Rogue Pictures | Release Date: March 13, 2009
6.0
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 99 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
50
Mixed:
25
Negative:
24
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
RazvOct 15, 2010
It was a very interesting movie with awesome acting and a great plot. Though lacking a little atmosphere and suspense, i'd say it's a good movie overall.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
MikeJApr 10, 2009
I was on the edge of my seat with this one. I loved it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewOMar 14, 2009
I don't understand why this score is so low. I thought LHOTL was a great movie, superior to all modern horror flicks. It was the most intense movie, and it was beautifully shot. See it!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MattEAug 12, 2009
I liked it. The shock horror genre gets a bad rep from stupid sequels like Saw 2-5 and Hostel 2. It still ranks way higher than crap like G.I. Hoe and the Gayformers. Remakes of awsome classics can only get better with modern camera quality I liked it. The shock horror genre gets a bad rep from stupid sequels like Saw 2-5 and Hostel 2. It still ranks way higher than crap like G.I. Hoe and the Gayformers. Remakes of awsome classics can only get better with modern camera quality and the looser restrictions on gore and violence. Not only that but what guy doesn't like a good boob shot every couple of minutes? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MirandaHAug 29, 2009
This movie was pretty good. But it also was pretty messed up. If your queezy I would not recommend This movie for you. Little kids should defenitly not watch it either!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaneRMar 21, 2009
Not as good as the original but still effective.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ConnorBAug 26, 2009
I was rather pleased after seeing this remake for the first time; it was a decent movie with some great performances from a believable cast, a great soundtrack from John Murphy (who also wrote the score for one of my favourite films, 28 Days I was rather pleased after seeing this remake for the first time; it was a decent movie with some great performances from a believable cast, a great soundtrack from John Murphy (who also wrote the score for one of my favourite films, 28 Days Later), and it stayed pretty accurate to the source material. Everybody should already be familiar with the plot of The Last House on the Left. The original is a horror classic, and a must-see, although its sheer explicit nature means it didn't become available uncut in the UK until last year. The remake is nowhere near as explicit in either the violence or the rape sequence; the latter was extraordinarily disgusting, but I admire the filmmakers for making it so. Too often do we see some pretty dumb girl raped in the woods and somebody in the cinema will shout "dumb bitch had it coming!" Nothing like this happened with The Last House on the Left. Like I said, a very believable cast managed to make the audience connect with the characters in a sympathetic way. As for the plot, yes, some things have changed (apart from the names, I mean.) Some characters that live died in the original, and vice versa. Give the new director some creative license, people! This is HIS movie, not Wes Craven's. Give the director a chance to experiment with what is his to make. Additionally, a comment to Golder, who walked out of the cinema once the rape scene commenced: if you were so excited to see this because it was "Wes Cracen producing (or shadowing) what was his original creation back in the 1970's", then you should have already been aware that Wes Craven's original 1972 Last House on the Left contained an even more explicit rape scene, and that the classification information for the film warns that there is a scene of rape. If it's something that offends you so much, look it up first. A decent film, strong acting, good direction... I give it a 7. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
jasonMar 14, 2009
This movie is absolutely the most intense and brutal thing Ive ever seen. At the same time it is entirely believable. Its not really a horror movie but a really intense drama. The acting was prefect, every actor just displayed crazy depth of This movie is absolutely the most intense and brutal thing Ive ever seen. At the same time it is entirely believable. Its not really a horror movie but a really intense drama. The acting was prefect, every actor just displayed crazy depth of emotion. Although if you cant tolerate serious rape/death scenes then this isn't the movie for you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EmanouelKMar 19, 2009
I found the remake to be within the same principle to the original cult classic. The acting was great, the direction was superior, the cinematography was on point and the score complemented the tension and eerieness of the whole film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BrandiSep 12, 2009
Good Movie, great actors. very intense, not too scary more of an action packed suspense. HOWEVER I watched this last night, and still feel sick about the rape scene. Very detailed, and WAY too long, My fiance and I watched this, and we both Good Movie, great actors. very intense, not too scary more of an action packed suspense. HOWEVER I watched this last night, and still feel sick about the rape scene. Very detailed, and WAY too long, My fiance and I watched this, and we both felt the same regarding that scene. If you get past that, it is a great movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
Anotherday1787Aug 12, 2011
I really liked this movie. I know that the original is a cult classic, but I could never sit through the first half hour. For those that cannot stomach the original, this is a good alternate. Casting, plot, and set are well done.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
KivaJun 22, 2013
I haven't seen the original one but The last house on the left was not such a bad film. It had a good plot and the actors were good. It had suspense and violence. It was not like a good classic thriller but it was much better than otherI haven't seen the original one but The last house on the left was not such a bad film. It had a good plot and the actors were good. It had suspense and violence. It was not like a good classic thriller but it was much better than other horror films these days. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FilmVirtueFeb 14, 2014
An effective home invasion film which in my opinion is better than the first. However the content is brutal, sadistic, and at times difficult to watch. Iliadis really does create a heart pounding thriller worthy of being watched.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Meth-dudeSep 6, 2015
The movie was actually pretty good.The acting was okay,the movie was entertaining and there was some blood.The movie was probably censored because the rape scene was not really believable and the deaths were kind of lame except for the firstThe movie was actually pretty good.The acting was okay,the movie was entertaining and there was some blood.The movie was probably censored because the rape scene was not really believable and the deaths were kind of lame except for the first bad guy.The atmosphere was not good enough to really affect the movie.And the way the movie is made, you won't like any characters so you won't really care who dies at the end. Overall a pretty good movie but it could've been so much better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ydnar4Nov 23, 2014
I watched this film without watching the original film. Just another remake based on a 1970's classic. I'd watch the first one before watching this adaptation.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
horcrux2007Jan 10, 2015
I haven't seen this in a couple years, so my memory of it was a little fuzzy. Now I know that it was far better than I expected. A huge improvement to the original was a consistently dark atmosphere. In Wes Craven's version, it felt silly atI haven't seen this in a couple years, so my memory of it was a little fuzzy. Now I know that it was far better than I expected. A huge improvement to the original was a consistently dark atmosphere. In Wes Craven's version, it felt silly at times, namely the scenes with the cops and the whole "Willow" stuff. This remake was also a lot more intense and suspenseful, and the danger felt a lot more real. The ending may somewhat blunt the movie's overall effect, but, hey, how often do you get that sort of ending in a horror movie? The rape scene was very difficult to sit through because it was so long and realistic, which is my only real complaint. If you had to choose to watch the original or the remake, I would go with the remake because it's a lot more thrilling, and it's far superior to Wes Craven's version overall. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews