User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 1526 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RochelleR.
    Jul 11, 2002
    10
    People. People. People. The show was magnificiant and those who give it lower than a 7 say it was the crummiest? You definitely haven't watched the movie, you guys just probably read some what critics say and copy them just to make yourself look proffesional! The movie did have some character developement in it, the point of the whole story is about fighting and war so you have to People. People. People. The show was magnificiant and those who give it lower than a 7 say it was the crummiest? You definitely haven't watched the movie, you guys just probably read some what critics say and copy them just to make yourself look proffesional! The movie did have some character developement in it, the point of the whole story is about fighting and war so you have to keep the battle scenes and if you ask why it didn't even have an ending... I suggest you read the book! Expand
  2. JasonD.
    Jul 10, 2002
    10
    The reason that movies are made in the first place! I would have sat another three hours. One of the few blockbusters where the CGI effects are used to enhance the story, rather than become the thrust of the story.
  3. JohnnyP.
    Jul 17, 2002
    9
    I'm sick of everyone whining about a lack of character development. Tolkien's stories were always sweeping epics (the Silmarillion crosses the line into myth), not character studies. If they wanted to be even truer to the books they could have included some folk songs. Wouldn't that have pissed people off even more. If you were expecting piercing insight into Frodo's I'm sick of everyone whining about a lack of character development. Tolkien's stories were always sweeping epics (the Silmarillion crosses the line into myth), not character studies. If they wanted to be even truer to the books they could have included some folk songs. Wouldn't that have pissed people off even more. If you were expecting piercing insight into Frodo's existential sense of dread, you were expecting a different movie and I think that accounts for most of the low ratings. Speaking of which, I've never seen the viewer ratings polarized to this extent - all 10's or 0's. Expand
  4. Cassidy
    Aug 14, 2002
    10
    This is the best movie in the world!! it has everything u could ask for...it is by far the best!
  5. Me
    Aug 20, 2002
    10
    To those 2 guys who say it sux. r u guys out of ur mind!? peter jackson did a wonderful job on packing a 300-page book into 3 hours, tho it could have been 4-5 hours cuz of all those additional details and characters that were not in the movie. the names of characters were made by tolkien and plz, its a fantasy world, they shouldn't be called american names. i'm happy it got asTo those 2 guys who say it sux. r u guys out of ur mind!? peter jackson did a wonderful job on packing a 300-page book into 3 hours, tho it could have been 4-5 hours cuz of all those additional details and characters that were not in the movie. the names of characters were made by tolkien and plz, its a fantasy world, they shouldn't be called american names. i'm happy it got as many awards as beautiful mind did. it's just too good! the week after the movie i read the whole trilogy and now i keep getting all the lord of the rings stuff, even dvd tho i don't have a dvd player. boy i can't wait for the next one!!!! Expand
  6. HobbitQueen
    Aug 8, 2002
    10
    I fully disagree with "Poopinski", yes her/his name speaks for it self obviously. The 2nd DVD was beyond expectations and was incredible. The film itself made me an obessed LOTR fan. Especially FOTR...the books are also amazing. Peter Jackson couldn't have done better except maybe did not edit out the extra 30 min. which is only available on the extended version. Lord of the Rings I fully disagree with "Poopinski", yes her/his name speaks for it self obviously. The 2nd DVD was beyond expectations and was incredible. The film itself made me an obessed LOTR fan. Especially FOTR...the books are also amazing. Peter Jackson couldn't have done better except maybe did not edit out the extra 30 min. which is only available on the extended version. Lord of the Rings totally rock. Expand
  7. MartyH.
    Sep 1, 2002
    10
    This movie is part one of the best book in the world. J.R.R. Tolkien is the most influential man in all of the fantasy genre. Without his book there would be no beauty in my life. This is because the Lord of the Rings is beautiful in itself. Nicole, whoever you are you can burn in eternal hellfire because of what you have said about the movie, the book and anything pertaining to the best This movie is part one of the best book in the world. J.R.R. Tolkien is the most influential man in all of the fantasy genre. Without his book there would be no beauty in my life. This is because the Lord of the Rings is beautiful in itself. Nicole, whoever you are you can burn in eternal hellfire because of what you have said about the movie, the book and anything pertaining to the best book of all time. I hope your family will realize the error in your ways and abandon you. Next time you have something to say about Lord of the Rings just keep it in your prissy stuckup snobby mouth. Queen of the Damned is nothing compared to the awesome work of poetry that is the Lord of the Rings. If I were able to make my vote above ten I would give the Lord of the Rings over 1 billion, because that is the amount that it has already made in theaters worldwide. Can you tell me how much Queen of the Damned got? Guess what there are also two more movies coming out. Can you say highest grossing trilogy of all time (Even surpassing Star Wars)? You probably don't like Star Wars either ... And don't think for a minute that I like Harry Potter because that is crap, just like you. J.R.R. Tolkien lives on in his books which are the embodiment of all that is right and just and good in the world. Thank you. Expand
  8. MichaelK.
    Sep 14, 2002
    10
    "There are those who live, Frodo, who do not deserve to. There are those who die, that do not deserve to. It is what we do with the time we have that makes the difference." Gandalf. The movie captures the essence of the book in a very genuine way. So much is left out, but what is left in follows the story right to the heart of it. It is really the story of Frodo and Sam. It is the ageless "There are those who live, Frodo, who do not deserve to. There are those who die, that do not deserve to. It is what we do with the time we have that makes the difference." Gandalf. The movie captures the essence of the book in a very genuine way. So much is left out, but what is left in follows the story right to the heart of it. It is really the story of Frodo and Sam. It is the ageless story of the fight between good and evil. It is the story of a loving friendship that prevails against all odds. It is the story of winning, against all odds. It is only a story, but then, isn't all life just a story. If I had the chance to be in the story of Frodo, and the ring, I would pledge to him my sword. Stories are just a thing of the mind. So is life. Michael. Expand
  9. BengerH.
    Oct 1, 2003
    10
    What can i say about the lord of the rings, everything! It had action, comedy, suspence, and more. Peter Jackson made a great novel an even better. Elijah Wood, Orlando bloom, and more made the move great with their talents. This movie we make u belif that it is true becase of the plot, setting, and the great battle scenes. I've watched this movie atleast 30 times and it is still What can i say about the lord of the rings, everything! It had action, comedy, suspence, and more. Peter Jackson made a great novel an even better. Elijah Wood, Orlando bloom, and more made the move great with their talents. This movie we make u belif that it is true becase of the plot, setting, and the great battle scenes. I've watched this movie atleast 30 times and it is still exiting. IF u haven't seen this movie, then u have not lived. See the movie all ur friends r talking about and see the two suspensful sequels!!! Expand
  10. TiffanyJ.
    Jan 7, 2003
    10
    This movie was by far the best movie i have EVER seen, and trust me, I have seen A LOT of movies. It pisses me off to see people not like it.. a lot of time, effort and money went into this movie. You dont like the movie eh? The why did it make over $100 million in the first 4 days? Obviously more people like it than don't. Lagolas is so freakin hot. Even if you didnt like the This movie was by far the best movie i have EVER seen, and trust me, I have seen A LOT of movies. It pisses me off to see people not like it.. a lot of time, effort and money went into this movie. You dont like the movie eh? The why did it make over $100 million in the first 4 days? Obviously more people like it than don't. Lagolas is so freakin hot. Even if you didnt like the movie.. you have to admit they did good on the cast! Expand
  11. FOTRRox
    Feb 8, 2003
    10
    I think it's all right for a person to hate this movie, we can't force someone to like this movie. But, the thing is....ALL OF YOUR FREAKIN' SO-CALLED 'EVIDENCE' THAT 'SUPPORTS' YOUR OPINION! No story? If you think that, you either have bad ears, you think the most entertaining movies are the most boring, or you have VERY LOW intelligance. Some of the I think it's all right for a person to hate this movie, we can't force someone to like this movie. But, the thing is....ALL OF YOUR FREAKIN' SO-CALLED 'EVIDENCE' THAT 'SUPPORTS' YOUR OPINION! No story? If you think that, you either have bad ears, you think the most entertaining movies are the most boring, or you have VERY LOW intelligance. Some of the story was narrated in the beginning, you dork! No character development? You couldn't see how Frodo looked so happy (before the Ring was given to him) in the Shire, and all of a sudden his face was full of fear and worry when the Ring was given to him, and learned danger would soon be pursuing him? You didn't see this? Maybe you were looking, but you didn't look close enough, or gather up all the clues (EVERY SINGLE ONE) to lead to support your opinion well. I thought this movie was much more enchanting and magical than the second one which was cold, dirty, and polluted (even though it was supposed to be). The sceneries in this one are absolutely gorgeous. The movie even makes you feel like crying at the end. *sniffle* Way to go, FOTR makers! Expand
  12. LivT.
    Sep 11, 2003
    10
    I think one word could describe this movie- BEAUTIFUL. Andrew J., I'm sorry you thought the movie was boring, but then again, why should anyone who hasn't seen this movie trust a reviewer who can't even spell "wasn't" right?
  13. MichaelR.
    Sep 8, 2003
    10
    Defines the fantasy genre. Possibly the best movie of this type ever made, and benefits from some careful pruning of Tolkien's overly long narrative by Jackson. One unavoidable drawback: my wife had a difficult time following, having never read the book.
  14. Jake
    Jul 17, 2005
    10
    Well, Ilze S., if you think there's no storyline, maybe you should pay more attention, if you can focus for more than an hour-and-a-half. Although the fight scenes, special effects, and costumes are breathtaking, the heart of the movie is the story, one of the greatest tales of Good and Evil of all time, ever. For that, we can giveTolkien ALL the credit. All in all, this trilogy is a Well, Ilze S., if you think there's no storyline, maybe you should pay more attention, if you can focus for more than an hour-and-a-half. Although the fight scenes, special effects, and costumes are breathtaking, the heart of the movie is the story, one of the greatest tales of Good and Evil of all time, ever. For that, we can giveTolkien ALL the credit. All in all, this trilogy is a masterpiece, and as a long time fan of the books, they've lived up to ALL of my expectations. (except Tom Bombadil, sadly......maybe they should do a T.V. series spin off!) Expand
  15. BeccaP.
    Aug 3, 2005
    10
    Great movie!
  16. LisaG.
    Sep 12, 2005
    10
    Wonderful, just wonderful.... even 4 years later.
  17. AdnanA.
    Jul 19, 2008
    10
    When I watched the lord of the rings for the first time I was either 9 or 10 and I didn't understand a single thing about this movie. I was like why the hell is everybody jumping for this ring. Now many years later the lord of the rings trilogy remains my favorite! Story... If you get the plot then it's a story that's gonna captivate you even after the end of the movie. When I watched the lord of the rings for the first time I was either 9 or 10 and I didn't understand a single thing about this movie. I was like why the hell is everybody jumping for this ring. Now many years later the lord of the rings trilogy remains my favorite! Story... If you get the plot then it's a story that's gonna captivate you even after the end of the movie. Kudos to J.R.R.Tolkien for creating such a world and Peter Jackson for filling this world with life. Acting... Every character is special and all the credit goes to the actors. Each and every actor, has carried out their roles with dedication and devotion. No complains. Direction... I'd only say that no other person in this universe could have made lord of the rings other than Peter Jackson. Visuals... The fighting scenes are exhilarating! Visuals are one of the strongest points of this movie. It's not easy for a 3 hour movie to keep you entertained for long but this movie makes you beg for more! These movies are made once in a decade and to not see them is the biggest mistake of your life. Expand
  18. FayeG.
    Dec 19, 2001
    10
    I LOVED IT!!!!!!
  19. IanM.
    Dec 22, 2001
    10
    Possibly the best movie I have ever seen. The sense of magic combined with the powers and subtle differences depicted in each of the many races within the world conjured from the genius of Tolkien is phenomenal. Graphically, technically and emotionally stunning. See it.
  20. ElvisB.
    Nov 13, 2002
    10
    A masterpiece!!!
  21. Gilbert
    Nov 14, 2002
    10
    Wake up people...the emperor isn't wearing any clothes! It's a truly great movie, the Star Wars of our generation, not a crap overrated blah! No-one'll think the less of you if you admit it, don't you worry! 'Course, at 170 minutes, it'll bore the crap out of you if you're not much into Tolkien...but that's your fault, nimrod, not the film's. Wake up people...the emperor isn't wearing any clothes! It's a truly great movie, the Star Wars of our generation, not a crap overrated blah! No-one'll think the less of you if you admit it, don't you worry! 'Course, at 170 minutes, it'll bore the crap out of you if you're not much into Tolkien...but that's your fault, nimrod, not the film's. Oh, and how DARE you insinuate that Tolkien is evidence of the dumbing-down of Western Culture? Jesus H Christ, a film is made, the themes don't appeal to your mindset, and it's the end of the damn universe? Get the hell out of here! Expand
  22. Shannon
    Nov 2, 2002
    10
    The best film out there! No nudity or sex or cussing make this movie great and true to it's Christian values (the author of the books, Tolkien, was Christian). I have finished reading the first two books in time for the first two movies. I hope the second film takes home more oscars than the first one.
  23. GeorgeW.
    Nov 22, 2002
    10
    An epic fantasy film of the kind I've never seen and doubt I will ever see again.
  24. FMAVoltaire
    Nov 29, 2002
    10
    Rating movies is a subjective thing, but only to a point. Anybody who rates this movie lower than 7 is simply seeking attention, and should not be taken seriously. Sort of like the guy who walks into a museum, looks at a Van Gogh, and says "my kid could do that with finger paints." Whatever. If you get your jollies by bashing a movie that 90+ percent of the population thinks is something Rating movies is a subjective thing, but only to a point. Anybody who rates this movie lower than 7 is simply seeking attention, and should not be taken seriously. Sort of like the guy who walks into a museum, looks at a Van Gogh, and says "my kid could do that with finger paints." Whatever. If you get your jollies by bashing a movie that 90+ percent of the population thinks is something close to a cinematic masterpiece, then you're a bit demented, don't you think? Expand
  25. DuncanS.
    Jan 15, 2002
    10
    Rapture!
  26. GeordieS.
    Jan 17, 2002
    10
    Out of this world - I loved it!
  27. LinseyP.
    Jan 18, 2002
    10
    I loved the movie. It surpassed my expectations.
  28. JohnC.
    Jan 19, 2002
    10
    This was one of the best movies I have ever seen. Everything was great!!
  29. SarahF.
    Dec 23, 2002
    10
    Legolas is hot. and this movie is awesome.
  30. BevisBoy
    Feb 21, 2002
    10
    Wow...splendid stuff. I read the book first and then saw the movie, and was completely blown away. An epic story made into an epic movie. And frankly speaking, the first book was actually very dull, compared to the next two books. So, hoping that the next two movies will top this one.
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. 100
    I see it as nearly perfect: It's one of the best fantasy pictures ever made.
  2. An extraordinary work, grandly conceived, brilliantly executed and wildly entertaining. It's a hobbit's dream, a wizard's delight. And, of course, it's only the beginning.
  3. 70
    Above all, Jackson evokes an almost palpable sense of the will to power trapped within the ring. Without this evocation of the ring's insidious ability to sniff out the potential for corruption and capitalize on it, the entire enterprise would be precious drivel.