walk out of his movie and say anything positive. This was a disgrace to "Avatar: The Last Airbender". Second, for the character Ang or how M.I almost gave this film a one for the special effects but no even though they were the only thing good in the movie. First M. Night Shamalamadingdong has no idea what the phrase "Good movie" means, I bet he's never been to a theater and seen a person walk out of his movie and say anything positive. This was a disgrace to "Avatar: The Last Airbender". Second, for the character Ang or how M. Night F***ed it up Ung. He hired a complete unknown for the soul reason he looked like Ang. I could understand taking auditions from people online but just because they look like them. It would've been better to hire me a BLACK GUY, and It would still be better because I know ever episode. Third. He basically took the TV show script "Katara: We have to do something. Ang: I agree" and basically did this "Ang: We have to do something. Katara: I agree" he blatintly switched characters lines to other characters. He filmed a scene and didnt even show it. The fact that this movie has a 2.9 out of 10 still amazes me. M. Night you can't make movies. Literally everyone in the theater went "Uhhhhhhhhhhhh" when his name appeared on screen. The Sixth Sense, what he wore the same clothes throughout the movie, The Happening was alright but dumb. Devil surprisingly was good, so I looked it up he produced it, not wrote or directed it that's why it was good. M. Night please stop directing and writing, and I swear to God if you come out with "The Last Aairbender 2" I will probably burn down the theater, watch the news. 16 year old kid attempted arisen to save the eyes of movie goers. I'd probably get and award. Oops, M. Night encase you didn't know what that means it's something you get for doing something GOOD. Expand
  88. Mar 9, 2013
    0
    Nobody knows who Shyamalan is any more......
  89. Feb 13, 2013
    1
    This has got to be one of the worst movies I watched. And it's so frustrating because I loved the cartoon series! D:

    Bad acting, incredibly bad script, bad casting... the only thing good might be the visual effects. But not even that and the fanbase was able to save this from being a huge waste of time.
  90. Jan 27, 2013
    2
    I am a huge fan of the animated series. I absolutely hated this movie. There is really no similarity between this movie and the series. First, in the series, Aang is a happy-go-lucky kid. In the movie, there is no joy to be found anywhere. Second, bending doesn't require five minutes of dancing before a single move can be made. In the series, a flick of the wrist throws a rock. In theI am a huge fan of the animated series. I absolutely hated this movie. There is really no similarity between this movie and the series. First, in the series, Aang is a happy-go-lucky kid. In the movie, there is no joy to be found anywhere. Second, bending doesn't require five minutes of dancing before a single move can be made. In the series, a flick of the wrist throws a rock. In the movie, the characters have to go through rigorous dance moves just to levitate some water. Third, the series cannot actually be made into a movie because the movie can't encompass all of the little details the series had to offer. All in all, nothing in this movie lives up to the series. Expand
  91. Jan 11, 2013
    3
    It really is the last airbender. Just because of horrible dialogue, boring fights and no humuor it is terrible. Paramount need work to make it better instead of it worse.
  92. Dec 23, 2012
    0
    An absolute filmic disgrace - wooden acting, M. ShamlalamalamaDingDong's horrible directing, and absolutely no faithfulness to the brilliant source material, The Last Airbender is one of the worst films of all-time. I'll be honest - I thought I was watching a cheap soap opera.
  93. Dec 14, 2012
    1
    I was a huge fan of the original cartoon, in fact it's my favorite TV show. I just don't see how anyone who was a fan of the series could rate this movie any higher than a 1, and how anyone who enjoys movies could rate it higher than a 2. The Last Airbender is the worst movie I have ever seen, and I am making that claim as a disappointed fan and a movie lover. Every aspect of the filmI was a huge fan of the original cartoon, in fact it's my favorite TV show. I just don't see how anyone who was a fan of the series could rate this movie any higher than a 1, and how anyone who enjoys movies could rate it higher than a 2. The Last Airbender is the worst movie I have ever seen, and I am making that claim as a disappointed fan and a movie lover. Every aspect of the film that could have gone wrong went horribly wrong. From the atrocious dialogue, to the mediocre story, to the wooden characters, to the awkward cast, to the sloppy special effects, it all worked together to create one massive piece of s%#t. However, the worst part of it all by far was that M. Night Shamalan challenged the ways of the Emmy winning, critically aclaimed show and failed in every single itty-bitty little way I can think of. Now, people who have never seen the incredible TV show may never see it and any chance of it evolving into a live-action movie, which had so much potential to be good, has been extinguished. As a fan, it is a saddening thought. Expand
  94. Dec 8, 2012
    1
    Not good, in fact it's one of the worst movies I've seen in years. I hated it! The acting was horrible, basically every actor sucked. The script was poorly written and cheesy. The story jumped around a lot and made very little sense at times, which is strange because I was familiar with the story because I watched a little of the show. The fighting sequences were stupid. Some of the CGINot good, in fact it's one of the worst movies I've seen in years. I hated it! The acting was horrible, basically every actor sucked. The script was poorly written and cheesy. The story jumped around a lot and made very little sense at times, which is strange because I was familiar with the story because I watched a little of the show. The fighting sequences were stupid. Some of the CGI was okay, but not good. I'm now a firm believer that M. Night Shyamalan will never have a comeback as this film is nothing but pure garbage. He can't handle directing a film even with good material being handed down to him. A complete shame and one of the absolute worst films of 2010. A dreadful, excruciating film to watch. Expand
  95. Nov 19, 2012
    0
    How do you take a great TV series with the strong fanbase that it had and simply spit in our faces with crap movie man. The acting was horrid, the casting was just as bad, the CGI was cool yes but the rushed movie with the limited respect to the series was embarrassing. Why would anyone give M. Night the rights to produce this movie? His resume is that of pure mediocrity. Why not JamesHow do you take a great TV series with the strong fanbase that it had and simply spit in our faces with crap movie man. The acting was horrid, the casting was just as bad, the CGI was cool yes but the rushed movie with the limited respect to the series was embarrassing. Why would anyone give M. Night the rights to produce this movie? His resume is that of pure mediocrity. Why not James Cameron, Riddley Scott, Michael Bay even. I hope they re-do this movie the right way. Expand
  96. Aug 30, 2012
    5
    This movie is a big delusion! The dialogies and the script are terrible and the acting isn't much better. It's also too much serious, while the cartooon has many hilarious moments. If give it a 5 and not a 3 or a 2, it's just for the special effects and the fight scenes, which are some of the most visually beautiful I've ever seen.
  97. Aug 25, 2012
    5
    Perhaps giving this movie a 5 would be high praise considering how many people HATE this movie, but I can understand why they would hate it. I never watched the cartoon, but my guess from all of the hate is that the film adaptation isn't faithful at all to its source material. I tried watching the film as just a stand alone film, but it didn't even succeed with that. With the wooden actingPerhaps giving this movie a 5 would be high praise considering how many people HATE this movie, but I can understand why they would hate it. I never watched the cartoon, but my guess from all of the hate is that the film adaptation isn't faithful at all to its source material. I tried watching the film as just a stand alone film, but it didn't even succeed with that. With the wooden acting and bland storytelling, it's hard to care about what happens at all in the 103 minutes of this movie. It has some decent special effects and some ok action sequences, but that's all. Expand
  98. Aug 17, 2012
    0
    Out of all the M. Night Shyamalan films I've seen, this has got to be the worst one that is in need to retire. I do like his 3 movies, The Sixth Sense, Unbreakable, and Signs. But his ideas started to get bland, boring, and silly after those 3. But this one just killed it completely, he needs to retire.
  99. Jul 21, 2012
    3
    The Last Airbender is all eye candy and has no heart like the Nickelodeon cartoon it is based upon. The only thing really going for is the somewhat decent visual effects used for the action and bending effects. Other than that, the story is dull, the dialogue is uninspiring, and the acting is utterly atrocious. If the visual effects were not decent, this film could have been a lot worse.The Last Airbender is all eye candy and has no heart like the Nickelodeon cartoon it is based upon. The only thing really going for is the somewhat decent visual effects used for the action and bending effects. Other than that, the story is dull, the dialogue is uninspiring, and the acting is utterly atrocious. If the visual effects were not decent, this film could have been a lot worse. This is by far the worst film M. Night Shyamalan has ever made. Expand
  100. Jul 11, 2012
    0
    this movie was so bad i was excited at first when they first announced it then i saw it i was horrified they said uvatar instead of avatar and (if you watch LOK they made a joke about that) they pronounced characters names wrong zuko didn't even look like zuko was sapost to look like i think the guy who voice sokka could have been a better one because in this movie sokka was to seriousthis movie was so bad i was excited at first when they first announced it then i saw it i was horrified they said uvatar instead of avatar and (if you watch LOK they made a joke about that) they pronounced characters names wrong zuko didn't even look like zuko was sapost to look like i think the guy who voice sokka could have been a better one because in this movie sokka was to serious there was so many wrong things with this movie it's not even funny i don't think they even watched the series before they made the movie ooh and they forgot the kioshi warriors suki was sokkas main love interest Expand
Metascore
20

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 33
  2. Negative: 23 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    20
    This is all enormously disappointing, of course, since the best we could hope for from a live-action "Avatar" adaptation is the mind-blowing equivalent of our first encounters with wire-fu, rather than this cartoony nonsense.
  2. The movie is "Star Wars" with martial arts, plus a touch of "The Last Emperor." Technically, it's not badly done; I enjoyed the physical clash of elements, the water balls rising like sculpture in the air.
  3. Reviewed by: Scott Bowles
    63
    He hasn't mastered the craft yet, but M. Night Shyamalan may be on to something with this action-movie thing.