User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AngieL.
    Jun 1, 2008
    10
    For someone who isn't usually thrilled with historical films, I'm surprised I enjoyed this one so much. I don't understand some of the critic comments I've read, as I thought this was a thoroughly enjoyable film. I was almost mesmerized by the acting of Julian Adams. I think he was amazing; he drew me right into the story. The narration was, I thought, a plus to the For someone who isn't usually thrilled with historical films, I'm surprised I enjoyed this one so much. I don't understand some of the critic comments I've read, as I thought this was a thoroughly enjoyable film. I was almost mesmerized by the acting of Julian Adams. I think he was amazing; he drew me right into the story. The narration was, I thought, a plus to the film. I think one of the best things about this film was that it made me stop and THINK about that war, and how heart-breaking it must have been for so many that had ties to both sides. Although there were some well-respected actors in this film, it was Julian Adams that carried the story. He was believable and quite charismatic, with there being an almost Robert Redford quality about him. I am looking forward to seeing more of him in the future. I understand that he is soon to be starring in a new film with one of my favorite actors, Andy Garcia... along with Morgan Freeman, Bruce Willis, Robert Duvall and others. What a cast! It's called "The Last Full Measure." Expand
  2. JohnB.
    Jun 9, 2007
    10
    "The Last Confederate" is one of the most beautiful movies I have seen, right up there with "The Long Engagement"> Gwendolyn Eedwards is astonishing in her first movie role and -- you read it here first -- she is destined, I believe, to be an important actress. At a time when American culture has become a hellish landscape of vulgarity, profanity, degeneracy, perversion, with , except for "The Last Confederate" is one of the most beautiful movies I have seen, right up there with "The Long Engagement"> Gwendolyn Eedwards is astonishing in her first movie role and -- you read it here first -- she is destined, I believe, to be an important actress. At a time when American culture has become a hellish landscape of vulgarity, profanity, degeneracy, perversion, with , except for a few exceptions, a complete lack of nobility, integrity,honesty, high ideals, ethical commitment, devotion, or sacrifice, with few exceptions, this movie reminds us of a time and a place in American history when refined language, gentility of manners, and honorable behavior where the norm for many, and admired by all. The overwhelming majority of soldiers on both sides of the brutal conflict were NOT fighting over the liberation of Negroes at all. This is an extraordinary romance, with duty, honor and devotion taken seriously. God-willing, we could embrace those values again and emerge from our rampant barbarism. Expand
  3. Patrick
    Jul 26, 2007
    10
    Obviously a very personal film for the makers. A nice change from all of the junk out there. Cinematography was exceptional and a very fine job with the acting and sets. Very interesting to see a story straight from the source and it makes the movie. Some small points to be criticized as with all movies but this is a real joy to watch.
  4. JohnG.
    Jul 3, 2007
    7
    Overall a good film taken from an actual historical account. However, the lack of authenticity of the military costuming was the main drawback, being a Civil War historian. The acting is above average and the flow of the story is good. Considering the amount of experience among the cast and crew it was well done.
  5. JaredC.
    Jul 2, 2007
    5
    It was alright, I think there was too much drama than action.
  6. AnnB
    Jul 9, 2007
    10
    "The Last Confederate" is a beautiful, heartfelt film. I did not know that it was an independent film when I rented it, and to find out that it's a true story really made it for me. I had read that it had won awards but I didn't get the full story before I saw it. It was amazing. Doing period pieces is tough enough but to make one like this as an indie is truly incredible. The "The Last Confederate" is a beautiful, heartfelt film. I did not know that it was an independent film when I rented it, and to find out that it's a true story really made it for me. I had read that it had won awards but I didn't get the full story before I saw it. It was amazing. Doing period pieces is tough enough but to make one like this as an indie is truly incredible. The film deserves the awards and the praise. It is beautifully acted. Julian Adams really did an sublime job leading this film and the fact that he was playing one of his family members was a bonus. It's as if he has been a leading man in many films. I'm sure he'll be the lead in more films in the future. The fact that he was producing and writing as well makes it even more special. Even though the cast is not well known they did a great job. Amy Redford, Eric Holloway, Gwendolyn Edwards and the rest are excellent in their supporting roles. The film seemed to be very true to the people they were depicting. I would say the most poignant thing about the film is that it is earnest. The acting, by Adams and others, seems very true to the film and the story they are telling. It's almost as if Adams stepped right out of a black and white photo from the Civil War. He's totally believable as his ancestor. I've read some critiques like Variety and it seems clear that critics like that are looking to insult a film about a southerner and are ignoring the film for its storytelling and cinematic value. The film does have some points about slavery and handles them well, but it's not about that. It's obvious that the critics who are hard on the film's acting, music, and "craft" are looking to criticize the film because of its subject matter. Those elements are very well done in this film. It seems to me that a critique of a film should not be based on whether one likes the subject matter of a film. This film is absolutely one of the most beautiful films I've ever seen, and stating otherwise points to other motives. I would recommend it to anyone. It's beautiful, the music is great, the acting is true and honest. When you're watching the film, it truly feels as though you're listening to someone tell an old tale about a family. I've never seen anything like it. It's really heartfelt, more so than any film I've ever watched. What more can you ask for? It's a great love story. Expand
  7. CathyB.
    Jul 29, 2007
    4
    A glossing over of the Civil War. Disjointed and confusing. Beautiful cinematography.
  8. ChristineP.
    Jul 29, 2007
    10
    A wonderful film!!! I enjoyed it all the way to the end !!! Would love to see more films like this one !!
Metascore
tbd

No score yet - based on 3 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. 40
    A film that plays like warmed-over "Cold Mountain."
  2. Reviewed by: John Anderson
    40
    Undone by a thorough lack of visual craft.
  3. Reviewed by: Michael Ordona
    50
    The film's long suit is the chemistry between the leads: Julian Adams, if occasionally stiff, has a strong, sometimes Matthew McConaughey-like presence; newcomer Gwendolyn Edwards shows spark as the beautiful Eveline.