The Legend of Hercules

The Legend of Hercules Image
Metascore
22

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 170 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: In Ancient Greece 1200 B.C., a queen succumbs to the lust of Zeus to bear a son promised to overthrow the tyrannical rule of the king and restore peace to a land in hardship. But this prince, Hercules, knows nothing of his real identity or his destiny. He desires only one thing: the love ofIn Ancient Greece 1200 B.C., a queen succumbs to the lust of Zeus to bear a son promised to overthrow the tyrannical rule of the king and restore peace to a land in hardship. But this prince, Hercules, knows nothing of his real identity or his destiny. He desires only one thing: the love of Hebe, Princess of Crete, who has been promised to his own brother. When Hercules learns of his greater purpose, he must choose: to flee with his true love or to fulfill his destiny and become the true hero of his time. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 19
  2. Negative: 14 out of 19
  1. Reviewed by: Scott Bowles
    Jan 10, 2014
    50
    There's a fun retro camp to Hercules, with nods to classics such as Ben-Hur and Spartacus, as Hercules finds himself rowing slave ships and crossing desert expanses.
  2. Reviewed by: Bilge Ebiri
    Jan 10, 2014
    40
    Like so many of today’s action films, The Legend of Hercules is too busy peddling slick, stone-faced portent to ever bother making us laugh, or engaging us in any way.
  3. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Jan 10, 2014
    40
    Renny Harlin's Legend of Hercules fulfills every silly, flimsy promise that it makes in the first place: There are lots of battles (albeit rather jerkily rendered ones), some grand-looking horses decked out in handsome metal headdresses, and lots of well-oiled beefcake.
  4. Reviewed by: Scott Foundas
    Jan 10, 2014
    30
    Lutz’s acting muscles aren’t nearly as well developed as his pectorals and deltoids, and while the role may not call for a master thespian, it at least begs someone who can emote without looking like he’s straining to execute a dead lift.
  5. Reviewed by: Louis Black
    Jan 15, 2014
    20
    While watching it, I kept thinking this was like "47 Ronin," in which an unfortunate novice director was given a project way out of his or her reach. In no way was I prepared to learn it was the work of veteran Harlin.
  6. Reviewed by: Keith Phipps
    Jan 10, 2014
    20
    Where 300 made a virtue of its low budget by stripping the visuals down to their essential elements, the shot-in-Bulgaria Legend Of Hercules mostly just looks rushed and cheap, only coming to life in a handful of fight scenes, and then only briefly.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Jan 10, 2014
    0
    This ludicrously written, buffoonishly acted, irritatingly filmed sword-and-sandals epic hasn't half the sand, sweat or saltiness of other titles in the genre.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 57
  2. Negative: 47 out of 57
  1. Dec 16, 2015
    8
    The Legend of Hercules may not track, but Harlin still knows how to set up a rousing circus.

    Click here for free
    The Legend of Hercules may not track, but Harlin still knows how to set up a rousing circus.

    Click here for free http://www.watchfree.to/watch-29de6a-The-Legend-of-Hercules-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
    Expand
  2. Jun 7, 2014
    4
    Totally b-movie bad. Probably the worst thing about the movie is that it hard to support Kellan Lutz as Hercules. His performance is lacking,Totally b-movie bad. Probably the worst thing about the movie is that it hard to support Kellan Lutz as Hercules. His performance is lacking, and constantly watching him make stupid faces during the action scenes is agonizing. Lutz isn't the only offender when it comes to bad acting, almost the entire cast sucks. Liam McIntyre gives the only respectable performance, and it's great to see the Spartacus star step back onto the arena sands. Shame about that bowl haircut though.

    While the performances range from lacking to just plain bad, the action is mostly decent. Granted there are countless movies that have done it better, and without constantly having characters goofily being thrown through the air in slow motion, but it's at least watchable. The action scenes are a constant form of unintentional comedic gold. One scene involving a lightning whip is particularly amusing. The action is the only enjoyable part of the film, but entirely for the wrong reasons.

    This is clearly just one huge b-movie. With Lutz failing to make a compelling Hercules in any way, the whole film noticeably suffers more than I feel it otherwise would have. Yes, it would have still suffered from the poor plot and bad acting from the rest of the cast, but had they at least found a half-decent person to play Hercules then maybe there would have at least been reason to overlook a lot of it's flaws and maybe even care about the romance at the center of this film. As it stands now I recommend you skip this one and hope that Dwayne Johnson's upcoming Hercules movie is better later this year. My total score for the film is a 4.2/10=Bad.
    Expand
  3. Aug 14, 2015
    2
    After first 30 minutes I was going to give this movie 5 mark - average mix of The Gladiator and 300. But after each 10-20 minues my mark wasAfter first 30 minutes I was going to give this movie 5 mark - average mix of The Gladiator and 300. But after each 10-20 minues my mark was going down - numerous plot holes are the case. I dont want to go ito details, there is just one thing I want to point out - when Hercules broke his stone pillars and started to swing with stones I thought - this is where fun must start, I thought I will see some blody bath like it was in 300. Another disappointment - not a sngle droplet of blood was spilled. Guys, they were hit by 200 lb stones, and not a single bone broken? Like wtf, is it a 10k budget movie? And in the end - princess got pierced through by sword survivied, while prince got pickled by sword died, lol. Awful. Expand
  4. Sep 28, 2014
    1
    haha...hahaha...haha... HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHa HAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAhahahahahaha!haha...hahaha...haha... HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHa HAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAhahahahahaha!
    HAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

    Oh my goodness! What did the people involved with this garbage think when they saw the final product?

    I mean....
    Cast an actor whose sole claim to fame prior to this was the Twilight movies?
    Write a poorly made carbon copy of Gladiator as the script?
    Use CGI effects that would have been decent at best in the late 90s?
    Have some of the most cliché and laughable dialogues possible?

    Man, that movie deserves all the flack it has received. This should've been a straight-to-DVD release.
    Expand
  5. Mar 2, 2014
    0
    This was a truly terrible movie. Horrible acting. Terrible effects. Stupid plot and story line. I advise you not to watch this movie at all. AThis was a truly terrible movie. Horrible acting. Terrible effects. Stupid plot and story line. I advise you not to watch this movie at all. A giant waste of time. Expand
  6. Jun 9, 2015
    0
    What is this thing ? OMG this is by far the worst movie i have ever seen.Everything from the very 1 minute is terrible in every sense ofWhat is this thing ? OMG this is by far the worst movie i have ever seen.Everything from the very 1 minute is terrible in every sense of word.The acting is freaking terrible the guy from the twilight does even a worse job here than he has done there.Visual Effects are catastrophic even from the very first battle you would think that they become a little bit better by the end but no they don't they never get any better,ever.
    Slow motion everywhere and it makes no sense at all,it's used to show how stylish they are but they fail miserably.
    The story is also very very bad,that makes you wonder,who wrote this ? some 5 year old ?
    The main villain on the movie overacts far to much that it gets super annoying.I really can't believe that I watched it until the end.It's not worth a watch because it's only a rape to our eyes and ears with the sound effect being as bad as the movie itself.Even the outfits are terrible,my God avoid this film at any opportunity.
    Expand
  7. Jan 16, 2014
    0
    Wow, this movie is awful, I mean the CGI is the worse I have seen this year, (although I, Frankenstein might beat this movie), the acting isWow, this movie is awful, I mean the CGI is the worse I have seen this year, (although I, Frankenstein might beat this movie), the acting is horrible, Kellan Lutz is so bland, he makes fellow Twilight star look like Marlon Brando in comparison, the love interest is just as bland, then the evil brother feels like a cheap knock-off of Commodus from Gladiator, in fact this movie is everything wrong with Gladiator, and 300 mashed-up together to make this piece of crap,( I would have used tons of other words by the way), then the action scenes have some of the worst slow-mo ever, I mean every fight scene,( If they couldn't be worse coming from that hack Renny Harlin), has this freaking obnoxious slow-mo, and coupled with horrible CGI.
    This movie is awful.
    Expand

See all 57 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2014

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2014 Image
    Published: January 6, 2015
    2014 saw the release of the highest-scoring new movie in Metacritic's history, among a number of great films. Browse our official lists of the year's best movies in a variety of categories, as well as our collection of 2014's worst films.
  2. Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    We rank every movie directed by Steven Spielberg throughout his 40-plus-year career.
  3. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: June 22, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Independence Day: Resurgence, Free State of Jones, The Shallows, Hunt for the Wilderpeople, The Neon Demon, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  5. 21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best

    21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 21, 2016
    We rank recent alien invasion movies by Metascore.