User Score
2.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 121 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 121
  2. Negative: 91 out of 121

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 11, 2014
    0
    The best bet is to hold out on this one—there will be another Hercules adaptation starring Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson hitting theaters this July. Stripped down to the basics, “The Legend of Hercules” does little to carry on the legacy of Hercules, proving only to be more of a sappy fairy tale than the Disney version.
  2. Jan 12, 2014
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is horrendous. The transitions are nonexistent. Hercules suddenly teleports from a boat to a desert and from a desert to a "fighting.....place?"

    The plot is basically nonexistent, the movie consists of Hercules going from bloodless battle to bloodless battle and doggy paddling across a shocking number of bodies of water(They could have at least got an actor who could swim)

    At the end of the movie Hebe, the generic love interest, stabs a dagger through her shoulder and into Hercules' brother, she somehow survives for long enough to say her final words, while the brother is dead instantly. Then suddenly the scene changes and you can hear a crying baby. The camera zooms in and Hebe is holding it. It literally never explained how this happened. NEVER! You can't just have somebody die and then show them alive in the next scene, that makes no sense!

    This movie is overall on atrocity. The only reason it got a one was one amusing scene where hercules got kicked in the face at a dramatic moment.
    Expand
  3. Jan 12, 2014
    0
    Terrible. God awful--that's the phrase I kept repeating to myself while still in the theater, it was THAT bad. No redeeming qualities whatsoever. No one even looks attractive, it was that bad.
  4. Jan 12, 2014
    0
    Do yourself a favor, AVOID THIS AT ALL COST! It is absolutely an atrocity to cinema. Overall, just don't watch this!!!!!!!!!!! I give this garbage a solid F!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  5. Jan 14, 2014
    0
    How could the same guy who directed Die hard 2 do something this terrible....this movie has no idea of what a movie is, everything was terrible, there was not one single thing I liked about this movie.
  6. Jan 16, 2014
    0
    Wow, this movie is awful, I mean the CGI is the worse I have seen this year, (although I, Frankenstein might beat this movie), the acting is horrible, Kellan Lutz is so bland, he makes fellow Twilight star look like Marlon Brando in comparison, the love interest is just as bland, then the evil brother feels like a cheap knock-off of Commodus from Gladiator, in fact this movie is everything wrong with Gladiator, and 300 mashed-up together to make this piece of crap,( I would have used tons of other words by the way), then the action scenes have some of the worst slow-mo ever, I mean every fight scene,( If they couldn't be worse coming from that hack Renny Harlin), has this freaking obnoxious slow-mo, and coupled with horrible CGI.
    This movie is awful.
    Expand
  7. Feb 3, 2014
    1
    This is one of the worst movies I've seen. The CGI, acting, props, dialogue and scenes looks bad. the premise is alright. so that's why I'm giving it a 1/10 because it's not completely bad.
  8. Apr 26, 2014
    4
    For a movie called "The Legend of Hercules" there really isn't much to show for it. The story isn't that grand and exciting, and certainly bad acting and direction only make it worse.
  9. Jan 23, 2014
    0
    Don't spend your money to watch this movie! One of the worst movie recently. I could even guess every single plot while watching it! So boring so bad so damn bad...
  10. Jan 26, 2014
    0
    Horrible movie with horrible plot, horrible acting, horrible special effects. One of the worst movies in recent memory, and maybe even ever. If you avoid seeing this film, feel proud of yourself.
  11. Feb 18, 2014
    0
    The Disney version of the Hercules Story, despite being a cartoon musical, was actually semi-enjoyable. this movie turned out to be a wanna-be CGI porno flick (i call it wanna-be cause the CGI effects were **** I wasted my time to even watch this, i hated this almost as much as i hated that God-awful "I Am Number Four" movie that my girlfriend made me watch. No depth, no value, terrible casting, absolute **** Expand
  12. Jun 7, 2014
    4
    Totally b-movie bad. Probably the worst thing about the movie is that it hard to support Kellan Lutz as Hercules. His performance is lacking, and constantly watching him make stupid faces during the action scenes is agonizing. Lutz isn't the only offender when it comes to bad acting, almost the entire cast sucks. Liam McIntyre gives the only respectable performance, and it's great to see the Spartacus star step back onto the arena sands. Shame about that bowl haircut though.

    While the performances range from lacking to just plain bad, the action is mostly decent. Granted there are countless movies that have done it better, and without constantly having characters goofily being thrown through the air in slow motion, but it's at least watchable. The action scenes are a constant form of unintentional comedic gold. One scene involving a lightning whip is particularly amusing. The action is the only enjoyable part of the film, but entirely for the wrong reasons.

    This is clearly just one huge b-movie. With Lutz failing to make a compelling Hercules in any way, the whole film noticeably suffers more than I feel it otherwise would have. Yes, it would have still suffered from the poor plot and bad acting from the rest of the cast, but had they at least found a half-decent person to play Hercules then maybe there would have at least been reason to overlook a lot of it's flaws and maybe even care about the romance at the center of this film. As it stands now I recommend you skip this one and hope that Dwayne Johnson's upcoming Hercules movie is better later this year. My total score for the film is a 4.2/10=Bad.
    Expand
  13. Apr 22, 2014
    0
    I can't wait for the other Hercules movie coming out soon, but The Legend of Hercules is by far the worst movie of 2014. Unless it features a Game of Thrones star, I ain't going to pay $10 bucks to watch another Hercules rip-off. I've watched a lot of Hercules way back in the 90's including the Disney version and Hercules: The Legendary Journeys staring the great Kevin Sorbo. How many updated versions of Hercules will they last? I don't know but Hollywood should just keep the Hercules to rest already. The Legend of Hercules features a terrible action hero who really can't act as Hercules, an dimwitted script, funny CGI elements, bland source material, and sometimes even Renny Harlin's Cutthroat Island is still a flop, maybe this one could add to his list of bad movies. He's a great director but needs to bring back Geena Davis and finally make some action movies together. If anyone buying a copy of the movie, please seek therapy. Bottom line: Avoid! Nothing you're going to see here. I just hope that Brett Rattner should be just fine about the new Hercules movie cause I know The Rock is going to kick some ass. I wonder if it's way better than The Mummy Returns or The Scorpion King? Unless for the Razzies for next year, The Legend of Hercules should be able to get more nominations than any stinker on the planet. Expand
  14. Apr 3, 2014
    0
    Sucked so badly that it honestly made me speechless. Nothing like the actual story of Hercules, Poorly acted, The action scenes failed to keep you even slightly interested as well. Heck, There was one scene where he stabs a guy in the stomach with his sword, lifts him up and drops him onto the ground (on his stomach, with the blade still inside him) and the sword doesn't even go through his body.

    This joke of a film is poorly done in every aspect and is a flat out piece of trash.
    Expand
  15. Apr 5, 2014
    1
    A horrendous silly disaster. The movie looks so cheap, I didn't know to either burst out in laughter or actually feel sorry for the people involved in this film. If this was suppose to be an epic well it sure was, an epic failure.
  16. May 3, 2014
    1
    Wake me up please this is one of the most boring movies I've seen in a while. I've seen some real awful films , but none as boring at meandering as this. So since I couldn't stay awake and the fact that some looked like they tried hard in production it won't get a 0. F
  17. Apr 6, 2014
    0
    Just think of all the people that could've been fed and clothed with the money used to make this movie. It's a waste of everything, I don't see how this didn't go into a vault never to be release. Thank God it's over for me.
  18. Apr 26, 2014
    3
    Hehe... Renny Harlin....... four out of ten for laughing hard at how bad he is when saw he had made it and it was poorly reviewed. He made Die Hard 2 and The Long Kiss Goodnight (two of the best worst films ever made), so has pedigree for dividing but mostly being terrrrrrrrrible. Hehe..... sigh.... no, no... no complaints that I gave it a four when have not seen it... you know if I had a four was the best it could expect... and I am bringing up its average! 8-) Expand
  19. Mar 6, 2014
    0
    I hate Japan .I hate Japan .I hate Japan .I hate Japan .I hate Japan .I hate Japan .I hate Japan .I hate Japan .I hate Japan .I hate Japan .I hate Japan .I hate Japan .I hate Japan .I hate Japan .I hate Japan .I hate Japan .I hate Japan .I hate Japan .I hate Japan .I hate Japan .I hate Japan .I hate Japan .I hate Japan .I hate Japan .I hate Greece .(I hate hercules)
  20. Jul 14, 2014
    2
    Dreadful acting, appalling special effects, cheap costumes and a completely scattershot plot, The Legend of Hercules is terrible in every possible way.
  21. Mar 13, 2014
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The opening battle scene was pretty good, with the 3D effects creating an expansive battlefield. After that the movie went downhill quick. The forced romance scenes were numerous and unbearable. Once the characters actually had to speak dialogue it became even more painful. Also they must have run out of ideas with the Gladiator remake portion where they fight for their freedom. The guy who played Hercules has no acting skills and it shows. They just found some guy with a good body and handed him a script it seems. Just overall really poor. Also, the ending scene was incredibly stupid. It's as if the writers had to go on lunch break and just killed everyone bad in five seconds and then put in a dash of happy ending. Pathetic. Expand
  22. Mar 3, 2014
    0
    not worth the money you spend, just dont watch it. I litteraly was saying what the f@#k did I just watch once I was done watching....half way through the damn movie
  23. Feb 22, 2014
    0
    It contains nothing special. It's just a generic and slipshod movie. Terrible acting, effects and scenario. Boring, just boring as hell. Everything happens suddenly with no explanation. Do not watch it, it's just a waste of your money.
  24. Mar 2, 2014
    0
    This was a truly terrible movie. Horrible acting. Terrible effects. Stupid plot and story line. I advise you not to watch this movie at all. A giant waste of time.
  25. Mar 2, 2014
    0
    this movie is way boring not even miley cryus would wanna bang or lick to see . not once did it have great violence . take my advice do not take this movie is for professors to study greek . do not see this movie
  26. Mar 26, 2014
    3
    And again the best Hercules movie that I ever seen is from Disney.
    Maybe Disney should do Hercules movie based on their animation or another animation "Frozen" style.
  27. Mar 27, 2014
    0
    Worst Movie Ever O.M.G =-= !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I DON'T KNOW HOW TO EXPRESS HOW **** IS THIS MOVIE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  28. Apr 3, 2014
    0
    My God what did I just see. Do not watch this movie, please. It may make you feel bad for a couple of hours

    I could it believe so much that I had discovered this website with a Google search by asking for a movie review.

    So I created this account to tell you that this movie is so horrible that it made me discover and create a metacritic account.
  29. May 2, 2014
    1
    The Legend of Hercules is one of those films that got a January (2014) release and I was unable to catch it in the theater because I was busy screening Independent Spirit Award nominees as well as catching up with Oscar contenders. Instead I rented it, and let me clearly state that I am happier to have spent 12 bits at Redbox than 12 dollars at the box office.
  30. Apr 20, 2014
    2
    i'm proud of myself. I didn't see this movie more than 20 minutes.
    and i'm sorry directores, actors and writers related with this movie but the CGI suck, story suck and just Scott Adkins is badass so... this movie suck.
    sorry again...
  31. Apr 30, 2014
    0
    Bad, best to wait till this is free on youtube to watch. Story is ridiculous and I love how they managed to hype this movie in the trailers. I saw the trailer and was like "sweet love a good Greek old school beating." Unfortunately there are terrible fight scenes that contain little to know actual blood and are not even entertaining. Only redeeming factor was they managed to get the actor who played "Spartacus" (TV series) a role in this movie. He was nothing special but at least reminded me how epic that TV series was. Expand
  32. Jun 1, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's not even about the true Hercules. I'm pretty sure they just put the name in so that people will think about the Greek Hero and flock to see the movie. Shameful. Expand
  33. May 11, 2014
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Well the movie was ahhh not exactly what I expected....

    Spoilers

    I thought that this movie will show the labors of the Hercules but they didn't show anything of this just a made movie by the scriptwriters.At the first it was ok but then with all this effects,slow motions and the other stuff I understand that the movie was not so good.

    Plot: 3/10
    Effects: 4/10
    Duration: 7/10
    Expand
  34. Jul 21, 2014
    1
    Uuuugggghhhh this movie sucks. This movie makes Alien ressurection look like the lord of the rings trilogy. This movie is more like a terrible Gladiator remake. The effects are gabage. There was a scene in the movie where hercules was fighting a lion and the lion looked like a teddy bear. The acting sucked. One last thing: TOO MUCH SLOW MO. Final verdict is a 1/10 and its the aorst movie of 2014.
  35. Jul 28, 2014
    4
    Vasat film. Hercules'ün adını ve hikayesini kullanıpta bu kadar kötü hatta dizi kalitesinde bile olmayan bir film çıkarmak ortaya ayrı bir başarı hikayesi olsa gerek. 300 Spartalı ve Spartacus tuttu diye onlara benzer olsun istemişler belli, hatta yetmemiş filmde Spartacus'ü de oynatmışlar ama onlarda olan tempo ve heyecan yok aslında kısaca hiçbirşey yok. Hercules'ün herkes tarafından bilinen hikayeleri bile adeta skeç gibi tek tek çekilmiş, olması lazım diye koymuşlar gibi. Expand
Metascore
22

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 19
  2. Negative: 14 out of 19
  1. Reviewed by: William Goss
    Mar 24, 2014
    40
    The action comes thick and fast but the storyline is generic and Lutz makes a particularly dull hero. An Erymanthian bore.
  2. Reviewed by: Stephanie Merry
    Jan 15, 2014
    12
    The only thing epic about The Legend of Hercules is what a failure it is.
  3. Reviewed by: Randy Cordova
    Jan 15, 2014
    10
    The whole thing is a total bore; even the supporting players aren’t motivated enough to attract attention. That’s good news for Lutz; he can’t be blamed for torpedoing the project, because everyone is doing subpar work here.