User Score
2.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 604 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 6, 2011
    8
    I really enjoyed this movie, while it doesn't have the same emotional power that the anime had, and some cheesy moments, it's still a great movie, the characters are extremely well interpreted, I'm also glad they didn't use the Aang and Katara relationship, and I hope they don't, looking forward to the next movie.
  2. Feb 28, 2011
    1
    TNot only considered the worst adaptation of a cartoon series, b ut also the worst martial arts film ever. Not only is it a butchering for fans but also non-fans will find not only everything wrong but also a poo man's recap of the first season. The dialogue is dumb, the acting is unwhelming, the 3D is a joke. Not to mention that its getting a sequel of a planned trilogy.
  3. Feb 24, 2011
    10
    Very awkward dialogue and pretty terrible acting, it was good that they atleast kept the story true to the actual cartoon. Aside from the compacted story it was quite lacking in all areas.
  4. Feb 14, 2011
    10
    Didn't read the book or watched the cartoons, but the movie is awesome. I'm sure that this rating isn't correct there are way, way, worse movies out there. Stop hating the M.Night movies, they're all good.
  5. Jan 26, 2011
    0
    The Last Airbender, thanks to its horrendous screenplay and dialogue, horrible special effects, 3D that is just as bad as Clash of the Titans, bad acting, and horrible fan service, it is one of the worst movies of the year! It is also the worst movie of the decade so far. Even if you are a fan of the Nick show, skip this movie and you will not regret it!
  6. Jan 22, 2011
    5
    M. Night Shylaman does it again! That is not a good thing. If I were not a fan of the original series, this would be a 2 or a 3. He absoulutley ruined a potentially great movie. The acting was not awful, but the dialouge sure was!! Honestly I didn't know why people made a big deal in the casting when they should be concerned in who is directing and writing this THING!!! It doesn't make sense and it was rushed. And I don't understand why they made the film dark and humourless, yet still wanted to stay within a PG rating? That's like making Terminator happy and G rated or Despicable Me dark and R rated!!! There are a few pros though. For starters the special effects are beautifully done and Dev Patel and Noah Ringer showed they can carry the role into a future film ( if there is one). The story also has alot of potential if they just lighten it up and take their time in developing their characters. It also wouldn't hurt to fix up the dialouge. If by some miracle they do make a sequel, they should dump ShylaBAD for ruining a potentially great first in a planned trilogy. Expand
  7. Jan 18, 2011
    9
    I watched the entire show, also this movie, so I'll try to give my best to make a reasonable comparison, if it's possible. By first, I don't think is a non-sense movie, is not fair to compare a movie intended to get attetion not only for children but for adults too. Of course the expected in this case is to find what we found: a more ''serious and... why not? dark movie''. So, al least for me, is not an excuse to say it's worthless to be seen because it doesn't keep the humor of the TV show. In second place, we cannot say that the characters are not ''well-performed'' because is just a movie which tries to get the best of a full season! Come on! It is really unfair to say it's bad because of this! I've seen enough for a first movie... we have to let Night S. at least explore the characters deeper along the trilogy, not to ''make a wall''... In 3rd place... I don't know you guys but the martial arts scenes, when they're practising... the movements are really amazing!! They give a really nice sensation of peace all around... And... well, what else i can say? To be objective... Night is neither Clint Eastwood nor Steven Spielberg... but he has a really good career... with he's own personality... movies like Signs, Village and Sixth Sense are all movies of suspense... non-conventional and in a way of thinking... odd... but he's gaining personality, he lives his watermark in every each of them... if i say ''he is bad'' because of this... whoever could say ''Tim Burton is a bad director because of he's darky madness'' but... c'mon! Tim Burton has gone way too far of the expected madness, is brillant! And Night is good for me too, neither the best nor the worst. And TL Airbender is a nice movie, well adapted for it's lengh and with nice Sound Score (James Newton Howard) and efects. What was not really good was the 3D effect, since it was not though for it... but released 3D anyway. Expand
  8. Jan 2, 2011
    1
    omfg ... this was the worst I saw in 2010, was a total loss of my money at the movies, I'ma fan of the anime which was extracted the script of the movie and I take the disappointment of my life when I saw this **** totally disgusting
  9. Gix
    Dec 22, 2010
    0
    Awful,just awful. everything from acting,story, cgi, all of it was just awful. the names are wrong,the bios's for the main cast is wrong. In short this movie has nothing to do with the show at all, its like m. Night really hated the show and set out to destroy it and he did a good job of trashing everything that is Avatar.
  10. Dec 13, 2010
    1
    Has M. Night Shyamalan done it again? No, no he hasn't. Or actually if I look at it from a different point of view, maybe I can say that he has done it again. Based off of his last few movies, which were huge disappointments, The Last Airbender certainly followed suit. With a spectacular trailer and a well-written cartoon series to back it up, it was sad to see that the great storyteller, Shyamalan, did a horrible job at telling the story of The Last Airbender.

    Read full review at FlicksWorthWatching.com
    Expand
  11. Dec 11, 2010
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. After watching this movie i can now say that M. night shama-whatever should quit making movies. it is truly that awful. I'm a huge fan of the avatar series, and before watching it i knew it would be bad, but what i didn't think it would be this bad. for one thing they misrepresented the intentions of the fire nation when they started the war. the Kioshi warriors were completely absent from the movie. none of the character really felt like they should, they included the blue spirit (a character established in the third book), and the fire benders couldn't make fire from their chi like they could in the cartoon. instead they had to bend an existing flame. for the normal viewer who wouldn't care abut these or notice, the movie still has horrible pacing and dialog, the original series had wonderful and very natural dialog but the movies dialog is awkward and poorly paced. the acting was also awe full because half the time the actors seemed uninterested and the rest of the time they were just standing awkwardly. especially the fire bender soldiers, they would just stand around awkwardly attacking the air until it was their turn to get there butt kicked by one of the protagonists. so if your a fan don't expect any sort of fan fair, or general accuracy. if you have never watched the show then you may sightly enjoy the movie however even if it was disconnected from the Avatar franchise, its still not a good movie. in all if you think you might be interested in the Avatar series go rent the DVD's. Expand
  12. Dec 6, 2010
    0
    awful. he changes it from the original awesome series to this shamalayandingdong piece of #$@. stays tru to the series very few times. i hope he will not disgrace the awesome series by nmaking another piece of crap movie.
  13. Dec 6, 2010
    8
    I have never seen the cartoon so I knew nothing about this story before I watched the movie, however, I had read several of the reviews here on metacritic prior to seeing this film (yes, I watched it anyway!). I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised, I fully expected to dis-like this movie and consider it a waste of time but it was much better than most of these reviews would make you believe. Perhaps if I was a fan of the series I would have found more fault with it but I thought that the visuals were awesome at times, I liked the story, it was kind of like Lord of the rings of the "elements world", albeit not nearly as good! I do wish that the movie had been about another half hour in length because it did feel a bit rushed at times as if the story was moving very fast and giving you just the basics. I did not have a big problem with the acting, not Oscar caliber but not bad either. I was partially motivated to see this movie because I have a 3D television, so I bought the 3D blu-ray, It had some of the best 3D visuals that I have seen yet, they really tried to take advantage of the technology and did a great job. If you just want be swept into a mystic fantasy world with a good story and some fantastic visuals I don't think that you would be disappointed. If you are a die-hard fan of the series then I have no idea! I'm looking forward to the next one to see how the story progress's. Expand
  14. Dec 4, 2010
    2
    Wow, poor acting, worse dialogue just an overall terrible film. The movie had a TON of potential, yet it lacked just about anything to make it worthy outside of it's concept. Whoever casted and wrote the dialogue in the film should be shot. They made Hayden Christianson(Anakin Skywalker) look smooth in speech.
  15. Dec 3, 2010
    3
    ive never seen the cartoon show and didnt even know about it till a year ago and still havent and after seeing this film i doubt i will ever want to. the tv show im sure is better but this film left such a bad taste for this series. well the worst thing about this film is the acting it feels like a middle school play and i feel like thats almost giving this film praise saying that. the worst of it is from the 3 kids whos acting is so bad in this you can bet they will never do films again and if they are lucky may appear on some crappy sci fi channel film or on life time . the plot is poorly told the charicters are about as intresting as waching grass grow . the only good thing this film has is lush back grounds and visaul effects . the fighting is laughable with every one dancing around like abunch of retards trying to hump a door knob. M night shamallamadingdong one again proves he's a **** director and some how got lucky with the 6th sense and unbreakable.. probubly because he had good actors to carry his sorry ass. evade this film like its got herpese. Expand
  16. Nov 29, 2010
    0
    While I respect M. Shyamalan's talents, I've got to say this is the worst film of 2010 (I bet nothing will top it). It will win the Razzie Awards, but its box office is so huge that they are going to make a sequel! No need for a big review. While the effects are quite good, I hated the acting and everything else about it. This is just like a Disney TV show with good effects. It is nowhere good enough to be in the big screen, yet people still come to check it out. The Last Airbender is by the far worst film of the decade and M. Shyamalan is the worst director of the decade for creating this film. Expand
  17. Nov 26, 2010
    0
    Wow M. Night really messed up on this one. I saw no parts similar to the series in the movie. Oh and that wall of water was like the worlds biggest psych out! Hope they don't do book two.
  18. Nov 22, 2010
    2
    It is really depressing that something like this could have come out of such enjoyable source material. There is good intent, but that is about it. Save yourself some time and watch that.
  19. Nov 22, 2010
    1
    I guess you cant expect anything less from M Night Shayamalan, whos movies continue to get even worse as his carreer moves along. I dont think that he should quit the movie biz, i just think he should stop writting and directing movies peroid!
  20. Nov 19, 2010
    0
    Do they hire people to give this movie a score of above 0? I thought Dragonball Evolution was brutal, but its actually not that bad compared to this POS.
  21. Nov 19, 2010
    1
    Such an amazing series that has been denigrated into such an overblown poorly directly heap of rubbish. I just hope that the creators of the original Avatar series (Michael Dante DiMartino and Bryan Konietzko) never watch this as it would make me cry seeing something that was so great be destroyed by frankly, a pretty crappy film maker. Watch at your own peril as it will make you want to scream, not with delight and joy, but pure pain and frustration! Expand
  22. Nov 19, 2010
    1
    I like watching the series on Nickelodeon but this movie was just so boring and I know it wasn't to long but it felt like it. I hope that if they make a sequel is better than the first one.
  23. Nov 18, 2010
    2
    Wrong score on first review oops
    If you are unfamiliar with the movies source material, the Animate series of a similar name this movie will have little to offer you ; If you are familliar or even a fan however, it will have plenty to offer, unfortunately all of it's offerings are bad. First off, I do want to give an honorable acknowledgement to the special effects in the move as well as
    trying to stay somewhat close to the story, one can understand that sacrifices have to be made to take a full season of a series into a one sitting movie timeframe. What kills the movie however is the acting, Bad diologue bad choreography, just about every name is mispronounced which to an extent is understandable perhaps if the source is either in a foreign language or a book but not if the source is in the movies originating language and has already established such things. Also the story is very shallow and some scenes such as a segment where the main character and their friend are practicing water bending stances (based off of tai chi) you can tell that they are supposed to be in sync with each other but are fare from it. All in all, at best this movie could be accepted as a very well done fan movie done by a third party with some of the best special effects programs available to the public, but when one considers that this is published and backed by major production companies, all of this films shortcomings are unacceptable. I find it to be hard to believe that this movie can leave a positive impression on any viewer, fan or not Expand
  24. Nov 17, 2010
    7
    I took my son, who is a big fan of the cartoon, to see it and was not expecting to like it at all. I was pleasantly surprised. True, in the cartoon the Aang character is more of a free-spirit, but I found it somewhat exciting and well executed, and the special effects were quite good. While not academy award quality, it was family friendly entertainment.
  25. Nov 16, 2010
    1
    Couldn't even sit through it. Just plain terrible. It's disappointing to me especially because the cartoon was so good. Way to ruin it. I didn't think something so bad could be made from this.
  26. Nov 6, 2010
    3
    This movie could have been good, but it leaves out waaayyy too much of the story, so there was no way to develop the characters as well as the plot jumps around, plus the acting is only so-so. If they had another hour or two, they could have patched something together that made sense, and if you haven't seen the series, you'll have no clue what's going on. The kid they chose for Ang wasn't bad, though, and the special effects were pretty decent. If you've watched the cartoon series and you're a fan, you're better off skipping this. I take that back - it's probably a good idea for everyone to skip this! Expand
  27. Nov 3, 2010
    9
    a movie with many holes partlly because M. Night did really care about it he just wanted to make money. the special affects really saved this movie big time. and the acting and dialoge really improved in the 2nd half of the movie.
  28. Oct 18, 2010
    2
    The only reason this movie gets a 2 is because of the speical effects. It doesn't show the good and evil in Zuko, it has poor acting, to many movements before any bending is done (you could get smacked in the face before ang can use any air attacks) and how can Indians be portrayed as the bad guys ? Indians are not evil enough, nor strong. Bad casting, bad scripting and bad acting with good speical effect doesn't make for a good movie Expand
  29. Oct 12, 2010
    0
    This movie is so horrible that it considered a bad movie! The Last Airbender is hateful movie that the Avatar fans will discover that this pile of diarhea will be hated this movie and it;s nothing based on the hit series on Nickelodeon,it's almost as bad as Dragonball Evolution! I'M NOT KIDDING! The cast was so bad,they even have a laughable dialogue and they sorted suck when they speak like Jake Loyd in Star Wars,Episode I. The characters are again NOT so suppose to be white,it's suppose to be asain!The story is horrendous and the visual effects looks good,but where's the movie lead to you for any bad dialogue what they said. The fight scenes are ripping off in any movies like The Matrix,Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon,and many more martial arts films that they put on and I'm so shame that M. Night Shyamalan did this movie so bad that it's even more bad like The Happening! What go wrong about this movie,even children will discover that they like,but please I guess this movie wouldn't get any good like this. Expand
  30. Oct 11, 2010
    2
    Great visuals. Decent Story. Horrible dialogue! I would say take the risk just to see the visuals and be submerged in this world but I can't just because the dialogue (and maybe the acting?) is just that bad. There's no justification for the horrible dialogue given how clever, witty, and funny the animated series is. So disappointed.
  31. Oct 9, 2010
    1
    "Last Airbender was such a rushed messed , it goes to quickly tho the action scenes were pretty neat , it could not save , these terrible performances , Awful script , and Laughable Dialogue ,One of the worst films released this year" .. F
  32. Oct 3, 2010
    0
    I believe Shyamalan should stop doing films, the acting was something more than bad and the dialogs is not meant for peoples brain, I'm starting believe the sixth sense is not he's film
  33. Oct 2, 2010
    0
    I feel sad when I read that M. Night actually has children and they watched the series together. He has just managed to destroy the series with a single blow.
  34. Sep 27, 2010
    10
    This is a fantastic movie. It really touched me. But then ... I did not see the cartoon. I had no problems following the course of events, as feared by other critics on this page. I would have loved to see a longer lasting film though - so I could enjoy more. I think the critics suffer from the déjà-vu-syndrome. They compare it with the experience they had before (with the cartoon) and can be nothing less but disappointed. Apparently the characters are different from the cartoon. So what? M. Night has obviously written his own story on it, which only adds surplus in stead of breakdown. Again: this is a fantastic movie. Can't wait for the sequels. Expand
  35. Sep 27, 2010
    4
    I took my ten year old daughter to see this. She does Karate and she likes fantasy, explosions and swords. She gives it an 8. For her I think the fact that the acting and screenplay is really cringeworthy in many places eludes her. On the other hand I have to admit to being really bored and just kind of embarassed for the actors. I'm sure many of them have a lot more potential. Some of the special effects and action sequences are really very good, and I can see that Shyamalan had a lot of potential with the intellectual property, but I really think he just couldn't pull it together. Honestly it's like watching a train wreck in 3D animation, but slowed down to 1/60th time. You just want it to be over. If there is an obvious 'reason' for such a flop I think I saw it in the end credits "Written, Directed, and Produced by M. Night Shyamalan". His ego has him wearing one (or two) too many hats. This is a movie that you could wait to see on DVD if you have kids that like the cartoon or the idea, or not at all if you don't. Expand
  36. Sep 17, 2010
    0
    Poor M. Night, his carrear as one of the best directors of our time is falling like a shooted duck. The Last Aribender is bad. Bad as the hopes of that duck. The acting is outrageous bad, the story is depressing awful written, the 3D is inexistent and the plot is nothing more then ridiculous. The visuals are alright thou, but tiring and inexpressive. So, save your money or if you really want to give a try, go see it in 2D, doesn't make any difference. Expand
  37. Sep 11, 2010
    0
    I'm an idiot. Getting fooled in because I am such a fan of the cartoon. This is one of the worst films I have ever seen in my life. Alienating, boring, effortless and lifeless which by any means never do any justice to the cartoon show. The acting and dialogue is horrendous, the editing is awkward, the characters are boring, being badly written, the script is pathetic and the plot is completely rushed. Avoid it. It sucks. Expand
  38. Sep 10, 2010
    0
    Right after Enemy Mine, this is second worst movie I've ever seen. Hell, this is the second worst thing I've ever seen. Film students should study this film just so they can learn what not to do. That isn't an exaggeration. I hope people in VFS and TFS study this and that way at least this movie does some good.

    I can only hope that this will be the last The Last Airbender movie we ever
    see from M. Night. Expand
  39. Sep 6, 2010
    1
    I went to see this movie with my friends and it was completely different than any of our expectations. The character's dialog was really wierd and the only good part of the movie were the effects. The story was very boring and was not worth the $12
  40. Aug 31, 2010
    2
    Good intentions, BAD results. As everybody knows, every movie based on a video-game (Street Fighter, Mortal Kombat, KOF, etc) or animated series (Dragon Ball: Evolution, The Last Airbender, etc) is a total waste of money. Personally, I'd prefer the crappy animated 3D versions than the Live-action movies.

    The collapse of the M. Night Shyamalan project called "The Last Airbender" was
    previewed since the movie trailers. And be honest, if you'll make a movie based in an awarded cartoon like Avatar: The Legend of Aang, the very first thing to do (as an advice) is to respect the originality of the series, books or video games that you're planning to make. Mr. Shyamalan is a good director but he needs co-work with the nickelodeon producers or a bunch of fans of this animated series.

    Greetings.
    Expand
  41. Aug 30, 2010
    2
    Shyamalan tries to gain an audience with a movie that is off of an already successful story. But this doesnt do the show justice at all. As a huge, and I mean huge, fan of the series, this was a big let down. But I'll use the pros and cons method to express my feelings. Pros: Action, Effects. Cons: Laughable Dialogue, Bad Acting (for the most part, Dev Patel did great), Name Changes, Takes itself way too seriously (they're kids, why aren't they having fun? no comedic relief?), Jasper ruined my favorite character of the series. and what gets me angry is that people will think the series is bad. It is not. so overrall, this movie is bad. and it's hard that it's from the guy who directed and wrote The Sixth Sense. Expand
  42. Aug 29, 2010
    8
    The show is much better...but still the movie wasn't that far behind. Of course things were left out and some others were changed, but the story was still there and it was pretty accurate. Aang and Sokka could have been at least more fun and less serious, but I still enjoyed the movie. And hey in cartoons it's easy to do whatever you want, but in movies not so easy...
  43. Aug 26, 2010
    0
    "The Last Airbender" places an almost unprecedented burden on fanboys and casual moviegoers alike to ignore its terrible acting and dialogue, its simultaneously forced and incomprehensible plot, its horrendous editing and camerawork, and its dull and uninteresting characters in order to enjoy this would-be epic. Good luck, and may this be the last movie that M. Night Shyamalan ever makes.
  44. Aug 21, 2010
    10
    as a fan of the series i can say that i enjoyed it and even if i didnt i still wouldnt say it was the worst movie ever because there are way worse movies out there
  45. Aug 17, 2010
    7
    From its simple, but horrendous dialog to its overly exposited story the Last Airbender delivers a fairly different approach in its effects department, considering what we've seen in the past for fantasy films. Though, teen to adult fans will be disappointed when viewing this film, but young fans will enjoy, because they can easily relate to the dialog. It's the most faithful film I've seen in years that has taken something from an animated show to a film and have it recognizable. This is a kids epic movie, an 100% kids epic movie. Expand
  46. Aug 16, 2010
    0
    It seems like this film might end up as the next Battlefield Earth. Battlefield Earth, which was released at the beginning of the last decade, went on to be the worst film of that decade. The Last Airbender, which was released at the beginning of this decade, WILL be the worst film of the decade.
  47. Aug 15, 2010
    9
    After seeing this movie this weekend I was astounded to come onto Metacritic and see the horrible ratings for it. You should all be ashamed of yourselves! M. Night is the most visionary director in Hollywood. I was never a fan of the first film but for M. Night to get a sequel of Avatar out so fast (within a year) astounded me! This movie reminded me nothing of the garbage of the first film directed by James Cameron. The script took the Na'Vii out of the picture completely and replaced them with a beautiful bald child who controls the wind. I wouldn't have changed a thing about this movie other than that I was a little confused how this was connected to the first film. See it anyways, it is fantastic! Expand
  48. Aug 15, 2010
    7
    ok so it might not be as good as some of his films.although there are many plot holes and it started a bit slow it did have its good moments. the story line is much different from the original animated series, but with limited screen time it would be hard to fit in all of the details and in many ways the story line was much more believable.
  49. Aug 15, 2010
    8
    I watched this twice, the first was a stinker, bad acting, wooden dialogue, incoherent story and worst still I fell asleep but only because the whole film track seemed completely out of sync. The second time I watched it was like night and day, coherent, more facial detail, great and sometimes very beautiful visuals. What happened? don't know, all I know is the movie turned out to be rather good, some weakness in the casting but the lead was excellent. I read reviews at IMDB as well as here and what do I find? the first 30 pages, yes that's THIRTY is dedicated solely to one star reviews, that's 1/10. Don't know about you but doesn't that seem just a bit strange and curious. I hope M.Knight Shayamalan continues to make movies and the sequel because he is still one of the few to bring innovation to the Fantasy/Horror/Scifi genre. Expand
  50. Aug 14, 2010
    3
    I'm being more than a little generous. The movie is the logical extreme of what movies like Avatar have wrought. Excellent aesthetics, absolutely atrocious acting. The movie is a butchering of the cartoon, with horrible, awkward dialogue, a plot consisting mostly of exposition, and flat characters with very little to like.
    The sad thing is that the cartoon is one of the best written and
    intelligent children's shows in recent memory, yet it gets adapted into a horrific film. If you like the cartoon, watch it for a laugh. If you never watched the cartoon, keep this movie off your list. Expand
  51. Aug 14, 2010
    1
    In my opinion, this movie is a polished turd. The polishing is the neat look. But if you polish a turd, its still a smelly turd. I can't believe how bad M. Night screwed up. He was good years ago, but now he sucks. If he just directed it and didn't write it, it would be good. But his writing really sucks! Its like a two-year old wrote it!! Im a huge fan of the show, and M.Night's writing really screwed it. First, whats with the wrong pronounciation!! Second, the writing is so rushed that they don't have room for any little millimeter of soul or heart. Finally, there's horrible acting, laughable dialouge, bad 3-D, and dissapointing action. Whether you're a fan of the show or not, skip this movie!!! Expand
  52. Aug 13, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Yes I liked it and I'd like too see the second book but it could have been better.... ... Expand
  53. Aug 12, 2010
    6
    I viewed this film with all expectations wiped from my mind, knowing that the animation is so successful and the majority that had already seen the film spoke poisonously of it. Regarding that, I didn't think it was as bad as everybody seems to have expressed. As a movie, it wasn't at the highest quality, with cringe-worthy acting at times, cheap-looking computer effects and heavy, excitable bending movements. However, apart from that, it wasn't bad at all (or at least, would be extremely impressive if it were a university project or television drama). I enjoyed seeing the characters in a different medium and saw it merely as a bit of light entertainment; and with no pressurizing expectations, that to me wasn't a problem. The story was fast-paced, a bit blunt and at times confusing, but apart from that I found some of the changes from the original interesting and liked seeing the flash-backs in to characters' pasts. I also liked the small changes, such as Yue's change of hair colour as she was converted spiritually, Azula's peevish and more-like-her-age appearance and the different but balanced pair that was Iroh and Zuko, who I found showed better acting skill than most of the cast. Sokka was okay too, but I think Iroh won the prize for best actor among the others, who mostly looked as if they could have come from an ameture but very successful drama group. M. Night Shalalalaman had a big challenge to write, produce and direct a 1 1/2 hour movie and fit 20 episodes-worth into it. The outcome was successful and I really enjoyed viewing The Last Airbender, but I wouldn't be surprised if some of the crew had worked on the likes of Power Rangers in the past as well. It had potential to be better if the director hadn't taken on so much responsibility individually, but even if it could have been better, what is there is good enough for me! Expand
  54. Aug 11, 2010
    6
    I was skeptical when I heard M. Night was directing it. The movie wasn't "bad" but the story just seem so rushed. If you never seen the cartoon series you would be completely lost to what was going on and who any of the characters are. While the acting wasn't the great, it was on par with just about every other child actor in any other movie I've seen. I just hope this doesn't kill any chances of more Airbender movies being made,get a new director and new writers and this movie series could rival the Harry Potter series if done right. Expand
  55. Aug 11, 2010
    1
    Long ago in a forgotten land there were four nations Earth, Air, Fire and Water the four fabled nations lived in peace and harmony with one another that is until the ruthless and power hungry fire nation declared war on the three other nations. Only the fabled AVATAR the master of all four elements could stop them but when he was needed the most he vanished, for a hundred years, the Fire nation ruled thinking that the only threat that had the power to defeat them was long deceased. That is until a young water-bender from the Southern water tribe and he smart mouth brother find a young boy trapped in ice they soon find out to be the new AVATAR a young air-bender named Aang who is the three nations last hope of saving there world from the dominate fire nation. In 1999 a young up and coming director by the name of M. Night Shyamalan directed his first big budget film to critical and commercial success that film is called "The Sixth Sense" which today still stands as the highest grossing horror movie in history grossing 293 million dollars domestically and 672 million dollars making it not only the highest grossing horror film domestically but he highest grossing horror film worldwide a feat that no other film of the genre has been able to surpass to this day. Shyamalan then followed his huge success with the equally impressive "Unbreakable"(2000), Shyamalan's take on the superhero tale and although "Unbreakable" lacked the mind blowing twist ending of "The Sixth Sense" it is still one of his most ingenious and thought provoking works. Then two years later Shyamalan tackled the frequently told tale of visitors from another world with "Signs"(2002) using his signature flare and stark storytelling to create his finest work since his breakout film "The Sixth Sense.â Expand
  56. Aug 11, 2010
    1
    The Last Airbender is what you might call "a movie you must see because it was an awesome tv show" don't some people realize that most cartoon adaptations don't work? Obviously this one didn't, because of its poorly constructed plot, poor acting, and racism.
  57. meh
    Aug 11, 2010
    5
    The animated version is far and away the pinnacle of its existence. This movie felt far short of that pinnacle. Stiff acting, bad casting and the machinations of M. Night ruined what would have been an epic film. Now, it's just one of those movies used to babysit your nephew on a Saturday night.
  58. Aug 11, 2010
    6
    Agree with you
    JohnM.
    Jul 2, 2010
    The effects and action scenes where well done, but the dialogue suffers as it feels like it was zooming through the avatar universe.
Metascore
20

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 33
  2. Negative: 23 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    20
    This is all enormously disappointing, of course, since the best we could hope for from a live-action "Avatar" adaptation is the mind-blowing equivalent of our first encounters with wire-fu, rather than this cartoony nonsense.
  2. The movie is "Star Wars" with martial arts, plus a touch of "The Last Emperor." Technically, it's not badly done; I enjoyed the physical clash of elements, the water balls rising like sculpture in the air.
  3. Reviewed by: Scott Bowles
    63
    He hasn't mastered the craft yet, but M. Night Shyamalan may be on to something with this action-movie thing.