Paramount Pictures | Release Date: September 15, 2006
5.2
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 63 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
32
Mixed:
5
Negative:
26
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
AlessandraSOct 7, 2006
Wow...whats up with all the mediocre comments? I absolutely loved The Last Kiss. Nothing felt forced, the entire story just kind of rolled without the typical clichés, and predictable scenes. I found myself laughing throughout most of Wow...whats up with all the mediocre comments? I absolutely loved The Last Kiss. Nothing felt forced, the entire story just kind of rolled without the typical clichés, and predictable scenes. I found myself laughing throughout most of the movie. Even some of the serious moments turned out to be hilarious. Moving and touching. A must see. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PaulB.Sep 13, 2006
The smartest film i've seen all year. The voice of our generation carried out by some of the best vessels in Hollywood. Each actor is prefectly cast. I will bring the rest of my friends on Friday night.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelF.Sep 15, 2006
I know that giving a film a 'perfect score' might be overdoing it some, but this film is somewhat of an exception. Zach Braff (as well as the rest of this cast) gave smart and well-rounded performances. The details and meanings I know that giving a film a 'perfect score' might be overdoing it some, but this film is somewhat of an exception. Zach Braff (as well as the rest of this cast) gave smart and well-rounded performances. The details and meanings were overwhelming yet necessary. The story is fresh and original (yes I know, it is a remake). But the story was told in such a delicate manner that it allowed myself to fully embrace all that was happening, both mentally and emotionally. I truly loved this movie in every aspect. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SteveM.Sep 17, 2006
I thought this movie was thoroughly engaging. It definitely surpassed my expectations. The cast was uniformly excellent. Blythe Danner was a standout. I recommend this movie without hesitation.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
D.Sep 14, 2006
A better writing effort than Haggis' last work. The cast does great work and the direction is solid throughout. The best film about turning 30 since Diner.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
HamishR.Sep 16, 2006
I love the ensemble feel of this movie. It's honest and moving. A film for our generation, but I'd bring my parents! I loved it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LuigiC.Feb 2, 2007
Very underrated. This is a sensitive and real movie about commitment as youth moves into adult hood. It has a heart, laughs and you'll identify with the characters. The acting is great all around. Some of the story around the Very underrated. This is a sensitive and real movie about commitment as youth moves into adult hood. It has a heart, laughs and you'll identify with the characters. The acting is great all around. Some of the story around the parent's is a little forced but it doesn't get in the way. 20-30 somethings aren't going to get it - its above them! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PaulG.Oct 4, 2006
You're either with this movie or you're not. I found it convincing and moving. At times a little over the top, but it had a solid cast and they did a good job. Best of all many times the movie leads up to a scene you've seen a You're either with this movie or you're not. I found it convincing and moving. At times a little over the top, but it had a solid cast and they did a good job. Best of all many times the movie leads up to a scene you've seen a 100 times, and then it goes somewhere else. I was with these characters so that I found the end of the film very moving. But I'll allow if you're not clicking with this then you may very well find the end insufferable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadShiiraSep 29, 2006
On the side of a bus, Michael(Zach Braff) looks longingly at the woman in a Victoria's Secret advertisement, triggering off singer-songwriter Lisa Germano's haunting answer to what is Victoria's secret: "Your man wishes you On the side of a bus, Michael(Zach Braff) looks longingly at the woman in a Victoria's Secret advertisement, triggering off singer-songwriter Lisa Germano's haunting answer to what is Victoria's secret: "Your man wishes you looked like me." Michael is pretty insufferable because Jenna (Jacinda Barrett) looks like a Victoria's Secret model. His hot girlfriend isn't sufficiently hot enough. Jenna's pretty insufferable too when she describes her future preggo-self as "fat and ugly". "The Last Kiss" is about beautiful people with angst. Its success hinges on the filmmaker's belief that Braff is so cute and adorable; the audience will pardon any men-behaving-badly transgressions. In one sequence, he becomes a puppy, taking the Lloyd with a boombox-sentiment of undying love to the next level. In theory, "The Last Kiss" is pretty damn nauseating, but it does a good job of showing how lust trumps exclusivity towards your beloved if temptation comes in the form of Kim(a very good Rachel Bilson). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ErosC.Sep 14, 2006
Moving and sweet, sexy and harsh, this film has all sorts of moods and moments. It's a serious drama, with quite a lot going on. I especially liked the older couple - nice to see some over-40s covered in a romantic dramedy, for a Moving and sweet, sexy and harsh, this film has all sorts of moods and moments. It's a serious drama, with quite a lot going on. I especially liked the older couple - nice to see some over-40s covered in a romantic dramedy, for a change! Great acting here too. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MarkB.Nov 8, 2006
Paul Haggis's and Tony Goldwyn's entertaining meditation on twentysomething yuppie angst (if those last three words didn't scare you away, you have a good-to-excellent chance of liking this) is one of the only movies ever made Paul Haggis's and Tony Goldwyn's entertaining meditation on twentysomething yuppie angst (if those last three words didn't scare you away, you have a good-to-excellent chance of liking this) is one of the only movies ever made whose poster could've gotten away with filching the tagline of ANOTHER movie: Rob Reiner's 1985 romantic comedy The Sure Thing, with John Cusack, Daphne Zuniga and a very young Nicollette Sheridan: "The sure thing comes once in a lifetime. The real thing lasts forever." Soon-to-be husband and father Michael (Zach Braff) is engaged to sweet, smart and lovely Jenna (Jacinda Barrett, quickly rebounding from Poseidon) but due to nagging "Is-that-all-there-is?" insecurities gets tempted by a stress-relieving, ego-boosting night with free spirit Kim (Rachel Bilson) who, while not exactly a clone of a certain bunny-boiling iconic 1987 movie figure, turns out to also not quite be the zipless fling Michael expected. To the movie's credit, it credibly allows viewers to see both sides of the question: nearly all women will be as infuriated with Michael as Jenna is, while many men will want to shout at the screen, "Dude!!! You got a real babe waiting at home! What the hell are you DOING?!?!?" (The Last Kiss understands that the Kims of the world are ethereal while the Jennas are eternal.) But the price Michael pays, coupled with the lengths he goes through to make amends and Braff's memorably hangdog persona, will leave nearly everyone in the audience hungry for reconciliation and redemption...and the final shot is wisely open-ended and bittersweet. By including lots of supporting and peripheral characters, writer Haggis attempts to dissect romance the way he did racism in Crash to less striking effect (sorry, Paul, but commitmentphobia just doesn't carry the urgency that racially-motivated killings do), but a sort of devil's-advocate counterpoint to the movie's general endorsement of monogamy--in the form of its depiction of the long, seemingly by-the-numbers marriage of Jenna's parents--really scores because Tom Wilkinson and especially Blythe Danner are so resonant. Always a smart, interesting, appealing actress, Danner has become an indispensable one over the last decade: her portrayal of Ben Stiller's sweetly ditsy-like-a-fox future mother-in-law was one of the biggest strengths of Meet the Parents (and the ONLY genuine asset of its sequel). Director Goldwyn's inventively composed closeup of lonely, seemingly unloved Anna (she's not, but she thinks she is, and that's what matters) getting ready for bed is, thanks to Danner's subtlety and artistry, the most indelible image in an American movie so far in 2006. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JoeySep 18, 2006
Everyone's saying it wasn't Garden State, but that should be pretty obvious. ZB already made Garden State. It's a different movie, people, let go. I'm 23 and I identified with a lot in the movie, so I liked it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JohnW.Sep 17, 2006
Decent film of the chick-flick variety. A story of infidelity with a new angle.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
bfoore90Dec 28, 2016
I'm 26 so I obviously identified alot with what is going on in this movie and the main characters fear of losing his youth and what not. I found the movie to be very solid, I really liked Rachel Bilson in this movie as she shows a surprisingI'm 26 so I obviously identified alot with what is going on in this movie and the main characters fear of losing his youth and what not. I found the movie to be very solid, I really liked Rachel Bilson in this movie as she shows a surprising amount of depth with her character though she's working with a very thinly written character whose motivations for in the film are very unclear and you never really find out. The rest of the actors do well, Zach Braff seems to be sleepwalking his way through this film hot off the success of Garden State again seemingly playing Zach Braff. Rachel Bilson's performance, for me was fantastic and I thought she did very well in this film doing what she can with a very thinly written character. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Meth-dudeJun 19, 2017
As cheesy, safe and predictable as the movie is, it still managed to entertain me. The acting was good, the characters were interesting and even though the ending was a little bit over the top and predictable, it's still a very watchableAs cheesy, safe and predictable as the movie is, it still managed to entertain me. The acting was good, the characters were interesting and even though the ending was a little bit over the top and predictable, it's still a very watchable movie. It's not the most original romantic drama, but it's still a good one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
BillyS.Sep 22, 2006
No, it's not Garden State. It wasn't directed by Zak Braff, It wasn't written by Zak Braff, it stars Zak Braff and that's it. It is, in fact, a remake of an Italian comedy that was a quick paced ensemble piece that No, it's not Garden State. It wasn't directed by Zak Braff, It wasn't written by Zak Braff, it stars Zak Braff and that's it. It is, in fact, a remake of an Italian comedy that was a quick paced ensemble piece that emphasized the comedy about four friends on the brink of 30 and becoming "grown ups". In this Americanized version, the pace is slowed down considerably and the emphasis is on the angst instead of the laughs. Its not Garden State, but it's an o.k. remake of a much better original. So what else is new in Hollywood? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MeghanR.Sep 18, 2006
Uh oh.... do we have another tragic Bill Murray-esque actor in Zach Braff? Well, maybe not, seeing as Bill Murray has shown much range over his career. Braff, on the other hand, continued to disappoint me again. The highly overrated Garden Uh oh.... do we have another tragic Bill Murray-esque actor in Zach Braff? Well, maybe not, seeing as Bill Murray has shown much range over his career. Braff, on the other hand, continued to disappoint me again. The highly overrated Garden State left me wanting to inject Braff with a shot of personality. He tried too hard to make a movie that was obviously independant and underplayed. His performance was too lackluster, just for the sake of being lackluster. The Last Kiss was my hope for a star-turning performance. Unfortunately, I was beyond disappointed. There is a story here, there really is. Unfortunately, I was so pre-occuppied by the dull performances, especially that of Braff. It reminded me of the performance by Bill Murray in Broken Flowers. The stares that Braff gives the camera time and time again are all the same. He needs to act in layers, and leave the one note performances behind. I have faith he can do it..... He showed some awesome talent in Scrubs, where a one-note performance would have gotten him nowhere. Please Zacharay, don't try too hard!! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
ReidF.Jan 28, 2007
This is another movie in the ever-growing genre of films about unpleasant people doing stupid things. Are we really supposed to care about anyone in this movie?
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
CraigC.Sep 23, 2006
This movie is in NO way a comedy!! Yes it has funny parts, but it a dark depressing film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
RGDec 27, 2006
The smartest film?? voice of our generation??? wait wait this is paul haggis the king of conveniet writing, he ll put in more intersting characters that are not major parts in the movie (izzy, chris) to conveniently make it into a story that The smartest film?? voice of our generation??? wait wait this is paul haggis the king of conveniet writing, he ll put in more intersting characters that are not major parts in the movie (izzy, chris) to conveniently make it into a story that we can all see coming(chris running into jenna). "no surprises" complains braff and uses it as excuse to go out with the brunette. this movie had nothing new, far from any surprises, some really cleched lines delivered by some promising actors, and some really convenient music (coldplay - warning sign when braffs out on the poarch). choreography is sharp but it just tries soo hard to be an indie movie and it fails terribly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
[Anonymous]Sep 16, 2006
The review from the Inquirer is right on!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MoviegirlSep 18, 2006
love Zach Braff, but this movie left much to be desired. Many of the supporting characters were flat and the others were over-dramatic. While Garden State was one of my all-favorite movies, but this one left me dissatisfied and depressed!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
RickS.Sep 18, 2006
Zach Braff is not cut out for Comedy/Drama/Romance. I'm sorry Garden State was boring and unsoulful, this movie is like watching Woody Allen be an action hero. Look i'm sorry but it is, i mean i like him on Scrubs(Comedy) but come Zach Braff is not cut out for Comedy/Drama/Romance. I'm sorry Garden State was boring and unsoulful, this movie is like watching Woody Allen be an action hero. Look i'm sorry but it is, i mean i like him on Scrubs(Comedy) but come on, the guy thinks he can pull off lead romance type rolls. Please. And Jacinda Barrett this girl went to Oxford(British American Drama Academy) and still can't hold a decent strong role(Apparently money CAN'T buy everything). I like movies that have heart and a meaning full ending(not this load of well you know what i mean). I found myself zoning out of this movie like every 15 mins. Same old ##it over and over.Dumass looking for love and searching for himself, likes girl but is doubtful- bla,bal,bal-**ity ending. Wow next time i wanna see a guy who sounds like Ray Romano and thinks he looks like Mr. Pitt i'll look at My Super Ex-Girlfriend(and even that was better than this movie-WOW). And to the Casting-Director, please the next time you shoot a movie, make sure you have actors that can, wait for it..ACT. I kept on promising myself that i'm gonna walk out, why in god's name didn't I. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JoeP.Mar 30, 2007
"The Last Kiss" should have been called "Shallow, Self-Absorbed People Do Shallow, Self-Absorbed Things To Their Loved Ones And Scream Shrilly At Each Other During Unbelievable Plot Contrivances That Make No Sense". If this new title "The Last Kiss" should have been called "Shallow, Self-Absorbed People Do Shallow, Self-Absorbed Things To Their Loved Ones And Scream Shrilly At Each Other During Unbelievable Plot Contrivances That Make No Sense". If this new title doesn't sound even remotely entertaining, that's because neither is "The Last Kiss". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JoeG.Sep 24, 2006
What pretentious garbage. Sorry, not interested in self-pity, or a pathetic mid-life crisis from someone who's barely 30. "No more surprises"? Poor boy, he wants to shag other women, preferably younger hot looking girls. And his own What pretentious garbage. Sorry, not interested in self-pity, or a pathetic mid-life crisis from someone who's barely 30. "No more surprises"? Poor boy, he wants to shag other women, preferably younger hot looking girls. And his own woman is conveniently an empty husk of a person, which makes it all easier. This would've been tolerable if the acting rose above the standards of WB teen drama. Danner is good, but she can't carry the picture by herself, not with these leads. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful