The Last Exorcism Part II

The Last Exorcism Part II Image
Metascore
35

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 52 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring:
  • Summary: At a New Orleans halfway house for girls, Nell Sweetzer attempts to recover from the trauma of the first film, but the demon that possessed her returns with an even more horrific plan.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 20
  2. Negative: 8 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Ken McIntyre
    May 27, 2013
    60
    Ashley Bell’s nuanced performance and a surprisingly pyrotechnic finale liven up a gloomy sequel. Title’s still nonsense, mind.
  2. Reviewed by: Andy Webster
    Mar 1, 2013
    60
    At least this movie, like its predecessor, has Ashley Bell as Nell. An actress who suggests religious piety, carnal fire and satanic aggression with equal dexterity, Ms. Bell provides a pulse an audience can connect with amid the standard-issue atmospheric accouterments.
  3. Reviewed by: Clark Collis
    Mar 2, 2013
    58
    Unfortunately, no one involved seems to have bent over backwards to make the movie either original or even all that scary.
  4. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Mar 2, 2013
    40
    Now Bell can break out of the genre. She's served her time.
  5. Reviewed by: Simon Abrams
    Mar 6, 2013
    30
    When the creators of The Last Exorcism Part II swapped pseudo-verité realism for psychological realism, they made it a lot harder to take their franchise seriously.
  6. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Mar 1, 2013
    25
    An abysmal sequel that abandons the found-footage concept, along with the pockets of wit and originality that made its predecessor salvageable.
  7. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Mar 6, 2013
    20
    The film, however, is short on genuine scares and ingenuity.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 19
  2. Negative: 8 out of 19
  1. Dec 3, 2014
    10
    not scary but thrilling and tempting ". from producer eli roth ( cabin fever ) presents the second part of the the latest exorcism i have notnot scary but thrilling and tempting ". from producer eli roth ( cabin fever ) presents the second part of the the latest exorcism i have not seen the first one yet . i found this movie not scary but very entertaining to the demons super natural force to neil ( ashley bell).Grade A Expand
  2. Jan 23, 2016
    9
    More like 8.5. This doesn't deserve such a low rating. This is a great movie! It isn't particularly scary, but it's got it's scares, and someMore like 8.5. This doesn't deserve such a low rating. This is a great movie! It isn't particularly scary, but it's got it's scares, and some good tension. I loved this movie, same with the 1st. Well worth your time Expand
  3. Jun 5, 2015
    7
    "The Last Exorcism Part II" continues the story of Nell and the demon who wants her-Abalam. With a new director but the same actress as the"The Last Exorcism Part II" continues the story of Nell and the demon who wants her-Abalam. With a new director but the same actress as the first film, Ashley Bell. "Part II" is straight up horror story telling in a classic format. There is no documentary style footage present save the internet shot of the footage from the first film so the opportunity to really utilize basic but brilliant gimmicks for shock and thrills are very well in hand for this film. Which I think the director managed to use quite well without being too obvious or any real "fail" issue for the most part.

    As far as the film's ability to bring the scares, I have to say that the film did it's job. There were moments that normally would not have been scary nor interesting in the film but because the director utilized the trick of closed in frame shots in most of the scenes random moments became thrilling. The story is more focused and open to the viewer with no real hidden plot which allows for more imagery and dogma that surround the whole possession culture and mystical icon-ism to play a big part in staging the story. It is a true classic horror story in all ways. That normally would seem like a bad thing but thankfully this director knew how to shoot the film and set up the moments that needed to be scary or exaggerated enough to make the movie work. Until the ending of course. That I have issue with. I appreciated the twist that says not every one gets a Hallmark moment but for me it came off cheesy and that boiled down to the use of CGI when more organic FX would have came off better for what the director was going for. "The Last Exorcism Part II" is a better story and movie than the first film but the first film had a way better ending.
    Expand
  4. Jun 9, 2013
    4
    The story is not that bad but the execution and build up of the scary moments are not very good. Like, there is a scene when the girl isThe story is not that bad but the execution and build up of the scary moments are not very good. Like, there is a scene when the girl is sleeping with the other girls and she gets a late night visit from Abalam. Well, just ignore everyone else...and just touch her? It felt like I was watching a censored or blocked version of the movie. Some of the acting was decent, but the supposded boyfriend was not very convincing to me. He at first was a random guy, and then turns out to be a stalker and then gets possessed? The sound effects and visual effects are solid for this movie, but these are the things that make horror movies the best. Unfortunately, this movie failed to get me have the feeling of being scared, either build up horror or sudden horror. Some characters were also a waste and not much story around them. Overall, a decent movie. But fell short on delivering the scary moments when it needed to. And too many boring, wasted scenes and characters. Expand
  5. Mar 3, 2013
    3
    After seeing the first movie I thought this would be okay but I was wrong. If it wasn't for Ashley Bell I wouldn't have seen this movie atAfter seeing the first movie I thought this would be okay but I was wrong. If it wasn't for Ashley Bell I wouldn't have seen this movie at all. The ending was different but still not good. The original was a much better movie then this. There was nothing that stood out about this movie and the special effects were mediocre at best. Not a good movie at all. Collapse
  6. Mar 10, 2013
    1
    "The Last Exorcism: Part II" gives the devil plenty of space and time to show off his handiwork, but apart from making young women contort"The Last Exorcism: Part II" gives the devil plenty of space and time to show off his handiwork, but apart from making young women contort their bodies--that's about all he does. The film is short on genuine scares and any ingenuity. So many sequences are structured, that the pattern becomes predictable and tiresome. Especially since the first film at least set a standard for originality--this sequel--which reshapes it's creative team, delivers nothing Expand
  7. Aug 15, 2013
    0
    All the stuff that made the first one awesome was just thrown out the window for this one. The acting is awful, the plot is messy, the storyAll the stuff that made the first one awesome was just thrown out the window for this one. The acting is awful, the plot is messy, the story is pointless and it isn't even scary in the least. The first one should have remained "the last" because this one wasted the potential it had and fumbled and failed after the great setup the first one gave it. Expand

See all 19 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Film Friday (7/29): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/29): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 29, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Wonder Woman, Fantastic Beats and Where to Find Them, Suicide Squad, Doctor Strange, Bad Santa 2, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  2. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016 Image
    Published: July 28, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of August, including The Nice Guys, Keanu, The Jungle Book, The Lobster, Weiner, and more.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 27, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Jason Bourne, Nerve, Bad Moms, Indignation, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.