The Loneliest Planet

User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 17
  2. Negative: 4 out of 17

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Oct 25, 2015
    3
    If you removed the plot and characters from this movie, I would've given it a significantly higher rating. It starts out alright plotwise. We see the main two characters interacting with each other and the locals, and while nothing gripping happens, we get the point. One climactic event in the whole story was mildly interesting and a little funny, but nothing interesting happens as aIf you removed the plot and characters from this movie, I would've given it a significantly higher rating. It starts out alright plotwise. We see the main two characters interacting with each other and the locals, and while nothing gripping happens, we get the point. One climactic event in the whole story was mildly interesting and a little funny, but nothing interesting happens as a result of it. The resolution takes forever to get to and is fairly ridiculous, yet predictable. The movie gives the viewer no reason to care about any of the characters. I gave it any points at all because the scenery is beautiful. The Georgian landscape fills the screen and we're treated to some amazing, stunning shots. If the entire movie was just shots of the landscape it would've been great, but the two main characters managed to be at once obnoxious and pathetic. They made a visually stunning homage to Georgian geography into a boring and drawn out story about a couple of petty tourists. Expand
  2. Sep 2, 2014
    6
    The Loneliest Planet is worth seeing for the scenery alone! This is a marvelous movie to watch while you are doing the dishes or cooking a meal, or while doing two sets of dishes and cooking two meals. There is a bit of nudity at the beginning and some groping and moaning scattered through the rest of the movie, but the movie was much more interesting for the landscape than for theThe Loneliest Planet is worth seeing for the scenery alone! This is a marvelous movie to watch while you are doing the dishes or cooking a meal, or while doing two sets of dishes and cooking two meals. There is a bit of nudity at the beginning and some groping and moaning scattered through the rest of the movie, but the movie was much more interesting for the landscape than for the acting or the plot. Expand
  3. Mar 22, 2013
    2
    Please, if I can save you the nearly 2 hours this film takes to make its point, your time won't be wasted like mine. This is a movie based on a short story by Tom Bissell; the movie might have been interesting itself as a short. However it drags on for nearly 2 hours, during which time there are literally only a couple of minutes of important scenes. The rest of the time is devoted toPlease, if I can save you the nearly 2 hours this film takes to make its point, your time won't be wasted like mine. This is a movie based on a short story by Tom Bissell; the movie might have been interesting itself as a short. However it drags on for nearly 2 hours, during which time there are literally only a couple of minutes of important scenes. The rest of the time is devoted to trying to set the mood of the relationship between the characters (which could have been done in minutes, not hours)...which unfortunately fails to be interesting or believable.

    One of the only saving graces of this movie is the incredible Georgian mountain scenery, and even that is reprised many times in virtually identical shots which themselves drag on so long as to be puzzling.
    Expand
  4. Mar 4, 2013
    0
    The movie is boring, then unrealistic, then all out stupid mixed with repugnant. I cant believe the favorable reviews this garbage got. I had to make an account just to post this. Essentially the couple is not relatable or realistic. Its sort of sexist against men. Most people take it for granted how men are expected to instinctually react, but thats really female chauvinism.
  5. BKM
    Dec 21, 2012
    4
    The Loneliest Planet is a colossal bore that doesn't offer any real payoff of any sort. Yes, the scenery is nice and the film goes to great lengths to accurately depict the ways in which people are unable of communicating with one another, but the bottom line is that this movie doesn't have very much to say and yet it takes an extremely long time to do so.
  6. Nov 17, 2012
    9
    One of the most original odd movies that are interesting. Most of the movie is a wordless mature movie that is emotional and physical at the same time
  7. Oct 27, 2012
    7
    An absolutely beautifully-shot film. I would be shocked if a not-insignificant percentage of people who see this film didn't plan a trip to Georgia to make this hike. Truly extraordinary. However, very little happens in this film. And that's certainly ok. Sometimes you just have to let art flow by you. No need to be super analytical here. There are essentially two moments of dramaAn absolutely beautifully-shot film. I would be shocked if a not-insignificant percentage of people who see this film didn't plan a trip to Georgia to make this hike. Truly extraordinary. However, very little happens in this film. And that's certainly ok. Sometimes you just have to let art flow by you. No need to be super analytical here. There are essentially two moments of drama to the film, followed by some weighty emotional repercussions, and that's it! But hey, I felt like i was there, it made me think of my boy scout backpacking days, and in that sense, I enjoyed it. But a great film scoring at or near perfect scores from some of these critics? No. I will say that it's better than another critically acclaimed film with the same pacing - Meek's Cutoff. That sucker bored me to tears. This movie is not boring - it just rolls at a meticulous pace, as if you're walking with the trio through a very beautiful museum. Expand

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Reviewed by: Marc Mohan
    Nov 15, 2012
    75
    The languid, observational style of director Julia Loktev will frustrate those expecting stuff to, like, happen more, but it has its real rewards.
  2. Reviewed by: Walter Addiego
    Nov 2, 2012
    50
    There's no getting around it. Though it's not without virtues, The Loneliest Planet may try the patience of even the most dedicated lovers of art film.
  3. Reviewed by: Wesley Morris
    Nov 1, 2012
    88
    The movie captures a kind of tragedy of self.