Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 43 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 990 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Dec 15, 2014
    100
    A clever, vividly imagined, consistently funny, eye-poppingly pretty and oddly profound movie … about Legos.
  2. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Feb 6, 2014
    100
    The jokes fly at a pace demanding viewers to either refrain from laughing (highly unlikely) or see The Lego Movie again to catch all the wondrous sights and amiable wit sliding by the first time.
  3. Reviewed by: Drew McWeeny
    Sep 22, 2014
    91
    Beautifully shot, impeccably paced, and with a voice cast that nails it in every role, large or small, "The Lego Movie" is a genuine delight.
  4. Reviewed by: Bill Zwecker
    Feb 4, 2014
    88
    The visuals are spectacular, the 3D technology is artfully used and the storyline is jam-packed with so many funny lines, it’s hard to catch all the jokes that are delivered in rapid-fire succession.
  5. Reviewed by: Keith Phipps
    Feb 5, 2014
    80
    For a film that clearly required a small army to make, it often feels thrillingly off-the-cuff, which keeps with The Lego Movie’s themes of creativity and weirdness: Nobody’s following an instruction book with this one.
  6. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    Feb 3, 2014
    80
    Phil Lord and Christopher Miller irreverently deconstruct the state of the modern blockbuster and deliver a smarter, more satisfying experience in its place, emerging with a fresh franchise for others to build upon.
  7. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Feb 5, 2014
    50
    As cute and energetic as it is, The Lego Movie is more exhausting than fun, too unsure of itself to stick with any story thread for too long. The action scenes are enthusiastic, colorful but uninvolving, like an 8-year-old emptying a bucket of plastic blocks.

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 30 out of 254
  1. Apr 26, 2014
    10
    I just saw The LEGO Movie last night and I have to say that I absolutely loved it! This is a very creative and very fun movie with a wittyI just saw The LEGO Movie last night and I have to say that I absolutely loved it! This is a very creative and very fun movie with a witty story and really good humor. I liked the animation style in this where everything was Lego including not just structures but like water and fire and things like that which was so creative and I also love how the animation is shown to look like it's stop motion which was very creative and I actually prefer how the animations shows those limitations with how Lego Mini Figures move over how they smoothly move in like a cut-scene of a Traveler's Tales Lego game. I also love the characters in this movie and the cameos they make, it was so fun seeing different Lego properties come together in this movie. The plot does have some simplicity to it, but it's still a fun plot and is actually not to be taken that seriously, but in a good way. Overall, I loved The Lego Movie. I remember seeing trailers and stuff for this movie back in late 2013 and at most expecting this film to be just good like nothing special but nothing too bad, but I barely expected to fall in love with this film. This film's amazing, as of now I think this might be my favorite film of 2014 so far. Go see this movie, this film is excellent, it has some big laughs and it's a whole lot of fun and I think anyone can enjoy this film whether they are a kid or even an adult! Expand
  2. Feb 20, 2014
    10
    I would consider it offensive if this was labelled simply as a '100 minute commercial'. It may be made involving a corporate franchise, but itI would consider it offensive if this was labelled simply as a '100 minute commercial'. It may be made involving a corporate franchise, but it is there to teach, not to sell.

    The LEGO Movie uniquely combines smart sharp satire towards examples like pop culture and consumerism, a charming voice cast voicing a whole array of interesting characters (if you look close enough, some of the characters parody the usual stock characters) and a morality tale. It not only subverts tropes, but also subverts expectations right until the end. It's difficult to see a film just once, especially when it contains so much humour and wit when mocking things left right and centre.

    Everything I feel about this film is exciting. Animation can show itself to stand out in throwing out a non generic message involving politics, business and culture. The villain himself shows the audacity as a president to not only demonstrate his nefariousness, but impose his own ideologies with no room for creativity. Not only that, but the LEGO Movie also plays on the cliches of many outrageous tropes - how does it work out when a simple, ordinary construction worker is suddenly announced as the centre of the prophecy as 'the Special'? What happens when he encounters someone considered to be the 'manic pixie dream girl'? The split personality of the Good Cop Bad Cop is refreshing when it comes to two distinctively defined cops interrogating someone, and the gleeful decision made about Green Lantern after his film ultimately failed is dark but amusing.

    However, when it comes to happy endings, even that doesn't remain the same. Even for the villain himself. It doesn't spit out the usual kind of messages - whether on the scale of the morality tale or the satire surrounding politics and the like.
    Expand
  3. Feb 8, 2014
    10
    Easily the best movie of 2014, The lego movie offers fresh animation, awesome puns and many famous actors such as Liam Neeson, Will FerrellEasily the best movie of 2014, The lego movie offers fresh animation, awesome puns and many famous actors such as Liam Neeson, Will Ferrell and Morgan Freeman... I recommend this movie for immediate watch. Expand
  4. Jul 21, 2014
    9
    Despite the fact that it's characters and storyline are carefully derived from Pixar classics (not necessarily a bad thing), Lego is anDespite the fact that it's characters and storyline are carefully derived from Pixar classics (not necessarily a bad thing), Lego is an extremely entertaining film with an infectiously playful attitude suitable for all ages (especially adults). Expand
  5. Feb 8, 2014
    8
    It's a very clever film - I found myself laughing at SO many references. The voice talent is really amazing - in particular Charlie Day asIt's a very clever film - I found myself laughing at SO many references. The voice talent is really amazing - in particular Charlie Day as the spaceman. I haven't played the LEGO videogames or bought the licensed sets, so much of this was new to me. Other than one slow stretch just after the middle section, the is excellent - almost TOO fast, if you can believe it. Warner is going to be able to mint money with this franchise, I have a feeling. I'm predicting a solid 90mil opening weekend take. Expand
  6. Mar 21, 2014
    8
    Everything is awesome.. That's not a movie, it's charming intellectualizing entertainment crowded with super heroes who are still imaginaryEverything is awesome.. That's not a movie, it's charming intellectualizing entertainment crowded with super heroes who are still imaginary heroes, while the real super hero is the word "BELIEVE"!

    As an engineer I know perfectly who is "Marcus Vitruvius Pollio" (Morgan Freeman) as a "Master Builder", but the message this movie wants us to get is that everyone of us is his own master builder by his own creativity even though it seems clumsy! Emmet (Chris Pratt) - and the word "Emmet" means "Truth" in Hebrew and that goes along the events very much- is a normal person who doesn't believe in excellence. The prophecy was a lie or not, what matters! that looks like all religions if we think deeply in, because the basics of any religion are to make everything better and organized. Maybe the man Upstairs is a symbol of God with his ultimate power to fix or destroy everything by His own will. Where will it finish? Not with a military coup.. It will run to emotional convictions which make the ending charming for kids.

    It is Lively, a bit crowded and messy for children, and surreal for me (at least), with resonant colorful pictures. The script maybe normal, but tasty combining comedy, fantasy, sci-fi, action... and the usual clichés of comics. Nice voice performances (Liam Neeson, Chris Pratt, Will Ferrell and Elizabeth Banks).

    It doesn't flatter super heroes.. Hey! Make a super hero out of yourself by believing in yourself. "The Lego Movie" really smartly opens 2014 cinematically for me!
    Expand
  7. Feb 27, 2015
    0
    Horrible. One of the most disappointing movies I've ever seen. The animation was a huge headache, lame characters, and boring action. The slowHorrible. One of the most disappointing movies I've ever seen. The animation was a huge headache, lame characters, and boring action. The slow motion animation was not as i expected, and too many characters. This felt like I've just watch a very long episode on a show other than a movie. And i would just put a 1 or 2 if it wasn't with the live action seen, and the "where is my pants?" thing got very old. The jokes were very weak, and very lame. I didn't hear my family laugh ones and my brother walked into his room because of how bored he was. And my sister was mad that they put the live action seen. This movie is awful. I don't know why people say it "The Best Movie Of The Year". I just hope the second one is better, because this movie went very poorly. Disappointed. Expand

See all 254 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2014

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2014 Image
    Published: January 6, 2015
    2014 saw the release of the highest-scoring new movie in Metacritic's history, among a number of great films. Browse our official lists of the year's best movies in a variety of categories, as well as our collection of 2014's worst films.
  2. Best of 2014: Film Awards & Nominations Scorecard

    Best of 2014: Film Awards & Nominations Scorecard Image
    Published: December 1, 2014
    Find a complete list of 2014's major film awards and nominations from dozens of professional organizations and critic associations, as well as a running scorecard of the year's biggest winners. Check daily for updates throughout December and January.
  3. The Best & Worst Movies of 2014 So Far

    The Best & Worst Movies of 2014 So Far Image
    Published: July 2, 2014
    We reveal the best and worst movies released during the first half of 2014.