User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 1459 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JohnG.
    Jun 3, 2002
    10
    Amazing....everything about LOTR was amazing and unforgetable....it was so deep and in depth....it was not boring for a second....in all of the 3 hours.
  2. RochelleR.
    Jul 11, 2002
    10
    People. People. People. The show was magnificiant and those who give it lower than a 7 say it was the crummiest? You definitely haven't watched the movie, you guys just probably read some what critics say and copy them just to make yourself look proffesional! The movie did have some character developement in it, the point of the whole story is about fighting and war so you have to People. People. People. The show was magnificiant and those who give it lower than a 7 say it was the crummiest? You definitely haven't watched the movie, you guys just probably read some what critics say and copy them just to make yourself look proffesional! The movie did have some character developement in it, the point of the whole story is about fighting and war so you have to keep the battle scenes and if you ask why it didn't even have an ending... I suggest you read the book! Expand
  3. JasonD.
    Jul 10, 2002
    10
    The reason that movies are made in the first place! I would have sat another three hours. One of the few blockbusters where the CGI effects are used to enhance the story, rather than become the thrust of the story.
  4. Dilmano
    Jul 8, 2002
    10
    I'm a bit confused with some of the criticism of this movie..."the same scene over and over again..." That line is repeated in several reviews. Huh? Which scene was that? It appears that this is just the same movie review, over and over again. And our old friend "character development" gets trotted out as another example of the shortcomings of this film. Folks, give it a chance. As I'm a bit confused with some of the criticism of this movie..."the same scene over and over again..." That line is repeated in several reviews. Huh? Which scene was that? It appears that this is just the same movie review, over and over again. And our old friend "character development" gets trotted out as another example of the shortcomings of this film. Folks, give it a chance. As someone earlier mentioned, it's a trilogy. I could already see changes at work in several characters in just the first film. And sometimes, even in the most respected films, characters DON'T develop or change. They just are what they are, and here's their story. Don't mistake plot development for character development. I had no desire to see this film when it came out. I'd tried to read the books way back when I was in college, but just couldn't get into them (I've never been much of a Fantasy fan). My husband, however, is a major LOTR fan, and convinced me to go. I've seen it 4 times since then, and can't wait for the DVD and the new installment in December. Now, I may not be the sharpest knife in the drawer, but I'm not a child, nor do I have the intellect of one, and yet I found the film exciting, funny, moving, thought-provoking, and just plain FUN. (And so did my husband, the big LOTR fan.) I cared about the characters and found them compelling. And I had no problem with the ending. Of course, different strokes for different folks! Expand
  5. Cassidy
    Aug 14, 2002
    10
    This is the best movie in the world!! it has everything u could ask for...it is by far the best!
  6. Me
    Aug 20, 2002
    10
    To those 2 guys who say it sux. r u guys out of ur mind!? peter jackson did a wonderful job on packing a 300-page book into 3 hours, tho it could have been 4-5 hours cuz of all those additional details and characters that were not in the movie. the names of characters were made by tolkien and plz, its a fantasy world, they shouldn't be called american names. i'm happy it got asTo those 2 guys who say it sux. r u guys out of ur mind!? peter jackson did a wonderful job on packing a 300-page book into 3 hours, tho it could have been 4-5 hours cuz of all those additional details and characters that were not in the movie. the names of characters were made by tolkien and plz, its a fantasy world, they shouldn't be called american names. i'm happy it got as many awards as beautiful mind did. it's just too good! the week after the movie i read the whole trilogy and now i keep getting all the lord of the rings stuff, even dvd tho i don't have a dvd player. boy i can't wait for the next one!!!! Expand
  7. HobbitQueen
    Aug 8, 2002
    10
    I fully disagree with "Poopinski", yes her/his name speaks for it self obviously. The 2nd DVD was beyond expectations and was incredible. The film itself made me an obessed LOTR fan. Especially FOTR...the books are also amazing. Peter Jackson couldn't have done better except maybe did not edit out the extra 30 min. which is only available on the extended version. Lord of the Rings I fully disagree with "Poopinski", yes her/his name speaks for it self obviously. The 2nd DVD was beyond expectations and was incredible. The film itself made me an obessed LOTR fan. Especially FOTR...the books are also amazing. Peter Jackson couldn't have done better except maybe did not edit out the extra 30 min. which is only available on the extended version. Lord of the Rings totally rock. Expand
  8. JamesF.
    Aug 8, 2002
    10
    Don't mean to be a bandwagon jumper, but his movie is excellent. I, for one, love fantasy films, and this has got to be the greatest of that genre ever made. However, the great thing is youi don't have to eb a fantasy film lover to ike this movie. It's like star wars only fantasy (except I didn't really care for star wars), its a film that anybody of any age can enjoy Don't mean to be a bandwagon jumper, but his movie is excellent. I, for one, love fantasy films, and this has got to be the greatest of that genre ever made. However, the great thing is youi don't have to eb a fantasy film lover to ike this movie. It's like star wars only fantasy (except I didn't really care for star wars), its a film that anybody of any age can enjoy so long as they have imagination and don't mind a long, epic movie. Expand
  9. MartyH.
    Sep 1, 2002
    10
    This movie is part one of the best book in the world. J.R.R. Tolkien is the most influential man in all of the fantasy genre. Without his book there would be no beauty in my life. This is because the Lord of the Rings is beautiful in itself. Nicole, whoever you are you can burn in eternal hellfire because of what you have said about the movie, the book and anything pertaining to the best This movie is part one of the best book in the world. J.R.R. Tolkien is the most influential man in all of the fantasy genre. Without his book there would be no beauty in my life. This is because the Lord of the Rings is beautiful in itself. Nicole, whoever you are you can burn in eternal hellfire because of what you have said about the movie, the book and anything pertaining to the best book of all time. I hope your family will realize the error in your ways and abandon you. Next time you have something to say about Lord of the Rings just keep it in your prissy stuckup snobby mouth. Queen of the Damned is nothing compared to the awesome work of poetry that is the Lord of the Rings. If I were able to make my vote above ten I would give the Lord of the Rings over 1 billion, because that is the amount that it has already made in theaters worldwide. Can you tell me how much Queen of the Damned got? Guess what there are also two more movies coming out. Can you say highest grossing trilogy of all time (Even surpassing Star Wars)? You probably don't like Star Wars either ... And don't think for a minute that I like Harry Potter because that is crap, just like you. J.R.R. Tolkien lives on in his books which are the embodiment of all that is right and just and good in the world. Thank you. Expand
  10. MichaelK.
    Sep 14, 2002
    10
    "There are those who live, Frodo, who do not deserve to. There are those who die, that do not deserve to. It is what we do with the time we have that makes the difference." Gandalf. The movie captures the essence of the book in a very genuine way. So much is left out, but what is left in follows the story right to the heart of it. It is really the story of Frodo and Sam. It is the ageless "There are those who live, Frodo, who do not deserve to. There are those who die, that do not deserve to. It is what we do with the time we have that makes the difference." Gandalf. The movie captures the essence of the book in a very genuine way. So much is left out, but what is left in follows the story right to the heart of it. It is really the story of Frodo and Sam. It is the ageless story of the fight between good and evil. It is the story of a loving friendship that prevails against all odds. It is the story of winning, against all odds. It is only a story, but then, isn't all life just a story. If I had the chance to be in the story of Frodo, and the ring, I would pledge to him my sword. Stories are just a thing of the mind. So is life. Michael. Expand
  11. ElizabethF.
    Sep 28, 2002
    10
    The beauty of this film is that it appeals to those who have read The Lord of the Rings as well as those who haven't. Newcomers (most of them) are intrigued by portrayal of the characters and storyline, whereas the old are captured once again by Tolkien's epic. The acting cannot be faulted; it was convincing. And Peter Jackson did well in choosing the parts of the story to cut The beauty of this film is that it appeals to those who have read The Lord of the Rings as well as those who haven't. Newcomers (most of them) are intrigued by portrayal of the characters and storyline, whereas the old are captured once again by Tolkien's epic. The acting cannot be faulted; it was convincing. And Peter Jackson did well in choosing the parts of the story to cut out. Of course, no movie is complete without a good accompanying score, and Howard Shore was truly magical. It was not about character development. In fact, in the books, there was very little until later, much later in the story. It should be more that enough that the characters were stunningly portrayed and cunningly acted out. Take, for instance, Frodo Baggins. At bag end, he is happy. And why shouldn't he be? His life is perfect. He is rich and well-liked in the community. When his beloved uncle disappears, he is sad - but not overly so, because he respects Bilbo. But Elijah Wood conveys his misery perfectly when the truth of the ring is revealed, and his acceptance of his task. His desperate flee from the Ringwraiths, his fear, and the doom that he brings upon him at the council - all clearly seen through the smallest of actions and speech. Then the journey through the mines, "a pity Bilbo didn't kill [Gollum] when he had the chance," the revelations in Lórien, "I cannot do this alone," and the exceptional courage in Amon Hen, "can you protect me from yourself?" serve to make Frodo Baggins a formidable character in the movie of the year. But I am surprised at some of the comments posted here. One person complains that it was too violent for children. I don't mean to sound insulting, but this person has obviously never read the books. A child would never grasp the concepts in The Lord of the Rings. Of course, if the original reviewer was a child prodigy with an I.Q. of 180 and attended Oxford for literature at age 15, forgive me. For the comment about the two "annoying short guys," those short guys are HOBBITS, and they are the main characters in the story. To the person who called it "a nerdy movie for nerdy people... that [run] around outside pretending to cast spells on each other," I am sorry that some of us have a desire for good literature. As for the comments about length... try reading it. And the one review to cap them all: "Sean R. gave it a 5: This is one of those movies where you need to expect an 500 page story crammed not action. The action weren't that good and the demon characters looked really cheesy. The plot also really didn't make a whole lot of sense either. The thing I will never get over though are the names Frodo, Bilbo. Did Mike Tyson name these guys?" It is pitiable. Especially the last two sentences. Kudos to you, Peter Jackson and co. The Fellowship of the Ring is truly a magnificent movie, and certainly does the book justice. Expand
  12. BengerH.
    Oct 1, 2003
    10
    What can i say about the lord of the rings, everything! It had action, comedy, suspence, and more. Peter Jackson made a great novel an even better. Elijah Wood, Orlando bloom, and more made the move great with their talents. This movie we make u belif that it is true becase of the plot, setting, and the great battle scenes. I've watched this movie atleast 30 times and it is still What can i say about the lord of the rings, everything! It had action, comedy, suspence, and more. Peter Jackson made a great novel an even better. Elijah Wood, Orlando bloom, and more made the move great with their talents. This movie we make u belif that it is true becase of the plot, setting, and the great battle scenes. I've watched this movie atleast 30 times and it is still exiting. IF u haven't seen this movie, then u have not lived. See the movie all ur friends r talking about and see the two suspensful sequels!!! Expand
  13. TiffanyJ.
    Jan 7, 2003
    10
    This movie was by far the best movie i have EVER seen, and trust me, I have seen A LOT of movies. It pisses me off to see people not like it.. a lot of time, effort and money went into this movie. You dont like the movie eh? The why did it make over $100 million in the first 4 days? Obviously more people like it than don't. Lagolas is so freakin hot. Even if you didnt like the This movie was by far the best movie i have EVER seen, and trust me, I have seen A LOT of movies. It pisses me off to see people not like it.. a lot of time, effort and money went into this movie. You dont like the movie eh? The why did it make over $100 million in the first 4 days? Obviously more people like it than don't. Lagolas is so freakin hot. Even if you didnt like the movie.. you have to admit they did good on the cast! Expand
  14. FOTRRox
    Feb 8, 2003
    10
    I think it's all right for a person to hate this movie, we can't force someone to like this movie. But, the thing is....ALL OF YOUR FREAKIN' SO-CALLED 'EVIDENCE' THAT 'SUPPORTS' YOUR OPINION! No story? If you think that, you either have bad ears, you think the most entertaining movies are the most boring, or you have VERY LOW intelligance. Some of the I think it's all right for a person to hate this movie, we can't force someone to like this movie. But, the thing is....ALL OF YOUR FREAKIN' SO-CALLED 'EVIDENCE' THAT 'SUPPORTS' YOUR OPINION! No story? If you think that, you either have bad ears, you think the most entertaining movies are the most boring, or you have VERY LOW intelligance. Some of the story was narrated in the beginning, you dork! No character development? You couldn't see how Frodo looked so happy (before the Ring was given to him) in the Shire, and all of a sudden his face was full of fear and worry when the Ring was given to him, and learned danger would soon be pursuing him? You didn't see this? Maybe you were looking, but you didn't look close enough, or gather up all the clues (EVERY SINGLE ONE) to lead to support your opinion well. I thought this movie was much more enchanting and magical than the second one which was cold, dirty, and polluted (even though it was supposed to be). The sceneries in this one are absolutely gorgeous. The movie even makes you feel like crying at the end. *sniffle* Way to go, FOTR makers! Expand
  15. SamanthaH.
    Apr 13, 2003
    10
    All the peps worry cool and frodo wasthe coolest.
  16. raVen
    Jul 19, 2003
    10
    Beautifully done--Tolkien was not betrayed. Abridged, yes, but never betrayed. Beyond the endless eyecandy, what I loved most was that it wasn't made specifically for the large segment of our population that would rather watch a movie than read the great book it was based on. "Fellowship" has action and swordplay, but doesn't depend on them. The characters are fantastical, but Beautifully done--Tolkien was not betrayed. Abridged, yes, but never betrayed. Beyond the endless eyecandy, what I loved most was that it wasn't made specifically for the large segment of our population that would rather watch a movie than read the great book it was based on. "Fellowship" has action and swordplay, but doesn't depend on them. The characters are fantastical, but not unreal. It's a special effects gem that isn't dumb. And this one's only the beginning... Expand
  17. LivT.
    Sep 11, 2003
    10
    I think one word could describe this movie- BEAUTIFUL. Andrew J., I'm sorry you thought the movie was boring, but then again, why should anyone who hasn't seen this movie trust a reviewer who can't even spell "wasn't" right?
  18. MichaelR.
    Sep 8, 2003
    10
    Defines the fantasy genre. Possibly the best movie of this type ever made, and benefits from some careful pruning of Tolkien's overly long narrative by Jackson. One unavoidable drawback: my wife had a difficult time following, having never read the book.
  19. a.smith
    Nov 18, 2004
    10
    The film was bloody brilliant also my kids agree to if we could we would of rated the film 20 out of 20. But them was say it no good what to look agin and see what thay like seen as people all have different points all things so if thay done like it thay should not watch in the first place.
  20. JaneA.
    Aug 8, 2004
    10
    I love the Lord of the Rings films (and books). See the extended editions.
  21. Leo
    Dec 8, 2005
    10
    Amazing Film.
  22. Jake
    Jul 17, 2005
    10
    Well, Ilze S., if you think there's no storyline, maybe you should pay more attention, if you can focus for more than an hour-and-a-half. Although the fight scenes, special effects, and costumes are breathtaking, the heart of the movie is the story, one of the greatest tales of Good and Evil of all time, ever. For that, we can giveTolkien ALL the credit. All in all, this trilogy is a Well, Ilze S., if you think there's no storyline, maybe you should pay more attention, if you can focus for more than an hour-and-a-half. Although the fight scenes, special effects, and costumes are breathtaking, the heart of the movie is the story, one of the greatest tales of Good and Evil of all time, ever. For that, we can giveTolkien ALL the credit. All in all, this trilogy is a masterpiece, and as a long time fan of the books, they've lived up to ALL of my expectations. (except Tom Bombadil, sadly......maybe they should do a T.V. series spin off!) Expand
  23. BeccaP.
    Aug 3, 2005
    10
    Great movie!
  24. LisaG.
    Sep 12, 2005
    10
    Wonderful, just wonderful.... even 4 years later.
  25. AdnanA.
    Jul 19, 2008
    10
    When I watched the lord of the rings for the first time I was either 9 or 10 and I didn't understand a single thing about this movie. I was like why the hell is everybody jumping for this ring. Now many years later the lord of the rings trilogy remains my favorite! Story... If you get the plot then it's a story that's gonna captivate you even after the end of the movie. When I watched the lord of the rings for the first time I was either 9 or 10 and I didn't understand a single thing about this movie. I was like why the hell is everybody jumping for this ring. Now many years later the lord of the rings trilogy remains my favorite! Story... If you get the plot then it's a story that's gonna captivate you even after the end of the movie. Kudos to J.R.R.Tolkien for creating such a world and Peter Jackson for filling this world with life. Acting... Every character is special and all the credit goes to the actors. Each and every actor, has carried out their roles with dedication and devotion. No complains. Direction... I'd only say that no other person in this universe could have made lord of the rings other than Peter Jackson. Visuals... The fighting scenes are exhilarating! Visuals are one of the strongest points of this movie. It's not easy for a 3 hour movie to keep you entertained for long but this movie makes you beg for more! These movies are made once in a decade and to not see them is the biggest mistake of your life. Expand
  26. JustinM.
    Dec 19, 2001
    10
    So far, this is the only movie I can honestly say has overstepped the bounds of it's hype. What fantasy film could be better than the very series that started it all? Recipe: Take four hobbits, a wizard, elf, king of men, and dwarf. Cast well. Act to golden perfection and add props and special effects to taste. Jackson did all that and more, and cooked up nothing short of a timeless So far, this is the only movie I can honestly say has overstepped the bounds of it's hype. What fantasy film could be better than the very series that started it all? Recipe: Take four hobbits, a wizard, elf, king of men, and dwarf. Cast well. Act to golden perfection and add props and special effects to taste. Jackson did all that and more, and cooked up nothing short of a timeless masterpiece! Long-live such moviemaking! Expand
  27. FayeG.
    Dec 19, 2001
    10
    I LOVED IT!!!!!!
  28. IanM.
    Dec 22, 2001
    10
    Possibly the best movie I have ever seen. The sense of magic combined with the powers and subtle differences depicted in each of the many races within the world conjured from the genius of Tolkien is phenomenal. Graphically, technically and emotionally stunning. See it.
  29. StephanieB.
    Nov 12, 2002
    10
    This movie was awsome!!!! It may have been differnt from the book but it was Grrrreeeaatttt!!!!! The way they made the movie and the effects and features, i fell in love with it!!!!
  30. ElvisB.
    Nov 13, 2002
    10
    A masterpiece!!!
  31. Gilbert
    Nov 14, 2002
    10
    Wake up people...the emperor isn't wearing any clothes! It's a truly great movie, the Star Wars of our generation, not a crap overrated blah! No-one'll think the less of you if you admit it, don't you worry! 'Course, at 170 minutes, it'll bore the crap out of you if you're not much into Tolkien...but that's your fault, nimrod, not the film's. Wake up people...the emperor isn't wearing any clothes! It's a truly great movie, the Star Wars of our generation, not a crap overrated blah! No-one'll think the less of you if you admit it, don't you worry! 'Course, at 170 minutes, it'll bore the crap out of you if you're not much into Tolkien...but that's your fault, nimrod, not the film's. Oh, and how DARE you insinuate that Tolkien is evidence of the dumbing-down of Western Culture? Jesus H Christ, a film is made, the themes don't appeal to your mindset, and it's the end of the damn universe? Get the hell out of here! Expand
  32. Shannon
    Nov 2, 2002
    10
    The best film out there! No nudity or sex or cussing make this movie great and true to it's Christian values (the author of the books, Tolkien, was Christian). I have finished reading the first two books in time for the first two movies. I hope the second film takes home more oscars than the first one.
  33. GeorgeW.
    Nov 22, 2002
    10
    An epic fantasy film of the kind I've never seen and doubt I will ever see again.
  34. FMAVoltaire
    Nov 29, 2002
    10
    Rating movies is a subjective thing, but only to a point. Anybody who rates this movie lower than 7 is simply seeking attention, and should not be taken seriously. Sort of like the guy who walks into a museum, looks at a Van Gogh, and says "my kid could do that with finger paints." Whatever. If you get your jollies by bashing a movie that 90+ percent of the population thinks is something Rating movies is a subjective thing, but only to a point. Anybody who rates this movie lower than 7 is simply seeking attention, and should not be taken seriously. Sort of like the guy who walks into a museum, looks at a Van Gogh, and says "my kid could do that with finger paints." Whatever. If you get your jollies by bashing a movie that 90+ percent of the population thinks is something close to a cinematic masterpiece, then you're a bit demented, don't you think? Expand
  35. DuncanS.
    Jan 15, 2002
    10
    Rapture!
  36. GeordieS.
    Jan 17, 2002
    10
    Out of this world - I loved it!
  37. LinseyP.
    Jan 18, 2002
    10
    I loved the movie. It surpassed my expectations.
  38. JohnC.
    Jan 19, 2002
    10
    This was one of the best movies I have ever seen. Everything was great!!
  39. SarahF.
    Dec 23, 2002
    10
    Legolas is hot. and this movie is awesome.
  40. BevisBoy
    Feb 21, 2002
    10
    Wow...splendid stuff. I read the book first and then saw the movie, and was completely blown away. An epic story made into an epic movie. And frankly speaking, the first book was actually very dull, compared to the next two books. So, hoping that the next two movies will top this one.
  41. AbbyM.
    Feb 24, 2002
    10
    It was the best movie I have ever seen.
  42. GlenS.
    Mar 15, 2002
    10
    Will be remembered in 100 years.
  43. ChrisS.
    Mar 29, 2002
    10
    Totally unpredictable, fascinating, enthralling, chiling, refreshing, and just all out spectacular!
  44. Lauren
    Apr 21, 2002
    10
    Absoulute thriller! It had comedy, tradity, it made me cry and mad me laugh. It was honestly the best movie of all time. The actors and actresses brought depth and feeling to every part in the movie. I loved this movie so much I rate it a 10 and above.
  45. M.
    Apr 22, 2002
    10
    OK. I want to give it 11 outta 10 really!!! OMG how good and amazing was this film anyone who gives it lower than 10.... grrrrrrr!!!!!!!!!!!! Basically 3 words... Elijah Jordan Wood! aaaahhhh.
  46. KseniaC.
    Apr 26, 2002
    10
    It's wonderful!!! The magic is real! And big thanx to PJ!
  47. K-dog
    Jun 18, 2002
    10
    This movie was one of the best movies i have ever seen. Not only is it true to the book, but the visuals and interpretation of it were beautiful. Anyone who dares give this movie anything below an 8 has their head up their ass. No Character development? Its a #*@*ing trilogy! you cant expect all the development in the first movie! Overall, all i have to say is, when this movie comes on This movie was one of the best movies i have ever seen. Not only is it true to the book, but the visuals and interpretation of it were beautiful. Anyone who dares give this movie anything below an 8 has their head up their ass. No Character development? Its a #*@*ing trilogy! you cant expect all the development in the first movie! Overall, all i have to say is, when this movie comes on dvd, i'm gonna buy it and watch it over and over again. Expand
  48. Pink
    Jun 18, 2002
    10
    Best that there was!!! (sorry to all the people that thought that it would have sex in it I guess that is why you gave such low marks but DMY). The special effects Rocked, the characters were well done the size and the look, the elf language was a great addition to the move and the story line makes you wanna have an adventure yourself. Can't wait for the next two.
  49. JJ
    Jun 19, 2002
    10
    An Exellent, well acted movie altogether. Very beautiful and breath taking. See It!
  50. Matt
    Aug 12, 2002
    10
    Intoxicating in it's imagery and imagination, "Rings" is the most visceral moviegoing experience since "2001." An incredible monument to J.R.R. Tolkien, it's one of the best completely fantastic films you're apt to see for some time.
  51. JackR.
    Aug 15, 2002
    10
    Nicole, how COULDN'T you like this movie? I can understand not loving it, but giving it a 1 and even mentioning the words "Queen of the Damned" in its review is ridiculous. If you could at least give a reason not to like it, i might not think you're retarded.
  52. DonP.
    Sep 15, 2002
    10
    It is impossible to judge this film outside of the context of Tolkein's creation, which has over the years provided one of the strongest mythical influences in modern literature - inspiring hundreds of other similar yarns from Star Wars to Harry Potter to the Narnia Tales and Dungeons and Dragons games. I read LOTR and the Hobbit 4 times as a child, and Tolkein transported me from my It is impossible to judge this film outside of the context of Tolkein's creation, which has over the years provided one of the strongest mythical influences in modern literature - inspiring hundreds of other similar yarns from Star Wars to Harry Potter to the Narnia Tales and Dungeons and Dragons games. I read LOTR and the Hobbit 4 times as a child, and Tolkein transported me from my boring suburban home to a world of fear and possibility, and nobleness, the likes of which we can use more of in these troubled time. I re-read the first book prior to seeing the movie, so I can't imagine how it would be viewed by someone unfamiliar with the tale I love so much. I was astounded. The vision was so well conceived, and so well edited to incorporate the most important story lines, and so bold in completely "going with" the themes Tolkien was using without trying to "reinterpret" or "Hollywoodize" as so many other failed adaptations do. I saw it 2 more times and cried and laughed each time, and saw more detail and more care each time. To the filmmakers: your care has not gone unnoticed nor unappreciated. Thank God this was made by a non-US director! Within the confines of a 3 hour movie, I can't imagine how it could be easily improved. I am excited to see the DVD version with more footage, and I only hope Jackson & Co do real justice to the trilogy by maintaining the level of quality in the 2 suceeding parts, which as books only get better. Finally I'd like to add that Ian McKellan was an excellent choice for Gandalf and he played the role perfectly. I have great respect for him as an actor and an individual, he encompasses the caring, the eloquence and the grandeur which defined Gandalf. He was robbed by the Academy! I hope this will inspire many to delve into the book, and as Galadriel says to Frodo, to remember that great deeds may come from the very smallest of people. Of that we are all capable. Expand
  53. LaF.
    Sep 23, 2002
    10
    It's great!
  54. DanW.
    Sep 24, 2002
    10
    Wow, I'm suprised at the lack of intelligence in some of the people who made comments about how bad the movie was. You're saying it had the same scene repeated over and over again yet I saw about 8 different people in a row say that there was no character development. Sounds like repetition to me. For those who say they didn't like the movie because it was too long I say Wow, I'm suprised at the lack of intelligence in some of the people who made comments about how bad the movie was. You're saying it had the same scene repeated over and over again yet I saw about 8 different people in a row say that there was no character development. Sounds like repetition to me. For those who say they didn't like the movie because it was too long I say one thing. Thank your lucky stars. Obviously you haven't read any of the books. The first book on which the movie is based is well over 500 pages long, and many scenes in the book that might "develop the characters better" were but out to make it shorter so people like you wouldn't complain. People who say that this movie lacked intelligence or is built for a child, try reading the books. I guarantee you no child under the age of 12 will be able to grasp the words that make up the storie. To the person who said this was a movie for nerdy people who ran around casting spells at each other. I'm sorry, I guess being labelled a nerd is the price you pay for having an imagination. This movie is about fantasy, it's about believing in the unbelievable and about good triumphing over evil. In this day and age, thats something everyone can look to for support, imagination or not. Props to you Tolkien, I'm sure you would be turning in your grave if you read the series of slander written about a work of art such as yours. Expand
  55. DebraM.
    Sep 28, 2002
    10
    It is simply amazing. It's a whole other world. It has action, horror, adventure, romance, sci fi, historical fiction. What more can you ask for in a film?
  56. JohnnyBlaze
    Nov 29, 2003
    10
    This is a marvel in modern moviemaking. Anyone who couldn't find this movie entertaing needs to develop a little something called IMAGINATION!!!!! No story?? Give me a break, there is a reason that these stories are some of the most famous, and best-selling books of all-time. Peter Jackson has done more than an admirable job of bringing the story to the big screen , and these movies This is a marvel in modern moviemaking. Anyone who couldn't find this movie entertaing needs to develop a little something called IMAGINATION!!!!! No story?? Give me a break, there is a reason that these stories are some of the most famous, and best-selling books of all-time. Peter Jackson has done more than an admirable job of bringing the story to the big screen , and these movies will go down in histroy as cinema classics. Enough said!!! Expand
  57. ChadG.
    Dec 10, 2003
    10
    A masterpiece. The second best film of the trilogy after the miracle that is ROTK.
  58. Chickenmouth
    Dec 15, 2003
    10
    I realize this isn't a forum, but seriously... "Worse, everything here is a rudimentary sword/sorcery cliche" Tolkien was one of the first fantasy writers and they weren't cliches when he wrote them... but Peter Jackson's done a great job adapting and this is one of the best movies ever made, I think.
  59. falcon88woods
    Feb 11, 2003
    10
    Loved it. Absolutly brilliant. exactly what I think Middle Earth is like!
  60. TommyL.
    Mar 21, 2003
    10
    One of those movies that just feels perfect from start to finish. I kind of know where people are coming from when they say that it was boring, but I thought every scene in the movie was perfectly executed.
  61. NathanH.
    May 14, 2003
    10
    This is the best movie ever made, the only other movie that comes close to it is The Two Towers.
  62. GaladrielL.
    Jun 13, 2003
    10
    Superb movie. Beautiful, moving, and fast-paced.
  63. Sammiv.
    Jun 24, 2003
    10
    This was a great movie. it has become one of my personal favorites!
  64. DanielleB.
    Nov 13, 2004
    10
    I LOVE THIS MOVIE!!
  65. SamG.
    Dec 12, 2004
    10
    I think the reviewers below me need to take another good look at why people say these movies are great. They complain about lack of character development and overused CGI, yet they are completely ignoring the HEART of this enterprise. Not once does Peter Jackson move a scene forward, especially in this first movie of the trilogy, without showing the characters; their feelings, hopes, I think the reviewers below me need to take another good look at why people say these movies are great. They complain about lack of character development and overused CGI, yet they are completely ignoring the HEART of this enterprise. Not once does Peter Jackson move a scene forward, especially in this first movie of the trilogy, without showing the characters; their feelings, hopes, dreams, fears and regrets. We get to see each main character conquer their fear in some way, in the face of grander adversity then appears on the screen more than probably once a year (if at all). Also, the entire crew clearly had a philosophy of not letting special effects overpower the heart of this movie. When something could be filmed without CGI, it WAS filmed without CGI. That's why, if any research is done, their were so many methods of making the hobbits look small, the most rarely used being CGI. Mostly, I feel complaints against this movie surface after the fact that it wins Oscars, as backlash surfaces against anything with so much success. Overall, this movie deserves the highest grade imaginable as it grabs your heart and doesn't let go. To Mr. Matthew A.'s statement he didn't fall in love with it, I can only counter with the fact that I did. But I think an entire generation has as well. Expand
  66. JoshM.
    Apr 17, 2004
    10
    Excellent! A truly amazing, captivating adventure. One of the greatest movies of all time!
  67. BritneyB.
    Apr 19, 2004
    10
    Excellent. One of the best fantasies of all time. Peter Jackson & cast/crew have turned J.R.R. Tolkien's book into a fantastic movie.
  68. BoogerSnot
    Apr 27, 2004
    10
    Some snooty people have given this movie a zero! Which is very uncalled for! I think you people have PMS! Give it another chance! Yes I do have reason to give it a ten! For people who think I'm just shooting the breeze. It had amazing effects that people worked hard on to impress you! Not for you to just sit there and critize. The acting was awesome, it had a good mix of actors. I Some snooty people have given this movie a zero! Which is very uncalled for! I think you people have PMS! Give it another chance! Yes I do have reason to give it a ten! For people who think I'm just shooting the breeze. It had amazing effects that people worked hard on to impress you! Not for you to just sit there and critize. The acting was awesome, it had a good mix of actors. I think its terrible to give this movie a zero! (Although I did have a problem with the fact that Arwen stole Glorfindell's part.) Expand
  69. BenjaminA.
    Jun 17, 2004
    10
    One of the greatest movies of all time.
  70. chrism.
    Jan 28, 2005
    10
    Great, great movie. emotional and detailed to the last scene. I did not read the book, but this movie makes me want to.
  71. IceFlow
    Aug 23, 2005
    10
    I thnk it was a great movie!!!!!, and the fact that Orlando Bloom is in it makes it even better!!!!!!! The first movie was just getting the journey started. And all you guys who rated this movie below 4 can stuff it!!!
  72. Chris
    Sep 24, 2005
    10
    I love this film. In fact I love all three. I cannot fault them. The backdrops is fantastic, the acting is fantastic and the soundtracks to all the LOTR films is just superb. Its also so nice to sit down and watch a film that does have some meaning and one that doesn't contain foul language these days.
  73. AnsonG.
    Jun 23, 2006
    10
    Wonderful adventure movie. Best ever.
  74. RandyM.
    Apr 22, 2007
    10
    An epic movie if I ever saw one. Captivating and just plain fun to watch. This movie is, indeed, art.
  75. JaredC.
    Feb 14, 2008
    10
    Peter Jackson awakens us into this breathtaking astonishing trilogy The Lord of the Rings. Jackson views a unique conception of fantasy and engages us with plenty of detail. After that crap animated Lord of the Rings came out, I could never get the horrific sensation of bad elements in the film out of my head. But in The Fellowship, Jackson amazes our pupils and widens our hearts into his Peter Jackson awakens us into this breathtaking astonishing trilogy The Lord of the Rings. Jackson views a unique conception of fantasy and engages us with plenty of detail. After that crap animated Lord of the Rings came out, I could never get the horrific sensation of bad elements in the film out of my head. But in The Fellowship, Jackson amazes our pupils and widens our hearts into his beautiful imagination that will be cherished for generations. The soudtrack will raise your heart strings as every scene has its own heartwarming beat or song that brings each a favorable rhythm each time a new place in the story is discovered to develop more build-up in the plot and setting. The Shire, Rivendell, Lothlorien, Moria, and Amon-Hen each have their own soundtrack so when you think of that one place, you think of the music Howard Shore uses in that setting. The character development is tremendous and each and every image in this film is absolutely beautiful. Jackson succeeds in this brilliant and amazing picture and will now be defined as a master movie-maker. The Fellowship of the Ring is highly recommended and magnificent. Expand
  76. StephenD.
    Dec 19, 2001
    10
    This movie couldn't have been made any better, having chosen the specific flavor they were going for. This said, it's actually multi-flavored: I laughed, cried, gasped - the whole gammut.
  77. AlanH.
    Dec 19, 2001
    10
    Epic! Several amazing and thrilling adventures in one great film! I can't wait for the next one!
  78. CraigW.
    Dec 19, 2001
    10
    Splendid adaptation of a truly classic 20th century book. It follows that some characters and scenes had to be edited (if not omitted) but the body of the work lies intact. It makes you laugh, cry, and even hope for the people on screen. A brilliant first of three.
  79. LAW
    Dec 19, 2001
    10
    The best sound, art direction, visual effects, casting and over-all direction in a movie I have ever seen. No other director has put so much thought into a fantasy movie that satisfies so completely. It attacks & woos you at the same time. Jackson's talent, patience and creative genuis has set the bar to the highest it's ever been. It's about time. Hollywood hacks, be The best sound, art direction, visual effects, casting and over-all direction in a movie I have ever seen. No other director has put so much thought into a fantasy movie that satisfies so completely. It attacks & woos you at the same time. Jackson's talent, patience and creative genuis has set the bar to the highest it's ever been. It's about time. Hollywood hacks, be envious. Almost 3 hours and people around me sighed at the end because it was over, and then aplauded. An experience I will not soon forget. Expand
  80. EricB.
    Dec 24, 2001
    10
    The greatest adventure of all time.. adapted to the movie screen in absolute perfection. It doesn't get any better than this.
  81. AllyT.
    Nov 11, 2002
    10
    Some airhead said this movie had a childish plot. Read the book you loser, can a child 10 years and under possibly understand all that, let alone write it? I thought this movie should've deserved the amount of Academy Awards it was nominated for. But NO. Even if they're nominated, and practically everyone fell in love with them, a fantasy film never gets an award for Best Some airhead said this movie had a childish plot. Read the book you loser, can a child 10 years and under possibly understand all that, let alone write it? I thought this movie should've deserved the amount of Academy Awards it was nominated for. But NO. Even if they're nominated, and practically everyone fell in love with them, a fantasy film never gets an award for Best Picture, they just get nominated for it. I can't believe A Beautiful Mind won... This movie rocks! So does the book! And the acting was... fabulous... I can't believe Ian Mckellen didn't win the Academy Award practically everyone thought he deserved. Thank God Peter Jackson didn't make his orcs goblins, and Ringraiths a.ka. Black Riders all digitilized like George Lucas might've. No, he had some actors wear the costumes of them, and they ended up to be A LOT scarier than if they were computerized. Thank you sooo much, Mr. Jackson! Expand
  82. PoseurCritick
    Nov 18, 2002
    10
    If I were to cop out and write a one-liner review (ought to be a crime) it would read: It's not long enough. More to the point: sticks and stones may make it more difficult for Tolkien appreciators to grab the DVD when piled high around the displays, but polysyllables will never stop us from enjoying it.
  83. FrodoFan
    Dec 19, 2002
    10
    When the movie came to theaters i didn't see it. I didn't really care that much. Then I rented it and when "Directed by Peter Jackson" came up on the scream after the 3 hour action packed fantasy movie ended, I let out a cry, turned to my sister and said "That was REALLY good!" It is my absolute favorite movie. And out of a 10 I would give it a 100. Whoever said the special When the movie came to theaters i didn't see it. I didn't really care that much. Then I rented it and when "Directed by Peter Jackson" came up on the scream after the 3 hour action packed fantasy movie ended, I let out a cry, turned to my sister and said "That was REALLY good!" It is my absolute favorite movie. And out of a 10 I would give it a 100. Whoever said the special effects were "laughable" needs help. I am desperate to see the Two Towers and whoever saids Peter Jackson chose a tasteless name needs help too. Frodo is such a relatable character. I liked Harry Potter the first time I saw the movie. But the second time I saw it I was thinking "Will this never end???" But with LOTR, I watched it every day for a week. I love it. I laugh and I cry. The special effects are awesome, it is never boring despite it's length, the characters are relatable, and it is an overall masterpiece! I can't wait to see the Two Towers and Return of the King!!! Expand
  84. Corey
    Nov 28, 2003
    10
    If there ever was a movie that i would marry this would be it. I love this movie. The greatest movie ever made. Overwhelming!! Awe inspiring!!! mocostrulating!!! hapervestulating!!! I'm making up words because there are none that exist that can describe this movie.
  85. ElendilA.
    Dec 12, 2003
    10
    Wonderful!!!!!
  86. JonasM.
    Dec 15, 2003
    10
    A true masterpiece!
  87. MartinG.
    Dec 18, 2003
    10
    Great movie, great direction, great photography. Outstanding and amusing from the first minute. The Best: the music and the landscapes, also Sir Ian´s McKellen´s performance The Worst: maybe the end, but it is reasonable because it´s the first movie of the trilogy.
  88. Aug 14, 2010
    10
    I love all of the Lord of the Rings books and movies. Everything about them is absolutely stunning. They are timeless and will be appreciated forever. These will never be redone.
  89. Aug 31, 2010
    10
    Its been a while since I read the book, but from what I remember, the movie misses out a few things. But it doesn't matter! This is the perfect fantasy movie. It may be a bit clichéd at times, but that is expected. Watching it for the second (or maybe third) time, I realize how perfect this is, and how every other movie of this genre tries to live up to the bar set so high byIts been a while since I read the book, but from what I remember, the movie misses out a few things. But it doesn't matter! This is the perfect fantasy movie. It may be a bit clichéd at times, but that is expected. Watching it for the second (or maybe third) time, I realize how perfect this is, and how every other movie of this genre tries to live up to the bar set so high by this movie. Expand
  90. Oct 30, 2010
    10
    Peter Jackson's first awesome fantasy debut in this brilliant masterpiece!
  91. Nov 27, 2010
    10
    Possibly the best movie ever. It feels like your seeing the book, I unfortunetly watched the movie then read the book, such a mistake. Visually stunning. Sir Ian Mckellen was brilliant as Gandalf, this movie is almost flawless. That is why I give it a ten. The fools who rate this movie low should be ashamed!
  92. Feb 23, 2011
    10
    The scene where Gandalf fights the Balrog in the mines is easily the worst movie scene of all times. All that money for CGI, and they come up with THAT ?
    The problem with that movie is: everthing is meant to be SO meaningful. It is like an actor laughing at his own jokes. The futile attempt to create depth and meaning in each and every single scene completely destroys the movie, and the story.
  93. Aug 9, 2011
    10
    LOTR destroyed my life . Why? Because i will never see such a perfect film ever.This trilogy will hard find its equal
  94. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    A masterpiece. This movie is a work of Art, and it portrays the great book series with excellence and majesty. It is an all time favorite, and my words fail to describe its magnificence.
  95. Feb 11, 2012
    10
    A epic adventure masterpiece. I had to watch several times to understand some of the dialogue but when I do understand, it is wonderful well done. I have never read the books but when I was in a bookstore, soon after viewing the movie at the cinemas, I bought the novel.
  96. Jan 9, 2012
    10
    You could easily tell the people that rate the film a 0/10 are either trolling or die hard fans of rival series such as Harry Potter and I pity those shameful morons because this film is excellent and a marvel at its time. When I first watched this film as a kid I have never seen anything like it on movie ever before. It was intense, it was interesting, the soundtrack is excellent and mostYou could easily tell the people that rate the film a 0/10 are either trolling or die hard fans of rival series such as Harry Potter and I pity those shameful morons because this film is excellent and a marvel at its time. When I first watched this film as a kid I have never seen anything like it on movie ever before. It was intense, it was interesting, the soundtrack is excellent and most importantly the ensemble cast was an absolutly perfect. My favourite scene was the council at Rivendell. It is very interesting how each character has their different opinion on the Ring and the best battle sequence was during Moria, of course the Cave Troll made it great. I personally praise the acting of Sean "Boromir Bean, Sean "Samwise" Astin and Ian "Gandalf" Mckellen I thought those 3 stood out because of how dramatic they can act without making a fool of themselves. When the film hit on Dvds and Videos I immediatly bought it along with the other 2 movies in support of the how inspiring and influentional those films were to me. Expand
  97. Feb 28, 2013
    10
    A great film. When I watched the first 20 min of the film it had me. One great scene after another, great fantasy plot and awesome music. Deserves nothing less than the full score.
  98. Jul 21, 2011
    10
    This film is my favorite of all time. I usually never give a 10, but I'll make an exception with this masterpiece. All three LOTR movies are excellent, but this one is the best.
  99. Aug 9, 2011
    10
    This movie is the beginning of the best trilogy ever and it's so good! It brings humor, sad moments, intense battles and solid performances. Every character can be appreciated because they are all likable. This movie is ridiculously good
  100. Dec 9, 2011
    10
    For hardcore fans, Peter Jackson's vision of the Middle-Earth may be a disrespect to the source material, but for me, "The Fellowship of the Ring" is the most faithful adaptation you cold ask of. Many people were bored by its length, but I found the first chapter of the trilogy an epic masterpiece.
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. 100
    I see it as nearly perfect: It's one of the best fantasy pictures ever made.
  2. An extraordinary work, grandly conceived, brilliantly executed and wildly entertaining. It's a hobbit's dream, a wizard's delight. And, of course, it's only the beginning.
  3. 70
    Above all, Jackson evokes an almost palpable sense of the will to power trapped within the ring. Without this evocation of the ring's insidious ability to sniff out the potential for corruption and capitalize on it, the entire enterprise would be precious drivel.