New Line Cinema | Release Date: December 19, 2001
9.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1550 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,459
Mixed:
45
Negative:
46
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
VictorGMay 4, 2010
This is my favourite movie of all Time & by saying so i don't need to give any details or reasons.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RobbyZ.Apr 8, 2010
Extraordinary. Wondrous to behold.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LucasC.Feb 26, 2002
I really loved this movie. It was a beautifully recreated movie of the epic novel by J.R.R. Tolkien. The only disappointment (which didn't affect my vote much) was [Ed: potential spoiler omitted]. There were a few other instances in the I really loved this movie. It was a beautifully recreated movie of the epic novel by J.R.R. Tolkien. The only disappointment (which didn't affect my vote much) was [Ed: potential spoiler omitted]. There were a few other instances in the movie where it did not follow the book, but that did not stop me from seeing nine times(which will probably be ten quite soon). As I have said before I really loved this movie and it was created exactly like most people imagined it thanks to Peter Jackson (all us Tolkien buffs appreciated your lovely work. Thanks again)! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RegisA.May 18, 2002
EEEEEEE!!!!!!! I can't believe it!!!! BEAUTIFUL BEAUTIFUL BEAUTIFUL film!!!! Seriously, the best FANTASY film I have ever seen (coming from someone who doesn't give a sh*t about this type of film or whatever, or even those Lord of EEEEEEE!!!!!!! I can't believe it!!!! BEAUTIFUL BEAUTIFUL BEAUTIFUL film!!!! Seriously, the best FANTASY film I have ever seen (coming from someone who doesn't give a sh*t about this type of film or whatever, or even those Lord of the Rings novels or books, but that was before, I've f.....g CONVERTED!!!). Can't wait for the next two films!!!! Why isn't it December YET!?!?!?! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
FayeG.Sep 11, 2002
I LOVED IT!!!!!!
1 of 3 users found this helpful
10
JeffZ.May 2, 2006
The whole series is the best, but the first movie is the most faithful of the bunch. a better fantasy epic than star wars. why roger ebert thinks harry potter and star wars is better is beyond me.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DudePApr 10, 2009
Prolly the greatest movie of alltime. The fellowship was the best of all three lord of the rings movies.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ConnorMSep 5, 2009
Simply; one of the best films of all time. This is my favorite of the 3 (and the other 2 weren't too shabby). Everything from the acting, to the script, to the action was just superb. Sir Ian McKellen was amazing and I can't wait Simply; one of the best films of all time. This is my favorite of the 3 (and the other 2 weren't too shabby). Everything from the acting, to the script, to the action was just superb. Sir Ian McKellen was amazing and I can't wait for his next appearence in "The Hobbit". Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PederD.Dec 21, 2001
Best movie ever!!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SamFMar 23, 2010
This film is a breathtaking, awe inspiring masterpiece of cinema.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
GaryF.Nov 17, 2002
Ned is not the man, he's a childish ponse who thinks he's the entire human race. If you dont care about the character's, it's your fault. If you think the story is immature, you're wrong (how the hell is it immature? Ned is not the man, he's a childish ponse who thinks he's the entire human race. If you dont care about the character's, it's your fault. If you think the story is immature, you're wrong (how the hell is it immature? someone tell me!) The characters are not weak: the elves are ponses, okay (but you'd think then ned would identify with them!) but then at least two of them is rightful king of the land of men! Not week, is it! Ned needs to get over himself, if he did then he'd see this was a great movie! (by the way, if you come back by having a go at my spellinggrammar then you will know I have won the argument with so little imagination!) Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MartyH.Sep 1, 2002
This movie is part one of the best book in the world. J.R.R. Tolkien is the most influential man in all of the fantasy genre. Without his book there would be no beauty in my life. This is because the Lord of the Rings is beautiful in itself. This movie is part one of the best book in the world. J.R.R. Tolkien is the most influential man in all of the fantasy genre. Without his book there would be no beauty in my life. This is because the Lord of the Rings is beautiful in itself. Nicole, whoever you are you can burn in eternal hellfire because of what you have said about the movie, the book and anything pertaining to the best book of all time. I hope your family will realize the error in your ways and abandon you. Next time you have something to say about Lord of the Rings just keep it in your prissy stuckup snobby mouth. Queen of the Damned is nothing compared to the awesome work of poetry that is the Lord of the Rings. If I were able to make my vote above ten I would give the Lord of the Rings over 1 billion, because that is the amount that it has already made in theaters worldwide. Can you tell me how much Queen of the Damned got? Guess what there are also two more movies coming out. Can you say highest grossing trilogy of all time (Even surpassing Star Wars)? You probably don't like Star Wars either ... And don't think for a minute that I like Harry Potter because that is crap, just like you. J.R.R. Tolkien lives on in his books which are the embodiment of all that is right and just and good in the world. Thank you. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LeoDec 8, 2005
Amazing Film.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LisaG.Sep 12, 2005
Wonderful, just wonderful.... even 4 years later.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AdnanA.Jul 19, 2008
When I watched the lord of the rings for the first time I was either 9 or 10 and I didn't understand a single thing about this movie. I was like why the hell is everybody jumping for this ring. Now many years later the lord of the rings When I watched the lord of the rings for the first time I was either 9 or 10 and I didn't understand a single thing about this movie. I was like why the hell is everybody jumping for this ring. Now many years later the lord of the rings trilogy remains my favorite! Story... If you get the plot then it's a story that's gonna captivate you even after the end of the movie. Kudos to J.R.R.Tolkien for creating such a world and Peter Jackson for filling this world with life. Acting... Every character is special and all the credit goes to the actors. Each and every actor, has carried out their roles with dedication and devotion. No complains. Direction... I'd only say that no other person in this universe could have made lord of the rings other than Peter Jackson. Visuals... The fighting scenes are exhilarating! Visuals are one of the strongest points of this movie. It's not easy for a 3 hour movie to keep you entertained for long but this movie makes you beg for more! These movies are made once in a decade and to not see them is the biggest mistake of your life. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
IceFlowAug 23, 2005
I thnk it was a great movie!!!!!, and the fact that Orlando Bloom is in it makes it even better!!!!!!! The first movie was just getting the journey started. And all you guys who rated this movie below 4 can stuff it!!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ChrisSep 24, 2005
I love this film. In fact I love all three. I cannot fault them. The backdrops is fantastic, the acting is fantastic and the soundtracks to all the LOTR films is just superb. Its also so nice to sit down and watch a film that does have some I love this film. In fact I love all three. I cannot fault them. The backdrops is fantastic, the acting is fantastic and the soundtracks to all the LOTR films is just superb. Its also so nice to sit down and watch a film that does have some meaning and one that doesn't contain foul language these days. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AnsonG.Jun 23, 2006
Wonderful adventure movie. Best ever.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RandyM.Apr 22, 2007
An epic movie if I ever saw one. Captivating and just plain fun to watch. This movie is, indeed, art.
15 of 18 users found this helpful
10
JaredC.Feb 14, 2008
Peter Jackson awakens us into this breathtaking astonishing trilogy The Lord of the Rings. Jackson views a unique conception of fantasy and engages us with plenty of detail. After that crap animated Lord of the Rings came out, I could never Peter Jackson awakens us into this breathtaking astonishing trilogy The Lord of the Rings. Jackson views a unique conception of fantasy and engages us with plenty of detail. After that crap animated Lord of the Rings came out, I could never get the horrific sensation of bad elements in the film out of my head. But in The Fellowship, Jackson amazes our pupils and widens our hearts into his beautiful imagination that will be cherished for generations. The soudtrack will raise your heart strings as every scene has its own heartwarming beat or song that brings each a favorable rhythm each time a new place in the story is discovered to develop more build-up in the plot and setting. The Shire, Rivendell, Lothlorien, Moria, and Amon-Hen each have their own soundtrack so when you think of that one place, you think of the music Howard Shore uses in that setting. The character development is tremendous and each and every image in this film is absolutely beautiful. Jackson succeeds in this brilliant and amazing picture and will now be defined as a master movie-maker. The Fellowship of the Ring is highly recommended and magnificent. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
rodericrinehartAug 14, 2010
I love all of the Lord of the Rings books and movies. Everything about them is absolutely stunning. They are timeless and will be appreciated forever. These will never be redone.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
EadsAug 31, 2010
Its been a while since I read the book, but from what I remember, the movie misses out a few things. But it doesn't matter! This is the perfect fantasy movie. It may be a bit clichéd at times, but that is expected. Watching itIts been a while since I read the book, but from what I remember, the movie misses out a few things. But it doesn't matter! This is the perfect fantasy movie. It may be a bit clichéd at times, but that is expected. Watching it for the second (or maybe third) time, I realize how perfect this is, and how every other movie of this genre tries to live up to the bar set so high by this movie. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
MovieLonely94Oct 30, 2010
Peter Jackson's first awesome fantasy debut in this brilliant masterpiece!
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
ClankaNov 27, 2010
Possibly the best movie ever. It feels like your seeing the book, I unfortunetly watched the movie then read the book, such a mistake. Visually stunning. Sir Ian Mckellen was brilliant as Gandalf, this movie is almost flawless. That is why IPossibly the best movie ever. It feels like your seeing the book, I unfortunetly watched the movie then read the book, such a mistake. Visually stunning. Sir Ian Mckellen was brilliant as Gandalf, this movie is almost flawless. That is why I give it a ten. The fools who rate this movie low should be ashamed! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
NazguleroFeb 23, 2011
The scene where Gandalf fights the Balrog in the mines is easily the worst movie scene of all times. All that money for CGI, and they come up with THAT ?
The problem with that movie is: everthing is meant to be SO meaningful. It is like an
The scene where Gandalf fights the Balrog in the mines is easily the worst movie scene of all times. All that money for CGI, and they come up with THAT ?
The problem with that movie is: everthing is meant to be SO meaningful. It is like an actor laughing at his own jokes. The futile attempt to create depth and meaning in each and every single scene completely destroys the movie, and the story.
Expand
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
10
marian1233321Aug 9, 2011
LOTR destroyed my life . Why? Because i will never see such a perfect film ever.This trilogy will hard find its equal
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
RoeylSep 21, 2011
A masterpiece. This movie is a work of Art, and it portrays the great book series with excellence and majesty. It is an all time favorite, and my words fail to describe its magnificence.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
ozgeekFeb 11, 2012
A epic adventure masterpiece. I had to watch several times to understand some of the dialogue but when I do understand, it is wonderful well done. I have never read the books but when I was in a bookstore, soon after viewing the movie at theA epic adventure masterpiece. I had to watch several times to understand some of the dialogue but when I do understand, it is wonderful well done. I have never read the books but when I was in a bookstore, soon after viewing the movie at the cinemas, I bought the novel. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
LordOFlibertYJan 9, 2012
You could easily tell the people that rate the film a 0/10 are either trolling or die hard fans of rival series such as Harry Potter and I pity those shameful morons because this film is excellent and a marvel at its time. When I firstYou could easily tell the people that rate the film a 0/10 are either trolling or die hard fans of rival series such as Harry Potter and I pity those shameful morons because this film is excellent and a marvel at its time. When I first watched this film as a kid I have never seen anything like it on movie ever before. It was intense, it was interesting, the soundtrack is excellent and most importantly the ensemble cast was an absolutly perfect. My favourite scene was the council at Rivendell. It is very interesting how each character has their different opinion on the Ring and the best battle sequence was during Moria, of course the Cave Troll made it great. I personally praise the acting of Sean "Boromir Bean, Sean "Samwise" Astin and Ian "Gandalf" Mckellen I thought those 3 stood out because of how dramatic they can act without making a fool of themselves. When the film hit on Dvds and Videos I immediatly bought it along with the other 2 movies in support of the how inspiring and influentional those films were to me. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
CaestusFeb 28, 2013
A great film. When I watched the first 20 min of the film it had me. One great scene after another, great fantasy plot and awesome music. Deserves nothing less than the full score.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
WinterfellJul 21, 2011
This film is my favorite of all time. I usually never give a 10, but I'll make an exception with this masterpiece. All three LOTR movies are excellent, but this one is the best.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
JawsPapi87Aug 9, 2011
This movie is the beginning of the best trilogy ever and it's so good! It brings humor, sad moments, intense battles and solid performances. Every character can be appreciated because they are all likable. This movie is ridiculously good
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
10
Potter17Dec 9, 2011
For hardcore fans, Peter Jackson's vision of the Middle-Earth may be a disrespect to the source material, but for me, "The Fellowship of the Ring" is the most faithful adaptation you cold ask of. Many people were bored by its length, but IFor hardcore fans, Peter Jackson's vision of the Middle-Earth may be a disrespect to the source material, but for me, "The Fellowship of the Ring" is the most faithful adaptation you cold ask of. Many people were bored by its length, but I found the first chapter of the trilogy an epic masterpiece. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
EssenceOfSugarDec 2, 2012
It's surprising when you find one of these rare epics that still manage to captivate and spellbind over such a long period of time. The visuals were absolutely majestic, yet the story managed to unfold with such grace and never dawdled. TheIt's surprising when you find one of these rare epics that still manage to captivate and spellbind over such a long period of time. The visuals were absolutely majestic, yet the story managed to unfold with such grace and never dawdled. The actors proved worthy of the role they played and kept up their spirit throughout. It was also nice to feel a little light-heartedness among the fantasy, drama and suspense that occurred. To be honest, I couldn't really point out what was actually bad about it, because it just looks like one of the best fantasy epics ever made. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
marnee96Nov 4, 2011
It's magical, emotional, captivating and epic. The Lord of the Rings is not only a literary classic, but thanks to Peter Jackson, it's now a cinematic classic. 4/4 stars.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
lbaeriswylJul 28, 2012
Wonderful movie adaptation of a wonderful tale. I'm very pleased with how the different species all have different movements and with how big the adventure feels.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
asbeloliverNov 19, 2011
An epic beginning, known for its impeccable sound, the script developed, very faithful to the book, good performances, a show well done, as I can say about the soundtrack, direction, costumes, makeup, art direction and visual effects. InAn epic beginning, known for its impeccable sound, the script developed, very faithful to the book, good performances, a show well done, as I can say about the soundtrack, direction, costumes, makeup, art direction and visual effects. In short, an excellent movie. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
StevenFSep 30, 2013
It's strange and quite gut-wrenching to think that as I review this, the first part of arguably one of the best trilogies to grace cinema was released 12 years ago, but it's fascinating at how much there has been since then, yet this trilogyIt's strange and quite gut-wrenching to think that as I review this, the first part of arguably one of the best trilogies to grace cinema was released 12 years ago, but it's fascinating at how much there has been since then, yet this trilogy has withstood the test of countless blockbusters and attempts at recreating it fantastical adventures. Peter Jackson brings to life the vision that author J.R.R. Tolkien envisioned in his fantastic books, full of heart, colourful characters and magical elements that set it heads above the competition, truly an adventure like no other. While much of the film shows the advancements of computer-generated magnificence, it possesses a very human touch from its ensemble cast and riveting stories that each of them tell, the biggest of course being that of Frodo Baggins (Elijah Wood), a hobbit who lead a simple way of life in the Shire, a quiet and peaceful place for those quite content with the easier but finer things in life, but as our story goes, Frodos uncle, Bilbo, holds a secret that changes the tone for the foreseeable future, as an evil is coming and Frodo holds the power to stop it, various events lead to Frodo and his other Hobbit friends Sam, Pippin and Merry (Sam Astin, Billy Boyd, Dominic Monaghan) setting out to destroy the ring in the place it was forged, the fiery Mount Doom. But as mentioned, there is more than this story being told, we meet shadowy ranger Aragorn (Viggo Mortensen) who is certainly more than meets the eye, while we also have a hawk-eyed elf called Legolas (Orlando Bloom), the outspoken but proud Boromir (Sean Bean) and a hot-tempered dwarf called Gimli (John Rys-Davies). The ring itself is a tempting power, a power that can entice and corrupt at any given moment, Ian McKellan plays an ageing wizard called Gandalf the Grey, who knows exactly what this ring is capable of, but is willing to guide this Fellowship until the end. This first entry combines everything into a near flawless film, fantasy, story-driven, violent, epic emotional and touching where it matters most, we don't have a perfect fellowship of individuals here, we have foes, untrustworthy acquaintances, accidental travellers and some not really wanting to be there, but they are all driven my one goal, one that will see them travel across Middle Earth to complete. Peter Jackson perfectly captures a world unlike any other, occupying it with magical mischief and all sorts of good and evil, which the film perfectly represents, it mixes light and dark and often cuts deeply into the flaws of both, while also showing first hand the power of the two on a massive scale, there's nothing quite like it.
The mesmerising cinematography outlines the scope of the film, from lush green landscapes to the snow-covered mountaintops and deep into the underground, each place vastly different than the last, full of beauty, terror, frightening beings with groundbreaking effects, costumes and real landscapes that bring it to life, but this isn't possible without the phenomenal cast in tow. Ian McKellan and Viggo Mortensen are standouts of the film, engrossed in their characters where we can truly feel safe with them as we trek through Middle Earth, but the then relatively unknown Elijah Wood does an excellent job as the likeable Frodo, keeping a level head but standing up when necessary. Smaller roles are also filled by big stars such as Hugo Weaving, Cate Blanchett, Christopher Lee and Liv Tyler, who are on hand at various pit stops for the group to offer advice and solitude, or two bow to a greater force.
This is undoubtedly a benchmark in cinema, combining so many elements of grandeur and action that its hard to find fault, it moves at a fluid pace and the long run time is not noticeable or over-bearing, we have so much to see, feel and admire that it feels right to watch this trilogy consecutively, otherwise the moment can indeed be spoiled, it surpasses all expectations and is simply sublime filmmaking, and it only gets better.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
heyitsmegrif4May 26, 2012
Fellowship it has dazzling visual effects, great action and fantastic performances to spare, and manages to be as visually powerful as it is emotionally. I give this movie 96%.
9 of 11 users found this helpful92
All this user's reviews
10
oxanaMay 20, 2014
I never got into this movie when I saw it in the theater back in 2001. And even after I saw it again and "found" it, "The Fellowship of the Ring" has always remained the part of the trilogy I like the least. Not that it's saying much,I never got into this movie when I saw it in the theater back in 2001. And even after I saw it again and "found" it, "The Fellowship of the Ring" has always remained the part of the trilogy I like the least. Not that it's saying much, considering how much I like the others.

The beginning of the movie is slow (but not as slow as the book's), setting an image of a peaceful folk called Hobbits, who don't like trouble and like to eat lots - enjoyed with good ale and excellent pipe weed.

But then there are the Bagginses... They are not like the other Hobbits - not quite. When Frodo and Sam - with the addition of Merry and Pippin - head out towards the town of Bree, it is soon clear that their Hobbit lifestyle is gone for now.

Innocence is pushed away as we plunge into dark, grim tale of bloody history and heroes who failed and fell to the temptation of the One Ring.

My favorite part starts when the Hobbits, led by Strider, later known as Aragorn, reach Rivendell.

I could go on and on about the wonderful cast that I fell in love with, and whose performances keep getting better and better as their characters grow. Orlando Bloom as Legolas had always been my favorite. Merry and Pippin (Dominic Monaghan and Billy Boyd) offer the flawless comic relief more times than you could ask for it.

As for the others... The Elves are enchanting, and their homes just blow your mind with their beauty. The Nazgûl are hauntingly beautiful and terrible at the same time. The scenery, before and after the Fellowship has been chosen, is so beautiful it's hard to imagine you would have a hard time traveling it; New Zealand at its best.

Although there are small mistakes here and there (most of them funny when you know where to look), and the "size-doubles" don't work very well at times, you forgive them because the story is great. It just doesn't matter.

Like in all the parts of the trilogy, they balance action scenes very well with the calmer ones. You don't get bored. There are a lot of funny moments that reflect on the differences between the characters - and at the same time show you just how they are bonding with each other. This is what makes the next parts so amazing; you actually care about what happens to each and every one of them, and they do not remain hollow and meaningless.

If something needs to be complained about, it is the few quick cuts within a scene between Saruman and Gandalf in Isengard; the dialogue flows but we are taken from one place to another. But that's a minor thing, and in a way, it really works. It just seemed a bit odd in the perfect flow of everything else. Like they wanted to do the same scene in different places at once.

The movie ends in a good spot, leaving us hanging just the right way. It gives you just the right kind of itch to watch the next movie - and then the final one.

And by the way, if you can get your hands on the extended version, don't bother with the theater release. The longer the better, says I!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
RealStriderJan 20, 2012
I am happy to see the awarness of the community. Reviews of those people who do not understand epicness and quality of this movie from some reason , are found unhelpfull. On the other hand almost everyone agrees with those who giveI am happy to see the awarness of the community. Reviews of those people who do not understand epicness and quality of this movie from some reason , are found unhelpfull. On the other hand almost everyone agrees with those who give compliments to this movie , peter jackson , and of course great tolkien. I watched whole trilogy many times and i can only say , that it is the greates trilogy ever. By my opinion all three of these movies are best there is in the movie world. If someone hasnt still watched it , chances are slim but , he should watch it right away , not just this one but whole tirlogy. Thank you community. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
RyMintzFeb 8, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Simply put: One of the greatest movies of all time, and an even better start to the cinematic epic that is the Lord of the Rings trilogy. Amazing visual effects, a gripping story, full of emotion, and a fantastic performance by Ian McKellen as Gandalf, the Fellowship of the Ring is a great open for J.R.R Tolkien's world of Middle Earth. Yes, Tom Bombadil was left out, but when doing adaptations sacrifices must be made, and even though the inclusion of Bombadil would have done nothing other than strengthen the film even more, the film is already a masterpiece. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
skyminsterFeb 12, 2012
this is one of the best films ever, i love the storyline, the action sequences, the coolness, everything about it, it doesn't have any faults really.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
CoreOfDeathMar 15, 2012
probably one of the best fantasy movies out there,with epic effects,a well made story and the movie followed the book well(although they did leave one epic scene out).The music added to the move was brilliant and perfectly matched with theprobably one of the best fantasy movies out there,with epic effects,a well made story and the movie followed the book well(although they did leave one epic scene out).The music added to the move was brilliant and perfectly matched with the film.Overall 10/10 Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
beingryanjudeAug 24, 2014
A modern epic. A new classic. The Fellowship of the Ring kickstarts one of the finest trilogies in cinematic history. What Peter Jackson is able to accomplish, alongside an impeccable cast and crew, is astounding.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
csw12Mar 26, 2012
An absolute masterpiece like no other. Peter Jackson has created something of pure brillance. It is brillantly executed, with powerful music, and a story that truly wonderful. Just think this is only the beginning.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
Trev29Jun 11, 2013
A brilliant breathtaking spectacle would be an understatement. It unquestionably perfect, and because it is, I know I will never see a movie(trilogy) better than the Lord of the Rings.
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
10
ObbiePR18Apr 3, 2012
Con efectso especiales del mejor nivel, con actuaciones merecedoras de Oscar, con una historia simplemente fantastica y con una perfecta direccion de Peter Jackson , The Fellowship of the Rings logra establecer espectativa a lo que seria laCon efectso especiales del mejor nivel, con actuaciones merecedoras de Oscar, con una historia simplemente fantastica y con una perfecta direccion de Peter Jackson , The Fellowship of the Rings logra establecer espectativa a lo que seria la mejor trilogia de todos los timepos. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
theofficeApr 1, 2012
I'm coming to rate this movie because I remember when I first saw it in theaters years ago it is the only time while in a movie ever that I wished it wasn't over. It was enthralling and the film is just absolutely incredible. I cannot thinkI'm coming to rate this movie because I remember when I first saw it in theaters years ago it is the only time while in a movie ever that I wished it wasn't over. It was enthralling and the film is just absolutely incredible. I cannot think of any movie since that I felt that way. Amazing story, great action, lots of different creatures... everything feels so real. You must see this! Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
10
potatoes351Dec 8, 2012
The Lord of the Rings is a modern day classic, a film series that will live in legend. The first film, The Fellowship of the Ring begins the adventure of Frodo, Sam, Merry, Pippin and the forming of the fellowship to destroy The One Ring inThe Lord of the Rings is a modern day classic, a film series that will live in legend. The first film, The Fellowship of the Ring begins the adventure of Frodo, Sam, Merry, Pippin and the forming of the fellowship to destroy The One Ring in the fires of Mt Doom. After inherriting a mysterious ring on his uncles 111th birthday, Frodo is warned by the old wizard Gandalf that the ring possesses an evil power that could bring about the rise of the dark lord Sauron to cast shadow over all of middle earth. As the Hobbits travel to Rivendell they begin a fellowship consisting of many different races from across middle earth who will sacrifice their lives to get this ring to Mordor. Peter Jackson has masterfully transferred Middle Earth from page to screen, making it feel real and incredibly lifelike. A film that everyone should watch Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
OfficialDec 6, 2013
The first film of the series, "LOTR: The Fellowship of the Ring" is emotionally fulfilling, brilliantly plotted and exciting. This movie is a masterpiece and a textbook example on how to create an epic adventure. The special extended edition,The first film of the series, "LOTR: The Fellowship of the Ring" is emotionally fulfilling, brilliantly plotted and exciting. This movie is a masterpiece and a textbook example on how to create an epic adventure. The special extended edition, at 208 minutes, does not seem overlong at all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
wesker2012Nov 18, 2012
A classic movie.
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
ValkyrieeeJun 17, 2012
This was a FANTASTIC film based on a FANTASTIC book. It is one of the few book-to-film conversions that I approved of and it was great. The casting was spot-on as well.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
NecromusDec 4, 2012
This movie was true to the books. Everything in the movie looked the way I imagined it looking when I read the book long ago when I was a boy. Although, I usually don't like CGI, the CGI in this trilogy is absolutely great. As are theThis movie was true to the books. Everything in the movie looked the way I imagined it looking when I read the book long ago when I was a boy. Although, I usually don't like CGI, the CGI in this trilogy is absolutely great. As are the costumes and sets. Gollum is the first CGI character from a serious film that I have liked. It is probably because he was basically a virtual puppet that an actual puppeteer,controlled and they recorded the data points in a computer and then drew the CGI around his movements. Way better than Jar Jar Binks in Start Wars lol! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
MouthofSauronDec 5, 2012
"The Fellowship of the Ring" is a triumph. Despite its lofty and seemingly "unfilmable" source material, it manages to convey the spirit of J.R.R Tolkien's masterwork.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
fanboy57Sep 17, 2012
this movie good. me like this movie. i like it lot. you should like too. it good movie. me like it lot. me really like movie cuz movie good. if you no like movie then you is a stupid.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
SwatiDec 4, 2013
To describe this movie as merely epic would be a gross understatement. As epic movies go, it has all the diverse conflicted characters, fighting against insurmountable odds, clash of interests, difficult decisions concerning life and death,To describe this movie as merely epic would be a gross understatement. As epic movies go, it has all the diverse conflicted characters, fighting against insurmountable odds, clash of interests, difficult decisions concerning life and death, matters of the heart and so on.

The movie starts off with an introduction to the present conflict pervading Middle Earth. Sauron is established as the main villain. Not much is shown about his past. We do not know why these people are fighting against each other. You'll have to read The Hobbit or The Silmarillion to catch up on that. The rest of the first half hour is used to establish the abode of the Hobbits, The Shire.

Then the pace picks up as the main characters leave and we get to witness the vast abundance of Middle Earth, and its people and races including the Elves, who are the most intriguing of them all.

Aragorn, also called Strider, is the action go to guy. Far from home and not ever wishing to return, he literally strides into the story and takes command. He is the person most people would form a bond with, I know I did. Then there are others like Legolas, an elf; and the dwarf Gimli. They form the core among the group. And Boromir the son of the steward of Gondor, whose family has taken care of the affairs of the state with the departure of the last of the kings. Gandalf the grey, a member of the order of wizards, is the old guy counselling and protecting our protagonist, Frodo Baggins, on his quest to destroy the ring that can wield a power greater than any other.

Their journey is perilous, the odds pitted against them deadly. The Ringwraiths, servants of the Dark Lord Sauron, seek to return the ring of power to their master and cannot rest until they have done their duty. The Orcs or Goblins, a dark twisted species, are the footsoldiers of the evil side. As if this was not enough, the ring has the power to influence those around it toward claiming it for themselves and fight to the death for it. As Frodo's uncle Bilbo was the previous owner of the ring, it is felt that he would be better able to withstand its effects.

Peter Jackson has the talent to capture the sense of the epic with the camera angles he employs. Always in fear of failure to grasp the location of the visited places and their relativity to each other, I was amazed how easily everything became clear. The special effects were revolutionary for its time. The art department did a commendable job with the sets, costumes and make-up. The locations used for shooting were serene and exquisite, making me want to visit New Zealand where it was shot. The score did a wonderful job keeping you on the edge of your seat and never letting you really relax and lose the sense of urgency, though the greater credit for that feat has to go to the editor. I also watched the extended version of the film, so I can understand the decision to cut out several scenes of relative unimportance to the plot, but I found their presence to be complementary and fulfilling.

Fantasy movies are always hard to do right. People watching them are willing to be swept off their feet, yet slight inconsistencies could be disastrous. Jackson commits none of those mistakes. Fellowship is my favourite from the trilogy, as it focussed more on the characters. The major battles are part of the sequels, which some might find more alluring. This is a fantasy movie which was done perfectly, in my opinion, and the others in the genre should be held against it for comparison.

Extended edition felt more satisfying. Lady Galadriel had more scenes with the main characters, so did Aragorn and Boromir talking and arguing with each other. A bit of Galadriel's palace was shown. In the final skirmish with the Orcs, Boromir's and Aragorn's scenes were increased, making the sequences which felt rushed before more fleshed out and satisfying. A bit of humour was added too.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
WiesyMar 3, 2013
This movie in one word: AWESOME. The cast is excellent and the story even so good. I like the story and the film is well directed by Peter Jackson. The creatures are very nice. I love this film a lot. A must see
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
Pablo22Mar 17, 2013
The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring review

I have always viewed the Lord of the Rings trilogy as the incarnation of the word epic. It is bathed in moments that will pull out a tear rout of even the manliest of men just by a
The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring review

I have always viewed the Lord of the Rings trilogy as the incarnation of the word epic. It is bathed in moments that will pull out a tear rout of even the manliest of men just by a monologue, a part of the soundtrack, a victory in a battle, a moment were friendship shines. It will make you cheer for the main characters and join them in their journey. I could talk about this masterpiece (yes I refer to the trilogy as one experience) all lifelong, so I will do my best to summarize my feeling in these three parts. My username is pablo2896 in IMDB and Pablo22in Metacritic by the way, so you can visit my three reviews.
So let’s get to the first one, the first movie. The Fellowship of the Ring tells the story of a young hobbit who is put in an overwhelming quest to rid his land of evil. And for me this is one aspect that makes me tear up a bit, the fact that one so small can squeeze out so much courage from himself. And this is no other than Elijah Wood´s Frodo Baggins. Elijah does an amazing job acting as the main character. So the movie starts with a prologue explaining the founding of the one ring and how its master was defeated long ago. This clearly shows you what sort of a jaw dropping ride you are going into. It shows the amazing achievement of the special effects and the scale of these films. Then we are introduced to Frodo (Elijah Wood), this hobbit lives a perfect live in The Shire, a town were these hobbits live, eat and smoke weed (yes they even say it in the movie). His uncle Bilbo Baggins (Ian Holm) has carried the One Ring for a while, this entity that is consisted of the other half of the soul of Sauron, the evil bad guy. So he leaves it to Frodo who is then given the (almost) impossible task of taking it to the fires of Mt. Doom, the only place it can be destroyed and by doing so, vanquishing evil. And in the mean time Sauron sends his nine wraith to find this ring and kill everybody who goes in their way. Easy, right? Gandalf a powerful wizard, played by no other than Ian McKellen who perfectly portrays you the wisdom, the charm and the power of this conjurer, swears to protect Frodo at all costs in this journey and they take Sam with them, played by Sean Astin (who´s incredible acting and character I will describe in my third review) Frodo’s gardener with them. In their journey they meet some characters like Merry (Dominic Monaghan), Pippin (Billy Boyd) and no other than the badass Aragorn who´s actor Viggo Mortensen plays it amazingly, he is able to make you know he is a badass. So to summarize that part this movie has some of the best character developments I´ve seen in any movie. In the elvish sanctuary Rivendell they form the Fellowship of the Ring, which is consisted by the six characters I mentioned up there and three more, Boromir (a man), Legolas (an elf) and Gimli (a dwarf). Sean Bean, the actor who plays Boromir, does a good job in setting this character´s conflicts and desires for the Ring of power, but it portrays his honor and loyalty also. Legolas and Gimli I thought would be more like filler characters but you feel interest for them and you connect to them immediately. The same can be said for Merry and Pippin. From Rivendell they embark to their destination, Mordor the Land of evil. God, I have to talk about the montage of the Fellowship traveling. It is an epic compilation of amazing landscapes and hair rising soundtrack. This is where I really felt the epicness of the movie. By the way this was pretty much the half of the movie, the buildup. So was it a typical long boring buildup? No, not in its least. They encounter dangers like spying crows sent by Saruman, an evil wizard who sides with Sauron at the beginning of the movie, and a treacherous storm (also sent by Saruman, what a dick) in the middle of a dangerous mountain which forces them to take another path, the Mines of Moria. Gimli explains to them that the dwarves will welcome them in there but he´s WRONG. They get there and the place is a graveyard, a graveyard made from dwarves! So to summarize it they get trapped in there (blame the giant octopus) and now have to get across the dwarven city. Warning: EPICNESS! They soon find out they are not alone, and no other than Pippin (fool of a Took!) wakes up every goblin infesting the mines. This leads to an awesome battle were you are cheering for the Fellowship while it slays goblins and a cave troll! They escape and make a run for the bridge of Khazad Dum with an army of goblins on their backs and an awesome score which is beyond epic. But they realize something else is in those mines. A Balrog. A foe so powerful, only Gandalf can defeat it. They get to the bridge and the wizard faces it. In the most epic moments of the film he takes it down but unfortunately he goes down with it. You feel the loss yourself at this moment, seeing everyone in pain. Ran out of letters! See the rest in IMDB.
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
AReviewsJun 20, 2013
"The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring" is a magnificent experience, with breathtaking visuals, and a heart warming adventure, it is absolutely one of the greatest movies ever made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DibbHansenJul 14, 2013
A great fantasy film that boasts of great acting, cool visuals, awesome music and spectacular cinematography. I really loved this film and I personally think this is still the best of the 'Rings' trilogy with its more adventure feel alongA great fantasy film that boasts of great acting, cool visuals, awesome music and spectacular cinematography. I really loved this film and I personally think this is still the best of the 'Rings' trilogy with its more adventure feel along with emotional concept in the story setting. This is a classic film that I really love and admire. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
GerardoAR77Jul 26, 2013
"The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring" is one of the best movies of all time; maybe the greatest fantasy/adventure movie ever made...10/10
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Eternal409Jul 31, 2013
This movie is definitely the most underrated movie in what I would call the "Middle Earth saga" ('The Hobbit' trilogy and 'The Lord of The Rings' trilogy) this movie also carries the most emotional moments in the series too, whether thisThis movie is definitely the most underrated movie in what I would call the "Middle Earth saga" ('The Hobbit' trilogy and 'The Lord of The Rings' trilogy) this movie also carries the most emotional moments in the series too, whether this will change in the two upcoming hobbit movies unknown. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MovieGuysFeb 2, 2014
The first Lord of the Rings is the best. I'm not one to flock to sci-fi movies, but I find this series to be the epitome of the genre. All of the movies can be enjoyed by almost anyone, and not just fans, which makes these movies even more amazing.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
cag11Nov 29, 2013
This is just an epic movie. It does have a long runtime, but that is no excuse to call this movie bad.It made me a LOTR fan, and now nothing can change me. It has the dark sense that I imagined the with the books.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Flickchart1997Oct 5, 2013
Perfectly directed, adapted, written, acted and orchestrated, "The Fellowship of the Ring" is a near perfect film in my eyes. From the sequence on the Shire to the final scene in the film, "The Fellowship of the Ring" is briskly paced,Perfectly directed, adapted, written, acted and orchestrated, "The Fellowship of the Ring" is a near perfect film in my eyes. From the sequence on the Shire to the final scene in the film, "The Fellowship of the Ring" is briskly paced, completely engaging and emotionally powerful. This film is my all time favourite! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
joao1198pedroOct 27, 2013
this first the lord of the rings is absolutely amazing and epic,the battle scenes and the story that is running out is terrific,and the finalyou saw that there is a lot to happen yet.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ReviewermanuverAug 12, 2014
So where do even begin? This film is the start to a truely legendary film series. This one is my personal favourite film of the three and of all time of course. I can easily say that all three of these films are some of the best films youSo where do even begin? This film is the start to a truely legendary film series. This one is my personal favourite film of the three and of all time of course. I can easily say that all three of these films are some of the best films you will see at this time. All three deserve all of the praise they have recieved. Back to this film, the story is so interesting and immersing that you will feel the insensitivity the excitement the emotion and everything pretty much. The atmosphere of middle earth gives you a masterful sense of adventure that no other films can quite capture to immerse you in. The characters in this are so badass and relatable that you can easily care what happens to them. Sure this film has a slow start but this kind of start really does speak to you unlike many other slow starts as it wins you over with the world of middle earth. The cgi is still good even now and believe me when I say this the people who made these films are like the cgi gods you will buy that the cgi characters In this look real and it keeps you Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
fusion_13May 25, 2014
I just cant decide between this movie and the 3rd LOTR movie of which is my favourite. The action and story is amazing and keeps you glued to the screen from start to end!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
DrewtheDude85May 28, 2015
I love all three Lord of the Rings films, they all flow so well together and they really build up such an epic and amazing story. The first film definitely starts things right with the trilogy, It may not be as action packed when compared toI love all three Lord of the Rings films, they all flow so well together and they really build up such an epic and amazing story. The first film definitely starts things right with the trilogy, It may not be as action packed when compared to it sequels but it's still solid entertainment, and when the action does happen it's really a lot of fun to watch. This film also feels so magical and you will almost appreciate this film's lighthearted feeling once the sequels start taking darker turns. I remember already being in awe of this film near the beginning when Gandalf first enters the Shire just because of how cool the Shire environment is and mainly because of the beautiful music playing in the background. The characters are also very likable, each one feels unique in a certain way. Overall I would highly recommend not just this film but the entire LOTR trilogy to anyone who likes good films about epic adventures and fantasy settings. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JarradGhentAug 9, 2014
If this isn't the best set of fantasy movies then I don't what is. Others tend to disagree but I think The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring is the best of the trilogy with The Return of the King not far behind a brilliant movie.If this isn't the best set of fantasy movies then I don't what is. Others tend to disagree but I think The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring is the best of the trilogy with The Return of the King not far behind a brilliant movie. With great heart and respect. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
beeblebroxJun 30, 2015
The Fellowship of the Ring was truly a masterpiece among fantasy films. The music was powerful, action scenes were coreographically stunning and CGI was amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
anichelsJan 1, 2016
This is one of the greatest epics of all time. Simply amazing, Frodo isn't a fighter: can't wield a sword, shoot an arrow or do magic. So for him to be the main hero in this story is bewildering. I think that deep down, it shows us that fromThis is one of the greatest epics of all time. Simply amazing, Frodo isn't a fighter: can't wield a sword, shoot an arrow or do magic. So for him to be the main hero in this story is bewildering. I think that deep down, it shows us that from small, quaint qualities, great things can be achieved with help from friends.
That's what I took out of this movie/story anyways.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MaciejCichoszFeb 17, 2016
"The Fellowship of the Ring" proved to be the beginning of an immersive and beautiful adventure that set out for years. As a child I was astonished, the world of Middle-Earth became my obsession and a hobby. Now, nearly 15 years later I"The Fellowship of the Ring" proved to be the beginning of an immersive and beautiful adventure that set out for years. As a child I was astonished, the world of Middle-Earth became my obsession and a hobby. Now, nearly 15 years later I recall "The Fellowship of the Ring" as one of the most inspiring movies ever made. Peter Jackson and his crew did the impossible on making this film - they recreated the world from words into something larger and touchable and vivid.

To me, personally, "the Lord of the Rings" trilogy became the apex of the fantasy film-making and is still unbeatable and looked up to. It left an unremovable mark on the cinematography and on my heart as it is a touching and moving picture that transcends from words, from acting and visuals into emotions. A one of a kind masterpiece.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
launchpad2132Jan 6, 2015
One of the best movies of all time. It has an epic plot with incredable acting and some of the most beautiful scenes on the planet. It was unlike anything I have scene before. Some people say that Game of Thrones surpasses this. I can't believe it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SythusRATINGSOct 18, 2014
An epic adventure of good against evil, a story of the power of friendship and individual courage, and the heroic quest to pave the way for the emergence of mankind, J.R.R. Tolkien's master work brought to cinematic life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JohnMasterLJul 20, 2015
The Fellowship of the Ring es poderosa, épica y mágica. La primera parte de la trilogía es perfecta en todos los aspectos, un espectáculo fantasioso repleto de secuencias inesperadas e impactantes. Peter Jackson no solo creo una película,The Fellowship of the Ring es poderosa, épica y mágica. La primera parte de la trilogía es perfecta en todos los aspectos, un espectáculo fantasioso repleto de secuencias inesperadas e impactantes. Peter Jackson no solo creo una película, creo un clásico. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
andrebarrosoDec 20, 2014
I must admit that I was never interested on watching "The Lord of the Rings" franchise, but when I decided to watch it, my conception about fantasy revolutionized.
Marvelous screenplay. Extremely faithful to Professor Tolkien's novel. Peter
I must admit that I was never interested on watching "The Lord of the Rings" franchise, but when I decided to watch it, my conception about fantasy revolutionized.
Marvelous screenplay. Extremely faithful to Professor Tolkien's novel. Peter Jackson took risks on adapting the trilogy to the big screen, but surely we can affirm: the risk was worth it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
WheelzFourReelzDec 29, 2014
The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring is a phenomenal beginning to a phenomenal trilogy. This movie nails every single aspect that it has perfectly. This is one of my favorite movies of all time.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
andreekaMar 6, 2015
an epic movie although the first half are pretty damn boring and the second one i just saying " awesome". in began you will see how beautiful this film. very recommend film if you have so many times :D
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
homer4presidentMar 11, 2015
Honestly the one of the most incredible movies I have ever seen, and the fact that it was made 14 years ago makes it even more spectacular. Amazing acting, amazing characters, amazing scenery, amazing actions, amazing story, amazing everything!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LOTRfanMar 13, 2015
The Lord Of The Rings: The Fellowhip of the Ring bring me to a new world. This movie is so damn beautiful with the awesome soundtrack. I really have no idea about this
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
VinceRocks123Jun 25, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A powerful allegorial epic of friendship and fortitude against corruption and evil, Peter Jackson and the studios of NewLine Cinema brings J.R. Tolkien's spectacular fantasy novel and the magical labrinyth of Middle Earth to life in the first installment in this adventurous franchise.

When the young hobbit Frodo Baggins (Elijah Wood), finds himself left to inherit the One Ring, a ring that is said to contain the powerful evil spirit of Sauron, that can easily seduce and corrupt anyone who possesses it, he must embark on a adventure that will change him and those around him forever.

With the help of the powerfully wise yet humble wizard, Gandalf (Ian McKellen), a forest hunter named Aragorn (Viggo Mortensen), an archer wielding elf Legolas (Orlando Bloom) a giant dwarf Gimli (John Rys-Davies), and a young knight Boromir (Sean Bean) including Frodo's closest friends Merry, Pippin, and Samwise, Frodo and the uncanny Fellowship must set on a legendary odyssey of overcoming shear darkness as Sauron's re-awakened forces begin to rise again from the ashes in pursuit and the legendary chase as well as the War of the Ring soon begins.

At first it seems to long and kind of boring to most viewers who aren't interested in fantasy and stuff. but upon seeing it, all three over and over after being impressed by its spectacular imagery, stunning effects, awesome editing sequences and impactful story, I soon realize that it was better than expected after seeing the entire trilogy very dark, long, painful and gritty but with all the patience God gave me it all made a worthwhile subject to watch and a very important one as well as one of my personal favorites. hands down to one of the most important films that I enjoyed as much as I did with Star Wars back in my old childhood.

Its one of the movies you need to see to believe and be captivated for more fun entertainment the best movie of 2001! its a film that draws out elements similar to Kurosawa and Bergman yet its a faithful adaption that is still enjoyable and vibrant in my eyes....
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
EdwardGregoryApr 19, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Brooking no argument, history should quickly regard Peter Jackson’s The Fellowship Of The Ring as the first instalment of the best fantasy epic in motion picture history. This statement is worthy of investigation for several reasons.

Fellowship is indeed merely an opening salvo, and even after three hours in the dark you will likely exit the cinema ravenous with anticipation for the further two parts of the trilogy. Fellowship is also unabashedly rooted in the fantasy genre. Not to be confused with the techno-cool of good science fiction, nor even the cutesy charm of family fare like Harry Potter, the territory of Tolkien is clearly marked by goo and goblins and **** Persons with an aversion to lines such as, “To the bridge of Khazad-dûm!” are as well to stay within the Shire-like comforts of home (their loss).

With those caveats in place, it bears repeating: fantasy does not come finer. There are electrifying moments — notably the computer-assisted swooping camera through Isengard as it transforms into a factory for evil — when Jackson’s flight of fancy approaches the sublime as the romantic poets would understand it: inspiring awe.

Leaving aside the thorny issue of Tolkien die-hards and their inevitable gripes — “What no Tom Bombadil?” — Jackson’s screenplay (written in collaboration with Fran Walsh and Phillipa Boyens) is both bolder and more judicious than Steven Kloves’ surprisingly timid retread of Harry Potter. In particular, rescuing the romance of Arwen and Aragorn from the footnotes and the elevation of Saruman to all-action bad guy actually has a corrective influence on Tolkien’s often oblique and female-sparse source material.

There are problems, though. The three-hour running time is high on incident and low on discernible form. After successive detours to Elf habitats Rivendell (the watery home of Elrond) and Lothlórien (the forest home of the Lady Galadriel), the uninitiated might well ask why these crazy Elf kids can’t just live together and spare us all this attenuated dramatic structure.

More importantly, the action clearly climaxes in the desperate flight from the Mines Of Moria, where the largely seamless SFX is showcased in the best possible light — total darkness — but the narrative demands a different, downbeat ending. Indeed, but for some fine emotional playing from Bean, Mortensen, Astin and Wood, the final fight might feel like a particularly brutal game of paintball in Bluebell Wood. But then, the real battles are yet to come...

Putting formula blockbusters to shame, Fellowship is impeccably cast and constructed with both care and passion: this is a labour of love that never feels laboured. Emotional range and character depth ultimately take us beyond genre limitations, and it deserves to play as wide as a certain Mr. Potter.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
vexarezMay 29, 2015
Best part of The Lord Of The Rings trilogy. Fascinating landscapes, lovely characters, brilliant actors and of course a perfectly told story.

I just can´t stop watching this move, and of course the others, too, again and again. I just love
Best part of The Lord Of The Rings trilogy. Fascinating landscapes, lovely characters, brilliant actors and of course a perfectly told story.

I just can´t stop watching this move, and of course the others, too, again and again. I just love Frodo and Sam, they are perfect !
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DanilSirotkinJul 21, 2015
Определённо,- трилогия "Властелин Колец" является шедевром кино - (как и книга - шедевром литературы), и я абсолютно не понимаю людей, которым она не нравится. Естественно, эти фильмы стали культовыми, - а мной они засмотрены до дыр. Про нихОпределённо,- трилогия "Властелин Колец" является шедевром кино - (как и книга - шедевром литературы), и я абсолютно не понимаю людей, которым она не нравится. Естественно, эти фильмы стали культовыми, - а мной они засмотрены до дыр. Про них можно очень много писать, - и чем больше вы пишете, - тем больше вас захлёстывают эмоции, - и тем больше хочется писать. Теперь перейдём к рецензии на мой любимый фильм "Великой Трилогии", - на мой самый любимый фильм - фэнтези: Властелин Колец: Братство Кольца (The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring). Вот честно - при просмотре этого фильма я нахожусь в состоянии экстаза. Когда я смотрел ВК маленьким, я не особо понимал сами фильмы, но я чувствовал, что перед моим взором предстоит что-то поистине великое. Видеоряд и музыка, меня в них, конечно, завораживали... Пересказывать сюжет фильма я не буду, - однако спойлеры всё равно будут. Однако, - я сомневаюсь, что этот фильм ещё кто-то не видел. Итак, "Братство" - самый неспешный фильм из трех, однако же и самый волшебный и близкий к духу Толкина. В нём - наименьшее количество компьютерной графики из всех экранизаций Толкина. (Для сравнения: в первом фильме - 540 кадров со спецэффектами, в третьем - 1488). Так что сами видите: хоть трилогию и стоит считать единым фильмом, - рассматривать их лучше по отдельности. Сюжет - всем известен: Фродо достаётся кольцо от Бильбо, Гэндальф узнаёт, что это не простое волшебное кольцо - а Кольцо Всевластья, которое подчиняется только Саурону, - Тёмному Властелину. После ухода Бильбо, Гэндальф передаёт кольцо Фродо, говорит, чтобы он унёс его из Шира, и договаривается с ним о встрече в таверне "Гарцующий Пони". Фродо выступает вместе с Сэмом в путь, и вот тут-то и начинаются приключения. Скажете: "И что тут особенного?" И вы были бы правы, если бы сказали это не прочитав книги или не посмотрев фильмы полностью. Узнав же историю до конца, перед вами предстала бы великая картина. Углубляясь же в сюжет ещё глубже, вы осознали бы, что Властелин Колец - это, по сути, "слоёный пирог" о добре и зле, дружбе и преданности, отваге и чести, благородстве и героизме, любви к природе, к дому, о смерти... Но самый главный смысл (на моё мнение) я поведаю в рецензии на 3-й фильм. Мой любимый эпизод в фильме - это эпизод в Мории - заброшенном и удивительно прекрасном царстве гномов, когда герои заходят в Дварроуделф, у меня замирает сердце. Ну и конечно шикарный эпизод с Балрогом. "Ты не пройдёшь!" - ("You shall not pass!"), - говорит само за себя. Ну и конечно шикарный, грустный и одновременно радостный финал с Боромиром и отплытием Фродо. Я скажу так: "Жить ради самого существования этого фильма, - уже неплохо, ибо он придаёт сил." По поводу актёров: все они БЕСПОДОБНЫ, кроме Элайджи Вуда (который мало чем похож на книжного Фродо). Иэн Маккеллен - идеальный Гэндальф, Кристофер Ли - светлая ему память - идеальный Саруман, Вигго Мортенсен (которому, к слову, больше нравится первый фильм трилогии) - идеальный Арагорн. Шон Бин в роли Боромира - очень харзматичный, удивительно сильный и слабый одновременно. Хьюго Уивинг (кто бы что не говорил), - для меня идеальный, мудрый эльф. Сэм - идеальный друг. Всё в этом фильме идеально, нет ни малейшего недостатка. И даже к Фродо привыкаешь. За всё это, говорю спасибо Питеру Джексону (режиссёр), съёмочной группе, актёрам, композитору (одному из 2-х моих любимых) Говарду Шору за поистине шедевральную музыку, и отдельное спасибо Толкину, за величайшее произведение жанра фэнтези. Подводя к концу мой разговор с вами о "Братстве Кольца" (рецензией это уже сложно назвать), я хочу, чтобы вы безаговорочно уяснили: 1) - этот фильм - КЛАССИКА, 2) - в этом фильме заключена ВЕЛИКАЯ СИЛА (что это, пусть пока каждый решает сам), 3) - вы должны ЖИТЬ С НИМ, неся его в своём сердце, и хотя бы ежегодно его пересматривать. Уверяю вас, трилогия Властелин Колец ПРИДАЁТ СИЛ, - и вовсе не обязательно смотреть фильмы, - нужно лишь послушать музыку из них или посмотреть трейлеры. Итак - ВК - один из 2-х моих самых любимых фильмов - (наравне с сагой о Гарри Поттере), Братство Кольца же, - самый близкий к духу Толкина фильм из гексалогии Джексона, и мой любимый из трилогии о Кольце. Ну, и после всего мною написанного, как думаете, рекомендую ли я этот фильм? :) 100/100 или 10/10.(или 5/5 или 4/4). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
reviewer2015lolDec 12, 2015
If this movie was a car, it would be a rolls royce. Pure perfection,amazing and the best movie of the year 2001. It's maybe dark and not everyone favorite but o my god it's a masterpiece. It's more than ten years old and it's still looks likeIf this movie was a car, it would be a rolls royce. Pure perfection,amazing and the best movie of the year 2001. It's maybe dark and not everyone favorite but o my god it's a masterpiece. It's more than ten years old and it's still looks like a movie that would come out now. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
aadityamudharApr 17, 2016
I'm a bit confused with some of the criticism of this movie..."the same scene over and over again..." That line is repeated in several reviews. Huh? Which scene was that? It appears that this is just the same movie review, over and overI'm a bit confused with some of the criticism of this movie..."the same scene over and over again..." That line is repeated in several reviews. Huh? Which scene was that? It appears that this is just the same movie review, over and over again. And our old friend "character development" gets trotted out as another example of the shortcomings of this film. Folks, give it a chance. As someone earlier mentioned, it's a trilogy. I could already see changes at work in several characters in just the first film. And sometimes, even in the most respected films, characters DON'T develop or change. They just are what they are, and here's their story. Don't mistake plot development for character development. I had no desire to see this film when it came out. I'd tried to read the books way back when I was in college, but just couldn't get into them (I've never been much of a Fantasy fan). My husband, however, is a major LOTR fan, and convinced me to go. I've seen it 4 times since then, and can't wait for the DVD and the new installment in December. Now, I may not be the sharpest knife in the drawer, but I'm not a child, nor do I have the intellect of one, and yet I found the film exciting, funny, moving, thought-provoking, and just plain FUN. (And so did my husband, the big LOTR fan.) I cared about the characters and found them compelling. And I had no problem with the ending. Of course, different strokes for different folks! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
gameguardian21Mar 7, 2016
A amazing start to an amazing trilogy. You already get interested in the word and its characters, with its action scenes being entertaining as well. This is a must watch if you love good movies, or if you have read the book.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MasterRileyJul 20, 2016
Wow. Amazing, this is. Whoops, sorry, wrong movie series. The Fellowship of the Ring is an amazing start to Tolkien's novels that has an amazing script, a great cast, great performances, great effects, great action, great music, and greatWow. Amazing, this is. Whoops, sorry, wrong movie series. The Fellowship of the Ring is an amazing start to Tolkien's novels that has an amazing script, a great cast, great performances, great effects, great action, great music, and great world building. And the great thing is that the next two movies are just as good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
GMReviewsSep 10, 2016
The first entry in the Lord Of The Rings trilogy is a ground-breaking achievement in cinema. This film was in my opinion, perfect. You are immediately introduced to this stunning, fantasy world, which has been directed so well andThe first entry in the Lord Of The Rings trilogy is a ground-breaking achievement in cinema. This film was in my opinion, perfect. You are immediately introduced to this stunning, fantasy world, which has been directed so well and cinematographed ingeniously, that you never want to leave it. The very talented cast definitely add that great sense of realism to the world, appearing ultimately convincing in their roles they play so ingeniously. The special effects were done strikingly well, with the monsters looking life like, especially because of the crisp direction. The action in this film knows where it needs to be to fit in with the captivating drama, and finally, despite this being a very long film, and being a very good film - I'd usually say this almost four hour film flew by in a breeze, but I could acknowledge that this film was four hours long and it felt four hours long to me, but I didn't want it to end. I give this film a 10/10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
gNov 19, 2016
A masterpiece tale of Tolkien's imagination. Magnificent directing by Peter Jackson of growing this as a bug-budget film trilogies of all time. Better than The Hobbit. One of these masterpiece films you've got to see. Brilliant adaptations.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JamesMNov 19, 2005
What a magnificent and striking this film is. Masquerading as commercial entertainment, The Fellowship of the Ring sometimes borders on being art, and demonstrates was is possible when a truly brave filmmaker is given a good idea and a large What a magnificent and striking this film is. Masquerading as commercial entertainment, The Fellowship of the Ring sometimes borders on being art, and demonstrates was is possible when a truly brave filmmaker is given a good idea and a large budget. A must see. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
KatieM.Oct 28, 2005
The
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
Andys_ReviewsAug 25, 2012
This is the second time I have seen this cut of the movie and, although it is very long, I must say I have seldom enjoyed a film as much. I will not try to compare the book with the film; I
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
9
SeriouslyMay 26, 2011
The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring and its sequels are the only fantasy films based on books that have not disappointed me. I know that that isn't really saying much with great disapointments such as the Harry Potter movies,The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring and its sequels are the only fantasy films based on books that have not disappointed me. I know that that isn't really saying much with great disapointments such as the Harry Potter movies, Twilight Saga and Eragon (yeah, I'm young) -Oh, and the Chronicles of Narnia, but this really is worth watching whether you read the books or not. Based on the first two The Lord of the Rings books by J.R.R. Tolkien it is a typical fantasy with elfs, dwarfs, wizards and goblins(called Orcs) but is boosted up to such an epic scale. Peter Jackson and everyone else who worked on this film really knew what they were doing. Now stop reading this rambling of text and go watch the movie. Rent it if you have to. Just don't let this one by you. Umm... Why are you still here? Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
PerubiFeb 1, 2011
A fantastic and magical voyage to the unique world created by Tolkien. I think this is the best movie they could have done with this novel; they have captured the atmosphere excellently, and you can see this concretely at the beginning of theA fantastic and magical voyage to the unique world created by Tolkien. I think this is the best movie they could have done with this novel; they have captured the atmosphere excellently, and you can see this concretely at the beginning of the film, in The Shire (if I just could live there...). The interpretations are very good, except of Elijah Wood... he doesn't do it bad, but I never liked him at all. Great movie, highly recommended to the people that likes this... magical and mystical stuff. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
strickenApr 3, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The greatest movie I have ever ever ever seen...The actors are all great...No man can make a film like this...I am waiting for The Hobbit...everyone is waiting for this movie... Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
CursedKnight187Jul 31, 2012
A brilliant start to an exceptional franchise. In this movie we begin to unwrap the wonderful yet dangerous world of Middle-Earth, and just like the book, it is presented in a marvelous fashion. Some book adaptions are terrible, and this isA brilliant start to an exceptional franchise. In this movie we begin to unwrap the wonderful yet dangerous world of Middle-Earth, and just like the book, it is presented in a marvelous fashion. Some book adaptions are terrible, and this is the farthest you can get from one of them. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
mubagreenSep 1, 2011
indeed,a fabulous work of art......highly captivating movie .....a great start to a highly acclaimed trilogy of cinema...im anticipating a lot to watch the remaining movies of the trilogy.....
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews