The LEGO Movie

Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 43 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 1087 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Dec 15, 2014
    100
    A clever, vividly imagined, consistently funny, eye-poppingly pretty and oddly profound movie … about Legos.
  2. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Feb 6, 2014
    100
    The jokes fly at a pace demanding viewers to either refrain from laughing (highly unlikely) or see The Lego Movie again to catch all the wondrous sights and amiable wit sliding by the first time.
  3. Reviewed by: Drew McWeeny
    Sep 22, 2014
    91
    Beautifully shot, impeccably paced, and with a voice cast that nails it in every role, large or small, "The Lego Movie" is a genuine delight.
  4. Reviewed by: Bill Zwecker
    Feb 4, 2014
    88
    The visuals are spectacular, the 3D technology is artfully used and the storyline is jam-packed with so many funny lines, it’s hard to catch all the jokes that are delivered in rapid-fire succession.
  5. Reviewed by: Keith Phipps
    Feb 5, 2014
    80
    For a film that clearly required a small army to make, it often feels thrillingly off-the-cuff, which keeps with The Lego Movie’s themes of creativity and weirdness: Nobody’s following an instruction book with this one.
  6. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    Feb 3, 2014
    80
    Phil Lord and Christopher Miller irreverently deconstruct the state of the modern blockbuster and deliver a smarter, more satisfying experience in its place, emerging with a fresh franchise for others to build upon.
  7. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Feb 5, 2014
    50
    As cute and energetic as it is, The Lego Movie is more exhausting than fun, too unsure of itself to stick with any story thread for too long. The action scenes are enthusiastic, colorful but uninvolving, like an 8-year-old emptying a bucket of plastic blocks.

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 30 out of 261
  1. Jul 7, 2014
    10
    When i first heard of this movie, i thought it was no more than an excuse to make money from a famous brand. I couldn't be more wrong.

    The
    When i first heard of this movie, i thought it was no more than an excuse to make money from a famous brand. I couldn't be more wrong.

    The animation is super cool, the script and dialogue are amazingly funny and clever (i often laughed to the point of tears), and the voice acting did the script justice, particularly that of Will Arnett (as Batman), Nick Offerman (as Metal Beard), and Morgan Freeman (as Vitruvius). Even the theme song is great; it really sticks in one's head and makes you feel like you wanna sing along.

    Not only is it hilarious, it actually has something to say and can be quite moving in some parts. This is a joyful film about believing in yourself, a critique of modern society, and a heartwarming tribute to human creativity.

    It will definitely go down as one of the best movies this ear, if not the best.
    Expand
  2. Feb 26, 2014
    10
    You have to see it to understand why it's 10/10 material. The characters seem a little cliche at first, but the filmmakers really build onYou have to see it to understand why it's 10/10 material. The characters seem a little cliche at first, but the filmmakers really build on that in a comedic way. Not like the usual role reversals, but more like what you definitely would not expect from these characters until halfway in. Expand
  3. Feb 8, 2014
    10
    Easily the best movie of 2014, The lego movie offers fresh animation, awesome puns and many famous actors such as Liam Neeson, Will FerrellEasily the best movie of 2014, The lego movie offers fresh animation, awesome puns and many famous actors such as Liam Neeson, Will Ferrell and Morgan Freeman... I recommend this movie for immediate watch. Expand
  4. Aug 16, 2014
    9
    Really good animation,good and popular voice actors and a good story the movie have everything we expected and more from a movie like this.IReally good animation,good and popular voice actors and a good story the movie have everything we expected and more from a movie like this.I highly recommend it. Expand
  5. Dec 13, 2014
    8
    The Lego Movie delivers a powerful idea through immaculate presentation. It constantly manages to include smart subtleties and clever ideasThe Lego Movie delivers a powerful idea through immaculate presentation. It constantly manages to include smart subtleties and clever ideas within a film that is so conceptually brilliant, it marks it's place in film history convincingly. The inclusion of many great characters is refreshing to see. The ending is remarkably touching, especially to the younger generation. It's an original, touching adventure that is surely animation film of the year. Expand
  6. May 19, 2014
    8
    It's a great movie to watch and the best movie of 2014 and also has my flashback of when I was playing Legos and I recommend you to watch itIt's a great movie to watch and the best movie of 2014 and also has my flashback of when I was playing Legos and I recommend you to watch it when I comes to blue ray and DVD. Expand
  7. Feb 27, 2015
    0
    Horrible. One of the most disappointing movies I've ever seen. The animation was a huge headache, lame characters, and boring action. The slowHorrible. One of the most disappointing movies I've ever seen. The animation was a huge headache, lame characters, and boring action. The slow motion animation was not as i expected, and too many characters. This felt like I've just watch a very long episode on a show other than a movie. And i would just put a 1 or 2 if it wasn't with the live action seen, and the "where is my pants?" thing got very old. The jokes were very weak, and very lame. I didn't hear my family laugh ones and my brother walked into his room because of how bored he was. And my sister was mad that they put the live action seen. This movie is awful. I don't know why people say it "The Best Movie Of The Year". I just hope the second one is better, because this movie went very poorly. Disappointed. Expand

See all 261 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2014

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2014 Image
    Published: January 6, 2015
    2014 saw the release of the highest-scoring new movie in Metacritic's history, among a number of great films. Browse our official lists of the year's best movies in a variety of categories, as well as our collection of 2014's worst films.
  2. Best of 2014: Film Awards & Nominations Scorecard

    Best of 2014: Film Awards & Nominations Scorecard Image
    Published: December 1, 2014
    Find a complete list of 2014's major film awards and nominations from dozens of professional organizations and critic associations, as well as a running scorecard of the year's biggest winners. Check daily for updates throughout December and January.
  3. The Best & Worst Movies of 2014 So Far

    The Best & Worst Movies of 2014 So Far Image
    Published: July 2, 2014
    We reveal the best and worst movies released during the first half of 2014.