Paramount Pictures | Release Date: July 1, 2010
2.5
USER SCORE
Generally unfavorable reviews based on 790 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
133
Mixed:
76
Negative:
581
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
EpicLadySpongeDec 28, 2015
Sometimes, there are moments where movies are watchable... and then there are those that are decent as ever... and then there are those that makes you wonder why were you even in the theaters seeing it. This is one of them.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
2
grandpajoe6191Oct 16, 2011
"The Last Airbender", a movie based on the famous TV series for kids, is just simply terrible. The story doesn't make any sense and is chopped into crude pieces. The acting and special effects are terribly illustrated like coloring black ink"The Last Airbender", a movie based on the famous TV series for kids, is just simply terrible. The story doesn't make any sense and is chopped into crude pieces. The acting and special effects are terribly illustrated like coloring black ink over a well-done portrait of someone. Man, all I can conclude is RAZZIE BUZZ!! Expand
28 of 33 users found this helpful285
All this user's reviews
2
lukechristianscOct 26, 2015
After "Lady In The Water" and "The Happening" Shyamalan wasted his efforts trying to make a crowd-pleasing film. The Last Airbender has cheesy dialogue the kind of dialogue you hear in a Shakespeare play but only more moronic and corny, evenAfter "Lady In The Water" and "The Happening" Shyamalan wasted his efforts trying to make a crowd-pleasing film. The Last Airbender has cheesy dialogue the kind of dialogue you hear in a Shakespeare play but only more moronic and corny, even though the child actors are trying but they don't give any emotion into their characters. The four nations: Air, Water, Ear and Fire were peaceful until the fire nation declared war. The avatar name Aang (Noah Ringer) discovers he is the "chosen one" and discovers he can control the four elements. So he joins forces with Katara (Nicola Peltz) and her brother Sokka. Dev Patel (Slumdog Millionaire) and Aasif Mandvi are trying to give good performances and forget the awful script. After trying to make a crowd-pleasing movie Shyamalan failed and now he gives fans of the cartoon series a wasted zero potential product. Even though the effects are astonishing and the locations are spot on and sometimes writer-director M. Night Shyamalan can make some of the sequences suspenseful. The finale was more entertaining than the rest of the film I wish it was more like that and it does deserve a few points. I can see why the fans of the cartoon hate this film, Shyamalan ignores the material and just makes up his own story. And the twisted ending was bonkers leaving you mad. Grade D+ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
imthenoobOct 8, 2013
This is what you get for cramming an entire season's worth of story into a film that isn't even 2 hours long. The plot is terrible, The acting is pathetic, and the special effects are very weak. Easily one of the top 10 worst films of all time.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
3
ZilcellNov 7, 2011
I tried to like it, but it is a big letdown compared to the Nickelodeon animated series it is based on. The story was hard to follow and there a lot of changes from the show. It would have been better if they had better actors as well. TheI tried to like it, but it is a big letdown compared to the Nickelodeon animated series it is based on. The story was hard to follow and there a lot of changes from the show. It would have been better if they had better actors as well. The character didn't act at all like they did in the show. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
JacobJan 2, 2014
Avatar: The Last Airbender is a great TV show one of the best cartoons I have ever seen. This movie is terrible. Fans of the show will hate the film. The movie rushes through the plot only featuring the beginning and finale of the show andAvatar: The Last Airbender is a great TV show one of the best cartoons I have ever seen. This movie is terrible. Fans of the show will hate the film. The movie rushes through the plot only featuring the beginning and finale of the show and one or two moments in between. The acting is terrible with a lot of bad actors and underdeveloped characters that are nothing like those from the show. Additionally, various character names are mispronounced, which is insulting to the fans of the show. The effects and action are decent at times but for the most part it looks stupid. Even if you don’t watch the show you will dislike this movie. There is no substance in terms of story or characters. If you haven’t seen the show this movie will confuse you because you will not understand what you just watched and why this show is popular. If you haven’t seen the movie yet avoid it at all costs. This is an awful movie with almost nothing good about. The show offers nothing in terms of characters and story, which will piss off die hard fans and confuse non-viewers. This movie is garbage and I am grateful that the other two season were not given movies. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
0
heyitsmegrif4Dec 17, 2011
This film is easily one of the worst films in the decade and should never had been made by someone who works with suspense movies! I give this awful film a 2% of a good movie due to its okay visual effects.
8 of 14 users found this helpful86
All this user's reviews
1
worleyjamersDec 8, 2012
Not good, in fact it's one of the worst movies I've seen in years. I hated it! The acting was horrible, basically every actor sucked. The script was poorly written and cheesy. The story jumped around a lot and made very little sense atNot good, in fact it's one of the worst movies I've seen in years. I hated it! The acting was horrible, basically every actor sucked. The script was poorly written and cheesy. The story jumped around a lot and made very little sense at times, which is strange because I was familiar with the story because I watched a little of the show. The fighting sequences were stupid. Some of the CGI was okay, but not good. I'm now a firm believer that M. Night Shyamalan will never have a comeback as this film is nothing but pure garbage. He can't handle directing a film even with good material being handed down to him. A complete shame and one of the absolute worst films of 2010. A dreadful, excruciating film to watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
NerdConsultantDec 18, 2014
I hate this movie. it's atrociously acted with terrible dialogue that concentrates on exposition rather than character, awful effects that for some reason have to be done in one take and a complete disregard to what made the source material.I hate this movie. it's atrociously acted with terrible dialogue that concentrates on exposition rather than character, awful effects that for some reason have to be done in one take and a complete disregard to what made the source material. this film really should have ended M. Night Shyamalan's career and rightfully so how dare he do this to one the greatest animated series of all time that so many still analyse and cherish to this day Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
MrMovieBuffMar 6, 2016
Writer and director, M. Night Shyamalan tries to prove that he's more than just eerie, atmospheric thrillers with twist endings, and tries to direct a fantasy spectacle based on the popular Nickelodeon TV series titled "Avatar: The LastWriter and director, M. Night Shyamalan tries to prove that he's more than just eerie, atmospheric thrillers with twist endings, and tries to direct a fantasy spectacle based on the popular Nickelodeon TV series titled "Avatar: The Last Airbender". Of course, the film itself had to be re-titled 'The Last Airbender' to avoid confusion with the 2009 Science fiction spectacle by James Cameron.

The "film" (the quotation marks are intentional) starts off where we meet a young girl named Katara (Nicola Peltz), who has the ability to control and manipulate water. We also meet her brother named Sokka (a very bland Jackson Rathbone) who has been left to look after his younger sister since their parents are not around anymore.

The two characters that we have been introduced to, but know nothing about, come across a big ice sculpture that seems to have a little boy trapped inside of it. This little boy turns out to be the legendary airbender named Aang (Noah Ringer), or as they like to call him... "Ung". They take him back to their civilization and try to learn all about him, he tells them as many stories as he can remember about his training and how he might just be the last of his people to do the many things he is able to do.

The main antagonist of this "film" is Prince Zuko (Dev Patel of 'Slumdog Millionaire') who is a part of the Fire Nation and is often guided by his uncle Iroh (Shaun Toub), who he sees as his sort of mentor.

The "film" is 103 minutes long, in other words, it is one of the shorter feature films out there in recent years. Most films tend to be told at a minimum run time of 120 minutes (depending on the genre). Despite how short this film is...I was sneaking looks at my watch almost every 10 minutes that this film was plodding on, and I can tell that the adults watching this with their children did this too, I'm also very certain that children were bored by this film as well, as you can tell with their fidgety behavior, they clearly have had enough.

The action is dull, the story plods along, the characters are bland and nobody should care for them because the screenplay (by M. Night Shyamalan) doesn't allow you to care for these characters. It also doesn't help that the acting, mainly from Nicola Peltz and Jackson Rathbone are awkward and stiff, the way they deliver their lines is really bad, even for child acting standards. Such as the scene, when Rathbone, as Sokka just looks at Aang with a forced surprised and confused look and asks "So...are you the Avatar, Aang?".

The dialogue is also almost poor to the quality of the "Star Wars" prequels, if you thought Hayden Christensen's explanation as to why he dislikes sand was bad enough, just wait until you see what Shyamalan has here. It makes 'Star Wars: Attack of the Clones' (2002) look like 'Star Wars: The Empire Strikes Back' (1980).

Another thing that this "film" does terribly is the fact that it glosses over so many things that the TV show explains and devotes full time to focus on. I understand that Shyamalan is trying to cram a whole series' worth of stories into a single 103 minute film, but less is more. Try and just fit a couple of episodes...

By the way, the ending is a tease for a sequel that we know is never going to happen.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
OfficialNov 13, 2013
What kind of awful crap was this? "The Last Airbender" is surely one of the dullest ever made in the history of filmmaking. I would recommend you to buy a pack of chips rather than pay for this boring and ridiculous junk. Also, if you haveWhat kind of awful crap was this? "The Last Airbender" is surely one of the dullest ever made in the history of filmmaking. I would recommend you to buy a pack of chips rather than pay for this boring and ridiculous junk. Also, if you have seen this in 3-D, this is probably the worst use of 3-D ever. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
Iky009Jan 6, 2014
Um dos filmes trágicos do cinema
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
oblique15Jan 5, 2014
Wow was this movie a disappointment! The whole movie felt rushed! I think that was the biggest problem with the Last Airbender. This should be made into a series so they can get into the story better, but instead everything is thrown into oneWow was this movie a disappointment! The whole movie felt rushed! I think that was the biggest problem with the Last Airbender. This should be made into a series so they can get into the story better, but instead everything is thrown into one movie. If this movie is the first time you`re learning about these characters you will not care for them.I use to watch the show and that was so much better on every level. The Trailer sure got me excited, but man did it fail.I guess if you have no expectations it is an alright movie, but for the rest of us it fails hard! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
KadeemluvmusicJun 14, 2014
I don't know what the hell is up with Shyamalan recently. I think The Last Airbender is a career killer for sure and to that I'd say good luck making more crappy movies. Adding insult to injury, I hated this movie and After Earth as well. II don't know what the hell is up with Shyamalan recently. I think The Last Airbender is a career killer for sure and to that I'd say good luck making more crappy movies. Adding insult to injury, I hated this movie and After Earth as well. I found The Last Airbender guilty for laughable bad acting (including Dev Petel's awful performance), lame CGI effects, tasteless plot segments, no character development, and a blatant excuse of storytelling that none of the fans from the TV series "Avatar: The Last Airbender" couldn't find the film actually makes sense. It's true that the series have ended for 4 seasons, but I hope Nickelodeon should stick to family-oriented movies and promised they should not and will not make a "Legend of Korra" movie. There's no way in hell I'm going to see another rotten attempt by Moron Night Shyamalan ever again. Bar none, The Last Airbender is one of the worst movies that your mom just warned you about. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
asylumspadezNov 26, 2011
One of the worst films you will ever see. Terrible acting, A poor script that made absolutely no sense, and it tried to cram an entire season filled with countless details into a poor 2 hour film. This is absolute trash.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
DuckNationMay 25, 2014
Not so sure how M. Night Shyamalan dropped the ball on this one but i guess his last couple movies before were not that great either so i couldn't expect anything else. I seen the the trailer for this when i was at the movie theater not sureNot so sure how M. Night Shyamalan dropped the ball on this one but i guess his last couple movies before were not that great either so i couldn't expect anything else. I seen the the trailer for this when i was at the movie theater not sure what movie i was seeing. Anyways it wasn't that bad of a trailer i was kinda hyped for it. Then it came out and was just slammed by critics and fans so i just never got around to watching it.

Just about a week ago i finished watching the television series fully for the first time and wow this film is nothing like the show. while this movie is only based off of (book one: water) They had changed so much it left me wondering how they thought they could do better then the already existing source material. With changing the pronunciation of some characters names to even changing the where some of the story is based at.

The acting just makes it even worse with emotionless expressions and horrible dialog that doesn't get better throughout it's just painful to watch. The pace of the film was just terrible to say the lest felt like the story was being rushed and it was just making me mad. I was 50 minutes into the film and it felt like i knew nothing about any of the characters the connection between all of the characters was nothing like it was in the show.

Overrall this film was JUST HORRIBLE i give it a 0.1 i don't plan to watch this movie ever again in fact im sticking it in my box of old movies to give away because this is just unforgivable M. Knight will never come back from ruining this masterful television show
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
ryancarroll88Aug 26, 2010
"The Last Airbender" places an almost unprecedented burden on fanboys and casual moviegoers alike to ignore its terrible acting and dialogue, its simultaneously forced and incomprehensible plot, its horrendous editing and camerawork, and its"The Last Airbender" places an almost unprecedented burden on fanboys and casual moviegoers alike to ignore its terrible acting and dialogue, its simultaneously forced and incomprehensible plot, its horrendous editing and camerawork, and its dull and uninteresting characters in order to enjoy this would-be epic. Good luck, and may this be the last movie that M. Night Shyamalan ever makes. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
2
gameguardian21Mar 20, 2016
Never seen the original tv show, but I know how bad this movie is. Its got nothing to achieve except the movie that got a oscar for being the worst tv to movie adaptation of all time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
Forrestgump1Oct 9, 2010
"Last Airbender was such a rushed messed , it goes to quickly tho the action scenes were pretty neat , it could not save , these terrible performances , Awful script , and Laughable Dialogue ,One of the worst films released this year" .. F
12 of 16 users found this helpful124
All this user's reviews
2
smijatovJul 27, 2011
Sometimes one goes into a film with some preconceived notions about it due to critics' reactions, and with "The Last Airbender" those notions get re-affirmed after watching the film. This is, surely, the worst film I've seen in the last year.Sometimes one goes into a film with some preconceived notions about it due to critics' reactions, and with "The Last Airbender" those notions get re-affirmed after watching the film. This is, surely, the worst film I've seen in the last year. It is impressively bad on so many levels! The screenplay was simply atrocious, with horrible dialogue and plot. Stunningly badly written. Another stunningly bad thing was the acting. Honestly, this had some of the worst acting I've seen on a major motion picture ever. It is TV-action-flick level of badness, which says a lot. The visual effects and art direction might be the highlight of the film, but even those are not that spectacular. At times, the film would remind me of the awkward cinematography of "The Golden Compass" and this feeling that the film is just too theatrical and "set up," instead of feeling more realistic, like other highly visual effect heavy films have managed, such as The Lord of the Rings, Harry Potter, or Avatar. I could go on and on about how bad the film is. It is a pity that it ended up being so bad, since it was obvious Shyamalan was planning a sequel (or maybe a trilogy - those are popular nowadays, it seems). Something tells me that that (luckily for the audiences) won't be happening any time soon. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
ArkonBladeDec 3, 2010
ive never seen the cartoon show and didnt even know about it till a year ago and still havent and after seeing this film i doubt i will ever want to. the tv show im sure is better but this film left such a bad taste for this series. well theive never seen the cartoon show and didnt even know about it till a year ago and still havent and after seeing this film i doubt i will ever want to. the tv show im sure is better but this film left such a bad taste for this series. well the worst thing about this film is the acting it feels like a middle school play and i feel like thats almost giving this film praise saying that. the worst of it is from the 3 kids whos acting is so bad in this you can bet they will never do films again and if they are lucky may appear on some crappy sci fi channel film or on life time . the plot is poorly told the charicters are about as intresting as waching grass grow . the only good thing this film has is lush back grounds and visaul effects . the fighting is laughable with every one dancing around like abunch of retards trying to hump a door knob. M night shamallamadingdong one again proves he's a **** director and some how got lucky with the 6th sense and unbreakable.. probubly because he had good actors to carry his sorry ass. evade this film like its got herpese. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
TheWalrus2000Mar 9, 2013
Nobody knows who Shyamalan is any more......
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
wishmasterJan 2, 2011
omfg ... this was the worst I saw in 2010, was a total loss of my money at the movies, I'ma fan of the anime which was extracted the script of the movie and I take the disappointment of my life when I saw this **** totally disgusting
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
DarkCriticOct 12, 2010
This movie is so horrible that it considered a bad movie! The Last Airbender is hateful movie that the Avatar fans will discover that this pile of diarhea will be hated this movie and it;s nothing based on the hit series on Nickelodeon,it'sThis movie is so horrible that it considered a bad movie! The Last Airbender is hateful movie that the Avatar fans will discover that this pile of diarhea will be hated this movie and it;s nothing based on the hit series on Nickelodeon,it's almost as bad as Dragonball Evolution! I'M NOT KIDDING! The cast was so bad,they even have a laughable dialogue and they sorted suck when they speak like Jake Loyd in Star Wars,Episode I. The characters are again NOT so suppose to be white,it's suppose to be asain!The story is horrendous and the visual effects looks good,but where's the movie lead to you for any bad dialogue what they said. The fight scenes are ripping off in any movies like The Matrix,Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon,and many more martial arts films that they put on and I'm so shame that M. Night Shyamalan did this movie so bad that it's even more bad like The Happening! What go wrong about this movie,even children will discover that they like,but please I guess this movie wouldn't get any good like this. Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
1
J-ShapAug 25, 2011
How can you begin to describe the many ways in which this film sucks? Never in history of movies has their been a fall as meteoric as M. Night Shyamalan, a director who began the decade being called the new **** and ends it by making The LastHow can you begin to describe the many ways in which this film sucks? Never in history of movies has their been a fall as meteoric as M. Night Shyamalan, a director who began the decade being called the new **** and ends it by making The Last Airbender, a movie that is a failure on every level you can think of. The acting is wooden, the casting is offensive (why are all the good guys white, and all the bad guys Asian, when it was clearly the other way around in the show), the effects are horrible, the plot makes no sense, the whimsy or excitement of a fantasy world is completely absent, and above all things, it is mind-numbingly dull. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
jeff_reviewsJul 4, 2013
While "Avatar: The Last Airbender" remains one of my favorite shows of all time it was just heartbreaking to watch "The Last Airbender" movie. Characters portrayed in the shows were performed so differently in the movie, and although thisWhile "Avatar: The Last Airbender" remains one of my favorite shows of all time it was just heartbreaking to watch "The Last Airbender" movie. Characters portrayed in the shows were performed so differently in the movie, and although this does not affect my score, it did affect my thoughts on the film. The film was rushed, little to no humor, and felt dark in tone in general, which did not benefit the film. The acting was horrible, and it left little to no impressions on the characters in the film. While the television show brought a bright and smiling personality, even with a sinister villain, the movie turned darker to appeal to an older audience, which doesn't work at all. Visuals are great however, and it was the only thing in the film that made me interested during the rushed action scenes. I guess, more time in the film was needed to make this any better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
MarkMusicMar 18, 2013
I almost gave this film a one for the special effects but no even though they were the only thing good in the movie. First M. Night Shamalamadingdong has no idea what the phrase "Good movie" means, I bet he's never been to a theater and seenI almost gave this film a one for the special effects but no even though they were the only thing good in the movie. First M. Night Shamalamadingdong has no idea what the phrase "Good movie" means, I bet he's never been to a theater and seen a person walk out of his movie and say anything positive. This was a disgrace to "Avatar: The Last Airbender". Second, for the character Ang or how M. Night F***ed it up Ung. He hired a complete unknown for the soul reason he looked like Ang. I could understand taking auditions from people online but just because they look like them. It would've been better to hire me a BLACK GUY, and It would still be better because I know ever episode. Third. He basically took the TV show script "Katara: We have to do something. Ang: I agree" and basically did this "Ang: We have to do something. Katara: I agree" he blatintly switched characters lines to other characters. He filmed a scene and didnt even show it. The fact that this movie has a 2.9 out of 10 still amazes me. M. Night you can't make movies. Literally everyone in the theater went "Uhhhhhhhhhhhh" when his name appeared on screen. The Sixth Sense, what he wore the same clothes throughout the movie, The Happening was alright but dumb. Devil surprisingly was good, so I looked it up he produced it, not wrote or directed it that's why it was good. M. Night please stop directing and writing, and I swear to God if you come out with "The Last Aairbender 2" I will probably burn down the theater, watch the news. 16 year old kid attempted arisen to save the eyes of movie goers. I'd probably get and award. Oops, M. Night encase you didn't know what that means it's something you get for doing something GOOD. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
JmsbppJul 15, 2013
El ultimo maestro del aire es una mezcla de cine malo y un gran error de este buen director así como hay muy buenas peliculas de este sobresale esta pero de lo mala.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
AwesomeReviewerMar 26, 2012
â
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
tjman09Mar 31, 2015
I only hate a few movies, and this is one of them. The Last Airbender took my favorite show from when I was a kid, and might as well have taken a huge dump on it. When you consider the show's near perfection, and the fact that the movie isI only hate a few movies, and this is one of them. The Last Airbender took my favorite show from when I was a kid, and might as well have taken a huge dump on it. When you consider the show's near perfection, and the fact that the movie is the polar opposite, as almost nothing goes right it's amazing. From the terribly written and wooden dialogue, to complete lack of fun that made the show so enjoyable, and the 90 minute run time to cover 13 half hour episodes. Needless to say I hate this movie to the core. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews