User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 42
  2. Negative: 5 out of 42
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 5, 2012
    5
    Good acting but I didn't really like it...at times was a bit pointless and I think they were exploiting what could have been-or not- for they are not real basis, his relationship with Magdalene, so cliche! Quite honestly, not a movie I enjoyed, and couldn't finish watching. Yet, I understand that many love it. It has an artistic value for sure, but the storyline didn't interest me.
  2. Dec 2, 2012
    5
    This film was good until Jesus got married then I said screw it. Being a christian and all I have to say I'm really displeased with Scorsese on this one. Maybe next time.
  3. Aug 14, 2010
    9
    This movie shows a lot of vision, has passionate and believable actors, and makes you think. It might need to be watched twice to fully appreciate. I would actually like to see Scorsese redo this one today, but that won't happen.
  4. Jun 7, 2013
    8
    Great movie. Probably the best "Jesus film" I've ever seen. Despite it not being totally according to the Gospels, I feel that it, ironically, portrays Jesus as the revolutionary and troubled man that he was. (Or I believe him to have been!) Whether or not you are a Christian, you should see this film. When it came out, apparently it was a HUGE controversy as well. That in and of itselfGreat movie. Probably the best "Jesus film" I've ever seen. Despite it not being totally according to the Gospels, I feel that it, ironically, portrays Jesus as the revolutionary and troubled man that he was. (Or I believe him to have been!) Whether or not you are a Christian, you should see this film. When it came out, apparently it was a HUGE controversy as well. That in and of itself makes it sort of a historical experience. My one complaint is that at times the acting felt really off and strained and that was disappointing. Really darkened a lot of scenes. Willem Dafoe pretty much knocks the ball out of the park as Jesus though. Solid stuff. Expand
  5. Mar 18, 2014
    10
    Very nice movie. Brilliant acting, narrative and story. Martin Scorcese knows what he does. The best Jesus film ive seen in my opinion. The more I watch Scorceses films, the more I like and respects him.
  6. Jul 17, 2014
    0
    This and 'Gangs of New York' are the two films Scorsese spent the most time preparing for, and they're his worst films by a country mile. 'Last Temptation' is one of the worst movies I'll ever see, shot with indescribable ineptitude and adorned with wretchingly awful music, relentlessly laughable acting and, obviously, heaps upon heaps of torture porn'. The last half hour is an incoherentThis and 'Gangs of New York' are the two films Scorsese spent the most time preparing for, and they're his worst films by a country mile. 'Last Temptation' is one of the worst movies I'll ever see, shot with indescribable ineptitude and adorned with wretchingly awful music, relentlessly laughable acting and, obviously, heaps upon heaps of torture porn'. The last half hour is an incoherent disaster. Bill Murray once said, 'Religion is the worst enemy of mankind.' Yes, and that goes double for film-makers. Expand
  7. Jul 17, 2014
    0
    One of the great directors forgets every last thing he ever learned about how to shoot a movie in 'The Last Temptation of Christ', one of the stupidest and worst-looking films you'll ever see (or, to be sure, hear). Religion really does squander the intellect. Scorsese and Schrader also neglect, of course, to include the episodes of the quasihistorical Nazarene's ministry involving hisOne of the great directors forgets every last thing he ever learned about how to shoot a movie in 'The Last Temptation of Christ', one of the stupidest and worst-looking films you'll ever see (or, to be sure, hear). Religion really does squander the intellect. Scorsese and Schrader also neglect, of course, to include the episodes of the quasihistorical Nazarene's ministry involving his racism, support of slavery or assertion that the world was just about to end. This movie is a mortal sin, but Scorsese more than atoned for it a decade later by making 'Bringing Out the Dead'. Expand
  8. Jan 7, 2015
    9
    Whatever your religion or opinion on the controversial subject matter , this is a breathless cinematic experience and one of Scorsese's best . I'm Muslim and the ideas presented here are away far of what I believe who Jesus is *(FOR MUSLIMS he is only a human prophet not a God .In addition to that , he wasn't crucified and I fully believe in that )... But this is not a documentary orWhatever your religion or opinion on the controversial subject matter , this is a breathless cinematic experience and one of Scorsese's best . I'm Muslim and the ideas presented here are away far of what I believe who Jesus is *(FOR MUSLIMS he is only a human prophet not a God .In addition to that , he wasn't crucified and I fully believe in that )... But this is not a documentary or research . It's fiction to explore challenging ideas for Christians and the conflict of god and human within one person.Scorsese is great and you can clearly see his passion about the Christ , but he doesn't want to show a simple biopic about the Christ rather than explore his conflicted mystery that Christians take for granted . Expand
  9. Apr 12, 2015
    10
    One more thing I want to say about this movie. I felt that the Jews were portrayed positively in this film, compared to other portrayals of Jesus's life, including the Gospels of Matt, Mark, Luke & John. I respect the Gospels, but I've always noticed a clear bias towards Jews in them (excluding Jesus's followers of course). In this film, when Jesus comes into the temple and challenges theOne more thing I want to say about this movie. I felt that the Jews were portrayed positively in this film, compared to other portrayals of Jesus's life, including the Gospels of Matt, Mark, Luke & John. I respect the Gospels, but I've always noticed a clear bias towards Jews in them (excluding Jesus's followers of course). In this film, when Jesus comes into the temple and challenges the priest in charge, the priest has a reasonable defence for the presence of money changers in the temple and when Jesus yells out "God is not an Israelite!" even his disciples think he went too far and escort him out of the temple. Though I feel Jesus is portrayed as being ultimately right, the Jews are not portrayed as being totally in the wrong. For that matter, neither are the Romans. I like Jesus's conversation with Pontius Pilate (played by David Bowie) which becomes almost a heart to heart debate at one point.

    The film doesn't really have definitive "bad guys" as such. There is "Satan" who tests Jesus in the desert and then while on the cross, but you could argue that "Satan" is testing Jesus on God's behalf as per the Book of Job. You could say the only true villain in this film is the dark side of human nature which Willem Dafoe's Jesus teaches is mankind's biggest enemy.
    Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. 70
    It's a lovely, measured and deeply earnest work. It balances a realistic view of first century Palestine against a sincere consideration of how an ordinary man might learn he is divine.
  2. despite such maladroit moments, The Last Temptation of Christ finally exerts enormous power. What emerges most memorably is its sense of absolute conviction, never more palpable than in the final fantasy sequence that removes Jesus from the cross and creates for him the life of an ordinary man.
  3. Reviewed by: Staff (Not Credited)
    100
    Powerful, haunting, and at times very moving, The Last Temptation of Christ presents its account of the events and conflicts of Christ's life with a depth of dramatized feeling and motivation that renders them freshly compelling.