User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 2249 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. lloydeM.
    Dec 17, 2003
    10
    It was good.
  2. KeithW.
    Dec 17, 2003
    10
    Marcus B. I have read more books than the line of your people back to the beginning. Tolkien is not literature, he's art.
  3. StevenK.
    Dec 17, 2003
    10
    This is a truly phenomenal ending to, what I believe now, is the best trilogy, even surpassing Star Wars. With a perfect blend of raw action, emotional intensity, and witty humor, Jackson makes this the most enjoyable movie-going adventure I have ever experienced in my lifetime. With regard to each character we've come to know, we are left with no lose ends or let downs...rather we This is a truly phenomenal ending to, what I believe now, is the best trilogy, even surpassing Star Wars. With a perfect blend of raw action, emotional intensity, and witty humor, Jackson makes this the most enjoyable movie-going adventure I have ever experienced in my lifetime. With regard to each character we've come to know, we are left with no lose ends or let downs...rather we are wholly satisfied with the evolution of the journey from start to finish. I, for one, am sad that the journey is over. Expand
  4. NessaW.
    Dec 17, 2003
    10
    I loved this movie. It is truly an wonderful movie experience! Jackson deserves the Oscar
  5. TimF.
    Dec 17, 2003
    10
    Both true to its source and beautifully retold.
  6. C.Pope
    Dec 17, 2003
    10
    A fitting end to a great saga. Could not think of a better way to adapt these books.
  7. HayleyR.
    Dec 17, 2003
    10
    Someone gave this a zero, I noticed. Who would do such a thing? This movie made me so incredibly happy. My friends and I saw it last night and we all agree that it was perfect. It completely overshot our expectations. Anyone who cannot enjoy something that is so much fun probably enjoys absolutely nothing.
  8. MikeS.
    Dec 17, 2003
    10
    Hey Maria T, What fantasy movie qualifies as "non-geek fantasy entertainment". All sci-fi and fantasy movies are somewhat "geeky". Anyway...This is the BEST MOVIE I HAVE EVER SEEN. I DON'T THINK A BETTER MOVIE WILL BE RELEASED BEFORE I DIE and I'm only 28 years old. Unfricking believable how good this movie is!
  9. JohnP.
    Dec 17, 2003
    10
    You can tell that a critic has no real criticism of a movie when they whine that something is "tedious". Stop trying to be a "masterful film critic" or to be cool somehow by not liking this movie. If you don't like this movie, you are not fully human.
  10. NeilK.
    Dec 17, 2003
    10
    Could the movie be more like the book? Yes, I suppose so. Could the movie be better? Well, I think we'll find out when the "special Edition" comes out next November. But it is ABOUT TIME that someone got a final/third installment of something RIGHT! Someone better tell George Lucas to pay attention to his fellow trilogy from down under. (Don't worry, no ewoks here... no leaving Could the movie be more like the book? Yes, I suppose so. Could the movie be better? Well, I think we'll find out when the "special Edition" comes out next November. But it is ABOUT TIME that someone got a final/third installment of something RIGHT! Someone better tell George Lucas to pay attention to his fellow trilogy from down under. (Don't worry, no ewoks here... no leaving us without a resolution, no over the hill action stars trying to re-capture some long lost glory, No over-acting by Canadians in the Captain's chair, No Sofia Coppola) I guess if you see Back to the Future III & this you'll figure in order to make a good #3, you need horses. If you didn't like the first two, don't see this one. But, if you were drawn in by the books or the films, your spirit will soar and your heart will break... your eyes will be taken on one more journey of discovery and wonder. If a sequal could ever win another best picture, this would be the one! (and that's one as in ring, not one as in neo spelled sideways.) Oh, and if you can handle it... watch all three in a day! Expand
  11. Rick
    Dec 17, 2003
    10
    Quite often, when one dearly loves a piece of literature, such as The Lord of the Rings, it is frustrating to see it slapped together on film in some unconcerned manner. Peter Jackson has not done that. He has put together the most spectacular series of films perhaps ever created. While the exact details from the novels may not be recreated perfectly, the spirit, and the emotion resound Quite often, when one dearly loves a piece of literature, such as The Lord of the Rings, it is frustrating to see it slapped together on film in some unconcerned manner. Peter Jackson has not done that. He has put together the most spectacular series of films perhaps ever created. While the exact details from the novels may not be recreated perfectly, the spirit, and the emotion resound passionately. Return of the King is the crowned King of fantasy films. Expand
  12. NickS.
    Dec 18, 2003
    10
    No words can truly describe this unbelievable display of filmmaking! Jackson saved the best for last and delivered a whopping epic that will go down as one of the best movies of all time! The action, the drama, the comedy, it was all there! I was captivated from the first frame and could have sat there for even another hour. An amazing film experience that will stay with me for a long No words can truly describe this unbelievable display of filmmaking! Jackson saved the best for last and delivered a whopping epic that will go down as one of the best movies of all time! The action, the drama, the comedy, it was all there! I was captivated from the first frame and could have sat there for even another hour. An amazing film experience that will stay with me for a long time. Make sure you see this in the best theatre possible. The visuals, sound, and music will blow you away! Expand
  13. WesB.
    Dec 18, 2003
    10
    Tremendous. Great action and story, wonderful acting. Billy Boyd and Dom Monaghan give great performances that are seeming to go unnoticed.
  14. JohnT.
    Dec 18, 2003
    10
    The end of all things, and such an end.
  15. Charlie
    Dec 18, 2003
    10
    The movie was done really well - it's not perfect, but fairly bullet-proof. If you can punch holes in this thing you can punch holes in anything. The emotional aspect that everyone appears to be raving about was somewhat muted given that I had read the book and knew the plotline - it was much better than two and very entertaining, however.
  16. AlanR.
    Dec 18, 2003
    10
    Art is in the eyes of the beholder, and to my eyes, Tolkien's universal messages of good and evil, courge and love has relevance for any time. I read it during Vietnam and now during the madness in the Middle East and the books and the writing shine a light of understanding and hope during these troubled times. The fact that the books have helped, affected and have been enjoyed by so Art is in the eyes of the beholder, and to my eyes, Tolkien's universal messages of good and evil, courge and love has relevance for any time. I read it during Vietnam and now during the madness in the Middle East and the books and the writing shine a light of understanding and hope during these troubled times. The fact that the books have helped, affected and have been enjoyed by so many people around the world translate into art for me. Tolkien as art? Indeed! Expand
  17. TimB.
    Dec 18, 2003
    10
    Wow. I wasn't aware movies could be as good as literature. Wow, thats really all I have to say. To everyone involved in making this movie, thank you.
  18. JamesF.
    Dec 18, 2003
    10
    This movie, like its predecessors is epic, a true classic of our time! It stops just short of perfection...but afterall, thats what the extended edition DVD is for!
  19. LoganN.
    Dec 18, 2003
    10
    Lets put it this way...i've read the book...i know how everything happens...i know how it ends...and where it goes from there....and knowing this...I STILL got chills watching the movie...and i cried at the ending. This movie was the most touching, most fantastic, most orgasmic experience i have ever had. (over the top?...not in the least bit)
  20. Joel
    Dec 18, 2003
    10
    Movie was great, maybe the best ever. I think its interesting that the people that hated this movie have some obvious grudge against the books.
  21. NickC.
    Dec 19, 2003
    10
    To the person who rated this movie a 2 - I am truly shocked. All the work that has been put into this masterpiece, and you honestly feel it deserves a 2? That is utterly proposterous. This movie is one of the greatest pieces to ever grace the screen... both visually and emotionally stunning, I don't know how anyone will be able to top such an epic tale. This LOTR series is a To the person who rated this movie a 2 - I am truly shocked. All the work that has been put into this masterpiece, and you honestly feel it deserves a 2? That is utterly proposterous. This movie is one of the greatest pieces to ever grace the screen... both visually and emotionally stunning, I don't know how anyone will be able to top such an epic tale. This LOTR series is a monumental accomplishment and deserves the praise and recognition from everyone with hope and imagnination in thier hearts. Expand
  22. ScottA.
    Dec 19, 2003
    10
    This film, as can be said for all three, will change the face of filmmaking as we know it.. The seamless CGI effects by WETA and the sheer power of the battle scenes shall reign supreme over all films. Other film franchises should take note and lease a page out of Peter Jackson's filmmaking book. Outsatnding acting from the entire cast, but especially Andy Serkis. He should recieve This film, as can be said for all three, will change the face of filmmaking as we know it.. The seamless CGI effects by WETA and the sheer power of the battle scenes shall reign supreme over all films. Other film franchises should take note and lease a page out of Peter Jackson's filmmaking book. Outsatnding acting from the entire cast, but especially Andy Serkis. He should recieve some kind of award nod. Expand
  23. MarcS.
    Dec 19, 2003
    10
    Very few times in the movies do people stick around and want to talk about what they have just seen with total strangers. This is one of those rare movies, like Schindler's List or Gone With The Wind, that trancends the movie making experience into something personal. Take all three films together and you arguably have the greatest 10 hours ever placed on film just for sheer Very few times in the movies do people stick around and want to talk about what they have just seen with total strangers. This is one of those rare movies, like Schindler's List or Gone With The Wind, that trancends the movie making experience into something personal. Take all three films together and you arguably have the greatest 10 hours ever placed on film just for sheer storytelling alone. Then you add the CGI work and the results are masterful. If this does not take home every Oscar it is up for, I will never watch the Academy Awards again. Expand
  24. ErikNolan
    Dec 19, 2003
    10
    Easily the greatest movie ever made. Absolutely brilliant.
  25. AramisG.
    Dec 19, 2003
    10
    A wonderful film. There were a few things missing which will no doubt end up on the extended version DVD. Christian Science monitor? I take nothing serious about anything with the word "Chrsitian Science" in it.
  26. TylerG.
    Dec 19, 2003
    10
    The LOTR books are like the bible. They aren't up for review. So, the movies are then like the latest biblical movie. That is, you aren't going to complain about the good guy getting crucified, because that is part of the story!! All you would be able to criticize is how the story is portrayed. This is why you shouldn't complain about the confusing plot and long battle in The LOTR books are like the bible. They aren't up for review. So, the movies are then like the latest biblical movie. That is, you aren't going to complain about the good guy getting crucified, because that is part of the story!! All you would be able to criticize is how the story is portrayed. This is why you shouldn't complain about the confusing plot and long battle in LOTR, and yadda yadda yadda because that is part of the story!! The only complaints worth hearing are those that point out discrepancies and plot-holes in the cinematic depiction of the classic story. So, unless you have either 1) not done your research by reading the books or, 2) have unrealistic notions about the ease of adapting a massive text to 12 hours of film, then you have no reason to fault this film!!! That goes for parts one and two as well!!! They are perfect and brilliant!!! It is a powerful achievement that should be admired by all people for its creative ambition!!! Ebert whines about its irrelevance to current events. Well, he obviously has not done his research. It is extremely relevant!!! 90 percent of the movie is directly based on Tolkien's experience in the trenches in WWII!!! Why do people keep forgetting that? Also, if I'm not mistaken, most humans today are concerned about the wasting of natural resources and deforestation and such. Hello??? Can anobody say it's about time the Ents fought back?? This movie came at a great time and it is best not to get Middle-Earth confused with the likes of Hogwarts and the Matrix because Middle-Earth is a legitimate echo of our own world. Taken in context, this can be a very powerful movie to the conscious viewer, and you will find yourself leaving the theatre inspired and anything but apathetic about your own world. Thankyou. Enjoy. Expand
  27. John
    Dec 19, 2003
    10
    Great!!!
  28. MikeF.
    Dec 19, 2003
    10
    Edge of your seat from start to to the climax. An amazing accomplishment from an amazingly dedicated and talented team of actors and filmmakers.
  29. JeffS.
    Dec 21, 2003
    10
    It is nice to see that there are people who don't get this movie. It requires something of the viewer. It is bold and asks people to think and pay attention. Small details like the moth fluttering in front of Gandalf during the battle before the black gate of Mordor take the viewer back to the first movie. It also tells them what is about to happen. The more you bring to this 10 hour It is nice to see that there are people who don't get this movie. It requires something of the viewer. It is bold and asks people to think and pay attention. Small details like the moth fluttering in front of Gandalf during the battle before the black gate of Mordor take the viewer back to the first movie. It also tells them what is about to happen. The more you bring to this 10 hour masterpiece the more it rewards you. The only people who would find themselves bored in a film like this are intellectually and emotionally dead. Either that or they are the dishonest types who simply cannot bear the thought that everyone could love this movie, so they have to take a cheap shot just to feel like they are above the rest of us. Of course not everyone is interested in doing the work to fully appreciate this movie, but that is hardly necessary to enjoy the top notch action and special effects. For those of higher sensibility there is excellent acting and an incredible musical score that ties the stories all together. To say like Roger Ebert that the characters are cartoons is mystifying. These are people we care deeply about if we have a heart at all. For all their differences from us, they are supremely human. If this story were a cartoon, Frodo would go back to the shire and shrug off the deep emotional wounds inflicted on him by his ordeal, but he does not. So whether you were one of the brain dead reviewers who was bored, or just one of those not equipped emotionally to grasp the deep mythic truths of this story, I'm glad you didn't get this movie. Expand
  30. Zach
    Dec 21, 2003
    10
    This movie is the bomb. who in the right mind would give it anything below 9.
  31. JoseC.
    Dec 21, 2003
    10
    A brilliant ending to an epic saga
  32. BobM.
    Dec 21, 2003
    10
    This movie was brilliant! So was the acting! What gets me are these folks giving it zeros? Why even open up your mouths or waste everyone's time just trying to rain on the parade. It's really transparent. Another thing that gets me are these people complaining that it was too slow, or too long or it had too many endings. All the endings are part of the story people! I know most This movie was brilliant! So was the acting! What gets me are these folks giving it zeros? Why even open up your mouths or waste everyone's time just trying to rain on the parade. It's really transparent. Another thing that gets me are these people complaining that it was too slow, or too long or it had too many endings. All the endings are part of the story people! I know most of your attention spans can only hold you through an episode of "Friends" or at best "Survivor", but stop wasting print space and other peoples time with these ridiculous scores! Most everyone has a PC these days. Unfortunately, it doesn't provide you with taste and it seems to give some of you the idea that you have license to be an idiot now. Well, I trust that you were idiots before PCs came along. Long live "Return of the King"! Expand
  33. Fishball
    Dec 21, 2003
    10
    AWESOME. BRILLIANT. SPECTACULAR. AWE-INSPIRING....(continues with every possible positive exclamation in the English language)...^^
  34. ChrisQ.
    Dec 21, 2003
    10
    This movie was the best thing ever created by man. Anyone that gives it less then a 9 is a complete fool. when people refer to it being too long they are referring to the last 15min when it seems that the movie ends 3 times when it doesn't because of a fade to black they keep doing - Big deal - I say add on a few more fade to blacks. Bottom line - If your a dry heartless egotistical This movie was the best thing ever created by man. Anyone that gives it less then a 9 is a complete fool. when people refer to it being too long they are referring to the last 15min when it seems that the movie ends 3 times when it doesn't because of a fade to black they keep doing - Big deal - I say add on a few more fade to blacks. Bottom line - If your a dry heartless egotistical bore of a person don't go see this movie - If you're like the rest of mankind go see it because it's mind-rocking. Expand
  35. MeganH
    Dec 20, 2003
    10
    I absolutely loved it! Rick S. is a idiot (He gave it a two).
  36. JacobH.
    Dec 21, 2003
    10
    It was just AWESOME!!!!!!!!
  37. TimD
    Dec 20, 2003
    10
    Brilliant.
  38. King...Mountain
    Dec 22, 2003
    10
    Okay folks, seriously, this movie rocked! Anyone who gave it a score below a 6 is a player hater, with an intelligence, and attention span on a gnat. Anyone who didn't like this film thinks Fast and the Furious was the "best movie ever." What a load of pretatious crap. Peter Jackson did the best he could with the sheer volume of these books, and compressed the best parts in the Okay folks, seriously, this movie rocked! Anyone who gave it a score below a 6 is a player hater, with an intelligence, and attention span on a gnat. Anyone who didn't like this film thinks Fast and the Furious was the "best movie ever." What a load of pretatious crap. Peter Jackson did the best he could with the sheer volume of these books, and compressed the best parts in the movie. I'm sorry folks, but the actual books are boring. Too much detail going nowhere, and no path, or order in the books to keep ones' mind sane. I'd give this film a 10 you won't find another film that will deliver this much action, romance and substance to movies like Gothika, or other crap. EVEN if you are not a RP (Role Play), or Sci Fi person, this movie still had something called substance, and deserves as I said above a 6. Come on, anything else is crazy! Folks, even the ending was necessary. People grunt and complain about character development at the end, but look people: there are no more LOTR movies coming out! We needed closure. Jackson has said he's not doing the Hobbit, so thats it. No more Middle Earth. So, unless you are a mindless drone with no attention span (which would discount half of America) go see this bad ass film! Expand
  39. RobertAlley
    Dec 20, 2003
    10
    Cha Ching. This movie is super good. I haven't read the books. But the movie trilogy is a great story by itself. I've heard the movies are mostly like the books, pretty loyal. Still this movie is great.
  40. NathanH.
    Dec 20, 2003
    10
    This is the best movie ever made.
  41. SteveY.
    Dec 22, 2003
    10
    Forget that stupid Nicole Kidman movie. This is the best pic of the year. Period.
  42. SandeepS.
    Dec 23, 2003
    10
    Easily, easily, easily, easily the best movie of 2003. There was an unbelievable amount of hype prior to this movie release, and I must say that ROTK is one of the few (if not the only) movie that has been able to stand up to the hype and actually surpass expectations. Tolkien wrote to transform reality into fantasy, and in the process, make comments about human society. Naturally, as a Easily, easily, easily, easily the best movie of 2003. There was an unbelievable amount of hype prior to this movie release, and I must say that ROTK is one of the few (if not the only) movie that has been able to stand up to the hype and actually surpass expectations. Tolkien wrote to transform reality into fantasy, and in the process, make comments about human society. Naturally, as a film director, Jackson's motivations are different, but he still manages to create a fantasy for the viewer that is all-encompassing. That said, I won't hold my breath for the "Academy" to reward this movie with its duly deserved Picture of the Year. But if you value the LOTR trilogy like I do, I am sure Oscars, Grammys, Emmys and the such are pretty meaningless to you. Sometimes they get it right (Saving Private Ryan) but too often, they do not (Chicago?). Simply put, ROTK owns. Expand
  43. BitBurn
    Dec 23, 2003
    10
    An excellent film. Storyline is just incredible. Very artistic. However, I would have gave it a 9.5 because of one simple annoyance: the ending. This movie as like 5 endings! Other than that, it is a masterpiece.
  44. BrianO.
    Dec 23, 2003
    10
    Peter Jackson has created the cinematic event of our lifetime! Jackson's masterful interpretation of Tolkien's epic trilogy is visceral, ethereal, and surreal. However, this is film is anchored with analogies to dilemnas that face our own human existence; love, war, hate, greed, friendship, power, and the struggle of good against evil. The cinematography is incredible, the Peter Jackson has created the cinematic event of our lifetime! Jackson's masterful interpretation of Tolkien's epic trilogy is visceral, ethereal, and surreal. However, this is film is anchored with analogies to dilemnas that face our own human existence; love, war, hate, greed, friendship, power, and the struggle of good against evil. The cinematography is incredible, the screenwriting is brilliant, the acting is superb, and the post production work is flawless. This is a truly inspired film that is logistically beyond comprehension. As a filmmaker, Peter Jackson has set, raised, and elevated the bar at a level in which a precious few in the industry have ever achieved! Jackson has insured Tolkien's legacy...creating his own in the process. Expand
  45. KristinF.
    Dec 23, 2003
    10
    This movie is the bomb! All three were awesome. I was on the edge of my seat the entire time! Anyone who did not enjoy these movies have no taste at all. Orlando Bloom is so hot, with his bow and arrow...he shot one right through my heart! And all of the rest of the cast were just amazing. Brimming with talent.
  46. JohnD.
    Dec 23, 2003
    10
    Nevermind, I was wrong. This is one of the greatest movies ever made. Breathtaking in scope and design, it will be a classic, watched by millions for decades to come.
  47. C.meyer
    Dec 26, 2003
    10
    Hands down this has been the best set of movies (both as a whole AND independently) I've seen to date, and had this final installment been a flop, all the work done before this point would have mounted to nothing. Luckily for all of us who have obsessed over Peter Jackson and his fellowship, he's saved the best for last! I hope Peter and all those involved get the respect they Hands down this has been the best set of movies (both as a whole AND independently) I've seen to date, and had this final installment been a flop, all the work done before this point would have mounted to nothing. Luckily for all of us who have obsessed over Peter Jackson and his fellowship, he's saved the best for last! I hope Peter and all those involved get the respect they SO deserve come Oscar night! Expand
  48. ConstanceS.
    Dec 29, 2003
    10
    How often do you come across film reviews that use "dazzling synthesis of pagan animism, heroic quest mythology, orientalism, Pre Raphaelite imagery, 1950's creature feature and Hollywood war epic" all to descibe a film that you can enjoy at the local multiplex? I am pleased to have an "epic" (and a trilogy no less!) worthy as my parents stories of seeing the glory of "Fiddler on the How often do you come across film reviews that use "dazzling synthesis of pagan animism, heroic quest mythology, orientalism, Pre Raphaelite imagery, 1950's creature feature and Hollywood war epic" all to descibe a film that you can enjoy at the local multiplex? I am pleased to have an "epic" (and a trilogy no less!) worthy as my parents stories of seeing the glory of "Fiddler on the Roof" and "The Ten Commandments" on the big screen or "Singing in the Rain" playing for two years at (Grauman's/Mann's) Chinese in Hollywood. I was afraid that "The Return" would falter and turn into sequels of great movies past (Godfather III, Aliens with exponents, Star Wars prequels, Jack Nicholson retreads) but The Lord of the Rings trilogy are legends, collectively and individually. And yes, thank God it's 3 hrs. long! I can't wait for the extended version on DVD with bathroom breaks:) Hope the Academy has afew statues for the "Kiwi Three" this Febuary. I wonder if they'll make Pete wear shoes? Expand
  49. JeannetteC.
    Dec 31, 2003
    10
    Fitting end to the trilogy and amazing film in its own right.
  50. MattS.
    Dec 31, 2003
    10
    I have been waiting and dreading this day. For now the movies are complete, but now there will be no more. A excellent movie, story and action wise. The CG is extreme, but how else would you depict some of the scenes, if you find away, please do share, and minatures were used for some city scenes. RotK has the storyline of Fellowship and action of Towers. Take those, multiply them by 2 I have been waiting and dreading this day. For now the movies are complete, but now there will be no more. A excellent movie, story and action wise. The CG is extreme, but how else would you depict some of the scenes, if you find away, please do share, and minatures were used for some city scenes. RotK has the storyline of Fellowship and action of Towers. Take those, multiply them by 2 and you get RotK.Why people, would give this a bad score, I don't know. Perhaps they aren't fully mature enough to understand symbolism. I guess some people need to stick to Freddy vs Jason and Cat in the Hat. Expand
  51. LeeDallas
    Dec 31, 2003
    10
    This is a love-it-or-hate-it movie (just look at other posts for proof) And I love this one just like the other two. My second favorite movie of the new millenium (my first being, of course, Spirited Away).
  52. JoshS.
    Jan 11, 2004
    10
    There is this one scene in the movie where Frodo puts the ring around his neck, after Sam tries to convince him that he should look after the ring. The scene is almost like religious poetry. You can FEEL the weight of this ring in Frodos eyes. Like Jesus carrying the cross, Frodo is carrying the weight of the world. No special effects in this scene but it blew me away.
  53. raVen
    Jan 12, 2004
    10
    -The beauty of the first came from not knowing what to expect and being blown away by its immediate and awesome beauty. Expectations exceeded, the weight on the second was to maintain the rush, and to set up the various climaxes of the third. It did just that, on the strength of Jackson's vision. -Now that the series is complete--or now that the MOVIE is complete, I should say--I -The beauty of the first came from not knowing what to expect and being blown away by its immediate and awesome beauty. Expectations exceeded, the weight on the second was to maintain the rush, and to set up the various climaxes of the third. It did just that, on the strength of Jackson's vision. -Now that the series is complete--or now that the MOVIE is complete, I should say--I think it's fair to comment on how successful and/or necessary that vision was. Summed up easily, I believe without fear of contradiction that if the spirit of Tolkien were to be maintained in this new format, Jackson had to make plot moves. What is surprising, I think, is just how much he managed to put in, considering the immense scale and visual standards they were holding themselves to. At the same time, Jackson's own signature is there too--like in the beautiful visual metaphor of having orcs circle Aragorn's last company outside Mordor, forming an emmense eye to distract Sauron's own glaring orb. -But most important are the small things (and small people): the heaviness of Elijah's eyes, the evolution of each fellowship character as they take their place in the larger story, the languages, the brilliant musical score. The nuances are treated with reverence, and THAT's the heart of Tolkien. One only need to think back to Sam's line in the first ("If I take one more step...") to appreciate the history this series has etched out. They'll be around forever--and that's good, because the thing is spectacular. Expand
  54. Chris
    Jan 15, 2004
    10
    Loved it- This absolutely deserves to win best picture- no question about it.
  55. BobD.
    Dec 15, 2004
    10
    A fantastic Movie, very enjoyable.
  56. AimeeB.
    Jan 22, 2004
    10
    Perfect 10! All the actors brought their characters to life, it was an awesome movie and the whole series was great! Legolas was an awesome character and Orlando was a great cast!
  57. GlendaP.
    Jan 23, 2004
    10
    The Fellowship of the Ring was excellent, The Two Towers was brilliant and The Return of the King...Speechless. There are no right words to describe such perfection. The battle scenes, the special effects, the actors, the directing...everything. This movie could not even begin to disappoint a fan like me. Absolutely brillient!! Thank you to the cast, crew and Peter Jackson for bringing us The Fellowship of the Ring was excellent, The Two Towers was brilliant and The Return of the King...Speechless. There are no right words to describe such perfection. The battle scenes, the special effects, the actors, the directing...everything. This movie could not even begin to disappoint a fan like me. Absolutely brillient!! Thank you to the cast, crew and Peter Jackson for bringing us LOTR's fans such an astoundingly brilliant movie!!!!! Expand
  58. GregG.
    Jan 23, 2004
    10
    This movie was excellent, best Lord of the Rings yet!!! This is definately the best movie of 2003. You have to watch this movie, but watch the first two first. THis movie is EXCELLENT!!!!!!
  59. DustinK.
    Jan 24, 2004
    10
    This rocks!!!!!!!
  60. VivianS.
    Jan 25, 2004
    10
    A truly wonderful achievement! Stunningly beautiful and heartfelt. The actors all turn in excellent performances. And yes, Peter Jackson is a god.
  61. MitchM.
    Dec 7, 2004
    10
    The three films are but one, and it is a stupendous cinematic achievement. This final installment delivers on the promise of the first two, and even ups the ante for jaw-dropping spectacle as civilizations clash.
  62. r6affleck
    Oct 27, 2004
    10
    One of the best movies with the great effects and with the fantastic actors and the director did a supreme job.
  63. Leslie
    Feb 12, 2004
    10
    This is just a wonderful film, and perhaps the best I have ever seen. It's both visually astonishing and deeply moving. It balances these virtues while sustaining a thrilling tempo leading to a stunning climax and a heartbreakingly beautiful coda. Congratulations and thank you to those who worked to bring this film and this trilogy to everyone.
  64. ZA
    Feb 13, 2004
    10
    Best movie of all time.
  65. AlexandraA.
    Feb 15, 2004
    10
    Return of the King is a great movie. It surpassed by insanely high expectations. And I didn't realize that it was possible, but multiple showings only make the viewing experience better: my friends and I have seen it from 2-4 times, and we always discover something new and wonderful with each viewing. The filmmakers have accomplished what would have been thought impossible three Return of the King is a great movie. It surpassed by insanely high expectations. And I didn't realize that it was possible, but multiple showings only make the viewing experience better: my friends and I have seen it from 2-4 times, and we always discover something new and wonderful with each viewing. The filmmakers have accomplished what would have been thought impossible three years ago: to adapt this encyclopedic trilogy to the movie medium. And in doing so, they evince tremendous respect for the source material and bring Tolkien's vision to life so completely and so beautifully. It's apparent that the film is made by Tolkien fans, by people who truly love this story and want to share it with the world. A splendid work. Expand
  66. SteveW.
    Feb 18, 2004
    10
    This was a fantastic movie and a great trilogy. Extremely well directed, competently acted, and amazing scenery. Possibly the most enjoyable film experience I have ever had. If this does not win the Oscar they have lost most of the credibility they have left. The rest was destroyed when they picked Chicago, Shakespeare in Love, and Titanic.
  67. RoseM.
    Mar 13, 2004
    10
    A wonderful film that I could see again and again.An epic which should go down in history as a masterpiece.
  68. JimK.
    Mar 19, 2004
    10
    One of the greatest movies of all time.
  69. BeccaF.
    Apr 13, 2004
    10
    This movie seriously has it all -- emotion, adventure, action, special effects. There's no way, and i mean no way, that this movie could have been any better.
  70. RandyJ.
    Apr 18, 2004
    10
    This movie was more than a'ight, it was the bomb. Know what I'm sayin'? Are you feelin' it too? Go see this movie. Even Simon liked it.
  71. KaylaK.
    May 11, 2004
    10
    This movie is awesome!!! I would give it an 11 if I could, it ROCKS! Go Orlando and Elijah (LoL)!
  72. AndrewL.
    May 25, 2004
    10
    I realize that at the times this is being posted my review is on the bottom of a novel in itself. I realize that for every one movie with the size scale and hype of Rotk that there is going to be a mass of great reviews and a few bad reviews some from people with honest opinion, and others who want to feel special by bashing something popular. with that said this is a great movie that I realize that at the times this is being posted my review is on the bottom of a novel in itself. I realize that for every one movie with the size scale and hype of Rotk that there is going to be a mass of great reviews and a few bad reviews some from people with honest opinion, and others who want to feel special by bashing something popular. with that said this is a great movie that could have followed the books better but given the transition of medium does a good job on its own. The acting is superb the special affects awe inspiring, and the battles about as perfect as you can get from cinema. I ask that everyone who watches these movies read the books as well to get the full experience as thay are masterpieces of literature...that's right they are literature. I also ask that you not be swayed by a few pissants who want to be cool and go against anything popular so as to feel "special." Expand
  73. KenE.
    May 25, 2004
    10
    I give LOTR: Return of the King a score of 11!! HEY KAYLA YOU CAN GIVE THE MOVIE A SCORE OF 11 IF YOU WANT TO.
  74. HaileyP.
    May 27, 2004
    10
    This is the best movie in the whole world everybody has to see it. I think that the books are better than the movies though.
  75. RenatoV.Junior
    May 29, 2004
    10
    This is a fantastic film!!! No more comments!!!
  76. KarmenB.
    Jun 23, 2004
    10
    This movie was the best out of all three! people who did not like it are MAJOR butt heads, and orlando bloom and elijah wood made outsanding preformances.
  77. MichaelM.
    Jan 19, 2005
    10
    This is the best movie ever made! I have been an enormous Lord of the Rings fan my whole life, true, but I have been a "good movie" fan even longer. This movie has incredible acting (Sean Astin, Elijah Wood, Sir Ian McKellen, Viggo Mortensen, Andy Serkis, David Wenham, the whole bunch), simply unbelievable special effects, incredible directing and screenplay, wonderfully choreographed This is the best movie ever made! I have been an enormous Lord of the Rings fan my whole life, true, but I have been a "good movie" fan even longer. This movie has incredible acting (Sean Astin, Elijah Wood, Sir Ian McKellen, Viggo Mortensen, Andy Serkis, David Wenham, the whole bunch), simply unbelievable special effects, incredible directing and screenplay, wonderfully choreographed battle sequences, and a simply beautiful score. The whole series captivated me from the start...and it kept me subjugated for 3 years! The Return of the King, being in my opinion the best of the three, brought tears to my eyes on more than one occasion. If I could give grades to only two people for this film, I would have to grade as follows: A++ to Peter Jackson for a dazzling movie and the incredible retelling of the best story ever created, and an A++ to Sean Astin for his simply amazing portrayal of Sam, who was my favorite character when I read the books and remained such in the movies. It is a "must see!" Go, become enthralled in the amazing epic trilogy of J.R.R. Tolkien and Peter Jackson's The Lord of the Rings. Expand
  78. chrism.
    Jan 28, 2005
    10
    It is very unusual to see the 3rd movie of a trilogy that is so good. great ending to a great epic story. I found this movie to be very satisfying. would recommend to anyone.
  79. KaylaB.
    Feb 11, 2005
    10
    This is the best movie I have ever seen! Everything was awesome - the special effects, the acting....... If you haven't seen it yet, it is more than worth seeing!
  80. BoydL.
    Feb 24, 2005
    10
    Awesome.
  81. MichelleJ.
    Mar 15, 2005
    10
    OK. I'm a girl and I absolutly Loved this (and the rest) Movie. Now the people that gave it a crappy review are phsyco and need SERIOUS HELP!!! It was excellent...the special effects, Orlando Bloom...EVERYTHING!
  82. NChatana
    Jun 27, 2005
    10
    Illya Z. You should watch only "bold and the beautiful
  83. JamesM.
    Aug 14, 2005
    10
    Very Very Very Good Movie, The Best Movie I've Ever watched. It keeps you in suspense, it makesyou feel like your in the movie in a weird way.
  84. KevinP.
    Sep 14, 2005
    10
    The best movie of all time.
  85. NickM.
    Nov 16, 2006
    10
    The greatest movie of all time. No other movie compares to its scope of production and detail as well as its level of entertainment.
  86. StevenL.
    Dec 23, 2006
    10
    After twice reading The Hobbit and The Lord of the RIngs, I would not have thought it possible to bring the books to the big screen. Having seen the films I can say that Peter Jackson did a masterful job and the films are excellent.
  87. LukeT.
    Sep 24, 2006
    10
    I totally echo Chris H's sentiments about the detractors. As to the film, I am proud to say that it is my favorite film of my lifetime (1985-) and certainly one of the best of all time. Excellent performances by all and a job well done for Peter Jackson, Fran Walsh, Phillipa Boyens, and the crew. My one tiny quibble: no Saruman. I understand the reasoning for leaving him out, but I I totally echo Chris H's sentiments about the detractors. As to the film, I am proud to say that it is my favorite film of my lifetime (1985-) and certainly one of the best of all time. Excellent performances by all and a job well done for Peter Jackson, Fran Walsh, Phillipa Boyens, and the crew. My one tiny quibble: no Saruman. I understand the reasoning for leaving him out, but I and others who have seen it felt that it left that part of the story unfinished. Yet, that decision made the extended edition that much better. Expand
  88. Furbydude
    Dec 14, 2007
    10
    I see some of you hated this movie. but that's silly because a LOT of movies are long and boring nowadays (and I was being sarcastic). LOTR was at least a good trilogy. in some of the boring bits, I tried to stay awake for the exciting parts, and yes it was a good movie.
  89. ChanceB.
    Apr 23, 2007
    10
    The trilogy was one of the only ones that I've seen that actually matched the books.
  90. BrandonS.
    Jun 22, 2008
    10
    A classic in every sense. These movies were essentially one 14-hour epic broken into three installments (just as the original is really one long novel broken into three books). Completely amazing, groundbreaking, and full of heart. It's set the bar by which all future epics will be judged.
  91. Harry
    Jun 23, 2008
    10
    It is cinema at its finest. The story, told through a genuine narrative, is very deep, as it is full of symbolism. Tolkien had vision when he wrote the books. Jackson then made the films. They were perfect. He envisioned one of the most imaginative world with so much skill, making every detail feel realistic. The beauty of the score and the magical atmosphere of the Elvish culture is It is cinema at its finest. The story, told through a genuine narrative, is very deep, as it is full of symbolism. Tolkien had vision when he wrote the books. Jackson then made the films. They were perfect. He envisioned one of the most imaginative world with so much skill, making every detail feel realistic. The beauty of the score and the magical atmosphere of the Elvish culture is simply unforgettable. The performances are really good. I didn't see actors, I saw mythological creatures. The film is full of emotions, touching themes such as friendship, courage and love. The films are deeper than what they seem, even philosophical, with Gollum being the most complex character of the series. His transformation is extraordinary, he could be a reflect of a psycho's psychology. The film is a cinematic achievement. Expand
  92. DavidO.
    Dec 11, 2003
    10
    This is the best movie ever.
  93. DavidM.
    Dec 11, 2003
    10
    Peter Jackson has saved the best for last. An exceptional finale to a great trilogy.
  94. FasihA.
    Dec 12, 2003
    10
    Just WOOOOW.. might be the best movie ive ever seen.
  95. AlexA.
    Dec 12, 2003
    10
    This movie is incredible. Thank you china town.
  96. STEPHENB.
    Dec 12, 2003
    10
    A truly incredible experience. I wish I could thank Mr. Jackson in person. He may be the greatest director that has ever lived.
  97. RobT.
    Dec 13, 2003
    10
    The best movie of its type ever made. Period.
  98. NickP.
    Dec 14, 2003
    10
    This is without a doubt the best film in cinematic history.
  99. JensV.
    Dec 14, 2003
    10
    Awesome. Just Awesome.
  100. DanielT.
    Dec 14, 2003
    10
    This movie is the reason Peter Jackson is the BEST!!!!!
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. The conclusion of Peter Jackson's masterwork is passionate and literate, detailed and expansive, and it's conceived with a risk-taking flair for old-fashioned movie magic at its most precious.
  2. Reviewed by: David Hunter
    100
    An epic success and a history-making production that finishes with a masterfully entertaining final installment.
  3. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    100
    The second installment was better than the first, and this one is best of all. It has spectacular action scenes and imaginary creatures, and it’s by far the most moving chapter. The performances have deepened.