IFC Films | Release Date: October 26, 2012
5.4
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 17 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
7
Mixed:
6
Negative:
4
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
MarcDoyleOct 27, 2012
An absolutely beautifully-shot film. I would be shocked if a not-insignificant percentage of people who see this film didn't plan a trip to Georgia to make this hike. Truly extraordinary. However, very little happens in this film. AndAn absolutely beautifully-shot film. I would be shocked if a not-insignificant percentage of people who see this film didn't plan a trip to Georgia to make this hike. Truly extraordinary. However, very little happens in this film. And that's certainly ok. Sometimes you just have to let art flow by you. No need to be super analytical here. There are essentially two moments of drama to the film, followed by some weighty emotional repercussions, and that's it! But hey, I felt like i was there, it made me think of my boy scout backpacking days, and in that sense, I enjoyed it. But a great film scoring at or near perfect scores from some of these critics? No. I will say that it's better than another critically acclaimed film with the same pacing - Meek's Cutoff. That sucker bored me to tears. This movie is not boring - it just rolls at a meticulous pace, as if you're walking with the trio through a very beautiful museum. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
BKMDec 21, 2012
The Loneliest Planet is a colossal bore that doesn't offer any real payoff of any sort. Yes, the scenery is nice and the film goes to great lengths to accurately depict the ways in which people are unable of communicating with one another,The Loneliest Planet is a colossal bore that doesn't offer any real payoff of any sort. Yes, the scenery is nice and the film goes to great lengths to accurately depict the ways in which people are unable of communicating with one another, but the bottom line is that this movie doesn't have very much to say and yet it takes an extremely long time to do so. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
dante_finnNov 17, 2012
One of the most original odd movies that are interesting. Most of the movie is a wordless mature movie that is emotional and physical at the same time
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
metamomSep 2, 2014
The Loneliest Planet is worth seeing for the scenery alone! This is a marvelous movie to watch while you are doing the dishes or cooking a meal, or while doing two sets of dishes and cooking two meals. There is a bit of nudity at theThe Loneliest Planet is worth seeing for the scenery alone! This is a marvelous movie to watch while you are doing the dishes or cooking a meal, or while doing two sets of dishes and cooking two meals. There is a bit of nudity at the beginning and some groping and moaning scattered through the rest of the movie, but the movie was much more interesting for the landscape than for the acting or the plot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
TerikanMar 4, 2013
The movie is boring, then unrealistic, then all out stupid mixed with repugnant. I cant believe the favorable reviews this garbage got. I had to make an account just to post this. Essentially the couple is not relatable or realistic. ItsThe movie is boring, then unrealistic, then all out stupid mixed with repugnant. I cant believe the favorable reviews this garbage got. I had to make an account just to post this. Essentially the couple is not relatable or realistic. Its sort of sexist against men. Most people take it for granted how men are expected to instinctually react, but thats really female chauvinism. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
iiigoiiiMar 22, 2013
Please, if I can save you the nearly 2 hours this film takes to make its point, your time won't be wasted like mine. This is a movie based on a short story by Tom Bissell; the movie might have been interesting itself as a short. However itPlease, if I can save you the nearly 2 hours this film takes to make its point, your time won't be wasted like mine. This is a movie based on a short story by Tom Bissell; the movie might have been interesting itself as a short. However it drags on for nearly 2 hours, during which time there are literally only a couple of minutes of important scenes. The rest of the time is devoted to trying to set the mood of the relationship between the characters (which could have been done in minutes, not hours)...which unfortunately fails to be interesting or believable.

One of the only saving graces of this movie is the incredible Georgian mountain scenery, and even that is reprised many times in virtually identical shots which themselves drag on so long as to be puzzling.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
3
Cxpn89Oct 25, 2015
If you removed the plot and characters from this movie, I would've given it a significantly higher rating. It starts out alright plotwise. We see the main two characters interacting with each other and the locals, and while nothing grippingIf you removed the plot and characters from this movie, I would've given it a significantly higher rating. It starts out alright plotwise. We see the main two characters interacting with each other and the locals, and while nothing gripping happens, we get the point. One climactic event in the whole story was mildly interesting and a little funny, but nothing interesting happens as a result of it. The resolution takes forever to get to and is fairly ridiculous, yet predictable. The movie gives the viewer no reason to care about any of the characters. I gave it any points at all because the scenery is beautiful. The Georgian landscape fills the screen and we're treated to some amazing, stunning shots. If the entire movie was just shots of the landscape it would've been great, but the two main characters managed to be at once obnoxious and pathetic. They made a visually stunning homage to Georgian geography into a boring and drawn out story about a couple of petty tourists. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews