Metascore
46

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 21
  2. Negative: 3 out of 21
  1. Reviewed by: Kenneth Turan
    Dec 5, 2013
    80
    Lean, muscular and on the money, The Last Days on Mars takes a familiar story and tells it so tautly that we are pleased to be on board.
  2. Reviewed by: Alan Scherstuhl
    Dec 3, 2013
    70
    It's just zombies versus an international research station on the wastes of the Red Planet, with all that such a premise promises.
  3. Reviewed by: Richard Jordan
    Apr 7, 2014
    60
    A taut, tense yet hugely indebted debut, Ruairí Robinson’s survival horror manages to break free from its low-budget limitations but is hamstrung by its own love of the genre.
  4. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Dec 3, 2013
    60
    Once the undead start walking, however, the film loses some of its footing: Most of the bloodletting is staged with quick-cut inelegance better suited to the hack horror production of your choosing, though there’s still a potent air of hopelessness that lingers as the cast is winnowed away "Ten Little Indians"–style.
  5. Reviewed by: David Rooney
    Sep 20, 2013
    60
    The unapologetically derivative sci-fi outing doesn’t have the scripting muscle to deliver on its early promise. But the solid cast keeps it reasonably gripping nonetheless.
  6. Reviewed by: Bruce Ingram
    Dec 12, 2013
    50
    This modest, low-budget sci-fi thriller is fatally lacking in entertainment value. It’s not original enough to be interesting, despite the presence of a pretty impressive cast, or awful enough to be campy fun. It’s serious enough to be depressing, though, if that’s your idea of a good time.
  7. Reviewed by: Peter Keough
    Dec 12, 2013
    50
    Last Days aspires to the kind of no-frills, psychological terror of Duncan Jones’s brilliant “Moon” (2009) but, despite some determined performances, settles for the clichés of the abortive “Apollo 18” (2011).
  8. Reviewed by: Steve Macfarlane
    Dec 7, 2013
    50
    The film's visual construction is spare, drawing power from its locations and quietly matted miniatures, though ultimately it succumbs to powering a series of cheap thrills.
  9. Reviewed by: Glenn Kenny
    Dec 6, 2013
    50
    It really isn't even a bad movie, or a bad movie of its sort. It's just not good enough to really distinguish itself.
  10. Reviewed by: Sara Stewart
    Dec 6, 2013
    50
    Despite all its problems, The Last Days on Mars serves up a deliciously shivery hypothetical: Wouldn’t we all secretly love it if the Mars rover sent back footage of a “walker” or two?
  11. Reviewed by: Geoff Pevere
    Dec 5, 2013
    50
    Although ably directed by feature first-timer Ruairi Robinson, and gamely performed by a cast professional enough to feign alarm and surprise, The Last Days on Mars ultimately confirms what science has already spent billions of dollars establishing: There’s just no life here.
  12. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    Dec 5, 2013
    50
    The Last Days on Mars ultimately can’t transcend its pulpy roots.
  13. Reviewed by: Jordan Hoffman
    Sep 20, 2013
    50
    Schreiber saves it to an extent with some unusual performance choices, but when you compare this ending to the emotional supernova of Danny Boyle’s “Sunshine” it comes way short.
  14. Reviewed by: William Thomas
    Apr 7, 2014
    40
    A sci-fi horror dimmer than the dark side of the moon.
  15. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Dec 24, 2013
    40
    The Last Days on Mars isn’t a disaster. Robinson, in fact, shows some promise. It’s just not much of anything, a movie ultimately as barren as the landscape on which it takes place.
  16. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Dec 5, 2013
    40
    On the bright side, Robinson’s unlucky astronauts are played by Liev Schreiber, Elias Koteas, Olivia Williams and Romola Garai. All of these actors approach their potential demise with impressive conviction.
  17. Reviewed by: Keith Phipps
    Nov 4, 2013
    40
    It’s a monster movie made with energy, but no real enthusiasm, and its setting just makes it feel like a long way to go to get the same old thing.
  18. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Sep 20, 2013
    40
    While it earns high marks for Jon Henson’s production design, this murkily derivative sci-fi-horror entry sets its sights disappointingly low in terms of story and ideas.
  19. 38
    Though it rarely looks as malnourished as say, “Europa Report” or “Moon,” Last Days on Mars does show how starved of new ideas sci-fi cinema is.
  20. Reviewed by: Stephanie Merry
    Dec 12, 2013
    37
    All of The Last Days on Mars feels like it’s been done before.
  21. Reviewed by: Mike D'Angelo
    Dec 4, 2013
    33
    Even had it premiered at, say, London’s Frightfest, The Last Day On Mars would be a disappointment. What it was doing at Cannes is a mystery.
User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Jan 12, 2014
    7
    People seem to be kind of down on this movie in general but I thought that it was great. I think the acting is top notch, and I like thePeople seem to be kind of down on this movie in general but I thought that it was great. I think the acting is top notch, and I like the story. First of all zombies are not " dying of thirst " and do not drink water, and secondly even if someone wants to complain about how the cast was picked off, the same thing happened in the movie Alien and look at the reviews for that movie !!! Maybe some special effects could have been better, but it was nice to see technology that is more realistic than something like Alien. When that thing first showed it's face and grabbed the drill I almost jumped out of my seat !!! And then the red lights flashing was a great dramatic effect and I think the movie really took off and that the situation was realistically portrayed as to what would actually happen and how one would react if in this scenario. I love the strong female characters and the resentment that builds up towards Kim that leads towards her demise and that thing chasing the character Vince through the tunnel !!! Also Zombies do not forget the names and faces of their children before they die and they do not describe how they can not feel their hands either. I also liked the humor, and the fact that the main character Vince has a problem that should have been " weeded " out yet ends up being the one who sort of saves the day. I find that thought provoking that perhaps someone with this " handicap " could have other attributes that could prove more valuable. So I must say that over all, I really did enjoy this movie !!! Full Review »
  2. Nov 10, 2014
    4
    The Last Days on Mars is sporadically suspenseful but with wooden acting, lame dialogue and a predictable plot, it offers just a paleThe Last Days on Mars is sporadically suspenseful but with wooden acting, lame dialogue and a predictable plot, it offers just a pale imitation of similar horror+sci-fi flicks done better. Full Review »
  3. Oct 13, 2014
    4
    The Last Days on Mars is sporadically suspenseful but with wooden acting, lame dialogue and a predictable plot, it offers just a paleThe Last Days on Mars is sporadically suspenseful but with wooden acting, lame dialogue and a predictable plot, it offers just a pale imitation of similar horror+sci-fi flicks done better. Full Review »