Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 827 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Director: Christopher Miller
  • Genre(s): Action, Adventure, Fantasy, Comedy, Animation, Family
  • Rating: PG
  • Runtime: 100 min
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Reviewed by: Susan Wloszczyna
    Feb 7, 2014
    100
    Everything in The Lego Movie is, indeed, awesome.
  2. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Feb 5, 2014
    100
    It's hard to think of the last time a Pixar film made you go ''Wow!'' That's part of why The LEGO Movie is such outrageous and intoxicating fun.
  3. Reviewed by: Stephen Whitty
    Feb 6, 2014
    91
    Like the toy it's based on, it's goofy and colorful and something adults and children can enjoy together.
  4. Reviewed by: Kate Erbland
    Feb 6, 2014
    83
    Just plain funny, loaded with joke after joke and pun after pun.
  5. Reviewed by: Tom Huddleston
    Feb 4, 2014
    80
    The LEGO Movie is sheer joy: the script is witty, the satire surprisingly pointed and the animation tactile and imaginative.
  6. Reviewed by: Steve Davis
    Feb 5, 2014
    78
    The film is one big advertisement for the multicolored building blocks from which it’s made. The Lego Movie may be the shrewdest marketing ploy you’ve ever seen.
  7. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Feb 5, 2014
    50
    As cute and energetic as it is, The Lego Movie is more exhausting than fun, too unsure of itself to stick with any story thread for too long. The action scenes are enthusiastic, colorful but uninvolving, like an 8-year-old emptying a bucket of plastic blocks.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 219
  1. Mar 5, 2014
    10
    An amazing movie, it has charismatics characters, the story is well-told and very funny as well, the movie is worth to watch because besides being very exciting it is very funny too. I recommend for all people not only the children. Expand
  2. Feb 8, 2014
    10
    Best animated movie I have ever seen, and I have seen a ton of them. Took my 6 year old son, he loved it - but I roared through the whole thing. Animation is amazing, but the story was so solid it really grabbed me. This is an absolute masterpiece. Expand
  3. Feb 8, 2014
    10
    Easily the best movie of 2014, The lego movie offers fresh animation, awesome puns and many famous actors such as Liam Neeson, Will Ferrell and Morgan Freeman... I recommend this movie for immediate watch. Expand
  4. Jun 23, 2014
    9
    The bright colors and action will make kids happy. However this works just as well for adults with a smart storyline and clever jokes. It's pure genius Expand
  5. Feb 8, 2014
    8
    It's a very clever film - I found myself laughing at SO many references. The voice talent is really amazing - in particular Charlie Day as the spaceman. I haven't played the LEGO videogames or bought the licensed sets, so much of this was new to me. Other than one slow stretch just after the middle section, the is excellent - almost TOO fast, if you can believe it. Warner is going to be able to mint money with this franchise, I have a feeling. I'm predicting a solid 90mil opening weekend take. Expand
  6. Feb 16, 2014
    8
    This film was a pleasant surprise. I went in expecting a fun movie with nostalgia of toys of the past. Yet, there was a deeper message I saw at work.

    The underlying theme took a strong swipe at the police state and mindless consumer culture. The primary Lego world setting was a very controlling surveillance grid where inane TV shows are used to distract the public. Sound familiar? The contrasting world was an anarchic view of the world, albeit with rainbows and clovers.

    Along with enjoying the theme of the hero saves the day, it was refreshing to see the concept of political extremes portrayed to a younger generation. Clearly the "best life" for humanity exists somewhere in the middle. Some rules are necessary for an orderly society, but we have gone down the wrong road with our Draconian state (started long before the current administration). But I digress.

    There are additional themes of micro vs macrocosms, good and evil, etc. if I have any complaint, it was a but of an epic. But overall an enjoyable film.
    Expand
  7. Oct 21, 2014
    0
    i j i zz e d on this film so much i cant have kids even though i rated 0 haha uhdfguhdrguygebsdfghjdfsjgfbjgfeghgfbgfhjgjhhjbfsgbjhfdhjbghjbgfdjhbgfdbjhfgdhjbkgfdbhgfkbgbhjkg Expand

See all 219 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best & Worst Movies of 2014 So Far

    The Best & Worst Movies of 2014 So Far Image
    Published: July 2, 2014
    We reveal the best and worst movies released during the first half of 2014.