User Score
2.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 699 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. takousa
    Jul 1, 2010
    10
    Don't believe those critics. As a big fan of the animated series, I enjoyed the film a log. I would love to the sequels.
  2. davidy
    Jul 1, 2010
    10
    This movie is for someone interested in an amazing story! Not just action as it may seem in the trailers.I would say its a drama/action movie. If u want a moving film with a STORY behind it, not just cool action and great acting . I will admit it could have been made allot better, but hey critics chill out it was still amazing . I highly recommend this movie (for reasons listed above).
  3. BrianD.
    Jul 1, 2010
    10
    This movie just blew my fucking mind. My body wasn't ready for the heart pounding excitement.
  4. DeannaE
    Jul 1, 2010
    10
    This is in my top 5 favorite movies. I absolutely loved it. I'm sorry that no one else seems to.
  5. CollinM.
    Jul 2, 2010
    10
    The movie was varry cool because it has the first episode and then at the end he fights the fire lord I say it is vary intreating so I would give it an 8.
  6. FrankiP
    Jul 2, 2010
    10
    Never watched the cartoon & thought the movie was very entertaining. Wish it was a PG-13 movie so it could have better fights & deaths but this movie does with PG what Star Wars did & entertains its audience. All I see are a bunch of cartoon whiners on here complaining. Hope this movie makes enough to bring at least 2 more movies.
  7. SteveW.
    Jul 3, 2010
    10
    If you are a fan of the cartoon you will LOVE IT. If you don't know the cartoon, watch a couple episodes before going. Good action, start of a good story.
  8. JoeH
    Jul 1, 2010
    10
    Love the cartoon, loved the movie....bring on chapters 3 & 4!!
  9. EvanN
    Jul 2, 2010
    10
    I dont know what people expect...... You cant fit an entire television series into a feature length movie and if you tried people would complain about how long it was. Sometimes you just have to speed it up a bit. M, I think you did a great job. It was entertaining, didn't take itself to seriously and had pretty good special effects. James you have once again renewed my faith in the I dont know what people expect...... You cant fit an entire television series into a feature length movie and if you tried people would complain about how long it was. Sometimes you just have to speed it up a bit. M, I think you did a great job. It was entertaining, didn't take itself to seriously and had pretty good special effects. James you have once again renewed my faith in the move score. This movie is definitely not potential for an academy award but its entertaining and an all around solid flick. Sometimes its just the reviews that ruin the movie. Expand
  10. Franz
    Jul 2, 2010
    10
    Pitch perfect and brilliantly acted, The Last Airbender is a stunning achievement, helmed with a purity and honesty that captures not just the illegal abortion story at its core but the constant, unremarked negotiations necessary for survival in the final days of the Soviet bloc.
  11. BobM
    Jul 5, 2010
    10
    I don't think this movie deserves a 10, by any means, but I'm tired of seeing it bashed. I've seen terrible adaptations, and this isn't one. It could have been better, but it deserves a higher score than it's getting. Way higher. What it all boils down to is, it has become a meme, for internet fans and pro critics alike, to hate M. Night Syamalan, no matter what I don't think this movie deserves a 10, by any means, but I'm tired of seeing it bashed. I've seen terrible adaptations, and this isn't one. It could have been better, but it deserves a higher score than it's getting. Way higher. What it all boils down to is, it has become a meme, for internet fans and pro critics alike, to hate M. Night Syamalan, no matter what he does. Fact is, he's a good director. I would have liked for him to do a better job on The Last Air Bender, but, I think he did a decent job, and I'd like to see him have the opportunity to DO a better job on it's sequels. Expand
  12. Aug 21, 2010
    10
    as a fan of the series i can say that i enjoyed it and even if i didnt i still wouldnt say it was the worst movie ever because there are way worse movies out there
  13. Sep 27, 2010
    10
    This is a fantastic movie. It really touched me. But then ... I did not see the cartoon. I had no problems following the course of events, as feared by other critics on this page. I would have loved to see a longer lasting film though - so I could enjoy more. I think the critics suffer from the déjà-vu-syndrome. They compare it with the experience they had beforeThis is a fantastic movie. It really touched me. But then ... I did not see the cartoon. I had no problems following the course of events, as feared by other critics on this page. I would have loved to see a longer lasting film though - so I could enjoy more. I think the critics suffer from the déjà-vu-syndrome. They compare it with the experience they had before (with the cartoon) and can be nothing less but disappointed. Apparently the characters are different from the cartoon. So what? M. Night has obviously written his own story on it, which only adds surplus in stead of breakdown. Again: this is a fantastic movie. Can't wait for the sequels. Expand
  14. Jun 23, 2013
    10
    I enjoyed the movie greatly. The atmosphere was great. The setting and environment were beautiful. The girls are sweet. Airbender him is likeable. The kungfu moves were smooth and sleek. And of course, the great movie will not be what it is if not for the awesome special effects of air, water, fire and earth. Too bad the movie is so short. It should be twice as long! Anyway, I'm lookingI enjoyed the movie greatly. The atmosphere was great. The setting and environment were beautiful. The girls are sweet. Airbender him is likeable. The kungfu moves were smooth and sleek. And of course, the great movie will not be what it is if not for the awesome special effects of air, water, fire and earth. Too bad the movie is so short. It should be twice as long! Anyway, I'm looking forward to the sequel. Expand
  15. Feb 24, 2011
    10
    Very awkward dialogue and pretty terrible acting, it was good that they atleast kept the story true to the actual cartoon. Aside from the compacted story it was quite lacking in all areas.
  16. Feb 14, 2011
    10
    Didn't read the book or watched the cartoons, but the movie is awesome. I'm sure that this rating isn't correct there are way, way, worse movies out there. Stop hating the M.Night movies, they're all good.
  17. May 28, 2011
    10
    Terrible, terrible movie. The combined emptiness and stupidity of the protagonists is unfathomable, and though the effects are VISUALLY impressive at times, the fidelity of the audio is non-existent, thus "airbending" becomes fizzly breeze-bending, and fighting scenes become unintentionally funny. Stay away from this movie, read the books instead
  18. May 31, 2013
    10
    damn girl are you ready to swag out with ANNNNNGGGGG (Aang) and super soaka (sokka) oh and lets not forget our boy uncle EARo (Iro) the names alone automatically get a ten outta ten and the top notch acting oh boy this is why all cartoon series need a a live action movie because this is so hip hoping dawgs screw the cartoon that was terrible and this is the greatest piece of art ever
  19. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    The cartoon was the best cartoon EVER, and I'm not exaggerating. I saw the movie about a year ago and it got on my Top 15 favourite movie list. I understand everyone has an opinion of their own, but I think anyone giving this a 0 by comparing it to the cartoon is completely overreacting. Whatever Shayamalan did was NOT a big deal. The soundtrack, bending effects, and scenery were soThe cartoon was the best cartoon EVER, and I'm not exaggerating. I saw the movie about a year ago and it got on my Top 15 favourite movie list. I understand everyone has an opinion of their own, but I think anyone giving this a 0 by comparing it to the cartoon is completely overreacting. Whatever Shayamalan did was NOT a big deal. The soundtrack, bending effects, and scenery were so beautiful and felt like the cartoon if it was in real life. Sokka didn't need a different name, nor did Aang, but Noah Ringer looks like an "Ahng" to me. So hate me, I loved watching "The Last Airbender." Expand
  20. May 24, 2014
    10
    The movie is great. I really liked the whole sequence, the story is very well told. The script and the acting of the actors are excellent and let the desire to have a following.
  21. AnielA
    Jul 1, 2010
    9
    Lovely like the show, the cgi was the best ive seen since Avatar.
  22. DanN
    Jul 4, 2010
    9
    Thoroughly enjoyed this movie. I felt the acting was fine, the characters developed, the story believable, some of the visuals quite stunning, and the exposatory dialogue easy to forgive. The casting didn't bother me. I felt each actor was attractive and believable in his or her role. I wasn't keeping score of which characters were cast with actors of which ethnicities. (Why Thoroughly enjoyed this movie. I felt the acting was fine, the characters developed, the story believable, some of the visuals quite stunning, and the exposatory dialogue easy to forgive. The casting didn't bother me. I felt each actor was attractive and believable in his or her role. I wasn't keeping score of which characters were cast with actors of which ethnicities. (Why would anyone do that?) I simply felt that it was a talented and appropriate cast. Having not yet seen the animated series, I had no trouble following the story, nor did I feel the script left out anything important. I felt the film had a strong climax that appropriately underscored its theme of "water." This was one of the most enjoyable movies I've seen in years, and I am eagerly anticipating the sequels. The audiences of both of the sold-out shows I attended seemed to enjoy the film as well. There was some applause at the end, and most of the crowd seemed to be talking in positive tones about the film as they left the theater. Thus, the reviews are pretty surprising. Expand
  23. StefanieD
    Jul 1, 2010
    9
    Great movie! The only bad thing I can say was maybe they should have made the movie a bit longer. Nice set up, followed the series quite faithfully. Nice changes. Didn't feel like I was getting preached at! Nice family or date night fun.
  24. RobertW.
    Jul 3, 2010
    9
    Very well done for fans of the cartoon, and even people who did not watch the cartoon liked it.
  25. MikeY.
    Jul 3, 2010
    9
    My son wanted to see this movie and both of us enjoyed the movie. I was worried after reading the reviews but I don't agree that this is a bad movie.
  26. mikeg
    Jul 2, 2010
    9
    Did anyone agt all watch the seires???? jizz look the film followed a more serious note of the avatar series everyone was cast well except uncle. the film hit the major parts of the first season spot on and was beautifully rendered special effects. it sets up great for the rest of the seires. which would be another three films book two earth and then a two part book three due to the Did anyone agt all watch the seires???? jizz look the film followed a more serious note of the avatar series everyone was cast well except uncle. the film hit the major parts of the first season spot on and was beautifully rendered special effects. it sets up great for the rest of the seires. which would be another three films book two earth and then a two part book three due to the excessive amount of story to be told. Expand
  27. Aug 13, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Yes I liked it and I'd like too see the second book but it could have been better.... ... Expand
  28. Aug 15, 2010
    9
    After seeing this movie this weekend I was astounded to come onto Metacritic and see the horrible ratings for it. You should all be ashamed of yourselves! M. Night is the most visionary director in Hollywood. I was never a fan of the first film but for M. Night to get a sequel of Avatar out so fast (within a year) astounded me! This movie reminded me nothing of the garbage of the firstAfter seeing this movie this weekend I was astounded to come onto Metacritic and see the horrible ratings for it. You should all be ashamed of yourselves! M. Night is the most visionary director in Hollywood. I was never a fan of the first film but for M. Night to get a sequel of Avatar out so fast (within a year) astounded me! This movie reminded me nothing of the garbage of the first film directed by James Cameron. The script took the Na'Vii out of the picture completely and replaced them with a beautiful bald child who controls the wind. I wouldn't have changed a thing about this movie other than that I was a little confused how this was connected to the first film. See it anyways, it is fantastic! Expand
  29. Nov 3, 2010
    9
    a movie with many holes partlly because M. Night did really care about it he just wanted to make money. the special affects really saved this movie big time. and the acting and dialoge really improved in the 2nd half of the movie.
  30. Jan 18, 2011
    9
    I watched the entire show, also this movie, so I'll try to give my best to make a reasonable comparison, if it's possible. By first, I don't think is a non-sense movie, is not fair to compare a movie intended to get attetion not only for children but for adults too. Of course the expected in this case is to find what we found: a more ''serious and... why not? dark movie''. So, al least forI watched the entire show, also this movie, so I'll try to give my best to make a reasonable comparison, if it's possible. By first, I don't think is a non-sense movie, is not fair to compare a movie intended to get attetion not only for children but for adults too. Of course the expected in this case is to find what we found: a more ''serious and... why not? dark movie''. So, al least for me, is not an excuse to say it's worthless to be seen because it doesn't keep the humor of the TV show. In second place, we cannot say that the characters are not ''well-performed'' because is just a movie which tries to get the best of a full season! Come on! It is really unfair to say it's bad because of this! I've seen enough for a first movie... we have to let Night S. at least explore the characters deeper along the trilogy, not to ''make a wall''... In 3rd place... I don't know you guys but the martial arts scenes, when they're practising... the movements are really amazing!! They give a really nice sensation of peace all around... And... well, what else i can say? To be objective... Night is neither Clint Eastwood nor Steven Spielberg... but he has a really good career... with he's own personality... movies like Signs, Village and Sixth Sense are all movies of suspense... non-conventional and in a way of thinking... odd... but he's gaining personality, he lives his watermark in every each of them... if i say ''he is bad'' because of this... whoever could say ''Tim Burton is a bad director because of he's darky madness'' but... c'mon! Tim Burton has gone way too far of the expected madness, is brillant! And Night is good for me too, neither the best nor the worst. And TL Airbender is a nice movie, well adapted for it's lengh and with nice Sound Score (James Newton Howard) and efects. What was not really good was the 3D effect, since it was not though for it... but released 3D anyway. Expand
  31. Apr 21, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's an excellent movie and history... Very similar to the original Tv-series... And the Visual Fx, Wooow!!! Excellent choice, with action and entertainment to share with the family... Expand
  32. Aug 21, 2011
    9
    i love this movie and i dont know why cause this movie sucks in almost ever way possibly from the acting to the story telling. and for me i was lucky i have had seen the cartoon show so i did know what was going on because the movie had a hard time telling it. To me there is only one person to blame M.Night this guy directed, producted, and wrote the movie. His story was just a messi love this movie and i dont know why cause this movie sucks in almost ever way possibly from the acting to the story telling. and for me i was lucky i have had seen the cartoon show so i did know what was going on because the movie had a hard time telling it. To me there is only one person to blame M.Night this guy directed, producted, and wrote the movie. His story was just a mess there was no flow at all to the pace the story jumped place to place without really telling us why. the diologe was horrible as it only was used to tell what was going on and it didnt even do a good job of that. the acting was bad but to me its m.nights fault there to as script was just so poorly written. but know im getting to the part where i liked the film the music score is the best i have heard in a movie simply untouchable. the special affects just kick ass and the costoms and the beauty of the avtar world is breath taking and the fight scenes are ok. the slow montion kinda sucks though and if you look at it there really isnot that many fights anyway. and still even with that said i still have no idea why i like this movie haha but it just works for me and maybe it will for you so it cant hurt to see it or can it?.haha Expand
  33. Apr 11, 2015
    9
    Shamalyan's new vision for Avatar is fantastic. I was blown away with the re-imagining of the series. The acting...my god it was just stellar. I had to leave halfway through simply because the emotion of the film overwhelmed me. Only problem was the special effects, looked kind of dull.
  34. B.P.
    Jul 4, 2010
    8
    Wasn't that bad i thought it was great but they did leave a lot out and acting wasn't that terrible. For all you down raters please go outside and do something else besides bashing movies, stop trying make it seem like it was the worst movie in the world i have seen worse, you people just have no imagination.
  35. brandonw
    Jul 3, 2010
    8
    I'm giving the last airbender a B- the fight sceens where exciting to watch but the diologe throught the movie was really horrible and character developet was not as good but they did enogh to make a ok movie.
  36. GeoffreyP
    Jul 1, 2010
    8
    Jesus people the movie isn't that bad... I enjoyed it - hopefully a sequel is still in works.
  37. JohnM
    Jul 1, 2010
    8
    Though it wasn't perfect, it did a good number of things right in my eyes and since they took time before filming the next, possibly M night will take the criticisms and make the second one longer and attempt to feel less rushed, maybe closer to the show.
  38. jpl
    Jul 5, 2010
    8
    ok. I watched the series from start to finish and will eventually have the dvd set. I really dont get the reviews saying its the worst movie of all time. I mean its a nicktoon series. **if you expected lord of the rings then you deserve to be dissapointed** I did think it was too short and certain things were left out. Pronounciation of certain names were a non issue to me. I think people ok. I watched the series from start to finish and will eventually have the dvd set. I really dont get the reviews saying its the worst movie of all time. I mean its a nicktoon series. **if you expected lord of the rings then you deserve to be dissapointed** I did think it was too short and certain things were left out. Pronounciation of certain names were a non issue to me. I think people are reading much more into this movie than they should have. Its a childrens cartoon series made into live action movie and M.N.S did a pretty decent job. Yes the acting was a little off but have any of you seen the cartoon? No oscard for the cartoon or movie for sure. Its still a GREAT family movie that me and my niece and nephew enjoyed. **yes it seemed rushed **yes the pronounciation was off (((who cares)) **yes stuff was left out.. ((cant have a 12 hour movie folks)) **yes it was a GREAT MOVIE. Expand
  39. KenF
    Jul 6, 2010
    8
    How is it possible that no one has caught on yet? M. Night Shyamalan is a JOKE FILMMAKER! He's a latter day Andy Kauffman. I was shocked that no one seemed to catch on after The Happening. A man slapped a lion in the face! How can people have attempted to take this film seriously? It was obviously a comedy. This film is exactly the same. You can't tell me that it wasn't a How is it possible that no one has caught on yet? M. Night Shyamalan is a JOKE FILMMAKER! He's a latter day Andy Kauffman. I was shocked that no one seemed to catch on after The Happening. A man slapped a lion in the face! How can people have attempted to take this film seriously? It was obviously a comedy. This film is exactly the same. You can't tell me that it wasn't a joke for him to cast Aasif Mondvi as the heavy, or that the entire cast woodenly reciting terrible and mostly pointless dialog would have passed muster for any major studio film that wasn't intended to be taken with tongue firmly in cheek. Seriously, this movie was a comedy, and the joke was on everyone who tried to take it seriously. One of the more enjoyable movies I've seen this year. Expand
  40. AlexanderE.
    Jul 2, 2010
    8
    I enjoyed this movie despite what everyone else is saying about the film, it might not be the best movie to ever hit the screen but i will take this movie any day of the week over sparkling vampires!!!
  41. Dillon
    Jul 2, 2010
    8
    As a devoted follower of the series, I must ask, "Why is everyone hating M. Night for this?" Granted, the film had B-Movie dialogue and sometimes shaky acting. But all-in-all I found it to be a faithful adaptation of the series. A welcome change to me were correct pronunciations of characters' names. The film was a bit rushed and had lackluster 3-D effects, but I would gladly see it As a devoted follower of the series, I must ask, "Why is everyone hating M. Night for this?" Granted, the film had B-Movie dialogue and sometimes shaky acting. But all-in-all I found it to be a faithful adaptation of the series. A welcome change to me were correct pronunciations of characters' names. The film was a bit rushed and had lackluster 3-D effects, but I would gladly see it again. I only hope enough people share my opinion that we get a sequel. Expand
  42. JamareeM
    Jul 3, 2010
    8
    ALRIGHT, yes the movie wasn't perfect, there were some things they needed to work on, yes, but let's think about this...he had TWO hours, and ONLY two hours to place all of Book One into. NOW, a cartoon to movie/ comic to movie isn't supposed to PERFECTLY replicate the thing it is picked off from, it is SUPPOSED to be used to make an exciting experience to people new to the ALRIGHT, yes the movie wasn't perfect, there were some things they needed to work on, yes, but let's think about this...he had TWO hours, and ONLY two hours to place all of Book One into. NOW, a cartoon to movie/ comic to movie isn't supposed to PERFECTLY replicate the thing it is picked off from, it is SUPPOSED to be used to make an exciting experience to people new to the series to get people to read/watch the thing the movie was made from, and Avatar did a good job, with the limited time they have, and if you are one of those people who think, "Oh, the voices weren't perfect, or the people weren't perfect." I want to to tell me ONE live action movie where the people look the EXACT same as the people they portray as WELL as sound the same. So in conclusion, they did a good job with the time and resources they had. Expand
  43. MatthewL
    Jul 5, 2010
    8
    I was impressed in this movie. The dialogue might be dull at times, but the story was compelling and easy to know. I really like the special effects, the 3-D use, the battles, the music. I jsut like the film, even the acting was good. Come on fans, you will like it. Don't let the negative reviews get on you, it is a enjoyable film. See it in 3-D.
  44. Aug 15, 2010
    8
    I watched this twice, the first was a stinker, bad acting, wooden dialogue, incoherent story and worst still I fell asleep but only because the whole film track seemed completely out of sync. The second time I watched it was like night and day, coherent, more facial detail, great and sometimes very beautiful visuals. What happened? don't know, all I know is the movie turned out to beI watched this twice, the first was a stinker, bad acting, wooden dialogue, incoherent story and worst still I fell asleep but only because the whole film track seemed completely out of sync. The second time I watched it was like night and day, coherent, more facial detail, great and sometimes very beautiful visuals. What happened? don't know, all I know is the movie turned out to be rather good, some weakness in the casting but the lead was excellent. I read reviews at IMDB as well as here and what do I find? the first 30 pages, yes that's THIRTY is dedicated solely to one star reviews, that's 1/10. Don't know about you but doesn't that seem just a bit strange and curious. I hope M.Knight Shayamalan continues to make movies and the sequel because he is still one of the few to bring innovation to the Fantasy/Horror/Scifi genre. Expand
  45. Aug 29, 2010
    8
    The show is much better...but still the movie wasn't that far behind. Of course things were left out and some others were changed, but the story was still there and it was pretty accurate. Aang and Sokka could have been at least more fun and less serious, but I still enjoyed the movie. And hey in cartoons it's easy to do whatever you want, but in movies not so easy...
  46. Dec 6, 2010
    8
    I have never seen the cartoon so I knew nothing about this story before I watched the movie, however, I had read several of the reviews here on metacritic prior to seeing this film (yes, I watched it anyway!). I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised, I fully expected to dis-like this movie and consider it a waste of time but it was much better than most of these reviews would makeI have never seen the cartoon so I knew nothing about this story before I watched the movie, however, I had read several of the reviews here on metacritic prior to seeing this film (yes, I watched it anyway!). I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised, I fully expected to dis-like this movie and consider it a waste of time but it was much better than most of these reviews would make you believe. Perhaps if I was a fan of the series I would have found more fault with it but I thought that the visuals were awesome at times, I liked the story, it was kind of like Lord of the rings of the "elements world", albeit not nearly as good! I do wish that the movie had been about another half hour in length because it did feel a bit rushed at times as if the story was moving very fast and giving you just the basics. I did not have a big problem with the acting, not Oscar caliber but not bad either. I was partially motivated to see this movie because I have a 3D television, so I bought the 3D blu-ray, It had some of the best 3D visuals that I have seen yet, they really tried to take advantage of the technology and did a great job. If you just want be swept into a mystic fantasy world with a good story and some fantastic visuals I don't think that you would be disappointed. If you are a die-hard fan of the series then I have no idea! I'm looking forward to the next one to see how the story progress's. Expand
  47. Mar 6, 2011
    8
    I really enjoyed this movie, while it doesn't have the same emotional power that the anime had, and some cheesy moments, it's still a great movie, the characters are extremely well interpreted, I'm also glad they didn't use the Aang and Katara relationship, and I hope they don't, looking forward to the next movie.
  48. Aug 3, 2011
    8
    I didn't know anything about Avatar before I saw this film so I had to take it at face value. I was pretty impressed by the whole thing. The story was easy to follow and the acting was good. Nothing ground breaking but this is a child's movie. With that in mind, I was expecting to see just what I saw. The Last Airbender does a good job telling what needs to be said to keep the sory going.I didn't know anything about Avatar before I saw this film so I had to take it at face value. I was pretty impressed by the whole thing. The story was easy to follow and the acting was good. Nothing ground breaking but this is a child's movie. With that in mind, I was expecting to see just what I saw. The Last Airbender does a good job telling what needs to be said to keep the sory going. It doesn't focus on the small details that fill out a series. The serious tone keeps the audience from being jerked back and forth from silliness to realism making the focus more clear. Also the film makes me care about the characters and not just wanting to see who does a cool trick. Some elements felt a little rushed but not so much that I was confused. The dialogue does well by not telling everything in the first five minutes leaving me with things to look forward to. There was room for improvement but I was overall satisfied. Expand
  49. Sep 3, 2011
    8
    Negative reviews of this film follow a common message: this movie was bad because it was bad. Sometimes critics cite the bad [child] acting, the confusing story (my 4 year old niece understood it all just fine...), bad visual effects (that did not look like water being bended- I know these things!) or how it was not exactly like the cartoon in every single aspect, but overall this film isNegative reviews of this film follow a common message: this movie was bad because it was bad. Sometimes critics cite the bad [child] acting, the confusing story (my 4 year old niece understood it all just fine...), bad visual effects (that did not look like water being bended- I know these things!) or how it was not exactly like the cartoon in every single aspect, but overall this film is considered bad because it is a bad film. That is powerful and air tight logic. So feel free to join the masses and condemn this film is you hate things like clear cut good and bad, characters with motivation, sacrifice, redemption, character growth, loss, duty, and a whole host of other classic story telling motifs otherwise nonexistent in modern cinema. Expand
  50. May 20, 2011
    8
    Having seen several of the avatar cartoons with my nine year old son, we watched this movie with very low expectations due to the terrible ratings. I honestly do not understand why this movie got shredded by most people. Sure, it isn't exactly Oscars material but I thought it was reasonably entertaining, particularly if you have seen the cartoons (may not all make sense if you haven't).Having seen several of the avatar cartoons with my nine year old son, we watched this movie with very low expectations due to the terrible ratings. I honestly do not understand why this movie got shredded by most people. Sure, it isn't exactly Oscars material but I thought it was reasonably entertaining, particularly if you have seen the cartoons (may not all make sense if you haven't). Great special effects and an average storyline surely deserves more than most of the critics and user ratings? In summary - if you enjoyed the cartoons, this movie is worth considering. Expand
  51. Aug 8, 2011
    8
    Overall a fairly solid summer blockbuster although I am a foul for Shyamalan's movies. Some of the dialogue may through people off but not the whole entire movie is poorly written and the acting is fairly well acted especially the part by mr slumdog millionaire. Entertaining fun and the themes and style you would expect from a shyamalan movie
  52. Jul 31, 2014
    8
    Well, I enjoyed it! I also don't get why people were so harsh on this film. I found it captivating with entertaining special effects and was more than happy to watch start to finish.

    I have no idea why people slam it so much, but hey I thought it was good :)
  53. Jun 10, 2012
    8
    As I've never watched the series, I had no point of reference and no expectations of this film, which is likely beneficial in this case. As it turns out, the so called "critics" are wrong, as they usually are. While it's not the best film ever made, it's captivating, the effects are awe inspiring, the score is wonderful. The only suggestion I could give would be to extend the length fromAs I've never watched the series, I had no point of reference and no expectations of this film, which is likely beneficial in this case. As it turns out, the so called "critics" are wrong, as they usually are. While it's not the best film ever made, it's captivating, the effects are awe inspiring, the score is wonderful. The only suggestion I could give would be to extend the length from 90 minutes to 2 or 2.5 hours (given the series' history and following noone would complain). This would allow for more natural and in depth character development and backstory. I hope Paramount hasn't pulled the plug on the film series as I'd love to see what's next. I rate the film B- or 3.5 out of 5 stars! Expand
  54. AndrewB
    Jul 4, 2010
    7
    With a running time of under 2 hours, the film covers the events of the entire first season... the plot felt really rushed as they tried to relay as much information to the audience as possible, and the kid playing Aang really needs to work on his acting skills to compliment his kung fu... but the film had some great filming, some excellent special effects, and some truly awesome fight With a running time of under 2 hours, the film covers the events of the entire first season... the plot felt really rushed as they tried to relay as much information to the audience as possible, and the kid playing Aang really needs to work on his acting skills to compliment his kung fu... but the film had some great filming, some excellent special effects, and some truly awesome fight scenes. The movie is not completely broken, but everything happens way to fast to really allow for a smooth flow of events. I'm really hoping they break the sequels up into two 2 hour films to allow for more development with the characters and events. I still enjoyed it and think it is worth seeing, but the plot really is way too crammed for a 1 hour and 40 minute film to cover. Expand
  55. AndrewV
    Jul 1, 2010
    7
    Certainly a flawed and amateurish film, but also certainly much better than the critics are giving it credit for. I wouldn't read too far into the reviews, they're not all wrong mind you, there ARE issues, but decide for yourself. I think most, especially after reading the unjustly harsh reviews, will be surprised. (On a side note, it is much, much better than Shyamalan's Certainly a flawed and amateurish film, but also certainly much better than the critics are giving it credit for. I wouldn't read too far into the reviews, they're not all wrong mind you, there ARE issues, but decide for yourself. I think most, especially after reading the unjustly harsh reviews, will be surprised. (On a side note, it is much, much better than Shyamalan's last works.) Expand
  56. DavidR
    Jul 5, 2010
    7
    Really enjoyed it. Keep in mind the first start trek movie. They have to explain a lot, because the magic is the original parts of the story. So yes, fans of the tv show are bored with stories they already know, but what about the people new to the story? Keep in mind all the reviews are from fans of the shows. Of course the movie is going to deviate from the show. I had a wonderful time Really enjoyed it. Keep in mind the first start trek movie. They have to explain a lot, because the magic is the original parts of the story. So yes, fans of the tv show are bored with stories they already know, but what about the people new to the story? Keep in mind all the reviews are from fans of the shows. Of course the movie is going to deviate from the show. I had a wonderful time and enjoyed the movie a lot. My one critisism is that Sokka was not funny enough. They went for goodlooking instead. Expand
  57. LouiseR
    Jul 5, 2010
    7
    If you liked the Avatar series on Nickelodeon, this is worth seeing. It's a little slow in spots and obviously it's difficult to condense a year of the series into one movie, but I liked it a lot and look forward to Book 2.
  58. JoshuaJ
    Jul 2, 2010
    7
    The opening titles for this film is well presented, but the live action attempt at making the introduction of the show seem to be out of placed, and cheesy, considering how since the whole martial art theme in films are overdone, and for new comers of this story, they might feel that this is going to be what they've been seeing for a long time. The first ten minutes to fifteen The opening titles for this film is well presented, but the live action attempt at making the introduction of the show seem to be out of placed, and cheesy, considering how since the whole martial art theme in films are overdone, and for new comers of this story, they might feel that this is going to be what they've been seeing for a long time. The first ten minutes to fifteen minutes of the film literally mimics the first scenes in the first episode of the Avatar: The Last Airbender, and though I can say hardcore fans are satisfied, but for the new audience they might feel that the first fifteen minutes were very rushed in terms with pacing, and cheesy when it came to dialogue, and utterly complex in story. Though, after this, some narrative came and reminded the audience on what's going on, and what they should focus on. M. Night is obviously trying to get a point across, since the basic story elements can be complexed, and though this story came from a tv show, there can be a full episode with nothing but flashbacks explaining everything. M. Night did well not confusing the new comers, but the transitions with the film when it came to the set change/location change on Aang's journey, this could be worked out much better. The acting within this film is not that bad as what many critics make out to be, and numerous of hardcore fans who have nothing better to do than live in a fantasy world, where films should perfectly depict an Anime-influenced show unto real life. It wasn't Academy Award winning good either, but the actors played out these simple personalities well, and since this is the first season adaption, and if you've been really watching the show, then you'll know these characters really aren't fascinating from the gecko, to where an actor can really bring out that Oscar winning performance. For young actors who played the trio, it's better than watching most young actors who often appear on the Disney Channel. Consider this a good thing. For the villains in this story, the Fire Nation, which consists of the Fire Lord, General, Prince Zuko, and his Uncle, they are B-List actors here who have a good track record, and they provide wonderful performances, and the way M. Night darken this story a little bit on the serious side, these actors pulled it the hell off. You don't know how much I was into it when I watching them on screen, and for the Avatar's actor, Noah Ringer, there is something about this boy that makes me like him, it's his presence that really pulls this film through. The effects within this film is top-notch, and it's different compared to other special effects I've seen in other films this year and last. It's about time that there was more fantasy combat in these fantasy films, besides the creatures. Damn. Really though, there's nothing to say about the effects, but I will say this to get this out, the 3-D version is a bad attempt to get more money. Watch the regular version of this film, and you won't be disappointed if you would be a centralist for once in your life, and look past those neg. reviews. This is my review of the Last Airbender, and it's great to share my opinion, and hopefully we'll get a sequel, because I want M. Night to have another crack at this, this film is worth seeing on the big screen. Expand
  59. AaronD
    Jul 4, 2010
    7
    Decent. Had some stilted acting towards the beginning, but overall good (especially in 3D).
  60. JamesB
    Jul 5, 2010
    7
    According to many reviewers, both the cartoon and the movie used racial categories for their characters, but they differed from the cartoon to the movie. How does that make the movie racist, but not the tv show? That's like saying that a movie where a woman defeats a man is sexist, but one where a man defeats a woman is not. It's completely illogical. In my opinion, this movie According to many reviewers, both the cartoon and the movie used racial categories for their characters, but they differed from the cartoon to the movie. How does that make the movie racist, but not the tv show? That's like saying that a movie where a woman defeats a man is sexist, but one where a man defeats a woman is not. It's completely illogical. In my opinion, this movie did a fine job of showing that none of the races (as defined by element, not by skin tone) were inherently evil, good, heroic, or corrupt. The movie showed many inoffensive, interesting, or even heroic characters within the fire nation, and at least one corrupt character from another nation (the monk who betrays Aang--sorry for the spoiler.) Compare this with the utter racist filth that characterized the film 300, or with the pretentious, implicitly racist assumptions of the film Avatar, and one has to wonder why this charming, but not particularly bloody or hate-filled, film has won the worst condemnation from our culture. Perhaps just for not being adequately ironic or spiteful? Expand
  61. Aug 17, 2010
    7
    From its simple, but horrendous dialog to its overly exposited story the Last Airbender delivers a fairly different approach in its effects department, considering what we've seen in the past for fantasy films. Though, teen to adult fans will be disappointed when viewing this film, but young fans will enjoy, because they can easily relate to the dialog. It's the most faithful film I'veFrom its simple, but horrendous dialog to its overly exposited story the Last Airbender delivers a fairly different approach in its effects department, considering what we've seen in the past for fantasy films. Though, teen to adult fans will be disappointed when viewing this film, but young fans will enjoy, because they can easily relate to the dialog. It's the most faithful film I've seen in years that has taken something from an animated show to a film and have it recognizable. This is a kids epic movie, an 100% kids epic movie. Expand
  62. Aug 15, 2010
    7
    ok so it might not be as good as some of his films.although there are many plot holes and it started a bit slow it did have its good moments. the story line is much different from the original animated series, but with limited screen time it would be hard to fit in all of the details and in many ways the story line was much more believable.
  63. Nov 17, 2010
    7
    I took my son, who is a big fan of the cartoon, to see it and was not expecting to like it at all. I was pleasantly surprised. True, in the cartoon the Aang character is more of a free-spirit, but I found it somewhat exciting and well executed, and the special effects were quite good. While not academy award quality, it was family friendly entertainment.
  64. Jun 17, 2011
    7
    Abacaxis espinafrados com a Framboesa de Ouro não têm achados de tocante beleza como o sacrifício de uma jovem que transfere sua vida a uma entidade espiritual pelo bem de um povo. Ã
  65. ChristopherH
    Jul 4, 2010
    6
    Not nearly as bad as the drones are saying. Geez, it's like they've got a personal score to settle with the reviews. Was it great, no; but my 9-year old loved it. In the grand scheme, who is this movie for anyway!
  66. Aug 11, 2010
    6
    Agree with you
    JohnM.
    Jul 2, 2010
    The effects and action scenes where well done, but the dialogue suffers as it feels like it was zooming through the avatar universe.
  67. Aug 11, 2010
    6
    I was skeptical when I heard M. Night was directing it. The movie wasn't "bad" but the story just seem so rushed. If you never seen the cartoon series you would be completely lost to what was going on and who any of the characters are. While the acting wasn't the great, it was on par with just about every other child actor in any other movie I've seen. I just hope this doesn't kill anyI was skeptical when I heard M. Night was directing it. The movie wasn't "bad" but the story just seem so rushed. If you never seen the cartoon series you would be completely lost to what was going on and who any of the characters are. While the acting wasn't the great, it was on par with just about every other child actor in any other movie I've seen. I just hope this doesn't kill any chances of more Airbender movies being made,get a new director and new writers and this movie series could rival the Harry Potter series if done right. Expand
  68. Aug 12, 2010
    6
    I viewed this film with all expectations wiped from my mind, knowing that the animation is so successful and the majority that had already seen the film spoke poisonously of it. Regarding that, I didn't think it was as bad as everybody seems to have expressed. As a movie, it wasn't at the highest quality, with cringe-worthy acting at times, cheap-looking computer effects and heavy,I viewed this film with all expectations wiped from my mind, knowing that the animation is so successful and the majority that had already seen the film spoke poisonously of it. Regarding that, I didn't think it was as bad as everybody seems to have expressed. As a movie, it wasn't at the highest quality, with cringe-worthy acting at times, cheap-looking computer effects and heavy, excitable bending movements. However, apart from that, it wasn't bad at all (or at least, would be extremely impressive if it were a university project or television drama). I enjoyed seeing the characters in a different medium and saw it merely as a bit of light entertainment; and with no pressurizing expectations, that to me wasn't a problem. The story was fast-paced, a bit blunt and at times confusing, but apart from that I found some of the changes from the original interesting and liked seeing the flash-backs in to characters' pasts. I also liked the small changes, such as Yue's change of hair colour as she was converted spiritually, Azula's peevish and more-like-her-age appearance and the different but balanced pair that was Iroh and Zuko, who I found showed better acting skill than most of the cast. Sokka was okay too, but I think Iroh won the prize for best actor among the others, who mostly looked as if they could have come from an ameture but very successful drama group. M. Night Shalalalaman had a big challenge to write, produce and direct a 1 1/2 hour movie and fit 20 episodes-worth into it. The outcome was successful and I really enjoyed viewing The Last Airbender, but I wouldn't be surprised if some of the crew had worked on the likes of Power Rangers in the past as well. It had potential to be better if the director hadn't taken on so much responsibility individually, but even if it could have been better, what is there is good enough for me! Expand
  69. Oct 18, 2011
    6
    Even though I liked the visuals the acting was just horrible and the dialogs, Oh my dear God.
    Since the acting is a really important thing in a movie it really irritates you if you can't enjoy a movie because of it. Furthermore, when the acting doesn't kill you, the stupid dialog will. To sum up, a good movie with some "bugs" and if you are a more visual type that doesn't care about the
    Even though I liked the visuals the acting was just horrible and the dialogs, Oh my dear God.
    Since the acting is a really important thing in a movie it really irritates you if you can't enjoy a movie because of it. Furthermore, when the acting doesn't kill you, the stupid dialog will. To sum up, a good movie with some "bugs" and if you are a more visual type that doesn't care about the dialog, acting than you will enjoy this movie and if not than I watching this movie would be a sin
    Expand
  70. Aug 24, 2014
    6
    Oh this feeling of disappointment and frustration I get every time I see a movie that had such potential, but which wasted it.

    The Last Airbender... based on an anime, this is the first part, I think. The story does end in a way that promises a sequel. I don't think that's an excuse to leave the story so... unfulfilling. The scenes kept jumping without coherency a few times, but it's
    Oh this feeling of disappointment and frustration I get every time I see a movie that had such potential, but which wasted it.

    The Last Airbender... based on an anime, this is the first part, I think. The story does end in a way that promises a sequel. I don't think that's an excuse to leave the story so... unfulfilling.

    The scenes kept jumping without coherency a few times, but it's a good thing that didn't happen all that much. More annoying was that we had plenty of Katara's inner dialogue, which in some cases was the only way to tie some events together and introduce new people. Then again, that dialogue didn't fit into the story since it kept jumping in only when they would have been forced used more time to explore/explain something, and sometimes they even explained something she had already gone over. Talk about inconsistence.

    All in all, the writing was rather poor. Such a fascinating world, history and cultures should be explored and not just thrown to the screen so that they can move on. All in all every scene suffered from an air of hurried storytelling. New characters appeared before you even got to know the old ones, and the acting really suffered from that as well; no one had the chance to actually perform, making it into a wooden farce. You couldn't possibly feel anything for anyone when they just stepped in without proper introduction.

    I was hoping this movie would be better than some of my friends said it was. I cannot help but feel disappointed. The special effect were just about as good as can be expected, but nothing to be amazed about.

    If they make a sequel, I hope they up their game a little!
    Expand
  71. Oct 14, 2013
    6
    I personally watched the Avatar: the Last Airbender show very occassionally, and while i liked it-it was cool, I did not watch it enough to consider myself among the biggest of fans. From this perspective, I can say I kinda enjoyed this movie.
    I thought the acting was not the best, but it wasn't Twilight bad (though Twilight, imo, was a bad series as the books as well). The CGI wasn't the
    I personally watched the Avatar: the Last Airbender show very occassionally, and while i liked it-it was cool, I did not watch it enough to consider myself among the biggest of fans. From this perspective, I can say I kinda enjoyed this movie.
    I thought the acting was not the best, but it wasn't Twilight bad (though Twilight, imo, was a bad series as the books as well). The CGI wasn't the worst, but I personally like CGI unless it is like the CGI in sitcoms on TV (like when a character dreams he has super powers and it has terribe CGI showing. them). The story is understandable in the sense that the Percy Jackson movies were- you understand it if you've read the book,or in this case watched the TV show, but it is still quite different. and the action, while not making sense sometimes (like when the earth benders float a rock rather than doing something cool) it was good enough
    I personally liked this movie. But I understand the ppl who hate it. This movie is just a generic movie, and the TV show was amazing- not to mention the lack of major parts of the show due to it being just 2 hours- and another thing, a generic movie like this does not have to exceed the 1 hour 30 min mark. I give this movie an F for the biggest fans of the series, a D-E if you were a fan but not an intense fan- like watching- the- series- fifty- times- in- a- row- intense, a C for those who uderstood the series and was just looking forward to watching a generic movie to pass the time

    *Also, I got this movie on Redbox, so I only paid 1$, so i thik it was at least worth that
    Expand
  72. Oct 3, 2014
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Rarely have I seen a movie receive such hate. Don't believe the haters, their feedback is WAY out of proportion (caveat - I've never seen the TV show). The movie isn't hard to follow. The production design is in general very good. That flying animal thing was ridiculous looking but the Fire Nation ships and armor looked grim and menacing. The effects are up to par and the action is good (caveat again - I didn't see this in 3D and some things looked like they could have been obnoxious in 3D). This is by no means a perfect movie. Some of the dialog and acting is wooden or borderline terrible and some of the emotional set-ups are dumb. "I'll miss you more than you'll ever know", why because you held hands for 5 minutes!?! The race casting is conspicuous, interesting from a minority director. The good guys are white and all the bad guys are middle eastern. I mean come-on, that lily white Gran-Gran wouldn't last a day in an arctic environment. But ultimately I enjoyed the film and (similar to The Golden Compass) I'm disappointed I can't see the rest of the story. Expand
  73. SeanO.
    Jul 2, 2010
    5
    I love the original cartoon of Avatar: The Last Airbender. And I am rarely critical of almost any movie I see. But there were several problems I had with this movie 1. The said several of the character's names wrong. Sokka, Aang, Iroh were not said like it is said in the cartoon. 2. Why can the Firebenders not bend fire without fire around them? In the cartoon they didn't have I love the original cartoon of Avatar: The Last Airbender. And I am rarely critical of almost any movie I see. But there were several problems I had with this movie 1. The said several of the character's names wrong. Sokka, Aang, Iroh were not said like it is said in the cartoon. 2. Why can the Firebenders not bend fire without fire around them? In the cartoon they didn't have to manipulate fire. They could make it on their own. 3. Why are the characters so serious. In the cartoon they are pretty funny and light hearted. Especially Aang and Sokka. In this movie, there was rarely a comical moment to be found. 4. They rushed the story. If you have not seen the cartoon I could definitely see why someone would be put off by what occurred in the movie. It went by so quickly that it was hard to tell what was going on. It is only an hour and 45 minute movie. They could have extended another 30 minutes and told the story better. (Even though another 30 minutes might have been torture to everyone who thinks the script and acting was horrible.) Overall I think with some new direction this could be a good live action crossover. With a new director and new script writer, I think it would be okay. I still found it mildly enjoyable because I love the cartoon so much, but can easily see why people would be put off by it. Expand
  74. CA
    Jul 5, 2010
    5
    Not horrible... could have been better. Still fun and wasn't a waste of time. I'd buy the DVD.
  75. meh
    Aug 11, 2010
    5
    The animated version is far and away the pinnacle of its existence. This movie felt far short of that pinnacle. Stiff acting, bad casting and the machinations of M. Night ruined what would have been an epic film. Now, it's just one of those movies used to babysit your nephew on a Saturday night.
  76. Aug 11, 2011
    5
    "The Last Airbender" is not terrible. The story is well put-together and flows well, considering it was all condensed from a whole season from a TV show. The visuals - save for the shameful post-production 3D that makes Clash of the Titans look like Avatar - are also very solid. Peltz's performance is bland, but aside from her, there weren't any huge problems. The screenplay, though, is a"The Last Airbender" is not terrible. The story is well put-together and flows well, considering it was all condensed from a whole season from a TV show. The visuals - save for the shameful post-production 3D that makes Clash of the Titans look like Avatar - are also very solid. Peltz's performance is bland, but aside from her, there weren't any huge problems. The screenplay, though, is a mess. Full of cliches and often incomprehensible, the whole plot falls apart by the end. Expand
  77. Jun 11, 2011
    5
    Based on the animated television show from Nickelodeon, this live-action adaptation tells the story about four nations with the elements of Air, Water, Earth, and Fire who fought against each in a great war. A few years later, a successful avatar and an airbender named Aang, who has been sealed frozen for thousands of years, has been released by two people from the water tribe named KataraBased on the animated television show from Nickelodeon, this live-action adaptation tells the story about four nations with the elements of Air, Water, Earth, and Fire who fought against each in a great war. A few years later, a successful avatar and an airbender named Aang, who has been sealed frozen for thousands of years, has been released by two people from the water tribe named Katara and Sokka as they try to protect him by any means necessary by joining him on a quest to the northern water kingdom to master waterbending while being chased by Prince Zuko, the exiled son of the fire lord Ozai, Commander Zhao, and the fire nation's military leader.

    Let's just say I watched the TV show and was excited to see this movie in theaters, but instead saw it online and boy was I disappointed. We'll get to the bad parts in a moment. For now, I'm going to say the good things about this movie.

    The actors did okay at their performances, the CGI effects were great, the music score had great emotion to it, the costume design was neat, and the action scenes were very cool. That's it for my praise.

    Now for the bad things. The storyline had a lot of flaws and was overlong, rushed, and predictable, the dialogue in the characters were let down, the storytelling was inconsistent, the characters were underdeveloped (butchered names included) and the script was bland.

    The Last Airbender isn't horrible, but it doesn't even hold a candle to the TV show. It's just a weak and very mediocre adaptation. I've been expected by a lot of people that I'm supposed to give this a 5/10, so yes, friends. A 5/10 is just the right rating for this movie. Is everyone happy now?

    5/10
    Collapse
  78. Jan 22, 2011
    5
    M. Night Shylaman does it again! That is not a good thing. If I were not a fan of the original series, this would be a 2 or a 3. He absoulutley ruined a potentially great movie. The acting was not awful, but the dialouge sure was!! Honestly I didn't know why people made a big deal in the casting when they should be concerned in who is directing and writing this THING!!! It doesn't makeM. Night Shylaman does it again! That is not a good thing. If I were not a fan of the original series, this would be a 2 or a 3. He absoulutley ruined a potentially great movie. The acting was not awful, but the dialouge sure was!! Honestly I didn't know why people made a big deal in the casting when they should be concerned in who is directing and writing this THING!!! It doesn't make sense and it was rushed. And I don't understand why they made the film dark and humourless, yet still wanted to stay within a PG rating? That's like making Terminator happy and G rated or Despicable Me dark and R rated!!! There are a few pros though. For starters the special effects are beautifully done and Dev Patel and Noah Ringer showed they can carry the role into a future film ( if there is one). The story also has alot of potential if they just lighten it up and take their time in developing their characters. It also wouldn't hurt to fix up the dialouge. If by some miracle they do make a sequel, they should dump ShylaBAD for ruining a potentially great first in a planned trilogy. Expand
  79. Aug 25, 2012
    5
    Perhaps giving this movie a 5 would be high praise considering how many people HATE this movie, but I can understand why they would hate it. I never watched the cartoon, but my guess from all of the hate is that the film adaptation isn't faithful at all to its source material. I tried watching the film as just a stand alone film, but it didn't even succeed with that. With the wooden actingPerhaps giving this movie a 5 would be high praise considering how many people HATE this movie, but I can understand why they would hate it. I never watched the cartoon, but my guess from all of the hate is that the film adaptation isn't faithful at all to its source material. I tried watching the film as just a stand alone film, but it didn't even succeed with that. With the wooden acting and bland storytelling, it's hard to care about what happens at all in the 103 minutes of this movie. It has some decent special effects and some ok action sequences, but that's all. Expand
  80. Aug 30, 2012
    5
    This movie is a big delusion! The dialogies and the script are terrible and the acting isn't much better. It's also too much serious, while the cartooon has many hilarious moments. If give it a 5 and not a 3 or a 2, it's just for the special effects and the fight scenes, which are some of the most visually beautiful I've ever seen.
  81. Jan 28, 2014
    5
    I genuinely think that this movie is not as absolutely unbearable and completely full of **** as most people make it out to be. But it is undeniably bad. Nominating Dev Patel for a Golden Razzie was very harsh but overall the acting is atrocious. Mainly due to the title character Aang played by Noah Ringer. How the hell did he even get through the audition process with a face which looksI genuinely think that this movie is not as absolutely unbearable and completely full of **** as most people make it out to be. But it is undeniably bad. Nominating Dev Patel for a Golden Razzie was very harsh but overall the acting is atrocious. Mainly due to the title character Aang played by Noah Ringer. How the hell did he even get through the audition process with a face which looks constantly surprised and in pain at the same time. Pretty much everyone else with the exception of Dev Patel (who is alright) is bad, but not to the point of self harm like Noah Ringer. Reading other reviews most people claim that the cheesy dialogue is the worst thing about the whole movie, I have to admit I agree with them all. Sure it isn't Tommy Wiseau's The Room, but damn this is written by the same guy who directed The Sixth Sense. What the **** happened? Out of every second of The Last Airbender which I watched the only above average and enjoyable aspect of it was Zuko's storyline (Dev Patel). Maybe if I could be bothered to watch the anime TV series it might be better, I hate to admit it but I actually thought his banishment was pretty cool. However the last scene (which is only in there for the minute chance of a sequel) they totally ruin it and attempt to bring in even more family conflict to create drama. Every attempt at drama in the movie fails though, I did not care one bit about the bull**** love story between Sokka and Yue (who's penis haircut was the best part of the movie). Overall M.Night Shyamalan really should have made the movie much less crap for it to be enjoyable. I have never summarised a movie so bluntly before. Expand
  82. Oct 22, 2013
    5
    Not as bad as I heard it was, maybe because I haven't seen the show. Leaving that aside, the movie is just painfully mediocre, the potential is there and the CGI was great, its just not used well enough.
  83. Jun 1, 2013
    5
    Now granted, the film has its good qualities. I thought, as an audience member, it was reasonable. But as a student filmmaker, I must say, M. Night Shalyaman has done better work.
  84. Oct 25, 2013
    5
    This movie gets a lot of bad rap because:
    1) It wasn't as good as the series, not even close.
    2) They pronounce the names wrong (even if Shyamalan thought he had good reasoning) 3) They screwed up uncle iroh 4) They screwed up the way people are supposed to firebend. But despite this the movie still managed to entertain me and if you are a fan of the series, seeing live action bending
    This movie gets a lot of bad rap because:
    1) It wasn't as good as the series, not even close.
    2) They pronounce the names wrong (even if Shyamalan thought he had good reasoning)
    3) They screwed up uncle iroh
    4) They screwed up the way people are supposed to firebend.
    But despite this the movie still managed to entertain me and if you are a fan of the series, seeing live action bending fights really made the movie worth watching.
    Expand
  85. JohnM.
    Jul 2, 2010
    4
    The effects and action scenes where well done, but the dialogue suffers as it feels like it was zooming through the avatar universe.
  86. DavidC.
    Jul 1, 2010
    4
    On the one hand, I'm impressed by the film's commitment to the source material. It pulls from multiple episodes and does allot of it justice. Unfortunately, it does this at the expense of its character development and actual dialogue. And the fact is, that while the martial arts, awesome animation, and intriguing storyline were all large facets of the series, the one aspect that On the one hand, I'm impressed by the film's commitment to the source material. It pulls from multiple episodes and does allot of it justice. Unfortunately, it does this at the expense of its character development and actual dialogue. And the fact is, that while the martial arts, awesome animation, and intriguing storyline were all large facets of the series, the one aspect that set it above typical kids shows was the characters, Instead we're left with cardboard cutouts that leave us longing for the show. Again, if you're looking for eye candy and unique martial arts scenes, you could do allot worse. just don't expect much else. Expand
  87. Angtheairbender
    Jul 5, 2010
    4
    Well, Metacritc's score is almost spot on. This film has tons of problems. And you can tell this film was rushed so badly and almost no heart was put into it. The characters have little personality, and if you're going to this film to see the cleverness and for all of the great memorable characters, you will be very disappointed. Almost no humor is present, and Sokka Well, Metacritc's score is almost spot on. This film has tons of problems. And you can tell this film was rushed so badly and almost no heart was put into it. The characters have little personality, and if you're going to this film to see the cleverness and for all of the great memorable characters, you will be very disappointed. Almost no humor is present, and Sokka doesn't even tell one joke in the entire film or make a sarcastic remark, which is what his whole character is about!! The effects are mediocre at best, and could've been so much better. I don't know why the say some of the names differently, which is stupid. The charcters hardly resemble themselves from the series except Katara and Sokka which made me happy, but then again Sokka isn't funny at all, and all Katara does is cry and protect Aang. I hated all the things they changed in this movie too; it just ruined it and insulted my intelligence.. The only scenes I appreciated and liked isthe beginning in the South Pole, the blue-spirit scenes and the very end. And the action scenes you see in the trailers, is basically all of the action that's in the movie, which just ruins it even more. Shyamalan didn't care about this movie at all or very little. The entire first season crammed into 90 minutes is not enough for this film, and if he cared about it, he would give the fans what they wanted and make it a 2 1/2 hour film with an extended edition for the die-hard fans and actually have character-development and a story that resembles the actually first season by 70% atleast... It just makes me sad that this film was made, it should've never been created in the first place, and did nothing for the fans and it tells you Shyamalan cares more about money than us... I'm so angry; I could've written a screen-play ten times better than this!! And I wish I could direct a new-film just to get it right!!! The only reason it deserves a four which is being nice, is that it looks like some effort was put into it and atleast they got some characters that resembled their animated counterparts and it was somewhat related to Book One and gave me inspiration to write my own screenplay to redo this horrible masterpiece, and making go back to watching and appreciating the animated series even more. Have super low expectations if you see this... Short Review: It's not a good film and it will disappoint many Avatar fans, and the characters have no personalities and the film is way too rushed. Also has lots of stupid changes and Shymalan is a horrible director. Don't see this in the theaters, rent it if you're a fan or you just want to entertain and calm down some kids or just for a good pop-corn film. I would've liked this film more if I didn't see this in the theatres, because I expect such a better experience. Have low expectations in be in a good mood for a better experience. 4/10. Shorter Review: Just rent it if you're a fan with very low expectations. 4/10. I don't have much to say about the acting since they're just kids and haven't really started an acting career yet. And is mostly Shyamalan's fault for not being a better director. Expand
  88. Sep 27, 2010
    4
    I took my ten year old daughter to see this. She does Karate and she likes fantasy, explosions and swords. She gives it an 8. For her I think the fact that the acting and screenplay is really cringeworthy in many places eludes her. On the other hand I have to admit to being really bored and just kind of embarassed for the actors. I'm sure many of them have a lot more potential. Some of theI took my ten year old daughter to see this. She does Karate and she likes fantasy, explosions and swords. She gives it an 8. For her I think the fact that the acting and screenplay is really cringeworthy in many places eludes her. On the other hand I have to admit to being really bored and just kind of embarassed for the actors. I'm sure many of them have a lot more potential. Some of the special effects and action sequences are really very good, and I can see that Shyamalan had a lot of potential with the intellectual property, but I really think he just couldn't pull it together. Honestly it's like watching a train wreck in 3D animation, but slowed down to 1/60th time. You just want it to be over. If there is an obvious 'reason' for such a flop I think I saw it in the end credits "Written, Directed, and Produced by M. Night Shyamalan". His ego has him wearing one (or two) too many hats. This is a movie that you could wait to see on DVD if you have kids that like the cartoon or the idea, or not at all if you don't. Expand
  89. Oct 6, 2013
    4
    Well it was better than the Dragonball movie that came out a while back which was also based on a famous anime hahaha but still it wasn't by much. I mean the movie started ok but I wish the story was more worked out and what's with the end, is there a sequel to it?
  90. Apr 21, 2014
    4
    I don't think it is as bad as everyone says it is but still nothing good at all. I thought the beginning of the movie was ok introducing everything that part was entertaining enough. And then I thought it started going down hill from there with a couple memorable scenes until the end of the movie. Still not a good movie but not one of the worst either.
  91. Kenny
    Jul 3, 2010
    3
    The movie's effects were awesome, but everything else could have been better. The characters' dialogue was very awkward and lacking that certain feel. I watched some of the cartoon episodes and Aang's character was portrayed differently in the film. Aang, as I recall, was quite carefree and had fun in the cartoon. In the film, however, Aang is very serious and I don't The movie's effects were awesome, but everything else could have been better. The characters' dialogue was very awkward and lacking that certain feel. I watched some of the cartoon episodes and Aang's character was portrayed differently in the film. Aang, as I recall, was quite carefree and had fun in the cartoon. In the film, however, Aang is very serious and I don't think he smiled once throughout the film. The story did not have good transitions. I mean I could follow what is occurring, but again it could have been better. I was very bored during the film probably because I did not really care for the characters. My friend who had wanted to see the film fell asleep and so did the person sitting on my other side in theaters. Again, the only parts of the film I enjoyed was the effects. Expand
  92. KC
    Jul 2, 2010
    3
    It was done like he didn't care about the characters and their personalities, and as if pretty graphics with no attention to detail or development = translating an amazing story to the big screen. It was like he watched the series for 10 minutes, cut all the story and left all the "cool looking" parts.
  93. DJ.
    Jul 2, 2010
    3
    I'm afraid it really it as bad as everyone says. I had even lowered my expectations accordingly and was still let down. I haven't seen writing this terrible since SW: Ep 2. This movie could make any actor look horrible.
  94. CranstonP.
    Jul 2, 2010
    3
    M. Night has taken one of the best story lines and ruined it. Mispronouncing names, choosing kids who CAN'T act, and failing to develop the characters, has proven that he no longer knows what he is doing. Unless you have seen the series, you will have no idea what is going on. I have seen the series and I spent the entire movie filling in the gaps in my head. Someone else needs to M. Night has taken one of the best story lines and ruined it. Mispronouncing names, choosing kids who CAN'T act, and failing to develop the characters, has proven that he no longer knows what he is doing. Unless you have seen the series, you will have no idea what is going on. I have seen the series and I spent the entire movie filling in the gaps in my head. Someone else needs to take this project over and remake the first one. Poor form M. Night. Expand
  95. BrianO
    Jul 5, 2010
    3
    My 4 year old loved only as a 4 year old could. Now me as the grown-up I was highly disappointed. I knew that taking such a rich tapistry such as Avatar:The Last Airbender and adapting it for the silverscreen would be a challege. But M. Night gets a big F in writing. First he screws up the entire sub-plot of the series, which is the love story of Aang and Kateria which is one of the most My 4 year old loved only as a 4 year old could. Now me as the grown-up I was highly disappointed. I knew that taking such a rich tapistry such as Avatar:The Last Airbender and adapting it for the silverscreen would be a challege. But M. Night gets a big F in writing. First he screws up the entire sub-plot of the series, which is the love story of Aang and Kateria which is one of the most endearing parts of the series. Secondly he ignores important foreshaddowing senerios, and dismisses entire major charatcters. Did anyone else miss the Keoshi warriors or Jung Jung? Both which are important elements the later books. The relationship between Zuko, and Iroh was underdeveloped. And last but not least the timeing of important dioglouge was misplaced. On the good visually the movie (in 2D) was well done, and the costumes were correct. The biggest mistake was letting M. Night write the adaption. A well written story can keep an audience in there seats and interested for .3 or 4 hours at a time, Think of Gahndi, or Lawerance of Arabia. Unfortantely, he tried to put a Persian Miniature on a postage stamp, and failed in his effort. Should the series be continued I recommend letting the orginator write the screen adaption. Expand
  96. EbriamH
    Jul 3, 2010
    3
    Not good, just not good.
  97. Dec 3, 2010
    3
    ive never seen the cartoon show and didnt even know about it till a year ago and still havent and after seeing this film i doubt i will ever want to. the tv show im sure is better but this film left such a bad taste for this series. well the worst thing about this film is the acting it feels like a middle school play and i feel like thats almost giving this film praise saying that. theive never seen the cartoon show and didnt even know about it till a year ago and still havent and after seeing this film i doubt i will ever want to. the tv show im sure is better but this film left such a bad taste for this series. well the worst thing about this film is the acting it feels like a middle school play and i feel like thats almost giving this film praise saying that. the worst of it is from the 3 kids whos acting is so bad in this you can bet they will never do films again and if they are lucky may appear on some crappy sci fi channel film or on life time . the plot is poorly told the charicters are about as intresting as waching grass grow . the only good thing this film has is lush back grounds and visaul effects . the fighting is laughable with every one dancing around like abunch of retards trying to hump a door knob. M night shamallamadingdong one again proves he's a **** director and some how got lucky with the 6th sense and unbreakable.. probubly because he had good actors to carry his sorry ass. evade this film like its got herpese. Expand
  98. Aug 14, 2010
    3
    I'm being more than a little generous. The movie is the logical extreme of what movies like Avatar have wrought. Excellent aesthetics, absolutely atrocious acting. The movie is a butchering of the cartoon, with horrible, awkward dialogue, a plot consisting mostly of exposition, and flat characters with very little to like.
    The sad thing is that the cartoon is one of the best written and
    I'm being more than a little generous. The movie is the logical extreme of what movies like Avatar have wrought. Excellent aesthetics, absolutely atrocious acting. The movie is a butchering of the cartoon, with horrible, awkward dialogue, a plot consisting mostly of exposition, and flat characters with very little to like.
    The sad thing is that the cartoon is one of the best written and intelligent children's shows in recent memory, yet it gets adapted into a horrific film. If you like the cartoon, watch it for a laugh. If you never watched the cartoon, keep this movie off your list.
    Expand
  99. Nov 6, 2010
    3
    This movie could have been good, but it leaves out waaayyy too much of the story, so there was no way to develop the characters as well as the plot jumps around, plus the acting is only so-so. If they had another hour or two, they could have patched something together that made sense, and if you haven't seen the series, you'll have no clue what's going on. The kid they chose for AngThis movie could have been good, but it leaves out waaayyy too much of the story, so there was no way to develop the characters as well as the plot jumps around, plus the acting is only so-so. If they had another hour or two, they could have patched something together that made sense, and if you haven't seen the series, you'll have no clue what's going on. The kid they chose for Ang wasn't bad, though, and the special effects were pretty decent. If you've watched the cartoon series and you're a fan, you're better off skipping this. I take that back - it's probably a good idea for everyone to skip this! Expand
  100. Jul 21, 2012
    3
    The Last Airbender is all eye candy and has no heart like the Nickelodeon cartoon it is based upon. The only thing really going for is the somewhat decent visual effects used for the action and bending effects. Other than that, the story is dull, the dialogue is uninspiring, and the acting is utterly atrocious. If the visual effects were not decent, this film could have been a lot worse.The Last Airbender is all eye candy and has no heart like the Nickelodeon cartoon it is based upon. The only thing really going for is the somewhat decent visual effects used for the action and bending effects. Other than that, the story is dull, the dialogue is uninspiring, and the acting is utterly atrocious. If the visual effects were not decent, this film could have been a lot worse. This is by far the worst film M. Night Shyamalan has ever made. Expand
Metascore
20

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 33
  2. Negative: 23 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    20
    This is all enormously disappointing, of course, since the best we could hope for from a live-action "Avatar" adaptation is the mind-blowing equivalent of our first encounters with wire-fu, rather than this cartoony nonsense.
  2. The movie is "Star Wars" with martial arts, plus a touch of "The Last Emperor." Technically, it's not badly done; I enjoyed the physical clash of elements, the water balls rising like sculpture in the air.
  3. Reviewed by: Scott Bowles
    63
    He hasn't mastered the craft yet, but M. Night Shyamalan may be on to something with this action-movie thing.