The Last Airbender

User Score
2.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 739 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Sep 22, 2015
    9
    This is a fantastic film. I think this is M. Night Shyamalan's best film to date. I thought that The Sixth Sense was boring and Sings was overly ridiculous. I honestly can say I preferred this to the anime it was based on and that that show was bad. This is a beautiful looking film with every shot looking gorgeous. I think the green screen effects are amazing and I never noticed when itThis is a fantastic film. I think this is M. Night Shyamalan's best film to date. I thought that The Sixth Sense was boring and Sings was overly ridiculous. I honestly can say I preferred this to the anime it was based on and that that show was bad. This is a beautiful looking film with every shot looking gorgeous. I think the green screen effects are amazing and I never noticed when it was being used. I really thought the lead actor's performance was top notch and I an surprised he has not been in much since. That being said, this film is not prefect. I didn't like how M. Night did not appear in the film and I would have liked it if HE was Aang. He would have had the acting chops to pull of such a role. On a first watch, this film may not seem like much. But under the surface this is a physiological thriller with incredible action, great performances and phenomenal special effects. I give this 9 out of 10 and challenge you if you didn't like this film to re watch it again through a different point of view and go in with an open mind if you haven't seen it before. Expand
  2. Aug 17, 2010
    7
    From its simple, but horrendous dialog to its overly exposited story the Last Airbender delivers a fairly different approach in its effects department, considering what we've seen in the past for fantasy films. Though, teen to adult fans will be disappointed when viewing this film, but young fans will enjoy, because they can easily relate to the dialog. It's the most faithful film I'veFrom its simple, but horrendous dialog to its overly exposited story the Last Airbender delivers a fairly different approach in its effects department, considering what we've seen in the past for fantasy films. Though, teen to adult fans will be disappointed when viewing this film, but young fans will enjoy, because they can easily relate to the dialog. It's the most faithful film I've seen in years that has taken something from an animated show to a film and have it recognizable. This is a kids epic movie, an 100% kids epic movie. Expand
  3. Aug 15, 2010
    8
    I watched this twice, the first was a stinker, bad acting, wooden dialogue, incoherent story and worst still I fell asleep but only because the whole film track seemed completely out of sync. The second time I watched it was like night and day, coherent, more facial detail, great and sometimes very beautiful visuals. What happened? don't know, all I know is the movie turned out to beI watched this twice, the first was a stinker, bad acting, wooden dialogue, incoherent story and worst still I fell asleep but only because the whole film track seemed completely out of sync. The second time I watched it was like night and day, coherent, more facial detail, great and sometimes very beautiful visuals. What happened? don't know, all I know is the movie turned out to be rather good, some weakness in the casting but the lead was excellent. I read reviews at IMDB as well as here and what do I find? the first 30 pages, yes that's THIRTY is dedicated solely to one star reviews, that's 1/10. Don't know about you but doesn't that seem just a bit strange and curious. I hope M.Knight Shayamalan continues to make movies and the sequel because he is still one of the few to bring innovation to the Fantasy/Horror/Scifi genre. Expand
  4. AndrewV
    Jul 1, 2010
    7
    Certainly a flawed and amateurish film, but also certainly much better than the critics are giving it credit for. I wouldn't read too far into the reviews, they're not all wrong mind you, there ARE issues, but decide for yourself. I think most, especially after reading the unjustly harsh reviews, will be surprised. (On a side note, it is much, much better than Shyamalan's Certainly a flawed and amateurish film, but also certainly much better than the critics are giving it credit for. I wouldn't read too far into the reviews, they're not all wrong mind you, there ARE issues, but decide for yourself. I think most, especially after reading the unjustly harsh reviews, will be surprised. (On a side note, it is much, much better than Shyamalan's last works.) Expand
  5. AlexanderE.
    Jul 2, 2010
    8
    I enjoyed this movie despite what everyone else is saying about the film, it might not be the best movie to ever hit the screen but i will take this movie any day of the week over sparkling vampires!!!
  6. Dillon
    Jul 2, 2010
    8
    As a devoted follower of the series, I must ask, "Why is everyone hating M. Night for this?" Granted, the film had B-Movie dialogue and sometimes shaky acting. But all-in-all I found it to be a faithful adaptation of the series. A welcome change to me were correct pronunciations of characters' names. The film was a bit rushed and had lackluster 3-D effects, but I would gladly see it As a devoted follower of the series, I must ask, "Why is everyone hating M. Night for this?" Granted, the film had B-Movie dialogue and sometimes shaky acting. But all-in-all I found it to be a faithful adaptation of the series. A welcome change to me were correct pronunciations of characters' names. The film was a bit rushed and had lackluster 3-D effects, but I would gladly see it again. I only hope enough people share my opinion that we get a sequel. Expand
  7. JoshuaJ
    Jul 2, 2010
    7
    The opening titles for this film is well presented, but the live action attempt at making the introduction of the show seem to be out of placed, and cheesy, considering how since the whole martial art theme in films are overdone, and for new comers of this story, they might feel that this is going to be what they've been seeing for a long time. The first ten minutes to fifteen The opening titles for this film is well presented, but the live action attempt at making the introduction of the show seem to be out of placed, and cheesy, considering how since the whole martial art theme in films are overdone, and for new comers of this story, they might feel that this is going to be what they've been seeing for a long time. The first ten minutes to fifteen minutes of the film literally mimics the first scenes in the first episode of the Avatar: The Last Airbender, and though I can say hardcore fans are satisfied, but for the new audience they might feel that the first fifteen minutes were very rushed in terms with pacing, and cheesy when it came to dialogue, and utterly complex in story. Though, after this, some narrative came and reminded the audience on what's going on, and what they should focus on. M. Night is obviously trying to get a point across, since the basic story elements can be complexed, and though this story came from a tv show, there can be a full episode with nothing but flashbacks explaining everything. M. Night did well not confusing the new comers, but the transitions with the film when it came to the set change/location change on Aang's journey, this could be worked out much better. The acting within this film is not that bad as what many critics make out to be, and numerous of hardcore fans who have nothing better to do than live in a fantasy world, where films should perfectly depict an Anime-influenced show unto real life. It wasn't Academy Award winning good either, but the actors played out these simple personalities well, and since this is the first season adaption, and if you've been really watching the show, then you'll know these characters really aren't fascinating from the gecko, to where an actor can really bring out that Oscar winning performance. For young actors who played the trio, it's better than watching most young actors who often appear on the Disney Channel. Consider this a good thing. For the villains in this story, the Fire Nation, which consists of the Fire Lord, General, Prince Zuko, and his Uncle, they are B-List actors here who have a good track record, and they provide wonderful performances, and the way M. Night darken this story a little bit on the serious side, these actors pulled it the hell off. You don't know how much I was into it when I watching them on screen, and for the Avatar's actor, Noah Ringer, there is something about this boy that makes me like him, it's his presence that really pulls this film through. The effects within this film is top-notch, and it's different compared to other special effects I've seen in other films this year and last. It's about time that there was more fantasy combat in these fantasy films, besides the creatures. Damn. Really though, there's nothing to say about the effects, but I will say this to get this out, the 3-D version is a bad attempt to get more money. Watch the regular version of this film, and you won't be disappointed if you would be a centralist for once in your life, and look past those neg. reviews. This is my review of the Last Airbender, and it's great to share my opinion, and hopefully we'll get a sequel, because I want M. Night to have another crack at this, this film is worth seeing on the big screen. Expand
  8. JamareeM
    Jul 3, 2010
    8
    ALRIGHT, yes the movie wasn't perfect, there were some things they needed to work on, yes, but let's think about this...he had TWO hours, and ONLY two hours to place all of Book One into. NOW, a cartoon to movie/ comic to movie isn't supposed to PERFECTLY replicate the thing it is picked off from, it is SUPPOSED to be used to make an exciting experience to people new to the ALRIGHT, yes the movie wasn't perfect, there were some things they needed to work on, yes, but let's think about this...he had TWO hours, and ONLY two hours to place all of Book One into. NOW, a cartoon to movie/ comic to movie isn't supposed to PERFECTLY replicate the thing it is picked off from, it is SUPPOSED to be used to make an exciting experience to people new to the series to get people to read/watch the thing the movie was made from, and Avatar did a good job, with the limited time they have, and if you are one of those people who think, "Oh, the voices weren't perfect, or the people weren't perfect." I want to to tell me ONE live action movie where the people look the EXACT same as the people they portray as WELL as sound the same. So in conclusion, they did a good job with the time and resources they had. Expand
  9. AaronD
    Jul 4, 2010
    7
    Decent. Had some stilted acting towards the beginning, but overall good (especially in 3D).
  10. JamesB
    Jul 5, 2010
    7
    According to many reviewers, both the cartoon and the movie used racial categories for their characters, but they differed from the cartoon to the movie. How does that make the movie racist, but not the tv show? That's like saying that a movie where a woman defeats a man is sexist, but one where a man defeats a woman is not. It's completely illogical. In my opinion, this movie According to many reviewers, both the cartoon and the movie used racial categories for their characters, but they differed from the cartoon to the movie. How does that make the movie racist, but not the tv show? That's like saying that a movie where a woman defeats a man is sexist, but one where a man defeats a woman is not. It's completely illogical. In my opinion, this movie did a fine job of showing that none of the races (as defined by element, not by skin tone) were inherently evil, good, heroic, or corrupt. The movie showed many inoffensive, interesting, or even heroic characters within the fire nation, and at least one corrupt character from another nation (the monk who betrays Aang--sorry for the spoiler.) Compare this with the utter racist filth that characterized the film 300, or with the pretentious, implicitly racist assumptions of the film Avatar, and one has to wonder why this charming, but not particularly bloody or hate-filled, film has won the worst condemnation from our culture. Perhaps just for not being adequately ironic or spiteful? Expand
  11. MatthewL
    Jul 5, 2010
    8
    I was impressed in this movie. The dialogue might be dull at times, but the story was compelling and easy to know. I really like the special effects, the 3-D use, the battles, the music. I jsut like the film, even the acting was good. Come on fans, you will like it. Don't let the negative reviews get on you, it is a enjoyable film. See it in 3-D.
  12. Aug 8, 2011
    8
    Overall a fairly solid summer blockbuster although I am a foul for Shyamalan's movies. Some of the dialogue may through people off but not the whole entire movie is poorly written and the acting is fairly well acted especially the part by mr slumdog millionaire. Entertaining fun and the themes and style you would expect from a shyamalan movie
  13. brandonw
    Jul 3, 2010
    8
    I'm giving the last airbender a B- the fight sceens where exciting to watch but the diologe throught the movie was really horrible and character developet was not as good but they did enogh to make a ok movie.
  14. KenF
    Jul 6, 2010
    8
    How is it possible that no one has caught on yet? M. Night Shyamalan is a JOKE FILMMAKER! He's a latter day Andy Kauffman. I was shocked that no one seemed to catch on after The Happening. A man slapped a lion in the face! How can people have attempted to take this film seriously? It was obviously a comedy. This film is exactly the same. You can't tell me that it wasn't a How is it possible that no one has caught on yet? M. Night Shyamalan is a JOKE FILMMAKER! He's a latter day Andy Kauffman. I was shocked that no one seemed to catch on after The Happening. A man slapped a lion in the face! How can people have attempted to take this film seriously? It was obviously a comedy. This film is exactly the same. You can't tell me that it wasn't a joke for him to cast Aasif Mondvi as the heavy, or that the entire cast woodenly reciting terrible and mostly pointless dialog would have passed muster for any major studio film that wasn't intended to be taken with tongue firmly in cheek. Seriously, this movie was a comedy, and the joke was on everyone who tried to take it seriously. One of the more enjoyable movies I've seen this year. Expand
  15. Aug 29, 2010
    8
    The show is much better...but still the movie wasn't that far behind. Of course things were left out and some others were changed, but the story was still there and it was pretty accurate. Aang and Sokka could have been at least more fun and less serious, but I still enjoyed the movie. And hey in cartoons it's easy to do whatever you want, but in movies not so easy...
  16. Nov 17, 2010
    7
    I took my son, who is a big fan of the cartoon, to see it and was not expecting to like it at all. I was pleasantly surprised. True, in the cartoon the Aang character is more of a free-spirit, but I found it somewhat exciting and well executed, and the special effects were quite good. While not academy award quality, it was family friendly entertainment.
  17. JohnM
    Jul 1, 2010
    8
    Though it wasn't perfect, it did a good number of things right in my eyes and since they took time before filming the next, possibly M night will take the criticisms and make the second one longer and attempt to feel less rushed, maybe closer to the show.
  18. AndrewB
    Jul 4, 2010
    7
    With a running time of under 2 hours, the film covers the events of the entire first season... the plot felt really rushed as they tried to relay as much information to the audience as possible, and the kid playing Aang really needs to work on his acting skills to compliment his kung fu... but the film had some great filming, some excellent special effects, and some truly awesome fight With a running time of under 2 hours, the film covers the events of the entire first season... the plot felt really rushed as they tried to relay as much information to the audience as possible, and the kid playing Aang really needs to work on his acting skills to compliment his kung fu... but the film had some great filming, some excellent special effects, and some truly awesome fight scenes. The movie is not completely broken, but everything happens way to fast to really allow for a smooth flow of events. I'm really hoping they break the sequels up into two 2 hour films to allow for more development with the characters and events. I still enjoyed it and think it is worth seeing, but the plot really is way too crammed for a 1 hour and 40 minute film to cover. Expand
  19. GeoffreyP
    Jul 1, 2010
    8
    Jesus people the movie isn't that bad... I enjoyed it - hopefully a sequel is still in works.
  20. RobertW.
    Jul 3, 2010
    9
    Very well done for fans of the cartoon, and even people who did not watch the cartoon liked it.
  21. DavidR
    Jul 5, 2010
    7
    Really enjoyed it. Keep in mind the first start trek movie. They have to explain a lot, because the magic is the original parts of the story. So yes, fans of the tv show are bored with stories they already know, but what about the people new to the story? Keep in mind all the reviews are from fans of the shows. Of course the movie is going to deviate from the show. I had a wonderful time Really enjoyed it. Keep in mind the first start trek movie. They have to explain a lot, because the magic is the original parts of the story. So yes, fans of the tv show are bored with stories they already know, but what about the people new to the story? Keep in mind all the reviews are from fans of the shows. Of course the movie is going to deviate from the show. I had a wonderful time and enjoyed the movie a lot. My one critisism is that Sokka was not funny enough. They went for goodlooking instead. Expand
  22. LouiseR
    Jul 5, 2010
    7
    If you liked the Avatar series on Nickelodeon, this is worth seeing. It's a little slow in spots and obviously it's difficult to condense a year of the series into one movie, but I liked it a lot and look forward to Book 2.
  23. jpl
    Jul 5, 2010
    8
    ok. I watched the series from start to finish and will eventually have the dvd set. I really dont get the reviews saying its the worst movie of all time. I mean its a nicktoon series. **if you expected lord of the rings then you deserve to be dissapointed** I did think it was too short and certain things were left out. Pronounciation of certain names were a non issue to me. I think people ok. I watched the series from start to finish and will eventually have the dvd set. I really dont get the reviews saying its the worst movie of all time. I mean its a nicktoon series. **if you expected lord of the rings then you deserve to be dissapointed** I did think it was too short and certain things were left out. Pronounciation of certain names were a non issue to me. I think people are reading much more into this movie than they should have. Its a childrens cartoon series made into live action movie and M.N.S did a pretty decent job. Yes the acting was a little off but have any of you seen the cartoon? No oscard for the cartoon or movie for sure. Its still a GREAT family movie that me and my niece and nephew enjoyed. **yes it seemed rushed **yes the pronounciation was off (((who cares)) **yes stuff was left out.. ((cant have a 12 hour movie folks)) **yes it was a GREAT MOVIE. Expand
  24. JoeH
    Jul 1, 2010
    10
    Love the cartoon, loved the movie....bring on chapters 3 & 4!!
  25. mikeg
    Jul 2, 2010
    9
    Did anyone agt all watch the seires???? jizz look the film followed a more serious note of the avatar series everyone was cast well except uncle. the film hit the major parts of the first season spot on and was beautifully rendered special effects. it sets up great for the rest of the seires. which would be another three films book two earth and then a two part book three due to the Did anyone agt all watch the seires???? jizz look the film followed a more serious note of the avatar series everyone was cast well except uncle. the film hit the major parts of the first season spot on and was beautifully rendered special effects. it sets up great for the rest of the seires. which would be another three films book two earth and then a two part book three due to the excessive amount of story to be told. Expand
  26. B.P.
    Jul 4, 2010
    8
    Wasn't that bad i thought it was great but they did leave a lot out and acting wasn't that terrible. For all you down raters please go outside and do something else besides bashing movies, stop trying make it seem like it was the worst movie in the world i have seen worse, you people just have no imagination.
  27. AnielA
    Jul 1, 2010
    9
    Lovely like the show, the cgi was the best ive seen since Avatar.
  28. davidy
    Jul 1, 2010
    10
    This movie is for someone interested in an amazing story! Not just action as it may seem in the trailers.I would say its a drama/action movie. If u want a moving film with a STORY behind it, not just cool action and great acting . I will admit it could have been made allot better, but hey critics chill out it was still amazing . I highly recommend this movie (for reasons listed above).
  29. BrianD.
    Jul 1, 2010
    10
    This movie just blew my fucking mind. My body wasn't ready for the heart pounding excitement.
  30. DanN
    Jul 4, 2010
    9
    Thoroughly enjoyed this movie. I felt the acting was fine, the characters developed, the story believable, some of the visuals quite stunning, and the exposatory dialogue easy to forgive. The casting didn't bother me. I felt each actor was attractive and believable in his or her role. I wasn't keeping score of which characters were cast with actors of which ethnicities. (Why Thoroughly enjoyed this movie. I felt the acting was fine, the characters developed, the story believable, some of the visuals quite stunning, and the exposatory dialogue easy to forgive. The casting didn't bother me. I felt each actor was attractive and believable in his or her role. I wasn't keeping score of which characters were cast with actors of which ethnicities. (Why would anyone do that?) I simply felt that it was a talented and appropriate cast. Having not yet seen the animated series, I had no trouble following the story, nor did I feel the script left out anything important. I felt the film had a strong climax that appropriately underscored its theme of "water." This was one of the most enjoyable movies I've seen in years, and I am eagerly anticipating the sequels. The audiences of both of the sold-out shows I attended seemed to enjoy the film as well. There was some applause at the end, and most of the crowd seemed to be talking in positive tones about the film as they left the theater. Thus, the reviews are pretty surprising. Expand
Metascore
20

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 33
  2. Negative: 23 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    20
    This is all enormously disappointing, of course, since the best we could hope for from a live-action "Avatar" adaptation is the mind-blowing equivalent of our first encounters with wire-fu, rather than this cartoony nonsense.
  2. The movie is "Star Wars" with martial arts, plus a touch of "The Last Emperor." Technically, it's not badly done; I enjoyed the physical clash of elements, the water balls rising like sculpture in the air.
  3. Reviewed by: Scott Bowles
    63
    He hasn't mastered the craft yet, but M. Night Shyamalan may be on to something with this action-movie thing.