Weinstein Company, The | Release Date: November 23, 2005
6.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 48 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
32
Mixed:
4
Negative:
12
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
PatO.Jul 9, 2006
Brilliant acting. Exremely difficult role and lines delivered with mezmerizing expertise. I thoroughly enjoyed the art of Depp.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidH.Dec 5, 2005
Amazing!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KarenW.Mar 16, 2006
An amazing performance by Depp. But I wish the direction had been better. Really a thought provoking film if you take the time to think about what you've seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
[Anonymous]Sep 1, 2006
The painful choices of two women, wife and mistress, were as sensitively portrayed as was Johnny Depp
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndyS.Dec 5, 2005
A bizarre and completely intoxicating experience unlike anything I have ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CathyW.Mar 12, 2006
Extraordinary performance from Depp, Malkovich Morton and Pike. The restoration was not a pretty venue. History is history. And these performances are outstanding. The film may have some flaws. But overall it is a rivieting story and I am Extraordinary performance from Depp, Malkovich Morton and Pike. The restoration was not a pretty venue. History is history. And these performances are outstanding. The film may have some flaws. But overall it is a rivieting story and I am proud that Johnny did the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KevinC.Mar 25, 2006
All the reviews have missed the salient point. Wilmot is bi-polar. The camera work, the music, it's all mirrors of his moods. Because he's brilliant he does thing purely because he can. When the actress finally sees he for who ge All the reviews have missed the salient point. Wilmot is bi-polar. The camera work, the music, it's all mirrors of his moods. Because he's brilliant he does thing purely because he can. When the actress finally sees he for who ge really is, her scenes on camera are transformed. When Wilmot addresses Lords, it's because he can -- and he knows James' faye as king will be. It's bi-polar all the way. Gripping. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MayaB.Aug 22, 2006
What a great surprise. I expected a big production movie full of moral lessons and naked wenches, but what I saw was a tale about the darkness of the human soul, and the impulse of self destruction in the face of hypocrisy and boredom.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlistairD.Dec 11, 2005
I don't think its the greatest movie of all time but it is a great movie and it offers something original as well. Funny, bizarre and sad in places, Depp is brillent throughout.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamJ.Dec 5, 2005
A decadent, satirical and devishly entertaining confection with a superior performance by Depp and the greatest score in Michael Nyman's career. Stunning monologues. Those who call it trash are not bright enough to negotiate it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DawnB.Mar 21, 2006
Superb! This is Johnny Depp at his best, stunning and compelling to watch. This movie is based on a play, so do not expect swashbuckling action (although there is a very short sword fight scene). If you love to see great actors performing Superb! This is Johnny Depp at his best, stunning and compelling to watch. This movie is based on a play, so do not expect swashbuckling action (although there is a very short sword fight scene). If you love to see great actors performing you will love this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChetR.Jan 24, 2007
Fascinating for the first hour, especially the direct confrontation of the audience by the Earl, but then it gets confused and drops into incoherence. But the excellence of its premise, its quest of what life and love and art is, the Fascinating for the first hour, especially the direct confrontation of the audience by the Earl, but then it gets confused and drops into incoherence. But the excellence of its premise, its quest of what life and love and art is, the uniformly interesting performances and mis-en-scene, makes me wish they could have pulled it off. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewS.Nov 19, 2005
Nearly every performance in this film is a showstopper. I am completely unsure where to even begin--Depp is masterful, but even his performance is overshadowed by the willowy earnestness of Rosamund Pike, the sheer brilliance of John Nearly every performance in this film is a showstopper. I am completely unsure where to even begin--Depp is masterful, but even his performance is overshadowed by the willowy earnestness of Rosamund Pike, the sheer brilliance of John Malkovich, or, perhaps most of all, the fierce determination and brio of Samantha Morton. Period pieces that play up the squalor of 17th century London are becoming the norm, but this film has an authentic vulgarity that is absent nearly all other films so set. The plot itself is gripping, taut as a bowstring. And it works so well for the virtuosity of the cast to find themselves in its development that it becomes absolutely seamless, a perfect narrative acted by performers at the very peak of their powers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnnyStephensAug 30, 2013
A masterpiece!!! I really loved that movie. Johnny Depp has a gift and that's why is the best actor in the world. Do not miss it!!! That's the true story of the second Earl of Rochester!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
meenaApr 27, 2014
Absolute 10. One of my favorite movies. Great story, wonderful performances by all actors involved. Very Shakespearean feel, dark and moody, and also extremely sensual. I don't know why this movie wasn't given an Oscar. I guess moviesAbsolute 10. One of my favorite movies. Great story, wonderful performances by all actors involved. Very Shakespearean feel, dark and moody, and also extremely sensual. I don't know why this movie wasn't given an Oscar. I guess movies about little known poets don't provide for a wide enough viewership. See it repeatedly. It will stay with you forever. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews