Metascore
20

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 664 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Air, Water, Earth, Fire. Four nations tied by destiny when the Fire Nation launches a brutal war against the others. A century has passed with no hope in sight to change the path of this destruction. Caught between combat and courage, Aang discovers he is the lone Avatar with the power toAir, Water, Earth, Fire. Four nations tied by destiny when the Fire Nation launches a brutal war against the others. A century has passed with no hope in sight to change the path of this destruction. Caught between combat and courage, Aang discovers he is the lone Avatar with the power to manipulate all four elements. Aang teams with Katara, a Waterbender, and her brother, Sokka, to restore balance to their war-torn world. (Paramount Pictures) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 33
  2. Negative: 23 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Scott Bowles
    63
    He hasn't mastered the craft yet, but M. Night Shyamalan may be on to something with this action-movie thing.
  2. The movie is "Star Wars" with martial arts, plus a touch of "The Last Emperor." Technically, it's not badly done; I enjoyed the physical clash of elements, the water balls rising like sculpture in the air.
  3. With a surprising lack of verve, humor, and narrative tension, Shyamalan's live-action foundation film is unlikely to woo new fans to the tale.
  4. The Last Airbender is like a Care Bears movie that got waylaid in the fourth dimension. It's insufferably silly.
  5. Playing a hero who's meant to be something akin to the young Dalai Lama, Ringer brings less than zero gravitas to the role. He makes the kid who plays Gibby on "iCarly" look like Sir Laurence Olivier.
  6. 20
    The current national priorities should be as follows: reduce carbon emissions and stop funding the films of M. Night Shyamalan.
  7. 0
    The Last Airbender isn't that much different from the rest of this summer's generally dire multiplex fare-from "The A-Team" to "Jonah Hex"... But it is remarkable in one respect: It's the worst of them.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 71 out of 312
  1. Aug 21, 2010
    10
    as a fan of the series i can say that i enjoyed it and even if i didnt i still wouldnt say it was the worst movie ever because there are wayas a fan of the series i can say that i enjoyed it and even if i didnt i still wouldnt say it was the worst movie ever because there are way worse movies out there Expand
  2. B.P.
    Jul 4, 2010
    8
    Wasn't that bad i thought it was great but they did leave a lot out and acting wasn't that terrible. For all you down raters please Wasn't that bad i thought it was great but they did leave a lot out and acting wasn't that terrible. For all you down raters please go outside and do something else besides bashing movies, stop trying make it seem like it was the worst movie in the world i have seen worse, you people just have no imagination. Expand
  3. Aug 25, 2012
    5
    Perhaps giving this movie a 5 would be high praise considering how many people HATE this movie, but I can understand why they would hate it. IPerhaps giving this movie a 5 would be high praise considering how many people HATE this movie, but I can understand why they would hate it. I never watched the cartoon, but my guess from all of the hate is that the film adaptation isn't faithful at all to its source material. I tried watching the film as just a stand alone film, but it didn't even succeed with that. With the wooden acting and bland storytelling, it's hard to care about what happens at all in the 103 minutes of this movie. It has some decent special effects and some ok action sequences, but that's all. Expand
  4. SamanthaS.
    Jul 2, 2010
    1
    The movie was nothing like the cartoon. It left out important details and moved to fast for the viewers. For the people who never seen the The movie was nothing like the cartoon. It left out important details and moved to fast for the viewers. For the people who never seen the cartoon will really be lost to what's going on. Also there is no reason why this should be a 3D movie, there were no special effect...M. Night Shyamalan missed the mark on this one. Expand
  5. BruceK
    Jul 1, 2010
    0
    Waste of money, in my thoughts. It was so random it seemed like the people who planned the movie never even saw the cartoon. The Waste of money, in my thoughts. It was so random it seemed like the people who planned the movie never even saw the cartoon. The mispronunciations and wrong depictions from the cartoon, this movie was an Epic Fail. They should just re-do the whole movie. Expand
  6. Dec 22, 2014
    0
    From a studio dumb enough to give the directing Job to M. Night Shyamalan come a disappointing,Stupid and insulting adaptation of the LastFrom a studio dumb enough to give the directing Job to M. Night Shyamalan come a disappointing,Stupid and insulting adaptation of the Last Airbender. It's another worst cartoon adaptation that barely made all fans want to do suicide and wants to kill M.Night Shyamalan.This Movie is just plain Bad and needs to be erase in our minds forever! Expand
  7. Dec 17, 2011
    0
    This film is easily one of the worst films in the decade and should never had been made by someone who works with suspense movies! I give thisThis film is easily one of the worst films in the decade and should never had been made by someone who works with suspense movies! I give this awful film a 2% of a good movie due to its okay visual effects. Expand

See all 312 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  2. The Best and Worst Movies of 2010

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2010 Image
    Published: January 7, 2011
    In our annual report, we reveal the best- and worst-reviewed movies of 2010 in a variety of categories.