Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. USA Today
    Reviewed by: Mike Clark
    Jun 3, 2013
    100
    Michael Mann , directs with his standard prejudice toward the sheer physical. The result, almost musical, has only a couple recent movie precedents. [25 Sep 1992, p.1D]
  2. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Jun 3, 2013
    100
    Bold and stirring with impeccable production values, The Last of the Mohicans is a memorable motion picture adventure, and one of the best films of the year.
  3. The Hollywood Reporter
    Reviewed by: Jeff Menell
    Jun 3, 2013
    90
    The story, the acting, the cinematography are all so potent that they overwhelm us in the best way possible. The violence is brutal and graphic, yet compelling. [23 Sep 1992]
  4. Chicago Tribune
    Reviewed by: Johanna Steinmetz
    Jun 3, 2013
    88
    Never mind the gorgeous wilderness backdrop, the 18th-Century details, the carefully voiced and subtitled American Indian dialogue. From its very first frame until seconds before closing credits, "Mohicans" is an action movie. [25 Sep 1992]
  5. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Jun 3, 2013
    83
    The first hour of The Last of the Mohicans plays like a convoluted history lesson. I appreciate that Mann has enough respect for the audience's intelligence to sketch in this briar patch of conflicting loyalties. But he outlines the interlocking factions without really making it clear, in dramatic terms, what each one stands for.
  6. Reviewed by: Jay Boyar
    Jun 3, 2013
    80
    The Last of the Mohicans isn't a classic, but it's one of the most exciting action pictures to come along in recent memory.
  7. Tampa Bay Times
    Reviewed by: Hal Lipper
    Jun 3, 2013
    80
    The Last of the Mohicans is grand entertainment. Romantic, exciting, though unremittingly violent at times, it is rich in frontier lore and in its respect for the land that the conquering settlers too often take for granted. [25 Sep 1992, p.5]
  8. Reviewed by: Rita Kempley
    Jun 3, 2013
    80
    Mann, who's best known for such urban crime dramas as "Vice" and "Manhunter," is equally at home whether the chase concerns a cigarette boat or a birch-bark canoe. He brings the same flair pairing action and style to The Last of the Mohicans, an attempt to resurrect and redefine the American hero.
  9. Reviewed by: Charles Taylor
    Jun 3, 2013
    80
    The Last of the Mohicans is a striking mixture of the ersatz and the genuine. In other words, it’s vintage Hollywood. It’s also a smashingly entertaining and satisfying adventure.
  10. Reviewed by: Lisa Nesselson
    Jun 3, 2013
    80
    [The Last of the Mohicans] blends pure adventure with a compelling central romance.
  11. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    Jun 3, 2013
    80
    When this historical adventure kicks in, it's thrilling in the way old-fashioned epics used to be, but its romanticism has a fierce, violent physicality that gives it a distinctively modern stamp.
  12. Reviewed by: Steve Davis
    Jun 3, 2013
    78
    The Last of the Mohicans rarely flinches in depicting the eye-for-an-eye savagery of war. Although not explicit in the way you might expect, it nevertheless requires you to screw your courage to the sticking place. Perhaps that's a tribute to its ability to take you along its journey without much effort – real enough to elicit a visceral reaction, romantic enough to remind you it's only a movie.
  13. Portland Oregonian
    Reviewed by: Ted Mahar
    Jun 3, 2013
    75
    Viewers engulfed by the movie's intense romance and spectacular action could leave the theater exhausted. But it's a good ride: The Last of the Mohicans creates its own vibrant world, hurling audiences into it and allowing no relief from the excitement until the end. [25 Sep 1992, p.13]
  14. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Jun 3, 2013
    75
    The Last of the Mohicans is not as authentic and uncompromised as it claims to be -- more of a matinee fantasy than it wants to admit -- but it is probably more entertaining as a result.
  15. Reviewed by: Kenneth Turan
    Jun 3, 2013
    70
    The Last of the Mohicans comes at you like a tomahawk. Hard, fast and brutal, it slashes at your throat and just about leaves you for dead. Undeniably exciting as this definitely is, however, its impact comes at the expense of some of the gentler virtues, qualities that even top-drawer barn-burners really shouldn't ignore.
  16. Reviewed by: Janet Maslin
    Jun 3, 2013
    70
    Drawing upon the novel with merciful selectivity, and adding such a contemporary flavor that the film's woodsmen often have a laid-back air, Michael Mann has directed a sultrier and more pointedly responsible version of this story.
  17. Miami Herald
    Reviewed by: Bill Cosford
    Jun 3, 2013
    63
    What we have here is a story out of early American history as retold by American pulp fiction, staged by a director with a sure touch for melodrama. [25 Sep 1992, p.G5]
  18. Boston Globe
    Reviewed by: Jay Carr
    Jun 3, 2013
    50
    While Last of the Mohicans is an eyeful - how could anything shot in the Blue Ridge Mountains of North Carolina not be? - it's mindless, meticulous in its externals, taking refuge from awareness by clinging to Cooper's distortions. In the end, it'll be remembered for its three S's: Stowe, Studi and the scenery. [25 Sep 1992, p.27]
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 47 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Apr 28, 2016
    7
    [7.5/10] -- Michael Mann's rousing, triumphant, and majestic departure from the gritty immorality of the urban hell -- "The Last Of The[7.5/10] -- Michael Mann's rousing, triumphant, and majestic departure from the gritty immorality of the urban hell -- "The Last Of The Mohicans" -- may not be his best work, but it is certainly still something to behold. With incredible action sequences, brilliant special effects, and an inarguably brilliant sense of period, the film not only does Cooper's eponymous novel justice, it does right by the viewer as well. Full Review »
  2. Nov 29, 2015
    10
    What a great movie about the American frontier before it was America. Life was hard, times were tough, I never imagined this when I wasWhat a great movie about the American frontier before it was America. Life was hard, times were tough, I never imagined this when I was studying American history in school. You were on your own; how many of us could survive under these circumstances? On top of that, war is on between the British, who the colonists live under, and the French, who have enlisted the Indians. The settlers are at the mercy of both. This movie gives a graphic portrayal of life during these times. Great cinematography, great actors, great movie. I don't have many DVDs but this one is in my collection. Full Review »
  3. Jul 29, 2015
    10
    I first watched this movie when I was six years old. I loved every milisecond of it. The story is amazing and so goddamn emotional. I don'tI first watched this movie when I was six years old. I loved every milisecond of it. The story is amazing and so goddamn emotional. I don't think I've ever seen a movie that makes you feel so many emotions at once like this. The way they travel around the country, form amazing relationships, and battle the nefarious Magua is awesome10/10. Full Review »