User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 158 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 33 out of 158
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 30, 2010
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The professional critics truly missed the boat on this one. I was under the impression that it would be part Blair Witch, part Paranormal Activity, but a more intelligent version of both. Hardly. It's definitely creepy at times, but the rural house thing was done MUCH better in Texas Chainsaw, and the possessed girl was done better in hundreds of other movies. The finale feels absolutely tacked on. Preposterous, silly, and just not scary in the least. I actually got a little annoyed when I got to the theater and saw the film is rated PG-13. Seriously?? How can a first-rate, non-Hitchcock horror film be rated PG-13? I guess the mutilation of animals, the birth of some mutant baby, and the eventual decapitation of a lead character aren't worthy of the "mature themes" moniker. If that's so, how the hell do you then give Orgazmo an NC-17??? Be that as it may, this sucker is simply not worth the money. Doesn't hold a candle to Paranormal Activity. Or Blair Witch. Do not bother. Expand
  2. Sep 1, 2010
    3
    Extremely disappointing. The first forty five minutes of the movie are boring. I can handle alot of dialogue, but only if it is interesting. This, I am afraid, was not interesting. The movie is at its best when you are wondering whether or not the young girl is possessed, or just crazy. While there are truly creepy moments, they aren't creepy enough to warrant a positive review. The bestExtremely disappointing. The first forty five minutes of the movie are boring. I can handle alot of dialogue, but only if it is interesting. This, I am afraid, was not interesting. The movie is at its best when you are wondering whether or not the young girl is possessed, or just crazy. While there are truly creepy moments, they aren't creepy enough to warrant a positive review. The best scene is in the barn towards the end. The ending, however, absolutely ruined the movie completely for me. Absurd, ridiculous, and basically ruined the best part of the movie... the mystery of possession. I couldn't help but think a middle school student wrote the ending. Expand
  3. Sep 1, 2010
    3
    An interesting premise but the execution never quite works. Ashley Bell, as Nell, is the best thing about the movie - and Caleb Landry Jones, as sibling Caleb is effectively creepy and threatening. I can see where the filmmakers were going with this -- but disappointing payoffs fail to reward the patience of this audience member. The Blair Witch Project did this first -- and did it MUCHAn interesting premise but the execution never quite works. Ashley Bell, as Nell, is the best thing about the movie - and Caleb Landry Jones, as sibling Caleb is effectively creepy and threatening. I can see where the filmmakers were going with this -- but disappointing payoffs fail to reward the patience of this audience member. The Blair Witch Project did this first -- and did it MUCH better. Still, this movie can be admired for working within an obviously meager budget. Expand
  4. Aug 29, 2012
    3
    Why is it that every movie trying to be a mockumentary thinks editing between 2 or 3 shots is possible with just one camera? Not to mention that the person filming feels compelled to stay focused on the scene regardless of their own safety. Pretty silly stuff and takes me right out of the action.
  5. Jun 28, 2013
    3
    You can tell you're in for a bad horror film when you find yourself laughing at the "horror" scenes. This movie just wasn't scary. Not at all. In fact, I found myself laughing at just how poorly done some of the "scares" were. And to top it all off, the ending just sucks. It's a damn near insulting ending.

    Don't even bother with this one. Go watch something more worth your time.
  6. Apr 19, 2015
    3
    One of the lamest Horror movies that I have seen in recent memory. We don't need anymore exorcism movies we all know that there is really only one good one. Really all the characters were annoying and the only part I enjoyed was the last few minutes.
  7. Oct 9, 2010
    2
    "The Last Exorcism fails to deliver what it is supposed , a good old fashion horror film , i felt like i was watching the Blair Witch Project , but on some levels the film manages to thrill you but not much , The whole movie falls apart after the 1st half" .. D-
  8. Aug 28, 2010
    1
    This is the worst horror movie i have ever watched i mean at the beginning it's building up suspense to whats ahead infact some bits at the beginning are rather funny but when it actually comes to the "horror" bit you realise that this is just an attempt to recreate paranormal activity/rec the only times i jumped was because she jumps right at the screen and of course you are going toThis is the worst horror movie i have ever watched i mean at the beginning it's building up suspense to whats ahead infact some bits at the beginning are rather funny but when it actually comes to the "horror" bit you realise that this is just an attempt to recreate paranormal activity/rec the only times i jumped was because she jumps right at the screen and of course you are going to jump when the screens massive but if i was watching that at home i cn honestly say i wouldn't have moved of my seat. Okay the characters were believable but the acting at times was rather cheesy and what i would say the worst part of this is is the ending. I could actually tell where the story was going and it led to an attempt to recreate the blair witch project but failed. It was so rushed it was unbelievable and they could have done so much more but what they tried to do was recreate the girls predictions which was pointless as the ending made no sense in the fact that ALL the people were devil worshippers seriously give this one a miss it is the biggest load of crap i have seen in a while Expand
  9. Oct 29, 2010
    1
    This is one of the worst movies of all time for my taste, at any time scared for a moment. The only interesting detail is to see the actual fraud are those who practice an "exorcism", which leads you to believe nothing of what you see.
  10. Jan 7, 2011
    1
    This movie is so stupid-i made really dumb movies look awesome, this movie does not function correctly to be a successful horror movie. I would rather scrape my eyeballs with a spoon than watch this movie. READERS BEWARE: YOUR IN FOR A CRAPPY MOVIE
  11. Jan 23, 2012
    1
    I had high hopes for this movie. The trailer made it look thrilling and scary. However, as soon as I started watching it, I was disappointed. This movie was a huge waste of time and money. I have to say that I am utterly disgusted that this joke of a movie made a higher score than The Rite. I would place this right below The Devil Inside. The ending was horribly cheesy and left meI had high hopes for this movie. The trailer made it look thrilling and scary. However, as soon as I started watching it, I was disappointed. This movie was a huge waste of time and money. I have to say that I am utterly disgusted that this joke of a movie made a higher score than The Rite. I would place this right below The Devil Inside. The ending was horribly cheesy and left me wondering what on earth just happened. Expand
  12. Lrg
    Sep 18, 2010
    0
    i cant believe i watched this fecal matter. I was somewhat entertained up until the ending which was more retarded than any movie I've seen. well i gotta keep putting in more characters so this wonderful review shows up.
  13. Sep 19, 2010
    0
    This movie, is horrible. It's not even scary, it has a weak storyline, and its boring as hell. The ending sucked too, please... don't see this movie for Gods sake.


    Or in this case, devil's sake.
  14. Aug 27, 2010
    0
    The first 45 minutes of this movie mess is nothing but talk. Audiences, especially teens, expecting to be scared or shocked will be so restless by the time anything happens they'll probably storm the box office demanding their money back. When the action moves to anything the least bit interesting, it is so staged as to be laughable. Paid critics everywhere have become so full of theirThe first 45 minutes of this movie mess is nothing but talk. Audiences, especially teens, expecting to be scared or shocked will be so restless by the time anything happens they'll probably storm the box office demanding their money back. When the action moves to anything the least bit interesting, it is so staged as to be laughable. Paid critics everywhere have become so full of their self-importance they've forgotten how to criticize a movie for it's worth. This movie is a waste of good film stock. I don't get today's critics. They feel it necessary to tear apart a worthwhile movie while letting clap-trap like this one slip by. Common sense will tell anyone with any intelligence to head for the exit post haste! I did not find one frame of this film interesting or believable. Expand
  15. Aug 28, 2010
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Watching this movie was a waste of my freaking time, I sit there, at the premiere right in phoenix, waiting to shat myself anytime during the movie, and what do I get, I expect a real dude who does exorcism in the movie, to actually be a exorcist, and not even 15 mins does he say that he doesn't even believe that it exist, that its all in your mind? What the hell? All it is is dry humor that I rather go watch the dreaded Lottery Ticket instead, at least it have some humor that wasn't as unhumored as this was, and after an hour into the movie, they already show you all the scary parts in the previews, seeming it to be good at all, this movie is a utter joke, nobody should ever see this. And on a extra note, what is up with the entirely disappointing ending? They even show the ending on the preview, and all the man does is walk up to the fire and the stupid chick dies, and then you see the chicks brother kill him? What a waste of time, please if you wan't to at least see something decent, go see Jennifer Anistons new movie, at least the ending won't be as bad. Expand
  16. Sep 7, 2010
    0
    This was the worst movie I have ever been to! The best part of the whole experience was at the end...my sister yelled " I paid for this"? Everyone laughed and was in agreement. It was a waist of time and money!
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 31
  2. Negative: 1 out of 31
  1. 78
    The shock ending isn't all that shocking if you're a fan of genre films, but it's nonetheless effective despite the fact that it sidesteps several key questions. Never mind: It's hellishly fun.
  2. 63
    The Last Exorcism is one of those rare films where the marketing campaign is more interesting than the film it publicizes.
  3. 50
    The more hellish the story gets, the sillier and less involving the movie becomes.