Paramount Pictures | Release Date: July 1, 2010
2.5
USER SCORE
Generally unfavorable reviews based on 790 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
133
Mixed:
76
Negative:
581
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
cag11Nov 26, 2013
I honestly don't think an actual movie can get as bad as this one. It has terrible acting, a terrible script, cheesy effects, and missing out on some of the most important parts of the show. They even changed most of the names and the way theI honestly don't think an actual movie can get as bad as this one. It has terrible acting, a terrible script, cheesy effects, and missing out on some of the most important parts of the show. They even changed most of the names and the way the people bend their elements. Although this isn't the worst one I've seen, it sure is close to it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
greg12030Nov 14, 2013
I saw the midnight showing with a group or hardcore friends and fellow fans. The audience was actually laughing throughout that movie at just how bad it was. The only thing that this film has going for it, is the special effects. Thats it.I saw the midnight showing with a group or hardcore friends and fellow fans. The audience was actually laughing throughout that movie at just how bad it was. The only thing that this film has going for it, is the special effects. Thats it. Its bad. Stay away. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
1
UrbanScottMay 12, 2014
This is honestly the worst movie you will ever watch in your entire life most likely.

The movie features horrendous acting, bad plot, cheesy special effects... The list goes on and on. I did watch the show, and found it to be one of the
This is honestly the worst movie you will ever watch in your entire life most likely.

The movie features horrendous acting, bad plot, cheesy special effects... The list goes on and on.

I did watch the show, and found it to be one of the best family/kid shows out there. It was entertaining, funny... it was well done. So when I finally saw The Last Airbender, I thought I was going to love it. I heard it was bad, but I figured I would give it the benefit of the doubt.

....
I don't even know how to describe it. It's like watching a train wreck that happened 50 years ago. It doesnt get worse and worse, it's so bad from the start, that even though it does get "worse and worse" you don't even notice it because your so bored. Even the action in the movie is terrible. The "bending" is crap, everything about it is crap.

The only reason I gave it 1 instead of 0 is because it's entertaining to make fun of, and it's special effects aren't 0 worthy.

Honestly, I suggest watching it if you have nothing better to do. Then you can make fun of it, which I guess is fun.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
Venomq7May 15, 2014
This movie may be appealing for lower state of mind but for all others it is boring and an insult to the real Avatar: The Last Airbender and it's fans. Everything about this movie is terrible. Avoid at all costs.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
Kai82Sep 10, 2014
Maybe the biggest rape of source material in movie history. The charm, heart and soul of the original is lost. The well written characters are gone. Only the names of the characters are well transferred. The story is compressed and soulless.Maybe the biggest rape of source material in movie history. The charm, heart and soul of the original is lost. The well written characters are gone. Only the names of the characters are well transferred. The story is compressed and soulless. It takes a lot of effort to destroy such good sourch material. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
1
ShedeggDec 5, 2014
Avatar the last airbender is probably the worst m.night movie there is. It is based on the kids tv show, but honestly it wasn't as good. I'm not the biggest fan of the tv show but the movie is absolutely rubbish. It is not worth watching asAvatar the last airbender is probably the worst m.night movie there is. It is based on the kids tv show, but honestly it wasn't as good. I'm not the biggest fan of the tv show but the movie is absolutely rubbish. It is not worth watching as the plot doesn't really make sense, and it's a full length film therefore you end up sitting there for around 2 hours watching something which shouldn't have been made. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
MrMovieBuffMar 6, 2016
Writer and director, M. Night Shyamalan tries to prove that he's more than just eerie, atmospheric thrillers with twist endings, and tries to direct a fantasy spectacle based on the popular Nickelodeon TV series titled "Avatar: The LastWriter and director, M. Night Shyamalan tries to prove that he's more than just eerie, atmospheric thrillers with twist endings, and tries to direct a fantasy spectacle based on the popular Nickelodeon TV series titled "Avatar: The Last Airbender". Of course, the film itself had to be re-titled 'The Last Airbender' to avoid confusion with the 2009 Science fiction spectacle by James Cameron.

The "film" (the quotation marks are intentional) starts off where we meet a young girl named Katara (Nicola Peltz), who has the ability to control and manipulate water. We also meet her brother named Sokka (a very bland Jackson Rathbone) who has been left to look after his younger sister since their parents are not around anymore.

The two characters that we have been introduced to, but know nothing about, come across a big ice sculpture that seems to have a little boy trapped inside of it. This little boy turns out to be the legendary airbender named Aang (Noah Ringer), or as they like to call him... "Ung". They take him back to their civilization and try to learn all about him, he tells them as many stories as he can remember about his training and how he might just be the last of his people to do the many things he is able to do.

The main antagonist of this "film" is Prince Zuko (Dev Patel of 'Slumdog Millionaire') who is a part of the Fire Nation and is often guided by his uncle Iroh (Shaun Toub), who he sees as his sort of mentor.

The "film" is 103 minutes long, in other words, it is one of the shorter feature films out there in recent years. Most films tend to be told at a minimum run time of 120 minutes (depending on the genre). Despite how short this film is...I was sneaking looks at my watch almost every 10 minutes that this film was plodding on, and I can tell that the adults watching this with their children did this too, I'm also very certain that children were bored by this film as well, as you can tell with their fidgety behavior, they clearly have had enough.

The action is dull, the story plods along, the characters are bland and nobody should care for them because the screenplay (by M. Night Shyamalan) doesn't allow you to care for these characters. It also doesn't help that the acting, mainly from Nicola Peltz and Jackson Rathbone are awkward and stiff, the way they deliver their lines is really bad, even for child acting standards. Such as the scene, when Rathbone, as Sokka just looks at Aang with a forced surprised and confused look and asks "So...are you the Avatar, Aang?".

The dialogue is also almost poor to the quality of the "Star Wars" prequels, if you thought Hayden Christensen's explanation as to why he dislikes sand was bad enough, just wait until you see what Shyamalan has here. It makes 'Star Wars: Attack of the Clones' (2002) look like 'Star Wars: The Empire Strikes Back' (1980).

Another thing that this "film" does terribly is the fact that it glosses over so many things that the TV show explains and devotes full time to focus on. I understand that Shyamalan is trying to cram a whole series' worth of stories into a single 103 minute film, but less is more. Try and just fit a couple of episodes...

By the way, the ending is a tease for a sequel that we know is never going to happen.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
ElectroNickJun 1, 2016
The Last Airbender directed by the now-infamous M. Night Shyamalan is considered by many fans of the original show to be one of the worst if not the worst adaptation of all time. The film performed poorly at the box office and was had plentyThe Last Airbender directed by the now-infamous M. Night Shyamalan is considered by many fans of the original show to be one of the worst if not the worst adaptation of all time. The film performed poorly at the box office and was had plenty of negative reviews upon its release. Those who have greatly enjoyed the original source material quite often show their distaste for the adaptation of their favorite show. The film has poor editing, cinematography, and horrid acting but the main problem with the film reflects a deeper issue. The film oversimplifies plot points from the show and it fails to go into depth with the show’s influences in Eastern philosophies and it even has some implicit message in racism due to the casting and the portrayal of those who are people of color. There are even some changes from the source material that added to the overall detriment of the film.
As mentioned before, some of the character portrayals in this film are a clear downgrade from their original counterparts in an attempt to appeal to a wider audience. The character Sokka was the comedy relief in the original show. He was used as a way to get some comedic antics to take a break from the action set pieces and heavier moments in the narrative. On top of that he was also the team strategist as he is the one who usually creates the plans that makes the team become triumphant in certain moments of the show. He goes through a character arc when he overcomes his sexism and some of the jokes that revolve around him parody the notion of the tough guy. In the beginning of the show he starts to believe that physical strength is everything but later realizes that strength is not the only thing that defines a man and he starts to have a growing respect for femininity. In the film though, the character noticeably lacks his trademark humor and is mostly stoic throughout most of the story. He does have a sarcastic comment every now and then but he remains serious throughout the majority of the film. He is even angry throughout most of the film which is in clear contrast to his original counterpart. This seems to be an attempt to appeal to the demographic who are attracted to the “bad boy” archetype. This promotes masculinity as he is never challenged for his ideas on real manhood in the film and supports the ideals that the original character was a parody of. Aang has also changed from his original version as he is changed to appeal to a wider western audience. In the original show he was influenced by the Tibetan Buddhist Monks as he teaches himself balance and he has tattoos of arrows all over his body as representation of enlightenment. Throughout the storyline he was conflicted about his role as the avatar. He spends his time not being sure if he could handle the responsibility until the end of the show when he reaches true enlightenment as he finds balance in his personal life and in his role as the Avatar. In the Film version though, Aang is noticeably white and his tattoos are shaped like a cross instead of an arrow and he never questions his position as the Avatar. This makes Aang an allegory for the life of Jesus Christ. It disregarded the character’s eastern influence in order to be the chosen one to save people from their sins. This does appeal more to an American audience since the dominant religion in America is Christianity but this not only undermines the point of Aang’s character but it also disregards the main philosophies that the show promotes through the Buddhist influences. The Fire Lord who is the main villain of the film is out in the open and lacks the menace he had in the show. Most of the menace was lost as he is shown in full view while the show had his face hidden until the final season. By removing the menace it makes the villain less of a threat and less engaging in an attempt to appeal to younger children. The one character who had the biggest disservice was Kitaria. Her character arc in the original show involved her overcoming the sexism of her culture. She was nurturing but she also had a quick temper. She valued her friends but she was also ambitious and wanted to be a great warrior. Her film counterpart on the other hand seems to be defined by her gender and nothing else. She is nurturing but she never evolves from the role that society has given to her. She doesn’t join in the battle and is even incompetent in battle. Kitaria in this film makes mistakes that her original version would never do such as charging into battle without a plan. The character in the film is hardly recognizable from the show as she merely accepts the role of only being a healer instead of being a capable fighter and even a feminist icon for younger children.
Aside from the changes in the character portrayals the depiction of other races in this film has a xenophobic essence to it which sends some questionable- implied messages. All of the member of the fire nation are Indian or middle eastern which heavily contrasts the show’s Japanese influence for them. The Fire Nation in the show was inspired by Japanese imperialism during World War II and they were motivated by desperation and through political prowess much like Nazi Germany. The film’s version though dismisses the political intrigue outside of the portrayal of the banished Prince Zuko in favor of making them purely irredeemable. According to the film’s narrative the Fire Nation wanted to conquer the world to fight against the spirit world. This gives the message that the noticeably darker skinned soldiers are heretic barbarians who could not be bargained with. There is barely any depth to the fire nation as they are nothing more than mindless barbarians as opposed to the show when the viewer starts to learn more about how their totalitarian society worked. It is strange considering that the director himself is Indian but it seems to be a casting decision by the studio. The only sensible member of the fire nation army is General Iroh who is Caucasian. The earth benders are depicted as incompetent as they cannot fathom the idea of bending the earth to their will in a prison when they are surrounded by Earth. The prison in the original show was on a metal ship in the middle of the ocean which was a deliberate choice since no earth bending was possible and they only raised up when they had the motivation by Kitaria. In this film though they had given up immediately until they are inspired by a white hero to give them the motivation they need. Unlike the fire nation the Earth Kingdom keep their Asian influence (mostly Chinese) but they are still less competent than the white heroes. The Water Tribe are based off of the Sioux and other Eskimo tribes but the two supporting characters are cast as white heroes. This gives the implication that Americans would rather have a white protagonist instead of one that is part of an ethnic minority even if the original influence was based off of a culture outside of white America. One of the biggest ways the representation of other races is problematic in this postmodern film was the introduction of a monk who was a creation purely for the film. This Monk in question betrays Aang in order to get more gold. This does complete the Christ like narrative that would be more accessible for an American audience but it betrays the Buddhist philopshy that the show was going for. The Monk’s reasoning for betraying Aang was that he was in a life of poverty but the main Buddhist philosophes is to get rid of your desires of the material world.
The biggest problem with this adaptation in regards to United States cinema is the overreliance on exposition. The majority of the dialogue is nothing more than to give background information without any regards for world building or character development. The film has a heavy reliance on the “tell don’t show” mantra even though one of the basic rules of storytelling is to take the exact opposite approach. The once scene that ultimately illustrates this was when the main character Aang discovered his destiny of being the Avatar. The animated serial went into great lengths to show the turmoil he went through. He was the designated chosen one but he was only a child and thus he couldn’t handle the pressure of being the hero of both worlds. His main character arc was accepting his responsibility of the avatar while also finding the right balance in his personal life. The film on the other hand has Aang stand in one room and merely tell the audience his backstory instead of giving the audience a chance to fully experience the character’s turmoil. Another example was when the audience learns why the banished Prince Zuko is trying to capture Aang. The show used a storm as a symbolic gesture about Zuko and Aangs relationship as both of their back stories are told simultaneously. In his cinematic version, Shyamalan made the choice to have Zuko’s backstory told by a child who just happened to be in the same room as the disguised prince. The film doesn’t seem to trust the audience enough to analyze the subtle character interactions and their relationships like in the show. Instead they are simply told what the characters are feeling and their inner emotions without any room for the audience to come to those conclusions themselves.
The Last Airbender is a perfect example of the worst case scenario for an adaption of a beloved storyline in order to appeal to a wider audience. Fortunately the attempt backfired on the studio as audiences realized that the quality of a film is not always based on the amount of special effects or attractive white actors one can put in a film. Modern audiences are starting to catch onto the trends of postmodern Hollywood and are demanding better films to occupy their time. The rise in popularity of online reviews makes it easier to spread the word about the quality and the artistic merit of a film. Peoples’ voices are being heard by Hollywood that modern audiences demand better writing and more effort in smart storytelling instead of only being reliant on the traditional block buster formula.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
MEFzelderMay 17, 2016
La experiencia de "The Last Airbender" me permitió descubrir que un director experimentado y presupuestos millonarios no garantizan que una adaptación sea bien lograda si no se esta bien involucrado con el material original.
La película se
La experiencia de "The Last Airbender" me permitió descubrir que un director experimentado y presupuestos millonarios no garantizan que una adaptación sea bien lograda si no se esta bien involucrado con el material original.
La película se ve bien, pero en el momento que los personajes hablan todo cae en picada, el problema es que se trató de introducir todo el material necesario para entender ¿Qué es el Avatar?¿Qué hace el Avatar?¿Quiénes son sus enemigos?... y toda esa información se empaqueta en diálogos que no permiten que uno se involucren con los personajes.
Otra falla descomunal es la acción, no hay una buena muestro del control de los elementos, todo se minimiza para que no sea dificil generar la imagen por computadora, los maestros tierras lanzan pequeñas rocas, los maestros agua chorros y los maestros fuego pequeñas flamas. Apenas hay enfrentamientos, y ninguno memorable a pesar de que tratan de tener en pantalla grupos grandes de gente para éstos.
En general, "The Last Airbender" es una mala adaptación que no hace honor a la serie, tiene uno que otro buen efecto pero el elenco no actúa, los diálogos son forzados y el humor se redujo a 0. No lo vean, no vale la pena.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
TooMuchRazMatazJul 1, 2010
Beyond terrible. Worse than any movie I've ever seen. This was a make or break for whether I would watch any more M. Night movies and boy did he break it. As a huge fan of the original series (I even went dressed up in a home made Water Beyond terrible. Worse than any movie I've ever seen. This was a make or break for whether I would watch any more M. Night movies and boy did he break it. As a huge fan of the original series (I even went dressed up in a home made Water Nation costume), I am in constant disgust of what he did with this movie. When it ended, my entire theater was literally booing and screaming. When Shyamalan's name came up for the end credits many profanities were yelled. By far the greatest aspect of the movie, the visuals, still weren't even THAT impressive. If I could give it below a 0, I would. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
KanaR.Jul 2, 2010
This movie was unthrilling and just completely horrible.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
joshuas.Jul 3, 2010
A terrible script intensified by the abysmal acting destroys this already lackluster action film.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
CourtneyLJul 5, 2010
This is one of my favorite series and M. Knight completely ruined it. I was so excited to hear that they have turned this show into a movie. All great expectations went down the drain during the movie. Even the creators of the show This is one of my favorite series and M. Knight completely ruined it. I was so excited to hear that they have turned this show into a movie. All great expectations went down the drain during the movie. Even the creators of the show pronounced the characters names correctly, so why is it that they changed it? It sounds so stupid. If you have never seen the series, i find that you are going to be SO lost. The actors could have been so much better. Sokka was awful and sukos scar was hardly even there! Aang was not light hearted and Katara was just there. Why did the creators let M. Knight direct this film? He obviously has no idea what he's doing. I'm so upset. The movie is a disaster. I hope when they do the next two books, a new director/actors are chosen. Better yet, they should redo the whole f****** film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
BruceKJul 1, 2010
Waste of money, in my thoughts. It was so random it seemed like the people who planned the movie never even saw the cartoon. The mispronunciations and wrong depictions from the cartoon, this movie was an Epic Fail. They should just re-do the Waste of money, in my thoughts. It was so random it seemed like the people who planned the movie never even saw the cartoon. The mispronunciations and wrong depictions from the cartoon, this movie was an Epic Fail. They should just re-do the whole movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JeffTJul 1, 2010
Echhh, just plain drivel. No fun at all, nothing interesting in the dialogue, action, or effects...Skip it and watch the cartoon.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
AllenM.Jul 1, 2010
Wow. How terrible was that? I can't remember the last time I walked out of a movie but it was all I could do for this. Way to suck all the fun and personality out of one of the best animated series of the last decade, Shyamalan!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JoshM.Jul 2, 2010
When I heard that M. Knight Shyamalan would be directing the live action adaptation of my favorite cartoon of all time, I felt like kicking a puppy. This man is a sham, he is not a director, he is a destroyer of all things glorious. He is When I heard that M. Knight Shyamalan would be directing the live action adaptation of my favorite cartoon of all time, I felt like kicking a puppy. This man is a sham, he is not a director, he is a destroyer of all things glorious. He is nowhere near qualified to direct any film, let alone one with so much potential. He took brilliant source material, and ruined it. I would not be surprised if the script itself was written in crayon. To Shyamalan, I have only one thing to say. I hope this movie buries you. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JenKJul 2, 2010
Now, I had fun watching this movie, but only because I went with 2 of my friends and we all went in to the movie knowing that it was terrible (so we went just to laugh at it). There are so many flaws with this movie it honestly seems Now, I had fun watching this movie, but only because I went with 2 of my friends and we all went in to the movie knowing that it was terrible (so we went just to laugh at it). There are so many flaws with this movie it honestly seems intentional. The fighting was alright at some points but then it gets to a point where you are thinking "Let's see...you bend water and this fire bender here is using fire, PUT THE GOD DAMN FIRE OUT SO HE CAN'T USE IT!". There is also some very helpful narration brought to you by Katara and it's about as pointless as giving a snake a pair of shoes; the entire movie, instead of letting the audience SEE what is going on you just hear things like "We went this way and Ang was thinking this and that, so blah blah blah". Why do I have to look at a tree in the distance as she is explaining what evidentally happened instead of seeing what ACTUALLY happened instead!? Also there were some of the corniest moments I have ever seen in a movie, in the Last Airbender. It's just too much to rant about...but if you want to see it anyway, expect a comedy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AmandaM.Jul 2, 2010
Whatever thread of similarity this movie had with the wonderful cartoon series I had fallen in love with was broken by stilted dialogue, incomprehensible storyline, and useless graphics. Don't watch this. It will break a fan's Whatever thread of similarity this movie had with the wonderful cartoon series I had fallen in love with was broken by stilted dialogue, incomprehensible storyline, and useless graphics. Don't watch this. It will break a fan's heart, and it will only confuse the uninitiated. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful
0
DavidN.Jul 2, 2010
Felt like the Dragon Ball Z movie, remixed with modern effects.
3 of 4 users found this helpful
0
JamesJul 3, 2010
I typically trust Ebert, Travers, and others here who awarded this film such scathing reviews. But for some reason I still felt the need to see this movie, thinking that these critics were sometimes subject to harsh overstatement. I typically trust Ebert, Travers, and others here who awarded this film such scathing reviews. But for some reason I still felt the need to see this movie, thinking that these critics were sometimes subject to harsh overstatement. Unfortunately, this movie was unfathomably bad, and one of the worst films I've seen since 10,000 BC. Do not waste your money on this. The more who do, the more likely it is that the studio will let him make a follow-up, and that is something that nobody wants. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
0
JazzHJul 4, 2010
M. Night is best at original not putting his artistic spin on an adaption. He white-washed the whole cast not one other leading actors were Asian. Why was Dev Pevel casted let alone considered he doesn't look nothing like prince zuko M. Night is best at original not putting his artistic spin on an adaption. He white-washed the whole cast not one other leading actors were Asian. Why was Dev Pevel casted let alone considered he doesn't look nothing like prince zuko and didn't attempt to what happen to the hair cut what happen to the burn over his eye. If they do still make chapter two in to a movie I hope it's re-casted w/ possibly with a new director otherwise it's already lost me as a fan! Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
0
terrygJul 4, 2010
Needless to say, as a fan of the cartoon, I was deeply disappointed. The movie felt rushed & peiced together,there was no character development, the dialouge was horrible, and the acting was literally laughable. I do not understand how Needless to say, as a fan of the cartoon, I was deeply disappointed. The movie felt rushed & peiced together,there was no character development, the dialouge was horrible, and the acting was literally laughable. I do not understand how M.Knight can take something that was handed to him a a silver platter and mess it up so badly. There is just no reason for this. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
0
CharlesRJul 4, 2010
everything fun or heartwarming or joyful was bleached, wrung, beaten on a rock and then hung out in the breeze. And then it rained and a volcano erupted and all the ash stuck on. This is the in-flight movie they play on that handbasket to Hell.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
0
EMJul 4, 2010
No surprise the movie sucked given the director at the helm. What is most criminal and continues to be Hollywood's most befuddling mystery: why/how M. Night continues to get projects (to destroy). My kids were doubly disappointed, first No surprise the movie sucked given the director at the helm. What is most criminal and continues to be Hollywood's most befuddling mystery: why/how M. Night continues to get projects (to destroy). My kids were doubly disappointed, first by the movie being simply so bad, but second -- and more importantly -- their expectations were crushed given their sheer enjoyment for the animated series. They had such high hopes, and yet I kept warning them that M. Night directing was a very bad sign, he's ruined one movie after another. Daddy was right again. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
PaulJul 1, 2010
Wow, after seeing this film, "Jonah Hex" is like a work of art in comparison. $10 says this wins the worst movie award at the Golden Razzies this year. They can retitle the film "The Last Movie M. Knight Will Ever be Allowed to Make.".
2 of 3 users found this helpful
0
LisaZ.Jul 1, 2010
This is the worst adaptation of the wonderful film series I have EVER seen. They changed the names, the storyline (completely) and the acting is horrible! Don't see this movie! We cannot support this atrocious adaptation. Every thing is This is the worst adaptation of the wonderful film series I have EVER seen. They changed the names, the storyline (completely) and the acting is horrible! Don't see this movie! We cannot support this atrocious adaptation. Every thing is choppy, nothing makes sense, it assumes you have already seen the series. Don't watch. Trust me, if I ate popcorn during the movie, I would've thrown up. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
0
ConcernedCitizenJul 1, 2010
This movie was by far the worst thing i have seen in my life. Horrible acting. No character development. I cant even describe how distorted the story itself was. Save your money and watch the TV series. Don't even bother seeing it in 3D This movie was by far the worst thing i have seen in my life. Horrible acting. No character development. I cant even describe how distorted the story itself was. Save your money and watch the TV series. Don't even bother seeing it in 3D either if you do decide to see it. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
KevinOJul 1, 2010
This movie was hilariously awful. Almost worth seeing just to laugh at. Almost.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
MarissaL.Jul 2, 2010
This movie was a travesty in comparison with the original animated series. Endless streams of exposition (sometimes repeated again in a "voice-over flashback"), wooden, wooden dialogue, and nonexistent 3D. The movie also takes the animated This movie was a travesty in comparison with the original animated series. Endless streams of exposition (sometimes repeated again in a "voice-over flashback"), wooden, wooden dialogue, and nonexistent 3D. The movie also takes the animated series' progressive handling of gender and race issues and skewers it. Every villain in the movie is a person of color. Every heroic character with a name is white. Every person of color who does a heroic action--aside from Iroh--needs inspiration from a white character before he can take action. In the movie, a woman never gets to show herself the equal or better of a man in any act that both are capable of doing. And adding a CGI dragon and three 3D CGI dewbacks did nothing to cover the massive amounts of boring exposition, genderfail, and racefail. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
0
MattK.Jul 2, 2010
Your money would be better spent on highly addictive, life threatening drugs, they would do less damage to your intelligence and self-esteem. Terrible movie, and a failure in every imaginable way.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
0
ParinSJul 2, 2010
Awful, and not helped by the amount of people troling. Collin M. - youz trollin. And I take my hat off to you.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
KevinM.Jul 2, 2010
They pronounced all the names wrong and it was terrible.
2 of 4 users found this helpful
0
ScottM.Jul 2, 2010
Incredibly frustrating and inexplicable debasement of simply wonderful source material.
2 of 4 users found this helpful
0
TonyB.Jul 2, 2010
I'll start with the disclaimer that I'm a fan of the series. But I'll set away from that to review this movie on it's own merits. This movie is lacking two key features a movie needs. 1) Characters. It's nothing but I'll start with the disclaimer that I'm a fan of the series. But I'll set away from that to review this movie on it's own merits. This movie is lacking two key features a movie needs. 1) Characters. It's nothing but people saying lines. You could swap around actors and it would have made no difference. There was zero performance in this movie. 2) Story. This movie is a series of events poorly linked together by narration. They tried to compress a whole season of TV storyline into 2 hours, and they failed. At the end of the movie, I felt like I had sat through maybe 30 minutes of a story, despite how much ground they tried to cover. So you may be able to put those two things aside and try and enjoy the action. Good luck. The action is boring. The bending is fairly well done with CGI, but the fight choreography is not interesting at all. it's slow, lacking skill, and looks clumsy. There are not knock down drag out fights in this film. Just weird slow down/speed up cinematography with CG over it. Now, back as a fan of the series. If you love the series don't see this movie. It's not going to ruin your love of the series, it's just not good. They make weird changes, like pronouncing almost every name differently for no reason. Ang is now "awng" and Saka is now "Soo-ka" It's just unexplained and weird. This movie is just like you watch short snippets of the first season, but with poor acting and boring fight choreography. Oh, and how could I forget, the dialogue is first grader material. I mean, it's TERRIBLE. "I searched the library, and found a scroll in the library!" Sometimes a movie will use poor dialogue to help move along the story, or to try and explain a lot in a little time. This move was NOTHING BUT THAT. Right from the start, the first 5 or 10 minutes it was awful, and it continued the whole way through. Honestly, even if these people CAN act, they're going to have a hard time doing it with this dialogue. This movie is the antithesis of the series. No character, no plot, not fun, no good action. It's not just a failure to fans of the series, this movie is a failure to movies as a whole. It's just poor film making from beginning to end. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AndrewLJul 3, 2010
Anyone rating this higher than a 4 is just trying to trick you into making a terrible, terrible mistake. The movie was feculent. Poor acting, endless exposition, completely drained of humor and characterization. You could do a seminar on how Anyone rating this higher than a 4 is just trying to trick you into making a terrible, terrible mistake. The movie was feculent. Poor acting, endless exposition, completely drained of humor and characterization. You could do a seminar on how not to make a movie from this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
NeilPJul 3, 2010
If anyone has even watched the anime show, they'll know that those dumb hour long fancy movements that they shoved at us in the movie will have left right when they saw it because it doesn't take literally 30 seconds of arm If anyone has even watched the anime show, they'll know that those dumb hour long fancy movements that they shoved at us in the movie will have left right when they saw it because it doesn't take literally 30 seconds of arm exercises to bend water in the real show. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JJJul 4, 2010
Uwe Boll eat your heart out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AustinS.Jul 4, 2010
I don't get it. How could he possibly ruin this movie??? All he needed was to copy and paste the scripts from the original series, add in some appropriate actors for the role (perhaps some that had emotions and fit the race roles), and I don't get it. How could he possibly ruin this movie??? All he needed was to copy and paste the scripts from the original series, add in some appropriate actors for the role (perhaps some that had emotions and fit the race roles), and get the names right. Instead we get slow action with incomprehensible plot line. I thought the series was amazing and would love to see the second two with all new actors, except for Dev Pate who did welll, and replace Shyamalan with the original writers and directors. Shyamalan hasn't had a decent movie since The Sixth Sense. I see dead career for this director and writer. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JakePJul 6, 2010
Absolutely terrible in every respect. The movie was incredibly dull; I found myself more concerned with how uncomfortable the seats were than what was going on in the movie. The acting was incredibly poor, the special effects at times were Absolutely terrible in every respect. The movie was incredibly dull; I found myself more concerned with how uncomfortable the seats were than what was going on in the movie. The acting was incredibly poor, the special effects at times were okay, but nothing special. The fight choreography was the worst I've seen in quite some time. The plot had more holes in it than old socks. Moreover, there was absolutely NO character development. We aren't given any reason to care about Sokka, Aang, or Katara! They are just there. I went into the theater unaware of the bad reviews or anything like that, and I thought it was absolutely terrible. Why do they allow M. Knight to continue making movies? This was so poorly written that no matter who directed it, it wouldn't come out with decent reviews. A failure in every possible way. I guess if you are going to fail, fail big. That's exactly what M. Knight did. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JennaCJul 1, 2010
This has to be the worst movie I have ever seen in my life. I have grown up with the series Avatar: The Last Airbender, and really do love it. Everything done in this movie was just wrong. They didn't even really follow their own story This has to be the worst movie I have ever seen in my life. I have grown up with the series Avatar: The Last Airbender, and really do love it. Everything done in this movie was just wrong. They didn't even really follow their own story in some ways. Aside from murdering the show, the actors can't act. It's like watching a childrens puppet show. There were two emotions through the whole thing... flat, and upset. If you have watched the TV series, you know that Sokka (Katara's brother) is sarcastic and funny. There was pretty much no humor. Aang is supposed to be this fun-loving kid who loves to play and mess around. None of this was there. Don't even get me started on Zuko.. Two words: no temper. I could name a million of other things that the got wrong with the characters. I would have walked out of the movie in the first half hour, but I payed for it. In conclusion, don't see this movie. It is a waste of time, money, and more time for people like me that feel like they need to warn you so they come on here and leave a review. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
ErnestoSJul 1, 2010
The movie is an absolute mess. Confusing storyline, horrible acting and dialogue, fake cgi and incredibly boring. It talks more about action than shows. This is the worst 3d conversion I have ever seen. So dark that you can't see The movie is an absolute mess. Confusing storyline, horrible acting and dialogue, fake cgi and incredibly boring. It talks more about action than shows. This is the worst 3d conversion I have ever seen. So dark that you can't see what's going on in the night scenes, so dark that it masks all the color. You have to take the glasses of to see what's going on. And all that for what, to see 3d effects that hardly look 3d? This is the worst movie I have seen in 3 years, and they charge an extra fee for it. Shyamalan has sunk to an absolute low and Paramount, shame on you, for the worst 3d exploitation job ever. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
MitchellVJul 1, 2010
Absolutely terrible. Did Shyamalan even watch the cartoon before writing this movie. Half of the names were mispronounced and he left out key scenes and characters from Book 1 of the cartoon. Shaun Toub and Dev Patel were the only good Absolutely terrible. Did Shyamalan even watch the cartoon before writing this movie. Half of the names were mispronounced and he left out key scenes and characters from Book 1 of the cartoon. Shaun Toub and Dev Patel were the only good actors in this movie. Everyone in the theatre booed when the credits rolled. If they decide to make two more movies they are going to need a different director and a completely different cast. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
0
ChadMJul 1, 2010
But the series was so good, how could this happen.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
0
AnnaZ.Jul 2, 2010
Ridiculously boring, too much exposition, unconvincing characters and world
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
daveS.Jul 2, 2010
The movie was by far one of the worst movies I've ever seen. The acting was terrible, even for a childs movie. The plot was hard to follow, and changing the pronunciation of the characters names was retarded. M. Night should just quit The movie was by far one of the worst movies I've ever seen. The acting was terrible, even for a childs movie. The plot was hard to follow, and changing the pronunciation of the characters names was retarded. M. Night should just quit directing anything, because when its all said and done, the last good movie he made was "The Sixth Sense". I've seen the cartoon and it blows the movie out of the water, and hopefully they don't let him make the next 2 books. (If they're even made because of how crappy the first one was). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MiguelaJul 2, 2010
This was quite possibly the most disappointing moment of my life, after waiting an entire year for this movie to come out, it fell completely flat, with unnecessary name changes to horrible special effects, to bug-eyed acting, the cartoon is This was quite possibly the most disappointing moment of my life, after waiting an entire year for this movie to come out, it fell completely flat, with unnecessary name changes to horrible special effects, to bug-eyed acting, the cartoon is more life-like and realistic than this. I almost cried in the theater. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DamonP.Jul 2, 2010
I'm pretty sure The Happening was actually a movie about what happened to people after they watched M. Knight's remake of one of the best animated series ever made. I was close to throwing my body into a moving combine too after I saw it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ToddDJul 2, 2010
100minutes of my life I will never get back. Worst movie I have seen since "To Die For" back in 1995. The story is weak. The cast was horrible. Monkies could have made a better adaptation.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
NickC.Jul 3, 2010
I spent $13 on a ticket to see "The Last Airbender" in 3D on opening night. I was nervous due to the overwhelmingly negative response by professional movie critics everywhere. Critics very rarely tend to agree with each other, and yet they I spent $13 on a ticket to see "The Last Airbender" in 3D on opening night. I was nervous due to the overwhelmingly negative response by professional movie critics everywhere. Critics very rarely tend to agree with each other, and yet they were united in their stance that this movie was cinematic trash. Yet, I still gave the movie the benefit of the doubt because I had enjoyed some poorly reviewed movies in the past and I was a fan of the animated series on Nickelodeon. This was the biggest mistake I have made in all of my life. Everything about the cartoon has been lost in translation to film, even things as simple as the pronunciation of the main character's name. The screenplay and dialogue were extremely poorly written. The acting could have been great and it wouldn't have saved this movie, but it's arguably one of the worst parts of the movie. The 3D effects are completely unnecessary and for about 75% of the movie, there are next to no 3D effects. I have seen plenty of bad films in my life, and thankfully none of them have been memorable. This movie stands alone however, because I will never be able to forget just how awful this movie was. It is, with no exaggeration, the worst movie I have ever seen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
yuyof.Jul 3, 2010
The most horrible and bad made film EVER! Night lost his good direction and talent. Poor man that steal money from poor Americans. He is a talent-less man. Can we sue him? Fire him from making movies. My rate? F
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KrishennJul 3, 2010
Hollywood needs to stop its racist casting if it expects to continue to appeal to a non-white audience.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AlistairF.Jul 3, 2010
Uwe Boll, should have been the director.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
OliviaRJul 4, 2010
I rather plunge to my death than watch three seconds of this "movie." But hey, at least we all know that M Night hasn't lost it! He hasn't lost the ability to induce mass suicide. It's a shame that I don't have an actual I rather plunge to my death than watch three seconds of this "movie." But hey, at least we all know that M Night hasn't lost it! He hasn't lost the ability to induce mass suicide. It's a shame that I don't have an actual "movie" to review. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
PhillipRJul 4, 2010
Had potential but did not deliver a single drop or it. I was really anticipating this movie but ended up greatly disappointed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
CharlesfJul 4, 2010
This is not a good movie. Very, very poorly done.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MonkeyloverJul 5, 2010
they cant create fire out of nothing, iroh isnt fat ( and now its eeroh) aang is now ong, sokka is Soekka appa is ugly momo is there but never even given a name, and just sits in thebackround, people are to serious, HORRIBLE ACTING except they cant create fire out of nothing, iroh isnt fat ( and now its eeroh) aang is now ong, sokka is Soekka appa is ugly momo is there but never even given a name, and just sits in thebackround, people are to serious, HORRIBLE ACTING except maybe dev pattel and ms. sparks, but thats because everyone around them sucks so much. fights are boring compared to the cartoon series, and there is no giant fish thing at the end. however it did have a nice explosion, and the end made me cry. because it was so horribly bad. oh, and no kiyosho warriors. who wouldn't want to see sokka in a dress for comedic effect? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
ChrisB.Jul 5, 2010
Such a horrible adaption of a great cartoon. Was so disappointed in this. I also couldn't believe he would get the names wrong of all things. Did M. Night even doing any research before filming this. Don't waste your time or money Such a horrible adaption of a great cartoon. Was so disappointed in this. I also couldn't believe he would get the names wrong of all things. Did M. Night even doing any research before filming this. Don't waste your time or money on this pile of garbage. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JanaiLJul 5, 2010
That movie was horrible it made me sooooooo mad they said names wrong, skipped a lot of important information, had horrible actors and actress, mad Appa look scary and ugly. I am a HUGE fan of Avatar: The Last Airbender and during the whole That movie was horrible it made me sooooooo mad they said names wrong, skipped a lot of important information, had horrible actors and actress, mad Appa look scary and ugly. I am a HUGE fan of Avatar: The Last Airbender and during the whole movie i sat there thinking in my head what in the world is this thats not how they found the Avatar thats not what even happen snd why is Aang soo serious hes a 12 year old kid in the cartoon he is a fun goofy kid i mean during the whole movie it was "I will save them" "something is wrong with the fire nation" i mean come on really imma end with this i was highly afended that Zuko was not hot and where was the scar on his face i mean i didnt see squat and by the way don't spend an extra $5.45 to see in 3D its not worth it M. NIght never again you need to quit like now!!!!!!! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JordacheR.Jul 5, 2010
This movie was horrible. No one on the cast could act, or pronounce anything right. The plot itself was taken from season 1 of the cartoon, but the events were so mixed up, jumbled, and changed for the worse. It was like M. Night Shyamalan This movie was horrible. No one on the cast could act, or pronounce anything right. The plot itself was taken from season 1 of the cartoon, but the events were so mixed up, jumbled, and changed for the worse. It was like M. Night Shyamalan didn't even watch a single episode before making this movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
CharlesBJul 5, 2010
The movie missed more than scenes. The characters' names were mispronounced throughout the film. My god, all you have to do is watch the episodes on streaming Netflix to get the name pronunciation correct! Secondly, all the characters The movie missed more than scenes. The characters' names were mispronounced throughout the film. My god, all you have to do is watch the episodes on streaming Netflix to get the name pronunciation correct! Secondly, all the characters spoke in the same voice as M. Night Shyamalan. There was no character development because the characters were too busy delivering exposition of what they were going to do next like films from the '60s. The television series' dialogue actually relayed the personalities of the characters. The word usage, delivery, etc. was perfect in the series. The pacing of the movie was horrendous! M. Night Shymalan is supposedly making this a trilogy based on the other three books (Water, Earth, and Fire). He could have easily took pivotal scenes from the series that illustrated relationships, character development, and action into a single fail-proof storyline. Instead, he used the series as inspiration to his dull mediocre script writing. What studio executives deemed him worthy to write a movie? All his movies have subpar writing. Someone at Nickelodeon lend this man a writer! Now, let's move onto the casting. How are you going to place Sokka and Katara in an eskimo village, yet make them as white as the whitest people in Denmark? A story about Chinese folklore, which uses Chinese characters throughout the series should be appropriately casted. This isn't Charlton Heston in the Ten Commandments and segregation is running rampant throughout the land! M. Night truly left me scratching my head on his casting choices, especially with The Karate Kid (aka The Kung Fu Kid) casting Asian thespians. Directing is a different monster. It is a skill that is only learned with practice. After M. Night Shyamalan has poorly directed previous movies, one would believe a child/teen movie, which has a plethora of resource material, would be easier to manage and direct. I sadly viewed this poor choice of cameras, unbelievable acting, and poor cinematic effects throughout the movie. It was like watching a colorblind child paint by numbers with his feet in a dark room. Now, to the special effects, action sequences, and element bending! This was totally amateur hour at the Apollo. While the bending was horribly used, the martial arts (aka meditative Tai Chi scenes that littered the movie in order to drag it out) showed promise, but eventually let you down when infused into combat. SPOILER ALERT! Why would you cut the one trailer scene that stuck in everyone's head from the movie. Watching Aang bend the elements from the top of temple was awesome. When I thought Hype Williams held the worst movie of all time title with Belly, here comes M. Night Shyamalan with his alchemy to turn an almost perfect animated series into the worst cinematic effort done in mainstream Hollywood. Believe me, mainstream Hollywood continually makes worse and worse efforts. I don't fault the writing team of the Avatar television series for not assisting Mr. Shyamalan, but I do fault Nickelodeon for allowing this debauchery to pass through focus groups and test. I will not continue my critique of this film because this film suffers from more problems than words in a 90-page script. I just two question for all the Hollywood executives out there. How does M. Night Shyamalan get new projects to ruin? Why do the studios respect this obviously arrogant amateur that hasn't learned from his previous mistakes or respect the source material of his movies? I really wanted M. Night Shyamalan to win against the Hollywood machine. However, he's the Icarus of the Industry, and this film was him allowing his own cloudy vision take him too close to the Sun. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
SteveFJul 5, 2010
Character names mispronounced, the story drastically altered save for the beginning and the end of the first season, terrible acting, and much much more. The bending in this movie is frantic and long winded compared to the series, taking Character names mispronounced, the story drastically altered save for the beginning and the end of the first season, terrible acting, and much much more. The bending in this movie is frantic and long winded compared to the series, taking multiple gestures to move even the smallest amount of an element, and the fire benders can't even generate their own flame. All in all in was just poorly executed from its very creation, I wish I could get my 12 bucks back. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
AangAJul 6, 2010
1) My name is Aang not Oong! Everyone else's name is correct, why not mine? 2) My markings (Arrow) are a lite blue (kind of turqoust) color with no hieroglyphics. And it goes all the way down and around my body (arm and legs). 3) 1) My name is Aang not Oong! Everyone else's name is correct, why not mine? 2) My markings (Arrow) are a lite blue (kind of turqoust) color with no hieroglyphics. And it goes all the way down and around my body (arm and legs). 3) I'm a kid that loves to play around in all the books. I'm not that serious, yet. 4) Sakka, is a comedic strategist who loves to pick on his sister. He is not a serious warrior. 5) Katara, is a strong courageous and inspiring leader, not a needy little girl. 6) The "Fire Nation" wants to take over the world. They don't care about the spirit world. This movie was the worst movie my kids and I saw all year! We walked out very disapointed. My recommendation to all of my friends is to wait for the dvd to see me and not to waste your money! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DarkCriticOct 12, 2010
This movie is so horrible that it considered a bad movie! The Last Airbender is hateful movie that the Avatar fans will discover that this pile of diarhea will be hated this movie and it;s nothing based on the hit series on Nickelodeon,it'sThis movie is so horrible that it considered a bad movie! The Last Airbender is hateful movie that the Avatar fans will discover that this pile of diarhea will be hated this movie and it;s nothing based on the hit series on Nickelodeon,it's almost as bad as Dragonball Evolution! I'M NOT KIDDING! The cast was so bad,they even have a laughable dialogue and they sorted suck when they speak like Jake Loyd in Star Wars,Episode I. The characters are again NOT so suppose to be white,it's suppose to be asain!The story is horrendous and the visual effects looks good,but where's the movie lead to you for any bad dialogue what they said. The fight scenes are ripping off in any movies like The Matrix,Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon,and many more martial arts films that they put on and I'm so shame that M. Night Shyamalan did this movie so bad that it's even more bad like The Happening! What go wrong about this movie,even children will discover that they like,but please I guess this movie wouldn't get any good like this. Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
0
GixDec 22, 2010
Awful,just awful. everything from acting,story, cgi, all of it was just awful. the names are wrong,the bios's for the main cast is wrong. In short this movie has nothing to do with the show at all, its like m. Night really hated the show andAwful,just awful. everything from acting,story, cgi, all of it was just awful. the names are wrong,the bios's for the main cast is wrong. In short this movie has nothing to do with the show at all, its like m. Night really hated the show and set out to destroy it and he did a good job of trashing everything that is Avatar. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
TheInnernetteAug 16, 2010
It seems like this film might end up as the next Battlefield Earth. Battlefield Earth, which was released at the beginning of the last decade, went on to be the worst film of that decade. The Last Airbender, which was released at theIt seems like this film might end up as the next Battlefield Earth. Battlefield Earth, which was released at the beginning of the last decade, went on to be the worst film of that decade. The Last Airbender, which was released at the beginning of this decade, WILL be the worst film of the decade. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
0
ryancarroll88Aug 26, 2010
"The Last Airbender" places an almost unprecedented burden on fanboys and casual moviegoers alike to ignore its terrible acting and dialogue, its simultaneously forced and incomprehensible plot, its horrendous editing and camerawork, and its"The Last Airbender" places an almost unprecedented burden on fanboys and casual moviegoers alike to ignore its terrible acting and dialogue, its simultaneously forced and incomprehensible plot, its horrendous editing and camerawork, and its dull and uninteresting characters in order to enjoy this would-be epic. Good luck, and may this be the last movie that M. Night Shyamalan ever makes. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
0
echonnSep 17, 2010
Poor M. Night, his carrear as one of the best directors of our time is falling like a shooted duck. The Last Aribender is bad. Bad as the hopes of that duck. The acting is outrageous bad, the story is depressing awful written, the 3D isPoor M. Night, his carrear as one of the best directors of our time is falling like a shooted duck. The Last Aribender is bad. Bad as the hopes of that duck. The acting is outrageous bad, the story is depressing awful written, the 3D is inexistent and the plot is nothing more then ridiculous. The visuals are alright thou, but tiring and inexpressive. So, save your money or if you really want to give a try, go see it in 2D, doesn't make any difference. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
phildogSep 10, 2010
Right after Enemy Mine, this is second worst movie I've ever seen. Hell, this is the second worst thing I've ever seen. Film students should study this film just so they can learn what not to do. That isn't an exaggeration. I hope people inRight after Enemy Mine, this is second worst movie I've ever seen. Hell, this is the second worst thing I've ever seen. Film students should study this film just so they can learn what not to do. That isn't an exaggeration. I hope people in VFS and TFS study this and that way at least this movie does some good.

I can only hope that this will be the last The Last Airbender movie we ever see from M. Night.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
muzzikloverSep 11, 2010
I'm an idiot. Getting fooled in because I am such a fan of the cartoon. This is one of the worst films I have ever seen in my life. Alienating, boring, effortless and lifeless which by any means never do any justice to the cartoon show. TheI'm an idiot. Getting fooled in because I am such a fan of the cartoon. This is one of the worst films I have ever seen in my life. Alienating, boring, effortless and lifeless which by any means never do any justice to the cartoon show. The acting and dialogue is horrendous, the editing is awkward, the characters are boring, being badly written, the script is pathetic and the plot is completely rushed. Avoid it. It sucks. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
0
TLONightmareOct 9, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. As a fan of the series, I would say it deserves nothing more than ZERO. Shyamalan is a great director, but he should at least had taken a look at the entire first season before starting this movie. Iroh don't have his ironical tranquility, Socka and Aang are serious all the time, awful dialogues, Zuko is totally different. Katara started the rebellion with the Earthbenders at that prison(and Aang and Socka weren't taken arrested)... I could continue, but it would take too much. In summary, the movie has nothing to do with the cartoon, and have a lot of mistakes. It is hollow, just a lot of special effects, nothing more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
JesperSHOct 2, 2010
I feel sad when I read that M. Night actually has children and they watched the series together. He has just managed to destroy the series with a single blow.
11 of 15 users found this helpful114
All this user's reviews
0
nachatanaOct 3, 2010
I believe Shyamalan should stop doing films, the acting was something more than bad and the dialogs is not meant for peoples brain, I'm starting believe the sixth sense is not he's film
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
0
asylumspadezNov 26, 2011
One of the worst films you will ever see. Terrible acting, A poor script that made absolutely no sense, and it tried to cram an entire season filled with countless details into a poor 2 hour film. This is absolute trash.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
JonnyTheGreatNov 19, 2010
Do they hire people to give this movie a score of above 0? I thought Dragonball Evolution was brutal, but its actually not that bad compared to this POS.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
0
critquefanNov 26, 2010
Wow M. Night really messed up on this one. I saw no parts similar to the series in the movie. Oh and that wall of water was like the worlds biggest psych out! Hope they don't do book two.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
0
OscarPicks2010Nov 29, 2010
While I respect M. Shyamalan's talents, I've got to say this is the worst film of 2010 (I bet nothing will top it). It will win the Razzie Awards, but its box office is so huge that they are going to make a sequel! No need for a big review.While I respect M. Shyamalan's talents, I've got to say this is the worst film of 2010 (I bet nothing will top it). It will win the Razzie Awards, but its box office is so huge that they are going to make a sequel! No need for a big review. While the effects are quite good, I hated the acting and everything else about it. This is just like a Disney TV show with good effects. It is nowhere good enough to be in the big screen, yet people still come to check it out. The Last Airbender is by the far worst film of the decade and M. Shyamalan is the worst director of the decade for creating this film. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
0
GambonerDec 6, 2010
awful. he changes it from the original awesome series to this shamalayandingdong piece of #$@. stays tru to the series very few times. i hope he will not disgrace the awesome series by nmaking another piece of crap movie.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
QuakerAssassinDec 11, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. After watching this movie i can now say that M. night shama-whatever should quit making movies. it is truly that awful. I'm a huge fan of the avatar series, and before watching it i knew it would be bad, but what i didn't think it would be this bad. for one thing they misrepresented the intentions of the fire nation when they started the war. the Kioshi warriors were completely absent from the movie. none of the character really felt like they should, they included the blue spirit (a character established in the third book), and the fire benders couldn't make fire from their chi like they could in the cartoon. instead they had to bend an existing flame. for the normal viewer who wouldn't care abut these or notice, the movie still has horrible pacing and dialog, the original series had wonderful and very natural dialog but the movies dialog is awkward and poorly paced. the acting was also awe full because half the time the actors seemed uninterested and the rest of the time they were just standing awkwardly. especially the fire bender soldiers, they would just stand around awkwardly attacking the air until it was their turn to get there butt kicked by one of the protagonists. so if your a fan don't expect any sort of fan fair, or general accuracy. if you have never watched the show then you may sightly enjoy the movie however even if it was disconnected from the Avatar franchise, its still not a good movie. in all if you think you might be interested in the Avatar series go rent the DVD's. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
0
billrullerAug 17, 2012
Out of all the M. Night Shyamalan films I've seen, this has got to be the worst one that is in need to retire. I do like his 3 movies, The Sixth Sense, Unbreakable, and Signs. But his ideas started to get bland, boring, and silly after thoseOut of all the M. Night Shyamalan films I've seen, this has got to be the worst one that is in need to retire. I do like his 3 movies, The Sixth Sense, Unbreakable, and Signs. But his ideas started to get bland, boring, and silly after those 3. But this one just killed it completely, he needs to retire. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
MoviebuffreviewJan 26, 2011
The Last Airbender, thanks to its horrendous screenplay and dialogue, horrible special effects, 3D that is just as bad as Clash of the Titans, bad acting, and horrible fan service, it is one of the worst movies of the year! It is also theThe Last Airbender, thanks to its horrendous screenplay and dialogue, horrible special effects, 3D that is just as bad as Clash of the Titans, bad acting, and horrible fan service, it is one of the worst movies of the year! It is also the worst movie of the decade so far. Even if you are a fan of the Nick show, skip this movie and you will not regret it! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
0
L0stR3negadeApr 7, 2011
A disgrace to the Avatar animated series. Much was expected by fans but most of the main events in the first chapter of the chapter where cut out and not many main characters where presented. A bad movie ending with a bad cliff hanger and aA disgrace to the Avatar animated series. Much was expected by fans but most of the main events in the first chapter of the chapter where cut out and not many main characters where presented. A bad movie ending with a bad cliff hanger and a sequal that might not even see the light of day. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
Setman428May 16, 2011
Now that this film has a total of 5 razzies, all of the people who gave it a good review should be ashamed of themselves. It wasn't total garbage, but garbage nonetheless. It made certain fans cry and/or throw a fit. HOW CAN YOU CALLNow that this film has a total of 5 razzies, all of the people who gave it a good review should be ashamed of themselves. It wasn't total garbage, but garbage nonetheless. It made certain fans cry and/or throw a fit. HOW CAN YOU CALL YOURSELF A FAN IF YOU THOUGHT IT WAS GREAT? Shyamalan certainly didn't make it for us. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
aaronpaul121May 26, 2012
One of the worst movies I've ever watched. The acting is weird and terribly bad. The story makes no sense at all. The script was just ridiculously terrible and corny. The characters' personality in the movie are not even close with those inOne of the worst movies I've ever watched. The acting is weird and terribly bad. The story makes no sense at all. The script was just ridiculously terrible and corny. The characters' personality in the movie are not even close with those in the TV series. Although the film has great special effects, it was completely overshadowed by these awful features of the movie.......... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
AlecinoJul 26, 2011
Okay, how do I put this........THIS IS ONE OF THE WORST MOVIES EVER!!!! Don't watch this. This is a disgrace to the TV show. The special effects are great, but the dialouge is laughable and the acting is wooden. Do NOT watch this. I hope NoahOkay, how do I put this........THIS IS ONE OF THE WORST MOVIES EVER!!!! Don't watch this. This is a disgrace to the TV show. The special effects are great, but the dialouge is laughable and the acting is wooden. Do NOT watch this. I hope Noah Ringer is better in Cowboys vs Aliens than he was in this. People often ask, "What went wrong" about this movie. A better question is: What DIDN'T go wrong? Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
0
KadeemluvmusicJun 14, 2014
I don't know what the hell is up with Shyamalan recently. I think The Last Airbender is a career killer for sure and to that I'd say good luck making more crappy movies. Adding insult to injury, I hated this movie and After Earth as well. II don't know what the hell is up with Shyamalan recently. I think The Last Airbender is a career killer for sure and to that I'd say good luck making more crappy movies. Adding insult to injury, I hated this movie and After Earth as well. I found The Last Airbender guilty for laughable bad acting (including Dev Petel's awful performance), lame CGI effects, tasteless plot segments, no character development, and a blatant excuse of storytelling that none of the fans from the TV series "Avatar: The Last Airbender" couldn't find the film actually makes sense. It's true that the series have ended for 4 seasons, but I hope Nickelodeon should stick to family-oriented movies and promised they should not and will not make a "Legend of Korra" movie. There's no way in hell I'm going to see another rotten attempt by Moron Night Shyamalan ever again. Bar none, The Last Airbender is one of the worst movies that your mom just warned you about. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
jos95Sep 17, 2011
M. Night Shyamalan. That's the one name you need to hear instantly to avoid this movie. It is the WORST MOVIE EVER!!!!! I have never seen another movie in my whole life that has failed so badly on every level! He has taken my favorite showM. Night Shyamalan. That's the one name you need to hear instantly to avoid this movie. It is the WORST MOVIE EVER!!!!! I have never seen another movie in my whole life that has failed so badly on every level! He has taken my favorite show and turned it into the most boring pile of crap ever produced!!! Everything fails!!! They skipped too much from the show, the acting wasn't good, the whole look of the movie was just cheap and tacky and the script had no sense of life to it whatsoever. If I was not a fan of the show I would have forgot this movie instantly as soon as I walked out of the cinema door. I have forever decided to boycott M. Night Shyamalan after seeing this poorly done piece of tripe. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
rafael14Oct 23, 2011
It's awful.It's awfulI.t's awful.It's awful.It's awful.It's awful.It's awful .It's awful.It's awful.It's awful.It's awful.It's awful. Is the worst movie i ever see
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
DaBlackNightMar 10, 2012
Uhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh i dont know what to say.................................. really i dont honestly know
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
rameshemOct 26, 2011
This movie is an insult to Brian Di Martino's masterpiece.... The acting is an insult to young actors everywhere.... The casting is an insult to all Asians....... M. Night Shyamalan is an insult to moviedom.....
and I am ashamed that he had
This movie is an insult to Brian Di Martino's masterpiece.... The acting is an insult to young actors everywhere.... The casting is an insult to all Asians....... M. Night Shyamalan is an insult to moviedom.....
and I am ashamed that he had Indian origins..
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
VanFanel1980mxNov 17, 2011
I was a follower of the original show, this movie was just a failure, I can believe Shyamalan is a fan of the show, and who's brilliant idea was to whitewash the cast? sorry, but I can believe a non-caucasian director like Shyamalan showsI was a follower of the original show, this movie was just a failure, I can believe Shyamalan is a fan of the show, and who's brilliant idea was to whitewash the cast? sorry, but I can believe a non-caucasian director like Shyamalan shows that kind of "racism". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
DBZ19Nov 23, 2011
This film is UTTER RUBBISH, from the acting to the cgi it self. How can a director start with a film like sixth sense to this carp, it does beggars belief. Firstly the characters/actors were TERRIBLE. in the tv show the first two episodes youThis film is UTTER RUBBISH, from the acting to the cgi it self. How can a director start with a film like sixth sense to this carp, it does beggars belief. Firstly the characters/actors were TERRIBLE. in the tv show the first two episodes you felt the connection and bond between the three protagonist, but in the first 20 mins of this film you just DIDN'T feel anything. There should be an INSTANT bond between katara and ang but there wasn't. Secondly say the blasted names correctly darn its infuriating watching them say it wrong.
thirdly, and may i add the most IMPORTANT is the story/bending. it was a completely and UTTER joke. Mr night shyamalan if you bothered to watch the show you'd realise ang picked up water bending very very very easily, contrary to what the director believed. All of the bending parts in the film was cringe-worthy and thats why i'm not going in to that. The scariest thing is he's going to inflict more of his rubbish if (i'm sorry to say this) Nickelodeon don't fire him. I don't believe the actors are at fault for this diabolical and atrocious movie, that lies down to the director entirely. What's even more astonishing is the source material is amazing yet he released this joke of a film. I'm sorry i may be extremely harsh but he should NEVER EVER be allowed behind a camera or script AGAIN. PERIOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

N.B i didn't have time to proof-read sorry
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
heyitsmegrif4Dec 17, 2011
This film is easily one of the worst films in the decade and should never had been made by someone who works with suspense movies! I give this awful film a 2% of a good movie due to its okay visual effects.
8 of 14 users found this helpful86
All this user's reviews
0
imthenoobOct 8, 2013
This is what you get for cramming an entire season's worth of story into a film that isn't even 2 hours long. The plot is terrible, The acting is pathetic, and the special effects are very weak. Easily one of the top 10 worst films of all time.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
0
choopyApr 13, 2012
i loved the avatar series, but this was THE WORST MOVIE EVER. ya know, you'd think the creators of the series would know how to spell the charterers names, i mean aangs name is pronounced ayng, not ong, sokka is pronounced socka, not soaka,i loved the avatar series, but this was THE WORST MOVIE EVER. ya know, you'd think the creators of the series would know how to spell the charterers names, i mean aangs name is pronounced ayng, not ong, sokka is pronounced socka, not soaka, and i could continue, but id rather not rage Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
FUUUUU_gamesJun 23, 2012
Just remember that the cartoon is still fantastic. That's what worries me about this film, that it will detract from the cartoon which to me is the only thing wholly good in this world. (barely joking)
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
HurztNov 7, 2016
I'm just rewatching the animated series, which belongs to my all time faves and brings me to laughter, tears and deep appreciation on many, many levels. This movie in my opinion is a soulless copy and paste "interpretation", not hitting anyI'm just rewatching the animated series, which belongs to my all time faves and brings me to laughter, tears and deep appreciation on many, many levels. This movie in my opinion is a soulless copy and paste "interpretation", not hitting any note of the story and characters the original series so masterfully orchestrates. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
TJD2Sep 9, 2013
This movie is awful. Mispronunciation of the names, horrible effects, and the acting is just horrendous This movie sets a new standard for bad movies, especially when it's based off a kids show!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
OfficialNov 13, 2013
What kind of awful crap was this? "The Last Airbender" is surely one of the dullest ever made in the history of filmmaking. I would recommend you to buy a pack of chips rather than pay for this boring and ridiculous junk. Also, if you haveWhat kind of awful crap was this? "The Last Airbender" is surely one of the dullest ever made in the history of filmmaking. I would recommend you to buy a pack of chips rather than pay for this boring and ridiculous junk. Also, if you have seen this in 3-D, this is probably the worst use of 3-D ever. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
anshimanDec 23, 2012
An absolute filmic disgrace - wooden acting, M. ShamlalamalamaDingDong's horrible directing, and absolutely no faithfulness to the brilliant source material, The Last Airbender is one of the worst films of all-time. I'll be honest - I thoughtAn absolute filmic disgrace - wooden acting, M. ShamlalamalamaDingDong's horrible directing, and absolutely no faithfulness to the brilliant source material, The Last Airbender is one of the worst films of all-time. I'll be honest - I thought I was watching a cheap soap opera. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews