Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 1382 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: An epic adventure of good against evil, a story of the power of friendship and individual courage, and the heroic quest to pave the way for the emergence of mankind, J.R.R. Tolkien's master work brought to cinematic life. (New Line Cinema)
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Jackson surpasses the expectations anyone might have had for him with The Fellowship of the Ring, the first installment of his trilogy devoted to J.R.R. Tolkien's masterwork.
  2. 100
    So consistently involving because the excellent cast delivers their lines with the kind of utter conviction not seen in this kind of movie since the first "Star Wars."
  3. 100
    I see it as nearly perfect: It's one of the best fantasy pictures ever made.
  4. The film's single downside is a certain nagging sense of deja vu: the fact that so many of the elements of the story -- the dark force, the all-empowering object, etc. -- have been usurped over the years (by "Star Wars" and others) that you feel as if you've been down this road many, many times before.
  5. 90
    Consistently beautiful and often exciting -- despite some dead passages here and there, it's surely the best big-budget fantasy movie in years. [24 & 31 Dec 2001, p. 126]
  6. Reviewed by: Ron Wells
    80
    Probably the best comment I could give it is that after sitting through the first two and 1/2 hours, I would have happily sat through another five. How long am I going to have to wait for that DVD Box Set?
  7. It's full of scenic splendors with a fine sense of scale, but its narrative thrust seems relatively pro forma, and I was bored by the battle scenes.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 32 out of 380
  1. RandyM.
    Apr 22, 2007
    10
    An epic movie if I ever saw one. Captivating and just plain fun to watch. This movie is, indeed, art.
  2. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    An epic beginning, known for its impeccable sound, the script developed, very faithful to the book, good performances, a show well done, as IAn epic beginning, known for its impeccable sound, the script developed, very faithful to the book, good performances, a show well done, as I can say about the soundtrack, direction, costumes, makeup, art direction and visual effects. In short, an excellent movie. Expand
  3. Dec 6, 2013
    10
    The first film of the series, "LOTR: The Fellowship of the Ring" is emotionally fulfilling, brilliantly plotted and exciting. This movie is aThe first film of the series, "LOTR: The Fellowship of the Ring" is emotionally fulfilling, brilliantly plotted and exciting. This movie is a masterpiece and a textbook example on how to create an epic adventure. The special extended edition, at 208 minutes, does not seem overlong at all. Expand
  4. Mar 3, 2013
    10
    This movie in one word: AWESOME. The cast is excellent and the story even so good. I like the story and the film is well directed by PeterThis movie in one word: AWESOME. The cast is excellent and the story even so good. I like the story and the film is well directed by Peter Jackson. The creatures are very nice. I love this film a lot. A must see Expand
  5. Dec 27, 2012
    9
    A great film and the start of an epic adventure. The characters, story line, special effects are all amazing. One of the best films of allA great film and the start of an epic adventure. The characters, story line, special effects are all amazing. One of the best films of all time since "a new hope". Expand
  6. Aug 25, 2012
    9
    This is the second time I have seen this cut of the movie and, although it is very long, I must say I have seldom enjoyed a film as much. IThis is the second time I have seen this cut of the movie and, although it is very long, I must say I have seldom enjoyed a film as much. I will not try to compare the book with the film; I Expand
  7. NiggA
    Oct 23, 2007
    0
    It sucked my left nut on the right side bullshit it sucked both the balls freestyle that shit and eat it.

See all 380 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Film Critics Pick the Best Movies of the Decade

    Film Critics Pick the Best Movies of the Decade Image
    Published: January 3, 2010
    Dozens of film critics have made their lists of the best films of the past ten years, and we've tallied the results.
  2. Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best (and Worst) Movies of the Decade

    Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best (and Worst) Movies of the Decade Image
    Published: December 17, 2009
    Our best of the decade coverage continues with a look at the past ten years in cinema. While the decade's best-reviewed movie may not have been a commercial blockbuster (or even in English), our lists turn up plenty of recognizable names in addition to obscure gems you may have missed.