User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 416 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 31 out of 416
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. HunterH.
    Dec 31, 2002
    10
    Yup, Lion King is great. To Michelle P. - Spirited Away was NOT a Disney movie. They just dubbed Hayao Miyazaki's masterpiece and slapped their name on it. Just so posterity knows. :)
  2. Bequiet!Thismovie'sgreat!
    Mar 20, 2003
    10
    A beautiful movie that needs better respect from everyone who says "'Lilo and Stitch' was better. It had no singing". True, "Lilo and Stitch" is a great movie, but not the greatest. "The Lion King" contained no sign humanity. Had there been humanity, this movie would be a disaster. It had gorgeous animation and true characters. If only disney made more movies like this.
  3. Simbapeter
    Jan 13, 2003
    10
    What can I say about it? Since 1994 when I was 16 I saw the movie here in Venezuela. I could not imagine how good it was. I'm 24 now and "I can't wait to see it" bad joke I know. I just want to say that. If you didn't see it in the past, run to your nearest Imax theather and see it. At least rent the VHS video and you will see that this movie worth the money you will expent on it.
  4. Katherine
    Jul 24, 2006
    10
    This is my favorite Disney movie. I know that it is not that it does not have very much facts, but it's just a movie. It's fantasy, and fantasy can have anything. So yes I give it a 10.
  5. JaredB.
    Mar 22, 2007
    10
    This is one of my favorite movies of all time. The cast, led by Jonathan Taylor Thomas and Matthew Broderick, was simply amazing. The animation was absolutely brilliant. The movie is just incredible. If you haven't seen it, I strongly recommend it for kids and adults
  6. J
    Feb 21, 2009
    10
    The is the most amazing film ever created by disney. I cannot imagine anything they could have done better. It is a memerable classic, and touches the heart of young and old alike.
  7. MichelleP.
    Dec 29, 2002
    10
    Come ON people! This is the greatest Disney animated feature (next to Spirited Away) ever! The animation is beautiful, the songs are either beautiful or catchy, and it was just an all-around fantastic film! This is the kind of movie Disney doesn't make enough of. Now they're making corny films like "Treasure Planet" and "Scamp's Adventure". It's no wonder this got a Come ON people! This is the greatest Disney animated feature (next to Spirited Away) ever! The animation is beautiful, the songs are either beautiful or catchy, and it was just an all-around fantastic film! This is the kind of movie Disney doesn't make enough of. Now they're making corny films like "Treasure Planet" and "Scamp's Adventure". It's no wonder this got a 98. I thought it deserved a 100 (it's the most acclaimed animated film in history!) but 98 is good enough. Way to go, Disney! Expand
  8. JessicaK.
    Feb 23, 2003
    10
    It's so obvious that people will look at this movie, and say, "Oh yeah...the Lion King, it's the dumbest movie ever because it's a kid's movie, a disney movie, and it has songs". The fact that it's a movie for kids doesn't mean it's only for kids, it means it'll be appealing for them. I mean, Spirited Away was called a Kid's Movie, yet the It's so obvious that people will look at this movie, and say, "Oh yeah...the Lion King, it's the dumbest movie ever because it's a kid's movie, a disney movie, and it has songs". The fact that it's a movie for kids doesn't mean it's only for kids, it means it'll be appealing for them. I mean, Spirited Away was called a Kid's Movie, yet the older ones can still love and enjoy it. The fact that it's a disney film doesn't mean anything at all. This is one of disney's better movies along with other masterpieces like Beauty and the Beast. That movie (and the Lion King) have been enjoyed by childeren, teenagers, and adults alike. The reason most people think disney movies are stupid, is because they haven't gone back to the old ones, which, like the Lion King and Beauty and the Beast, are true classics, and most of the disney movies out are either a poor ones like, Treasure Planet or the new sequels to the disney classics like Peter Pan or Lady and the Tramp, or they're mediocre films like Tarzan or Lilo & Stitch. As for the songs, so what? Chicago had songs, and it was still fantastic (in fact, that was main reason it was fantastic). The Lion King included some memorable catchy songs as well, go buy the soundtrack if you're too embarassed to see the movie. Yes, the animals do talk, but that's because there's no humans seen or mentioned in the film at all, so it wouldn't ruin it. The animation was positively gorgeous. Not a single character looked absurd. The lion's movments when walking were done so accurately, and the voice acting is perfect. The plot may sound small, but when you watch the movie or read the script, you'll see what a true epic it is. I think the Lion Kind deserves more praise, respect, and a higher score (but it's still a universal acclaim, and I suppose that's good enough). See it, and be amazed at its beauty. Expand
  9. ChrisM.
    Apr 28, 2007
    10
    Perhaps it's because it's an essential part of my childhood, but The Lion King will always be regarded by me as one of the greatest cartoons ever made. Yes, it's an adaptation of Hamlet, but one that communicates with children and adults alike. There is depth to Simba which is unparalleled in many other Disney movies. Perhaps it's nostalgia, but I think kids today Perhaps it's because it's an essential part of my childhood, but The Lion King will always be regarded by me as one of the greatest cartoons ever made. Yes, it's an adaptation of Hamlet, but one that communicates with children and adults alike. There is depth to Simba which is unparalleled in many other Disney movies. Perhaps it's nostalgia, but I think kids today cannot comprehend what they're missing. I, for one, miss the anticipation of the yearly 2-D Disney cartoon. I guess I'm still a kid at heart. Expand
  10. Oct 1, 2011
    10
    The Lion King may not be *the* greatest movie of all time, but it's probably in the top 10 or so. The plot is pretty standard fare, but it doesn't even matter, because it's all about the presentation of that story. Speaking of which, the animation, voice acting, songs, and emotional element of The Lion King carry it to such great heights, and come pretty close to perfect. I look back onThe Lion King may not be *the* greatest movie of all time, but it's probably in the top 10 or so. The plot is pretty standard fare, but it doesn't even matter, because it's all about the presentation of that story. Speaking of which, the animation, voice acting, songs, and emotional element of The Lion King carry it to such great heights, and come pretty close to perfect. I look back on it today, and some of the opening scenes still give me goosebumps when I watch the sun rising over the savanna. And then you have the saddest scene in just about any modern Disney movie... those who've seen it (everybody at this point) know what I'm talking about. All in all, it's a beautiful film of love, fatherhood, death, betrayal, revenge, friendship, and rising to destiny. Expand
  11. Aug 14, 2011
    9
    This movie was simply well made. The songs were memorable and amazing, the characters were believable (and arguably acted more human than many movies with human actors), and the animation was vibrant and lush, depicting a unique style of art, and still getting the movements of the characters down pat. The story really digs deep into Simba's character, which leaves the other characters aThis movie was simply well made. The songs were memorable and amazing, the characters were believable (and arguably acted more human than many movies with human actors), and the animation was vibrant and lush, depicting a unique style of art, and still getting the movements of the characters down pat. The story really digs deep into Simba's character, which leaves the other characters a bit stagnant, but that's not to say they aren't developed. They each have their own part to play in the story. The comic relief detracts from the heavier story just enough to keep the feature from being too depressing (it is disney, they like a lighter feel to their movies).

    Now, on the controversy some people have brought up about "Disney ripping off 'Kimba: The White Lion'", I looked into it, and in terms of story and characters, it seems the two are separate. Some art direction seems to have gone the same direction, although Disney and the guys who did Kimba did start working together on a project related to Kimba. The project was scrapped, but the people who had worked on the project probably decided to adapt some concept art to Lion King. Btw, the similarity of the names "Simba" and "Kimba" is probably coincidental, considering most of the names in "The Lion King" are based on Swahili words (simba means 'lion').

    Regardless, it is a solid movie that I recommend.
    Expand
  12. Jan 7, 2012
    10
    An epic and lovely adventure in every way, this animated production is definitely an icon of its genre. First of all the storyline is great, very unique and funny that will submerge you into a whole new world inside this movie with its very well made visual production and style. The plot is interesting and entertaining too, with a friendly story and a light atmosphere that takes exitingAn epic and lovely adventure in every way, this animated production is definitely an icon of its genre. First of all the storyline is great, very unique and funny that will submerge you into a whole new world inside this movie with its very well made visual production and style. The plot is interesting and entertaining too, with a friendly story and a light atmosphere that takes exiting shifts as it progresses introducing different scenarios that all together construct a beautiful movie. The characters are just adorable with charming performances, and often a musical number with a memorable soundtrack is included that adds to the wonderful experience this is from beginning to end. Expand
  13. May 6, 2012
    8
    Who would believe this is my first time watch this classic Disney jewel in the crown and the location was ruefully in the plane. After last year's mega-successful re-entering into 3D multiplexes, clearly it becomes more urgent for me to cancel it from my unfinished masterpiece list (there are more horrifying ones on my list which I wish I could show it here). THE LION KING is a timelessWho would believe this is my first time watch this classic Disney jewel in the crown and the location was ruefully in the plane. After last year's mega-successful re-entering into 3D multiplexes, clearly it becomes more urgent for me to cancel it from my unfinished masterpiece list (there are more horrifying ones on my list which I wish I could show it here). THE LION KING is a timeless artwork, it's technical index could not remain its cutting-edge 2D advances in 1994, the story nevertheless is in perfect pitch for audience from every degree of ages, the HAMLET-inspired plot could feasibly find more evocation with adult groups while the colorful appealing is irresistible for youngsters. It's an archetypical win-win Disney Animation. The narrative is tightly intriguing, the O.S.T. is top-notch although I can hardly admit Elton Johnâ Expand
  14. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    If you have not seen this movie, do so. The Lion King is my favorite movie ever, on all levels. It's not just a fantastic kid's movie. It's a movie that just about all people can enjoy. There are no flaws that bring down this movie whatsoever. Every single level of production goes way beyond its expectations. From the excellent main cast to the classic musical numbers, everything aboutIf you have not seen this movie, do so. The Lion King is my favorite movie ever, on all levels. It's not just a fantastic kid's movie. It's a movie that just about all people can enjoy. There are no flaws that bring down this movie whatsoever. Every single level of production goes way beyond its expectations. From the excellent main cast to the classic musical numbers, everything about this movie is memorable. This film should be used as a tool for up-and-coming animators who want to make movies at the same level of this movie. There aren't any movies that are as good as this, and there never will be another movie that even surpasses this movie in quality. The Lion King is an epic masterpiece that takes so many risks and overcomes all of them. Expand
  15. Apr 22, 2014
    9
    One of the best animated Disney films ever (if not the best), puts Frozen to shame. It is also one of the most successful films ever (not only animation). Great story, great message, amazing characters, iconic moments, probably the best Disney soundtrack ever and several heartbreaking and emotive scenes. The minutes at the beginning when Mufasa talks to his son alone are so full of beautyOne of the best animated Disney films ever (if not the best), puts Frozen to shame. It is also one of the most successful films ever (not only animation). Great story, great message, amazing characters, iconic moments, probably the best Disney soundtrack ever and several heartbreaking and emotive scenes. The minutes at the beginning when Mufasa talks to his son alone are so full of beauty and depth. Or just the first 5 minutes where we get introduced to the whole experience thanks to the amazing and unforgettable main song beat almost any other animation film in recent years. The Lion King is in the top 20 of most successful films ever adjusting by inflation. Frozen does not even make it to the top 100. That gives you an idea of the phenomenon it was. So deserved. Expand
  16. Feb 16, 2013
    10
    With it's amazing animation, great voice acting, funny humor, amazing music, and stunning visuals this movie is a masterpiece and is worth seeing many times.
  17. Jan 23, 2014
    10
    I watched this wonderful masterpiece when i was only six years old. Up to now i have still remembered every detail about it, about the story that i know inspired millions of people not only children but also adults all around the world. This is like "The Godfather" for children, with a little exception that it is bright, funny and, most importantly, humanitarian. I think even grown-up menI watched this wonderful masterpiece when i was only six years old. Up to now i have still remembered every detail about it, about the story that i know inspired millions of people not only children but also adults all around the world. This is like "The Godfather" for children, with a little exception that it is bright, funny and, most importantly, humanitarian. I think even grown-up men can learn something meaningful from Disney's greatest animation - The Lion King. Expand
  18. Sep 22, 2011
    9
    Disney animation's "The Lion King" is a masterpiece and the godfather of all animations.
  19. Sep 19, 2011
    10
    An outstanding film, back when people put there heart into everything to be proud of there achievements and to express there talents which were recognized by Disney later choosing the cast very, very well. This film I want to say is my best Disney film however I also love Aladdin :). Then B&TB and Hercules. Anyway. This film has a lot of guidance and morals for all ages. Makes me thinkAn outstanding film, back when people put there heart into everything to be proud of there achievements and to express there talents which were recognized by Disney later choosing the cast very, very well. This film I want to say is my best Disney film however I also love Aladdin :). Then B&TB and Hercules. Anyway. This film has a lot of guidance and morals for all ages. Makes me think whats happened to Disney :( Mufasa (James Earl Jones) is Simba's dad and has the perfect voice for a strong lion teaching his son the lessons in life. Like not to take being future king for granted, it's not about getting your own way. And that everyone is one. He also tells his son about the stars, and if he is not here in later life, then to look up at the stars as all of the great kings are up there watching over him. Samba being a small cub has to learn the hard way because of his evil uncle scar. At first he truss to trick samba and forces him to go against his fathers will. It ends up with samba leaving pride rock, but finds two true friends who bring him back to his normal self with the help of an old friend and his fathers friend who christened him at birth. Samba returns to pride Rock some years later, returning the once great land back to how it used to be. And continues with Simba and Nala having a child of there own. And continues, the circle of life. such powerful scenes that can make grown men cry (who are not dead inside) and powerful voice acting that fit each roll perfectly. A brilliant soundtrack that fits very well. And also the meanings and morals in this film alone are what society today is very rappdley loosing. If only James Earl jones could be the king of England! Ohh and must say that I love zazu too :) (probally spelt it wrong) Expand
  20. Nov 17, 2012
    10
    A wonderful work of animation that is vibrant with color, song, and a stellar emotional core.
  21. [Anonymous]
    Dec 26, 2002
    3
    It's ok, but didn't like it.
  22. KeithS.
    Mar 19, 2003
    2
    The story of Hamlet as told by Disney, through a lion, by way of Osama Tuzuka's "Kimba the White Lion." Putting aside where Disney generated the idea from, this movie clearly delivers a solid emotional punch. However, you have to ignore, or not notice, the variety of plot discrepencies, shut your eyes to "clicky" animation (which anyone in the ani field can point out), and try not to The story of Hamlet as told by Disney, through a lion, by way of Osama Tuzuka's "Kimba the White Lion." Putting aside where Disney generated the idea from, this movie clearly delivers a solid emotional punch. However, you have to ignore, or not notice, the variety of plot discrepencies, shut your eyes to "clicky" animation (which anyone in the ani field can point out), and try not to be insulted by the racial stereotyping. While the film veers off into the land of symbollism a couple of times, altering the subjective POV for no reason, and -- at one critical point -- fumbling its way into a Leni Reifenstahl remake, these things do nothing to the story which, in the end, still has more holes in it than the good ol' fashioned proverbial Swiss cheese. Those professionals who enjoyed it should try to stop enjoying the free trips to Disney World and start watching the movies. Expand
  23. Sander
    May 1, 2008
    0
    Fuck Disney. They RIPPED-OFF Kimba the white lion, without even giving any credit to Ozamu Tesuka, the creator.
  24. YoonMinC.
    Oct 10, 2003
    4
    Wonderfully animated but otherwise very stupid movie, even for kids. I know it's a cartoon but why are all the animals happily greeting the birth of a lion cub? And, why if the King and Queen lions sound black, does the cub sound like Matthew Broderick? Stupid pompous cartoon for kids. And the songs suck.
  25. Traustik
    Mar 2, 2003
    0
    Never really got it.
  26. Tino
    Aug 12, 2006
    10
    This is just the best movie that Diney has made. It's my favortie too. I'm 18 years old and I still watch the movie over and over again. The best music, the best animation, what else can you want?
  27. JoshG.
    Jun 22, 2007
    10
    This is probably the best movie disney ever created. It is one of the few movies that makes me laugh, cry, and it's very touching at the same time. I never saw this movie until I was about twelve, which I really regret. It teaches about pride, facing your fears, and many other things. Simba is one of the best characters Disney will probably ever make. I almost cry whenever I think This is probably the best movie disney ever created. It is one of the few movies that makes me laugh, cry, and it's very touching at the same time. I never saw this movie until I was about twelve, which I really regret. It teaches about pride, facing your fears, and many other things. Simba is one of the best characters Disney will probably ever make. I almost cry whenever I think about it. I really hope they make another Lion King movie. Thank you, disney, for this great classic. Expand
  28. JohnM
    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    Agreeing with most of the reviews, I have to say this is my all time most favorite movie that Disney has created even though it was created in 1994. I first watched it when I was very little and never understood the true meaning of what was going on, but thought of it as a sort of comical movie with some sad bits. I admit that I cried at the point where Mufassa had died, but only a true Agreeing with most of the reviews, I have to say this is my all time most favorite movie that Disney has created even though it was created in 1994. I first watched it when I was very little and never understood the true meaning of what was going on, but thought of it as a sort of comical movie with some sad bits. I admit that I cried at the point where Mufassa had died, but only a true film artist could give such emotion into a movie. Now that I have watched it a few more times, I get the full view of the movie and understand what I did not before. This is one of the only movies that I know of that has been this extraordinary and well thought out. I give tremendous respect to the creators of the excellent animation. Expand
  29. Hades
    Jan 14, 2003
    3
    I never really found this movie appealing in the slightest, even when i was young and it was a "new" film. Good for the kids i guess but not some epic life changing event at all.
  30. GeorgeP.
    Dec 4, 2006
    10
    The thing that makes this movie truly a masterpiece is the fact that it deals with real life. I believe this movie was created to present the meaning of the greatest thing that human beings face.This is the circle of life. I watched this film when I was six and it really stigmatized my life(I'm 18 now).The combination of the melanholic and celebrating soundtrack together with the The thing that makes this movie truly a masterpiece is the fact that it deals with real life. I believe this movie was created to present the meaning of the greatest thing that human beings face.This is the circle of life. I watched this film when I was six and it really stigmatized my life(I'm 18 now).The combination of the melanholic and celebrating soundtrack together with the vivid characters make this movie so wonderful and appealing to all ages.This is definitely one of Disney's greatest successes that has been a strong example to many kids all over the world incuding me. It has beautifully taught us about the meaning and the values of life. This film will always be in our hearts. Expand
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Reviewed by: Rob Humanick
    Sep 12, 2011
    63
    Although far from the worst offender in Disney's canon, The Lion King is nevertheless host to many of the less savory qualities common to the studio's output.
  2. For all the undeniable merits, it somehow feels manufactured, and thus, to a degree, calculated - the product not of a collective imagination taking esthetic chances, but of an imaginative collective putting the rivets into a well-wrought plan that can't go awry.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Faires
    78
    It's a thumping good adventure.