IFC Films | Release Date: July 8, 2011
5.8
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 32 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
18
Mixed:
3
Negative:
11
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
ZacharyJul 8, 2011
This movie is one of the best movies that I have seen lately. It is also very amazing that it features atheism, and paints it in positive spotlight. The movie itself is a good watch, the ending felt a bit incomplete but very shocking indeed.This movie is one of the best movies that I have seen lately. It is also very amazing that it features atheism, and paints it in positive spotlight. The movie itself is a good watch, the ending felt a bit incomplete but very shocking indeed. The plot is well written, and most of the professional critics most likely have a biased opinion of the subject matter. Charlie Hunnam was really good in this movie and it was nice to see Liv Tyler in the movie. I really didn't want to include any specific details to ruin it for you guys. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
meridithJul 9, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I loved the movie. nothing good comes from a love triangle and going to the extreme to prove ones love is extreme. The movie itself is a great. Their seems to be a couple of different story lines that innertwine.And all the actors are brilliant! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
keythahJul 11, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Because the marketing blitz focused on it being an "atheist" film, I went to see it but expected it to be ham-fisted. Instead, it was beautiful, moving, somewhat ambivalent, and ultimately touching: the opposite of ham-fisted. Sound and visual cues are used, and there is a lot of showing instead of telling.

The fact that there are some very talented actors giving some very good performances helps, as does how almost every character is sympathetic despite being at odds with the others. Patrick Wilson's character in particular was surprisingly sympathetic. He is essentially the antagonist in terms of the plot but it's hard to truly see him as the villain.

The stereotype of the religious woman who encounters an eye-opening atheist man clearly exists here, but in a way, it's almost an inversion of the "wild woman makes tame man's life interesting" film trope, which is refreshing to see. The chemistry between Liv Tyler and Charlie Hunnam is quite good and believable.

Overall, the characters felt real and The Ledge gave me a lot to think about. I enjoyed the film greatly.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
sketchstudiosJul 11, 2011
The Ledge is one of the most recent films I've seen that carries with it a great debate within that convey's the basic idea of religion taken too far. From 9/11 to bigotry, this movie has hit the nail on the head converting it on screen. TheThe Ledge is one of the most recent films I've seen that carries with it a great debate within that convey's the basic idea of religion taken too far. From 9/11 to bigotry, this movie has hit the nail on the head converting it on screen. The suspense between the logical and unreasonable quickly becomes a battle of good and evil. For the general audience this will be a refreshing change of who the villian is portrayed as, which is truthful in many ways of its own. I loved every minute of it and would recommend it for an all around good drama-triller that is sure to stir up conversations afterwards with the people you watched it with. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MadlynJul 11, 2011
I loved everything about this movie. The acting and actors were just perfect, the story was interesting. Above all, it was a unique storyline. I usually have a hard time even sitting through a movie, but not this one. I didn't want it toI loved everything about this movie. The acting and actors were just perfect, the story was interesting. Above all, it was a unique storyline. I usually have a hard time even sitting through a movie, but not this one. I didn't want it to end. I can't understand anyone not enjoying this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
thevictimJul 23, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Excellent movie with well thought out plot. By the end of the movie, it makes your glad for what you do have in life. I feel it depicted a day in a life of an atheist pretty well. Minus the cheating to convert someones beliefs. :) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
kbmacdowellJul 23, 2011
The Ledge is a sparse, uncluttered film challenging the viewer to confront the complexity of human life and how we attempt to make sense of our experiences. Most notably the film explores these issues at the intersection of religion. In Joe,The Ledge is a sparse, uncluttered film challenging the viewer to confront the complexity of human life and how we attempt to make sense of our experiences. Most notably the film explores these issues at the intersection of religion. In Joe, Chapman finds his antagonist. Itâ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Meredith_ClaireJul 28, 2011
The Ledge is definitely an intense story from start to finish. It tackles a subject most run from and keeps you tangled in the lives of its characters immensely. Each character has their own depth and story and the meshing of all of these isThe Ledge is definitely an intense story from start to finish. It tackles a subject most run from and keeps you tangled in the lives of its characters immensely. Each character has their own depth and story and the meshing of all of these is genius. If you like love stories, thrillers, tragedies, nail biters, tear jerkers or all of the above. This is the film for you! It will leave you contemplating life and religion for sure. Charlie Hunnam and Liv Tyler were a great onscreen match and both delivered A+ performances!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews