User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 174 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 174

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 25, 2013
    3
    Movie was eh. Don't like seeing Arnold old, just doesn't pump me up like he use to. Movies like this makes me long for the days of Total Recall, Terminator, and Predator.
  2. Jan 24, 2013
    7
    The Last Stand delivers exactly what it promised, a heart pounding action film that proves to be an exciting return for Arnold Schwarzenegger to the big screen. I realize he has made a few cameo appearances like in "The Expendables 2," but it
  3. Jan 23, 2013
    5
    A Mexican crime lord escapes from the FBI and it's up to a small town sheriff (Arnold Schwarzenegger) and to stop him. There are some cool driving stunts, but most of the action is nothing special. The pacing keeps it moving, but the screenplay is simply painful: predictable, for sure, but lacking in so many ways. There were lots of opportunities for character comedy and smart retorts, but none of it was realized. This might have been a fun vehicle (featuring several fast Chevys), but the writing condemned it to an awful accident: avert your eyes! Expand
  4. Jan 22, 2013
    6
    "The Last Stand" is just what it sounds like. If you were thinking of a western, you're absolutely correct. This is a completely mindless action movie with very mediocre acting. Arnold is being Arnold and Knoxville being Knoxville. Being a fan of the "Jackass" series and movies, it was fun to see him do a couple stunts but, overall, his character was simply there for comic relief (in a movie which is already an action comedy). I love the director, Kim Jee-woon, for his past Korean work on "The Good, The Bad, The Weird" and "I Saw The Devil" but I think he should stick to Korean casts. It's just no actors really shine in this one. I went with my friend and I found it comical that, for one, very few people were in the theater (on opening night) and, secondly, they were all middle-aged. You could see in the way they laughed at Arnie's one-liners that they wanted this to be Schwarzenegger's comeback. However, I'm sorry to say that it's not (plus, nothing will ever top Terminator). It's a good Netflix or On Demand rental but that's all. Expand
  5. Jan 22, 2013
    7
    Arnie is back, older, a little paunchier, but no matter what, he is still Arnie. And using his Austrian broken English he delivers what you would expect. No this is not a perfect movie but if you're looking to pass a few hours and be entertained in which you know the ending he delivers a fun flick. Blood, guts, violence with some humor sprinkled in, in which non of it is remotely believable. Just a fun way to enjoy Arnie one more time. Expand
  6. Jan 22, 2013
    5
    Ever hear a Swedish guy trying to do an American southern accent? The bad guys right hand man in this movie has the absolutely worst American accent you will ever, EVER, hear. How this got onto the screen says a lot about the quality of this movie.
  7. Jan 21, 2013
    8
    This was a good action movie. Only slightly more than the trailer, but still entertaining. If you are in the mood for a good drama, go see Zero Dark Thirty. If you want a good action, see this.
  8. Jan 21, 2013
    7
    Critics, man. What a bunch of bummers...same with some of the users, too. What do you expect from an Arnold flick? Do you think he's going to be remaking The Magnificent Ambersons or The Man Who Would Be King? Much like both Expendables films I went for the nostalgia of the days when I couldn't wait for the next Arnie flick or Stallone, etc. Sure, this is the last gasp, but I'm there for it. Just for fun. If you are going to see The Last Stand may I recommend low expectations and look forward for a fun, if cliche' d, ride. You've been on the Matterhorn at Disneyland a hundred times as a kid, but something about that rickety old thing makes you want to go one more time. Expand
  9. Jan 21, 2013
    6
    Aside from the criminal misuse of Forrest Whitaker, this is a decent, light, fun film. The direction could have been MUCH tighter - there are far too many blank stares and dull silences, but the action sequences are creative, and it's the classic tale of small town heroes vs. the big bad crime syndicate - tough to go wrong there. If only there weren't a couple of 7 or 8 year old boys in my theater giggling their asses off every time someone had his head blown off... Expand
  10. Jan 20, 2013
    6
    The first two acts are a little janky, as Arnold's role only gets into one brief action scene throughout the time frame. The plot are also feels extremely divided as the villain's and Arnold's relevance isn't explained until late in the second act. Thankfully, however, the climax kicks the movie into a much needed state of overdrive, delivering immensely satisfying firefights, standoffs, and chases while retaining Arnold's and Knoxville's trademark humor. Overall, it's nothing special at first, but the final third justifies the watch. Expand
  11. Jan 20, 2013
    8
    Fast cars, wild action, enough guns to make Joe Biden change his diaper. Like a grandma with a shotgun pointed at your face what is not to love about this movie. This is all 80's throwback from a time when rated R movies were fun and cheesy. Almost all the actors get a LOL moment with the best reserved to old Arnie who does what he has done best for the past 30 years, delivering one liner after one liner. Expand
  12. Jan 19, 2013
    5
    Cliche after cliche, one-liner after one-liner, but the action set pieces are solid. Popcorn fun, nothing more. Arnold deserves better scripts, and we deserve a few good films he has left in him.
  13. Jan 19, 2013
    6
    Kind of like the Expendables, "Last Stand" plays off of Arny's old age. It's stupid and Arnold still can't act but it's great fun and a bloody good time with guns and cars. Just don't go in expecting anything with a brain.
  14. Jan 19, 2013
    10
    My official review of "The Last Stand" can be summed up into a single word: America! Now I know you're asking "Stamp, what does America have to do with The Last Stand?", and I'm glad you asked, Jeeves. My thesis is as follows. "The Last Stand", Arnold Schwarzenegger's newest theatrical release, and The Great United States of America go hand in hand because of the ridiculously good-looking and super fast Corvette( America's sports car); Arnold, himself, is an American dream come true; and because of U.S. citizens taking up arms to make a last stand against evil. Pun intended, although I'm not sure if it counts because that's what the title is talking about. Moving on, I left the theater entertained, motivated, and grateful to live in a great country. Last but importantly, they mention Jesus. Let's take a moment for a standing ovation for Jesus. Our lives are better for it. In conclusion, I officially award "The Last Stand" with my first ever Stamp Of Approval. Expand
  15. Jan 18, 2013
    9
    Arnie has still got it.....Nothing special, but just some good time...Good comedy and Action...must watch for an Arnold fan....It is good to see Arnold back, and looks like he can still produce some of his old touches.Th e movie does not have a great story line , but just the Fact it is Arnold movie, should see it through.....
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 33
  2. Negative: 4 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: William Goss
    Feb 26, 2013
    58
    The bloodshed speaks volumes enough, though, even if it takes some time getting to the mayhem proper.
  2. 38
    It's a junky, crowd-pleasing movie of sidekicks – Guzman and Knoxville – bad acting, over the top shootouts, and catch phrases.
  3. Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    Jan 28, 2013
    50
    If only Kim had a sense of humor to match his visual wit. Instead, we get rusted gags and rubbery acting.