User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 1526 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JustinM.
    Dec 19, 2001
    10
    So far, this is the only movie I can honestly say has overstepped the bounds of it's hype. What fantasy film could be better than the very series that started it all? Recipe: Take four hobbits, a wizard, elf, king of men, and dwarf. Cast well. Act to golden perfection and add props and special effects to taste. Jackson did all that and more, and cooked up nothing short of a timeless So far, this is the only movie I can honestly say has overstepped the bounds of it's hype. What fantasy film could be better than the very series that started it all? Recipe: Take four hobbits, a wizard, elf, king of men, and dwarf. Cast well. Act to golden perfection and add props and special effects to taste. Jackson did all that and more, and cooked up nothing short of a timeless masterpiece! Long-live such moviemaking! Expand
  2. StephanieB.
    Nov 12, 2002
    10
    This movie was awsome!!!! It may have been differnt from the book but it was Grrrreeeaatttt!!!!! The way they made the movie and the effects and features, i fell in love with it!!!!
  3. AbbyM.
    Feb 24, 2002
    10
    It was the best movie I have ever seen.
  4. M.
    Apr 22, 2002
    10
    OK. I want to give it 11 outta 10 really!!! OMG how good and amazing was this film anyone who gives it lower than 10.... grrrrrrr!!!!!!!!!!!! Basically 3 words... Elijah Jordan Wood! aaaahhhh.
  5. K-dog
    Jun 18, 2002
    10
    This movie was one of the best movies i have ever seen. Not only is it true to the book, but the visuals and interpretation of it were beautiful. Anyone who dares give this movie anything below an 8 has their head up their ass. No Character development? Its a #*@*ing trilogy! you cant expect all the development in the first movie! Overall, all i have to say is, when this movie comes on This movie was one of the best movies i have ever seen. Not only is it true to the book, but the visuals and interpretation of it were beautiful. Anyone who dares give this movie anything below an 8 has their head up their ass. No Character development? Its a #*@*ing trilogy! you cant expect all the development in the first movie! Overall, all i have to say is, when this movie comes on dvd, i'm gonna buy it and watch it over and over again. Expand
  6. JJ
    Jun 19, 2002
    10
    An Exellent, well acted movie altogether. Very beautiful and breath taking. See It!
  7. Matt
    Aug 12, 2002
    10
    Intoxicating in it's imagery and imagination, "Rings" is the most visceral moviegoing experience since "2001." An incredible monument to J.R.R. Tolkien, it's one of the best completely fantastic films you're apt to see for some time.
  8. DanW.
    Sep 24, 2002
    10
    Wow, I'm suprised at the lack of intelligence in some of the people who made comments about how bad the movie was. You're saying it had the same scene repeated over and over again yet I saw about 8 different people in a row say that there was no character development. Sounds like repetition to me. For those who say they didn't like the movie because it was too long I say Wow, I'm suprised at the lack of intelligence in some of the people who made comments about how bad the movie was. You're saying it had the same scene repeated over and over again yet I saw about 8 different people in a row say that there was no character development. Sounds like repetition to me. For those who say they didn't like the movie because it was too long I say one thing. Thank your lucky stars. Obviously you haven't read any of the books. The first book on which the movie is based is well over 500 pages long, and many scenes in the book that might "develop the characters better" were but out to make it shorter so people like you wouldn't complain. People who say that this movie lacked intelligence or is built for a child, try reading the books. I guarantee you no child under the age of 12 will be able to grasp the words that make up the storie. To the person who said this was a movie for nerdy people who ran around casting spells at each other. I'm sorry, I guess being labelled a nerd is the price you pay for having an imagination. This movie is about fantasy, it's about believing in the unbelievable and about good triumphing over evil. In this day and age, thats something everyone can look to for support, imagination or not. Props to you Tolkien, I'm sure you would be turning in your grave if you read the series of slander written about a work of art such as yours. Expand
  9. ChadG.
    Dec 10, 2003
    10
    A masterpiece. The second best film of the trilogy after the miracle that is ROTK.
  10. Chickenmouth
    Dec 15, 2003
    10
    I realize this isn't a forum, but seriously... "Worse, everything here is a rudimentary sword/sorcery cliche" Tolkien was one of the first fantasy writers and they weren't cliches when he wrote them... but Peter Jackson's done a great job adapting and this is one of the best movies ever made, I think.
  11. SamG.
    Dec 12, 2004
    10
    I think the reviewers below me need to take another good look at why people say these movies are great. They complain about lack of character development and overused CGI, yet they are completely ignoring the HEART of this enterprise. Not once does Peter Jackson move a scene forward, especially in this first movie of the trilogy, without showing the characters; their feelings, hopes, I think the reviewers below me need to take another good look at why people say these movies are great. They complain about lack of character development and overused CGI, yet they are completely ignoring the HEART of this enterprise. Not once does Peter Jackson move a scene forward, especially in this first movie of the trilogy, without showing the characters; their feelings, hopes, dreams, fears and regrets. We get to see each main character conquer their fear in some way, in the face of grander adversity then appears on the screen more than probably once a year (if at all). Also, the entire crew clearly had a philosophy of not letting special effects overpower the heart of this movie. When something could be filmed without CGI, it WAS filmed without CGI. That's why, if any research is done, their were so many methods of making the hobbits look small, the most rarely used being CGI. Mostly, I feel complaints against this movie surface after the fact that it wins Oscars, as backlash surfaces against anything with so much success. Overall, this movie deserves the highest grade imaginable as it grabs your heart and doesn't let go. To Mr. Matthew A.'s statement he didn't fall in love with it, I can only counter with the fact that I did. But I think an entire generation has as well. Expand
  12. BenjaminA.
    Jun 17, 2004
    10
    One of the greatest movies of all time.
  13. LAW
    Dec 19, 2001
    10
    The best sound, art direction, visual effects, casting and over-all direction in a movie I have ever seen. No other director has put so much thought into a fantasy movie that satisfies so completely. It attacks & woos you at the same time. Jackson's talent, patience and creative genuis has set the bar to the highest it's ever been. It's about time. Hollywood hacks, be The best sound, art direction, visual effects, casting and over-all direction in a movie I have ever seen. No other director has put so much thought into a fantasy movie that satisfies so completely. It attacks & woos you at the same time. Jackson's talent, patience and creative genuis has set the bar to the highest it's ever been. It's about time. Hollywood hacks, be envious. Almost 3 hours and people around me sighed at the end because it was over, and then aplauded. An experience I will not soon forget. Expand
  14. AllyT.
    Nov 11, 2002
    10
    Some airhead said this movie had a childish plot. Read the book you loser, can a child 10 years and under possibly understand all that, let alone write it? I thought this movie should've deserved the amount of Academy Awards it was nominated for. But NO. Even if they're nominated, and practically everyone fell in love with them, a fantasy film never gets an award for Best Some airhead said this movie had a childish plot. Read the book you loser, can a child 10 years and under possibly understand all that, let alone write it? I thought this movie should've deserved the amount of Academy Awards it was nominated for. But NO. Even if they're nominated, and practically everyone fell in love with them, a fantasy film never gets an award for Best Picture, they just get nominated for it. I can't believe A Beautiful Mind won... This movie rocks! So does the book! And the acting was... fabulous... I can't believe Ian Mckellen didn't win the Academy Award practically everyone thought he deserved. Thank God Peter Jackson didn't make his orcs goblins, and Ringraiths a.ka. Black Riders all digitilized like George Lucas might've. No, he had some actors wear the costumes of them, and they ended up to be A LOT scarier than if they were computerized. Thank you sooo much, Mr. Jackson! Expand
  15. PoseurCritick
    Nov 18, 2002
    10
    If I were to cop out and write a one-liner review (ought to be a crime) it would read: It's not long enough. More to the point: sticks and stones may make it more difficult for Tolkien appreciators to grab the DVD when piled high around the displays, but polysyllables will never stop us from enjoying it.
  16. FrodoFan
    Dec 19, 2002
    10
    When the movie came to theaters i didn't see it. I didn't really care that much. Then I rented it and when "Directed by Peter Jackson" came up on the scream after the 3 hour action packed fantasy movie ended, I let out a cry, turned to my sister and said "That was REALLY good!" It is my absolute favorite movie. And out of a 10 I would give it a 100. Whoever said the special When the movie came to theaters i didn't see it. I didn't really care that much. Then I rented it and when "Directed by Peter Jackson" came up on the scream after the 3 hour action packed fantasy movie ended, I let out a cry, turned to my sister and said "That was REALLY good!" It is my absolute favorite movie. And out of a 10 I would give it a 100. Whoever said the special effects were "laughable" needs help. I am desperate to see the Two Towers and whoever saids Peter Jackson chose a tasteless name needs help too. Frodo is such a relatable character. I liked Harry Potter the first time I saw the movie. But the second time I saw it I was thinking "Will this never end???" But with LOTR, I watched it every day for a week. I love it. I laugh and I cry. The special effects are awesome, it is never boring despite it's length, the characters are relatable, and it is an overall masterpiece! I can't wait to see the Two Towers and Return of the King!!! Expand
  17. Corey
    Nov 28, 2003
    10
    If there ever was a movie that i would marry this would be it. I love this movie. The greatest movie ever made. Overwhelming!! Awe inspiring!!! mocostrulating!!! hapervestulating!!! I'm making up words because there are none that exist that can describe this movie.
  18. ElendilA.
    Dec 12, 2003
    10
    Wonderful!!!!!
  19. JonasM.
    Dec 15, 2003
    10
    A true masterpiece!
  20. MartinG.
    Dec 18, 2003
    10
    Great movie, great direction, great photography. Outstanding and amusing from the first minute. The Best: the music and the landscapes, also Sir Ian´s McKellen´s performance The Worst: maybe the end, but it is reasonable because it´s the first movie of the trilogy.
  21. Aug 31, 2010
    10
    Its been a while since I read the book, but from what I remember, the movie misses out a few things. But it doesn't matter! This is the perfect fantasy movie. It may be a bit clichéd at times, but that is expected. Watching it for the second (or maybe third) time, I realize how perfect this is, and how every other movie of this genre tries to live up to the bar set so high byIts been a while since I read the book, but from what I remember, the movie misses out a few things. But it doesn't matter! This is the perfect fantasy movie. It may be a bit clichéd at times, but that is expected. Watching it for the second (or maybe third) time, I realize how perfect this is, and how every other movie of this genre tries to live up to the bar set so high by this movie. Expand
  22. Nov 27, 2010
    10
    Possibly the best movie ever. It feels like your seeing the book, I unfortunetly watched the movie then read the book, such a mistake. Visually stunning. Sir Ian Mckellen was brilliant as Gandalf, this movie is almost flawless. That is why I give it a ten. The fools who rate this movie low should be ashamed!
  23. Feb 11, 2012
    10
    A epic adventure masterpiece. I had to watch several times to understand some of the dialogue but when I do understand, it is wonderful well done. I have never read the books but when I was in a bookstore, soon after viewing the movie at the cinemas, I bought the novel.
  24. Jan 9, 2012
    10
    You could easily tell the people that rate the film a 0/10 are either trolling or die hard fans of rival series such as Harry Potter and I pity those shameful morons because this film is excellent and a marvel at its time. When I first watched this film as a kid I have never seen anything like it on movie ever before. It was intense, it was interesting, the soundtrack is excellent and mostYou could easily tell the people that rate the film a 0/10 are either trolling or die hard fans of rival series such as Harry Potter and I pity those shameful morons because this film is excellent and a marvel at its time. When I first watched this film as a kid I have never seen anything like it on movie ever before. It was intense, it was interesting, the soundtrack is excellent and most importantly the ensemble cast was an absolutly perfect. My favourite scene was the council at Rivendell. It is very interesting how each character has their different opinion on the Ring and the best battle sequence was during Moria, of course the Cave Troll made it great. I personally praise the acting of Sean "Boromir Bean, Sean "Samwise" Astin and Ian "Gandalf" Mckellen I thought those 3 stood out because of how dramatic they can act without making a fool of themselves. When the film hit on Dvds and Videos I immediatly bought it along with the other 2 movies in support of the how inspiring and influentional those films were to me. Expand
  25. Sep 1, 2011
    9
    indeed,a fabulous work of art......highly captivating movie .....a great start to a highly acclaimed trilogy of cinema...im anticipating a lot to watch the remaining movies of the trilogy.....
  26. Dec 9, 2011
    10
    For hardcore fans, Peter Jackson's vision of the Middle-Earth may be a disrespect to the source material, but for me, "The Fellowship of the Ring" is the most faithful adaptation you cold ask of. Many people were bored by its length, but I found the first chapter of the trilogy an epic masterpiece.
  27. Dec 2, 2012
    10
    It's surprising when you find one of these rare epics that still manage to captivate and spellbind over such a long period of time. The visuals were absolutely majestic, yet the story managed to unfold with such grace and never dawdled. The actors proved worthy of the role they played and kept up their spirit throughout. It was also nice to feel a little light-heartedness among theIt's surprising when you find one of these rare epics that still manage to captivate and spellbind over such a long period of time. The visuals were absolutely majestic, yet the story managed to unfold with such grace and never dawdled. The actors proved worthy of the role they played and kept up their spirit throughout. It was also nice to feel a little light-heartedness among the fantasy, drama and suspense that occurred. To be honest, I couldn't really point out what was actually bad about it, because it just looks like one of the best fantasy epics ever made. Expand
  28. Jul 28, 2012
    10
    Wonderful movie adaptation of a wonderful tale. I'm very pleased with how the different species all have different movements and with how big the adventure feels.
  29. Jan 20, 2012
    10
    I am happy to see the awarness of the community. Reviews of those people who do not understand epicness and quality of this movie from some reason , are found unhelpfull. On the other hand almost everyone agrees with those who give compliments to this movie , peter jackson , and of course great tolkien. I watched whole trilogy many times and i can only say , that it is the greates trilogyI am happy to see the awarness of the community. Reviews of those people who do not understand epicness and quality of this movie from some reason , are found unhelpfull. On the other hand almost everyone agrees with those who give compliments to this movie , peter jackson , and of course great tolkien. I watched whole trilogy many times and i can only say , that it is the greates trilogy ever. By my opinion all three of these movies are best there is in the movie world. If someone hasnt still watched it , chances are slim but , he should watch it right away , not just this one but whole tirlogy. Thank you community. Expand
  30. Feb 8, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Simply put: One of the greatest movies of all time, and an even better start to the cinematic epic that is the Lord of the Rings trilogy. Amazing visual effects, a gripping story, full of emotion, and a fantastic performance by Ian McKellen as Gandalf, the Fellowship of the Ring is a great open for J.R.R Tolkien's world of Middle Earth. Yes, Tom Bombadil was left out, but when doing adaptations sacrifices must be made, and even though the inclusion of Bombadil would have done nothing other than strengthen the film even more, the film is already a masterpiece. Expand
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. 100
    I see it as nearly perfect: It's one of the best fantasy pictures ever made.
  2. An extraordinary work, grandly conceived, brilliantly executed and wildly entertaining. It's a hobbit's dream, a wizard's delight. And, of course, it's only the beginning.
  3. 70
    Above all, Jackson evokes an almost palpable sense of the will to power trapped within the ring. Without this evocation of the ring's insidious ability to sniff out the potential for corruption and capitalize on it, the entire enterprise would be precious drivel.