User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 23
  2. Negative: 3 out of 23

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ashl.
    Feb 7, 2005
    10
    Great little film.
  2. matl.
    Feb 7, 2005
    10
    Brilliant. Lots of heart and thought went into making this film. You will feel it as well.
  3. swanl,
    Feb 7, 2005
    10
    Film-making at its best.
  4. anwara.
    Feb 8, 2005
    10
    This is as good as it gets in filmmaking. See it...to believe it.
  5. EvanD.
    Feb 9, 2005
    9
    Lewiston, ME is a wasteland. Formerly a thriving mill town, the past forty years have reduced the community to an urban dump that has fostered poverty, ignorance, and a hybrid of redneckism that is one of the worst imaginable. I should know; my father has lived there for the past ten years. On weekends, I saw first-hand the trap that Lewiston is, that nothing good, productive, or Lewiston, ME is a wasteland. Formerly a thriving mill town, the past forty years have reduced the community to an urban dump that has fostered poverty, ignorance, and a hybrid of redneckism that is one of the worst imaginable. I should know; my father has lived there for the past ten years. On weekends, I saw first-hand the trap that Lewiston is, that nothing good, productive, or culturally vibrant ever emerged from that city. Two years ago, this cultural mire reached its apex with a letter written by Lewiston mayor Larry Raymond to the city Expand
  6. rone.
    Feb 9, 2005
    10
    Perfect!
  7. davidb.
    Feb 16, 2005
    10
    Superizingly good...even though it is video.
  8. EdwardW.
    Feb 18, 2005
    10
    From the opening images this film builds and builds to a feverish crescendo. And even when the film resolves, it remains lyrical, dynamic, and moving in its message.
  9. AndrewB.
    Feb 18, 2005
    10
    Extremely well crafted. Full of drama and suspense. It transcends the documentary genre.
  10. AsmahanA.
    Feb 27, 2005
    10
    Power and poetry.
  11. mollyg.
    Mar 1, 2005
    10
    Very moving film.
  12. dogos.
    May 25, 2005
    10
    Wonderful...shows the real american spirit of insecurity and luck of human spirit...wonderful direction picture ..i felt touched by the picture.
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. 80
    As an affecting work of compassionate craftsmanship, The Letter delivers.
  2. Reviewed by: Robert Koehler
    60
    An especially dramatic, if needlessly frantic, work of polemical reportage on racism in America.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter L'Official
    60
    Affecting, straightforward presentation of tightly knit, contrapuntal interviews and crosscut rally footage--Hamzeh's film eschews voice-over to allow the more despicable characters to embarrass themselves with their ludicrously foolish invective.