Metascore
35

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 43 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring:
  • Summary: At a New Orleans halfway house for girls, Nell Sweetzer attempts to recover from the trauma of the first film, but the demon that possessed her returns with an even more horrific plan.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 20
  2. Negative: 8 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Ken McIntyre
    May 27, 2013
    60
    Ashley Bell’s nuanced performance and a surprisingly pyrotechnic finale liven up a gloomy sequel. Title’s still nonsense, mind.
  2. Reviewed by: Andy Webster
    Mar 1, 2013
    60
    At least this movie, like its predecessor, has Ashley Bell as Nell. An actress who suggests religious piety, carnal fire and satanic aggression with equal dexterity, Ms. Bell provides a pulse an audience can connect with amid the standard-issue atmospheric accouterments.
  3. Reviewed by: Clark Collis
    Mar 2, 2013
    58
    Unfortunately, no one involved seems to have bent over backwards to make the movie either original or even all that scary.
  4. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Mar 2, 2013
    40
    Now Bell can break out of the genre. She's served her time.
  5. Reviewed by: Simon Abrams
    Mar 6, 2013
    30
    When the creators of The Last Exorcism Part II swapped pseudo-verité realism for psychological realism, they made it a lot harder to take their franchise seriously.
  6. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Mar 1, 2013
    25
    An abysmal sequel that abandons the found-footage concept, along with the pockets of wit and originality that made its predecessor salvageable.
  7. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Mar 6, 2013
    20
    The film, however, is short on genuine scares and ingenuity.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 19
  2. Negative: 10 out of 19
  1. Jun 14, 2014
    10
    " not scary but thrilling and tempting ". from producer eli roth ( cabin fever ) presents the second part of the the latest exorcism i have not seen the first one yet . i found this movie not scary but very entertaining to the demons super natural force to neil ( ashley bell).Grade A Expand
  2. Jun 1, 2013
    6
    Although it had no reason to be made, I enjoyed it more than the first one, but it doesn't mean it is better than the first, this one has some cliches, and a lot more jump scares than the first one, but the acting is very good and it is way more entertaining, I enjoyed it very much, it wasn't great, but good as a sequel that resolves nothing Expand
  3. Jul 25, 2013
    5
    The Last Exorcism Part II is short on blood and gore, high on cliched and outdated ideas of jump scares that actually work! Despite that this is not a necessary sequel, it is fun with atmospheric mood and cold temperature to it, which every horror movie (especially ghost movies) need. The Last Exorcism Part II is sometimes uneven and sometimes predictable, cliched but fun horror movie to watch. Expand
  4. Mar 3, 2013
    3
    After seeing the first movie I thought this would be okay but I was wrong. If it wasn't for Ashley Bell I wouldn't have seen this movie at all. The ending was different but still not good. The original was a much better movie then this. There was nothing that stood out about this movie and the special effects were mediocre at best. Not a good movie at all. Expand
  5. Apr 29, 2013
    1
    There is absolutely no reason to see this movie. It was clearly made just for money. Since the movie barely put any effort in entertaining the audience, I will barely put any effort into writing this review. Some say this movie should've gone straight to DVD. No. This movie should've gone straight up the directors ass so no one will ever be able to see this abomination. Expand
  6. Jun 19, 2013
    0
    Everything good about the first film, which I loved, has been thrown out the window. It has simply become just another generic paranormal-like film and that's really disappointing. Expand
  7. Mar 2, 2013
    0
    This movie had no reason to be made. It really should've been straight to DVD, if not scrapped completely. If you want a better movie in the Exorcism genre, go watch The Exorcist. Expand

See all 19 User Reviews