The Last Samurai

The Last Samurai Image
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 43 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 350 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: The paths of two warriors converge when the young Emperor of Japan, hires a Civil War veteran (Cruise) to train Japan's first modern, conscript army. As he encounters the Samurai traditions, the troubled American soldier finds himself at the center of a violent and epic struggle between twoThe paths of two warriors converge when the young Emperor of Japan, hires a Civil War veteran (Cruise) to train Japan's first modern, conscript army. As he encounters the Samurai traditions, the troubled American soldier finds himself at the center of a violent and epic struggle between two eras and two worlds, with only his sense of honor to guide him. (Warner Bros.) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 43
  2. Negative: 4 out of 43
  1. Reviewed by: Will Lawrence
    100
    The Last Samurai is much more fun than a mere history lesson.
  2. Hugely satisfying entertainment that will attract a broad spectrum of audiences around the world. Zwick fully exploits the star power at his disposal, pairing off Cruise and Japanese star Ken Watanabe as two larger-than-life warriors.
  3. Cruise's undeniable star voltage makes it all palatable, and the film is gorgeous to behold and even to listen to, from the rolling green hills to the galloping horses to the "Lohengrin"-like theme music on the sound track.
  4. The Last Samurai is an idyll in which the savageries of existence are transcended by spiritual devotion. That’s a beautiful dream, and it gives the film a deep pleasingness, but the fullness of life and its blackest ambiguities are sacrificed.
  5. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    50
    There are pleasures to be had in the handsome, heroic The Last Samurai. But they' all on the surface.
  6. 50
    What it lacks is artistry, those small touches of personality that might have distinguished its lugubrious history lesson from a bunch of pretty pictures with captions telling the story.
  7. 30
    Cruise pedals hard through The Last Samurai, and the exertion shows. In fact, the whole picture is belabored and lumbering.

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 146
  1. Aug 14, 2010
    10
    This is one of my favorite movies of all time, and I don't even like Tom Cruise. I'm not sure why the critics are so far off the users on thisThis is one of my favorite movies of all time, and I don't even like Tom Cruise. I'm not sure why the critics are so far off the users on this one. It is well worth a view, even for a Cruise hater. Expand
  2. kharagh
    Oct 8, 2005
    10
    One of the greatest movies in the history of cinema!9.5/10
  3. Sep 14, 2014
    10
    A beautifully told story with a focus on a number of emotions and feelings setting apart the honour of the Samurai and the modernization ofA beautifully told story with a focus on a number of emotions and feelings setting apart the honour of the Samurai and the modernization of the country they still longed to protect.

    The film has an abundance of feeling and emotion with brilliant performances from a range of characters on both sides and the stirring soundtrack of Hans Zimmer. I do not understand how critics could give this film such a bad review, the movie is clearly story driven with the plot not being entirely historically accurate. Most critics probably see the box with Cruise as a samurai and just pass it off as him being some random samurai American and tossing it to one side.

    The Last Samurai is very much focused on Katsumoto, one of the last great rebels against the newly modernized ways of Japan, intent on fighting for the emperor and protecting him from such change. Zwick delivers a brilliant story which is paced well across the duration of the film giving the audience a chance to view the conflict from both sides.

    Personally this is one of my favourite films of all time and I say that without really needing to doubt it, any film that sucks you in from the start and provokes and emotional response surely must be doing it's job correctly.
    Expand
  4. Mar 6, 2013
    8
    Really enjoyed the movie with the soundtrack, the battle sequences and the story. The corny ending is the only thing, I can complain about.Really enjoyed the movie with the soundtrack, the battle sequences and the story. The corny ending is the only thing, I can complain about. Decent Film. Expand
  5. chw
    Jun 5, 2015
    8
    The Last Samurai is a very good movie, but it copied movies like Pocahontas, Ferngully, and Dances with Wolves. Still, great performances byThe Last Samurai is a very good movie, but it copied movies like Pocahontas, Ferngully, and Dances with Wolves. Still, great performances by Tom Cruise and Ken Watanabe. Expand
  6. Nov 1, 2015
    8
    Really enjoyable movie - watched it back a bit after its release and then watched it again (in class) to help verify the history behind it inReally enjoyable movie - watched it back a bit after its release and then watched it again (in class) to help verify the history behind it in relation to what actually happened. I thought the movie was well acted (in general), and was just an enjoyable watch. Expand
  7. Apr 9, 2015
    0
    Preceded by Dances With Wolves which was preceded by Lawrence of Arabia, succeeded by Pathfinder and Avatar, this Mighty Whitey film focusesPreceded by Dances With Wolves which was preceded by Lawrence of Arabia, succeeded by Pathfinder and Avatar, this Mighty Whitey film focuses on Japan for its narcissistic and unrealistic boast of cultural tolerance. Look at Tom Cruise's haircut in the poster. Now google "chonmage." There, now you never have to see this movie. Expand

See all 146 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  2. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Star Trek Beyond, Lights Out, Don't Think Twice, Ice Age: Collision Course, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  3. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  4. 25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked

    25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked Image
    Published: July 15, 2016
    We rank over two dozen very good movies featuring very bad protagonists.