New Line Cinema | Release Date: December 17, 2003
9.0
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 2680 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
2,427
Mixed:
82
Negative:
171
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
AndrewH.Jan 1, 2004
this movie was probably the best for 2003. the acting and all was great. what a great climax for such a magnificant movie. the only thing was the last 15 minutes drags a bit but i still gave it a 10, besides that there was great this movie was probably the best for 2003. the acting and all was great. what a great climax for such a magnificant movie. the only thing was the last 15 minutes drags a bit but i still gave it a 10, besides that there was great action,plot.storyline,etc... how can anyone not like this movie and smeagal was awesome and funny. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JeffC.Jan 1, 2004
Amazing movie. because i havent read the books yet i can see how entertaining and emotionally riveting this movie really is. the battle in pellenor fields was the best action- fighting sequence i have ever seen. the lure of emotion that this Amazing movie. because i havent read the books yet i can see how entertaining and emotionally riveting this movie really is. the battle in pellenor fields was the best action- fighting sequence i have ever seen. the lure of emotion that this film has is unbelieveable. i wish 200 minutes in class flew by as fast as these did. i hope that r.o.t.k. takes home all of the awards because this movie sure does deserve them. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RubyFoxburrJan 10, 2004
The best movie ever!!!!! Need I say more? Yes, of course. The acting in this movie is excellent, especially Elijah Wood, Viggo Mortensen, Billy Boyd, and Sean Astin. The battle scenes are NOT too long, they're incredibly short. Too long The best movie ever!!!!! Need I say more? Yes, of course. The acting in this movie is excellent, especially Elijah Wood, Viggo Mortensen, Billy Boyd, and Sean Astin. The battle scenes are NOT too long, they're incredibly short. Too long to wait for the extended edition so that we can fill in some of those gaps, possibly. The soundtrack is wonderful, definitely the best of the three movies. Yes, of course, Peter Jackson did have to change a few things, or delete them, but all good movies must be like that, right? You can't take a piece of literature as in-depth as Tolkiens, and expect it to be exactly like the book. For those of you who are complaining about scenes being left out, thats what the extended edition is for. Anyone who disses this movie as bad as some of you, who have rated it a zero or one, is definitely not a true Tolkien fan. And, by the way, to one of you who said that there are only seven Tolkien books, you're wrong. There are twelve histories of Middle Earth, there's the Silmarillion, the Unfinished Tales, all three Lord of the Rings books, and some other non-Middle Earth related books, like Roverandom. If you're going to post at least be educated about what you're going to say first. This movie was incredible. Not for the special effects(which I hardly payed attention to, I was too immersed in the actual story), not for anything but the content and emotional characteristics of the story. For those of you who complain about multiple endings, they couldn't have ended it with the scene at Mt. Doom where the first ending comes in, it leaves out the importance of what happens to the characters after the Quest. These endings were important to the overall story of the books, Peter Jackson would be a fool to exclude them from the film. And as for some of you that say there is no reason to cry at the end of the movie? Have you even read the books? I have saw it 8 times, and every time I find myself in tears as Frodo leaves for the Grey Havens. The music at that scene is incredible, I think that's part of what starts the tears, then there's the actual departure and Sam's return home, where I cry from his final quote. I cried at that in the book as well. So for all you people who rate this movie a zero and diss it completely, either you have no appreciation for a great movie, or you haven't seen it and just want to annoy us true fans. So, if you have anything to say to me, contact me. If it's to complain, I must warn you: Shelob, Ungoliant, and Morgoth await my command to feast on you should you start a fight with me. You will NOT win. LOL Good Night. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
FiffiJan 12, 2004
Best movie I've ever seen.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JimmyF.Jan 16, 2004
AWESOME!!! Best one in the trilogy. Great Music.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DannyJan 17, 2004
This movie ROCKED!!!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KenG.Jan 18, 2004
This is the movie with which to judge all others...and that's bad news for the others. Sweeping, fantastic, heartfelt, amazing...I wanted more after the 3 hours and 20 minutes concluded.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
CanirB.Jan 19, 2004
After all that PJ has put into these three films, particularly this last one, if he doesn't get an Oscar for directing, I will quit watching movies forever.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DamienP.Jan 19, 2004
One word --- Fantastic! Truly one of the greatest films I have witnessed. It just feels so epic. The story pulls you in so deeply, that you actually find your self moving in your seat. Peter Jackson's finest hour (or 3.25 to be precise)!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PeterJan 19, 2004
This final installment incorporates action, love, humor, suspense and fantasy, all of which are crafted together in a moving and powerful masterpiece. This movie is not only the best ive seen, it brings back my faith in a successful trilogy.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MirandaL.Jan 21, 2004
The movie was awsome!!!!! all the actors really fit their parts. If I could I'd rate this movie way over 10.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DanM.Dec 21, 2004
What the hell is monkey rugby?
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MarkP.Jan 2, 2004
Loved it - the trilogy 10 hours of great movie making.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
CharP.Jan 2, 2004
New Zealand makes this movie seem so like another land. I loved all three.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PeteM.Jan 2, 2004
Anyone who gives this film less than a '10' went to the film expecting it to be bad - shame on them for giving it 0's - they belong in the audience for Adam Sandler's films - something they can understand.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
G.PetersJan 23, 2004
Erm...To those idiots who rated this movie below 10 should go and screw themselves. THis movie was brilliant!! There is no other trilogy that could surpass such brilliance. And for those who are grumbeling about scenes being left out - watch Erm...To those idiots who rated this movie below 10 should go and screw themselves. THis movie was brilliant!! There is no other trilogy that could surpass such brilliance. And for those who are grumbeling about scenes being left out - watch the DVD! There is no way Peter could have put in all the scenes, use your brains! Just accept what you've seen and if you didn't like it don't review it - we don't want to hear your crap. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AlessandroM.Jan 24, 2004
A wonderful movie. By far the best in recent memory, or even ever! All hail Peter Jackson!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SamJ.Jan 24, 2004
Visually stunning with amazing special effects.I would highly recommend this movie to all.It was better than the previous movies in the series and much broader in outlook.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AnnetteF.Jan 24, 2004
The best movie I have ever seen. Beautiful, thrilling, inspiring, and heartbreaking: this one has got it all! A truly flawless epic with astonishing depth and breadth. You can just feel the love with which every costume, prop, and set was The best movie I have ever seen. Beautiful, thrilling, inspiring, and heartbreaking: this one has got it all! A truly flawless epic with astonishing depth and breadth. You can just feel the love with which every costume, prop, and set was made in their exquisite detail. The perfectly paced story flows seamlessly and the whole trilogy comes together magnificently. To paraphrase Aragorn, this movie does not belong to one man but to all: every character shines and to say that the ensemble acting is brilliant would be understating how great the cast is. I could list the moments which just took my breath away, but I would basically just tell the whole movie! For over three hours, the members of the audience, strangers in the dark, formed a bond as we laughed, cried, and cheered for the Fellowship and their allies. It was a mesmerizing, rapturous experience. I could go on and on. A wonderful movie that everyone will love and always remember. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
EddieV.Jan 24, 2004
If this movie doesn't win Oscar for best picture I am going to kill myself.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JanetR.Jan 26, 2004
Wow! Continually astonishing and moving. Excellent performances and sure-handed directing make this movie the crowning jewel in an already glittering trilogy. I've seen it three times and it just gets better with each viewing, if Wow! Continually astonishing and moving. Excellent performances and sure-handed directing make this movie the crowning jewel in an already glittering trilogy. I've seen it three times and it just gets better with each viewing, if that's possible! Do not be discouraged because it is a long movie: it was the fastest three and a half hours of my life! I stayed through all the credits along with a few people who were singing along with "Into the West." I love the portraits of all the characters and how the credits end with an image of the ring. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JennaJ.Jan 28, 2004
Diane P. what are you talking about? The Lord of the Rings the return of the king is the most brilliantly made movie of my time. How could a movie be below standard with such fine casting, directing, acting, detailing, editing etc. come Diane P. what are you talking about? The Lord of the Rings the return of the king is the most brilliantly made movie of my time. How could a movie be below standard with such fine casting, directing, acting, detailing, editing etc. come below anyone's standards. You may not be a fan of fantasy but you can still appreciate. The performance that stood out most for me was Sean Astin's role as Samwise Gamgee. The relationship between Frodo and Sam's was exactly how I pictured it in the book. LOTR, ROTK has absolutely no downpoints and is worthy of any oscar title. A brilliant movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
CorrinaS.Jan 31, 2004
Speechless....just speechless... thats all i can say.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
GreigJ.Jan 3, 2004
Stunning. Truly Stunning. I actually feel quite sorry for Jawad S and Joe B - one says it's an FX show and the other a soap opera - oh dear boys, is your resemblance to Orc beauty too close for comfort? And Chewbacca, I was there AT Stunning. Truly Stunning. I actually feel quite sorry for Jawad S and Joe B - one says it's an FX show and the other a soap opera - oh dear boys, is your resemblance to Orc beauty too close for comfort? And Chewbacca, I was there AT THAT TIME and how do you think Star Wars would be received nowadays? Calm down with YOUR implied "Best Ever" comments, kid. Apples with apples mate! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MarcusX.Jan 4, 2004
Peter Jackson has crafted one of the finest films ever to grace the big screen. This trifecta known as The Lord of the Rings will go down in history as the finest trilogy ever made, the finest fantasy ever made, and perhaps the finest movie Peter Jackson has crafted one of the finest films ever to grace the big screen. This trifecta known as The Lord of the Rings will go down in history as the finest trilogy ever made, the finest fantasy ever made, and perhaps the finest movie ever made. It's that good. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
Mr.WigglesJan 4, 2004
I think this movie was excellent especially when the eliphants came out and legolos when all freaky by knocking most of them down.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PatilTexasJan 5, 2004
Deconstructing the Critics. Critic: The is too long. Reply: The Lord of the Rings movies are based on a 1000 page trilogy. To condense this material to any less would undermine the fabric of Tolkien's world. Critic: This movie is a Deconstructing the Critics. Critic: The is too long. Reply: The Lord of the Rings movies are based on a 1000 page trilogy. To condense this material to any less would undermine the fabric of Tolkien's world. Critic: This movie is a special effect showcase. Reply: Jackson masterfully weaves special effects to re-create the fictional world of Middle Earth. Once again, many critics who complain about special effects do not seem to understand the importance of establishing a foundational basis for Middle Earth. The use of special effects alongside actual landscapes is what creates a believable Middle Earth. Too much of one or another would not do full justice to the work. Critic: The movie does not accomodate for people who have not seen the first two movies. Reply: This is a trilogy, conceived as one large work. That is as foolish as saying that Part Three of The Brothers Karamazov does not accomodate for a new reader. Critic: The ending is too long. Reply: Once again, The Return of King should be viewed as part of a larger whole. There is very nice symmetry involved when one steps back to view the beginning of the Fellowship and the end of Return of the King. Furthermore, The Lord of the Rings is fundamentally the tale of hobbits, and to end abruptly at Mt. Doom would miss the larger character development. Critic: Many story plot lines seem silly and absurd. Reply: This is a criticism of Tolkien's work, not Peter Jackson's film adaptation of it. Critic: The characters are shallow and underdeveloped. Reply: Once again, step back and view how all the characters change over the course of the three films. One feels more attached to these fictional characters than some "real-life" characters. Final Opinion: This movie is grand, elegant, and a work of art that will surely stand the test of time. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DanS.Jan 5, 2004
One of the greatest movies ever made. Period.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JimB.Jan 5, 2004
One of the most breath-taking films ever produced with brilliant acting and dialogue. An adequate adaptation of the books, which some of you seem to forget. How can you say the ending is too predictable? Did you expect them to change the One of the most breath-taking films ever produced with brilliant acting and dialogue. An adequate adaptation of the books, which some of you seem to forget. How can you say the ending is too predictable? Did you expect them to change the ending from what had been written 50 years ago? Idiots. Look beyond the glitter and big fancy setwork and you will see at the heart of this story the relationship between hopeless hobbits and the definition of the heroic in identity in Aragorn, something our culture has lost. This movie is one of the best I have ever seen and should be at least viewed by all. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JimB.Jan 5, 2004
One of the most breath-taking films ever produced with brilliant acting and dialogue. An adequate adaptation of the books, which some of you seem to forget. How can you say the ending is too predictable? Did you expect them to change the One of the most breath-taking films ever produced with brilliant acting and dialogue. An adequate adaptation of the books, which some of you seem to forget. How can you say the ending is too predictable? Did you expect them to change the ending from what had been written 50 years ago? Idiots. Look beyond the glitter and big fancy setwork and you will see at the heart of this story the relationship between hopeless hobbits and the definition of the heroic in identity in Aragorn, something our culture has lost. This movie is one of the best I have ever seen and should be at least viewed by all. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JimB.Jan 5, 2004
One of the most breath-taking films ever produced with brilliant acting and dialogue. An adequate adaptation of the books, which some of you seem to forget. How can you say the ending is too predictable? Did you expect them to change the One of the most breath-taking films ever produced with brilliant acting and dialogue. An adequate adaptation of the books, which some of you seem to forget. How can you say the ending is too predictable? Did you expect them to change the ending from what had been written 50 years ago? Idiots. Look beyond the glitter and big fancy setwork and you will see at the heart of this story the relationship between hopeless hobbits and the definition of the heroic in identity in Aragorn, something our culture has lost. This movie is one of the best I have ever seen and should be at least viewed by all. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BambamBoobooJan 6, 2004
A Masterpiece !! Brilliantly subtle while totally engrossing. To all the childish posters who add duplicate reviews to bash this movie..please try to be smarter in masking your ignorance. Arleen -"Found it very childish with redundant battle A Masterpiece !! Brilliantly subtle while totally engrossing. To all the childish posters who add duplicate reviews to bash this movie..please try to be smarter in masking your ignorance. Arleen -"Found it very childish with redundant battle scenes. Not my cup of tea. Sorry" Goliath - "Saw it this weekend and was not impressed. Thought it was boring to say the least. Not my cup of tea." How many still use the term "my cup of tea" ? Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BobS.Jan 8, 2004
Great, brilliant, breathtaking!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JosephM.Jan 8, 2004
A visual masterpiece! Equally as stunning as the first two installments of the Lord of the Rings, Return of the King picks you up and doesn't let you go until the satisfying, albiet drawn out, ending. All told, this trilogy is perhaps A visual masterpiece! Equally as stunning as the first two installments of the Lord of the Rings, Return of the King picks you up and doesn't let you go until the satisfying, albiet drawn out, ending. All told, this trilogy is perhaps the biggest movie making gamble and payoff in history. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SueS.Jan 8, 2004
A fitting end to a fantastic film trilogy. Peter Jackson is to be commended for bringing a novel of such scale & complexity to the screen. It all comes together beautifully; the characterisations, the effects, the music, all combine to make A fitting end to a fantastic film trilogy. Peter Jackson is to be commended for bringing a novel of such scale & complexity to the screen. It all comes together beautifully; the characterisations, the effects, the music, all combine to make a feast for the senses. It would be so unfair to pick any one person out of such an ensemble piece but I think my highest praise goes to Mr J himself for getting together such a cast who were able to bring the printed page to life. A wonderful film (and trilogy) which will live on for many a long year. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ThorA.Jan 9, 2004
Great, great, great!!!!!!!! The 2nd part of the trilogy is still my favorite though but this is a masterpiece !
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
Alberdi1Jan 9, 2004
The best movie of the trilogy. Amazing soundtrack, the best acting in an ensemble (Sean Astin and Bernard Hill are excellent), and astonishing photography makes this movie one of the best i´ve ever seen. Epic! Unique! You´ll The best movie of the trilogy. Amazing soundtrack, the best acting in an ensemble (Sean Astin and Bernard Hill are excellent), and astonishing photography makes this movie one of the best i´ve ever seen. Epic! Unique! You´ll never forget this piece of art... you´ll be stucked on your sit since the very begginning to the last scene... Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SoniaFeb 10, 2004
This is just beautiful. I've seen it twice, and I'm still stunned at this amazing achievement.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AndreFeb 14, 2004
The greatest movie of all time.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
FriedaFeb 17, 2004
It's sad that certain studios are engaging in sleazy, underhanded campaigning against this wonderful movie. Just think about what this group people have accomplished led by a little man from New Zealand. But Return of the King It's sad that certain studios are engaging in sleazy, underhanded campaigning against this wonderful movie. Just think about what this group people have accomplished led by a little man from New Zealand. But Return of the King doesn't need to make any excuses or apologies. It is what it is: a fantasy epic that tells the story of hobbits, wizards, dwarves, elves, and men. And it is a great movie. The best of the year. Hands down. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AliciaF.Feb 22, 2004
This is the best movie ever seen. after seeing this movie i became opssesed with the film not just rotk but all three. i watch them daily or i search on the internet about it.i am failing in school because i think about it so much. I wouldThis is the best movie ever seen. after seeing this movie i became opssesed with the film not just rotk but all three. i watch them daily or i search on the internet about it.i am failing in school because i think about it so much. I would advise anyone and everyone to see this awesome film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DraconFeb 28, 2004
The best movie ever made!!! Should win every award in the oscars.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ChesterG.Feb 3, 2004
The films in the Lord Of the Rings Trilogy have truly raised the bar for contemporary filmmaking and Peter Jackson is the messiah who has delivered to us, these beautifully crafted epic pictures. Adapted from the timeless books written by The films in the Lord Of the Rings Trilogy have truly raised the bar for contemporary filmmaking and Peter Jackson is the messiah who has delivered to us, these beautifully crafted epic pictures. Adapted from the timeless books written by JRR Tolkien the LOTR Trilogy blows both Star Wars and Harry Potter out of the water. The third and last in this series of remarkable films is The Return of the King, which is by far the best of the three as well as the best film of 2003. New Zealand was turned into the classic setting of Middle Earth for the filming of the series finale. The beautiful landscapes and eqsuisite backdrops make for a film that is very easy on the eye. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AliceF.Feb 5, 2004
What an amazing movie! A beautiful conclusion to a gorgeous trilogy. It's been acclaimed by critics and loved by audiences, and rightfully so! Thank you to the cast and crew for achieving what was previously thought to be impossible: What an amazing movie! A beautiful conclusion to a gorgeous trilogy. It's been acclaimed by critics and loved by audiences, and rightfully so! Thank you to the cast and crew for achieving what was previously thought to be impossible: bringing to the screen the classic trilogy. A compete success! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ArielleV.Feb 5, 2004
Beautiful, thrilling, and moving. Peter Jackson directs with a certain, unerring hand. Having loved the books since childhood, I thought that an adaptation was impossible, but the movies have captured both the soul of the literary trilogy as Beautiful, thrilling, and moving. Peter Jackson directs with a certain, unerring hand. Having loved the books since childhood, I thought that an adaptation was impossible, but the movies have captured both the soul of the literary trilogy as well as the individual moments that make it so memorable. This film is an amazing achievement. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AntonioM.Feb 5, 2004
I love this movie! Best one this year.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TomH.Feb 6, 2004
Haha, silly people saying unfounded things about this movie. Easily the greatest cinematic achievement to date. No movie ever had the ambitions, the risks, the beauty, the artistic, the cast, and precision. It excells in cinmatography, Haha, silly people saying unfounded things about this movie. Easily the greatest cinematic achievement to date. No movie ever had the ambitions, the risks, the beauty, the artistic, the cast, and precision. It excells in cinmatography, artistic direction, visual effects, costume, make up, acting, music, and screen play. The movie is nominated for best overall cast by the screen actor's guild. Hearing people say the acting is terrible is the most dishones thing I ever heard. Best movie achievement to date. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NinaC.Feb 7, 2004
Beautifully made! I am a pretty jaded moviegoer and fantasy films are normally not my cup of tea, but this trilogy has broken through all stereotypes! It has both the innocence and ambition of old-fashioned moviemaking. It is a great movie, Beautifully made! I am a pretty jaded moviegoer and fantasy films are normally not my cup of tea, but this trilogy has broken through all stereotypes! It has both the innocence and ambition of old-fashioned moviemaking. It is a great movie, a historic achievement, plain and simple. To think that such wonderful movie would have been made from what had been considered an unfilmable book makes Peter Jackson's accomplishment all the more miraculous. If you haven't yet experienced this beautiful movie, go and see it now! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MeganW.Feb 7, 2004
Return of the King rules them all! It is both grand and intimate, sweeping and tender. As the conclusion of the epic trilogy, it summons all the power and emotion in its heart-stopping climax and its beautiful and wistful epilogue. On its Return of the King rules them all! It is both grand and intimate, sweeping and tender. As the conclusion of the epic trilogy, it summons all the power and emotion in its heart-stopping climax and its beautiful and wistful epilogue. On its own, it is none less impressive: beautifully written, flawlessly edited, and impressively acted by the cast. Each step in the trilogy has brought greater power and depth to both the characters and the narrative. And this final film completes this wonderful journey in a way that will not soon be forgotten. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JoH.Mar 1, 2004
CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!! PETER YOU SO DESERVED THIS!!!!!! CONGRATULATIONS TO THE WHOLE TEAM!!!!! LOVE you ALL!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KKRRMar 17, 2004
One of the greatest films ever! Could have been shorter but the depiction of this world so unlike our own is amazing. Superb job by Peter Jackson.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ImpressedMar 21, 2004
The ultimate good verses evil saga is played out in brilliant fashion. You can not help but cheer when the races unite and the hour of men is seen to its conclusion: We survive united and not alone. Superb cast and effects will rank this The ultimate good verses evil saga is played out in brilliant fashion. You can not help but cheer when the races unite and the hour of men is seen to its conclusion: We survive united and not alone. Superb cast and effects will rank this achievement among the greatest ever put on film. Way to go guys and gals! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PaulS.Mar 20, 2004
Stunning masterpiece and well worth the wait. Everything about it is class, it makes you think your fighting the battle with them! The ending had to be 'long' ; how else can you end a 3 year long film!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JamesL.Mar 3, 2004
Excellent.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JoshC.Mar 3, 2004
This is a true cinematic masterpiece! I actually watched the first two on the same day that i saw this, and it was simply spectacular. Congratulations to the entire cast and crew on a job well done!!!!!!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ZeaZ.Apr 12, 2004
Working on a movie for 7,8 years, it could not be easy. For this, PJ deserves a 10, and every other honor he's got. Just love this adventure!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RichardG.May 27, 2004
Moviemaking at its best!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
WilliamE.May 28, 2004
A classic for the ages. I'd give this movie an 11 if I could - it is that much better than most films out there. There has never been a more sublime fusion of Art and populist entertainment.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BeebopZippidydooMay 28, 2004
It's a little slow, but it has the awesomest graphics and the best battle sequences.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
HadiF.May 31, 2004
Fantastic epic movie, which is beyond expectations.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DanielleB.May 7, 2004
The books are so moving, magical, inspiring, and jaw dropping, so it would be pretty obvious that the movie would turn out the same. To tell you the truth I was never into the masterful triliogy until last summer. I have to admit I once The books are so moving, magical, inspiring, and jaw dropping, so it would be pretty obvious that the movie would turn out the same. To tell you the truth I was never into the masterful triliogy until last summer. I have to admit I once thought The Lord of the Rings franchise was another book adaption for a movie, when screenplay writers ran out of ideas. When I saw Two Towers last year, I quickly got caught in the Lord of the Rings hysteria and couldn't wait for the finale. Two Towers may be the least memorable of the three, but it certainly caught this ONE fish from the sea. I took the time to read each book, and loved every piece of it!! What other movie do you see that has a director so devoted and close to these books?! Peter Jackson, unlike Christopher Columbus on the Harry Potter series, took seven complete years of his life attempting to film a movie that was considered "unfilmable." He wasn't even a renowned director, his most famous movie at the time being Heavenly Creatures. Yet he took a chance, took a book he truly adored, and created a masterpiece! Return of the King had epic battles, jaw dropping effects, and a great story!! This movie series will be talked about in a hundred years from now being in the same breath as the Godfather and Star Wars! Thank you Peter Jackson and LOTR cast for creating a movie so memorable and awe inspiring at the same time! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JamesB.Jun 3, 2004
This movie is by far the best film to be made in quite a few years. All Tolkien fans are urged to go and see this film - it's worth the Oscars and worth the money.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
EdwardD.Jun 4, 2004
Epic, masterful work. Fans of Tolkien should understand the long ending and be grateful that he didn't give in to the typical Hollywood: end fight, end movie (no need to worry about resolution.)
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RachelM.Jul 9, 2004
When i first herd of the lord of the rings i thot it was just gonna be somme other movie but boy was i wrong! i also enjoyed the battle of midel earth!!! i think i would of preferd another ending thow! oh well.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JaneA.Aug 8, 2004
I love the Lord of the Rings films (and books). See the extended editions.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AnneJan 23, 2005
Quite possibly the best movie ever made. its a masterpiece.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
IanF.Apr 22, 2005
I am a dedicated convert to teh Lord of the Rings series, i was hooked the first time i saw The Fellowship of The Ring. In my opinion The Lord Of The Rings series is collectively the best films ever made. The film makes up for the slight I am a dedicated convert to teh Lord of the Rings series, i was hooked the first time i saw The Fellowship of The Ring. In my opinion The Lord Of The Rings series is collectively the best films ever made. The film makes up for the slight disappointment which was The Two Towers after the mesmorislingly excellent Fellowship of The Rings . Somehow Jackson succeeded in doing the impossible, making the final chapter of the trilogy better than the first chapetr of the series, which was a cinematic masterpiece itself. From the frist second when we found out how Gollum or Speagle turned evil to when Frodo et al departed on the boat, the film kept up its unrelenting excellence. Forget what they say - that the second or thrid film in a series is never better - with Return of The King, i am happy to say, this myth is well and truly derailed and destroyed. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
jasonDMay 4, 2005
The great adventure masterpiece of our time.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MBReviewTeamOct 8, 2006
I really enjoyed this film. It has great acting, great special effects, and a great musical score. I HIGHLY recommend this movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ShaneS.Feb 26, 2006
It astonishes me how many believed the ending to be far too long. But I feel it was a necessary choice to lengthen it as they did. This film attempted to its best to tie all the loose ends, and to conclude an epic adventure that spanned a It astonishes me how many believed the ending to be far too long. But I feel it was a necessary choice to lengthen it as they did. This film attempted to its best to tie all the loose ends, and to conclude an epic adventure that spanned a total of ten hours of film. In order to do the master works of fiction any justice, every character must say their good byes, every action must be taken to blow the audience away. I found, then, that I wasn't only plastered to my seat, my eyes welling to the brim with tears, but that I wanted to remain with each character long after the story had ended. And for producing that profound want alone, the film deserves the rating I gave it, as well as for it being quite simply one of the great master works of cinema. These are the essential images magic is made of. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RajivI.Mar 3, 2006
Simply awesome! Words fail me to describe what I felt when I was watching this movie. Certainly, one of the finest achievements in the history of cinema & certainly the most stupendous achievement in 21st century cinema so far.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MaxW.May 17, 2006
Tolkien unravels an amazing book. Jackson resulted an amazing movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JoshR.May 18, 2006
The last thing I want to do is jump on the bandwagon, and join the millions of people out there gushing and babbling about how amazingly fantastic this movie was. Unfortunately, I have little choice in the matter. It really is an an The last thing I want to do is jump on the bandwagon, and join the millions of people out there gushing and babbling about how amazingly fantastic this movie was. Unfortunately, I have little choice in the matter. It really is an an awe-inspiring conclusion to what is arguably one of the greatest trilogies ever conceived - fantasy or otherwise. I wasn't there when the original star wars trilogy opened for the first time at the movies. I always felt that I missed out on something - the buzz and excitment that inevitably accompanies the opening nights of truely great films. I'm just glad that I was lucky enough to see the full Lord of the Rings trilogy on the big screen - knowing full well that this will go down in history as one of the greats, and may never been shown on the big screen again. Collapse
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ChrisH.Jul 13, 2006
Every time I come onto this website I am blown away by the stupidity of people. If you've read the books and enjoyed them, how could you not enjoy the movies? People who haven't read the books loved the movies, people who have read Every time I come onto this website I am blown away by the stupidity of people. If you've read the books and enjoyed them, how could you not enjoy the movies? People who haven't read the books loved the movies, people who have read the books loved the movies. There always has to be special needs people out there who have to be different from everyone else. if only natural selection were still working as effectively on human beings, because none of you would be alive right now. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BoydL.May 29, 2008
Awesome.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
IanO.Jul 8, 2008
This movie ROCKS!!! Intense action, amazing action and good story line I loved the books and the movie livies up to standerd this is a must see movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MattiasW.Dec 11, 2003
The best of the 3 movies!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DanRossDec 11, 2003
Superb! Exceptional! best film I've seen in many years
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ChrysvonS.Dec 10, 2003
The third book is the best one, and this movie is going to be the best movie ever... the best 9 hours that i have spend in a film... come 17 come.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ShawnaW.Dec 10, 2003
An operatic-scale feast for all the senses and emotions. Astin and Wood are particular standouts among a stellar cast. The perfect end chapter to a near-perfect cinematic story.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BoydL.Dec 11, 2003
Awesome.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LeoW.Dec 10, 2003
HE BEST MOVIE EVER!!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PaulB.Dec 12, 2003
You Dont get better than this.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LeeB.Dec 10, 2003
Favourite film of the year. Epic in every way, yet the smallest characters shine the brightest.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
WhattheheckareyouthinkingDec 13, 2003
Absolutely magnificient. A triumph of cinematic history. Powerful, heartfelt, will sweep you off your feet. The greatest accomplishment since the invention of the internet.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NickD.Dec 13, 2003
Went to the london premiere! AMAZING i recommend this to anybody.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Dec 13, 2003
a visual masterpiece of epic proportion, rare for a fantasy this film has a soul at it's deepest core.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
CurtisG.Dec 15, 2003
I am a huge Tolkien fan, and so am of course biased when it comes to these films. BUT, this is movie is the real deal. Filmmaking at its most grand.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PGinGreeceDec 15, 2003
It's a fabulous movie. Which miracles the world of the legend and the old stories in a great adventure, written by tolkien. you should not miss it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
UssaDec 15, 2003
I love LOTR!!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TerryD.Dec 15, 2003
I haven't seen the movie yet because it has not been released as of this writing, but for some strange reason I know I will love it. I thought the first picture in the series was very good, the second OK but WAY to long. Yet there is I haven't seen the movie yet because it has not been released as of this writing, but for some strange reason I know I will love it. I thought the first picture in the series was very good, the second OK but WAY to long. Yet there is something about the idea of this group of filmmakers producing a conclusion to such a meaty story that stands as irresistible. Frankly, I can?t to see how this thing turns out ? that?s a good thing, huh? Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MattE.Dec 15, 2003
The greatest story ever told is done justice by this film. Although not a Tolkien fan, I can think of no other visual epic that brings you to another world with such ease and grandeur as this.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AdamR.Dec 16, 2003
An astonishing film, truly. Not one member of the audience got up in the three and one half hour playing time. The accolades are entirely deserved.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MitchL.Dec 16, 2003
The film is quite terrific, but not unflawed. One series of effects (the Army of the Dead) is imagined and rendered on a far less interesting and more ?artificial?-seeming level than everything else. The movie also suffers, like so many The film is quite terrific, but not unflawed. One series of effects (the Army of the Dead) is imagined and rendered on a far less interesting and more ?artificial?-seeming level than everything else. The movie also suffers, like so many others made today, of ending time and again. That said, I loved the film and the series. It is filmmaking at its greatest and most impressive. Story and character remain the most important elements ? the visual effects and extraordinary production design serve the plot rather than dominating it. The characters are all very much as I imagined them in my mind's eye (unlike the contrivances of the DUNE feature) when I read the books oh-so-many years ago. Peter Jackson is a master of the cinema. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JohnDec 16, 2003
Great!!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AnnieW.Dec 16, 2003
The best movie ever made.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
Rose-AnneM.Dec 16, 2003
Better than Two Towers, better than Fellowship. Richer, deeper, more emotionally satisfying (and the battle scenes are way cool).
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
FredDec 17, 2003
Wow ! I've seen it yesterday at 8:30 pm and, today at noon, I'm still touched and I still feel shivers in my back and I think I will be for some days again... It was so extraordinary made, with full of passion by Peter Jackson. Wow ! I've seen it yesterday at 8:30 pm and, today at noon, I'm still touched and I still feel shivers in my back and I think I will be for some days again... It was so extraordinary made, with full of passion by Peter Jackson. Well, it is the end of the trilogy who, I hope, won't pass as a simple wind for 2004 Academy Awards (Jackson deserve Best Director with this picture, come on !). Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
lloydeM.Dec 17, 2003
It was good.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KeithW.Dec 17, 2003
Marcus B. I have read more books than the line of your people back to the beginning. Tolkien is not literature, he's art.
1 of 1 users found this helpful