User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 2251 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 16, 2012
    10
    This is simply a masterpiece.
    You will never see a trilogy like this one, essential for your cinematographic culture. The Return of the King is the prove that third parts can be much better than the first or second one.
  2. Aug 9, 2011
    10
    It's a perfect epic. There's not one false step. The battles are incredible, the characters just as fun as ever. This movie is basically flawless. One of the best ever
  3. GeorgeS.
    Sep 26, 2008
    10
    This movie is supreme in every aspect: visualy, story-wise, directing and with an extraordinary soundtrack. My personal favorite ever since I saw it!
  4. Jun 6, 2012
    10
    There's nothing that I can say in praise of this film that hasn't already been said. One of the best movies, of the best movie trilogy ever made. Stunning, stunning, and stunning.
  5. Jul 21, 2012
    10
    the best trilogy ever created. Peter Jackson has done what most people thought was impossible, made 3 amazing movies. Lotr deserved all 17 of its Oscars and probably more. this will remain my top 3 movies ever!!
  6. BobLuxenburg
    Jan 20, 2004
    10
    Cormac P., heres what i want u to do, BURN IN HELL!!!!!!!!!!!! SO DON'T YOU ANDREW K!!!!!!!!! How can you how can you say that its nothing when everything about this movie is spectaculer. Even you, yes you Frieda L, you can suck my cup of tea. And everyone that disis it like Robert H, Leigh C, David R, Arleen, Dwayne R, Jawad S, Joe B, J R, Goliath, Harriet, Bob B, Sally L, Rebecca R,Cormac P., heres what i want u to do, BURN IN HELL!!!!!!!!!!!! SO DON'T YOU ANDREW K!!!!!!!!! How can you how can you say that its nothing when everything about this movie is spectaculer. Even you, yes you Frieda L, you can suck my cup of tea. And everyone that disis it like Robert H, Leigh C, David R, Arleen, Dwayne R, Jawad S, Joe B, J R, Goliath, Harriet, Bob B, Sally L, Rebecca R, Fantasy, Jude T, Simon L, C B, Antonio A, John D, Joyce T, Rick S, Sweet angle, Brian K, Mike G, Jeffery G, Matt B, Eric M, Matt R, Maria T, Marcus B, Matt P, John S, Sam K, Joe C, i want you all to die and rott in hell!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! You have no joy in this series so all of you all are full of s&^%t!!!!!!!!!!!!!! you all are the weakest link. goodbye. Expand
  7. J.k
    Jan 4, 2006
    10
    It's a movie with a lot of war i love it.
  8. WilliamH.
    Apr 6, 2008
    10
    These films show film journalists and fans everywhere that fantasy films can be absolutely superb. And this film has been the perfect end to what has been an epic masterpiece and adventure.
  9. AnnieW.
    Jun 18, 2004
    10
    The best movie ever made.
  10. Apr 15, 2011
    10
    This film clearly is the best triology made of our time and we are so lucky to have live this experience thoughout 2001-2002 and 2003 phenomenon, The Hobbit is coming soon!!!!! i have a feeling that this will be as good as this three brilliant masterpieces
  11. Dec 20, 2012
    10
    Quite possibly the most satisfying and epic conclusion to an already perfect trilogy, the Return of the King is a testament to both the genius of the filmmakers and the original author J.R.R. Tolkien. It blends seamlessly with the Fellowship of the Ring and the Two Towers to create the journey and story that , and yet stands on its own as a masterpiece, a masterful piece of cinema thatQuite possibly the most satisfying and epic conclusion to an already perfect trilogy, the Return of the King is a testament to both the genius of the filmmakers and the original author J.R.R. Tolkien. It blends seamlessly with the Fellowship of the Ring and the Two Towers to create the journey and story that , and yet stands on its own as a masterpiece, a masterful piece of cinema that will endure till the end of days. Its visual grandeur, cinematographic excellence, musical dexterity, haunting narrative, and ultimate perfection coalesce to create a tale, unlimited in emotional richness, that will resonate through the ages. Every viewing of the film for me is a journey in and of itself, one that ultimately ends in tears (I hear Gandalf lamenting right now "I will not say do not weep, for not all tears are an evil"). I fondly recall the midnight premiere of film and how, when I looked around at the audience during the Grey Havens scene, there was not a dry eye in the house, including my father who has (forgive me for the clicheness ) the emotional range of a teaspoon. If that isn't evidence for the profound emotionality of the film, then I don't know what is. Little scenes throughout the film as well elicited such powerful reactions from the audience I couldn't help but feel even more emotion because of that. The Ride of the Rohirrim, Aragorn's speech, Gandalf and Pippin's moment during the Siege of Minas Tirith, and many other scenes throughout the film, whether they induced goosebumps or tears, created an energy in the theatre that was both palpable and moving. Once the text "The End" appeared on screen, there was a moment of silence, and then an uproar of applause and cheering. Once again, brought to tears. In any case, the Return of the King is and will ever be a Goliath among films, and I cannot imagine that a film will ever be made that will come to dwarf a film such as this. Expand
  12. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    I really enjoyed the epic and emotional complexity of the entire film. While the ending may seem overly long (at over 3 hours, that is a bit excessive), but the film is brought to a conclusion that is magical and satisfying. I enjoyed the action, the visuals, the script, the music and the acting. This is a great fantasy film that will live on forever.
  13. Mar 8, 2015
    10
    i guess people gave this movie rate under 4 or five are pretty retarded and so ridicoulus. this is spectacular film and got many critical acclaimed. the fact saying every element in LOTR are near perfect. music score, script, visual and effects, acting, sound, design, cinematography and etc. people with NORMAL brain couldn't gave the lord of the rings so low rating.
  14. Mar 11, 2015
    10
    The Return of the King is by FAR the most moving, inspirational and epic of the three parts in Peter Jackon's take on Tolkien's fantasy masterpiece. After proving that this trilogy can carry the weight of a truly enormous body of text with the Fellowship of the Ring and the Two Towers, Jackson has shown that nothing is impossible anymore when being brought to film, and that fantasy can beThe Return of the King is by FAR the most moving, inspirational and epic of the three parts in Peter Jackon's take on Tolkien's fantasy masterpiece. After proving that this trilogy can carry the weight of a truly enormous body of text with the Fellowship of the Ring and the Two Towers, Jackson has shown that nothing is impossible anymore when being brought to film, and that fantasy can be surreal, but grounded to reality. Expand
  15. Anonymous
    Jun 8, 2005
    10
    Actually, a 10 isn't nearly enough. It derserves every academy award it won. Emotional resonance is prevalent throguhout, acting is top grade, and the action is quite the eye-opener. If you thought the battle of Helm's deep in Two Towers was good, wait till you see The battle for minas tirinth. Possibly the best movie ever made.
  16. MattH.
    Dec 12, 2003
    10
    The best of the three, made me cry, crap my pants, and everything. The best movie of the year by far with some of the best performances yet. And, this is the best movie I have seen in my entire life.
  17. MarkM.
    Jan 10, 2004
    10
    Direction by Peter Jackson is bracing, sophisticated, stylish, lyrical, brash, romantic, and elegiac all in one. The cast conjures forth the best ensemble performance of the year, and Sean Astin finds himself with a performance deserving an Oscar nomination. Oh, and Miranda Otto does the females proud -- no doubt -- delivering the other Oscar-worthy performance of the film. Don't Direction by Peter Jackson is bracing, sophisticated, stylish, lyrical, brash, romantic, and elegiac all in one. The cast conjures forth the best ensemble performance of the year, and Sean Astin finds himself with a performance deserving an Oscar nomination. Oh, and Miranda Otto does the females proud -- no doubt -- delivering the other Oscar-worthy performance of the film. Don't wait to see this one. Here is a cinematic beauty to behold in theatres. Expand
  18. Marc-o
    Jan 14, 2004
    10
    I am not really a fan of fantasy literature or films but how can you watch these films and be anything but amazed, the sheer scope of these three gigantic movies envisioned by Peter Jackson blows me away, the mans sheer dedication to his craft is unprecidented, one only has to look back at his first feature Bad Taste and ok its not anything on this scale or level of story telling but that I am not really a fan of fantasy literature or films but how can you watch these films and be anything but amazed, the sheer scope of these three gigantic movies envisioned by Peter Jackson blows me away, the mans sheer dedication to his craft is unprecidented, one only has to look back at his first feature Bad Taste and ok its not anything on this scale or level of story telling but that took him six years or so to make with no budget and a crew and cast of mates on weekends. After good but commercially unrecognised movies like The frighteners , and Heavenly Creature Jackson comes up with just about the biggest films ever mad. I can understand if this is not you thing but if you didnt think it was your cup of tea cinema go'ers then why pay the admission, i for one would not pay the entrance to see a 3hr Sandra Bullock romantic comedy!!! But in all seriousness this movie is about as good as it gets i for one am going back to the movies tonight just to remind myself how good it really is. This movie really is the best modern cinema can offer if you don't have respect for this then i suggest needle work or mabey stamp collecting!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  19. GinaN.
    Jan 26, 2004
    10
    What an amazing achievement! I love this movie! Thank you to the cast and crew for making such a memorable final chapter to this dazzling trilogy.
  20. FunEddie
    Jan 4, 2004
    10
    Is this the greatest movie of all time? Probably not. Is Lord of the Rings the greatest trilogy of all time? Lets leave it a few years before making that judgement but I can think of two very good reasons why it may well end up being considered the best - Return of the Jedi and The Godfather 3. What this movie most definitely is however is a magnificent, thunderous, amusing, touching, Is this the greatest movie of all time? Probably not. Is Lord of the Rings the greatest trilogy of all time? Lets leave it a few years before making that judgement but I can think of two very good reasons why it may well end up being considered the best - Return of the Jedi and The Godfather 3. What this movie most definitely is however is a magnificent, thunderous, amusing, touching, beautiful spectacle of a movie, the likes of which we only get the privalege of seeing once every few years. Too much CGI? Not once in this movie did I stop and think "that was clever", I was totally immersed in the story and the fantastic images merely served to make the story more compelling and real. I can only think that people that give this movie a 0 do it for the simple purpose of dragging the average score down and to me that is childish, petty and annoying. Everyone is entitled to their opinion and I've got no problem with someone thinking it was a little long winded in places, a bit boring for those who didn't buy into the first two movies or a little too battle heavy. Fine, so 5,6? No, 0. Come on!! While these people attempt in vain to get a life the rest of us can rejoice in movie making at its very best, the likes of which we may not see agin for many years to come. Expand
  21. JiggyG.
    Nov 7, 2005
    10
    A fitting end to the greatest film trilogy ever created. Everything, from the acting, to the cinematography, to the special effects, to the score, is flawless. Return of the King retains Tolkien's ascending level of excitement and suspense. Yes, Jackson removed some scenes, but in the interest of time, it was worth it. Lord of the Rings is spectacular in every regard; LOTR is to our A fitting end to the greatest film trilogy ever created. Everything, from the acting, to the cinematography, to the special effects, to the score, is flawless. Return of the King retains Tolkien's ascending level of excitement and suspense. Yes, Jackson removed some scenes, but in the interest of time, it was worth it. Lord of the Rings is spectacular in every regard; LOTR is to our time what Star Wars was to the late 70s-80s....purely amazing filmmaking. Expand
  22. Matthew
    Mar 9, 2005
    10
    I wish there was a score of 11/10. This is the greatest movie of all time, next to "The Godfater" of course. Those who gave this film a score of 5 or less, you should have no right to post your score, because you obviously have no reason abilities, or know a good movie when you see one.
  23. ronda
    Jun 13, 2005
    10
    Ten doesnt even begin to tell how much i like this movie not including the others.
  24. anonomisI
    Jun 18, 2005
    10
    This is the best movie I have ever or possibly will ever see.
  25. SamX
    Apr 1, 2006
    10
    Flawless CGI really brings Tolkien's creatures to life in this film. Peter Jackson has done it again, he was made for adapting long books to long films. With King Kong the plot had to be stretched because Jackson obviously wanted another long film, like one of these LotR movies. But with Jackson working with Tolkien's books he couldn't have gone wrong. He filled theFlawless CGI really brings Tolkien's creatures to life in this film. Peter Jackson has done it again, he was made for adapting long books to long films. With King Kong the plot had to be stretched because Jackson obviously wanted another long film, like one of these LotR movies. But with Jackson working with Tolkien's books he couldn't have gone wrong. He filled the cinematic Middle Earth with almost everything Tolkien described, and followed Tolkien's sequence of events quite closely. At some points the film sores to give a feeling that you're watching a true legend unfold before your eyes, like the scene where the Witch King gets killed by Eowyn. Sir Ian McKellen is a terrific actor and some of the lines which actors say carry real wisdom in them. The musical score was absolutely beautiful, the best of any movie I've ever seen and probably ever will see. The plot was the most engaging and interesting ever, with fight-scenes all over the place to keep the less taken-in among us in our seats. Even the fight scenes have their own emotional beauty to them. And although the ending of the film was heavily criticized for being too long, I feel it was necessary as it was not a case of ending the film, but ending the film for each character in turn. The film deserves all the 10/10s it recieves, and is truly a masterpiece. Expand
  26. JoeS.
    Mar 22, 2004
    10
    There are three things that make Peter Jackson a bad-ass: The Fellowship of the Ring, The Two Towers, and of course the final and dramatic masterpiece The Return of the King. From the moment I was able to sit through The Fellowship of the Ring I knew Peter Jackson had done something amazing. I was just upset that I had to wait so long for the conclusion of the trilogy. The Return of the There are three things that make Peter Jackson a bad-ass: The Fellowship of the Ring, The Two Towers, and of course the final and dramatic masterpiece The Return of the King. From the moment I was able to sit through The Fellowship of the Ring I knew Peter Jackson had done something amazing. I was just upset that I had to wait so long for the conclusion of the trilogy. The Return of the King gave me tears more than once and when I sat down in the Special Preview the Night before at 12:00 AM technically on the 17th (very early morning) I could hear people making the same sobbing noises I was making and it made me realize that I was not the only one obbsessed with the power of the "One Ring" and the One Triligy. The Lord Of The Rings really does Rule them all. Once Again in the words of Gandalf "Authority is not given to you to deny the return of The King!!!" Amen. Expand
  27. StevenA.
    Mar 26, 2004
    10
    It was one of the best movies I've ever seen.
  28. Carolyn
    Feb 2, 2004
    10
    Perfect.
  29. BoydL.
    Mar 2, 2004
    10
    Awesome.
  30. HunterB.
    Jun 19, 2004
    10
    Best movie ever.
  31. SamuelU.
    Dec 5, 2005
    10
    One of the greatest films of all time.
  32. Sam
    Feb 3, 2006
    10
    Peter Jackson is an absoloute marvel at filmaking, even the spectacular action scenes have their share of emotional beauty. The Return of the King is one of the greatest movies I have ever seen, surpassed by Jackson's King Kong.
  33. RobertE
    Dec 3, 2007
    10
    Greatest movie of all time, and for those of you that give it 0's you are ignorant people that haven't read the books and decide that watching the movie should do it all for you. You people can go watch dawn of the dead or some shit and give it 10's and have no idea what a truly great movie entails.
  34. ROB
    Jul 8, 2008
    10
    It kept me focused the entire 3+ hours, and excited. That is a testament to a truly great epic. It had everything I could ask for in a fantasy movie.
  35. AdrianV.
    Feb 17, 2009
    10
    Everything but the acting was perfect. Not, the acting wasn't bad it was a bit more than ok even. Yes, i agree with that, and everyone who didn`t liked the series, but that isn`t the point! it`s a fabulos story told perfect it` doesn`t need even more exagerations from the actors to ruin it. it was acted as it should have been. Few movies ever made me cry this made me more than cry at Everything but the acting was perfect. Not, the acting wasn't bad it was a bit more than ok even. Yes, i agree with that, and everyone who didn`t liked the series, but that isn`t the point! it`s a fabulos story told perfect it` doesn`t need even more exagerations from the actors to ruin it. it was acted as it should have been. Few movies ever made me cry this made me more than cry at the end. Expand
  36. Jake
    Dec 14, 2005
    10
    First you complain about the first two movies not wrapping up the story.....now you complain about the complete opposite. I watched the extended version of this film and was actually surprised that it was 250 minutes long. Seemed like a lot less. Anyone who's read this book should agree that if Peter Jackson had ended it the same way tolkein did it the climax would have come at the First you complain about the first two movies not wrapping up the story.....now you complain about the complete opposite. I watched the extended version of this film and was actually surprised that it was 250 minutes long. Seemed like a lot less. Anyone who's read this book should agree that if Peter Jackson had ended it the same way tolkein did it the climax would have come at the hour-and-a-half mark, with 3 more hours to go, which is fine for a book which is read in multiple sittings but tourture for a movie. I'm glad Jackson ended it like he did and wrapped everything up. Well done sir! Expand
  37. Jan 20, 2011
    10
    By far this is my all time favorite movie. It surpasses virtually every other movie in every way. The lord of the Rings Return of the king is a must see before you kick the bucket.
  38. Mar 13, 2011
    10
    I love this movie so very much. Every time i see it, it still tears me up after watching it at least 9 times. Even though it is really hard to tell what there saying( another marvelous feet by the director). An incredible movie that i think has the best freaking ending ever.
  39. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    The best film I've ever watched. It combines everything I love about films. Superb directing, passionate acting (with the exception of Bloom), amazing music, and the ability to grab and not let go. This film (and trilogy) completely fulfill the definition of epic.
  40. May 7, 2011
    10
    The greatest book in the world has rightfully become the greatest movie in the world. 10 out of 10 any day! Tolkien is by far my favorite author, and out of all the books turned into movies, this was the best. Howard Shore conducts a legendary score second only to John Williams. Every aspect of this movie was as impeccable os the novel itself. If Tolkien were alive today... (sniff, sniff)
  41. Jan 9, 2012
    10
    A masterpiece of the film the battle of Pellenor Fields when they introduced the Mumakils were absolutely breath-taking. I did felt however that Faramir should've given just a tad bit more screen time even a minute. But thats the most minor of the minor problems so I thought this film was EPIC! the ending was a drag though
  42. Mar 4, 2013
    10
    Its the awesome final to a awesome trilogy and tops even its two predecessor. I lost myself in the film, when I was watching it. The best in the trilogy and one of the best films to be ever made.
  43. Feb 6, 2012
    10
    An epic conclusion to one of the best movie trilogies of all time. Great characters, action scenes and a story that we cared for. The Lord of the Rings delivered to the hype and although its cheesy at times it makes up with it with its charm. Masterpiece.
  44. Dec 15, 2012
    8
    With surprisingly better pace than its predecessor, The Return Of The King provides a graceful and majestic yet thrilling end to the trilogy that is Lord Of The Rings. I almost cried.
  45. Dec 12, 2011
    10
    I had to rate this movie because is my all time favorite, I mean, with 12 oscars you can't go wrong, the feeling I get everytime I watch it is epicness, the music, the effects, the acting, everything is perfect and is a must see for any medieval/fantasy fan. 100/100 Best movie ever
  46. Jan 20, 2012
    10
    I am happy to see the awarness of the community. Reviews of those people who do not understand epicness and quality of this movie from some reason , are found unhelpfull. On the other hand almost everyone agrees with those who give compliments to this movie , peter jackson , and of course great tolkien. I watched whole trilogy many times and i can only say , that it is the greates trilogyI am happy to see the awarness of the community. Reviews of those people who do not understand epicness and quality of this movie from some reason , are found unhelpfull. On the other hand almost everyone agrees with those who give compliments to this movie , peter jackson , and of course great tolkien. I watched whole trilogy many times and i can only say , that it is the greates trilogy ever. By my opinion all three of these movies are best there is in the movie world. If someone hasnt still watched it , chances are slim but , he should watch it right away , not just this one but whole tirlogy. Thank you community. Expand
  47. Feb 12, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. the best film ever, it really is, it is even better than the two towers, the storyline is better than ever, when gollum betrays frodo and sam, oh i love that bit... Expand
  48. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    A perfect movie, it has anything you could possibly want: action, romance, adventure, comedy, war, fantasy... ItÈ
  49. Mar 21, 2012
    10
    Superb in every way. Watch the films first, then read the books. An adventure so epic that it will be your measuring point for future fantasy films of the sort.
  50. Apr 3, 2012
    10
    Contiene las mejores escenas de accion que he visto. Es aun mejor que las dos anteriores y resulta ser una de las peliculas mas entretenidas que he visto. Peter Jackson logra adaptar las tre historias perfectamente y al final nos da como resultado la mejor trilogia de todos los tiempos. The Return of the King es una joya del cine moderno y un clasico instantaneo.
  51. Dec 8, 2012
    10
    The final and best entry in the Lord of the Rings trilogy. Sauron begins his final assault on Middle Earth, Gondor is losing and thr rightful king, Aragorn must return to the throne. Frodo and Sam arrive in Mordor but Golum will do anything to stop the ring being destroyed however Frodo himself is feeling the effects of the ring and also does not want it destroyed. Its up to Sam to helpThe final and best entry in the Lord of the Rings trilogy. Sauron begins his final assault on Middle Earth, Gondor is losing and thr rightful king, Aragorn must return to the throne. Frodo and Sam arrive in Mordor but Golum will do anything to stop the ring being destroyed however Frodo himself is feeling the effects of the ring and also does not want it destroyed. Its up to Sam to help Frodo through this final struggle to destroy the ring and save Middle Earth. A stunning conclusion to a fantastic trilogy of films, some of the best in cinema history. Expand
  52. Sep 29, 2012
    10
    An epic, must see movie. The acting, special effects and sountrack are enough to force you to watch this. However, the story itself adds to it.Every little facet of this film is pure awesomeness.
  53. Jun 17, 2012
    10
    This is one of the greatest films of all time! It brings an end to the epic tale of the fellowship and it is just perfect. Great book-to-film conversion. The extended version is better though, it includes The Mouth of Sauron as well as other juicy little tidbits.
  54. Jul 3, 2012
    10
    Long? Yes. Boring? No. Faithful to the book? Yes, the most faithful movie to a book ever made in my opinion. Just like it's predecessor's, it gets even better.
  55. Jul 3, 2012
    10
    Return of the King is probably my least favorite in the trilogy, but that doesn't make it in any way a bad movie. The battle scenes are awesome, but they get a bit repetitive after a while. Also, this one was a bit harder to follow than the other two. Other than that though, this is a great conclusion to one the best movie franchises of all time!
  56. Jul 19, 2012
    10
    this movie is perfect, it deserves much better critic than the user score is. the film does great job in all aspect: story-wise, graphics, an perfect soundtrack, and great acting by the characters. it's a perfect ending of the trilogy. in my opinion the film deserves a (99) of 100 in metacritic.
  57. Oct 27, 2012
    10
    This movie and the last two movies are fantastic,but,this movie close the trilogy with a lot of success.The producers of the movie are geniuses.But not only them.Also the director and the writers.
  58. Jul 29, 2012
    10
    Yes the epicness itself, the best movie i have ever seen, an amazing plot, battles, messages, effects, and a well rewarded 11 Oscars, 10/10 without any doubt. A masterpiece. The best of the trilogy also in my opinion, another amazing thing about it is of course the Wonderfull Awesome Soundtrack that perfectly fits with the storyline, Good work Peter Jackson, I hope the hobbit will be as good.
  59. Dec 25, 2012
    10
    This is by far one of my most favorite movies of all time. Great actors, special effects, a great script and a lot of great characters that are easy to remember, and you will never forget them.
  60. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    Before this final film came out, I'd been thoroughly disappointed by "Fellowship", and slightly annoyed by "Towers". However, this conclusion easily makes me forget about my feelings towards those other two. Some people might immediately point to the long running time. For once, I actually was sitting in the theatre, oblivious to the time, and wondering whether they would include thisBefore this final film came out, I'd been thoroughly disappointed by "Fellowship", and slightly annoyed by "Towers". However, this conclusion easily makes me forget about my feelings towards those other two. Some people might immediately point to the long running time. For once, I actually was sitting in the theatre, oblivious to the time, and wondering whether they would include this or that scene from the book. In fact, I still wish there'd been something about the "Scouring of the Shire". Still, it's hard to find anything not to like about it. Well, one little annoyance which was spread over the three films: making Gimli into a 'comedy-relief' character. Otherwise, if someone can wade through the first two films, then they're be greatly rewarded with this outing. Expand
  61. Dec 4, 2013
    10
    For Jackson to shoot The Lord of the Rings with a local crew in New Zealand, a country at the edge of the world with little stake in its doings, is a marvel which may only be repeated by Jackson himself. Apart from the international cast, the people who were actually working to bring us the trilogy, like special effects, were Kiwis. The majority of this credit must go to Jackson for hisFor Jackson to shoot The Lord of the Rings with a local crew in New Zealand, a country at the edge of the world with little stake in its doings, is a marvel which may only be repeated by Jackson himself. Apart from the international cast, the people who were actually working to bring us the trilogy, like special effects, were Kiwis. The majority of this credit must go to Jackson for his leadership and vision, and for succeeding in hiring an able team.

    The Return of the King is the concluding chapter in the trilogy. The story is picked up where it was left off at the end of The Two Towers. We are shown a glimpse into Gollum's past. The rest of the fellowship reunite at Isengard. Saruman's fate is omitted from the theatrical edition, which I always found odd given his importance in the previous instalment.

    It is a time for festivities in Rohan in the wake of the victory at Helm's Deep. An accident shows us Sauron's plans for Minas Tirith, the legendary capital of Gondor. The fellowship breaks again in a different way. Gandalf rides to the city to find the steward reluctant to lift even a finger for its defence. Needless to say, things work out and Rohirrim ride for Gondor's aid. Faramir, dejected by his father, rides out in a last ditched effort to reclaim Osgiliath.

    A family heirloom is returned to Aragorn which he uses to find help in the most unexpected places. Another plot device if you ask me. If you keep an eye out for them, they become very obvious. Jackson could have lessened its impact or omitted it entirely, making sure the battle was won through the prowess of battle commanders, which he failed to do so. As Fellowship never purported to show us a huge battle at all, and did not have to resolve it, I will forever hold it in higher regard than Return. The Two Towers resolved its battle much more satisfactorily, but Return has got much more on the former in other areas, so the second place goes to the latter.

    Orcs begin the attack on the city. Gandalf leads the defence. The battle looks grander than the one at Helm's Deep, the besieging armies and weapons more awe-inspiring. The special effects used to bring this conflict to life were stunning_ showing the destruction of architecture by the catapults and the loss of men and Orcs; as well as bringing to life Shelob, the giant spider. The scene of the Rohirrim cutting through the Orcs on their horses is possibly the most spectacular. Oliphaunts and Nazguls join the fight.

    My previous apathy for Eowyn is cured after watching the extended version, in which she develops significantly. In fact, she is the only female character in Middle Earth who is of some worth, and I like where her story took us, climaxing in a very satisfactory way in the middle of a battle, pitted against only the most important antagonists.

    The main trio_ Aragorn, Legolas and Gimli, are absent from much of the fighting, as the other two accompany the former on his journey of self-discovery. I was earnestly hoping for them to join the fight, which they did (Legolas displaying some very impressive killer moves), but it was so ridiculously short. Four minutes. Believe me, I counted. In this regard The Two Towers was much better, as well as having more memorable scenes with the Gollum.

    Frodo's inevitable clash with Gollum goes full circle. Sam displays unprecedented strength of character and resolve, and the Hobbits thrive without much help from men. Men ride once more to aid Frodo in his quest to rid them of the ring, and a final battle sequence follows, after which it is destroyed. In epilogue, we learn about the fates of the Hobbits, Aragorn and Gandalf.

    The extended edition had some interesting scenes which enriched the characters and the story, but also some which betrayed some ineptitude at editing. One scene had a character utter the exact same dialogue to persuade someone in the span of a single conversation. Surely a rewording would have been more effective. I scoffed at a particular attempt to blossom an affair between two secondary characters. Such things should have been hinted at in the epilogue. No one is interested in that stuff when the stakes involve the end of the world.

    Finally, a discussion about the extraordinary tally at the Oscars. Eleven well-deserved wins out of as many nominations, in fields as diverse as art direction, costume design, make-up, sound, original score, original song, editing, visual effects, adapted screenplay, directing, and Best Picture.

    In the end I would observe that the extended editions of the first and second instalments, three hours twenty and three hours thirty-three minutes respectively, enhanced the tales while the third one, a crushing four hours, did not achieve anything of worth.
    Expand
  62. Jan 17, 2013
    10
    An epic movie with an epic end. Love this movie.
  63. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    A Flawless job by Peter Jackson. this movie has everything! Action, Adventure, Romance..etc. and the digital effects are amazing!! i had no idea they had the kind of equipment to make such amazing effects! and i see a lot of people complaining about the length of the movie. And i must agree the length of the movie is kinda long..running over 3 hours long. but its better than making 5-6A Flawless job by Peter Jackson. this movie has everything! Action, Adventure, Romance..etc. and the digital effects are amazing!! i had no idea they had the kind of equipment to make such amazing effects! and i see a lot of people complaining about the length of the movie. And i must agree the length of the movie is kinda long..running over 3 hours long. but its better than making 5-6 lotr..right? i think 3 lotr movies is the perfect sequel and this movie will be known for awhile.. Expand
  64. Dec 14, 2012
    10
    After watching the movie I was 100% sure this one is the best movie out of them all. Nothing here could be done better, everything was perfect. The story, the music, the scenery, everything was done as if god sent Tolkien and Jackson and told them to do their job. I didn't read the books, it's a shame, I know, but only because I'm a lazy person (I love reading books) and when I wanted toAfter watching the movie I was 100% sure this one is the best movie out of them all. Nothing here could be done better, everything was perfect. The story, the music, the scenery, everything was done as if god sent Tolkien and Jackson and told them to do their job. I didn't read the books, it's a shame, I know, but only because I'm a lazy person (I love reading books) and when I wanted to start, I noticed my dog ate the first 200 pages. But even when I know it's a movie and I didn't read the books, I can see what Tolkien did there, what he made, created, when he did it (In the 30's, 40's and 50's making something that advanced and fantastic, could be called genius, because for something like this you need inspiration and where did Tolkien get it?) and how. If not for Tolkien and Jackson the world of books and movies would be much different. Expand
  65. Dec 18, 2012
    10
    Wow, it is an amazing film. It's not boring. I loved it. It has all the things a perfect movie needs, conclusion: it is epic, see it it is worth your time!
  66. Jan 27, 2013
    10
    The Lord of the Rings trilogy is the greatest trilogy of films ever made, and this is one of the finest examples of brilliant filmmaking of all time. Peter Jackson is an incredible visionary, the cast is great, it adapts the book very well, and it all adds up to one of the best films ever made.
  67. Mar 23, 2013
    10
    A truly epic and beautiful end to one of the most incredible stories made ​​in the history of mankind.
    Chapter of interpretations, the best over the trilogy is Viggo Mortensen as Aragorn, and Ian McKellen in the role of Gandalf. A hitherto unknown actress who does very well is Miranda Otto, who plays Eowyn. Transmits tenderness, nobility and courage in equal measure, as a new Krimilda.
    A truly epic and beautiful end to one of the most incredible stories made ​​in the history of mankind.
    Chapter of interpretations, the best over the trilogy is Viggo Mortensen as Aragorn, and Ian McKellen in the role of Gandalf. A hitherto unknown actress who does very well is Miranda Otto, who plays Eowyn. Transmits tenderness, nobility and courage in equal measure, as a new Krimilda. The sequence in which defends the King Théoden Witch King of Angmar is superb, especially when you cut the head to evil beast. The Nazgul are beautifully created, it must be said. That has been one of the best performances of Jackson.
    Ultimately, the greatest achievement is that Peter Jackson has managed to recreate the atmosphere right hand novels in both locations (New Zealand was a fortunate choice) and the characterization of the beings who inhabit Middle Earth. I'm sure Tolkien would be proud to see how it has adapted its unfading work.
    One of the best films of the decade 2000.
    Expand
  68. Feb 8, 2013
    10
    Everything about this movie is perfect and that is why it is my all time favorite film. It is epic in every sense of the word and is truly a great ending to one of, if not the best film series ever.
  69. May 19, 2013
    10
    The beginning is may seem a little fast, playing various information to the public, but the rest is perfect, and ends in a phenomenal trilogy Peter Jacson, besides revolutionize the industry of special effects, it proves that it has special effects like mixing first and an epic story in a single film.
  70. Dec 1, 2013
    10
    An immensely fantastic piece of cinema and art. Peter Jackson's brilliant final film in the brilliant Rings trilogy. One of (if not the) best trilogies of all time and this is personally my favourite movie of all time. Literally everything is top notch, from the voice acting, to the special effects, to the action, to the beautiful scenery. Mesmerizing to the very end and remember, thisAn immensely fantastic piece of cinema and art. Peter Jackson's brilliant final film in the brilliant Rings trilogy. One of (if not the) best trilogies of all time and this is personally my favourite movie of all time. Literally everything is top notch, from the voice acting, to the special effects, to the action, to the beautiful scenery. Mesmerizing to the very end and remember, this movie released back in 2003 and it is leaps and bounds better than half of the junk that comes out now! Once again, the negative reviews and scores are from moronic fools that have the attention spans of a soggy loaf of bread. Even though it has tons of insane actions sequences, war scenes, etc, some of these people STILL got bored. Obviously they wanted it to be non stop action with explosions every second. Sorry, this isn't a Michael Bay movie. Expand
  71. Sep 21, 2013
    10
    Very well done. Great acting, great writing, great directing, great effects. This is the rare movie that I have no real complaints about. I understand it may be a bit long for some, but it's easily one of the best movies I've seen.
  72. May 25, 2013
    10
    This Film was absolutely amazing! Everything was spectacular in it. With superb acting from Sir Ian Mckellen, Viggo Mortensen, Bernard Hill and Andy Serkis, along with amazing special effects, pitch-perfect story telling and so much emotional scenes, you have got one of the best films of all time. It was so precious. Tolkien was possibly a master of books, but Peter Jackson is a cinema GOD.
  73. Aug 31, 2013
    10
    The third chapter of the trilogy is much better than the first two and of course the action is much much better. It's epic and awesome. Congratulations to Peter Jackson!
  74. Oct 19, 2013
    10
    Every part of this movie was amazing, I watch this all the time, and I love it every time I watch it. I love how through this movie series you are with all the characters journey the whole time.
  75. Aug 27, 2013
    10
    This is one of the best movies I've ever seen, epic. Even if you're not a fan of fantasy films, you're definitely going to love this one! It lasts for more than 3 hours, but you'll enjoy every minute of it.
  76. Aug 30, 2013
    10
    This is one of my favorite movies of all time. It serves as a greatly satisfying ending to the trilogy with a lot of great moments. Also, people need to shut up about the long ending.
  77. Nov 25, 2013
    10
    Man, this was the best movie based from a book, ever. Although it is really long, it still has its acting, story, and battle scenes that make this one as one of the best ever made.
  78. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    My favorite film and film series of all time. I first saw this movie when I was 8 years old, and though I couldn't completely follow the plot, I really loved the action scenes and all the other things 8-year-old boys love about movies. As I grew older and watched it more times, my love for Return of the King only grew as I began to understand it. Now, I own the extended trilogy on blu-ray,My favorite film and film series of all time. I first saw this movie when I was 8 years old, and though I couldn't completely follow the plot, I really loved the action scenes and all the other things 8-year-old boys love about movies. As I grew older and watched it more times, my love for Return of the King only grew as I began to understand it. Now, I own the extended trilogy on blu-ray, and I watch the series every Christmas: a tradition I plan to keep through the years. Thank you, Lord of the Rings, for many great memories. Expand
  79. May 5, 2014
    9
    The trilogy has been building to this finale! and it does deliver! at over 3 hours ROTK never seems to make the audience loose interest. the action is better then ever, the characters are put in parell and when you watch this film you have to go all the way through because it holds you down and wont let you leave
  80. Jul 30, 2014
    9
    This final installment of the "Lord of the Rings" trilogy is a gigantic film-making feat. It may not feature the first film's dread or the second film's darkness, but feels more epic than both. Jackson has mastered the art of exploiting an unlimited fantasy lore and shaping it beautifully into stunning photography. The film's plot is once again well-structured and makes its magnificentThis final installment of the "Lord of the Rings" trilogy is a gigantic film-making feat. It may not feature the first film's dread or the second film's darkness, but feels more epic than both. Jackson has mastered the art of exploiting an unlimited fantasy lore and shaping it beautifully into stunning photography. The film's plot is once again well-structured and makes its magnificent acting performances feasible. The CGI battles are great, of course, and the whole experience is very rewarding. The pace is really good, except for the ending, which is a bit overly extended. I don't know if films like the "Lord of the Rings" will even exist again, but the whole trilogy is undeniably a classic. Expand
  81. Sharpdressedman
    Jan 8, 2004
    10
    I get the feeling the naysayers had their opinions formed on this trilogy before it was even released a couple years ago. I have seen ROTK three times now and watched other people in the audience cry through the ending(s). This is really having an impact on people who see it. An epic for the ages. I think the quote taken from Michael Wilmington's review sums it all up best: "Like all I get the feeling the naysayers had their opinions formed on this trilogy before it was even released a couple years ago. I have seen ROTK three times now and watched other people in the audience cry through the ending(s). This is really having an impact on people who see it. An epic for the ages. I think the quote taken from Michael Wilmington's review sums it all up best: "Like all great fantasies and epics, this one leaves you with the sense that its wonders are real, its dreams are palpable." Expand
  82. MandyL.
    Feb 12, 2004
    10
    I absoulutely loved this movie. The fight scenes were spectacular, making the locations look utterly believable. That coupled with the emotional story creates a beautiful story, that has all the necessary elements to make it a blockbuster hit. The love story between Aragorn and Arwen, the friendship between Frodo and Sam, and the evil of Gollum draws you into the story. I have watched itI absoulutely loved this movie. The fight scenes were spectacular, making the locations look utterly believable. That coupled with the emotional story creates a beautiful story, that has all the necessary elements to make it a blockbuster hit. The love story between Aragorn and Arwen, the friendship between Frodo and Sam, and the evil of Gollum draws you into the story. I have watched it three times and have not yet grown tried. Director Peter Jackson has created an ultimate classic from a classic book. It is a movie that will live forever as one of the most magical films of all time. The characters are delved into more deeply. Overall, a very wonderful movie. Expand
  83. NinaJ.
    Feb 20, 2004
    10
    Return of the King is a radiant, heartfelt, compelling, transcendent film. It is a tribute to one of the greatest literature epics. It is a film made with flair and verve by filmmakers who evince love and respect for their source with every scene, every frame. It is a historic achievement. And it is an amazingly good movie. It is shameful that certain persons involved in other films have Return of the King is a radiant, heartfelt, compelling, transcendent film. It is a tribute to one of the greatest literature epics. It is a film made with flair and verve by filmmakers who evince love and respect for their source with every scene, every frame. It is a historic achievement. And it is an amazingly good movie. It is shameful that certain persons involved in other films have resorted to dirty tricks and classless campaigning against it. But in the end it doesn't matter, because this movie trilogy has risen above such temporary pettiness. I personally don't care what awards it wins or doesn't win because it doesn't need these things for people like me to love it or for it to be validated as a truly great film. Expand
  84. LeanneJ.
    Feb 3, 2004
    10
    Stunningly beautiful and genuinely touching. I really love this movie. It's scope ranges from the widest battle shots to two hobbits crawling up a mountain. Every scene, every character, every line is part of tightly woven epic that reaches an amazing culmination. The wistful conclusion gently demonstrates the full meaning of their quest: what has been won, what has been lost, and Stunningly beautiful and genuinely touching. I really love this movie. It's scope ranges from the widest battle shots to two hobbits crawling up a mountain. Every scene, every character, every line is part of tightly woven epic that reaches an amazing culmination. The wistful conclusion gently demonstrates the full meaning of their quest: what has been won, what has been lost, and how everything has changed. Peter Jackson, Fran Walsh, etc. have delivered a complete triumph of a movie that will be remembered. Expand
  85. LorenzoB.
    Feb 5, 2004
    10
    The Best!!
  86. SallyK.
    Feb 6, 2004
    10
    What can I say? This is a gorgeous, inspiring epic, lovingly made. The artistry is consistently astonishing. The ensemble cast comes into its own. Wow. It took my breath away.
  87. Dorothea
    Feb 9, 2004
    10
    Oh my God. It's already won the Broadcast Film Critics Awards, the Golden Globes, the Producer's Guild Award, and the Director's Guild Award! And all of them deservedly so! This is a grand, gorgeous movie and an unparalleled achievement in filmmaking. The way it has captured Tolkien's vision is nothing short of miraculous.
  88. KevinM.
    Jun 20, 2004
    10
    That was an awesome movie, you can really attach to the charactors, you feel that you know them. The battles are great and also the acting. Overall, one of the best movies I have seen in my life.
  89. KevinP.
    Dec 17, 2003
    10
    The best movie of all time.
  90. JakeR.
    Dec 19, 2003
    10
    Easily the best movie of the year, mabey even ever!!
  91. CaileeM.
    Dec 22, 2003
    10
    How can anyone think that this movie is anything less than a 10? And how can someone think its a 1??? So he changed it a bit from the book but that is the beauty of interpretation. I think if anything Tolkien would have been pleased with the outcome of Jackson's masterpiece.
  92. JoeyM.
    Dec 20, 2003
    10
    Is it really possible to judge this movie on its own merits without considering that it is really the final three hours of a nine hour work? I had the pleasure of watching all three films back to back and, let me tell you, the work as a whole is amazing. Others have written about this, but this is essentially a movie of climaxes - to say more would be to utter spoilers. Sean Astin is Is it really possible to judge this movie on its own merits without considering that it is really the final three hours of a nine hour work? I had the pleasure of watching all three films back to back and, let me tell you, the work as a whole is amazing. Others have written about this, but this is essentially a movie of climaxes - to say more would be to utter spoilers. Sean Astin is terrific - once again, I found myself more emotionally involved with his story than with any other. There are some flaws - I was more aware of hobbit stand ins this time than before and, yes, the Mortensen/Tyler romance never quite achieved the level of poetic grandeur that Jackson, perhaps, wanted. On the other hand, it certainly didn't achieve a level of poetic grandeur in the books either. Anyhow, I had a great time - I lived the "I laughed, I cried" cliche to its fullest. Expand
  93. BobH.
    Dec 27, 2003
    10
    Okay, how can anyone say this is bad this is one of the best movies of all time and anyone who says otherwise should slap themselves.
  94. DaveJ.
    Dec 30, 2003
    10
    Absolutely astonishing.
  95. MalC.
    Dec 30, 2003
    10
    I think this movie is a great movie and the most defining movie trilogy of recent years. It is pure entertainment. For those of you blasting the movie for not being artistic, LOTR wasn't meant to be artistic. It's meant to be a form of escapism, which is why it's called FANTASY. Sure, art has a place in film, but if you want to see a film just to have a good time, this is I think this movie is a great movie and the most defining movie trilogy of recent years. It is pure entertainment. For those of you blasting the movie for not being artistic, LOTR wasn't meant to be artistic. It's meant to be a form of escapism, which is why it's called FANTASY. Sure, art has a place in film, but if you want to see a film just to have a good time, this is where it's at. I just recently read the books, and I don't think there is anyway to put in all the subtleties of the book trilogy in a movie that is less than 6 hours long (yes, this is geared to all you unsatisfied tolkien fans out there). I think Peter Jackson has adapted the movie into a very entertaining set of films that includes the more important aspects of the books and I think they can inspire others to also read the books (which is a good thing). So, overall, if you're not a bitter tolkien fan, or a stuck up artsy movie critic wanna-be, and you want to see a good, well crafted piece of entertainment, see this movie. Expand
  96. KarlD.
    Jan 1, 2004
    10
    Magnificient! I dont know how can anyone say this film is annoying its really a shame. And this film deserves more oscars than any other movie yes, because of its heart and wonderful spectacle. Just brilliant.
  97. TooGoodToBeTrue
    Jan 10, 2004
    10
    As good as a movie gets. It may not win an Oscar, but in the end it doesn't need to. Oscars are given to validate the opinion of a small group of narrow-minded fools, but this will be validated by a group a million times greater and more diverse for ages to come.
  98. Wario
    Jan 11, 2004
    10
    Great! End dragged on a bit!
  99. MickeyC.
    Jan 10, 2004
    10
    Wow! They don't make em like this... ever. A masterful achievment by Peter Jackson and crew.
  100. DaisyB.
    Jan 10, 2004
    10
    I cried I laughed it was the best movie ever you ppl who trashed it how can you this work is a masterpiece have you ppl even read the books??????? I highly doubt most of you have if you are leaving such comments as you are any tolkien fan would say that Jackson did a spectacular job on rotk. You ppl who say its boring how how how I mean how its nonstop emotion and drama truly one of the I cried I laughed it was the best movie ever you ppl who trashed it how can you this work is a masterpiece have you ppl even read the books??????? I highly doubt most of you have if you are leaving such comments as you are any tolkien fan would say that Jackson did a spectacular job on rotk. You ppl who say its boring how how how I mean how its nonstop emotion and drama truly one of the greatest movies ever in my opinion and taken from the one of the best piece of literature you could ever read and you ppl are acting like 5 year olds its sad really belittling truly great actors some how have been knighted Jackson took some liberties I admit but still they just added to the emotion of the movie and this movie deserves the Oscar this time I guess you ppl don?t really appreciate good movies and/or good literature and those of you who are so picky saying that the book should be reflected out in the movie word for word oh my god I can?t say anymore without screaming as for you the ppl who defended rotk hats off to you I have to leave I?m getting a migraine and all you ppl who have trashed rotk you all deserve to be eaten by shelob. ~ Daisy Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. The conclusion of Peter Jackson's masterwork is passionate and literate, detailed and expansive, and it's conceived with a risk-taking flair for old-fashioned movie magic at its most precious.
  2. Reviewed by: David Hunter
    100
    An epic success and a history-making production that finishes with a masterfully entertaining final installment.
  3. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    100
    The second installment was better than the first, and this one is best of all. It has spectacular action scenes and imaginary creatures, and it’s by far the most moving chapter. The performances have deepened.