Sony Pictures Classics | Release Date: December 1, 2006
8.9
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 285 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
268
Mixed:
9
Negative:
8
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
BruceC.Aug 5, 2007
One of the most powerful and affecting films ever to take the viewer inside the minds of the perpetrators of oppression. Brilliantly constructed, avoiding predictability and cliche the denouement is extraordinarily moving and insightful.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
SteveKOct 11, 2007
The best movie I've seen in a long LONG time. It's a movie that manages to be both entertaining and meaningful, heartbreaking and uplifting. This is a great movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MarcM.Jan 20, 2007
If a great symphony could be turned into a movie, this would be it. Moments that seem happenstance take on greater importance upon reflection. Nothing could be added or taken away without diminishing the overall impact. This isn't a If a great symphony could be turned into a movie, this would be it. Moments that seem happenstance take on greater importance upon reflection. Nothing could be added or taken away without diminishing the overall impact. This isn't a good movie, it is a great one. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
FredR.Feb 10, 2007
An absolutely incredible performance by ulrich muhe(gkw.7) best movie i've seen in years.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LyndaM.Feb 20, 2007
SEE the film. AVOID the reviews,(at least until after you've seen it.) Too many spoilers. Being an observer as the characters unfold, reveal and transform themseves is one the beauties of this film. Incredible acting, exquisitely SEE the film. AVOID the reviews,(at least until after you've seen it.) Too many spoilers. Being an observer as the characters unfold, reveal and transform themseves is one the beauties of this film. Incredible acting, exquisitely crafted story, a true work of art. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
OlegM.Mar 4, 2007
Of all movies about the life under communism this is the one most true to reality: the story could've happened. I gave it an 8 only because this kind of story doesn't translate into visual art (movie) as easily as into a for Of all movies about the life under communism this is the one most true to reality: the story could've happened. I gave it an 8 only because this kind of story doesn't translate into visual art (movie) as easily as into a for example a book: it pleases the mind more than the eye, I mean. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DanB.Aug 26, 2007
No comment. It's just plain good.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
SteveS.Dec 24, 2006
Very disappointing and unperceptive wise-aleck review from Mr. Foundas. The picture is no more nostalgic for the days of East German Communism than any equivalent film dealing with a Nazi functionary's gradual change of heart would be Very disappointing and unperceptive wise-aleck review from Mr. Foundas. The picture is no more nostalgic for the days of East German Communism than any equivalent film dealing with a Nazi functionary's gradual change of heart would be for the Third Reich. Since East German Communism finally fell without the firing of a shot, one can certainly infer that by the end of that regime, it must have been riddled with just the sort of disillusioned secret policemen Foundas finds so unbelievable here. Nor is it particularly the policeman's exposure to art that subverts his loyalties to the state; a deeper and fairer reading of his character might locate the reason for that change in his discontent with his own empty personal life, compared to the appealing human attachments of the people he's spying on.....Where do I apply to write film reviews for LA Weekly? Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
PaulB.Nov 3, 2007
Great movie. Even the East German Stassi can get mugged by reality. American liberals, are you paying attention?
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AnickP.Feb 11, 2007
A superb film with touching, convincing characters who show that, despite the minister's prediction at the beginning, one can change for the best. A remarquable ending. The film's message is similar to Pan's Labyrinth's, A superb film with touching, convincing characters who show that, despite the minister's prediction at the beginning, one can change for the best. A remarquable ending. The film's message is similar to Pan's Labyrinth's, but this movie, in my mind, is superior (though my husband disagrees). A ne pas rater. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ChristinaK.Feb 12, 2007
Best film I've seen in years - it sticks in your mind and doesn't let go. Nearly all reviews have extensive spoilers - avoid reading them and just go see this splendid film.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
FilmfanFeb 10, 2007
Powerful and involving drama without Hollywood style overdrawn characters and cliche plot twists. Really really good. The kind of film Clint Eastwood is unable to make, no matter how hard he tries. NOTE: We all agree that the guy from L.A. Powerful and involving drama without Hollywood style overdrawn characters and cliche plot twists. Really really good. The kind of film Clint Eastwood is unable to make, no matter how hard he tries. NOTE: We all agree that the guy from L.A. Weekly is out of his league! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JimM.Feb 9, 2007
Best film of the year, no doubt about it. See this film!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SheilaP.Mar 11, 2007
Extraordinary film. I cannot stop thinking about it. This film deserves an Oscar for best foreign film and any other presigious awards available. Don't miss it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TonyB.Mar 22, 2007
Great film. Enjoyed it while watching it, and the more I think about it, the better it seems. As others have said, the ending was perfect. Many times I don't understand how critics and viewers can rate films as they do - this time, the Great film. Enjoyed it while watching it, and the more I think about it, the better it seems. As others have said, the ending was perfect. Many times I don't understand how critics and viewers can rate films as they do - this time, the reviews were right on. I hope Florian Henckel von Donnersmarck continues making great films - I saw him outside the AFI Spirit awards, and, in addition to making this great film, he seemed like a truly nice person. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MarylnL.Mar 4, 2007
A very tense and deeply moving film.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
NigelP.May 30, 2007
Undoubtedly, one of the best films I have ever seen! The casting was excellent. It must be seen! Having sub-titles adds to the film, I would hate to see it dubbed!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
Nadie...Jun 16, 2007
Smart, simple, intelligent, funny. The new post-Berlin wall cinema (as Goodbye Lenin) teaches us that you don
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
TristanJ.Jun 5, 2007
I didn't expect the quality I witnessed when I saw this film. The acting is superbly subtle and the issues of the period delicately positioned around the characters to create a rewarding and technically superb experience.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SlotkinsQ.Aug 25, 2007
Not overpraised at all. This is one of the best films of our time.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
WesselK.Jan 4, 2008
Deeply, deeply moving!...my god what a masterpiece.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TrevorAug 30, 2008
Really lives up to its acclaim. A brilliant, engaging film with no discernable flaws.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Jan 23, 2007
Thrilling and emotionally involving.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MountC.Jan 4, 2007
Saw the movie in the qualifying week it played in L.A. It moved me and the rest of the audience to tears!! Missed 3 1/2 minutes because I had to go the bathroom, though, 'cos it was pretty long. Can't believe the comments by the Saw the movie in the qualifying week it played in L.A. It moved me and the rest of the audience to tears!! Missed 3 1/2 minutes because I had to go the bathroom, though, 'cos it was pretty long. Can't believe the comments by the L.A. weekly guy Scott Foundas. How can anyone be so stupid? The only likeable Stassi guy is the one man who STOPS OBEYING ORDERS!! How he could call this revisionist and Nazi is beyond me. His comments are not worth the paper they're printed on. But go and see this film!! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
A.S.Feb 16, 2007
Excellent and very well done movie - reflecting painful truth...
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MatarsakZ.Feb 26, 2007
Sometimes a film, even if it gets a bit too melodramatic, even when it has a bit too much of a predictable and "clean" ending, does not leave one's thoughts for days. This, surely, is the sign of a great film. Even as I sat there, aware Sometimes a film, even if it gets a bit too melodramatic, even when it has a bit too much of a predictable and "clean" ending, does not leave one's thoughts for days. This, surely, is the sign of a great film. Even as I sat there, aware of all the classic "cinema" moments in the film, and predicting the too predictable clear cut ending in the films later years moment by moment as it unfolded, I still didn't mind. For once I loved being party to predictability unfolding. Which speaks to the skill of this particular filmmaker... This is exactly how I felt during the Italian film Best of Youth. I think people need to see this more as a human story than a German one - it could have been set in any repressed part of human history. Its simply a lovely piece of storytelling with great restraint and skill. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
PPR.Mar 15, 2007
Absolutely magic. It's not about politics, it's about mankind and the best it has to offer under harsh conditions. And that ending, man, it's breathtaking... If you only see two or three movies this year, make sure this is Absolutely magic. It's not about politics, it's about mankind and the best it has to offer under harsh conditions. And that ending, man, it's breathtaking... If you only see two or three movies this year, make sure this is one. You will NOT regret, guaranteed. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BibliotecaS.Mar 18, 2007
Best movie since Apocolypto since Walk the Line since Gone with the Wind since...? This movie is very smart and the payoff is worth the journey/subtitles once again. This movie is about the reality of what took place from '77 to Best movie since Apocolypto since Walk the Line since Gone with the Wind since...? This movie is very smart and the payoff is worth the journey/subtitles once again. This movie is about the reality of what took place from '77 to '89 East Berlin. Socialism and the West are starkly portrayed. The written word is convicting. The freedom of expression is subdued despite the pleas for mercy. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ChrisP.Mar 19, 2007
Best foreign language film I've seen since "The Best of Youth". I can see why Pan's Labyrinth lost best foreign film at the academy awards. This movie is more honest and in-depth and in turn hits its emotional high points with more Best foreign language film I've seen since "The Best of Youth". I can see why Pan's Labyrinth lost best foreign film at the academy awards. This movie is more honest and in-depth and in turn hits its emotional high points with more intensity. Bravo. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
ArgelX.Mar 19, 2007
Very good, a simple, intense plot. The Stasi officer is great in the role. A little slow for the first half.
1 of 1 users found this helpful